Personal loan reviews

Read the latest personal loan reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their loan provider to give you the low down on everything from the cheapest loans to the best customer service.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent personal loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

ANZ

ANZ personal loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Helpful, competitive and pleasant to deal with

I like ANZ as the person I deal with has been so helpful in explaining all the different loans available and in helping me the best way possible to pay the loan off and save on interest. She has kept in touch with me to let me know how the...

Full review

I like ANZ as the person I deal with has been so helpful in explaining all the different loans available and in helping me the best way possible to pay the loan off and save on interest. She has kept in touch with me to let me know how the application has been progressing. I have compared their interest rates with other banks and they are all similar, but this person is the only one that has done a follow up and is generally helpful.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Marilyn (NSW), reviewed about 1 month ago

ANZ

ANZ Online Secured Car Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great bank !

They are very easy to work with.

Full review

They are very easy to work with.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Dianne (SA), reviewed about 1 month ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) personal loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Not all banks are money minded.

My bank has been great by helping me through a difficult time for the last 15 months. I couldn't keep up with the payments so they let me only pay the interest now. I really didn't expect them to do that for me. It has made my life a little bit...

Full review

My bank has been great by helping me through a difficult time for the last 15 months. I couldn't keep up with the payments so they let me only pay the interest now. I really didn't expect them to do that for me. It has made my life a little bit more easier. I couldn't have asked for anything better.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Shirley (TAS), reviewed about 1 month ago

Bankwest

Bankwest Flexible Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Not a great bank for me

It took 8 months to refinance, there are incompetent staff. They have been unable to tell us why fees were charged unless we were asked. Everything is outsourced. No apologies, just rude.

Full review

It took 8 months to refinance, there are incompetent staff. They have been unable to tell us why fees were charged unless we were asked. Everything is outsourced. No apologies, just rude.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Archana (WA), reviewed 3 months ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland personal loan review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Premiums not competitive customer service needy.

The interest rates are too high and the bank is not flexible with payment dates as they charge fees every time the payment falls on a weekend.

Full review

The interest rates are too high and the bank is not flexible with payment dates as they charge fees every time the payment falls on a weekend.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Wilson (QLD), reviewed 3 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Student Car Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Commonwealth Bank is great.

I've been with Commonwealth Bank since dollar mites and can't find a bad enough issue to have to change.

Full review

I've been with Commonwealth Bank since dollar mites and can't find a bad enough issue to have to change.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Daniel (QLD), reviewed 3 months ago

Westpac

Westpac personal loan review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Overall rating of 6

Westpac it okay but they could go a little easier on people trying to get a loan. With ANZ, it was much easier getting a loan than with Westpac.

Full review

Westpac it okay but they could go a little easier on people trying to get a loan. With ANZ, it was much easier getting a loan than with Westpac.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Jaycee (NSW), reviewed 4 months ago

ANZ

ANZ Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Happy with end result but not the process

Past loyalty amounts to nothing, very long process to apply for the loan

Full review

Past loyalty amounts to nothing, very long process to apply for the loan

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Alli (NSW), reviewed 4 months ago

Westpac

Westpac personal loan review

Overall rating   4 / 10

High interest rate

Interest rate of 0 pay back loan much and they don't give to bad credit

Full review

Interest rate of 0 pay back loan much and they don't give to bad credit

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Joey (NSW), reviewed 4 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank personal loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Would consider my family's money safe

Awesome bank - love the customer service

Full review

Awesome bank - love the customer service

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Erika (QLD), reviewed 4 months ago

NAB

NAB personal loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Easy to get to

It has good customer service and is easy to get to

Full review

It has good customer service and is easy to get to

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Jodie (VIC), reviewed 4 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) personal loan review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Not happy with bank.

The bank didn't calculate the correct amount so we didn't end up with the amount we required for debt consolidation. Repayment options were not discussed. Left in a worse financial situation to date.

Full review

The bank didn't calculate the correct amount so we didn't end up with the amount we required for debt consolidation. Repayment options were not discussed. Left in a worse financial situation to date.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Melanie (QLD), reviewed 4 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Outstanding

Commonwealth, to me, has always been the top bank. Ive walked into other banks and I don't seem to get that uplifting, alive feeling I usually feel in commonwealth. Believe me, I'm not just saying that. When I walk into another bank, everybody...

