Personal loan customer reviews

Read the latest personal loan reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their loan provider to give you the low down on everything from the cheapest loans to the best customer service.

Search a review by:

Recent personal loan customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Great Southern Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Avoid at all costs!

    Have had multiple loans with CUA before they changes their name without notifying their customers. Have had terrible dealings trying to close out my account which was actually paid in full over 12 months prior. Apparently I hadn't called after making the final payment so the account remained open and interest grew. I received a 'new' final payout figure of $153.00 (Interest). I have not received a statement for over 12 months so had no idea I had monies owing. Turns out this is to 'save paper'. I'm all for saving the environment, don't get me wrong! When most banks go paperless they chose to send statements via email. When I paid this final amount the day I got the figure, it took 2.5 days to clear and now I owe 10c in interest. I'm not willing to make this 10c payment on principal and I've been placed on hold for 36 minutes and still waiting... I would suggest you avoid this joke of a bank at all costs!

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Richard, Victoria, reviewed 8 days ago
    More Great Southern Bank personal loan customer reviews
  • ING Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Very very bad new look rate check

    Very bad service with new look I don’t like. Different credit score

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Vidya, New South Wales, reviewed 15 days ago
    More ING personal loan customer reviews
  • ING Personal Loan

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Too bad this new credit score based personal loan.

    Too bad this new credit score based personal loan. I am getting different score than with actual score. Too bad I should get 8.99 interest rate but I am getting 10.99. Very very bad.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Vidya, New South Wales, reviewed 15 days ago
    More ING personal loan customer reviews
  • Great Southern Bank Secured Car Loan (Fixed)

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Online application not check.

    After applying for a car loan online I was unsuccessful. As directed online, I was told to phone if I wanted clarification. I did. All I was told was that the program worked it out. I asked further questions as we have a home loan with GSB (which has money available for redraw) and had a previous personal home loan which was paid out early. I also checked my credit rating which is excellent. Nothing. I was simply unsuccessful. No going through the details of what I had entered to check if I had filled out the online application correctly. Started another application for a reduced amount and stopped. GSB phoned to see if I needed help with this application. I represented the first loan scenario and a review was taken to see why I wasn’t successful. Low and behold, I had claimed $200 per week for phone use instead of $200 per month. My application would have been successful. Thank goodness for Mazda finance. Approved in less than 24 hours and I got to work with a person faced to face. I’m now taking my home and contents insurance and car insurance elsewhere. GSB have lost my trust.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    3 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Gary, Queensland, reviewed 20 days ago
    More Great Southern Bank personal loan customer reviews
  • ANZ Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    Overall rating   4 / 10
    Don’t (really) care whatsoever about their clients

    Probably no worse than the other of the Big 4 banks, but I recall at Christmas maybe 4-5 years and needed just a very small help. Resolved to leave ASAP and use a Community Bank.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    2 / 10
    Customer service
    4 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    4 / 10
    Less
    Rodney, Victoria, reviewed 21 days ago
    More ANZ personal loan customer reviews
  • Great Southern Bank Personal Loan

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Hard to close account

    Very difficult to close the personal loan account, no one contacts me or responds, it is very hard to get in contact with CUA or great southern bank and the credit is still listed as active on my credit file, not happy at all.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Matt, Victoria, reviewed 22 days ago
    More Great Southern Bank personal loan customer reviews
  • Latitude Personal Loan (Fixed, Secured)

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    LATITUDE MOTORS SUCK

    Never deal with latitude motors !!!!!! Not only are they rude but if they don't want to deal with your issue they will hang up on you and you have to wait again with your call waiting up to 30 minutes. You don't receive statements and when you ask for one promised 24 to 48 hours you still don't get it. They have poor communication skills and take your money even when your loan is paid off. They need to be taken to a current affair as the department of fair trading does nothing. They promise phone calls, emails and statements and nothing comes from it after you hang up the phone. Do not waste your time.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Melanie, New South Wales, reviewed 22 days ago
    More Latitude personal loan customer reviews
  • Bankwest Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Age discrimination.

    Having been a loyal customer for over 52 years. Never overdue with any repayments on any loans. Running a multi million dollar business with them. Investing my SMSF with them now that I am 70. I have a great credit rating. I asked for a small personal loan for a short term while I was buying a new home and had not sold my existing home. They refused and told me to ask my accountant to change the figures on my Superfund statement. Is that legal??? Anyway I have just sold my house and my funds will not be invested with them. Changing banks out of principal. I feel They discriminated against me because of my age. I personally brought 2 teen grandchildren to them to start a savings account. I have 10 more grandchildren. Guess what. Don’t go to Bankwest.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Less
    Hennie, Western Australia, reviewed about 1 month ago
    More Bankwest personal loan customer reviews
  • Pepper Money Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured)

