Personal loan customer reviews

Read the latest personal loan reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their loan provider to give you the low down on everything from the cheapest loans to the best customer service.

Search a review by:

Recent personal loan customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • ANZ Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    Worse Bank

    Do not use this bank, applied for a personal loan, they advertise simple and easy, what a joke, supplied documentation to them, looks like I was dealing with idiots overseas as most of my correspondence was online due to work commitments. Instead of looking over the application and telling me what they wanted me to supply first go instead of coming back in drubs and drabs asking for information, I supply it and they tell me they didn’t receive it, but I have proof it went through but anyway. Not reading emails properly or even knowing what they are asking for when it’s right in front of them. At one point some one in their assessing team sent an email and said application was not successful. Next day I get an email from them saying we need more information??? I said you knocked the application back and the guys says oh no we haven’t finished processing it?? I then emailed them what they said and they apologised for confusion, but still going back and forth. Not well trained staff, either I ended up pulling the application and went to another bank and got the loan in 24 hours. Do not waste your time and energy!

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Adrian, New South Wales, reviewed about 2 months ago
    More ANZ personal loan customer reviews
  • Commonwealth Bank Secured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    Banks grubs

    Corporate robots, don't lend to singles the two percent deposit scheme is rubbish, I tick all boxes and can afford the loan but cannot get because of unrealistic lending criteria. All banks.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Mick, Victoria, reviewed about 2 months ago
    More Commonwealth Bank personal loan customer reviews
  • SocietyOne Unsecured Personal Loan (Excellent Credit, Fixed)

    Don’t bother believing the TV ads

    Don’t believe the TV commercials, Jackson was dismissive and short. Pretty ordinary all over.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Jim, Queensland, reviewed about 2 months ago
    More SocietyOne personal loan customer reviews
  • Latitude Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured)

    Poor service 0 transparency high interest rates

    Mistakes often made with customer service information, refusing to provide details regarding total payments, no online access to account or transaction/statement history. Would not recommend.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Mark, Queensland, reviewed about 2 months ago
    More Latitude personal loan customer reviews
  • Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable)

    Commonwealth Bank of Australia are great at tricki

    Commonwealth Bank of Australia are great at tricking you into consolidating you personal loans into you mortgage loan convincing you of the benefits when in fact its just a scam to keep you from getting ahead.. Not good.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Brendon, New South Wales, reviewed 2 months ago
    More Commonwealth Bank personal loan customer reviews
  • Latitude Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured)

    Avoid, Avoid, Avoid !!!

    Avoid Latitude Financial at all costs. Highway robbery interest rates. Zero customer service. Hidden fees to bite you if you want pay out your loan early. And tack on some more interest for good measure. Not sure how these companies are allowed to operate.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Steve, South Australia, reviewed 2 months ago
    More Latitude personal loan customer reviews
  • Harmoney Personal Loan

    charges interest for every payment not monthly

    The website says it calculates interest daily and applies it monthly but it doesn't. it applies it at every payment you make. The borrower statement does not show you when interest is due to be charged it just shows you how much interest was debited from each payment you make.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Nothappy, Queensland, reviewed 2 months ago
    More Harmoney personal loan customer reviews
  • Latitude Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured)

    Honest Financial Assistance

    Latitude are an honest, open and communicative financial company. After my recent experience, I can only recommend them to everybody who requires secure financial assistance speedily!!

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Christopher, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
    More Latitude personal loan customer reviews
  • Plenti Used Car Loan (Fixed, up to 7 years old)

    AVOID

    I wound up thru a broker with Plenti. Big mistake. They tell you there's no early exit fee. Trouble is, you pay admin fees for the life of the loan, which are significant. Early exit fee by proxy, and stealth. Don't go near them. Rate setter was a great co. Once a co lists, it's ALL about greedy boards, and delivery. This co has lost its way from its original mindset. AVOID!

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Adrian, Victoria, reviewed 3 months ago
    More Plenti personal loan customer reviews
  • ANZ Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    Great staff but treated as a number by the bank

    I am a loyal and very long term ANZ customer and have a good credit rating and yet I could not get a lower percentage rate on my loan. There are many banks offering low rates, but this did not sway ANZ in offering a comparable rate. I went with them as it was harder to get a loan with a new bank that I had not banked with. Great service from local staff but gone is the day when the branch manager had the final say and knew there regular loyal customers.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Tony, Victoria, reviewed 3 months ago
    More ANZ personal loan customer reviews
  • St.George Secured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    Outstanding customer service

    I love how St George Bank helped me easily find a good personal loan that suited my needs. Would highly recommended them to anyone that is looking for a loan, or to open a bank account etc. There’s no cons to them I really had a great stress free experience.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Grace, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
    More St.George personal loan customer reviews
  • Westpac Car Loan (Fixed, Secured)

    Extremely poor communications

    Absolute worst service I have ever come across with a bank.  Total incompetence of the most worrying kind for any customer with this bank. Communication rating -10 with -10 being the worst score.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Dennis, Queensland, reviewed 3 months ago
    More Westpac personal loan customer reviews
  • Police Bank Personal Loan (Variable, Unsecured)

    Don't waste your time...go to another bank.

    Used to be great when they were a Credit Union in the 1980s..but are now hopeless...numerous branches closed...no face to face service...overly bureaucratic procedures.

    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Paul, New South Wales, reviewed 4 months ago
    More Police Bank personal loan customer reviews
  • NAB Personal Loan

    Bad providers

    Intense dislike, for the hounding of clients through no fault of their own, not informed when repayments went up, countless paperwork back and forth, must not forget the last cent owing. Interest charged plus service fees, on top of the loan repayment, even when interest rates went down. As pensioners I am glad to be rid of them. Never, never again.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Erica, Queensland, reviewed 4 months ago
    More NAB personal loan customer reviews
  • ANZ Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    Not Australian

    During COVID ruined my business. They say hard ship but charge interest that need to be paid the day it ends so really it’s not hardship. Every other bank paused interest during pandemic but not ANZ. All interest accumulation due the day off hard ship even though only have three months even though the pandemic has been going 1.5 years. Never missed a payment and now bank in collection with out any income.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Neil, New South Wales, reviewed 4 months ago
    More ANZ personal loan customer reviews
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Personal loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Low Rate Personal Loan

      interest rate
      5.45% p.a.to 8.48% p.a.
      comparison rate
      6.07% p.a.to 8.84% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 1 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 5.45% would cost $34,590.57 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Personal Loan

      interest rate
      6.39% p.a.to 7.49% p.a.
      comparison rate
      6.39% p.a.to 8.19% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 3 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 6.39% would cost $35,126.40 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Personal Loan

      interest rate
      4.99% p.a.to 14.99% p.a.
      comparison rate
      4.99% p.a.to 14.99% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 1 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 4.99% would cost $33,959.97 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Personal Loan

      interest rate
      5.75% p.a.to 25.99% p.a.
      comparison rate
      6.47% p.a.to 29.2% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 1 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 5.75% would cost $35,190.18 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Unsecured Personal Loan

      interest rate
      5.35% p.a.to 19.09% p.a.
      comparison rate
      6.14% p.a.to 19.99% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 3 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 5.35% would cost $34,832.61 including fees.

      Promoted

    WARNING: The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a personal loan. The comparison rates displayed are calculated based on a loan of $30,000 for a term of 5 years or a loan of $10,000 for a term of 3 years as indicated, based on monthly principal and interest repayments, on a secured basis for secured loans and an unsecured basis for unsecured loans. This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

    Want more? Compare all 226 personal loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more personal loans

    About Mozo Reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

    We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

    Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.