Personal loan reviews

Read the latest personal loan reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their loan provider to give you the low down on everything from the cheapest loans to the best customer service.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent personal loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

Credit Union SA

Credit Union SA Special Fixed Rate Personal Loan (Vehicles up to 2 years old, Secured) personal loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Alright

Their personal loan rate is alright. Not the worst but not the best

Full review

Their personal loan rate is alright. Not the worst but not the best

Less

Shane, South Australia, reviewed about 10 hours ago

Westpac

Westpac Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Fair

Great flexible payment plans low fees for pensioners.

Full review

Great flexible payment plans low fees for pensioners.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Kerri, New South Wales, reviewed about 11 hours ago

NAB

NAB Personal Loan (Variable, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

I will always stay with NAB

Banking with NAB gives you great value since they have very low interest and their staff are friendly too.

Full review

Banking with NAB gives you great value since they have very low interest and their staff are friendly too.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

Less

Lorraine, Queensland, reviewed about 11 hours ago

ANZ

ANZ Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Treated me like a criminal if payment was late

Never again...NEVER NEVER AGAIN.

Full review

Never again...NEVER NEVER AGAIN.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   2 / 10

Less

Aneurin, Western Australia, reviewed about 13 hours ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Secured Car Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Need better assistance

I am not happy with the loan department. Been with the same bank for a lot of years and they have not been very helpful.

Full review

I am not happy with the loan department. Been with the same bank for a lot of years and they have not been very helpful.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Allan, New South Wales, reviewed 6 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank personal loan review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Bad

Would not recommend Commonwealth Bank to anyone.

Full review

Would not recommend Commonwealth Bank to anyone.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   1 / 10

Less

Joseph, Victoria, reviewed 7 days ago

St.George

St.George personal loan review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Generally uninformative and unhelpful

Statements have a poor layout. Fees and charges are always calculated in the banks favour and the automated phone service is poor.

Full review

Statements have a poor layout. Fees and charges are always calculated in the banks favour and the automated phone service is poor.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Shane, New South Wales, reviewed 8 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) personal loan review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Was not happy

I applied for a loan and had a machine ask me questions. A real person then started talking to me and started typing out questions for me to answer which I did not enjoy at all. They said it would take around 20 minutes but i ended up being on the...

Full review

I applied for a loan and had a machine ask me questions. A real person then started talking to me and started typing out questions for me to answer which I did not enjoy at all. They said it would take around 20 minutes but i ended up being on the line for over an hour so I just hung up.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   2 / 10

Less

Ana, New South Wales, reviewed 13 days ago

NAB

NAB Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Amazing bank

I would give NAB a 10/10 for everything

Full review

I would give NAB a 10/10 for everything

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Lisa, New South Wales, reviewed 14 days ago

ANZ

ANZ Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Could be better

Not the top of the line bank. But have had no complaints yet.

Full review

Not the top of the line bank. But have had no complaints yet.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Joelene, New South Wales, reviewed 14 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) personal loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Bad

They scam you into signing up then they charge you with all hidden rates.

Full review

They scam you into signing up then they charge you with all hidden rates.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

John, New South Wales, reviewed 14 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

They have great customer service

I have always banked with Commonwealth and I am very satisfied with their services.

Full review

I have always banked with Commonwealth and I am very satisfied with their services.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Ivy, Queensland, reviewed 14 days ago

Bankwest

Bankwest Flexible Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Not good

Unhappy with my bank.

Full review

Unhappy with my bank.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Cindy, Western Australia, reviewed 22 days ago

ME

ME Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great

No extra fees on early pay out.

Full review

No extra fees on early pay out.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Sharon, Victoria, reviewed 22 days ago

Auswide Bank

Auswide Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) personal loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great

Auswide Bank is great.

Full review

Auswide Bank is great.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Wayne, Victoria, reviewed 22 days ago

NAB

NAB Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Very competitive, great staff

This bank was willing to help in every way I needed them to and to make certain I was not pushing myself to hard. This bank also gets me to visit and review each year to make sure there are no problems cropping up.

Full review

This bank was willing to help in every way I needed them to and to make certain I was not pushing myself to hard. This bank also gets me to visit and review each year to make sure there are no problems cropping up.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Robert, South Australia, reviewed 22 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Secured Car Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Greatest

Their personal loan was very helpful in purchasing my new car.

Full review

Their personal loan was very helpful in purchasing my new car.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Mark, Queensland, reviewed 22 days ago

Bank of Melbourne

Bank of Melbourne Secured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

They really helped us when we were struggling

I like this bank because when we needed help we got the help we needed. The pricing is also ok.

Full review

I like this bank because when we needed help we got the help we needed. The pricing is also ok.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Alexander, Victoria, reviewed 26 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) personal loan review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Untrustworthy

They have a lot of hidden fees.

Full review

They have a lot of hidden fees.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Haley, Victoria, reviewed 26 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) personal loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Easy as

Easy to organise online.

Full review

Easy to organise online.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Lance, Queensland, reviewed 26 days ago

Bendigo Bank

Bendigo Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Honourable

Nothing has changed. I love my bank. We are close and they all stop to help me. I'm grateful amen.

Full review

Nothing has changed. I love my bank. We are close and they all stop to help me. I'm grateful amen.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Leah, New South Wales, reviewed 26 days ago

NAB

NAB personal loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Good not to bad

They have some good customer service.

