Savings account reviews

Read the latest savings account reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their savings institution to give you the inside story on everything from interest rates to convenience.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent savings account reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

Bank of Melbourne

Bank of Melbourne Maxi Saver savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Bank of Melbourne are fantastic

They deliver superior services and I couldn't be happier recommending my local Branch at Waurn Ponds.

They deliver superior services and I couldn't be happier recommending my local Branch at Waurn Ponds.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Sharon (VIC), reviewed 17 days ago

St.George

St.George Investment Cash Account savings account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Service friendly

I find the staff at Penrith easy to deal with and the service at counter is pleasant.

I find the staff at Penrith easy to deal with and the service at counter is pleasant.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Kevin (NSW), reviewed 19 days ago

Bendigo Bank

Bendigo Bank savings account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Good provider

Bendigo Bank process funds mush quicker than other major banks.

Bendigo Bank process funds mush quicker than other major banks.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Tamika (VIC), reviewed 24 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank NetBank Saver savings account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service, many ATMs and convenient

I like Commonwealth Bank because of the excellent customer service. Commonwealth Bank also has a lot of ATMs around Australia. This becomes really handy when you are in a rush or are limited in cash and do not want to pay the surcharge for using...

I like Commonwealth Bank because of the excellent customer service. Commonwealth Bank also has a lot of ATMs around Australia. This becomes really handy when you are in a rush or are limited in cash and do not want to pay the surcharge for using other ATMs.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Matthew (NSW), reviewed 26 days ago

ING DIRECT

ING DIRECT Savings Maximiser savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Top service with good returns

Every aspect of using this bank is streamlined and easy. Never once had any issues. Great interest rates. Great customer service.

Every aspect of using this bank is streamlined and easy. Never once had any issues. Great interest rates. Great customer service.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Marg (QLD), reviewed 26 days ago

Greater Bank

Greater Bank Cash Management Account savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Greater bank than all the rest

Helpful and friendly staff who make sure we understand what we need to do.

Helpful and friendly staff who make sure we understand what we need to do.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Jan (NSW), reviewed 26 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank savings account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Extremely satisfied with this bank

Both areas of banking, whether it be by telephone or at branch - Commonwealth Bank have been helpful in establishing all my banking needs. The staff at my local branch are very efficient and polite.

Both areas of banking, whether it be by telephone or at branch - Commonwealth Bank have been helpful in establishing all my banking needs. The staff at my local branch are very efficient and polite.

    Price   -1 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Margaret (QLD), reviewed about 1 month ago

St.George

St.George Maxi Saver savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Good customer service

Always willing and happy to satisfy customers requirements.

Always willing and happy to satisfy customers requirements.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

William (QLD), reviewed about 1 month ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland Bonus Interest Savings Account savings account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great customer service

At present, interest paid for savings account is very low.

At present, interest paid for savings account is very low.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Roslyn (QLD), reviewed about 2 months ago

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank Online Saver savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

Friendly and easy to contact, however there are too few offices that are located miles away from where I live.

Friendly and easy to contact, however there are too few offices that are located miles away from where I live.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Judy (VIC), reviewed about 2 months ago

Electricity Credit Union

Electricity Credit Union savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Competitive rates and great customer service

This bank has its head office in Cairns and understands Cairns better than any other bank with their head offices in Sydney or Melbourne. I was told by a broker that I would not get a loan through ECU as they felt my criteria did not suit them....

This bank has its head office in Cairns and understands Cairns better than any other bank with their head offices in Sydney or Melbourne. I was told by a broker that I would not get a loan through ECU as they felt my criteria did not suit them. They then told me I would have to apply with one of the big banks. I spoke with ECU and they told me to apply. My loan was approved within a few days and their interest rates were excellent. I have found ECU to be easy and friendly to deal with unlike the big banks and their fees are less than charges from the big banks.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Ross (QLD), reviewed about 2 months ago

ANZ

ANZ savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

ANZ has been friendly and helpful in setting up all accounts and applications. They are very informative with product information and are willing to answer any questions.

ANZ has been friendly and helpful in setting up all accounts and applications. They are very informative with product information and are willing to answer any questions.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Paula (QLD), reviewed about 2 months ago

St.George

St.George Incentive Saver Account savings account review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Disappointing

Very low interest rate which does not allow for my savings to grow as quickly as I would have thought.