Full review

Commonwealth, to me, has always been the top bank. Ive walked into other banks and I don't seem to get that uplifting, alive feeling I usually feel in commonwealth. Believe me, I'm not just saying that. When I walk into another bank, everybody just looks confused. So thank you commonwealth for making me feel comfortable and cool.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Duke (VIC), reviewed 4 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) personal loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Higher rates and poor service

As a long term member to this bank, I was shocked at the service I received when making an application. My information in their system was not up to date even though this is the only bank account I have, thus the process was drawn out. The service...

Full review

As a long term member to this bank, I was shocked at the service I received when making an application. My information in their system was not up to date even though this is the only bank account I have, thus the process was drawn out. The service started out great until there was an issue with credit. I followed up and resoled the issue by supplying a finance report, only not to here back from them and even after leaving a few messages on the answer machine, i have still not herd back 8 months later.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Bradley (VIC), reviewed 4 months ago

St.George

St.George personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great.

Very helpful.

Full review

Very helpful.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Ruta (NSW), reviewed 4 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) personal loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

I would highly recommend them to anyone that asks

Very professional service at my local branch Fairfield Heights NSW.

Full review

Very professional service at my local branch Fairfield Heights NSW.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Robert fowler (NSW), reviewed 4 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Good bank

Good products and online banking is a good service

Full review

Good products and online banking is a good service

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Trevor (VIC), reviewed 4 months ago

Westpac

Westpac personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Overall best product I've used.

I would most likely refer this product to any friends and family looking.

Full review

I would most likely refer this product to any friends and family looking.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Melanie (VIC), reviewed 4 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) personal loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Great customer service

The product is somewhat outdated now as it is 6 years old. I did look at consolidating it but figured I have just about paid it out I would leave it. The bank is very helpful when ever I have an inquiry about the loan and have a good knowledge of...

Full review

The product is somewhat outdated now as it is 6 years old. I did look at consolidating it but figured I have just about paid it out I would leave it. The bank is very helpful when ever I have an inquiry about the loan and have a good knowledge of it and other products they have to offer. At time I took out the loan it had fairly competitive rates compared to other banks or credit unions. I would be happy to recommend the bank to others as their new loans and accounts are very good.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Luke (QLD), reviewed 5 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) personal loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

I have income need a personal loan please help me.

They bank trust to help but no yes answers for a personal loan why can't we be granted a personal loan just like some one who works receives a good income I get money I just need a chance for a loan and the repayments directed out of my account.

Full review

They bank trust to help but no yes answers for a personal loan why can't we be granted a personal loan just like some one who works receives a good income I get money I just need a chance for a loan and the repayments directed out of my account.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   2 / 10

Less

Donna (WA), reviewed 5 months ago

BankSA

BankSA Secured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Hate this bank

Been a customer for 31 years and after falling behind in repayments after mother passed away and I was unwell, bank was threatening me with legal action for $1700

Full review

Been a customer for 31 years and after falling behind in repayments after mother passed away and I was unwell, bank was threatening me with legal action for $1700

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   1 / 10

Less

Deborah (SA), reviewed 5 months ago

BCU

BCU Freedom Loan (Variable, Secured) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Awesome

Great service

Full review

Great service

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Ben (NSW), reviewed 7 months ago

Bankwest

Bankwest personal loan review

Overall rating   4 / 10

BankWest seem to be compatible.

They've given me a loan and at the start because I did it over the phone I will be honest I had to run around a bit , however the staff were very accommodating. I do get charged late fees or have been where as my NAB. Bank doesn't . That's only...

Full review

They've given me a loan and at the start because I did it over the phone I will be honest I had to run around a bit , however the staff were very accommodating. I do get charged late fees or have been where as my NAB. Bank doesn't . That's only one feature I'm not happy with. I can get through fairly easily and they've been helpful. I'd have to say to all banks as they don't seem to mention other services available and I found out afterwards, it would be nice if their staff offered other solutions to my needs if they thought it would help. Otherwise both BankWest and NAB have been pretty good, but BankWest have a lower interest rate.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Donna (WA), reviewed 7 months ago

BCU

BCU Freedom Loan (Variable, Secured) personal loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great service

