Personal loan reviews

Read the latest personal loan reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their loan provider to give you the low down on everything from the cheapest loans to the best customer service.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent personal loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

SocietyOne

SocietyOne personal loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great rates, easy application process

I needed a personal loan to fund some education expenses. I did some online comparison and found SocietyOne's rates to be far cheaper than the banks, so I applied and was pretty happy with the whole process. Good to see someone taking on the...

Full review

I needed a personal loan to fund some education expenses. I did some online comparison and found SocietyOne's rates to be far cheaper than the banks, so I applied and was pretty happy with the whole process. Good to see someone taking on the banks. I'd definitely borrow from them again.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Andrew (VIC), reviewed 7 days ago

ANZ

ANZ Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

They offer good customer service

Friendly staff and easy to go through the loan setup and approval.

Full review

Friendly staff and easy to go through the loan setup and approval.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Peter (NSW), reviewed 5 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) personal loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Friendly and and non-judgemental staff

Commonwealth Bank are great because they don't judge you or make it unnecessarily hard to get a loan. I received my first personal loan from them of $15,000 and I had nothing saved up myself, it was great and allowed me to do a lot.

Full review

Commonwealth Bank are great because they don't judge you or make it unnecessarily hard to get a loan. I received my first personal loan from them of $15,000 and I had nothing saved up myself, it was great and allowed me to do a lot.

    Price   -1 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Jennifer (VIC), reviewed 5 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Fantastic customer service

Always helpful, great professional advice.

Full review

Always helpful, great professional advice.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Aaron (QLD), reviewed 5 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Amazing customer service tailored products to suit

They have always been supportive when necessary. User friendly online banking and tailored products.

Full review

They have always been supportive when necessary. User friendly online banking and tailored products.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Jaymilee (SA), reviewed 5 months ago

NAB

NAB Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Such a pleasure to deal with

Awesome service, quick, friendly, approachable staff.

Full review

Awesome service, quick, friendly, approachable staff.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Alana (QLD), reviewed 5 months ago

Westpac

Westpac Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great customer service

My experience with Westpac has been great, but in term of the interest rate, there are other banks that offer a better deal.

Full review

My experience with Westpac has been great, but in term of the interest rate, there are other banks that offer a better deal.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Yuli (NSW), reviewed 5 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Best customer service

I have been with Commonwealth Bank for about 17 years now and I have always had good service and they always offer the best solution for me.

Full review

I have been with Commonwealth Bank for about 17 years now and I have always had good service and they always offer the best solution for me.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Adrian (QLD), reviewed 5 months ago

Bank of Sydney

Bank of Sydney personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Greater than any other

The best bank by far, great service.

Full review

The best bank by far, great service.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Gary (NSW), reviewed 5 months ago

BankSA

BankSA Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Friendly staff but not many branches available

Systems are not always user-friendly for aged people.

Full review

Systems are not always user-friendly for aged people.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Terry (SA), reviewed 6 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) personal loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Overpriced interest rates for personal loans

The process to obtain my personal loan was straight-forward, however the interest rate accumulated over the years is rather expensive.

Full review

The process to obtain my personal loan was straight-forward, however the interest rate accumulated over the years is rather expensive.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Amy (QLD), reviewed 6 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) personal loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Good for my family

I'm happy with Commonwealth Bank. They give us a fair go unlike other big banks.

Full review

I'm happy with Commonwealth Bank. They give us a fair go unlike other big banks.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Ash (TAS), reviewed 7 months ago

Beyond Bank

Beyond Bank Low Rate Car or Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great rates, look no further

Greatest loan rates and hassle free to get a loan. Friendly and helpful staff. Issues resolved over internet or email.

Full review

Greatest loan rates and hassle free to get a loan. Friendly and helpful staff. Issues resolved over internet or email.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Mihiri (QLD), reviewed 7 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank personal loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great service and friendly staff

Making a loan was very easy. The staff were very helpful and I'm pleased I went with them as my provider.

Full review

Making a loan was very easy. The staff were very helpful and I'm pleased I went with them as my provider.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Paula (NSW), reviewed 8 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank personal loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Extremely helpful

I like banking with Commonwealth Bank because they are very helpful, especially if one is very late in the payment of a loan. I have recommended friends to change their banks to Commonwealth Bank.

