Personal loan reviews

Read the latest personal loan reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their loan provider to give you the low down on everything from the cheapest loans to the best customer service.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent personal loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

NAB

NAB Personal Loan (Variable, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great service

I like this bank because they're helping me while I'm struggling between jobs.

Full review

I like this bank because they're helping me while I'm struggling between jobs.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Dontae (VIC), reviewed 4 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank personal loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Good loan and nice services

Good loan, very handy and good services.

Full review

Good loan, very handy and good services.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Shuai (NSW), reviewed 4 months ago

CUA

CUA Discount Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) personal loan review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Okay I guess

Most stupid bank I have ever banked with, wasn't eligible for anything.

Full review

Most stupid bank I have ever banked with, wasn't eligible for anything.

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Convenience   -1 / 10

    Trust   1 / 10

Less

Rebecca (VIC), reviewed 4 months ago

NAB

NAB Personal Loan (Variable, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Always great customer service, no worries about it

They are a lovely gang of girls working at this bank, always happy and ready to help you; they even take the time to teach you how to use apps. I may have to wait as they can get very busy, so you either wait or come back. The only thing is they...

Full review

They are a lovely gang of girls working at this bank, always happy and ready to help you; they even take the time to teach you how to use apps. I may have to wait as they can get very busy, so you either wait or come back. The only thing is they close Tuesdays so you need to get things done before and don't leave it for that day.

    Price   -1 / 10

    Features   -1 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Debbie (NSW), reviewed 5 months ago

Bankwest

Bankwest Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service and products

Great bank and always very helpful. Great products and friendly staff.

Full review

Great bank and always very helpful. Great products and friendly staff.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Tammy (WA), reviewed 5 months ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia Lifestyle Personal Loan (Variable, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Extremely satisfied customer

I applied for a personal loan on Monday and it was approved/made available by Thursday.

Full review

I applied for a personal loan on Monday and it was approved/made available by Thursday.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Lee ann (VIC), reviewed 5 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank personal loan review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Disappointing service for a customer of 30 years

I’ve been a member of Commonwealth Bank for 30 years. I got a personal loan 6 years ago & have tried to lower my interest rate from 19% & they agreed to drop 1% off. After another 7 months of payments (none missed) asked again if they could help...

Full review

I’ve been a member of Commonwealth Bank for 30 years. I got a personal loan 6 years ago & have tried to lower my interest rate from 19% & they agreed to drop 1% off. After another 7 months of payments (none missed) asked again if they could help by dropping the internet rate as I’m struggling & got told no.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Tracey (VIC), reviewed 5 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank personal loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great

I've been with Commonwealth for a while and I like them.

Full review

I've been with Commonwealth for a while and I like them.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Andrew (NSW), reviewed 5 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Secured Car Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Average bank

Just a little too expensive. Although I love the convenience and staff.

Full review

Just a little too expensive. Although I love the convenience and staff.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Brody (VIC), reviewed 5 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) personal loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Fast, but high interest

Easy to apply and friendly, helpful service.

Full review

Easy to apply and friendly, helpful service.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Te arohanui (QLD), reviewed 5 months ago

Beyond Bank

Beyond Bank Flexi Personal Loan (Variable, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Don't rate Beyond Bank very highly

Find the rates high, don't stand by the customer very well when times are hard!

Full review

Find the rates high, don't stand by the customer very well when times are hard!

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Eric (NSW), reviewed 5 months ago

Westpac

Westpac Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

efficient and great customer service always

This bank has a long and strong privacy and security ethic in the 20 plus years I have banked with them. They are innovative and flexible and competitive with great, always pleasant customer service.

Full review

This bank has a long and strong privacy and security ethic in the 20 plus years I have banked with them. They are innovative and flexible and competitive with great, always pleasant customer service.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Julie (VIC), reviewed 5 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Student Car Loan (Fixed, Secured) personal loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Fine

It's okay.

Full review

It's okay.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Tiara (WA), reviewed 6 months ago

NAB

NAB personal loan review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Terrible

I’ve stuck by them they have looked after me with my other houses, but I making good money at the time. Their internet banking is non descriptive at least for a few days. I need to know now where my money went, miscellaneous transaction don’t cut...

Full review

I’ve stuck by them they have looked after me with my other houses, but I making good money at the time. Their internet banking is non descriptive at least for a few days. I need to know now where my money went, miscellaneous transaction don’t cut it with me.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   -1 / 10

Less

Roby (QLD), reviewed 6 months ago

MyState Bank

MyState Bank General Purpose Personal Loan (Variable, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

MyState aren't that helpful

I am tired of getting 30 dollar fees when my loan's are slightly overdrawn. Rather than helping me to put all my debts in one account they won't lend me the fund's because I am on a disability pension & they don't seem to care. I am human not a...

Full review

I am tired of getting 30 dollar fees when my loan's are slightly overdrawn. Rather than helping me to put all my debts in one account they won't lend me the fund's because I am on a disability pension & they don't seem to care. I am human not a Robot l need food, power, etc. Please help me.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Tracy (TAS), reviewed 6 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank personal loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great

Excellent

Full review

Excellent

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Leena (VIC), reviewed 6 months ago

ANZ

ANZ Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Ok

Not enough staff. I always had to wait at least 20 minute's to pay monthly and fortnightly routine payments on loan and credit card.

Full review

Not enough staff. I always had to wait at least 20 minute's to pay monthly and fortnightly routine payments on loan and credit card.

    Price   -1 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Delia (SA), reviewed 6 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) personal loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Awesome

Very good.

Full review

Very good.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Laura (NSW), reviewed 6 months ago

ANZ

ANZ Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great

Really good.

