Advertisement

Personal loan reviews

Read the latest personal loan reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their loan provider to give you the low down on everything from the cheapest loans to the best customer service.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent personal loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) Unsecured Personal Loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Competitive rates. Customer focused.

Online access with easy to use functionality. Good customer service. Competitive rates.

Full review

Online access with easy to use functionality. Good customer service. Competitive rates.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Penny, New South Wales, reviewed about 14 hours ago

Westpac

Westpac Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) Personal Loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Happy customer.

Easy, convenient, great service.

Full review

Easy, convenient, great service.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Cathy, Queensland, reviewed about 16 hours ago

Harmoney

Harmoney Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) Unsecured Personal Loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Competitive interest rates and FAST response.

Consolidating debt into a single loan with low to reasonably competitive fees is no problem with these guys, and they are fast!

Full review

Consolidating debt into a single loan with low to reasonably competitive fees is no problem with these guys, and they are fast!

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Adrian, Western Australia, reviewed about 16 hours ago

HSBC

HSBC Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) Unsecured Personal Loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great service and rate.

I researched to find the best rate with a bank that I felt I could trust. HSBC were the best option for me. They provide me with updates, statements and reminders via email and text message. I have the flexibility to pay off additional amounts and...

Full review

I researched to find the best rate with a bank that I felt I could trust. HSBC were the best option for me. They provide me with updates, statements and reminders via email and text message. I have the flexibility to pay off additional amounts and reduce the term of the loan.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Josephine, South Australia, reviewed about 17 hours ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) Unsecured Personal Loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Easy service to use online.

High interest rate although easy to manage.

Full review

High interest rate although easy to manage.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Jaylie, Western Australia, reviewed 1 day ago

Police Bank

Police Bank Personal Loan Special (Variable, Unsecured) Personal Loan (Fixed) review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Competitive interest rates. Bad customer service.

I have been paying off and topping up personal loans for 25+ years, paying them off then re-financing etc. I had a 100% perfect credit history for 25 years and this year I fell on hard times financially due to my daughters medical needs and I...

Full review

I have been paying off and topping up personal loans for 25+ years, paying them off then re-financing etc. I had a 100% perfect credit history for 25 years and this year I fell on hard times financially due to my daughters medical needs and I requested to reduce my repayments for the short term whilst I got through this time and they declined and made things really difficult for me, forcing me to go to court to get it while my daughter was in the hospital.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Kerrie, New South Wales, reviewed 1 day ago

Suncorp

Suncorp Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) Unsecured Personal Loan review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Great customer service, but poor terms.

Fixed interest rate at around 15% was ridiculous. Plus monthly account keeping fees. When compared with others I was disappointed.

Full review

Fixed interest rate at around 15% was ridiculous. Plus monthly account keeping fees. When compared with others I was disappointed.

    Price   2 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Mike, Victoria, reviewed 3 days ago

SocietyOne

SocietyOne Personal Loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great rate and a too easy application.

I have just paid off a 3 year loan and have been approved for another. I am very happy with the rate and how easy it was considering I don't bank with them and the bank I have been banking with for 25 years declined my application.

Full review

I have just paid off a 3 year loan and have been approved for another. I am very happy with the rate and how easy it was considering I don't bank with them and the bank I have been banking with for 25 years declined my application.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Kylie, Queensland, reviewed 3 days ago

Westpac

Westpac Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) Personal Loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Fast.

Fast and easy application process and because I am an existing customer the money was in my account within 2 hours of my online application.

Full review

Fast and easy application process and because I am an existing customer the money was in my account within 2 hours of my online application.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Elizabeth, Queensland, reviewed 7 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Personal Loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Easy managing through the app and has redraw.

I would recommend if there is a promotion as you can get extra benefits like lower interest or cashback. Best feature is the redraw facility - you can pay off sooner but leave a little owing so you sort of have a line of credit until the loan...

Full review

I would recommend if there is a promotion as you can get extra benefits like lower interest or cashback. Best feature is the redraw facility - you can pay off sooner but leave a little owing so you sort of have a line of credit until the loan finishes. Application was very easy just through the app.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Maria, Western Australia, reviewed 7 days ago

Adelaide Bank

Adelaide Bank Personal Loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Pretty good.

All good.

Full review

All good.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Mark, Queensland, reviewed 8 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Personal Loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

They have great rates,and have great staff.

I have been banking with Commonwealth Bank for at least 40 years, and they always looked after me 100%.

Full review

I have been banking with Commonwealth Bank for at least 40 years, and they always looked after me 100%.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Steven, Tasmania, reviewed 8 days ago

Aussie

Aussie Personal Loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Banks are good.

