firstmac home loan reviews

firstmac
firstmac's overall rating for home loans

(as rated by the Mozo community)

5.1 / 10

based on 15 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured home loan from firstmac

Recent firstmac home loan reviews

firstmac

firstmac home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Competitive no hassle.

Easy payments. Great re draw option.

Full review

Easy payments. Great re draw option.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Sharon (SA), reviewed almost 2 years ago

firstmac

firstmac Home Loan 80 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (VIP Package) home loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Good starting interest rates

Good interest rates to start, raises them regularly though

Full review

Good interest rates to start, raises them regularly though

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Brian (NSW), reviewed almost 2 years ago

firstmac

firstmac home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Straight forward to deal with.

Firstmac don't really have high street branches so you can't have face to face discussions. Their rates are quite competitive and online facility excellent.

Full review

Firstmac don't really have high street branches so you can't have face to face discussions. Their rates are quite competitive and online facility excellent.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Samantha (QLD), reviewed almost 2 years ago

firstmac

firstmac Home Loan 80 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Fixed, VIP Package) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Need to think of people not numbers

Because I'm forced to pay a higher rate, as I'm a stay at home mum and supposedly at risk of default.

Full review

Because I'm forced to pay a higher rate, as I'm a stay at home mum and supposedly at risk of default.

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Nancy (TAS), reviewed about 2 years ago

firstmac

firstmac home loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Terrible..stay away

Worst company I have ever dealt with. Customer service is non existent, staff are not there to help. Incompetent would be the best word to describe this business. Should have changed loans years ago, and would have saved plenty of grief.

Full review

Worst company I have ever dealt with. Customer service is non existent, staff are not there to help. Incompetent would be the best word to describe this business. Should have changed loans years ago, and would have saved plenty of grief.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   2 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Stephen (NSW), reviewed about 3 years ago

Reply from firstmac

Hi Stephen,

We're sorry to hear this was your experience with our service. We try very hard to maintain high customer satisfaction levels, and with that in mind, we would value going into more detail with you about your experience. If you're interested in sharing your opinion, please contact us at customercare@firstmac.com.au.

Regards,
Firstmac.

firstmac

firstmac home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great rates and great account features

All good but paperwork daunting and somewhat tedious.

Full review

All good but paperwork daunting and somewhat tedious.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Jim (NSW), reviewed about 3 years ago

firstmac

firstmac home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great online service, good pricing

I like them as the process to get a complicated mortgage was so easy, and I got a good rate too - 4.54%. Their website is superb - you can chat with customer services or get them to call you, they're always helpful and the website you login to...

Full review

I like them as the process to get a complicated mortgage was so easy, and I got a good rate too - 4.54%. Their website is superb - you can chat with customer services or get them to call you, they're always helpful and the website you login to lets you clearly see how you are paying your mortgage off so you feel in control. Super!

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Bex (QLD), reviewed over 3 years ago

firstmac

firstmac home loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Borrower beware - stay away from Firstmac

Customer service is a big fail. Tried applying for a top up on my loan and every couple of days they would want another document or place another hurdle in the way and I was an existing lender who is not a high risk borrower - borrowing capacity,...

Full review

Customer service is a big fail. Tried applying for a top up on my loan and every couple of days they would want another document or place another hurdle in the way and I was an existing lender who is not a high risk borrower - borrowing capacity, serviceability all well above requirements. Can't get out until 5 years are done or they hit me with a 1.2% of initial loan amount as a deferred establishment fee.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Tania , reviewed over 3 years ago

firstmac

firstmac home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

4.49% interest rate? Very competitive.

I just got the loan, and the people who are involved in the process are incredible, especially the staff who called me to inform me about the progress of the loan. They are very helpful and the loan is processed very fast. They are all great and...

