Personal loan reviews

Read the latest personal loan reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their loan provider to give you the low down on everything from the cheapest loans to the best customer service.

Search a review by:

Recent personal loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • ANZ Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Average bank.

    Not a bad bank although access and customer service not great. Personal touch requirements needed, not robots.

    Price
    4 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    3 / 10
    Convenience
    2 / 10
    Trust
    4 / 10
    Less
    Joanne, New South Wales, reviewed about 16 hours ago
  • ANZ Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) review

    Overall rating   3 / 10
    Does not reward loyalty

    Over 20 years with this bank and the first time I need help and apply for a loan with them, it takes 4 weeks, 20 emails, multiple requests for multiple documents from multiple call centre workers and I still don’t have an answer. Spoke to 7 different people on the phone regarding my application- massive communication break down due to language barrier. I had to explain where on my payslip to find the YTD information, what constitutes as over time and explain that having time off work during Covid in quarantine did not mean I was unemployed. I lost points on my credit rating on a bank that does not reward loyalty. I am in the process of closing my accounts and moving banks.

    Price
    4 / 10
    Features
    2 / 10
    Customer service
    4 / 10
    Convenience
    3 / 10
    Trust
    3 / 10
    Less
    Sara, Queensland, reviewed 3 days ago
  • St.George Secured Personal Loan (Fixed) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Staff are amazing

    I have looked around but always come bank to St George. I feel listened too, there's always someone available to speak with and their rates are good.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Carol, Queensland, reviewed 3 days ago
  • Latitude Personal Loan (Fixed, Secured) review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Discrimination at its best.

    I applied for a small personal loan through Latitude. I was refused because I do not have a full time job, I am a pensioner. Having a veterans tpi pension, a service pension and my superannuation, owning all my vehicles and house, that was not enough. Don't know what else to write. Never been knocked back before.

    Trust
    2 / 10
    Less
    Bruce, Queensland, reviewed 4 days ago
  • St.George Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Greedy.

    I took out a personal loan to buy a musical instrument. I paid the loan out early and now it attracts administration fees of $12 per month. I thought they would just close the loan once I paid it out but apparently they will let it run its full term and charge me for doing nothing.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Andrew, New South Wales, reviewed 5 days ago
  • ME Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Never use this bank!

    Never have I ever been so stressed in my life. I called to get a payout figure and pay the personal loan out as a requirement of my mortgage. I explained this to ME Bank during our phone conversation, that the fund would be coming from a 3rd party to pay it out, once this hit I would then close the account. Not sure what happened, but ME Bank took the outstanding loan amount from my personal bank account which then left in in a massive $6k negative with no money at all for the weekend. No resolution at all other than, they would pay the the fees that would be charged for the account being in such a huge debit. Absolutely disgusted is an understatement, I will never use this bank again and will strongly urge everyone I know to steer clear.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Jade, New South Wales, reviewed 5 days ago
  • ANZ Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Great!

    I love my Bank.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Rachael, Western Australia, reviewed 5 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    CommBank.

    Very uncompetitive interest rates. 17% is way too high compared to other lenders.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Jaime, New South Wales, reviewed 5 days ago
  • Liberty Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Terrible service.

    Terrible customer service and decision outcome. I submitted an application online with a company that prides themselves to have a decision delivered within 1-2 days, yet 7 days later the only response received is by text message "we are working on it almost there :) ". No other concerns with application and when I asked them more questions they ask for an everyday statement to be uploaded via portal. I've been told that there are no issues with underwriting the loan, but still need a statement. This is is one entire week later yet no one can sign off on a statement that was already provided from a branch on an official letterhead, uploaded as PDF format as everyday passbook account does not come with internet access. Asked to accept under exception by higher authority but no answer provided by customer service. I do not recommend to apply with this company, save yourself the hassle and go where they will approve within the same day.

    Price
    4 / 10
    Features
    3 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Khanekeo, New South Wales, reviewed 5 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Great customer service always.

    We have always without fail, my husband and I, been treated with so much respect and exceptional customer service and this was when we opened the account to when we first got loans for our cars. The bank was so excited for us and asked us our goals and dreams. So personal and valued us.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Jorgie, Queensland, reviewed 7 days ago
  • ING Personal Loan review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Excellent customer service

    The bank is all online so no over heads on in store banks. No wait times on calling, very simple phone choices and staff are very helpful, extensive knowledge and don’t push sales.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Ruth, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed 7 days ago
  • ANZ Personal Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    A great bank

    My bank is the best. Great communication, great service, call backs if needed and I wouldn't go anywhere else.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Stephen, Queensland, reviewed 10 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Personal Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    The leader in all banking need

    Ease of contact, all done online, fantastic service and ongoing back up if needed.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    David, Tasmania, reviewed 10 days ago
  • NAB Personal Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Horrendous

    Never missed a payment always have an excellent credit rating yet they refused to offer an increase on my credit cards because they the nab said my disability pension is not considered a reliable income.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    William, New South Wales, reviewed 10 days ago
  • Westpac Personal Loan review

    Overall rating   4 / 10
    Only interested in profit, not service or people.

    They are only interested in profit, not service. The wait to get money from teller is too long. Not enough machines. Won't lower credit card rate and won't lend to casual workers.

    Price
    4 / 10
    Features
    3 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Convenience
    4 / 10
    Trust
    2 / 10
    Less
    Kay, Queensland, reviewed 11 days ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Personal loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Low Rate Personal Loan

      interest rate
      6.75% p.a.to 8.48% p.a.
      comparison rate
      6.96% p.a.to 8.69% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 1 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 6.75% would cost $35,580.23 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Unsecured Personal Loan

      interest rate
      6.95% p.a.to 17.95% p.a.
      comparison rate
      6.95% p.a.to 17.95% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 2 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 6.95% would cost $35,599.71 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Personal Loan

      interest rate
      5.75% p.a.to 25.99% p.a.
      comparison rate
      6.47% p.a.to 29.2% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 1 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 5.75% would cost $35,190.18 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Unsecured Personal Loan - Excellent Credit

      interest rate
      6.99% p.a.to 10.49% p.a.
      comparison rate
      6.99% p.a.to 11.92% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      5 year term only. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 6.99% would cost $35,633.67 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Personal Loan

      interest rate
      5.99% p.a.to 21.99% p.a.
      comparison rate
      7.26% p.a.to 23.15% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 1 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 5.99% would cost $35,820.67 including fees.

      Promoted

    WARNING: The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a personal loan. The comparison rates displayed are calculated based on a loan of $30,000 for a term of 5 years or a loan of $10,000 for a term of 3 years as indicated, based on monthly principal and interest repayments, on a secured basis for secured loans and an unsecured basis for unsecured loans. This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

    Want more? Compare all 239 personal loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more personal loans

    About Mozo Reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

    We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

    Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.