Full review

I like banking with Commonwealth Bank because they are very helpful, especially if one is very late in the payment of a loan. I have recommended friends to change their banks to Commonwealth Bank.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Maria (VIC), reviewed 8 months ago

ANZ

ANZ Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Friendly and helpful staff

As with all banks when the Reserve Bank drops interest rates, ANZ does not drop personal loan or credit card interest rates. The staff in the few remaining branches are friendly and helpful. Unfortunately for elderly customers many branches are...

Full review

As with all banks when the Reserve Bank drops interest rates, ANZ does not drop personal loan or credit card interest rates. The staff in the few remaining branches are friendly and helpful. Unfortunately for elderly customers many branches are closing and as these people are unable to use Internet banking, they take their business to a bank that does have a branch near them.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Jan (NSW), reviewed 8 months ago

Latitude

Latitude Low Rate Personal Loan (Fixed, Secured) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service catered to your needs

I really needed to get a personal loan for some debt consolidation and was finding it extremely difficult in my situation. There were no banks willing to move around me and help out, they sold what they sold and didn't change. I was hoping to...

Full review

I really needed to get a personal loan for some debt consolidation and was finding it extremely difficult in my situation. There were no banks willing to move around me and help out, they sold what they sold and didn't change. I was hoping to stick with a big bank just because I thought that they were more trustworthy but it didn't work out. I ended up calling Latitude as a last resort even though the interest rate was a lot higher than I was hoping. They took into account how I wanted to consolidate my debt and helped me calculate it. After finding out that this wouldn't be a viable option they let me know that I could instead consolidate different debts and then use my car I had just paid off as leverage. They then said that they could lower the interest rate and give me extra on my loan. I got to talk to the same person throughout the whole process. It took a few different phone calls because of all the information that was needed but I was never left on hold for long periods. I was kept informed during every step of the process and after dealing with the big banks, Latitude were a breath of fresh air. I would recommend them to anyone.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Nikita (VIC), reviewed 8 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

I have dealt with Commonwealth Bank for 36 years and recently got personal loan from them. I think they are great and very helpful.

Full review

I have dealt with Commonwealth Bank for 36 years and recently got personal loan from them. I think they are great and very helpful.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Debbie (TAS), reviewed 8 months ago

NAB

NAB Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Happy to get my statement online

I'm very happy with the service I receive and the help from a very nice financial officer.

Full review

I'm very happy with the service I receive and the help from a very nice financial officer.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Jennifer (SA), reviewed 8 months ago

Westpac

Westpac Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent banking service

The Westpac Flexi Loan personal loan is great. The application process was straightforward and fast. Once approved, the account was added to my online banking and was very easy to use. The interest rates were competitive which made it easy to pay...

Full review

The Westpac Flexi Loan personal loan is great. The application process was straightforward and fast. Once approved, the account was added to my online banking and was very easy to use. The interest rates were competitive which made it easy to pay off in full. The setup fees were also low, and it's a great option to have a line of credit available for emergencies or unexpected expenses.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Andrea (WA), reviewed 8 months ago

ANZ

ANZ Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

ANZ have great rates for personal loans

Great rates, fantastic customer service and great goMoney app which makes it easier to make payments on a loan. The branch staff also made my loan application quick and easy. Highly recommended.

Full review

Great rates, fantastic customer service and great goMoney app which makes it easier to make payments on a loan. The branch staff also made my loan application quick and easy. Highly recommended.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Matthew (VIC), reviewed 8 months ago

St.George

St.George personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

I'm very happy with St. George

Have banked with St. George for over 30 years and have found the service very helpful and friendly.

Full review

Have banked with St. George for over 30 years and have found the service very helpful and friendly.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Robert (NSW), reviewed 9 months ago

NAB

NAB Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Reasonable bank

NAB are pretty good but I pay $50 a month in loan fees alone.

Full review

NAB are pretty good but I pay $50 a month in loan fees alone.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Lisa (VIC), reviewed 10 months ago

ANZ

ANZ Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Loan application - seamless, fast and professional

The ANZ loan application process is fast, seamless and user friendly. I applied for our loan and within 48 hours it was approved and the loan was drawn down. The staff were also helpful and courteous.

Full review

The ANZ loan application process is fast, seamless and user friendly. I applied for our loan and within 48 hours it was approved and the loan was drawn down. The staff were also helpful and courteous.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Julie (VIC), reviewed 10 months ago

NAB

NAB Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Competitive products and fees

NAB is competitive by way of products and up to date with fresh and new ideas. They present a clean and friendly service when dealing with staff. However my one criticism includes the high volume waiting times in line for a teller, as the number...