Banks all the same.

Full review

Banks all the same.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Belle, New South Wales, reviewed 8 days ago

ANZ

ANZ Personal Loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Average interest rates compared to the market.

Interest rates are a bit higher than other providers, service is ok, but long wait times.

Full review

Interest rates are a bit higher than other providers, service is ok, but long wait times.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Kim, South Australia, reviewed 8 days ago

Harmoney

Harmoney Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) Unsecured Personal Loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Helpful for quick cash but not the best option.

They really helped me out when I needed money on short notice but if I had had more time I wouldn't have chosen to borrow with Harmoney.

Full review

They really helped me out when I needed money on short notice but if I had had more time I wouldn't have chosen to borrow with Harmoney.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   2 / 10

Less

Cassie, Tasmania, reviewed 8 days ago

Westpac

Westpac Personal Loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Average.

Competitive interest rates.

Full review

Competitive interest rates.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Paul, New South Wales, reviewed 9 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) Unsecured Personal Loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Home with Commonwealth Bank....yeah.

They have always been helpful when unexpected situations happen. Friendly on all approaches.

Full review

They have always been helpful when unexpected situations happen. Friendly on all approaches.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Aura, Queensland, reviewed 9 days ago

CUA

CUA Personal Loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Very helpful.

I like CUA because they have always been there to help us when we needed it and have given us the best deals.

Full review

I like CUA because they have always been there to help us when we needed it and have given us the best deals.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Maria, Queensland, reviewed 9 days ago

Heritage Bank

Heritage Bank Low Rate Secured Personal Loan (Variable) Low Rate Secured Personal Loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great rates and super customer service.

Very easy process from start to finish. I would totally recommend as they care about their members.

Full review

Very easy process from start to finish. I would totally recommend as they care about their members.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Kristine, Queensland, reviewed 9 days ago

St.George

St.George Secured Personal Loan (Fixed) Secured Personal Loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Staff are amazing.

I have been with St George for 30 years and have always found that they meet my needs.

Full review

I have been with St George for 30 years and have always found that they meet my needs.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Carol, Queensland, reviewed 9 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) Unsecured Personal Loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

The better option among the four big banks.

More honest and upfront than bank of Queensland. The customer service is outstanding and we know exactly where our money is and nothing is hidden. No bank is perfect but they were there when we needed them.

Full review

More honest and upfront than bank of Queensland. The customer service is outstanding and we know exactly where our money is and nothing is hidden. No bank is perfect but they were there when we needed them.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Kylie, Queensland, reviewed 9 days ago

Westpac

Westpac Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) Personal Loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Westpac no.1

The Personal Loan is very easy, especially if you have used them before, as long as you keep up with your monthly payments.

Full review

The Personal Loan is very easy, especially if you have used them before, as long as you keep up with your monthly payments.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Vahine, New South Wales, reviewed 9 days ago

St.George

St.George Secured Personal Loan (Fixed) Secured Personal Loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Great bank but improvement needed.

I have been with them since I was young. They are reliable however can be quite hard to deal with over the phone.

Full review

I have been with them since I was young. They are reliable however can be quite hard to deal with over the phone.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Marie, New South Wales, reviewed 9 days ago

ANZ

ANZ Personal Loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Happy to be with the bank but hard to contact.

Happy to be with the bank but it is hard to contact them.

Full review

Happy to be with the bank but it is hard to contact them.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Jeremy, Queensland, reviewed 10 days ago

NAB

NAB Personal Loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Ok.

All good.

Full review

All good.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Mark, Queensland, reviewed 13 days ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Personal loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • OurMoneyMarket Low Rate Personal Loan (Excellent Credit) (Fixed, Unsecured)

    OurMoneyMarket Low Rate Personal Loan (Excellent Credit) (Fixed, Unsecured)

    interest rate

    8.00% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    8.21% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    fees

    $150.00upfront
    and
    $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 8.00% would cost $36,647.51 including fees.

    • Interest rate: 8.00% p.a.
    • Comparison rate*: 8.21% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years
    • Upfront fee: $150
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Late payment fee: $35.00
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Early repayment penalty: $0.00
    • Minimum loan amount: $2,001.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $50,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 7 Years
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Other benefits:
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Harmoney Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    Harmoney Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    • Up to $70,000, unsecured. Fast, easy & 100% online
    • No hidden fees or early repayment penalties with Australasia's leading marketplace lending website
    • You're unique, so is your interest rate

    interest rate

    6.99% p.a.to 28.69% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    7.69% p.a.to 29.55% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    fees

    $500.00upfront
    and
    $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 6.99% would cost $36,133.67 including fees.

