Personal loan reviews

Read the latest personal loan reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their loan provider to give you the low down on everything from the cheapest loans to the best customer service.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent personal loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) personal loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

No info

Get charged a late fee month after month but the bank does a auto deduction from my account

Full review

Get charged a late fee month after month but the bank does a auto deduction from my account

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Sean (QLD), reviewed about 20 hours ago

NAB

NAB Personal Loan (Variable, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Customer service

I am waiting for income insurances to kick in (25 days to go out of 88 day waiting period) & trying to live on Centrelink payments. Went to NAB Armadale for a short term personal loan to bridge gap and was told by the manager "we don't lend on...

Full review

I am waiting for income insurances to kick in (25 days to go out of 88 day waiting period) & trying to live on Centrelink payments. Went to NAB Armadale for a short term personal loan to bridge gap and was told by the manager "we don't lend on future events". Isn't that critical to all loans taken out? We will endure, we will get our insurance payouts & take our super money where we are credible.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Veronica (WA), reviewed 2 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) personal loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Not professional

They were ok untill I hadn’t heard from them for two days then they cancelled my application half way through because I had a credit card debt which I had made all the payments they asked for the last 12 months.

Full review

They were ok untill I hadn’t heard from them for two days then they cancelled my application half way through because I had a credit card debt which I had made all the payments they asked for the last 12 months.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Alicia (NSW), reviewed 13 days ago

ANZ

ANZ personal loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Lots of options

ANZ have flexible payment plans if you have unexpected circumstances.

Full review

ANZ have flexible payment plans if you have unexpected circumstances.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Lisa (QLD), reviewed 14 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank personal loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Average

Staff need more training

Full review

Staff need more training

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Maria (NSW), reviewed 15 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great

Best bank ever

Full review

Best bank ever

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Shannon (WA), reviewed 15 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) personal loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Misled by customer service officer to qualify for

Need more flexible response to loan applications

Full review

Need more flexible response to loan applications

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Fred (QLD), reviewed 16 days ago

ANZ

ANZ Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Product

Good product and service.

Full review

Good product and service.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Megan (WA), reviewed 16 days ago

Bendigo Bank

Bendigo Bank personal loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Trustworthy

No pressure, I trust them.

Full review

No pressure, I trust them.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Peter (WA), reviewed 20 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank personal loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great bank and great service

Great bank, great service and wonderful staff. Helped me secure my 1st personal loan and explained everything thoroughly .

Full review

Great bank, great service and wonderful staff. Helped me secure my 1st personal loan and explained everything thoroughly .

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Sherry (VIC), reviewed 20 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) personal loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

I would keep away

The conditions are rigid. I am unable to do a re-draw or do additional payments.

Full review

The conditions are rigid. I am unable to do a re-draw or do additional payments.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Jeffrey (QLD), reviewed about 1 month ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Quick efficient reliable

They have been supportive and made it easy as possible

Full review

They have been supportive and made it easy as possible

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jennifer (QLD), reviewed about 1 month ago

St.George

St.George Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Great staff, very friendly & honest.

I'm a disabled pensioner, so have been unable to secure a loan anywhere! The staff are always lovely, just unable to help me.

Full review

I'm a disabled pensioner, so have been unable to secure a loan anywhere! The staff are always lovely, just unable to help me.

    Price   -1 / 10

    Features   -1 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Kara (NSW), reviewed about 1 month ago

Bankwest

Bankwest Flexible Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Typical Bank

It's not that I don't like the bank, it's more to do with the fact I have been with the bank for about 25 years and I can not recall ever receiving a call to ask how I was going and them offering advice on how to reduce my interest rate.

Full review

It's not that I don't like the bank, it's more to do with the fact I have been with the bank for about 25 years and I can not recall ever receiving a call to ask how I was going and them offering advice on how to reduce my interest rate.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Shane (WA), reviewed about 2 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank personal loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Easy to apply and keep track of

It's really easy if you're an existing customer to set up and apply for a personal loan with Commonwealth. You get a near instant response, and its really easy to manage and see your loan in the Commonwealth App.

Full review

It's really easy if you're an existing customer to set up and apply for a personal loan with Commonwealth. You get a near instant response, and its really easy to manage and see your loan in the Commonwealth App.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   -1 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Ebony (NSW), reviewed about 2 months ago

SocietyOne

SocietyOne personal loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great rates, easy application process

I needed a personal loan to fund some education expenses. I did some online comparison and found SocietyOne's rates to be far cheaper than the banks, so I applied and was pretty happy with the whole process. Good to see someone taking on the...

Full review

I needed a personal loan to fund some education expenses. I did some online comparison and found SocietyOne's rates to be far cheaper than the banks, so I applied and was pretty happy with the whole process. Good to see someone taking on the banks. I'd definitely borrow from them again.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Andrew (VIC), reviewed 2 months ago

ANZ

ANZ Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

They offer good customer service

Friendly staff and easy to go through the loan setup and approval.

Full review

Friendly staff and easy to go through the loan setup and approval.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Peter (NSW), reviewed 7 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) personal loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Friendly and and non-judgemental staff

Commonwealth Bank are great because they don't judge you or make it unnecessarily hard to get a loan. I received my first personal loan from them of $15,000 and I had nothing saved up myself, it was great and allowed me to do a lot.

Full review

Commonwealth Bank are great because they don't judge you or make it unnecessarily hard to get a loan. I received my first personal loan from them of $15,000 and I had nothing saved up myself, it was great and allowed me to do a lot.