Full review

I just got the loan, and the people who are involved in the process are incredible, especially the staff who called me to inform me about the progress of the loan. They are very helpful and the loan is processed very fast. They are all great and the interest rate of 4.49 percent is incredible. I recommend them to anyone.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Rose (NSW), reviewed over 3 years ago

firstmac

firstmac Home Loan 80 (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Disgraceful

I am really disappointed with the conduct of Management at this organisation. I raised a legitimate complaint and it has been handled disgracefully. This organisation does not seem to have the ethics and professionalism to be a worthy provider of...

Full review

I am really disappointed with the conduct of Management at this organisation. I raised a legitimate complaint and it has been handled disgracefully. This organisation does not seem to have the ethics and professionalism to be a worthy provider of finance and insurance. My advice is to stay clear of them. They are certainly not up to standard.

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Sally (VIC), reviewed almost 4 years ago

firstmac

firstmac Home Loan 80 (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   1 / 10

The world's worst home loan

Currently with firstmac, which is one of the worst experiences of my life. I have asked 3 times and sent through the paperwork to have my repayments changed to interest only, but after a year of asking I am still paying P & I. These guys are...

Full review

Currently with firstmac, which is one of the worst experiences of my life. I have asked 3 times and sent through the paperwork to have my repayments changed to interest only, but after a year of asking I am still paying P & I. These guys are terrible, the only reason I am still with them is due on the market dropping and my inability to re finance.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   2 / 10

Less

Michael (QLD), reviewed almost 4 years ago

firstmac

firstmac Home Loan 80 (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

New charges unacceptable

We have been a customer of Firstmac Home Loans for over 12 years. Their website says no hidden fees. But be aware that they have just introduced a $399 yearly facilitation fee. Although offset by a 0.25percent decrease in the existing loan rate,...

Full review

We have been a customer of Firstmac Home Loans for over 12 years. Their website says no hidden fees. But be aware that they have just introduced a $399 yearly facilitation fee. Although offset by a 0.25percent decrease in the existing loan rate, since their rate is one of the higher interest rates, we are not amused.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Ian (VIC), reviewed about 4 years ago

firstmac

firstmac home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service with true variable rates

Interest rate linked to the Reserve Bank rate, so when rates go down so does mine by the same amount. Not very flexible with working with Equity in my existing loan to use to buy additional property. Can't do it.

Full review

Interest rate linked to the Reserve Bank rate, so when rates go down so does mine by the same amount. Not very flexible with working with Equity in my existing loan to use to buy additional property. Can't do it.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Daniel (WA), reviewed about 4 years ago

firstmac

firstmac Home Loan 80 (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great product features, personalised service

Firstmac has changed my initial opinion that loans are troublesome to handle, I now have confidence by having loan with them and I will keep using them as my home loan provider.

Full review

Firstmac has changed my initial opinion that loans are troublesome to handle, I now have confidence by having loan with them and I will keep using them as my home loan provider.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (QLD), reviewed about 4 years ago

firstmac

firstmac Home Loan 80 (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Competitive and fantastic customer service

Loans.com.au has been sent to us by pure luck. We've been wanting a bank like this for a very very long time. It's so professional, honest and they always follow up on their promises. The follow up calls are amazing, and I have never had to jump...

Full review

Loans.com.au has been sent to us by pure luck. We've been wanting a bank like this for a very very long time. It's so professional, honest and they always follow up on their promises. The follow up calls are amazing, and I have never had to jump through hoops to obtain my loan. Your rates are fantastic, everything about your company is what makes my wife and I live a comfortable life. Your company gives us a change to live our lives without worrying about the blood sucking money swallowers. To conclude, this isn't about the money or the prize, I just feel that I need to write my testimonial. The sales team Nathan, has already recieved a positive email to his superior for this outstanding work. The other four giants can learn a lot from you.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (VIC), reviewed about 4 years ago

firstmac

firstmac home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Perfect for our needs.

Looked around the market. Was told about loans.com and filled out online application. Existing bank could not nearly match the rate offered and apologised for losing our business. The online world now doesn't require bricks and mortar banks. All...

