Savings account reviews

Read the latest savings account reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their savings institution to give you the inside story on everything from interest rates to convenience.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent savings account reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

ING DIRECT

ING DIRECT savings account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Easy to deal with, always prompt and friendly

Everything has been fantastic from day one. Very easy to deal with and competitive rates also.

Everything has been fantastic from day one. Very easy to deal with and competitive rates also.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

David (VIC), reviewed 1 day ago

NAB

NAB savings account review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Good bank, would not change providers

There have been fraudulent transactions on my account and they sorted it within a month and I got all the money paid back to me soon after.

There have been fraudulent transactions on my account and they sorted it within a month and I got all the money paid back to me soon after.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Nicole (QLD), reviewed 1 day ago

ING DIRECT

ING DIRECT Savings Maximiser savings account review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Good online interface but not the best return

I was a happy customer of ING DIRECT for many years and I found the online banking interface easy to use, but unfortunately the interest rate continued to drop lower than others on the market, so I switched to a competitor for a better return.

I was a happy customer of ING DIRECT for many years and I found the online banking interface easy to use, but unfortunately the interest rate continued to drop lower than others on the market, so I switched to a competitor for a better return.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Kelly (VIC), reviewed 2 days ago

Bendigo Bank

Bendigo Bank savings account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Good bank

Quick and easy to deal with. Staff are great and helpful. The only problem is when you're out of your own state, there aren't enough ATM'S around.

Quick and easy to deal with. Staff are great and helpful. The only problem is when you're out of your own state, there aren't enough ATM'S around.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Dianne (QLD), reviewed 2 days ago

People's Choice Credit Union

People's Choice Credit Union savings account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

As competitive as any other bank

I like this bank because if I had a complaint or question, they handle the situation as quickly as possible. I can't find any cons from my branch.

I like this bank because if I had a complaint or question, they handle the situation as quickly as possible. I can't find any cons from my branch.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Barbara (SA), reviewed 2 days ago

NAB

NAB savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Competitive charges and good customer service

I am very happy with NAB. My accounts work well and are easy to use. The fees seem a bit extreme for sending overseas transfers but other than that I am very happy.

I am very happy with NAB. My accounts work well and are easy to use. The fees seem a bit extreme for sending overseas transfers but other than that I am very happy.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Simon (NSW), reviewed 2 days ago

ANZ

ANZ Progress Saver savings account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

ANZ has been great to deal with

ANZ could be one of the greatest banks here in Australia as they support my funding decisions and also have high security alert. They have great customer care and responsibilities to take on so pleasurably.

ANZ could be one of the greatest banks here in Australia as they support my funding decisions and also have high security alert. They have great customer care and responsibilities to take on so pleasurably.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Tammie (NSW), reviewed 2 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank NetBank Saver savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great bank !

Staff are very easy to talk to if you have a problem.

Staff are very easy to talk to if you have a problem.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Jodie (QLD), reviewed 2 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank NetBank Saver savings account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

I plan to stay with them

I have been with Commonwealth Bank since I was sixteen and they have been great to date.

I have been with Commonwealth Bank since I was sixteen and they have been great to date.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Hayley (SA), reviewed 2 days ago

ANZ

ANZ Online Saver savings account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Good banking experience

They provide a service that suits my lifestyle and I have banked with them for 30 years now.

They provide a service that suits my lifestyle and I have banked with them for 30 years now.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

John (NSW), reviewed 12 days ago

Bankwest

Bankwest Smart eSaver savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Good customer service

They have never caused any issues, customer service is wonderful.

They have never caused any issues, customer service is wonderful.

    Price   -1 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Beth (WA), reviewed 13 days ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent Rapid Saver Account savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

This provider puts its people and community first

Newcastle Permanent is a building society instituted for the people of Newcastle and the Hunter Valley. They have continued to put Novocastrians and Hunter Valley communities first. Their staff are very much aware of the needs of their clients and...

Newcastle Permanent is a building society instituted for the people of Newcastle and the Hunter Valley. They have continued to put Novocastrians and Hunter Valley communities first. Their staff are very much aware of the needs of their clients and offer great advice when opening new accounts or taking out loans. Having been with them for 46 years, I would not bank with any other institution.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Kerrie (NSW), reviewed 13 days ago

NAB

NAB iSaver savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

I would recommend this bank to family friends

Staff are always smiling and are happy to explain anything that is difficult to understand.

