Car loan customer reviews

Read the latest car loan reviews from the Mozo community to get the inside story on everything from the cheapest loans to the best customer service.

Search a review by:

Recent car loan customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Pepper Money Secured Loan (Fixed)

    Be aware of excessive charges.

    I financed a vehicle through Pepper Money. The amount borrowed included premiums for an extended warranty and insurance. I subsequently cancelled the warranty and insurance and received a refund of the premiums that were capitalised to the loan. The insurer would only pay the refund into my Pepper Money loan account. I had no say in this. This resulted in me repaying the loan four months early. Pepper Money charged me a $50 early repayment fee and a $150 fee to cover their costs incurred in renegotiating funding facilities and reinvesting any proceeds that resulted from the early termination. When taking out the loan the vendor encouraged me to repay the loan early!

    Features
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Malcolm, Western Australia, reviewed about 22 hours ago
    More Pepper Money car loan customer reviews
  • Pepper Money Secured Loan (Fixed)

    Amazing Customer Service, Competitive & Fair!!!

    I have had a great deal of experience with various lenders, and I must admit that Pepper were absolutely brilliant to deal with. They offered a competitive product, they provided a very high level of customer service and were very very fair to deal with from start to finish. No waiting on the phone on hold for hours, in my 5 years that I dealt with Pepper on the approximately dozen occasions I phoned them my call was answered within 5 minutes and I was off the phone and completely satisfied within 15 minutes! When Covid hit and many people immediately found themselves in difficult and somewhat uncertain times, Pepper offered their customers immediate support by halting repayments until a broader plan was able to implemented. There were no penalties or fees applied to the halt of payments, which I would normally expect be the case from other lenders. Pepper offered good old fashioned customer service - and for that I say Thank-you Pepper and I will most certainly be back when I next require finance!

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Nathan, Western Australia, reviewed 11 days ago
    More Pepper Money car loan customer reviews
  • Latitude Car Loan (Over 3 years old, Fixed, Secured)

    Reject application that haven't applied

    I have a declined application that I haven't applied for and now has giving me a strike against my name.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Daniel, Victoria, reviewed 14 days ago
    More Latitude car loan customer reviews
  • RAC Car Loan

    So disappointing!

    Applied for a car loan and waited for their promise to have results within 7 working hours and it DIDN’T HAPPEN! Have to call them and have to tell all my circumstances and at the end being told that we can’t afford it coz we didn’t have previous loan of the certain amount! Never go to this institution as I’m afraid it will just ruin your credit history! So sad and so disappointing!

    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Lyn, Western Australia, reviewed 14 days ago
    More RAC car loan customer reviews
  • Pepper Money Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured)

    Excellent

    Pepper money accommodates your needs with ease and no fuss. Customer service is localised and fantastic. Very approachable.

    Price
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Phil, Victoria, reviewed 14 days ago
    More Pepper Money car loan customer reviews
  • TIO Car Loan

    Car insurance nightmare

    TIO car insurance is disappointing when living rural .They do not know their customers or geography. My claims is ongoing for 6 weeks with them not even making an attempt to send the car to a repairer. I am without a car out of pocket, and disheartened.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Irene, Western Australia, reviewed 14 days ago
    More TIO car loan customer reviews
  • Pepper Money Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured)

    You wont sneeze at the service from Pepper Money

    This was the simplest and easiest I have every gained a loan. They were professional, quick, and worked on the weekends! No one wants to default on loans. I think you have the right balance between information you need, and the ability to approve quickly. Amazing the fat and lazy banks that work 10am to 4pm would not work in an iron lung. Will never use a bank again.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Darryl, New South Wales, reviewed 28 days ago
    More Pepper Money car loan customer reviews
  • Pepper Money Car Loan

    Disappointing customer service experience

    The most horrible customer service ever. Do not return calls, do not actually fix the problem. No relevant understanding of customers needs or wishes. Have a no compromising view. The worst company I have ever had to deal with. Beyond disappointed, with the time wasting, false assurances of decisions and call backs, not to mention the call on hold timeframe ( don't try this in your lunch break).

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Nell, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 month ago
    More Pepper Money car loan customer reviews
  • Pepper Money Car Loan

    Terrible service. AFCA should investigate them.

    The most unhelpful bunch I have ever come across with false statements about their own bank's (Westpac) inability to reflect a payment on their account the same day despite you sending it by NPP (Osko). After 5 attempts to get a statement showing a loan that was settled 3 days ago, I kept getting the same unhelpful response that I must wait at least another 2 days and then eventually after spending many hours on the phone had a rude supervisor tell me off. I will never deal with this institution again.

