Personal loan reviews

Read the latest personal loan reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their loan provider to give you the low down on everything from the cheapest loans to the best customer service.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent personal loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

Westpac

Westpac Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent banking service

The Westpac Flexi Loan personal loan is great. The application process was straightforward and fast. Once approved, the account was added to my online banking and was very easy to use. The interest rates were competitive which made it easy to pay...

The Westpac Flexi Loan personal loan is great. The application process was straightforward and fast. Once approved, the account was added to my online banking and was very easy to use. The interest rates were competitive which made it easy to pay off in full. The setup fees were also low, and it's a great option to have a line of credit available for emergencies or unexpected expenses.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Andrea (WA), reviewed 8 days ago

ANZ

ANZ Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

ANZ have great rates for personal loans

Great rates, fantastic customer service and great goMoney app which makes it easier to make payments on a loan. The branch staff also made my loan application quick and easy. Highly recommended.

Great rates, fantastic customer service and great goMoney app which makes it easier to make payments on a loan. The branch staff also made my loan application quick and easy. Highly recommended.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Matthew (VIC), reviewed 8 days ago

St.George

St.George personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

I'm very happy with St. George

Have banked with St. George for over 30 years and have found the service very helpful and friendly.

Have banked with St. George for over 30 years and have found the service very helpful and friendly.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Robert (NSW), reviewed 17 days ago

NAB

NAB Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Reasonable bank

NAB are pretty good but I pay $50 a month in loan fees alone.

NAB are pretty good but I pay $50 a month in loan fees alone.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Lisa (VIC), reviewed about 2 months ago

ANZ

ANZ Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Loan application - seamless, fast and professional

The ANZ loan application process is fast, seamless and user friendly. I applied for our loan and within 48 hours it was approved and the loan was drawn down. The staff were also helpful and courteous.

The ANZ loan application process is fast, seamless and user friendly. I applied for our loan and within 48 hours it was approved and the loan was drawn down. The staff were also helpful and courteous.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Julie (VIC), reviewed about 2 months ago

NAB

NAB Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Competitive products and fees

NAB is competitive by way of products and up to date with fresh and new ideas. They present a clean and friendly service when dealing with staff. However my one criticism includes the high volume waiting times in line for a teller, as the number...

NAB is competitive by way of products and up to date with fresh and new ideas. They present a clean and friendly service when dealing with staff. However my one criticism includes the high volume waiting times in line for a teller, as the number of staff tend to be at minimum for this face to face service.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Ronald (QLD), reviewed 2 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great service

I've been with Commonwealth Bank for years and I've never had any problems. The staff are so friendly and you aren't considered just a number when having your queries dealt with by them.

I've been with Commonwealth Bank for years and I've never had any problems. The staff are so friendly and you aren't considered just a number when having your queries dealt with by them.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Erica (VIC), reviewed 2 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank personal loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Better customer protection than other banks

Quite satisfied with Commonwealth Bank. I haven't had too many issues with this provider.

Quite satisfied with Commonwealth Bank. I haven't had too many issues with this provider.

    Price   -1 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Roggio (WA), reviewed 2 months ago

Bankwest

Bankwest personal loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Bankwest aren't as good as they used to be

Bankwest do not have a check system in place to verify card withdrawals on the internet which allows fraudulent transactions to be made by dealers without authority from account owners.

Bankwest do not have a check system in place to verify card withdrawals on the internet which allows fraudulent transactions to be made by dealers without authority from account owners.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Geoffrey (WA), reviewed 2 months ago

CUA

CUA Discount Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Fantastic all rounded banking experience

I have been a loyal customer of CUA and recommend this union to everybody. I have been dealing with them for over 15 years and am still very satisfied with their service.

I have been a loyal customer of CUA and recommend this union to everybody. I have been dealing with them for over 15 years and am still very satisfied with their service.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

John (QLD), reviewed 3 months ago

St.George

St.George personal loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Premiums are high but great service

St. George's dealings with me have been very good and they've always been honest with me. I've been a loyal customer for over 40 years.

St. George's dealings with me have been very good and they've always been honest with me. I've been a loyal customer for over 40 years.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Paul (NSW), reviewed 3 months ago

Citibank

Citibank personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Good customer service

I would recommend Citibank to others.

