Savings account reviews

Read the latest savings account reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their savings institution to give you the inside story on everything from interest rates to convenience.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent savings account reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

Heritage Bank

Heritage Bank savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Brilliant service and rates, no extra charges

Heritage Bank has been totally outstanding in every interaction I've had with them. Over the past 10 years, I've been a customer with them, they have offered friendly, thoughtful, advice and managed my loans brilliantly going above and beyond any...

Full review

Heritage Bank has been totally outstanding in every interaction I've had with them. Over the past 10 years, I've been a customer with them, they have offered friendly, thoughtful, advice and managed my loans brilliantly going above and beyond any banking service. I couldn't recommend a financial institution more highly and I've dealt with a lot of banks - Westpac, NAB, ANZ , St George, Commonwealth and I couldn't and wouldn't recommend any of them. The only problem with Heritage is that it covers such a small area of QLD.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Lynne (QLD), reviewed 3 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank GoalSaver savings account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

I wouldn't go to any other bank

I've been with Commonwealth Bank since I started a savings account and I still have the same account open and going strong.

Full review

I've been with Commonwealth Bank since I started a savings account and I still have the same account open and going strong.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Michael (NSW), reviewed 3 months ago

Bendigo Bank

Bendigo Bank CommunitySaver Account savings account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great service

Always friendly and helpful. They try to get to know you personally.

Full review

Always friendly and helpful. They try to get to know you personally.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Wayne (VIC), reviewed 3 months ago

Bendigo Bank

Bendigo Bank CommunitySaver Account savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Very good customer service

I like this provider because it is local and suits me as I do not have a job or get any benefits from the government.

Full review

I like this provider because it is local and suits me as I do not have a job or get any benefits from the government.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Patrice (QLD), reviewed 3 months ago

St.George

St.George Maxi Saver savings account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Good services

Good service, easy access to online banking. Friendly and helpful staff.

Full review

Good service, easy access to online banking. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Stan (NSW), reviewed 3 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great bank

I like this bank because it is very easy to open an account and employees are very friendly.

Full review

I like this bank because it is very easy to open an account and employees are very friendly.

    Price   -1 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Pamela (NSW), reviewed 3 months ago

ANZ

ANZ Progress Saver savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Makes saving simple

Low interest rates, however accessibility to my money is always easy.

Full review

Low interest rates, however accessibility to my money is always easy.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Gary (VIC), reviewed 3 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank GoalSaver savings account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Easy to use online and helpful

This bank has been my bank since I was a child. It has been child friendly and helped me greatly into adulthood. Customer service was excellent, as they had only me in mind when offering which accounts I might be interested in opening.

Full review

This bank has been my bank since I was a child. It has been child friendly and helped me greatly into adulthood. Customer service was excellent, as they had only me in mind when offering which accounts I might be interested in opening.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Shanae (QLD), reviewed 3 months ago

Westpac

Westpac savings account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great for day to day use

Westpac was a better alternative to another bank and I got my first home loan through them so stuck with them. Their website is easy to navigate whether on mobile or my home computer.

Full review

Westpac was a better alternative to another bank and I got my first home loan through them so stuck with them. Their website is easy to navigate whether on mobile or my home computer.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Stephane (VIC), reviewed 3 months ago

ANZ

ANZ savings account review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Average overall

I don't like the fact that staff move away to another branch after you become familiar and build a comfortable relationship with them. I also hate the fact that they are cutting back on tellers.

Full review

I don't like the fact that staff move away to another branch after you become familiar and build a comfortable relationship with them. I also hate the fact that they are cutting back on tellers.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Jeanette (NSW), reviewed 3 months ago

NAB

NAB iSaver savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Good products, good staff, lifetime customer

Very friendly staff and good overall banking products.

Full review

Very friendly staff and good overall banking products.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Mary (SA), reviewed 3 months ago

NAB

NAB Reward Saver savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great provider

The branch I am with have very welcoming staff. They are helpful and offer new options for your banking.

Full review

The branch I am with have very welcoming staff. They are helpful and offer new options for your banking.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Mardi (VIC), reviewed 3 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank NetBank Saver savings account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

They are friendly and competitive

Commonwealth Bank is an Australian bank which keeps up with the needs of people.

Full review

Commonwealth Bank is an Australian bank which keeps up with the needs of people.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Graham (WA), reviewed 3 months ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland WebSavings Account savings account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

We are satisfied with the service

We always found staff friendly and helpful. Staff are always very helpful and never too much trouble to assist us no matter how busy they are.

Full review

We always found staff friendly and helpful. Staff are always very helpful and never too much trouble to assist us no matter how busy they are.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Marion (QLD), reviewed 3 months ago

Westpac

Westpac savings account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great banking experience

Banking makes internet and phone banking really easy.

Full review

Banking makes internet and phone banking really easy.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Jason (VIC), reviewed 3 months ago

Westpac

Westpac savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

I find Westpac to be a very friendly bank - the staff have been wonderful and very helpful. The only dislike is when I have to join the queue and find only about two tellers.

Full review

I find Westpac to be a very friendly bank - the staff have been wonderful and very helpful. The only dislike is when I have to join the queue and find only about two tellers.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Lynette (QLD), reviewed 3 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Fantastic customer service and great security

I have banked with them for almost 30 years and never had any issues or problems. They have fantastic friendly and helpful staff. I was only recently thanked for my loyalty with staying with them for so long, and they also have very good security...

Full review

I have banked with them for almost 30 years and never had any issues or problems. They have fantastic friendly and helpful staff. I was only recently thanked for my loyalty with staying with them for so long, and they also have very good security in place to protect me. I trust them and couldn't be happier with my bank.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Teele (QLD), reviewed 3 months ago

NAB

NAB Reward Saver savings account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Easy to use website for online banking

Good low credit card rate.

