Personal loan reviews

Read the latest personal loan reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their loan provider to give you the low down on everything from the cheapest loans to the best customer service.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent personal loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

Westpac

Westpac Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

An exceptional bank too deal with

I have had two personal loans with Westpac and am extremely satisfied with the product and service given. On the odd occasion that I have needed a short extension on the due payment date this bank has been very understanding and happy too oblige...

Full review

I have had two personal loans with Westpac and am extremely satisfied with the product and service given. On the odd occasion that I have needed a short extension on the due payment date this bank has been very understanding and happy too oblige to my request within a reasonable timeframe. I would strongly recommend this bank to anyone who is in a financial position to obtain a loan. The staff are courteous and professional, a pleasure to deal with.

    Price   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Richard, Victoria, reviewed 4 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) personal loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Bad

No comment they are crooks.

Full review

No comment they are crooks.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Joseph, Victoria, reviewed 4 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank personal loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

More professional

Could be a bit more helpful.

Full review

Could be a bit more helpful.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Barbara, South Australia, reviewed 5 days ago

NAB

NAB personal loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great, pricing could be better.

Every about the personal loan is very good except for pricing. The interest rates need to be lower, it's too expensive.

Full review

Every about the personal loan is very good except for pricing. The interest rates need to be lower, it's too expensive.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

David, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed 11 days ago

Arab Bank Australia

Arab Bank Australia Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Super easy and great

Pleasant experience applying for a personal loan. Rates are reasonable as well.

Full review

Pleasant experience applying for a personal loan. Rates are reasonable as well.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Jimmd, Queensland, reviewed 11 days ago

Westpac

Westpac Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Not very good

I really don't like what they have to offer.

Full review

I really don't like what they have to offer.

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Brett, South Australia, reviewed 11 days ago

NAB

NAB Personal Loan (Variable, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Needs to be more accessible

Needs to be more accessible. Not available for Centrelink Customers.

Full review

Needs to be more accessible. Not available for Centrelink Customers.

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Mel, Queensland, reviewed 16 days ago

Westpac

Westpac Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Good

Good. Needs better customer service.

Full review

Good. Needs better customer service.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Agavale, Victoria, reviewed 17 days ago

ANZ

ANZ Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Interest rates are not competitive.

I like ANZ Bank but the interest rates are too high, I would love to find a lower one.

Full review

I like ANZ Bank but the interest rates are too high, I would love to find a lower one.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Biagio, Queensland, reviewed 22 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) personal loan review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Disappointed with their service

I have been with my bank since I was in little school. Now I am 34 and when I asked for debt consolidation I thought they would help me but instead they got me a financial planner who did not have much to say at all. In the end it was just a...

Full review

I have been with my bank since I was in little school. Now I am 34 and when I asked for debt consolidation I thought they would help me but instead they got me a financial planner who did not have much to say at all. In the end it was just a massive waste of time.

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   2 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Natasha, Victoria, reviewed 23 days ago

ANZ

ANZ personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Good customer service

Really good customer service and the rates are competitive.

Full review

Really good customer service and the rates are competitive.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Pauline, Victoria, reviewed about 1 month ago

Westpac

Westpac Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

The best

Good services.

Full review

Good services.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

David, Queensland, reviewed about 1 month ago

Bendigo Bank

Bendigo Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Amazing

Great.

Full review

Great.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Carla, Victoria, reviewed about 1 month ago

MoneyPlace

MoneyPlace Unsecured Personal Loan - Excellent Credit Rating (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Pretty basic

Low interest rates and friendly staff.

Full review

Low interest rates and friendly staff.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Yavanna, Western Australia, reviewed about 1 month ago

NAB

NAB Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

I like my bank a lot

They are so lovely and nice to their customers.

Full review

They are so lovely and nice to their customers.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Simone, Tasmania, reviewed about 1 month ago

Suncorp

Suncorp Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Ordinary

Average. Very average.

Full review

Average. Very average.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Hamish, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 month ago

ANZ

ANZ Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Try it out and see if you like it

You can trust that they will be there for you.

Full review

You can trust that they will be there for you.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Kerry, Victoria, reviewed about 1 month ago

ANZ

ANZ Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

No complaints, would recommend to anyone

I have been with ANZ for 40 years and have had no complaints. The staff are kind and courteous. I would recommend them to anyone

Full review

I have been with ANZ for 40 years and have had no complaints. The staff are kind and courteous. I would recommend them to anyone

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Robina, South Australia, reviewed about 1 month ago

South West Credit

South West Credit personal loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Good stuff

Met my expectations, I am very pleased.

Full review

Met my expectations, I am very pleased.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Dion, Victoria, reviewed about 1 month ago

Bankwest

Bankwest Flexible Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Good work

Just good.

Full review

Just good.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Laurene, Victoria, reviewed about 1 month ago

Bendigo Bank

Bendigo Bank Green Personal Loan (Fixed, Secured) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Good service

Interest rate could be lower for personal loan.

Full review

Interest rate could be lower for personal loan.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Darryl, Western Australia, reviewed about 1 month ago

Westpac

Westpac Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great products

They are accessible and friendly.

Full review

They are accessible and friendly.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Albert, Victoria, reviewed about 1 month ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Best bank I've been with

Great banking.

Full review

Great banking.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Derryn, Western Australia, reviewed about 1 month ago

NAB

NAB Personal Loan (Variable, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Good service

There interest rates for unsecured personal loan are too high compared to other lenders.