I would recommend Citibank to others.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Raakel (QLD), reviewed 3 months ago

NAB

NAB personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

NAB has been great to bank with

NAB offered Christmas gifts for my 20 year old daughter and car repairs.

NAB offered Christmas gifts for my 20 year old daughter and car repairs.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Natalie (VIC), reviewed 3 months ago

ANZ

ANZ personal loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Helpful, competitive and pleasant to deal with

I like ANZ as the person I deal with has been so helpful in explaining all the different loans available and in helping me the best way possible to pay the loan off and save on interest. She has kept in touch with me to let me know how the...

I like ANZ as the person I deal with has been so helpful in explaining all the different loans available and in helping me the best way possible to pay the loan off and save on interest. She has kept in touch with me to let me know how the application has been progressing. I have compared their interest rates with other banks and they are all similar, but this person is the only one that has done a follow up and is generally helpful.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Marilyn (NSW), reviewed 5 months ago

ANZ

ANZ Online Secured Car Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great bank !

They are very easy to work with.

They are very easy to work with.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Dianne (SA), reviewed 5 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) personal loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Not all banks are money minded.

My bank has been great by helping me through a difficult time for the last 15 months. I couldn't keep up with the payments so they let me only pay the interest now. I really didn't expect them to do that for me. It has made my life a little bit...

My bank has been great by helping me through a difficult time for the last 15 months. I couldn't keep up with the payments so they let me only pay the interest now. I really didn't expect them to do that for me. It has made my life a little bit more easier. I couldn't have asked for anything better.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Shirley (TAS), reviewed 5 months ago

Bankwest

Bankwest Flexible Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Not a great bank for me

It took 8 months to refinance, there are incompetent staff. They have been unable to tell us why fees were charged unless we were asked. Everything is outsourced. No apologies, just rude.

It took 8 months to refinance, there are incompetent staff. They have been unable to tell us why fees were charged unless we were asked. Everything is outsourced. No apologies, just rude.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Archana (WA), reviewed 7 months ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland personal loan review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Premiums not competitive customer service needy.

The interest rates are too high and the bank is not flexible with payment dates as they charge fees every time the payment falls on a weekend.

The interest rates are too high and the bank is not flexible with payment dates as they charge fees every time the payment falls on a weekend.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Wilson (QLD), reviewed 7 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Student Car Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Commonwealth Bank is great.

I've been with Commonwealth Bank since dollar mites and can't find a bad enough issue to have to change.

I've been with Commonwealth Bank since dollar mites and can't find a bad enough issue to have to change.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Daniel (QLD), reviewed 7 months ago

Westpac

Westpac personal loan review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Overall rating of 6

Westpac it okay but they could go a little easier on people trying to get a loan. With ANZ, it was much easier getting a loan than with Westpac.

Westpac it okay but they could go a little easier on people trying to get a loan. With ANZ, it was much easier getting a loan than with Westpac.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Jaycee (NSW), reviewed 8 months ago

ANZ

ANZ Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Happy with end result but not the process

Past loyalty amounts to nothing, very long process to apply for the loan

Past loyalty amounts to nothing, very long process to apply for the loan

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Alli (NSW), reviewed 8 months ago

Westpac

Westpac personal loan review

Overall rating   4 / 10

High interest rate

Interest rate of 0 pay back loan much and they don't give to bad credit

Interest rate of 0 pay back loan much and they don't give to bad credit

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Joey (NSW), reviewed 8 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank personal loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Would consider my family's money safe

Awesome bank - love the customer service

Awesome bank - love the customer service

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Erika (QLD), reviewed 8 months ago

NAB

NAB personal loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Easy to get to

It has good customer service and is easy to get to

It has good customer service and is easy to get to

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Jodie (VIC), reviewed 8 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) personal loan review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Not happy with bank.

The bank didn't calculate the correct amount so we didn't end up with the amount we required for debt consolidation. Repayment options were not discussed. Left in a worse financial situation to date.

