Personal loan reviews

Read the latest personal loan reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their loan provider to give you the low down on everything from the cheapest loans to the best customer service.

Search a review by:

Recent personal loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Westpac Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Supportive and helpful.

    They helped me consolidate my debt into a personal loan so I didn't have to pay a high interest rate on my credit card as they assessed my account and saw I was trying to pay it off but then the interest would hit and it was not going anywhere. So I am very grateful they helped me.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Sabah, New South Wales, reviewed 3 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Personal Loan review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Highly recommend CBA based on quality of service.

    I became a customer of CBA Gladstone Park branch after my divorce from my husband in 2018. We had a joint loan on a holiday investment property with a mortgage secured by Westpac for $300k. The total owing on mortgage was $230k. My property and asset settlement wars in excess of $2 m. Westpac refused to assist me in transferring the loan into my name only. I was completely debt free and had been a loyal customer for 30 plus years. My only debt would have been $230k. Due to Westpac's lack of care l was recommended to Abraham at CBA Gladstone Park. An absolute gentleman and very informative and offers great customer service.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Sharyn, Victoria, reviewed 3 days ago
  • NAB Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Great bank, reliable, trustworthy, nimble.

    I like NAB because they are nice on the phone, pretty prompt with actioning personal loan applications, and any requests I have.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Patricia, New South Wales, reviewed 4 days ago
  • Bankwest Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    I would recommend the bank.

    I liked the bank because when I bought my house I needed to borrow 98% and Bankwest was happy to do this.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Antje, Western Australia, reviewed 7 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) review

    Overall rating   3 / 10
    Would never bank with them again.

    I applied for a personal loan of $10,000. I was approved and received the loan pretty quickly. Then the next day I found that they'd transferred another $10,000 into my account. When I spoke to customer service they were rude and didn't understand that they'd given me $20,000 instead of $10,000. I kept on telling them that I'd only been approved for $10,000 and they kept on telling me that they'd only transferred $10,000. They ended up saying that they would look into it. Luckily the next day they had taken out the extra money. Over all, ATM locations are great. Bank locations not so much since they moved away from my suburb. Customer service, interest rates, products not worth it. I had my home loan and personal account with them and ended up closing both.

    Price
    3 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    3 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Ingrid, New South Wales, reviewed 8 days ago
  • ANZ Personal Loan review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Great customer service. Happy with ANZ.

    I like my bank but when having a personal loan with them there are no rewards for customers. In saying that ANZ are a great bank and customer service is the best!

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Shelley, Victoria, reviewed 8 days ago
  • NAB Personal Loan (Variable, Unsecured) review

    Overall rating   3 / 10
    Would not recommend this loan through NAB.

    The contract was not clear that interest was charged every month instead of yearly and the interest rate was higher than what was quoted for a variable loan and it never reduces.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Sarah, Victoria, reviewed 8 days ago
  • CUA Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Online is great and they keep up to date.

    CUA is very helpful and are willing to look at other products which will work better for what we were looking to do. Their staff are all very helpful in each of the branches I have gone into. The only negative is they have shut down to many of the branches and ATMs.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Glenice, Queensland, reviewed 11 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Personal loan

    Convenient loan. Was in account next day however has high interest.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Katina, Queensland, reviewed 17 days ago
  • Westpac Car Loan (Fixed, Secured) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Wouldn’t bank with anyone else

    I like this bank best they are simple easy to use and explain everything so well to you.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Janice, South Australia, reviewed 26 days ago
  • Latitude Personal Loan (Fixed, Secured) review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Horrendous customer service.

    Horrendous customer service.

    Price
    2 / 10
    Features
    2 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    2 / 10
    Less
    Sam, New South Wales, reviewed 26 days ago
  • ANZ Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Shop around.

    Read the fine print. Make sure you get the best deal.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    4 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Christine, New South Wales, reviewed 27 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Personal Loan review

    Overall rating   3 / 10
    Bad customer service

    I have been a customer for over 30 years. Recently I wanted my pay out figure for my personal loan. I spent 6 hours on hold in total over 2 days as I gave up and hang up day 1 in frustration. I know we are in covid times but seriously 6 hours! While on hold I signed up to a different bank. Wasn't happy at all.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    2 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Lisa, Victoria, reviewed 28 days ago
  • ANZ Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Useless.

    900 credit score and ~20k in savings. I applied for my first loan with this company. It's been 2 weeks and I have yet to receive a response from the assessment team yet. When my friend applied with CNA it was done in 2 days. Don’t bother here.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Alex, New South Wales, reviewed 28 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Personal Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Banks don't want to know you when you are a senior

    When our home loan of 25 years was finished, we still had $50,000 in home equity saved. We had our car loan on there which still had a balance of $11,000 to go. Unfortunately the bank wanted the balance paid in full and then we had no equity to use, when home loan was finalised. We couldn't even get any other loan to use as equity for any repairs on our home in the future. As seniors/pensioners, the bank didn't want to know us and they admitted that they do not loan to pensioners anymore. We have always had a great credit rating but that doesn't even mean anything to the banks these days!

    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Lorraine, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Personal loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Unsecured Personal Loan

      interest rate
      6.49% p.a.to 8.99% p.a.
      comparison rate*
      6.84% p.a.to 9.34% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 3 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 6.49% would cost $35,459.64 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Personal Loan

      interest rate
      6.95% p.a.to 19.99% p.a.
      comparison rate*
      6.95% p.a.to 19.99% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 1 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 6.95% would cost $35,599.71 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Unsecured Personal Loan

      interest rate
      6.95% p.a.to 17.95% p.a.
      comparison rate*
      6.95% p.a.to 17.95% p.a.based on $10,000
      over 3 years

      Terms from 2 to 7 years. Representative example: a 3 year $10,000 loan at 6.95% would cost $11,107.53 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Low Rate Personal Loan

      interest rate
      6.75% p.a.to 8.48% p.a.
      comparison rate*
      6.96% p.a.to 8.69% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 1 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 6.75% would cost $35,580.23 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Unsecured Personal Loan

      interest rate
      6.99% p.a.to 25.69% p.a.
      comparison rate*
      7.79% p.a.to 26.65% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 1 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 6.99% would cost $36,208.67 including fees.

      Promoted

    *The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a personal loan. The comparison rates displayed are calculated based on a loan of $30,000 for a term of 5 years or a loan of $10,000 for a term of 3 years as indicated, based on monthly principal and interest repayments, on a secured basis for secured loans and an unsecured basis for unsecured loans. WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

    Want more? Compare all 228 personal loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more personal loans

    About Mozo Reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

    We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

    Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.