Personal loan reviews

Read the latest personal loan reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their loan provider to give you the low down on everything from the cheapest loans to the best customer service.

Search a review by:

Recent personal loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Latitude Car Loan (Under 3 years old, Fixed, Secured) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Excellent for car/personal loans.

    Competitive interest rate if you have excellent credit rating.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Paul, New South Wales, reviewed 2 days ago
  • Sydney Mutual Bank Personal Loan review

    Overall rating   2 / 10
    Rates are ok but speed and sense is below average.

    Quite clearly cant see beyond the office chair. Applying for a personal loan half the amount of any other loan ever held with them (and clearly can afford it) but because of a few too many enquiries on credit history they take 4 whole days to deny the loan. Very slow and pathetic.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Trust
    3 / 10
    Less
    Scott, South Australia, reviewed 4 days ago
  • Westpac Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) review

    Overall rating   2 / 10
    Do your research

    When trying to find out information after signing the contract it was extremely hard to find someone to help me. It seemed everyone I spoke to told me they would call me back. It took probably five attempts to get someone to help me or provide the correct information. After I closed my account I found out it stayed open despite owing no money on it, now having put two missed payments on my credit score. I am extremely unimpressed. The bank would also not help extending payments when in hardship. I was told I had to wait until the payment was missed before being able to apply for an extension, therefore affecting my credit rating, rather than trying to help their customers.

    Price
    4 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    2 / 10
    Less
    Keirah, Queensland, reviewed 9 days ago
  • ANZ Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Simple, easy and functional.

    Have had no issues with the loan, have been able to redraw when ever necessary. Being able to use either phone or online banking makes life that bit easier.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Kym, Victoria, reviewed 11 days ago
  • St.George Secured Personal Loan (Fixed) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Good experience with a minimal inconvinience

    It’s a bit inconvinient for me as the main branch of St George is only located at Perth City.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Gizzelene, Western Australia, reviewed 12 days ago
  • ME Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    ME Bank is not all about ME

    ME Bank for me was an ethical choice with the knowledge that I was getting a good interest rate. I like the idea that ME banks profits go back to help support our super funds. Lovely bank.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Meegan, Tasmania, reviewed 16 days ago
  • ING Personal Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    ING is a fantastic bank, simplified my banking!

    ING is fantastic. They keep you updated and communicate clearly but don't flood you with emails. They never cold call which is a huge plus and a nice change. Their phone app is great and very easy to use, as is their website. It's safe and secure and I have a lot of different accounts with them that are easy to use and navigate. My online banking is so straight forward and 'tidy'- I love it! The personal loan was just so easy to apply for and manage and the interest rate has been really reasonable. The only downside is that they don't have physical branches which is annoying if you want to deposit money. However, you can deposit cash at an Australia Post into your ING account so it's a good work around. Overall, best bank I have ever been with and I have no intention to change.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Melissa, South Australia, reviewed 17 days ago
  • ING Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Never again with ING.

    When I applied for a personal loan I was declined. I called to check and they said something about my credit reporting. I called Equifax and they said my credit reporting is great and nothing is wrong with it. Then I got a copy of my credit file and checked it myself - I never missed a payment in a while plus haven't made any applications in the last two years. I called the bank again and got no answer. Took my money out of this bank and closed my account.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Mohammed, Western Australia, reviewed 17 days ago
  • Westpac Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    It's just a bank to use for everyday living.

    It is just a bank. The one thing I don't like about any bank is they don't look out for their own customers. They're big on getting new customers but once you're with them they don't advise you about any new products that may work better for your needs.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Deena, Queensland, reviewed 23 days ago
  • Australian Military Bank Personal Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Perfect

    Great deal! It was awesome an experience! I would proudly recommend my provider for everybody who needs some financial help!

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    3 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Bob, Queensland, reviewed 25 days ago
  • ANZ Personal Loan review

    Overall rating   2 / 10
    Great... when things are going well.

    They sent the case straight to a collection agency at the first sign of difficulty repaying. Avoid at all costs.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Rod, Victoria, reviewed 26 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Better customer service.

    Customer service is poor and relationship with customer is not valued.

    Price
    3 / 10
    Features
    3 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    2 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Jason, South Australia, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Westpac Personal Loan review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Broad product availability, less customer focused.

    Westpac is the least objectionable of the big 4 banks in terms of ease of service, resolution of issues and accessibility and product availability. I would suggest that if you need to go with a big 4, that they provide the best suite of products and are willing to consider matters with some flexibility to the customer needs. Although there are limited product features and competitiveness in terms of rates, this is made up for with higher convenience and ease of access to a broad range of products.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    4 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Stephen, Victoria, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • loans.com.au New Car Loan (Including Demo, Fixed, Secured) review

    Overall rating   3 / 10
    Wasted my time.

    I was told after wasting a fair amount of time completing an online application and liaising with a customer service representative that I was ineligible for a car loan because I’d qualified for JobKeeper. Even though my business had recovered strongly after an initial dip at the beginning of the pandemic. If lenders are going to apply blanket rules such as these, they need to be stated up front. As a self employed small business person, I don’t have this kind of time to waste.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    3 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Less
    Alicia, Victoria, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    High interest rates, good customer service.

    Customer service was great when I needed to contact them about an issue I had with payment. Interest rates being variable are a bit high, but that's the way the loan is. Could shop around for lower rates at another bank. It's Commonwealth, so being a big bank you can trust them.

    Price
    4 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Shaun, Victoria, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Personal loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Low Rate Personal Loan

      interest rate
      8.00% p.a.
      comparison rate*
      8.21% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 1 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 8.00% would cost $36,647.51 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Unsecured Personal Loan

      interest rate
      7.65% p.a.to 26.99% p.a.
      comparison rate*
      7.65% p.a.to 28.6% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 3 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 7.65% would cost $36,196.75 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Personal Loan

      interest rate
      5.75% p.a.to 21.99% p.a.
      comparison rate*
      6.47% p.a.to 25.11% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 1 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 5.75% would cost $35,190.18 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Unsecured Personal Loan

      interest rate
      7.45% p.a.to 16.95% p.a.
      comparison rate*
      9.07% p.a.to 18.53% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 2 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 7.45% would cost $37,300.55 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Personal Loan

      interest rate
      7.65% p.a.to 26.99% p.a.
      comparison rate*
      7.65% p.a.to 26.99% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 3 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 7.65% would cost $36,196.75 including fees.

      Promoted

    *The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a personal loan. The comparison rates displayed are calculated based on a loan of $30,000 for a term of 5 years or a loan of $10,000 for a term of 3 years as indicated, based on monthly principal and interest repayments, on a secured basis for secured loans and an unsecured basis for unsecured loans. WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

    Want more? Compare all 227 personal loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more personal loans

    About Mozo Reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

    We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

    Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.