    • Up to $70,000, unsecured. Fast, easy & 100% online
    • No hidden fees or early repayment penalties with Australasia's leading marketplace lending website
    • You're unique, so is your interest rate
    • Interest rate: 6.99% p.a.to 28.69% p.a.
    • Comparison rate*: 7.69% p.a.to 29.55% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years
    • Upfront fee: $500
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Late payment fee: $15.00
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Early repayment penalty: $0.00
    • Minimum loan amount: $2,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $70,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 5 Years
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Other benefits: Application fee is $200 for loans under $5,000.
    Overall rating

    7.0

    Based on 2 Harmoney personal loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2019

    RateSetter Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable)

    RateSetter Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable)

    • Low rates for borrowers with good credit
    • 1 min rate estimate, simple online application
    • No exit fees, no early repayment fees

    interest rate

    6.89% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    8.89% p.a.based on $10,000
    over 3 years

    fees

    $299.00upfront
    and
    $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 5 years. Representative example: a 3 year $10,000 loan at 6.89% would cost $11,396.66 including fees.

    • Low rates for borrowers with good credit
    • 1 min rate estimate, simple online application
    • No exit fees, no early repayment fees
    • Interest rate: 6.89% p.a.
    • Comparison rate*: 8.89% p.a.based on $10,000
      over 3 years
    • Upfront fee: $299
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Late payment fee: $30.00
    • Repayment options: Monthly
    • Early repayment penalty: $0.00
    • Minimum loan amount: $2,001.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $45,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 5 Years
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Other benefits:
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Heritage Bank Low Rate Secured Personal Loan (Variable)

    Heritage Bank Low Rate Secured Personal Loan (Variable)

    • Low rate of interest on your loan while still earning interest on your term deposit
    • Borrow from $5,000 up to $100,000
    • Ability to redraw additional repayment

    interest rate

    4.69% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    7.16% p.a.based on $10,000
    over 3 years

    fees

    $200.00upfront
    and
    $5.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 10 years. Representative example: a 3 year $10,000 loan at 4.69% would cost $11,119.49 including fees.

    • Low rate of interest on your loan while still earning interest on your term deposit
    • Borrow from $5,000 up to $100,000
    • Ability to redraw additional repayment
    • Interest rate: 4.69% p.a.
    • Comparison rate*: 7.16% p.a.based on $10,000
      over 3 years
    • Upfront fee: $200
    • Monthly fee: $5.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Late payment fee: $20.00
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Early repayment penalty: Fees may apply
    • Minimum loan amount: $5,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $100,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 10 Years
    • Security required: Yes
    • Other benefits:
    Overall rating

    8.5

    Based on 42 Heritage Bank personal loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MoneyPlace Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    MoneyPlace Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    • No hidden fees, no monthly fees
    • Some customers will receive a special $0 establishment fee
    • 100% Online, apply in minutes

    interest rate

    7.65% p.a.to 26.99% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    7.65% p.a.to 23.5% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    fees

    $0.00upfront
    and
    $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 3 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 7.65% would cost $36,196.75 including fees.

    • No hidden fees, no monthly fees
    • Some customers will receive a special $0 establishment fee
    • 100% Online, apply in minutes
    • Interest rate: 7.65% p.a.to 26.99% p.a.
    • Comparison rate*: 7.65% p.a.to 23.5% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years
    • Upfront fee: $0
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Late payment fee: $10.00
    • Repayment options: Monthly
    • Early repayment penalty: $0.00
    • Minimum loan amount: $5,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $45,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 3 Years
    • Maximum loan term: 7 Years
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Other benefits:
    Overall rating

    10.0

    Based on 1 MoneyPlace personal loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

*The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a personal loan. The comparison rates displayed are calculated based on a loan of $30,000 for a term of 5 years or a loan of $10,000 for a term of 3 years as indicated, based on monthly principal and interest repayments, on a secured basis for secured loans and an unsecured basis for unsecured loans. WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

Want more? Compare all 217 personal loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more personal loans

Look for a specific type of personal loan:

*The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a personal loan. The comparison rates displayed are calculated based on a loan of $30,000 for a term of 5 years or a loan of $10,000 for a term of 3 years as indicated, based on monthly principal and interest repayments, on a secured basis for secured loans and an unsecured basis for unsecured loans. WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2019

Mozo presents the People’s Choice Awards, based on real customer reviews.

Check out the winners
Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.

 
Advertisement