Personal loan reviews

Read the latest personal loan reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their loan provider to give you the low down on everything from the cheapest loans to the best customer service.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent personal loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

Westpac

Westpac Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great customer service

My experience with Westpac has been great, but in term of the interest rate, there are other banks that offer a better deal.

My experience with Westpac has been great, but in term of the interest rate, there are other banks that offer a better deal.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Yuli (NSW), reviewed about 8 hours ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Best customer service

I have been with Commonwealth Bank for about 17 years now and I have always had good service and they always offer the best solution for me.

I have been with Commonwealth Bank for about 17 years now and I have always had good service and they always offer the best solution for me.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Adrian (QLD), reviewed 1 day ago

Bank of Sydney

Bank of Sydney personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Greater than any other

The best bank by far, great service.

The best bank by far, great service.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Gary (NSW), reviewed 2 days ago

BankSA

BankSA Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Friendly staff but not many branches available

Systems are not always user-friendly for aged people.

Systems are not always user-friendly for aged people.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Terry (SA), reviewed 21 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) personal loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Overpriced interest rates for personal loans

The process to obtain my personal loan was straight-forward, however the interest rate accumulated over the years is rather expensive.

The process to obtain my personal loan was straight-forward, however the interest rate accumulated over the years is rather expensive.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Amy (QLD), reviewed about 1 month ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) personal loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Good for my family

I'm happy with Commonwealth Bank. They give us a fair go unlike other big banks.

I'm happy with Commonwealth Bank. They give us a fair go unlike other big banks.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Ash (TAS), reviewed about 2 months ago

Beyond Bank

Beyond Bank Low Rate Car or Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great rates, look no further

Greatest loan rates and hassle free to get a loan. Friendly and helpful staff. Issues resolved over internet or email.

Greatest loan rates and hassle free to get a loan. Friendly and helpful staff. Issues resolved over internet or email.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Mihiri (QLD), reviewed 2 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank personal loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great service and friendly staff

Making a loan was very easy. The staff were very helpful and I'm pleased I went with them as my provider.

Making a loan was very easy. The staff were very helpful and I'm pleased I went with them as my provider.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Paula (NSW), reviewed 3 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank personal loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Extremely helpful

I like banking with Commonwealth Bank because they are very helpful, especially if one is very late in the payment of a loan. I have recommended friends to change their banks to Commonwealth Bank.

I like banking with Commonwealth Bank because they are very helpful, especially if one is very late in the payment of a loan. I have recommended friends to change their banks to Commonwealth Bank.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Maria (VIC), reviewed 3 months ago

ANZ

ANZ Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Friendly and helpful staff

As with all banks when the Reserve Bank drops interest rates, ANZ does not drop personal loan or credit card interest rates. The staff in the few remaining branches are friendly and helpful. Unfortunately for elderly customers many branches are...

As with all banks when the Reserve Bank drops interest rates, ANZ does not drop personal loan or credit card interest rates. The staff in the few remaining branches are friendly and helpful. Unfortunately for elderly customers many branches are closing and as these people are unable to use Internet banking, they take their business to a bank that does have a branch near them.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Jan (NSW), reviewed 3 months ago

Latitude

Latitude Low Rate Personal Loan (Fixed, Secured) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service catered to your needs

I really needed to get a personal loan for some debt consolidation and was finding it extremely difficult in my situation. There were no banks willing to move around me and help out, they sold what they sold and didn't change. I was hoping to...

I really needed to get a personal loan for some debt consolidation and was finding it extremely difficult in my situation. There were no banks willing to move around me and help out, they sold what they sold and didn't change. I was hoping to stick with a big bank just because I thought that they were more trustworthy but it didn't work out. I ended up calling Latitude as a last resort even though the interest rate was a lot higher than I was hoping. They took into account how I wanted to consolidate my debt and helped me calculate it. After finding out that this wouldn't be a viable option they let me know that I could instead consolidate different debts and then use my car I had just paid off as leverage. They then said that they could lower the interest rate and give me extra on my loan. I got to talk to the same person throughout the whole process. It took a few different phone calls because of all the information that was needed but I was never left on hold for long periods. I was kept informed during every step of the process and after dealing with the big banks, Latitude were a breath of fresh air. I would recommend them to anyone.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Nikita (VIC), reviewed 3 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

I have dealt with Commonwealth Bank for 36 years and recently got personal loan from them. I think they are great and very helpful.

I have dealt with Commonwealth Bank for 36 years and recently got personal loan from them. I think they are great and very helpful.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Debbie (TAS), reviewed 3 months ago

NAB

NAB Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Happy to get my statement online

I'm very happy with the service I receive and the help from a very nice financial officer.

