Savings account reviews

Read the latest savings account reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their savings institution to give you the inside story on everything from interest rates to convenience.

Search a review by:

Recent savings account reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • ING Savings Maximiser review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    A savings account that is high interest!

    The Savings Maximiser account is a high interest account that keeps our savings safe. We can access it via our app and we can easily share details of that account for transfers.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Cecilia, New South Wales, reviewed about 16 hours ago
  • BankSA Incentive Saver Account review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great bank.

    The only bank that suits my child's needs at the moment.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Amy, South Australia, reviewed 3 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Savings Account review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Great bank.

    Always an ATM around.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Melissa, Tasmania, reviewed 3 days ago
  • MyState Bank Bonus Saver Account review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Dropping %%%

    Got an email today staying they're dropping the rate of the bonus saver account again. Last year max bonus was 2.4-2.6% and as of October 1, it's 1.5% p.a. UBank have a lot better rates and if you're 18-29 Westpac have a big 3%. I joined Westpac 3 days ago and I'm glad I did!

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    3 / 10
    Less
    Martin, Tasmania, reviewed 7 days ago
  • Bendigo Bank Savings Account review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    The staff are very friendly.

    It feels very much like the community bank it is. The staff are very friendly and remember you when physically banking. Also, banking online is very user-friendly, which helps a baby boomer like myself, tech aware but not so savvy. Wish there were more physical branches.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Jennifer, Queensland, reviewed 9 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank NetBank Saver review

    Overall rating   4 / 10
    Fees are to high

    The fees are to high.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    3 / 10
    Customer service
    4 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    4 / 10
    Less
    Kay, Victoria, reviewed 10 days ago
  • NAB Reward Saver review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    No consultation but very convenient

    Was researching interest rates on savings accounts for weeks and took the risk with NAB over a smaller bank with a better interest rate as they were a bigger bank. Interest rates have changed without notice which I'm quite unhappy about. I should have gone with the smaller bank - there's has not changed. Can't fault NAB for convenience with branch locations and internet banking

    Price
    3 / 10
    Features
    3 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    3 / 10
    Less
    Megan, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed 10 days ago
  • HSBC Serious Saver review

    Overall rating   2 / 10
    HSBC Serious Sav account seriously not transparent

    Serious Saver said it was offering 2 percent followed by variable rate after four months. However, it turns out the 'introductory offer' (only for those who don't have an account with them) is also variable. Hang on, if you offer an 'introductory offer' that is variable, say in clear terms that it may vary from the day you begin banking with them. That's what happened. I put a large amount in this account but in less than a month, the rate dropped 0.5 %. And it could go down again, and again. An 'introductory offer' is a clever disguise for HSBC. I also put some money into the Macquarie Savings account offering a 'welcome rate' (again for those who have no prior account with Macquarie). The difference is, the 2 percent is fixed. HSBC needs to be more transparent.

    Price
    4 / 10
    Features
    2 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    2 / 10
    Less
    Jo, Victoria, reviewed 11 days ago
  • Macquarie Savings Account review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Make the switch.

    Come to Macquarie chasing higher interest rates, got a great 4 month intro rate on their savings account which has since ended, however their ongoing rate is still good. It's a normal savings account with a great rate, no nonus interest rates for making additional deposits, just set and forget. Only downside is that you must also have a transaction account, however, this also earns interest and has no fees! Crazy! I am still with my former bank, but if they ever slip up, Macquarie will get the lot. I really can't comment on their staff as I have never had to talk to any of them.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Daniel, New South Wales, reviewed 18 days ago
  • Westpac Savings Account review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Good customer service

    The bank regularly checks in via phone and follows up on emails to discuss my current situation and whats best for me.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Emma, Queensland, reviewed 21 days ago
  • NAB iSaver review

    Overall rating   4 / 10
    Average customer service.

    Low interest rates, customer help lines are off shore from my experience.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    3 / 10
    Customer service
    4 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    James, Victoria, reviewed 22 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Youthsaver review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Happy customer

    All my money is in one place, including my son's savings account which is linked to mine. Convenient. No complaints after 6 years with them.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Nicole, Queensland, reviewed 23 days ago
  • Bank of Melbourne Savings Account review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Perfect

    Open on Saturdays and the hours are great.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Katica, Victoria, reviewed 23 days ago
  • ING Savings Maximiser review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Great security but not an attractive interest rate

    ING is secure, easy to use and reliable. However interest rate is very low, close to zero, which means there is little incentive to remain loyal to them.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Tristan, New South Wales, reviewed 23 days ago
  • Xinja Stash (closed for new accounts) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Local startup with very competitive savings rate.

    When Xinja came across my news feed it looked too good to be true with the high savings rate and no fees. After looking into all their info on their website which was easy to navigate, I opened an account almost instantly. When my welcome pack arrived with a few goodies I was again pleasantly surprised, no big bank would send a card out with a box of goodies. I'm now hooked with Xinja and glad to be backing a local startup who are offering one of the most competitive savings rates on the market

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Cameron, New South Wales, reviewed 29 days ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Savings account comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Bonus Saver Account

      Maximum rate
      1.50% p.a. (for $0 to $250,000)
      standard interest rate
      0.15% p.a.(for $0 and over)
      Govt Deposit Guarantee
      Yes up to $250,000

      Bonus rate when at least $20 is deposited each month and five Visa Debit transactions are made each month using linked Everyday or Glide transaction accounts.

      Promoted
    • Hero Saver

      Maximum rate
      1.15% p.a. (for $0 to $250,000)
      standard interest rate
      0.01% p.a.(for $0 to $5,000,000)
      Govt Deposit Guarantee
      Yes up to $250,000

      Minimum deposit of $200 and no withdrawals in the month.

      Promoted
    • Fast Track Saver Account

      Maximum rate
      1.20% p.a. (for $1 to $250,000)
      standard interest rate
      0.20% p.a.(for $1 and over)
      Govt Deposit Guarantee
      Yes up to $250,000

      Ongoing bonus rate applied if in the previous month $1,000 or more is credited to the linked Day2Day Plus account and 5 eligible transactions are made by the linked account.

      Promoted
    • Online Saver

      Maximum rate
      1.35% p.a. (for $0 to $500,000)
      standard interest rate
      0.35% p.a.(for $0 and over)
      Govt Deposit Guarantee
      Yes up to $250,000

      Bonus rate for the first 4 months from account opening

      Promoted
    • Saver Account

      Maximum rate
      1.60% p.a. (for $0 to $50,000)
      standard interest rate
      0.10% p.a.(for $0 and over)
      Govt Deposit Guarantee
      Yes up to $250,000

      Make 5 or more successful card purchases per calendar month using your Up debit card and digital wallets (ATM transactions excluded).

      Promoted

    Want more? Compare all 224 savings accounts in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more savings accounts

    About Mozo Reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

    We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

    Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.