Thumbnail icon for Defence Bank

Defence Bank Personal loan reviews

Overall rating
6.5/10
Price
6.0/10
Features
5.1/10
Customer service
6.5/10
Convenience
5.9/10
Trust
7.0/10
Based on 14 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent Defence Bank personal loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Defence Bank Personal Loan (Variable, Secured) review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Waste of time

    Wouldn't waste your time submitting order, they're very slow and very picky. I earn 50,000 a year and they were not able to offer their services.

    Price
    0 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Ben, Victoria, reviewed almost 6 years ago
  • Defence Bank Personal Loan (Variable, Secured) review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Not so good

    Was easy to get at the time but they refused an increase.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    3 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Les, Queensland, reviewed over 6 years ago
  • Defence Bank Personal Loan review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Very easy to use

    It is really good to be in the Defence and have a bank walking distance from work no matter what base you are at, and easy to find :)

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Matt-dillon, , reviewed over 6 years ago
  • Defence Bank Personal Loan review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Excellent customer service and loan product

    We applied for a consolidation loan at Defence Bank to include our two cars. The staff at defence bank were so helpful to get all of the paperwork together and complete the application. They even suggested that we consolidate our credit cards into the loan as it would save us money on our monthly payments and enable us to pay off our credit cards much sooner. We now make one easy monthly payment for all of our debts. We can even pay off extra without any fear of early exit fees. I'm very happy with the customer service and the loan setup.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Alice, , reviewed about 7 years ago
  • Defence Bank Personal Loan review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Competitive and helpful team

    Friendly helpful staff all in a convenient locations.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Mozo community reviewer, New South Wales, reviewed over 7 years ago
  • Defence Bank Personal Loan (Variable, Secured) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Great customer service.

    Defence Bank have some of the best staff I've ever encountered they are always helpful and go out of their way to get the job done, well done Defence Bank, two thumbs up.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Jeffrey, Queensland, reviewed over 7 years ago
  • Defence Bank Consolidation Loan (Variable, Secured) review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Harassing Customers

    The service rec'd from this bank was and still is a disgrace.....harrased everyday as one payment was $10 short, caused my partner to have a nervous break down and even after it was brought back up to date (same day) the harrassment continued as my partner was not working...not that it was any business of theirs. The constant harrassment was not needed we even had the so called manager of our account told his boss that we agreed to making extra payments which we had not so more harrassing phone calls until we sent the email to his boss advising we did not agree with him and the emails he had sent us. Will never use this bank again and have made sure that it has been plastered over social media.

    Price
    2 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    ??, Queensland, reviewed over 7 years ago
  • Defence Bank Low Rate Car Loan (Variable, Secured) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    No nasty surprises and ever-professional service!

    Defence Bank's personal loan is a fantastic product, there are no hidden fees or charges, no unwanted insurance and no penalties for paying out early... Plus the interest rates are really good!

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Alicia, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed almost 8 years ago
  • Defence Bank Personal Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    People who understand you.

    Great service.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Simone, Queensland, reviewed almost 8 years ago
  • Defence Bank Personal Loan review

    Overall rating   4 / 10

    Over the top application process for a small loan I can easily service, should have been a lot easier to obtain.

    Price
    4 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    3 / 10
    Convenience
    2 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    David, Queensland, reviewed almost 9 years ago
  • Defence Bank Personal Loan review

    Overall rating   7 / 10

    - good interest rate - not too many ATM's around

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    3 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Deanne, Queensland, reviewed almost 10 years ago
  • Defence Bank Personal Loan review

    Overall rating   6 / 10

    Overall I'm very happy with Defcredit and the personal loan I have through them. The only downfall is that the branches are only located on bases so access for civilian personnel can be hard.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    3 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    3 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Gemma, New South Wales, reviewed over 10 years ago
  • Defence Bank Personal Loan review

    Overall rating   7 / 10

    The overall banking is very good but it is very hard to get a loan from them.

    Price
    4 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Convenience
    3 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Sharon, South Australia, reviewed about 11 years ago
  • Defence Bank Personal Loan review

    Overall rating   9 / 10

    DEFCREDIT can relate to our workforce, and understands a lot more and is in tune with our way of life.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Geoff, Queensland, reviewed over 11 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Personal loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Unsecured Personal Loan

      interest rate
      6.95% p.a.to 17.95% p.a.
      comparison rate
      6.95% p.a.to 17.95% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 2 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 6.95% would cost $35,599.71 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Personal Loan

      interest rate
      5.75% p.a.to 21.99% p.a.
      comparison rate
      6.47% p.a.to 25.11% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 1 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 5.75% would cost $35,190.18 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Personal Loan

      interest rate
      6.95% p.a.to 19.99% p.a.
      comparison rate
      6.95% p.a.to 19.99% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 1 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 6.95% would cost $35,599.71 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Unsecured Personal Loan

      interest rate
      9.39% p.a.
      comparison rate
      9.64% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 1 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 9.39% would cost $37,881.66 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Unsecured Personal Loan

      interest rate
      6.49% p.a.to 8.99% p.a.
      comparison rate
      6.84% p.a.to 9.34% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 3 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 6.49% would cost $35,459.64 including fees.

      Promoted

    WARNING: The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a personal loan. The comparison rates displayed are calculated based on a loan of $30,000 for a term of 5 years or a loan of $10,000 for a term of 3 years as indicated, based on monthly principal and interest repayments, on a secured basis for secured loans and an unsecured basis for unsecured loans. This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

    Want more? Compare all 238 personal loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more personal loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.