Staff are always smiling and are happy to explain anything that is difficult to understand.

    Price   -1 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Lillian (NSW), reviewed 22 days ago

ANZ

ANZ savings account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service

I have been with ANZ for a long time and they've always been great.

I have been with ANZ for a long time and they've always been great.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Adele (NSW), reviewed 22 days ago

NAB

NAB savings account review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Quite good

NAB has been better than most.

NAB has been better than most.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Jason (WA), reviewed 22 days ago

Suncorp

Suncorp Cash Management Account savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service and advice

They do not pressure you into other banking options.

They do not pressure you into other banking options.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Lynette (QLD), reviewed about 2 months ago

ING DIRECT

ING DIRECT savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

I enjoy being with ING Direct

I couldn't fault ING Direct. I have happily been with them all my adult life and thank this provider for giving me the encouragement and motivation to save. I recommend ING Direct to any young adult with travel and dreams to own their own home.

I couldn't fault ING Direct. I have happily been with them all my adult life and thank this provider for giving me the encouragement and motivation to save. I recommend ING Direct to any young adult with travel and dreams to own their own home.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Ali (VIC), reviewed about 2 months ago

St.George

St.George Maxi Saver savings account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Friendly customer service

I like the manager, he is always available to help out when needed and has a very friendly attitude which makes banking with St. George a pleasing process.

I like the manager, he is always available to help out when needed and has a very friendly attitude which makes banking with St. George a pleasing process.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Maree (ACT), reviewed about 2 months ago

ANZ

ANZ Progress Saver savings account review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Not a happy customer

ANZ have lost competitiveness in the market. In my opinion they have more interest in shareholders than customers.

ANZ have lost competitiveness in the market. In my opinion they have more interest in shareholders than customers.

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Joanna (WA), reviewed about 2 months ago

NAB

NAB iSaver savings account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

I would recommend this bank to others

I'm very happy with this provider and enjoy banking with them.

I'm very happy with this provider and enjoy banking with them.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Emma (NSW), reviewed 2 months ago

Westpac

Westpac eSaver savings account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great service

Easy to do business with Westpac.

Easy to do business with Westpac.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Veronica (VIC), reviewed 2 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent bank

I've always had the best experience with Commonwealth Bank in all the years I've been with them.

I've always had the best experience with Commonwealth Bank in all the years I've been with them.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Callie (NSW), reviewed 2 months ago

ANZ

ANZ savings account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

ANZ is the way banking should be- Honest

ANZ will always be my bank. The company and staff go beyond general care of your finances. They are always friendly and polite and will assist you in every way.

ANZ will always be my bank. The company and staff go beyond general care of your finances. They are always friendly and polite and will assist you in every way.

    Price   -1 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Jodie (NSW), reviewed 2 months ago

ANZ

ANZ savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

I'm happy with my bank.

I'm happy with my bank.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Karen (QLD), reviewed 2 months ago

Greater Bank

Greater Bank Life Saver savings account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

It's all about the customer with Greater Bank

Very competent bank, easy to deal with and reliable.

Very competent bank, easy to deal with and reliable.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Bradley (NSW), reviewed 2 months ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Savings account comparisons on Mozo Rates updated daily

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    ME Online Savings Account

    ME Online Savings Account

    • Savings Bank of the Year 2016
    • No minimum monthly deposit. Ongoing variable bonus rate
    • No monthly account-keeping fees

    special rate*

    3.05% p.a. (for $0 to $250,000)

    Ongoing bonus rate if during the month you make a weekly Tap & Go purchase with your ME Everyday Transaction Account buck Debit MasterCard.

    standard interest rate

    1.30% p.a.(for $0 and over)

    account fee per month

    $0.00

    Go to site

    More info

    • Savings Bank of the Year 2016
    • No minimum monthly deposit. Ongoing variable bonus rate
    • No monthly account-keeping fees
    • Special rate conditions: Ongoing bonus rate if during the month you make a weekly Tap & Go purchase with your ME Everyday Transaction Account buck Debit MasterCard.
    • Access: Phone banking, Internet banking
    • Minimum balance: $0.00
    • Other restrictions: Must link to a transaction account
    Overall rating