    Price
    Features
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Chris, Queensland, reviewed 2 months ago
    More Pepper Money car loan customer reviews
  • RAC Car Loan

    stupid reasoning for refusal refinance

    Tried to get a loan I already have refinanced, they use the audacity to tell me i can’t afford it - yet i am already paying a higher repayment than what RAC would offer me. Very unhappy, have since gone elsewhere and been approved for the refinancing. wasted my time for 2 weeks.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Dannii, Western Australia, reviewed 3 months ago
    More RAC car loan customer reviews
  • RAC Car Loan

    Unwarranted damage to credit file

    As someone who works in finance, I would hope that others would operate in the same manner as I would for my clients. Thought I would inquire about re financing a car loan through RAC, went through the application and gave all info only to be told that their policies don’t fit my current circumstance. That is all well and good, but that conclusion could have been drawn without leaving an inquiry on my credit file. The information given was enough to make a decision without damaging my credit file. I have 2 homes insured with RAC, 2 cars insured with RAC and I will be looking elsewhere for each of them as a result of this poorly handled loan application. Credit files should be the last thing to be touched on an application, it is a serious thing that can effect people’s livelihoods!

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    David, Western Australia, reviewed 3 months ago
    More RAC car loan customer reviews
  • loans.com.au Used Car Loan (Home Owner Discount, Dealer Only, Up to 5 years old, Fixed, Secured)

    Early payout and establishment fees are high.

    Excessive early repayment fees and $400 establishment fee. Early repayment fee just went up to $700 in the first and second year and $500 in subsequent years. Means you're paying $700 early repayment in the first 2 years of a 3 year loan! Shop around. There's better deals out there. I'll never use them again.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Chris, Queensland, reviewed 4 months ago
    More loans.com.au car loan customer reviews
  • Liberty Car Loan

    Scum bags

    Liberty are vampires who prey on vulnerable situations. Time and again they have screwed me over in the past three years of me paying a loan back (at 19% interest!) I was desperate yes, and I'll never make that mistake again. Liberty did nothing to help me when Covid saw me redundant (they LET me allow my loan to catch up to the date I had already paid in advance of). They then told another finance company I was unreliable because of this when I tried to re-finance out of the loan - causing them to reject by finance and impact to my credit rating (which I have been working on furiously to improve for years). To top it off, now that I have the funds to escape this loan (which by the way after paying around $10k off, is still nearly at the initial loan amount), they keep changing the payout fee (in fact it has gone UP in the space of a week, and within that week I actually had a loan repayment direct debited!). VAMPIRES that should be disgusted in themselves honestly, I hope that if you are in a bad financial situation you read my review and are wary of Liberty and spread the word - they will do everything they can to sabotage your chances of escape.

    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    J, New South Wales, reviewed 4 months ago
    More Liberty car loan customer reviews
  • Pepper Money Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured)

    Great overall

    Happy with product and great service.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Betty, New South Wales, reviewed 4 months ago
    More Pepper Money car loan customer reviews
  • Pepper Money Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured)

    Excellent service

    From the moment I called to Enquiry till the end of my loan these guys have been great.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Cat, New South Wales, reviewed 4 months ago
    More Pepper Money car loan customer reviews
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Car loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • New Car Loan

      Interest rate
      4.99% p.a.
      comparison rate
      5.53% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 3 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 4.99% would cost $34,359.97 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Car Loan

      Interest rate
      4.89% p.a.to 9.99% p.a.
      comparison rate
      5.44% p.a.to 10.56% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 3 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 4.89% would cost $34,276.58 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Car Loan - Excellent Credit

      Interest rate
      5.95% p.a.to 19.99% p.a.
      comparison rate
      6.79% p.a.to 21.0% p.a.based on $10,000
      over 3 years

      Terms from 2 to 5 years. Representative example: a 3 year $10,000 loan at 5.95% would cost $11,538.74 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Low Rate Car Loan Special Offer

      Interest rate
      4.69% p.a.
      comparison rate
      5.01% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 1 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 4.69% would cost $33,888.17 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Car Loan

      Interest rate
      5.35% p.a.
      comparison rate
      5.65% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 1 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 5.35% would cost $34,507.61 including fees.

      Promoted

    WARNING: The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a personal loan. The comparison rates displayed are calculated based on a loan of $30,000 for a term of 5 years or a loan of $10,000 for a term of 3 years as indicated, based on monthly principal and interest repayments, on a secured basis for secured loans and an unsecured basis for unsecured loans. This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

    Want more? Compare all 195 car loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more car loans

    About Mozo Reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

    We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

    Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.