The bank didn't calculate the correct amount so we didn't end up with the amount we required for debt consolidation. Repayment options were not discussed. Left in a worse financial situation to date.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Melanie (QLD), reviewed 8 months ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Personal loan comparisons on Mozo Rates updated daily

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    RateSetter Unsecured Personal Loan - 1 Year Term (Variable)

    RateSetter Unsecured Personal Loan - 1 Year Term (Variable)

    • Low rates for borrowers with good credit
    • 1 min rate estimate, simple online application
    • No exit fees, no early repayment fees

    interest rate

    5.10% p.a.to 5.60% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    6.46% p.a.to 6.96% p.a.based on $10,000
    over 3 years

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 5 years. Representative example: a 3 year $10,000 loan at 5.10% would cost $11,005.69 including fees.

    • Low rates for borrowers with good credit
    • 1 min rate estimate, simple online application
    • No exit fees, no early repayment fees
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $200
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $2,001.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $45,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 5 Years
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MoneyPlace Unsecured Personal Loan - Excellent Credit Rating (Fixed)

    MoneyPlace Unsecured Personal Loan - Excellent Credit Rating (Fixed)

    • No hidden fees, no monthly fees
    • Fixed rates are tailored to you
    • 100% Online, apply in minutes

    interest rate

    8.90% p.a.to 27.00% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    8.90% p.a.to 27.0% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 3 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 8.90% would cost $37,277.74 including fees.

    • No hidden fees, no monthly fees
    • Fixed rates are tailored to you
    • 100% Online, apply in minutes
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $0
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $5,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $35,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 3 Years
    • Maximum loan term: 5 Years
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Hunter United Secured Personal Loan (Variable - not for debt consolidation)

    Hunter United Secured Personal Loan (Variable - not for debt consolidation)

    • Borrow up to $70,000 for just about anything (with security)
    • Get 6.99% (comparison rate 7.91%) for cars less than 5 years old
    • No early repayment penalties and flexible repayment options

    interest rate

    9.45% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    10.36% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 9.45% would cost $38,489.38 including fees.

    • Borrow up to $70,000 for just about anything (with security)
    • Get 6.99% (comparison rate 7.91%) for cars less than 5 years old
    • No early repayment penalties and flexible repayment options
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $250
    • Monthly fee: $8.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Vehicle
    • Minimum loan amount:
    • Maximum loan amount: $70,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 7 Years
    Overall rating

    5.0

    Based on 1 Hunter United personal loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • HSBC Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    HSBC Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    • Apply online and get an instant response in 60 seconds
    • Borrow from $5,000 up to $50,000
    • Fixed set monthly repayment terms to help you manage your budget

    interest rate

    9.50% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    10.06% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 9.50% would cost $38,253.35 including fees.

    • Apply online and get an instant response in 60 seconds
    • Borrow from $5,000 up to $50,000
    • Fixed set monthly repayment terms to help you manage your budget
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $150
    • Monthly fee: $5.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $5,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $50,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 5 Years
    Overall rating

    7.0

    Based on 4 HSBC personal loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • now FINANCE Unsecured Personal Loan - Excellent Credit (Fixed)

    now FINANCE Unsecured Personal Loan - Excellent Credit (Fixed)

    • Get rewarded for a great credit history
    • Know your Interest Rate before you Apply (rate based on your credit history)
    • Apply Online up to $40K over 7 years

    interest rate

    9.95% p.a.to 11.95% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    11.41% p.a.to 13.4% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 2 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 9.95% would cost $39,375.41 including fees.

    • Get rewarded for a great credit history
    • Know your Interest Rate before you Apply (rate based on your credit history)
    • Apply Online up to $40K over 7 years
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $395
    • Monthly fee: $13.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $4,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $40,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 2 Years
    • Maximum loan term: 7 Years
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 183 personal loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare all personal loans

Look for a specific type of personal loan:

* The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a personal loan. The comparison rates displayed are for the amounts and terms quoted, based on monthly principal and interest repayments, on a secured basis for secured loans and an unsecured basis for unsecured loans, and apply only to these examples. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Full comparison rate schedules are available from lenders. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2016

Forget industry awards where banks scratch each other's backs. Mozo presents the People's Choice Awards, based on more than 30,000 real customer reviews.

Check out the winners

Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.