Very low interest rate which does not allow for my savings to grow as quickly as I would have thought.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Gay (NSW), reviewed about 2 months ago

ME

ME Online Savings Account savings account review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Dissatisfied

We have insisted on printed statements and always have to chase the bank to provide them. Often they are promised the next week and just never arrive.

We have insisted on printed statements and always have to chase the bank to provide them. Often they are promised the next week and just never arrive.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Ian (VIC), reviewed about 2 months ago

Westpac

Westpac savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Competitive rates on loans and insurance policies

Westpac offers good service and friendly advice on investment matters.

Westpac offers good service and friendly advice on investment matters.

    Price   -1 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Brian (VIC), reviewed about 2 months ago

Westpac

Westpac savings account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Never had a problem

I have been banking with Westpac for over 20 years and I've never had a problem with my account.

I have been banking with Westpac for over 20 years and I've never had a problem with my account.

    Price   -1 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Lorron (VIC), reviewed about 2 months ago

NAB

NAB Reward Saver savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Always a pleasure to deal with

Beverley at the Seymour (Victoria) branch has been extremely helpful and given a great deal of advice. The staff overall at the Seymour branch are professional, friendly and always helpful.

Beverley at the Seymour (Victoria) branch has been extremely helpful and given a great deal of advice. The staff overall at the Seymour branch are professional, friendly and always helpful.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Kylie (VIC), reviewed about 2 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank NetBank Saver savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Wonderful in every aspect

I have been with Commonwealth Bank for over 10 years now and have never had a problem. They offer great service and offers.

I have been with Commonwealth Bank for over 10 years now and have never had a problem. They offer great service and offers.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Brenna (TAS), reviewed about 2 months ago

NAB

NAB Reward Saver savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

They are conveniently located and staff are open and friendly.

They are conveniently located and staff are open and friendly.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Peter (NSW), reviewed about 2 months ago

Westpac

Westpac eSaver savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service and very competitive bank

I have been with Westpac since 1975 and have stayed with this bank because they have always been able to provide support with all our loan requirements.

I have been with Westpac since 1975 and have stayed with this bank because they have always been able to provide support with all our loan requirements.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Maria (QLD), reviewed about 2 months ago

ANZ

ANZ Progress Saver savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Best banking services

I think they are the best bank that I've had to deal with.

I think they are the best bank that I've had to deal with.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Donna (VIC), reviewed about 2 months ago

ING DIRECT

ING DIRECT savings account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Easy to deal with, always prompt and friendly

Everything has been fantastic from day one. Very easy to deal with and competitive rates also.

Everything has been fantastic from day one. Very easy to deal with and competitive rates also.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

David (VIC), reviewed 2 months ago

NAB

NAB savings account review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Good bank, would not change providers

There have been fraudulent transactions on my account and they sorted it within a month and I got all the money paid back to me soon after.

There have been fraudulent transactions on my account and they sorted it within a month and I got all the money paid back to me soon after.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Nicole (QLD), reviewed 2 months ago

ING DIRECT

ING DIRECT Savings Maximiser savings account review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Good online interface but not the best return

I was a happy customer of ING DIRECT for many years and I found the online banking interface easy to use, but unfortunately the interest rate continued to drop lower than others on the market, so I switched to a competitor for a better return.

I was a happy customer of ING DIRECT for many years and I found the online banking interface easy to use, but unfortunately the interest rate continued to drop lower than others on the market, so I switched to a competitor for a better return.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Kelly (VIC), reviewed 2 months ago

Bendigo Bank

Bendigo Bank savings account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Good bank

Quick and easy to deal with. Staff are great and helpful. The only problem is when you're out of your own state, there aren't enough ATM'S around.

Quick and easy to deal with. Staff are great and helpful. The only problem is when you're out of your own state, there aren't enough ATM'S around.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Dianne (QLD), reviewed 2 months ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Savings account comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    ME Online Savings Account

    ME Online Savings Account

    • Savings Bank of the Year 2016
    • No minimum monthly deposit. Ongoing variable bonus rate
    • No monthly account-keeping fees

    special rate*

    3.05% p.a. (for $0 to $250,000)

    Ongoing bonus rate if during the month you make a weekly Tap & Go purchase with your ME Everyday Transaction Account buck Debit MasterCard.

    standard interest rate

    1.30% p.a.(for $0 and over)

    account fee per month

    $0.00

    Go to site

    More info

    • Savings Bank of the Year 2016
    • No minimum monthly deposit. Ongoing variable bonus rate
    • No monthly account-keeping fees
    • Special rate conditions: Ongoing bonus rate if during the month you make a weekly Tap & Go purchase with your ME Everyday Transaction Account buck Debit MasterCard.
    • Access: Phone banking, Internet banking
    • Minimum balance: $0.00
    • Other restrictions: Must link to a transaction account
    Overall rating