Full review

They have some good customer service.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Mathew, Queensland, reviewed 26 days ago

NAB

NAB Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Not a bad bank. Just not for me

I use this bank but decided not to now as I had to many fraudulent misbehaviours in my account.

Full review

I use this bank but decided not to now as I had to many fraudulent misbehaviours in my account.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Joshua, Queensland, reviewed 27 days ago

Auswide Bank

Auswide Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) personal loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Show me the money

They are the bank for me, I'm sure unless you can find me a better bank

Full review

They are the bank for me, I'm sure unless you can find me a better bank

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Joshua, Queensland, reviewed 27 days ago

Credit Union SA

Credit Union SA Variable Rate Personal Loan (Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Quick and reliable

Quick and quite reliable.

Full review

Quick and quite reliable.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Joan, South Australia, reviewed 27 days ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Personal loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • SocietyOne Unsecured Personal Loan - Excellent Credit (Fixed)

    SocietyOne Unsecured Personal Loan - Excellent Credit (Fixed)

    • Low rates that reward your good credit
    • Apply online in minutes
    • No monthly or early repayment fees

    interest rate

    7.50% p.a.to 9.99% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    9.51% p.a.to 12.71% p.a.based on $10,000
    over 3 years

    fees

    $300.00upfront
    and
    $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 2 to 3 years. Representative example: a 3 year $10,000 loan at 7.50% would cost $11,498.24 including fees.

    • Low rates that reward your good credit
    • Apply online in minutes
    • No monthly or early repayment fees
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $300
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $5,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $50,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 2 Years
    • Maximum loan term: 3 Years
    Overall rating

    4.0

    Based on 2 SocietyOne personal loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bank Australia Lifestyle Personal Loan (Variable, Unsecured)

    Bank Australia Lifestyle Personal Loan (Variable, Unsecured)

    • Additional payments accepted
    • No early exit fees
    • Experts Choice Winner 2017 - Australia's Best Bank

    interest rate

    11.89% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    12.94% p.a.based on $10,000
    over 3 years

    fees

    $150.00upfront
    and
    $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 10 years. Representative example: a 3 year $10,000 loan at 11.89% would cost $12,088.25 including fees.

    • Additional payments accepted
    • No early exit fees
    • Experts Choice Winner 2017 - Australia's Best Bank
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $150
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $1,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 10 Years
    Overall rating

    7.6

    Based on 15 Bank Australia personal loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • ANZ Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    ANZ Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    • A Fixed Personal Loan with terms from 1 to 7 years
    • 60 Sec. Response time
    • Borrow up to $50,000

    interest rate

    10.99% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    11.87% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    fees

    $150.00upfront
    and
    $10.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 10.99% would cost $40,177.39 including fees.

    • A Fixed Personal Loan with terms from 1 to 7 years
    • 60 Sec. Response time
    • Borrow up to $50,000
    • Other benefits: ANZ Loan Protection Insurance available.
    • Upfront fee: $150
    • Monthly fee: $10.00
    • Exit fee: $300.00
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $5,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $50,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 7 Years
    Overall rating

    6.9

    Based on 1143 ANZ personal loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • HSBC Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    HSBC Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    • Apply online and get an instant response in 60 seconds
    • Borrow from $5,000 up to $50,000
    • Fixed set monthly repayment terms to help you manage your budget

    interest rate

    9.50% p.a.to 15.99% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    10.06% p.a.to 16.53% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    fees

    $150.00upfront
    and
    $5.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 9.50% would cost $38,253.35 including fees.

    • Apply online and get an instant response in 60 seconds
    • Borrow from $5,000 up to $50,000
    • Fixed set monthly repayment terms to help you manage your budget
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $150
    • Monthly fee: $5.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $5,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $50,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 5 Years
    Overall rating

    6.4

    Based on 19 HSBC personal loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MyState Bank General Purpose Personal Loan (Variable, Unsecured)

    MyState Bank General Purpose Personal Loan (Variable, Unsecured)

    • Fast online conditional approval and same day funding available
    • Borrow anything from $3,000 to $50,000 with loan terms up to 7 years
    • Free online redraws and no penalties on early loan payout or lump sum payments

    interest rate

    12.99% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    16.42% p.a.based on $10,000
    over 3 years

    fees

    $200.00upfront
    and
    $10.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 7 years. Representative example: a 3 year $10,000 loan at 12.99% would cost $12,688.09 including fees.

    • Fast online conditional approval and same day funding available
    • Borrow anything from $3,000 to $50,000 with loan terms up to 7 years
    • Free online redraws and no penalties on early loan payout or lump sum payments
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $200
    • Monthly fee: $10.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $3,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $50,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 7 Years
    Overall rating

    7.5

    Based on 30 MyState Bank personal loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

*The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a personal loan. The comparison rates displayed are calculated based on a loan of $30,000 for a term of 5 years or a loan of $10,000 for a term of 3 years as indicated, based on monthly principal and interest repayments, on a secured basis for secured loans and an unsecured basis for unsecured loans. WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

Want more? Compare all 202 personal loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more personal loans

Look for a specific type of personal loan:

*The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a personal loan. The comparison rates displayed are calculated based on a loan of $30,000 for a term of 5 years or a loan of $10,000 for a term of 3 years as indicated, based on monthly principal and interest repayments, on a secured basis for secured loans and an unsecured basis for unsecured loans. WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2018

Forget industry awards where the industry scratch each other’s backs. Mozo presents the People’s Choice Awards, based on real customer reviews.

Check out the winners
Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.