Car loan reviews

Read the latest car loan reviews from the Mozo community to get the inside story on everything from the cheapest loans to the best customer service.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent car loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

ANZ

ANZ car loan review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Rip off

You end up paying 3 times the amount that you lent because of the interest
Full review

You end up paying 3 times the amount that you lent because of the interest

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Patricia (WA), reviewed about 20 hours ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

GE Money

GE Money Personal Loan (Fixed, Secured) car loan review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Bad interest rates

Bad interest rates
Full review

Bad interest rates

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   2 / 10

Less

Rebecca (QLD), reviewed about 20 hours ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Westpac

Westpac car loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Reputable and trustworthy. Excellent interest rate

Reputable and trustworthy. Excellent interest rates.
Full review

Reputable and trustworthy. Excellent interest rates.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

M (WA), reviewed 1 day ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Bankwest

Bankwest car loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Generally works well with minimal glitches.

Always friendly and helpful when I go in.
Full review

Always friendly and helpful when I go in.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Yvonne (WA), reviewed 1 day ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

People's Choice Credit Union

People's Choice Credit Union Secured Personal Loan (Fixed) car loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

They do banking right, where others do it wrong!

We live in Remote NT so popping into the Bank is not a possibility. People's Choice were so easy to deal with. Very efficient. Very helpful. An absolutely smooth transaction.
Full review

We live in Remote NT so popping into the Bank is not a possibility. People's Choice were so easy to deal with. Very efficient. Very helpful. An absolutely smooth transaction.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Eriin (NT), reviewed 1 day ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

ANZ

ANZ car loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Low interest car rates.

Low interest rate, easy payments and friendly advice!
Full review

Low interest rate, easy payments and friendly advice!

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Nancy (ACT), reviewed 2 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Alliance One Credit Union

Alliance One Credit Union car loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

I can recommend.

Allianz are the best.
Full review

Allianz are the best.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Tina (QLD), reviewed 3 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Toyota Finance

Toyota Finance car loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Absolutely fantastic company to be with.

Toyota Finance were fantastic when I needed a loan. They were very helpful and made me feel very comfortable when talking to them. I was able to get my car because they made the payments affordable.
Full review

Toyota Finance were fantastic when I needed a loan. They were very helpful and made me feel very comfortable when talking to them. I was able to get my car because they made the payments affordable.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Julie (NSW), reviewed 9 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Esanda

Esanda car loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Generally pretty good for car financing

No issues, easy payment plans
Full review

No issues, easy payment plans

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   -1 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Michael (VIC), reviewed 9 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Bankwest

Bankwest Car Loan (Fixed) car loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Somewhat trustworthy

I haven't had much experience with banks, but BankWest seems ok. Interest rates could be lower. I'm paying 7.79% over 7 years
Full review

I haven't had much experience with banks, but BankWest seems ok. Interest rates could be lower. I'm paying 7.79% over 7 years

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Josiah (WA), reviewed 9 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

ANZ

ANZ Online Secured Car Loan (Fixed) car loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great customer service, competitive interest rate

They have been great. Easy to deal with all the way through. Had to change payment date which was not a problem to them.
Full review

They have been great. Easy to deal with all the way through. Had to change payment date which was not a problem to them.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Heidi (WA), reviewed 9 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Macquarie Credit Union

Macquarie Credit Union car loan review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Happy to help, a shame info can be inconsistent.

Was told I could not pay off my loan sooner. Found out 3 years later that it would have been completely okay. Perhaps I spoke with a new employee but regardless, I am very upset to find out all these years I have been making gradual repayments...
Full review

Was told I could not pay off my loan sooner. Found out 3 years later that it would have been completely okay. Perhaps I spoke with a new employee but regardless, I am very upset to find out all these years I have been making gradual repayments when I could have just paid it off when I had the funds. Lots of money spent keeping the car insured and registered for no reason. Mistakes happen so I guess we just move on.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Kate (QLD), reviewed 30 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland car loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Good value and easy process with realistic advice.

Easy process and in branch staff at Sanctuary Cove were excellent.
Full review

Easy process and in branch staff at Sanctuary Cove were excellent.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jack (QLD), reviewed 30 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

ABS Building Society

ABS Building Society car loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Good

Good

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Charles (SA), reviewed about 1 month ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Macquarie Credit Union

Macquarie Credit Union car loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Needs to communicate with customers more.

Good customer service but could be more flexible.
Full review

Good customer service but could be more flexible.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Lauren (QLD), reviewed about 2 months ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank car loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent

Very happy with Commonwealth Bank, never going to change
Full review

Very happy with Commonwealth Bank, never going to change

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Ashkim (VIC), reviewed about 2 months ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Secured Car Loan (Fixed) car loan review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Could improve

Too expensive
Full review

Too expensive

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Halina (QLD), reviewed about 2 months ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Railways Credit Union

Railways Credit Union car loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Professional and personal service

Excellent to deal with. Always professional and personable.
Full review

Excellent to deal with. Always professional and personable.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Katherine (QLD), reviewed about 2 months ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

St.George

St.George Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) car loan review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Bad rates.

Terrible rates.
Full review

Terrible rates.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Samantha (WA), reviewed about 2 months ago

1 person found this review helpful – do you? Yes

Flag this review

CUA

CUA Fixed Rate Car Loan (2 to 7 years old) car loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Reasonable staff with great customer service.