    8.1

    Based on 119 ME savings account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • ING DIRECT Savings Maximiser

    ING DIRECT Savings Maximiser

    • No ING DIRECT fees
    • Great variable rate every month, no matter how many times you withdraw
    • Anytime, anywhere banking with mobile app and 24/7 Australian call centre

    special rate*

    3.00% p.a. (for $0 to $100,000)

    For customers who also have an Orange Everyday and deposit their pay of $1,000+ each month.

    standard interest rate

    1.50% p.a.(for $0 and over)

    account fee per month

    $0.00

    Go to site

    More info

    • No ING DIRECT fees
    • Great variable rate every month, no matter how many times you withdraw
    • Anytime, anywhere banking with mobile app and 24/7 Australian call centre
    • Special rate conditions: For customers who also have an Orange Everyday and deposit their pay of $1,000+ each month.
    • Access: Phone banking, Internet banking
    • Minimum balance: $0.00
    • Other restrictions: Must link to a transaction account
    Overall rating

    9.2

    Based on 428 ING DIRECT savings account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Mozo's pick of the month

     

    MyState Special eSaver Account

    MyState Special eSaver Account

    • Get rewarded with a higher interest rate, earn 2.50% p.a. for balances $50,000+
    • Online access to your money, whenever you need it
    • No monthly account fees, no minimum balance or ongoing deposits required

    special rate*

    p.a.

    standard interest rate

    2.50% p.a.(for $50,000 to $1,000,001)

    account fee per month

    $0.00

    Go to site

    More info

    • Get rewarded with a higher interest rate, earn 2.50% p.a. for balances $50,000+
    • Online access to your money, whenever you need it
    • No monthly account fees, no minimum balance or ongoing deposits required
    • Special rate conditions:
    • Access: BPay, Phone banking, Internet banking
    • Minimum balance: $0.00
    • Other restrictions:
    Overall rating

    7.9

    Based on 56 MyState savings account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bank Australia Bonus Saver

    Bank Australia Bonus Saver

    • High interest rate of up to 2.60%p.a.
    • Bonus interest
    • Access to your savings

    special rate*

    2.60% p.a. (for $1 and over)

    minimum deposit $100, no withdrawals

    standard interest rate

    0.15% p.a.(for $1 and over)

    account fee per month

    $0.00

    Go to site

    More info

    • High interest rate of up to 2.60%p.a.
    • Bonus interest
    • Access to your savings
    • Special rate conditions: Minimum deposit of $100 and no withdrawals in the month
    • Access: BPay, Branch access, Phone banking, Internet banking
    • Minimum balance: $0.00
    • Other restrictions:
    Overall rating

    7.5

    Based on 35 Bank Australia savings account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • ANZ Online Saver

    ANZ Online Saver

    • Flexible high interest savings account plus exclusive online bonus interest offer for 3 months. Limited time only
    • Interest calculated daily and paid monthly
    • No minimum balance, no withdrawal fees and no fixed term requirements

    special rate*

    2.55% p.a. (for $0 and over)

    Bonus rate for the first 3 months from account opening. The bonus rate offer is only available to new ANZ Online Saver customers who have not held an ANZ Online Saver account during the last 6 months, and apply online.

    standard interest rate

    1.15% p.a.(for $0 and over)

    account fee per month

    $0.00

    Go to site

    More info

    • Flexible high interest savings account plus exclusive online bonus interest offer for 3 months. Limited time only
    • Interest calculated daily and paid monthly
    • No minimum balance, no withdrawal fees and no fixed term requirements
    • Special rate conditions: Bonus rate for the first 3 months from account opening. The bonus rate offer is only available to new ANZ Online Saver customers who have not held an ANZ Online Saver account during the last 6 months, and apply online. Offer not available to beneficiaries for an ANZ Online Saver account held on trust within the past 6 months
    • Access: BPay, Phone banking, Internet banking
    • Minimum balance: $0.00
    • Other restrictions: Must be linked to ANZ deposit account.
    Overall rating

    7.7

    Based on 2117 ANZ savings account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 197 savings accounts in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare all savings accounts

Look for a specific type of savings account:

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2016

Forget industry awards where banks scratch each other's backs. Mozo presents the People's Choice Awards, based on more than 30,000 real customer reviews.

Check out the winners

Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.