Full review

NAB is competitive by way of products and up to date with fresh and new ideas. They present a clean and friendly service when dealing with staff. However my one criticism includes the high volume waiting times in line for a teller, as the number of staff tend to be at minimum for this face to face service.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Ronald (QLD), reviewed 10 months ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Personal loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • Harmoney Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    Harmoney Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    • Up to $70,000, unsecured. Fast, easy & 100% online
    • No hidden fees or early repayment penalties with Australasia's leading marketplace lending website
    • You're unique, so is your interest rate

    interest rate

    6.99% p.a.to 29.99% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    7.69% p.a.to 31.95% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    fees

    $500.00upfront
    and
    $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 6.99% would cost $36,727.56 including fees.

    • Up to $70,000, unsecured. Fast, easy & 100% online
    • No hidden fees or early repayment penalties with Australasia's leading marketplace lending website
    • You're unique, so is your interest rate
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $500
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $5,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $70,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 5 Years
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    RateSetter Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    RateSetter Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    • Low rates for borrowers with good credit
    • 1 min rate estimate, simple online application
    • No exit fees, no early repayment fees

    interest rate

    8.46% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    9.23% p.a.based on $10,000
    over 3 years

    fees

    $75.00upfront
    and
    $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 5 years. Representative example: a 3 year $10,000 loan at 8.46% would cost $11,517.82 including fees.

    • Low rates for borrowers with good credit
    • 1 min rate estimate, simple online application
    • No exit fees, no early repayment fees
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $75
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $2,001.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $45,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 5 Years
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MoneyPlace Unsecured Personal Loan - Excellent Credit Rating (Fixed)

    MoneyPlace Unsecured Personal Loan - Excellent Credit Rating (Fixed)

    • No hidden fees, no monthly fees
    • Some customers will receive a special $0 establishment fee
    • 100% Online, apply in minutes

    interest rate

    7.65% p.a.to 21.00% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    7.65% p.a.to 23.5% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    fees

    $0.00upfront
    and
    $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 3 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 7.65% would cost $36,196.75 including fees.

    • No hidden fees, no monthly fees
    • Some customers will receive a special $0 establishment fee
    • 100% Online, apply in minutes
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $0
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $5,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $35,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 3 Years
    • Maximum loan term: 5 Years
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Australian Military Bank Unsecured Personal Loan - Excellent Credit (Variable)

    Australian Military Bank Unsecured Personal Loan - Excellent Credit (Variable)

    • A Variable Rate Personal Loan giving you flexibility, a competitive interest rate and fast approval
    • Tailored rates based on your personal credit history
    • Apply online. Redraw Facility

    interest rate

    7.88% p.a.to 18.82% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    8.72% p.a.to 20.22% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    fees

    $100.00upfront
    and
    $10.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 7.88% would cost $37,815.54 including fees.

    • A Variable Rate Personal Loan giving you flexibility, a competitive interest rate and fast approval
    • Tailored rates based on your personal credit history
    • Apply online. Redraw Facility
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $100
    • Monthly fee: $10.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $1,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $80,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 7 Years
    Overall rating

    4.9

    Based on 15 Australian Military Bank personal loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • St.George Secured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    St.George Secured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    • Fast online application, submit and receive a response in 60 seconds
    • Fliexible loan terms
    • Borrow from $3K to $80K

    interest rate

    8.49% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    9.60% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    fees

    $195.00upfront
    and
    $12.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 8.49% would cost $38,796.07 including fees.

    • Fast online application, submit and receive a response in 60 seconds
    • Fliexible loan terms
    • Borrow from $3K to $80K
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $195
    • Monthly fee: $12.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Vehicle
    • Minimum loan amount: $3,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $80,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 5 Years
    Overall rating

    7.6

    Based on 141 St.George personal loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 190 personal loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more personal loans

Look for a specific type of personal loan:

*The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a personal loan. The comparison rates displayed are for the amounts and terms quoted, based on monthly principal and interest repayments, on a secured basis for secured loans and an unsecured basis for unsecured loans, and apply only to these examples. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Full comparison rate schedules are available from lenders. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2017

Forget industry awards where banks scratch each other's backs. Mozo presents the People's Choice Awards, based on real customer reviews.

Check out the winners

Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.