Full review

Really good.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Ian (NSW), reviewed 6 months ago

ANZ

ANZ Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Good bank

ANZ have been good to me. The customer service is good and they have lots of ATM around the place.

Full review

ANZ have been good to me. The customer service is good and they have lots of ATM around the place.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

April (VIC), reviewed 6 months ago

Westpac

Westpac Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent service

Overall experience was professional, accurate, simple and positive.

Full review

Overall experience was professional, accurate, simple and positive.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Melanie (QLD), reviewed 6 months ago

Westpac

Westpac Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Poor

Poor

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Convenience   2 / 10

    Trust   2 / 10

Less

Leanne (QLD), reviewed 6 months ago

Westpac

Westpac Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great

Very happy with Westpac.

Full review

Very happy with Westpac.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Pam (WA), reviewed 6 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank personal loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Customer service and technology

Commonwealth Bank is up there with their technology, love the online facilities.

Full review

Commonwealth Bank is up there with their technology, love the online facilities.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Julie (WA), reviewed 6 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank personal loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

They weren't helpful

We worked hard to fix our credit up for 9 months, with the last 5 months of the loan with nothing in the red except for 2 small overnight withdrawals that were fixed within minutes to hours. However, the bank refused us, not for equity but for the...

Full review

We worked hard to fix our credit up for 9 months, with the last 5 months of the loan with nothing in the red except for 2 small overnight withdrawals that were fixed within minutes to hours. However, the bank refused us, not for equity but for the 2 small misconducts in recent days. We’ve taken our business to other services to see if we can refinance with them and we’ve got 3 offers! Commonwealth Bank can go, we’re done we’re moving all our business.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Wee (TAS), reviewed 6 months ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Personal loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    Harmoney Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    Harmoney Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    • Up to $70,000, unsecured. Fast, easy & 100% online
    • No hidden fees or early repayment penalties with Australasia's leading marketplace lending website
    • You're unique, so is your interest rate

    interest rate

    6.99% p.a.to 26.95% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    7.69% p.a.to 28.21% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    fees

    $500.00upfront
    and
    $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 6.99% would cost $36,133.67 including fees.

    • Up to $70,000, unsecured. Fast, easy & 100% online
    • No hidden fees or early repayment penalties with Australasia's leading marketplace lending website
    • You're unique, so is your interest rate
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $500
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $5,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $70,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 5 Years
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Featured product

     

    SocietyOne Unsecured Personal Loan - Excellent Credit (Fixed)

    SocietyOne Unsecured Personal Loan - Excellent Credit (Fixed)

    • Low rates that reward your good credit
    • Apply online in minutes
    • No monthly or early repayment fees

    interest rate

    7.50% p.a.to 9.99% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    9.51% p.a.to 12.71% p.a.based on $10,000
    over 3 years

    fees

    $300.00upfront
    and
    $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 2 to 3 years. Representative example: a 3 year $10,000 loan at 7.50% would cost $11,498.24 including fees.

    • Low rates that reward your good credit
    • Apply online in minutes
    • No monthly or early repayment fees
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $300
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $5,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $50,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 2 Years
    • Maximum loan term: 3 Years
    Overall rating

    0.0

    Based on 1 SocietyOne personal loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • NAB Personal Loan (Variable, Unsecured)

    NAB Personal Loan (Variable, Unsecured)

    • Borrow from $5,000 - $55,000
    • No fees for extra or early repayments
    • The interest rate shown is a headline rate. The headline rate is the rate that the majority of NAB personal loan customers will get

    interest rate

    12.69% p.a.to 18.69% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    13.56% p.a.to 19.53% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    fees

    $150.00upfront
    and
    $10.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 12.69% would cost $41,420.45 including fees.

    • Borrow from $5,000 - $55,000
    • No fees for extra or early repayments
    • The interest rate shown is a headline rate. The headline rate is the rate that the majority of NAB personal loan customers will get
    • Other benefits: Headline rate displayed above, rates start as low as 10.69% based on credit history.
    • Upfront fee: $150
    • Monthly fee: $10.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $5,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $55,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 7 Years
    Overall rating

    7.6

    Based on 318 NAB personal loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bank Australia Lifestyle Personal Loan (Variable, Unsecured)

    Bank Australia Lifestyle Personal Loan (Variable, Unsecured)

    • Additional payments accepted
    • No early exit fees
    • Experts Choice Winner 2017 - Australia's Best Bank

    interest rate

    11.89% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    12.94% p.a.based on $10,000
    over 3 years

    fees

    $150.00upfront
    and
    $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 10 years. Representative example: a 3 year $10,000 loan at 11.89% would cost $12,088.25 including fees.

    • Additional payments accepted
    • No early exit fees
    • Experts Choice Winner 2017 - Australia's Best Bank
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $150
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $1,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 10 Years
    Overall rating

    5.7

    Based on 6 Bank Australia personal loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • RACQ Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable)

    RACQ Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable)

    • Unlimited additional repayments and no early payout fee
    • Queensland borrowers only
    • Borrow from $3K to $60K

    interest rate

    12.95% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    13.25% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    fees

    $200.00upfront
    and
    $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 12.95% would cost $41,109.47 including fees.

    • Unlimited additional repayments and no early payout fee
    • Queensland borrowers only
    • Borrow from $3K to $60K
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $200
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee:
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $3,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $60,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 5 Years
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 196 personal loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more personal loans

Look for a specific type of personal loan:

*The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a personal loan. The comparison rates displayed are calculated based on a loan of $30,000 for a term of 5 years or a loan of $10,000 for a term of 3 years as indicated, based on monthly principal and interest repayments, on a secured basis for secured loans and an unsecured basis for unsecured loans. WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2018

Forget industry awards where the industry scratch each other’s backs. Mozo presents the People’s Choice Awards, based on real customer reviews.

Check out the winners
Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.