Well looked after and provided all sufficient information I asked and also very satisfying customer service

Full review

Well looked after and provided all sufficient information I asked and also very satisfying customer service

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jye (NSW), reviewed 7 months ago

BCU

BCU personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent customer service

Excellent customer service & super quick at approving/processing personal loan

Full review

Excellent customer service & super quick at approving/processing personal loan

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Tammy (NSW), reviewed 7 months ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Personal loan comparisons on Mozo Rates updated daily

  • People's Choice Credit Union Discounted Personal Loan (over 10k, Fixed)

    People's Choice Credit Union Discounted Personal Loan (over 10k, Fixed)

    • No monthly account fees
    • No penalties for early repayments
    • Flexible loan terms and repayment options

    interest rate

    7.99% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    8.35% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 7.99% would cost $31,529.43 including fees.

    • No monthly account fees
    • No penalties for early repayments
    • Flexible loan terms and repayment options
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $250
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee:
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Vehicle
    • Minimum loan amount: $10,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $100,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 7 Years
    Overall rating

    7.3

    Based on 38 People's Choice Credit Union personal loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • RACV Personal Loan (Fixed, Secured)

    RACV Personal Loan (Fixed, Secured)

    • No ongoing fees
    • Fast approval secure personal loan
    • Choose to repay over 1 to 7 years

    interest rate

    7.99% p.a.to 15.00% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    8.53% p.a.to 15.58% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 7.99% would cost $31,657.43 including fees.

    • No ongoing fees
    • Fast approval secure personal loan
    • Choose to repay over 1 to 7 years
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $378
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee:
    • Repayment options: Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Residential Property, Vehicle
    • Minimum loan amount: $25,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 7 Years
    Overall rating

    8.0

    Based on 1 RACV personal loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • SocietyOne Unsecured Personal Loan - Excellent Credit (Fixed)

    SocietyOne Unsecured Personal Loan - Excellent Credit (Fixed)

    • Low rates that reward your good credit
    • Apply online in minutes
    • No monthly or early repayment fees

    interest rate

    7.99% p.a.to 25.50% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    9.68% p.a.to 27.42% p.a.based on $10,000
    over 3 years

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 2 to 5 years. Representative example: a 3 year $10,000 loan at 7.99% would cost $11,529.43 including fees.

    • Low rates that reward your good credit
    • Apply online in minutes
    • No monthly or early repayment fees
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $250
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $5,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $35,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 2 Years
    • Maximum loan term: 5 Years
    Overall rating

    0.0

    Based on 1 SocietyOne personal loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • St.George Secured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    St.George Secured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    • Fast online application, submit and receive a response in 60 seconds
    • Fliexible loan terms
    • Borrow from $3K to $80K

    interest rate

    8.49% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    9.39% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 8.49% would cost $31,881.65 including fees.

    • Fast online application, submit and receive a response in 60 seconds
    • Fliexible loan terms
    • Borrow from $3K to $80K
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $195
    • Monthly fee: $9.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Vehicle
    • Minimum loan amount: $3,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $80,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 5 Years
    Overall rating

    7.6

    Based on 141 St.George personal loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MoneyPlace Unsecured Personal Loan - Excellent Credit Rating (Fixed)

    MoneyPlace Unsecured Personal Loan - Excellent Credit Rating (Fixed)

    • No hidden fees, no monthly fees
    • Fixed rates are tailored to you
    • 100% Online, apply in minutes

    interest rate

    8.90% p.a.to 27.00% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    8.90% p.a.to 27.0% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 3 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 8.90% would cost $31,431.16 including fees.

    • No hidden fees, no monthly fees
    • Fixed rates are tailored to you
    • 100% Online, apply in minutes
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $0
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $5,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $35,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 3 Years
    • Maximum loan term: 5 Years
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 175 personal loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare all personal loans

Look for a specific type of personal loan:

* The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a personal loan. The comparison rates displayed are for the amounts and terms quoted, based on monthly principal and interest repayments, on a secured basis for secured loans and an unsecured basis for unsecured loans, and apply only to these examples. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Full comparison rate schedules are available from lenders. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2016

Forget industry awards where banks scratch each other's backs. Mozo presents the People's Choice Awards, based on more than 30,000 real customer reviews.

Check out the winners

Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.