I'm very happy with the service I receive and the help from a very nice financial officer.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Jennifer (SA), reviewed 3 months ago

Westpac

Westpac Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent banking service

The Westpac Flexi Loan personal loan is great. The application process was straightforward and fast. Once approved, the account was added to my online banking and was very easy to use. The interest rates were competitive which made it easy to pay...

The Westpac Flexi Loan personal loan is great. The application process was straightforward and fast. Once approved, the account was added to my online banking and was very easy to use. The interest rates were competitive which made it easy to pay off in full. The setup fees were also low, and it's a great option to have a line of credit available for emergencies or unexpected expenses.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Andrea (WA), reviewed 3 months ago

ANZ

ANZ Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

ANZ have great rates for personal loans

Great rates, fantastic customer service and great goMoney app which makes it easier to make payments on a loan. The branch staff also made my loan application quick and easy. Highly recommended.

Great rates, fantastic customer service and great goMoney app which makes it easier to make payments on a loan. The branch staff also made my loan application quick and easy. Highly recommended.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Matthew (VIC), reviewed 3 months ago

St.George

St.George personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

I'm very happy with St. George

Have banked with St. George for over 30 years and have found the service very helpful and friendly.

Have banked with St. George for over 30 years and have found the service very helpful and friendly.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Robert (NSW), reviewed 4 months ago

NAB

NAB Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Reasonable bank

NAB are pretty good but I pay $50 a month in loan fees alone.

NAB are pretty good but I pay $50 a month in loan fees alone.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Lisa (VIC), reviewed 5 months ago

ANZ

ANZ Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Loan application - seamless, fast and professional

The ANZ loan application process is fast, seamless and user friendly. I applied for our loan and within 48 hours it was approved and the loan was drawn down. The staff were also helpful and courteous.

The ANZ loan application process is fast, seamless and user friendly. I applied for our loan and within 48 hours it was approved and the loan was drawn down. The staff were also helpful and courteous.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Julie (VIC), reviewed 5 months ago

NAB

NAB Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Competitive products and fees

NAB is competitive by way of products and up to date with fresh and new ideas. They present a clean and friendly service when dealing with staff. However my one criticism includes the high volume waiting times in line for a teller, as the number...

NAB is competitive by way of products and up to date with fresh and new ideas. They present a clean and friendly service when dealing with staff. However my one criticism includes the high volume waiting times in line for a teller, as the number of staff tend to be at minimum for this face to face service.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Ronald (QLD), reviewed 5 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great service

I've been with Commonwealth Bank for years and I've never had any problems. The staff are so friendly and you aren't considered just a number when having your queries dealt with by them.

I've been with Commonwealth Bank for years and I've never had any problems. The staff are so friendly and you aren't considered just a number when having your queries dealt with by them.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Erica (VIC), reviewed 6 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank personal loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Better customer protection than other banks

Quite satisfied with Commonwealth Bank. I haven't had too many issues with this provider.

Quite satisfied with Commonwealth Bank. I haven't had too many issues with this provider.

    Price   -1 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Roggio (WA), reviewed 6 months ago

Bankwest

Bankwest personal loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Bankwest aren't as good as they used to be

Bankwest do not have a check system in place to verify card withdrawals on the internet which allows fraudulent transactions to be made by dealers without authority from account owners.

Bankwest do not have a check system in place to verify card withdrawals on the internet which allows fraudulent transactions to be made by dealers without authority from account owners.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Geoffrey (WA), reviewed 6 months ago

CUA

CUA Discount Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Fantastic all rounded banking experience

I have been a loyal customer of CUA and recommend this union to everybody. I have been dealing with them for over 15 years and am still very satisfied with their service.

I have been a loyal customer of CUA and recommend this union to everybody. I have been dealing with them for over 15 years and am still very satisfied with their service.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

John (QLD), reviewed 6 months ago

St.George

St.George personal loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Premiums are high but great service

St. George's dealings with me have been very good and they've always been honest with me. I've been a loyal customer for over 40 years.

St. George's dealings with me have been very good and they've always been honest with me. I've been a loyal customer for over 40 years.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Paul (NSW), reviewed 6 months ago

Citi

Citi personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Good customer service

I would recommend Citibank to others.

