Advertisement

Savings account reviews

Read the latest savings account reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their savings institution to give you the inside story on everything from interest rates to convenience.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent savings account reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Direct Investment Account Direct Investment Account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Unexciting but safe banking

It's pretty easy to get in contact with Commonwealth bank, either by phone or by going to a branch. As an old customer I receive 6 monthly statements in the mail. It's also easy to use NetBank to transfer money. However I am disappointed with...

Full review

It's pretty easy to get in contact with Commonwealth bank, either by phone or by going to a branch. As an old customer I receive 6 monthly statements in the mail. It's also easy to use NetBank to transfer money. However I am disappointed with Commonwealth Bank after the findings of the Royal Commission.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Bob, New South Wales, reviewed 7 days ago

Westpac

Westpac eSaver eSaver review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service

If I need to ring I get an Australian call centre and usually don't have to wait long.

Full review

If I need to ring I get an Australian call centre and usually don't have to wait long.

    Price   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Kenneth, Victoria, reviewed about 1 month ago

ANZ

ANZ Savings Account review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Not too shabby

They are my first bank ever so my opinion might not be as accurate but I am pretty happy with what I got.

Full review

They are my first bank ever so my opinion might not be as accurate but I am pretty happy with what I got.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Jacob, Western Australia, reviewed about 1 month ago

St.George

St.George Savings Account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Ok

They are alright

Full review

They are alright

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Barry, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 month ago

Westpac

Westpac eSaver eSaver review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great

They are a great bank

Full review

They are a great bank

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Frank, Victoria, reviewed about 1 month ago

HSBC

HSBC Flexi Saver Flexi Saver review

Overall rating   10 / 10

High interest and branch access.

They have the highest saving rate among physical banks.

Full review

They have the highest saving rate among physical banks.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Leo, Victoria, reviewed about 1 month ago

ANZ

ANZ Progress Saver Progress Saver review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Very easy

ANZ is a very good bank that meets all my needs. This includes easy access, good customer service, nice and helpful staff and very trustworthy. I would definitely recommend ANZ to family and friends.

Full review

ANZ is a very good bank that meets all my needs. This includes easy access, good customer service, nice and helpful staff and very trustworthy. I would definitely recommend ANZ to family and friends.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Bianca, Queensland, reviewed 6 months ago

ANZ

ANZ Progress Saver Progress Saver review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great

ANZ is a great bank. I have been with ANZ bank for a long time now.

Full review

ANZ is a great bank. I have been with ANZ bank for a long time now.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Paul, Victoria, reviewed 8 months ago

NAB

NAB Reward Saver Reward Saver review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Good

Good savings account.

Full review

Good savings account.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Ejder, New South Wales, reviewed 8 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Savings Account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Decent

Streamline account is good for a savings account.

Full review

Streamline account is good for a savings account.

    Price   6 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

Less

Michelle, Victoria, reviewed 8 months ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia Savings Account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Good

Pretty good. Need branches in states such as the Northern Territory.

Full review

Pretty good. Need branches in states such as the Northern Territory.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Brooke, Victoria, reviewed 8 months ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia Savings Account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Good

They're a trustworthy bank. Only issue is there are no branches in some states of Australia like Northern Territory.

Full review

They're a trustworthy bank. Only issue is there are no branches in some states of Australia like Northern Territory.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Brooke, Victoria, reviewed 8 months ago

Westpac

Westpac eSaver eSaver review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Very helpful

It is a good savings account.

Full review

It is a good savings account.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Jamie, Queensland, reviewed 8 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Savings Account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Good savings account

I love my bank its the best bank.

Full review

I love my bank its the best bank.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Robert, Queensland, reviewed 8 months ago

St.George

St.George Savings Account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great bank, great team!

The staff are St George Bank are a wonderful team to deal with. They are friendly, professional, knowledgable, helpful and understanding.

Full review

The staff are St George Bank are a wonderful team to deal with. They are friendly, professional, knowledgable, helpful and understanding.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Lois, New South Wales, reviewed 8 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank GoalSaver GoalSaver review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Awesome

Great success using this savings account.

Full review

Great success using this savings account.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Kelly, Tasmania, reviewed 9 months ago

Westpac

Westpac Life Life review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great service

Good bank.

Full review

Good bank.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Melissa, Queensland, reviewed 9 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank NetBank Saver NetBank Saver review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Simplicity at hand

I love it. I wouldn't dream of changing banks.

Full review

I love it. I wouldn't dream of changing banks.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Joshua, South Australia, reviewed 9 months ago

ANZ

ANZ Online Saver Online Saver review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Very happy with my choice

Everything was explained clearly and easy to understand.

Full review

Everything was explained clearly and easy to understand.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Barbra, Queensland, reviewed 9 months ago

ANZ

ANZ Savings Account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

ANZ is my choice to bank with.

Have been a happy customer of ANZ bank for many of years. I find the staff always friendly and eager to help. I will remain a happy ANZ banker.

Full review

Have been a happy customer of ANZ bank for many of years. I find the staff always friendly and eager to help. I will remain a happy ANZ banker.

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Rachel, Victoria, reviewed 9 months ago

Westpac

Westpac Life Life review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Communication could be better

Westpac was a great bank a few years ago, but the last 2 years they have gotten worse. Money goes missing out of accounts, you have to wait for 48 hours to find where it's gone. They should be able to look on their computers, and see where it's...

Full review

Westpac was a great bank a few years ago, but the last 2 years they have gotten worse. Money goes missing out of accounts, you have to wait for 48 hours to find where it's gone. They should be able to look on their computers, and see where it's gone. Makes no sense.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Michelle, Western Australia, reviewed 9 months ago

Southern Cross Credit Union

Southern Cross Credit Union Dream Saver review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Awesome

The staff are all very kind and helpful people who will always solve any problems that you have with the account no matter how hard it is. It's just an overall awesome bank!