    8.1

    Based on 119 ME savings account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • ING DIRECT Savings Maximiser

    ING DIRECT Savings Maximiser

    • No ING DIRECT fees
    • Great variable rate every month, no matter how many times you withdraw
    • Anytime, anywhere banking with mobile app and 24/7 Australian call centre

    special rate*

    3.00% p.a. (for $0 to $100,000)

    For customers who also have an Orange Everyday and deposit their pay of $1,000+ each month.

    standard interest rate

    1.60% p.a.(for $0 and over)

    account fee per month

    $0.00

    Go to site

    More info

    • No ING DIRECT fees
    • Great variable rate every month, no matter how many times you withdraw
    • Anytime, anywhere banking with mobile app and 24/7 Australian call centre
    • Special rate conditions: For customers who also have an Orange Everyday and deposit their pay of $1,000+ each month.
    • Access: Phone banking, Internet banking
    • Minimum balance: $0.00
    • Other restrictions: Must link to a transaction account
    Overall rating

    9.2

    Based on 428 ING DIRECT savings account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bank Australia Bonus Saver

    Bank Australia Bonus Saver

    • High interest rate of up to 2.60%p.a.
    • Bonus interest
    • Access to your savings

    special rate*

    2.60% p.a. (for $1 and over)

    minimum deposit $100, no withdrawals

    standard interest rate

    0.15% p.a.(for $1 and over)

    account fee per month

    $0.00

    Go to site

    More info

    • High interest rate of up to 2.60%p.a.
    • Bonus interest
    • Access to your savings
    • Special rate conditions: Minimum deposit of $100 and no withdrawals in the month
    • Access: BPay, Branch access, Phone banking, Internet banking
    • Minimum balance: $0.00
    • Other restrictions:
    Overall rating

    7.5

    Based on 35 Bank Australia savings account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • AMP Saver Account

    AMP Saver Account

    • Competitive interest rates, calculated daily and paid monthly
    • A bonus interest rate of 0.45% per annum for the first four months
    • No Monthly fees

    special rate*

    2.55% p.a. (for $0 to $5,000,000)

    bonus rate for 4 months

    standard interest rate

    2.10% p.a.(for $0 to $5,000,000)

    account fee per month

    $0.00

    Go to site

    More info

    • Competitive interest rates, calculated daily and paid monthly
    • A bonus interest rate of 0.45% per annum for the first four months
    • No Monthly fees
    • Special rate conditions: Bonus rate for the first 4 months from account opening
    • Access: Phone banking, Internet banking
    • Minimum balance: $0.00
    • Other restrictions: Must link to a transaction account.
    Overall rating

    7.1

    Based on 24 AMP savings account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • ANZ Online Saver

    ANZ Online Saver

    • Flexible high interest savings account plus exclusive online bonus interest offer for 3 months. Limited time only
    • Interest calculated daily and paid monthly
    • No minimum balance, no withdrawal fees and no fixed term requirements

    special rate*

    2.55% p.a. (for $0 and over)

    Bonus rate for the first 3 months from account opening. The bonus rate offer is only available to new ANZ Online Saver customers who have not held an ANZ Online Saver account during the last 6 months, and apply online.

    standard interest rate

    1.15% p.a.(for $0 and over)

    account fee per month

    $0.00

    Go to site

    More info

    • Flexible high interest savings account plus exclusive online bonus interest offer for 3 months. Limited time only
    • Interest calculated daily and paid monthly
    • No minimum balance, no withdrawal fees and no fixed term requirements
    • Special rate conditions: Bonus rate for the first 3 months from account opening. The bonus rate offer is only available to new ANZ Online Saver customers who have not held an ANZ Online Saver account during the last 6 months, and apply online. Offer not available to beneficiaries for an ANZ Online Saver account held on trust within the past 6 months
    • Access: BPay, Phone banking, Internet banking
    • Minimum balance: $0.00
    • Other restrictions: Must be linked to ANZ deposit account.
    Overall rating

    7.7

    Based on 2117 ANZ savings account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 195 savings accounts in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare all savings accounts

Look for a specific type of savings account:

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2016

Forget industry awards where banks scratch each other's backs. Mozo presents the People's Choice Awards, based on more than 30,000 real customer reviews.

Check out the winners

Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.