Full review

Good low credit card rate.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Nola (NSW), reviewed 3 months ago

CUA

CUA savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service and product range

They are always competitive and offer you the best possible solution for your needs.

Full review

They are always competitive and offer you the best possible solution for your needs.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Milda (QLD), reviewed 3 months ago

St.George

St.George savings account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Loyal customer, better than Westpac

They are better than Westpac who own them; however the interest rates on term deposits are worse than I can get for some of their other savings options.

Full review

They are better than Westpac who own them; however the interest rates on term deposits are worse than I can get for some of their other savings options.

    Price   -1 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Dada (NSW), reviewed 3 months ago

Bendigo Bank

Bendigo Bank EasySaver Account savings account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Good choice of accounts and very friendly staff

Pensioner savings account available and friendly staff. I've never had a problem with Bendigo Bank.

Full review

Pensioner savings account available and friendly staff. I've never had a problem with Bendigo Bank.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Sue (SA), reviewed 3 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank NetBank Saver savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Friendly staff with great customer service

I like this bank because the customer service is fantastic. The staff members at most branches I go into are all friendly and very helpful. They take their time to explain the products and terms and conditions. Even on the phone, staff members are...

Full review

I like this bank because the customer service is fantastic. The staff members at most branches I go into are all friendly and very helpful. They take their time to explain the products and terms and conditions. Even on the phone, staff members are very helpful.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Maria (NSW), reviewed 3 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank NetBank Saver savings account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service

I've been with this bank for 20 years they have been good to me so I've continued to stay with this bank.

Full review

I've been with this bank for 20 years they have been good to me so I've continued to stay with this bank.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Maleta (QLD), reviewed 3 months ago

NAB

NAB Cash Manager savings account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Overall good company

Internet banking is great. Some staff need retraining in customer service.

Full review

Internet banking is great. Some staff need retraining in customer service.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Bernie (QLD), reviewed 3 months ago

ME

ME Online Savings Account savings account review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Competitive rate, hopeless account keeping

This bank makes lots of mistakes in the interest payments and has confusing account keeping. I have had to ring several times due to wrong interest being credited, or tax withheld and paid to taxation office even though I was exempt. Interest rate...

Full review

This bank makes lots of mistakes in the interest payments and has confusing account keeping. I have had to ring several times due to wrong interest being credited, or tax withheld and paid to taxation office even though I was exempt. Interest rate is competitive which is the only reason I am still with them.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Florence (TAS), reviewed 3 months ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Savings account comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    Bank Australia Bonus Saver

    Bank Australia Bonus Saver

    • High interest rate of up to 2.60%p.a.
    • Bonus interest
    • Access to your savings

    special rate*

    2.60% p.a. (for $1 and over)

    minimum deposit $100, no withdrawals

    standard interest rate

    0.15% p.a.(for $1 and over)

    account fee per month

    $0.00

    Go to site

    More info

    • High interest rate of up to 2.60%p.a.
    • Bonus interest
    • Access to your savings
    • Special rate conditions: Minimum deposit of $100 and no withdrawals in the month
    • Access: BPay, Branch access, Phone banking, Internet banking
    • Minimum balance: $0.00
    • Other restrictions:
    Overall rating

    7.5

    Based on 35 Bank Australia savings account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • ANZ Online Saver

    ANZ Online Saver

    • Flexible high interest savings account plus exclusive online bonus interest offer for 3 months. Limited time only
    • Interest calculated daily and paid monthly
    • No minimum balance, no withdrawal fees and no fixed term requirements

    special rate*

    2.55% p.a. (for $0 and over)

    Bonus rate for the first 3 months from account opening. The bonus rate offer is only available to new ANZ Online Saver customers who have not held an ANZ Online Saver account during the last 6 months, and apply online.

    standard interest rate

    1.00% p.a.(for $0 and over)

    account fee per month

    $0.00

    Go to site

    More info

    • Flexible high interest savings account plus exclusive online bonus interest offer for 3 months. Limited time only
    • Interest calculated daily and paid monthly
    • No minimum balance, no withdrawal fees and no fixed term requirements
    • Special rate conditions: Bonus rate for the first 3 months from account opening. The bonus rate offer is only available to new ANZ Online Saver customers who have not held an ANZ Online Saver account during the last 6 months, and apply online. Offer not available to beneficiaries for an ANZ Online Saver account held on trust within the past 6 months
    • Access: BPay, Phone banking, Internet banking
    • Minimum balance: $0.00
    • Other restrictions: Must be linked to ANZ deposit account.
    Overall rating

    7.7

    Based on 2117 ANZ savings account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • St.George Maxi Saver

    St.George Maxi Saver

    • 24/7 access online savings account
    • No monthly service fees
    • No minimum monthly balance or deposit required

    special rate*

    2.80% p.a. (for $0 and over)

    bonus rate for first 3 months

    standard interest rate

    1.00% p.a.(for $0 and over)

    account fee per month

    $0.00

    Go to site

    More info

    • 24/7 access online savings account
    • No monthly service fees
    • No minimum monthly balance or deposit required
    • Special rate conditions: Bonus rate for the first 3 months from account opening
    • Access: Branch access, Phone banking, Internet banking
    • Minimum balance: $0.00
    • Other restrictions: Must link to a transaction account with this provider
    Overall rating

    7.9

    Based on 724 St.George savings account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 201 savings accounts in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare all savings accounts

Look for a specific type of savings account:

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2017

Forget industry awards where banks scratch each other's backs. Mozo presents the People's Choice Awards, based on real customer reviews.

Check out the winners

Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.