Full review

The staff are all very kind and helpful people who will always solve any problems that you have with the account no matter how hard it is. It's just an overall awesome bank!

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Kim, New South Wales, reviewed 9 months ago

People's Choice Credit Union

People's Choice Credit Union Online Saver Online Saver review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Amazing

I have banked with Credit Union for 4 years now and I couldn't be happier!

Full review

I have banked with Credit Union for 4 years now and I couldn't be happier!

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Leanna, South Australia, reviewed 9 months ago

ANZ

ANZ Savings Account review

Overall rating   6 / 10

It’s great

It’s useful and helpful. Very good.

Full review

It’s useful and helpful. Very good.

Less

Lily, Victoria, reviewed 9 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Savings Account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Will never change

I love my bank.

Full review

I love my bank.

Less

Kim, Queensland, reviewed 9 months ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Savings account comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2019

    UBank USaver with Ultra Transaction Account

    UBank USaver with Ultra Transaction Account

    • Bonus interest. Conditions apply
    • Visa Debit Card with Visa PayWave
    • No monthly account keeping fees

    Maximum rate

    2.41% p.a. (for $0 to $200,000)

    Bonus interest only applies on funds held in linked USaver account if $200 deposited into either account in the month from an external source.

    standard interest rate

    1.35% p.a.(for $0 to $5,000,000)

    account fee per month

    $0.00

    Go to site

    More info

    • Bonus interest. Conditions apply
    • Visa Debit Card with Visa PayWave
    • No monthly account keeping fees
    • Maximum rate conditions: Bonus interest only applies on funds held in linked USaver account if $200 deposited into either account in the previous month from an external source and the combined balance is less than $200,000.
    • Access: Phone banking, Internet banking
    • Minimum balance: $0.00
    • Other restrictions:
    Overall rating

    8.5

    Based on 670 UBank savings account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bankwest Hero Saver

    Bankwest Hero Saver

    • No account keeping fees
    • No transaction fees
    • 100% secure application process

    Maximum rate

    2.10% p.a. (for $0 to $250,000)

    Minimum deposit of $200 excluding interest and no withdrawals in the month

    standard interest rate

    0.01% p.a.(for $0 to $5,000,000)

    account fee per month

    $0.00

    Go to site

    More info

    • No account keeping fees
    • No transaction fees
    • 100% secure application process
    • Maximum rate conditions: Minimum deposit of $200 excluding interest and no withdrawals in the month
    • Access: Phone banking, Internet banking
    • Minimum balance: $0.00
    • Other restrictions:
    Overall rating

    8.0

    Based on 1352 Bankwest savings account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Suncorp Growth Saver Account

    Suncorp Growth Saver Account

    • Free staff assisted transactions, Internet and phone banking
    • $0 account fees
    • $0 minimum balance

    Maximum rate

    2.05% p.a. (for $0 and over)

    Grow your balance by $200 or more and make no more than one withdrawal in the month.

    standard interest rate

    0.20% p.a.(for $0 and over)

    account fee per month

    $0.00

    Go to site

    More info

    • Free staff assisted transactions, Internet and phone banking
    • $0 account fees
    • $0 minimum balance
    • Maximum rate conditions: Grow your balance by $200 or more and make no more than one withdrawal in the month.
    • Access: Branch access, Phone banking, Internet banking
    • Minimum balance: $0.00
    • Other restrictions:
    Overall rating

    8.0

    Based on 1724 Suncorp savings account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • ING Savings Maximiser

    ING Savings Maximiser

    • No ING fees
    • Great variable rate every month, no matter how many times you withdraw
    • Anytime, anywhere banking with mobile app and 24/7 Australian call centre

    Maximum rate

    2.30% p.a. (for $0 to $100,000)

    For customers who have an Orange Everyday and deposit at least $1,000 from an external bank account and make at least 5 card purchases using your ING debit card each month

    standard interest rate

    0.50% p.a.(for $0 and over)

    account fee per month

    $0.00

    Go to site

    More info

    • No ING fees
    • Great variable rate every month, no matter how many times you withdraw
    • Anytime, anywhere banking with mobile app and 24/7 Australian call centre
    • Maximum rate conditions: For customers who have an Orange Everyday and deposit at least $1,000 from an external bank account and make at least 5 card purchases using your ING debit card each month
    • Access: Phone banking, Internet banking
    • Minimum balance: $0.00
    • Other restrictions: Must link to a transaction account
    Overall rating

    8.9

    Based on 1934 ING savings account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • HSBC Serious Saver

    HSBC Serious Saver

    • No monthly fees
    • No minimum deposit
    • Apply online in under 10 minutes

    Maximum rate

    2.60% p.a. (for $0 to $1,000,000)

    No withdrawals in the month. Bonus rate for first 4 months, reverting to 0.70% bonus rate after*

    standard interest rate

    0% p.a.(for $0 and over)

    account fee per month

    $0.00

    Go to site

    More info

    • No monthly fees
    • No minimum deposit
    • Apply online in under 10 minutes
    • Maximum rate conditions: No withdrawals in the month. Bonus rate for first 4 months, reverting to 0.70% bonus rate after*
    • Access: Phone banking, Internet banking
    • Minimum balance: $0.00
    • Other restrictions:
    Overall rating

    7.5

    Based on 321 HSBC savings account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 226 savings accounts in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more savings accounts

Look for a specific type of savings account:

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2019

Mozo presents the People’s Choice Awards, based on real customer reviews.

Check out the winners
Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.

 
Advertisement