    Price   -1 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Jennifer (VIC), reviewed 7 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Fantastic customer service

Always helpful, great professional advice.

Full review

Always helpful, great professional advice.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Aaron (QLD), reviewed 7 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Amazing customer service tailored products to suit

They have always been supportive when necessary. User friendly online banking and tailored products.

Full review

They have always been supportive when necessary. User friendly online banking and tailored products.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Jaymilee (SA), reviewed 7 months ago

NAB

NAB Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Such a pleasure to deal with

Awesome service, quick, friendly, approachable staff.

Full review

Awesome service, quick, friendly, approachable staff.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Alana (QLD), reviewed 7 months ago

Westpac

Westpac Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great customer service

My experience with Westpac has been great, but in term of the interest rate, there are other banks that offer a better deal.

Full review

My experience with Westpac has been great, but in term of the interest rate, there are other banks that offer a better deal.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Yuli (NSW), reviewed 7 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Best customer service

I have been with Commonwealth Bank for about 17 years now and I have always had good service and they always offer the best solution for me.

Full review

I have been with Commonwealth Bank for about 17 years now and I have always had good service and they always offer the best solution for me.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Adrian (QLD), reviewed 7 months ago

Bank of Sydney

Bank of Sydney personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Greater than any other

The best bank by far, great service.

Full review

The best bank by far, great service.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Gary (NSW), reviewed 7 months ago

BankSA

BankSA Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Friendly staff but not many branches available

Systems are not always user-friendly for aged people.

Full review

Systems are not always user-friendly for aged people.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Terry (SA), reviewed 8 months ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Personal loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • IMB Bank Secured Personal Loan (secured by vehicle up to 6 years old, Fixed)

    IMB Bank Secured Personal Loan (secured by vehicle up to 6 years old, Fixed)

    • No monthly fees
    • Flexible terms from 1 - 5 years
    • Fast online conditional approval

    interest rate

    6.89% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    7.24% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    fees

    $250.00upfront
    and
    $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 6.89% would cost $35,798.81 including fees.

    • No monthly fees
    • Flexible terms from 1 - 5 years
    • Fast online conditional approval
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $250
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Monthly
    • Security required: Vehicle
    • Minimum loan amount: $2,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $60,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 5 Years
    Overall rating

    6.6

    Based on 5 IMB Bank personal loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    Harmoney Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    Harmoney Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    • Up to $70,000, unsecured. Fast, easy & 100% online
    • No hidden fees or early repayment penalties with Australasia's leading marketplace lending website
    • You're unique, so is your interest rate

    interest rate

    6.99% p.a.to 29.99% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    7.69% p.a.to 31.95% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    fees

    $500.00upfront
    and
    $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 6.99% would cost $36,133.67 including fees.

    • Up to $70,000, unsecured. Fast, easy & 100% online
    • No hidden fees or early repayment penalties with Australasia's leading marketplace lending website
    • You're unique, so is your interest rate
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $500
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $5,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $70,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 5 Years
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    RateSetter Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    RateSetter Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    • Low rates for borrowers with good credit
    • 1 min rate estimate, simple online application
    • No exit fees, no early repayment fees

    interest rate

    8.16% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    8.67% p.a.based on $10,000
    over 3 years

    fees

    $75.00upfront
    and
    $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 5 years. Representative example: a 3 year $10,000 loan at 8.16% would cost $11,382.68 including fees.

    • Low rates for borrowers with good credit
    • 1 min rate estimate, simple online application
    • No exit fees, no early repayment fees
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $75
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $2,001.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $45,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 5 Years
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Citi Ready Credit - 2 Year Introductory Rate (Line of Credit) (Variable, Unsecured)

    Citi Ready Credit - 2 Year Introductory Rate (Line of Credit) (Variable, Unsecured)

    • A line of credit between $5,000 to $75,000
    • No monthly or annual fees
    • Choose your own repayments each month (minimums apply)

    interest rate

    7.90% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    n/a

    fees

    $149.00upfront
    and
    $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 2 to 7 years. Representative example: a n/a year $0 loan at 7.90% would cost $6,560.43 including fees.

    • A line of credit between $5,000 to $75,000
    • No monthly or annual fees
    • Choose your own repayments each month (minimums apply)
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $149
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $5,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $75,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 2 Years
    • Maximum loan term: 7 Years
    Overall rating

    4.6

    Based on 40 Citi personal loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • People's Choice Credit Union Discounted Personal Loan (over 10k, Fixed)

    People's Choice Credit Union Discounted Personal Loan (over 10k, Fixed)

    • No monthly account fees
    • No penalties for early repayments
    • Flexible loan terms and repayment options

    interest rate

    7.99% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    8.35% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    fees

    $250.00upfront
    and
    $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 7.99% would cost $36,738.90 including fees.

    • No monthly account fees
    • No penalties for early repayments
    • Flexible loan terms and repayment options
    • Other benefits: $0 monthly fee on Peoples Choice Credit Union Zip bank account.
    • Upfront fee: $250
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee:
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Vehicle
    • Minimum loan amount: $10,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $100,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 7 Years
    Overall rating

    7.3

    Based on 38 People's Choice Credit Union personal loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 190 personal loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more personal loans

Look for a specific type of personal loan:

*The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a personal loan. The comparison rates displayed are for the amounts and terms quoted, based on monthly principal and interest repayments, on a secured basis for secured loans and an unsecured basis for unsecured loans, and apply only to these examples. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Full comparison rate schedules are available from lenders. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2017

Forget industry awards where banks scratch each other's backs. Mozo presents the People's Choice Awards, based on real customer reviews.

Check out the winners

Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.