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Not great

    Look, I knew what I was getting into regarding rates and repayments. However, what I didn’t realise is how bad it was on the following: - no transparency at all. Online banking auto selected but they never actually set me up. I have rung a few times and none of the staff actually address this. - no actual care for your situation. This shocked me. Their focus is on sell the product, let it run, send it to collections as quickly as possible. There is no middle ground. - lied at application point. They are a rate switcher. They discussed on the telephone with me my request. 4 year loan, rate of 9.55%. Application approved, four years later find out it is a 5 year loan at 18.95% That ok, my fault. Should have checked right? Except when you apply they sign you up and give you online aces to an application portal, you set up your profile, your password, complete your app… real smooth and easy. Then you are approved, you log in and accept and at that point, you have no access to online banking because the sign in you had was for your app only. They don really explain or clarify this. So I kept ringing with the wrong access number. Be very wary.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Brad, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 month ago
    More Pepper Money personal loan customer reviews
  • Plenti Personal Loan (Unsecured, Fixed, Excellent Credit)

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    DON'T TAKE A LOAN WITH THESE GUYS

    Took a loan up with Plenti, ended up paying loads on hidden fees. Very questionable business practice with allot of misleading information.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Convenience
    2 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Charles, Victoria, reviewed about 1 month ago
    More Plenti personal loan customer reviews
  • ME Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured)

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    heroes

    ME bank saved us when we needed it the most and for an incredibly competitive rate, we are forever grateful for the no fuss service ME bank has provided us over the years.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Shanon, Queensland, reviewed about 1 month ago
    More ME personal loan customer reviews
  • HSBC Personal Loan

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    HSBC Incorrect interest calculated against my loan

    I have taken loan on Apr-2019 Incorrect loan track record is maintaining at HSBC end against my loan, due to which i am paying around Rs 80000 extra interest. Whenever I call to customer care they are arranging call back from personal loan dept. but they do not have an idea how to calculate each month wise interest against loan. Now a days every thing is online and CA are available. I have cross verified my interest part with different channels. I have explained same to HSBC , but they are cheating and not providing solution since long time. I have raised request twice to nodel officer but they did not responded back for my request. After taking loan from HSBC i am struggling a lot. I need proper channel to escalate my issue.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Ahammed, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed about 1 month ago
    More HSBC personal loan customer reviews
  • Pepper Money Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured)

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Excellent Customer Service

    Pepper was easy to deal with. They made my application hassle free, quick and their customer service was excellent.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Diane, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 month ago
    More Pepper Money personal loan customer reviews
  • ANZ Personal Loan

    Overall rating   4 / 10
    I was not happy banking with ANZ Bank.

    Been banking with them for many years but can't provide help even apply for personal loan when I was still working. I think this bank are only catering the needs of their business clients not the working class clients. When I applied for Personal Loan at Westpac at one stage , NAB in another stage & St George lately I was approved. My existing Personal Loan is with St. George now that I'm already retired.

    Price
    3 / 10
    Features
    3 / 10
    Customer service
    3 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    4 / 10
    Less
    Maria, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 month ago
    More ANZ personal loan customer reviews
  • ANZ Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Very poor bank

    Only wanted a few dollars for a week to pay bond changing house told me I would have to borrow 5,000 so went with that all the drama never had this before never do it again and they didn’t give me any respect been with them for years. I never even received an answer if I was accepted very very poor.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Des, Tasmania, reviewed 2 months ago
    More ANZ personal loan customer reviews
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Personal loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • No Fee Unsecured Personal Loan

      interest rate
      5.95% p.a.to 17.95% p.a.
      comparison rate
      5.95% p.a.to 17.95% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 2 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 5.95% would cost $34,757.21 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Low Rate Personal Loan

      interest rate
      5.45% p.a.to 8.48% p.a.
      comparison rate
      6.07% p.a.to 8.84% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 1 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 5.45% would cost $34,590.57 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Personal Loan

      interest rate
      5.45% p.a.to 19.99% p.a.
      comparison rate
      5.45% p.a.to 19.99% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 1 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 5.45% would cost $34,340.57 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Personal Loan

      interest rate
      6.39% p.a.to 7.49% p.a.
      comparison rate
      6.39% p.a.to 8.19% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 3 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 6.39% would cost $35,126.40 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Personal Loan

      interest rate
      5.75% p.a.to 25.99% p.a.
      comparison rate
      6.47% p.a.to 29.2% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 1 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 5.75% would cost $35,190.18 including fees.

      Promoted

    WARNING: The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a personal loan. The comparison rates displayed are calculated based on a loan of $30,000 for a term of 5 years or a loan of $10,000 for a term of 3 years as indicated, based on monthly principal and interest repayments, on a secured basis for secured loans and an unsecured basis for unsecured loans. This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

    Want more? Compare all 236 personal loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more personal loans

    About Mozo Reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

    We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

    Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.