Car loan reviews

Read the latest car loan reviews from the Mozo community to get the inside story on everything from the cheapest loans to the best customer service.

Search a review by:

Recent car loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • loans.com.au New Car Loan (Including Demo, Fixed, Secured) review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Disgusting scammers who don't give a hoot

    They entice you in with their low rates and then screw you over, charge you additional fees, say they've not received any contact from you and then charge you more fees. Disgusting.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Scammed, New South Wales, reviewed 2 days ago
  • IMB Bank Car Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    No to IMB car loans!

    Do not use this bank for a car loan if you or your company are in receipt of JobKeeper payments under Covid 19! Regardless if you are still working full time and receiving your normal pay.

    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Gerry, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed 8 days ago
  • Liberty Car Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Never again.

    Following up on my previous comments. The most arrogant company and employees I have ever come across, they have no understanding of what customer service is and they talk to you like they are your boss. Before you even consider this company for any loan just think twice. Unfortunately I do have a loan with them which I have to see out as I will always pay my debit but never again. Just try any other company except Liberty.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Mohamed, Victoria, reviewed 8 days ago
  • Liberty Car Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Don't trust Liberty and avoid them.

    Before you apply with Liberty or even talk to them please try another provider. They are arrogant and can't be trusted. I am a current customer and I pay my loan but the way they treat their customers is so bad you won't believe. This is a warning for anyone who is trying to get a loan from them.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Mohamed, Victoria, reviewed 14 days ago
  • St.George Secured Personal Loan (Fixed) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Easy, trustworthy bank who cares for the customers

    St George has been a reliable, easy to deal with bank. I would definitely go through them with my next car purchase.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Sarah, Queensland, reviewed 22 days ago
  • Bank Australia Car Loan (Fixed, Secured) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Australia Bank for the win.

    This Bank has the best ethical principles and refuses to fund environmentally destructive investments.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Sandy, South Australia, reviewed 25 days ago
  • Westpac Car Loan (Fixed, Secured) review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Westpac made a joke of me as I am disabled.

    I am a disabled pensioner. I applied for a car loan to downsize my car and to get better fuel economy. I applied for a fixed car loan and to put the car against the loan with no bad credit history. Westpac advertise they help people on a disability pension. I had a Westpac assistant Michael help do the application, the application came back and stated conditionally approved, Michael then gave myself a card stating "congrats on your up and coming new car" later that day I was asked by Westpac what my second income was? I was confused as I did not declare a second income. Westpac then rejected my application and would not help me with the loan. The loan repayment was $153 a fortnight over 7 years which was more than easy to repay, but Westpac stated I could not afford it. Westpac did not ask me about my budget or asked what I paid each fortnight. I was made out as a practical joke to Westpac. I am insulted and offended by the actions of Westpac.

    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Christopher, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • loans.com.au New Car Loan (Including Demo, Fixed, Secured) review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Just rude

    Anyone can be having a hard time. Everyone has other things going on in their life. Being rude to a potential customer is just inexcusable. They offer a great product on paper, but they fail to realise that customer service is also a component of the product. They need to be more compassionate and understanding, instead of driving away future business with their condescension. Won't be dealing with them in the future.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    John, Victoria, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • IMB Bank Car Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Time wasting red tape

    Tried to apply for a $20,000 car loan. They made it incredibly difficult and kept wanting more and more information and validation. They kept asking about our HECS debt - never had one. Weren't willing to lend even though we have two properties with no mortgage and have never had an issue with credit or defaulting on any payment. The lower interest rate is not worth the amount of stress and the amount of time we have wasted over this application.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Convenience
    2 / 10
    Trust
    2 / 10
    Less
    Tamara, Victoria, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • loans.com.au Car Loan review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Streamlined process, easy to use online points

    They are quick to respond to your queries. Their Ontrax App lets you upload your documents to keep track of progress and their online portal is easy to use once you're up and running. It's great to check progress and download statements to your required periods.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    James, New South Wales, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • loans.com.au Car Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    They lied about repayment to make it look less

    The whole refinance started with them telling me the monthly repayment would be 1080 multiply by 12 and divide by 52 which is $249. This was told by one of there CSTM. Now I signed up, and they paid settlements to old bank. Now guess How much I’m paying ? $1080 divide by 4 which is $270. They claimed they never said so. I requested them to listen to the record they recorded for quality and coaching purpose because I know they said so. They probably won’t. Is it some kind of trick to get more customers? I really want people to read this and relate. I hate when people makes me a fool. So here’s my review.

    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Sagun, New South Wales, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Bank Australia Car Loan (Fixed, Secured) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Bank Australia have been amazing.

    Can't recommend Bank Australia enough. I needed to refinance a loan due to a settlement. Applied one week ago and new loan was funded this morning. The lending consultant has been amazing - responsive, professional, informative, and really lovely to deal with. I can't recommend Bank Australia enough - when I applied for the original loan they were also amazing. I have never had to wait on hold, every person I've ever spoken to has been professional, courteous, and knowledgeable. This is before even considering the products, which as an old credit union, are no or low fee with great rates. It is also customer-owned, only lends to industries that that advance social and environmental causes, and does not lend to industries involved in firearms, tobacco, fossil fuels, or live animal exports. No brainer.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Kate, Victoria, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Pepper Money Car Loan review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Competitive rates.

    Customer service was really helpful and managed to get me a really competitive rate!

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Mina, Victoria, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Police Credit Union Fixed Rate Car Loan (Secured) review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Great value, sub par online experience.

    Their products are excellent value, but I find their mobile application sub par and under developed. Their credit options are simple and easy to understand, but the sacrifice is the bells and whistles that come with bigger banks.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    2 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Tom, South Australia, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Toyota Finance Car Loan review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Bullies and racist

    These bullies made no attempt to reach me via email or phone on their file for $112. They sent letters to my home address which was my old address five years ago, which I didn't receive. And then reported to a credit company. When asked about it they sent a blunt response. Please beware.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Pm, South Australia, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Car loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • New Car Loan

      Interest rate
      4.67% p.a.
      comparison rate*
      5.22% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 3 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 4.67% would cost $34,096.76 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Low Rate Car Loan Special Offer

      Interest rate
      4.89% p.a.
      comparison rate*
      5.16% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 1 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 4.89% would cost $34,052.58 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Car Loan

      Interest rate
      5.50% p.a.
      comparison rate*
      5.85% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 1 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 5.50% would cost $34,632.09 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Clean Green Car Loan

      Interest rate
      3.97% p.a.
      comparison rate*
      4.51% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 3 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 3.97% would cost $33,525.38 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Car Loan

      Interest rate
      5.99% p.a.
      comparison rate*
      6.63% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 1 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 5.99% would cost $35,290.67 including fees.

      Promoted

    *The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a personal loan. The comparison rates displayed are calculated based on a loan of $30,000 for a term of 5 years or a loan of $10,000 for a term of 3 years as indicated, based on monthly principal and interest repayments, on a secured basis for secured loans and an unsecured basis for unsecured loans. WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

    Want more? Compare all 199 car loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more car loans

    About Mozo Reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

    We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

    Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.