Personal loan reviews

Read the latest personal loan reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their loan provider to give you the low down on everything from the cheapest loans to the best customer service.

Search a review by:

Recent personal loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • NAB Personal Loan (Variable, Unsecured) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Very good in customer service.

    I've had a loan with the NAB and during the loans duration my personal banker from the NAB was fantastic.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Dom, Victoria, reviewed about 15 hours ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Great to deal with but not competitive.

    Great bank to deal with but not very competitive with interest fees and charges.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Jessica, New South Wales, reviewed about 16 hours ago
  • CUA Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Good rates but bad service.

    Great Competitive Rates and Features on CUA’s unsecured personal loan. 9.89% compared to others providing for 11.90- 14.90%. I bank with CBA but their personal loan was 11.90% and had less features such as no fee payout anytime, no monthly fees, free redraw on fixed loans. The process for applying for this loan was horrendous. Have dealt with the Big 4's subsidiaries such as Bankwest and in the past and I am used to speedy responses and great customer service. Loan approval should not take greater than 2 days! CUA takes 16 days! Cua was a surprise! A simple personal loan with great credit history took more than 2 weeks. Their lenders leave you in the dark on what is actually going on, and never ever call you back even though they say they will. Some statements about apps going to assessors and documents required. I furnished all docs as required within minutes of request. Then I was sent on a mystery wait for days. I think they just either have too much to do or don't bother to speed up the process whatsoever. In hindsight, i went back on the CUA website and they do not state a processing time for this very reason. Could take half a month or a month. Who knows? Only a CUA insider can tell us why they are so slow in processing simple personal loans. I have received a $1.2M home loan in under 2 days from CBA with less mucking around & less docs. They are hell nervous and risk averse in my perception. Due to the great rates, i was forced to bite the bullet and put up with this horrid service while the loan was processing. On certain instances the lender had no clue what he told me just a few days back that he would call me by a certain time and provide approval docs. 2 days post this appointment, i had to chase up yet again. Lender says again it is with the assessor not realising what he said last time. Quite unprofessional and under experienced lenders i think. If you are in no rush and willing to wait it out, then this may be just for you.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Less
    Anonymous, Queensland, reviewed about 16 hours ago
  • Latitude Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Extremely helpful.

    From applying to receiving funds the whole process was so easy and the staff where so helpful.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Jeremy, Western Australia, reviewed 2 days ago
  • Latitude Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    The Betterers are just that. The Best!

    The Betterers helped me out of an awkward spot when the banks turned their backs and snubbed their noses.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Lisa, Victoria, reviewed 3 days ago
  • People's Choice Credit Union Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Highly recommended.

    People's Choice have always been very helpful and approachable. I can not fault their service.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Stuart, South Australia, reviewed 10 days ago
  • ANZ Personal Loan review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Easy to deal with.

    I am a long time customer. They listen to what I want, answers my questions and consider my circumstances.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Fran, Queensland, reviewed 10 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Excellent.

    Professional, fast, friendly service.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Robert, Tasmania, reviewed 12 days ago
  • NAB Personal Loan review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Good.

    Good product.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    4 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Cristina, Queensland, reviewed 12 days ago
  • SocietyOne Personal Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Deceptive advertising on interest rates offered.

    Advertisements of SocietyOne promotes loan interest rates from 7.5% but once you’ve gone the ‘free quote’ process, the rate they present to you a rate of 14.5%, which is the same as my current bank’s offer. A pointless exercise to look into their product.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Matt, Queensland, reviewed 12 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Quick, easy and it's great.

    I'm on the second loan. The first one was easy and online and quick and easy. Now the second loan was just over twice as much as the first (it was fully paid off for 2 years) and it was easier over the phone and quicker as I read something wrong online so it was really helpful and surprisingly quick. Plus I'm glad there's more variety then other banks that I've seen.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Sharn, Queensland, reviewed 15 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Great customer service.

    I like this bank. The app is easy to use and you can easily see your loan and how much you owe. I've found them always to be helpful.

    Price
    3 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Teneal, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed 16 days ago
  • Westpac Personal Loan review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Good.

    They will solve any problem you have.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Luciana, New South Wales, reviewed 19 days ago
  • NAB Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Not impressed.

    I wish I never went with NAB. I was also made to feel like the insurance was required.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    4 / 10
    Less
    Paige, New South Wales, reviewed 19 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Great customer service.

    I have been banking with them all of my life, they offer all the services I need and expedite quite quickly.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Christine, New South Wales, reviewed 23 days ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Personal loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Unsecured Personal Loan

      interest rate
      7.95% p.a.to 19.45% p.a.
      comparison rate*
      8.78% p.a.to 20.4% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years
      fees
      $595.00upfront
      and
      $0.00/month

      Terms from 3 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 7.95% would cost $37,049.45 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Low Rate Personal Loan

      interest rate
      8.00% p.a.
      comparison rate*
      8.21% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years
      fees
      $150.00upfront
      and
      $0.00/month

      Terms from 1 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 8.00% would cost $36,647.51 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Unsecured Personal Loan

      interest rate
      6.79% p.a.to 14.99% p.a.
      comparison rate*
      8.83% p.a.to 17.15% p.a.based on $10,000
      over 3 years
      fees
      $299.00upfront
      and
      $0.00/month

      Terms from 1 to 5 years. Representative example: a 3 year $10,000 loan at 6.79% would cost $11,380.22 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Discounted Personal Loan

      interest rate
      7.99% p.a.
      comparison rate*
      8.35% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years
      fees
      $250.00upfront
      and
      $0.00/month

      Terms from 1 to 10 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 7.99% would cost $36,738.90 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Unsecured Personal Loan

      interest rate
      7.50% p.a.to 14.99% p.a.
      comparison rate*
      9.51% p.a.to 18.48% p.a.based on $10,000
      over 3 years
      fees
      $335.95upfront
      and
      $0.00/month

      Terms from 2 to 3 years. Representative example: a 3 year $10,000 loan at 7.50% would cost $11,534.19 including fees.

      Promoted

    *The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a personal loan. The comparison rates displayed are calculated based on a loan of $30,000 for a term of 5 years or a loan of $10,000 for a term of 3 years as indicated, based on monthly principal and interest repayments, on a secured basis for secured loans and an unsecured basis for unsecured loans. WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

    Want more? Compare all 220 personal loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more personal loans

    About Mozo Reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

    We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

    Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.