I would recommend Citibank to others.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Raakel (QLD), reviewed 6 months ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Personal loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    RateSetter Unsecured Personal Loan

    RateSetter Unsecured Personal Loan

    • Low rates for borrowers with good credit
    • 1 min rate estimate, simple online application
    • No exit fees, no early repayment fees

    interest rate

    4.47% p.a.to 9.56% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    10.03% p.a.to 11.05% p.a.based on $10,000
    over 3 years

    fees

    $300.00upfront
    and
    $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 5 years. Representative example: a 3 year $10,000 loan at 4.47% would cost $11,004.07 including fees.

    • Low rates for borrowers with good credit
    • 1 min rate estimate, simple online application
    • No exit fees, no early repayment fees
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $300
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $2,001.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $45,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 5 Years
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Mozo's pick of the month

     

    MyState Secured Personal Loan (vehicles up to 2 years old, Variable)

    MyState Secured Personal Loan (vehicles up to 2 years old, Variable)

    • Secured by a car, a Secured Personal Loan is the convenient way to get the money you need, when you need it at a lower interest rate
    • Borrow anything from $10,000 to $75,000
    • Loan terms from 1 to 10 years depending on the loan amount

    interest rate

    7.99% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    8.96% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    fees

    $200.00upfront
    and
    $10.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 10 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 7.99% would cost $37,288.90 including fees.

    • Secured by a car, a Secured Personal Loan is the convenient way to get the money you need, when you need it at a lower interest rate
    • Borrow anything from $10,000 to $75,000
    • Loan terms from 1 to 10 years depending on the loan amount
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $200
    • Monthly fee: $10.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Other, Vehicle
    • Minimum loan amount: $10,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $75,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 10 Years
    Overall rating

    8.4

    Based on 9 MyState personal loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Australian Military Bank Unsecured Personal Loan - Excellent Credit (Variable)

    Australian Military Bank Unsecured Personal Loan - Excellent Credit (Variable)

    • A Variable Rate Personal Loan giving you flexibility, a competitive interest rate and fast approval
    • Tailored rates based on your personal credit history
    • Apply online. Redraw Facility

    interest rate

    7.88% p.a.to 18.82% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    8.72% p.a.to 20.22% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    fees

    $100.00upfront
    and
    $10.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 7.88% would cost $37,094.22 including fees.

    • A Variable Rate Personal Loan giving you flexibility, a competitive interest rate and fast approval
    • Tailored rates based on your personal credit history
    • Apply online. Redraw Facility
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $100
    • Monthly fee: $10.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $1,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $80,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 7 Years
    Overall rating

    4.9

    Based on 15 Australian Military Bank personal loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • SocietyOne Unsecured Personal Loan - Excellent Credit (Fixed)

    SocietyOne Unsecured Personal Loan - Excellent Credit (Fixed)

    • Low rates that reward your good credit
    • Apply online in minutes
    • No monthly or early repayment fees

    interest rate

    7.88% p.a.to 9.20% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    9.90% p.a.to 11.23% p.a.based on $10,000
    over 3 years

    fees

    $300.00upfront
    and
    $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 2 to 5 years. Representative example: a 3 year $10,000 loan at 7.88% would cost $11,561.17 including fees.

    • Low rates that reward your good credit
    • Apply online in minutes
    • No monthly or early repayment fees
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $300
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $5,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $50,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 2 Years
    • Maximum loan term: 5 Years
    Overall rating

    0.0

    Based on 1 SocietyOne personal loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Australian Military Bank Unsecured Personal Loan - Excellent Credit (Fixed)

    Australian Military Bank Unsecured Personal Loan - Excellent Credit (Fixed)

    • A Fixed Rate Personal Loan gives you the peace of mind in knowing what your repayments will be for the life of your loan
    • Tailored rates based on your personal credit history
    • Apply Online. No penalty for early repayment

    interest rate

    7.93% p.a.to 18.87% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    8.77% p.a.to 20.27% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    fees

    $100.00upfront
    and
    $10.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 7.93% would cost $37,137.24 including fees.

    • A Fixed Rate Personal Loan gives you the peace of mind in knowing what your repayments will be for the life of your loan
    • Tailored rates based on your personal credit history
    • Apply Online. No penalty for early repayment
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $100
    • Monthly fee: $10.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $1,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $50,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 5 Years
    Overall rating

    4.9

    Based on 15 Australian Military Bank personal loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 184 personal loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare all personal loans

Look for a specific type of personal loan:

* The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a personal loan. The comparison rates displayed are for the amounts and terms quoted, based on monthly principal and interest repayments, on a secured basis for secured loans and an unsecured basis for unsecured loans, and apply only to these examples. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Full comparison rate schedules are available from lenders. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2017

Forget industry awards where banks scratch each other's backs. Mozo presents the People's Choice Awards, based on real customer reviews.

Check out the winners

Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.