Full review

There interest rates for unsecured personal loan are too high compared to other lenders.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   2 / 10

Less

Joanne, Queensland, reviewed about 1 month ago

Traditional Credit Union

Traditional Credit Union personal loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Their bankers need to be trained more

I feel like the evaluation process for eligibility could be improved upon.

Full review

I feel like the evaluation process for eligibility could be improved upon.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Joanne, Northern Territory, reviewed about 2 months ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Personal loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • HSBC Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    HSBC Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    • Apply online and get an instant response in 60 seconds
    • Borrow from $5,000 up to $50,000
    • Fixed set monthly repayment terms to help you manage your budget

    interest rate

    8.50% p.a.to 16.99% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    9.06% p.a.to 17.53% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    fees

    $150.00upfront
    and
    $5.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 8.50% would cost $37,379.76 including fees.

    • Apply online and get an instant response in 60 seconds
    • Borrow from $5,000 up to $50,000
    • Fixed set monthly repayment terms to help you manage your budget
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $150
    • Monthly fee: $5.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $5,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $50,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 5 Years
    Overall rating

    6.4

    Based on 19 HSBC personal loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Australian Military Bank Unsecured Personal Loan - Excellent Credit (Variable)

    Australian Military Bank Unsecured Personal Loan - Excellent Credit (Variable)

    • A Variable Rate Personal Loan giving you flexibility, a competitive interest rate and fast approval
    • Tailored rates based on your personal credit history
    • Apply online. Redraw Facility

    interest rate

    7.88% p.a.to 18.82% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    8.72% p.a.to 20.22% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    fees

    $100.00upfront
    and
    $10.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 7.88% would cost $37,094.22 including fees.

    • A Variable Rate Personal Loan giving you flexibility, a competitive interest rate and fast approval
    • Tailored rates based on your personal credit history
    • Apply online. Redraw Facility
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $100
    • Monthly fee: $10.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $1,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $80,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 7 Years
    Overall rating

    5.9

    Based on 33 Australian Military Bank personal loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • ANZ Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    ANZ Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    • A Fixed Personal Loan with terms from 1 to 7 years
    • 60 Sec. Response time
    • Borrow up to $50,000

    interest rate

    12.45% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    13.32% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    fees

    $150.00upfront
    and
    $10.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 12.45% would cost $41,500.53 including fees.

    • A Fixed Personal Loan with terms from 1 to 7 years
    • 60 Sec. Response time
    • Borrow up to $50,000
    • Other benefits: ANZ Loan Protection Insurance available.
    • Upfront fee: $150
    • Monthly fee: $10.00
    • Exit fee: $300.00
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $5,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $50,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 7 Years
    Overall rating

    6.9

    Based on 1149 ANZ personal loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • SocietyOne Unsecured Personal Loan - Excellent Credit (Fixed)

    SocietyOne Unsecured Personal Loan - Excellent Credit (Fixed)

    • Low rates that reward your good credit
    • Apply online in minutes
    • No monthly or early repayment fees

    interest rate

    7.50% p.a.to 9.99% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    9.51% p.a.to 12.71% p.a.based on $10,000
    over 3 years

    fees

    $300.00upfront
    and
    $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 2 to 3 years. Representative example: a 3 year $10,000 loan at 7.50% would cost $11,498.24 including fees.

    • Low rates that reward your good credit
    • Apply online in minutes
    • No monthly or early repayment fees
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $300
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $5,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $50,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 2 Years
    • Maximum loan term: 3 Years
    Overall rating

    4.0

    Based on 2 SocietyOne personal loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • NAB Personal Loan (Variable, Unsecured)

    NAB Personal Loan (Variable, Unsecured)

    • Borrow from $5,000 - $55,000
    • No fees for extra or early repayments
    • 12.69% is the headline rate. The headline rate is the rate that the majority of NAB personal loan customers will get

    interest rate

    12.69% p.a.to 18.69% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    13.56% p.a.to 19.53% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    fees

    $150.00upfront
    and
    $10.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 12.69% would cost $41,420.45 including fees.

    • Borrow from $5,000 - $55,000
    • No fees for extra or early repayments
    • 12.69% is the headline rate. The headline rate is the rate that the majority of NAB personal loan customers will get
    • Other benefits: Headline rate displayed above, rates start as low as 10.69% based on credit history.
    • Upfront fee: $150
    • Monthly fee: $10.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $5,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $55,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 7 Years
    Overall rating

    6.8

    Based on 831 NAB personal loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

*The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a personal loan. The comparison rates displayed are calculated based on a loan of $30,000 for a term of 5 years or a loan of $10,000 for a term of 3 years as indicated, based on monthly principal and interest repayments, on a secured basis for secured loans and an unsecured basis for unsecured loans. WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

Want more? Compare all 199 personal loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more personal loans

Look for a specific type of personal loan:

*The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a personal loan. The comparison rates displayed are calculated based on a loan of $30,000 for a term of 5 years or a loan of $10,000 for a term of 3 years as indicated, based on monthly principal and interest repayments, on a secured basis for secured loans and an unsecured basis for unsecured loans. WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2018

Forget industry awards where the industry scratch each other’s backs. Mozo presents the People’s Choice Awards, based on real customer reviews.

Check out the winners
Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.