They looked after me even though the car I wanted was priced way above market value.
Full review

They looked after me even though the car I wanted was priced way above market value.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Richard (NSW), reviewed about 2 months ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Alliance One Credit Union

Alliance One Credit Union car loan review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Lousy overall.

Very lousy bank. They don't see you as people, just as suckers.
Full review

Very lousy bank. They don't see you as people, just as suckers.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   1 / 10

Less

Aaron (SA), reviewed about 2 months ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Toyota Finance

Toyota Finance car loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Good service

Very good just don't like their phone opinions
Full review

Very good just don't like their phone opinions

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Asher (QLD), reviewed about 2 months ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Bank Australia

Bank Australia Car Loan (Fixed) car loan review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Competitive prices

Great service
Full review

Great service

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Thomas (VIC), reviewed about 2 months ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

St.George

St.George Car Loan (Fixed) car loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Reasonably competitive and easy to do business wit

They have never caused me any problems directly just had one administration error that was fixed
Full review

They have never caused me any problems directly just had one administration error that was fixed

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Lindsay (QLD), reviewed about 2 months ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

RAC

RAC car loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great customer service. Very helpful!

Great customer service, good prices. Would highly recommend them!
Full review

Great customer service, good prices. Would highly recommend them!

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Tracy (VIC), reviewed about 2 months ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Car loan comparisons on Mozo Rates updated daily

  • People's Choice Credit Union Discounted Personal Loan (over $20k, New Cars) (Fixed)

    People's Choice Credit Union Discounted Personal Loan (over $20k, New Cars) (Fixed)

    • No monthly account fees
    • No penalties for early repayments
    • Flexible loan terms and repayment options

    Interest rate from

    5.64%

    comparison rate from*

    5.99% based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    Fees

    $250.00 upfront: $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    • No monthly account fees
    • No penalties for early repayments
    • Flexible loan terms and repayment options
    Product info
    • Upfront fees: $250
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee:
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Vehicle
    • Minimum loan amount: $20,000.00
    • Maximun loan amount: $100,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 10 Years
    Overall rating

    8.1

    Based on 22 People's Choice Credit Union car loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • RACQ New Car Loan (Fixed)

    RACQ New Car Loan (Fixed)

    • No monthly fees
    • Choose loans terms from 1 to 7 years
    • Apply online

    Interest rate from

    6.50%

    comparison rate from*

    7.02% based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    Fees

    $384.90 upfront: $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    • No monthly fees
    • Choose loans terms from 1 to 7 years
    • Apply online
    Product info
    • Upfront fees: $385
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee:
    • Repayment options: Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Vehicle
    • Minimum loan amount: $15,000.00
    • Maximun loan amount:
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 7 Years
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • IMB Bank New Car Personal Loan (Fixed)

    IMB Bank New Car Personal Loan (Fixed)

    • No account keeping fees
    • No penalty for an early payout
    • Flexible terms for 1 to 7 years

    Interest rate from

    6.59%

    comparison rate from*

    6.87% based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    Fees

    $199.00 upfront: $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    • No account keeping fees
    • No penalty for an early payout
    • Flexible terms for 1 to 7 years
    Product info
    • Upfront fees: $199
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Monthly
    • Security required: Vehicle
    • Minimum loan amount: $2,000.00
    • Maximun loan amount: $75,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 7 Years
    Overall rating

    4.5

    Based on 4 IMB Bank car loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bank Australia Car Loan (Fixed)

    Bank Australia Car Loan (Fixed)

    • Applies to new or used vehicle purchases up to seven years of age
    • Additional payments accepted
    • No establishment fee for vehicles with a 5 star ANCAP or 7+ star greenhouse rating

    Interest rate from

    6.70%

    comparison rate from*

    6.91% based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    Fees

    $150.00 upfront: $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    • Applies to new or used vehicle purchases up to seven years of age
    • Additional payments accepted
    • No establishment fee for vehicles with a 5 star ANCAP or 7+ star greenhouse rating
    Product info
    • Upfront fees: $150
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Vehicle
    • Minimum loan amount: $1,000.00
    • Maximun loan amount:
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 7 Years
    Overall rating

    4.1

    Based on 11 Bank Australia car loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • ANZ Online Secured Car Loan (Fixed)

    ANZ Online Secured Car Loan (Fixed)

    • Borrow more than 100% of the car price to cover extras like accessories
    • You can buy either a new or used car from a dealer or private seller
    • Easy online application

    Interest rate from

    7.55%

    comparison rate from*

    8.40% based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    Fees

    $350.00 upfront: $5.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    • Borrow more than 100% of the car price to cover extras like accessories
    • You can buy either a new or used car from a dealer or private seller
    • Easy online application
    Product info
    • Upfront fees: $350
    • Monthly fee: $5.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Vehicle
    • Minimum loan amount: $7,500.00
    • Maximun loan amount:
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 7 Years
    Overall rating

    7.0

    Based on 132 ANZ car loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  Compare

Want more? Compare all 142 car loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare all car loans

Look for a specific type of car loan:

-- Choose loan type --

* The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a personal loan. The comparison rates displayed are for the amounts and terms quoted, based on monthly principal and interest repayments, on a secured basis for secured loans and an unsecured basis for unsecured loans, and apply only to these examples. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Full comparison rate schedules are available from lenders. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

rate to win ipad

Rate to win

Want to win a new 64GB iPhone 6? Simply review your bank, insurer, gas or electricity for your chance to win!

What would you like to review?

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2015

Forget industry awards where banks scratch each other's backs. Mozo presents the People's Choice Awards, based on more than 10,000 real customer reviews.

Check out the winners
Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.