Bankwest logo

Bankwest Savings account reviews

Overall rating
8.0/10
Price
7.7/10
Features
6.8/10
Customer service
8.1/10
Convenience
8.1/10
Trust
8.0/10
Based on 1372 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Featured savings account from Bankwest

Hero Saver

Maximum rate
0.70% p.a. (for $0 to $250,001)
standard interest rate
0.01% p.a.(for $0 to $5,000,000)
Govt Deposit Guarantee
Yes up to $250,000

Minimum deposit of $200 and no withdrawals in the month.

Promoted

Recent Bankwest savings account reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Bankwest Savings Account review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Closed our accounts without warning.

    My wife and I had savings accounts with BankWest. My wife's accounts was only used to receive dividends and I had one which I only used occasionally. Both accounts were automatically closed by the bank without any advice to us. It appears they do this with zero balance accounts that have not been used for several months. The first we knew was when we got a letter from the share registry saying crediting of a dividend to my wife's account had been unsuccessful. The account had been automatically closed a day or so before the dividend was due to be credited. Normally dividends are credited about every 6 months, but due to the covid downturn there had been no dividend 6 months ago and it was just on a year since the last account activity. The accounts did have zero balance, but I am staggered the closed them without attempting to provide some sort of advice to us (our physical and email addresses have not changed so no excuse for Bankwest there). My account had been closed not much more than 6 months after the last activity, so not sure why the differing periods. We had done a fair amount of banking with Bankwest in the past, and the accounts were a legacy from that time. No great loss to us now, but we will never be opening BankWest accounts again (share registry charges $25 to reprocess the dividend credit to a different account!).

    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    David, New South Wales, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Bankwest Hero Saver review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    fine for me

    They have always been good for me they dont pay much interest then again non of them do

    Price
    2 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Michael, Western Australia, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Bankwest Hero Saver review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Bankwest is a great bank.

    Bankwest is an easy to deal with and reliable bank. I use Bankwest for my general savings account and they have already been readily available to sort out any issues. They are also quick to notify of any suspicious activity and check in to make sure that everything is in order.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Alicia, Western Australia, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Bankwest Hero Saver review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Bankwest Hero.

    I have used Bankwest from a very early age. I am always greeted and experience lovely customer service when I am in the bank. Staff will also look into better options to increase savings and other alternatives to save money. The Hero account is the one I use mostly. By depositing $2000 a month, account keeping fees are waived which is important to me otherwise I would look elsewhere. The deposited amount can include your salary. I like that I have a choice of using Bankwest and Commonwealth ATMs, it makes life so much easier as well as no withdrawal fees. Also the interest rate applied to the balance is 0.1% up until $5000.99

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    3 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Mel, Western Australia, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Bankwest Savings Account review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great for a simple account

    Is a great bank for a savings account for transactions in WA. Outside of WA no branches if someone wants to do cash deposit to a account. Always get great and prompt service when needed either in branch or online.

    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Samantha, Western Australia, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Bankwest Smart eSaver review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great bank to deal with.

    They have always answered my enquiries and handled card fraud as well.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Kylie, Northern Territory, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Bankwest Hero Saver review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    I look forward to the next 20 years with Bankwest.

    I rate Bankwest very highly. I have been with them for over 20 years with my Savings (Transaction) Account, Home loan, Personal loan & Credit Card. They are always easy to deal with. Staff at the bank have been there a long time and remember you so it's a happy, friendly interaction. They keep in contact if I haven't told them I'm travelling and I get a call if I have made a big transaction overseas. When I asked for an interest rate cut rather than go to another bank - they obliged. The online banking is very user-friendly also.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Donna, Western Australia, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Bankwest Savings Account review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Good service good options

    For me they are just easy to deal with and offer everything I need.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Bradley, Western Australia, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Bankwest Smart eSaver review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Pretty good

    Great customer service. Not a lot of ATMs which mean additional fee costs when needing to withdraw money.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Ashlee, Victoria, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Bankwest Savings Account review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Banking is easy.

    Bankwest makes banking easy.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Less
    Ashlee, Victoria, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Bankwest Smart eSaver review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Okay.

    It does the job.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Matthew, Western Australia, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Bankwest Savings Account review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    BankWest is the best

    Been with this bank since 1990. Worked for them for 12 and a half years, still a customer (they're our only bank). Always friendly, reliable, competitive, trustworthy!

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Charlie, Western Australia, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Bankwest Hero Saver review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Not professional

    Staff have no basic knowledge of tax.

    Price
    2 / 10
    Features
    2 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Anonymous, Victoria, reviewed 10 months ago
  • Bankwest TeleNet Saver review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Simple but not rewarding.

    Interest rate at present is very low, however Bankwest used to be the most competitive saving account! There are no online fees associated with this account which is excellent.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    3 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Ellen, New South Wales, reviewed 10 months ago
  • Bankwest Savings Account review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Poor.

    I have banked with this bank for years and have found that they do not care about the customer.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    3 / 10
    Trust
    3 / 10
    Less
    Victoria, Western Australia, reviewed 10 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Savings account comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Bonus Saver Account

      Maximum rate
      1.20% p.a. (for $0 to $250,000)
      standard interest rate
      0.10% p.a.(for $0 and over)
      Govt Deposit Guarantee
      Yes up to $250,000

      Bonus rate when at least $20 is deposited each month and five Visa Debit transactions are made each month using linked Everyday or Glide transaction accounts.

      Promoted
    • Boost Saver with Go Account

      Maximum rate
      1.20% p.a. (for $0 to $250,000)
      standard interest rate
      0.10% p.a.(for $0 and over)
      Govt Deposit Guarantee
      Yes up to $250,000

      Deposit $2,000 each month and make 5 eligible payments from your Go Account. If you are between 18 and 25 deposit $1,000.

      Promoted
    • Grow Saver

      Maximum rate
      0.65% p.a. (for $0 and over)
      standard interest rate
      0.10% p.a.(for $0 and over)
      Govt Deposit Guarantee
      Yes up to $250,000

      Make at least 1 deposit and no more than 1 withdrawal, including internal transfers or external payments.

      Promoted
    • Serious Saver

      Maximum rate
      0.30% p.a. (for $0 to $1,000,000)
      standard interest rate
      0.15% p.a.(for $0 and over)
      Govt Deposit Guarantee
      Yes up to $250,000

      Bonus rate for first 3 months, reverting to 0.15% rate after

      Promoted
    • Fast Track Saver Account

      Maximum rate
      1.05% p.a. (for $1 to $250,000)
      standard interest rate
      0.05% p.a.(for $1 and over)
      Govt Deposit Guarantee
      Yes up to $250,000

      Ongoing bonus rate applied if in the previous month $1,000 or more is credited to the linked Day2Day Plus account and 5 eligible transactions are made by the linked account.

      Promoted

    Want more? Compare all 224 savings accounts in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more savings accounts

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.