Full review

Looked around the market. Was told about loans.com and filled out online application. Existing bank could not nearly match the rate offered and apologised for losing our business. The online world now doesn't require bricks and mortar banks. All so easy online. Great free products. Have already recommended to others several times. Thanks.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (SA), reviewed over 4 years ago

firstmac

firstmac home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

ALL GREAT

We have been with firstmac for two years have never had a problem with anything, they pass on the interest rate from the Reserve Bank immediately. I have already recommended a friend to go to them and they were extremely happy also.

Full review

We have been with firstmac for two years have never had a problem with anything, they pass on the interest rate from the Reserve Bank immediately. I have already recommended a friend to go to them and they were extremely happy also.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (VIC), reviewed over 4 years ago

firstmac

firstmac home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Competitive interest rate

Their home loan product is almost lowest in Australia. And their customer service responds fast and work efficiently. Talking over phone is not as convenient as face-to-face service as some people have non-English background and some people are...

Full review

Their home loan product is almost lowest in Australia. And their customer service responds fast and work efficiently. Talking over phone is not as convenient as face-to-face service as some people have non-English background and some people are short of financial knowledge that they have no idea about what the consultants are talking about. On top of that their sales people can not be able to give appropriate financial advice and help customers to choose the most suitable product.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (NSW), reviewed over 4 years ago

firstmac

firstmac Home Loan 80 (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Very disappointed with our treatment

We were so screwed over with this bank recently. Have had our loan with them for a few years but we consolidated our loans when we sized down our family home. Fees came from left right and centre what should have been a happy time for us became a...

Full review

We were so screwed over with this bank recently. Have had our loan with them for a few years but we consolidated our loans when we sized down our family home. Fees came from left right and centre what should have been a happy time for us became a living nightmare we were treated like dirt and just had to pay all the costs to settle . Would definitely not recommend them to anyone. Still waiting for contact from broker who was going to try and help us yeah yeah.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   -1 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (SA), reviewed over 4 years ago

firstmac

firstmac Home Loan 80 (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

rRate is good

Pros--rate is good Cons--the way they calculate interest and principal are confusing.

Full review

Pros--rate is good Cons--the way they calculate interest and principal are confusing.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Shan (WA), reviewed over 4 years ago

firstmac

firstmac home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great rates and customer service

Friendly staff easy to deal with and the best rates.

Full review

Friendly staff easy to deal with and the best rates.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (QLD), reviewed over 4 years ago

firstmac

firstmac home loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Not very attractive, can't wait to switch

Don't like their rates, I wouldn't go for this service as locked in contract.

Full review

Don't like their rates, I wouldn't go for this service as locked in contract.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (VIC), reviewed over 4 years ago

firstmac

firstmac home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Competitive and good service

The rate is very competitive. It is easy to use the online service and I haven't had any problems with them.

Full review

The rate is very competitive. It is easy to use the online service and I haven't had any problems with them.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (WA), reviewed over 4 years ago

firstmac

firstmac Home Loan 80 (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Excellent product

Great product, though customer service during aplication and set phase left a lot to be desired at times. This improved significantly when I spoke with a service manager and expressed my concerns. I felt they listened and responded appropriately.

Full review

Great product, though customer service during aplication and set phase left a lot to be desired at times. This improved significantly when I spoke with a service manager and expressed my concerns. I felt they listened and responded appropriately.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (VIC), reviewed over 4 years ago

firstmac

firstmac home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Amazing customer service and great rates!

My lender was soo easy to deal with - always on the end of the phone or email. It felt like we had our own personal lender who knew alot about our situation and our new house. Great rate - won't find better. I would highly recommend them and...

Full review

My lender was soo easy to deal with - always on the end of the phone or email. It felt like we had our own personal lender who knew alot about our situation and our new house. Great rate - won't find better. I would highly recommend them and cannot find one fault which is rare with a bank!

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (QLD), reviewed over 4 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    loans.com.au Essentials Variable 80 Homebuyer Special (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    loans.com.au Essentials Variable 80 Homebuyer Special (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • A super-low rate available to purchases and 20% minimum deposit required
    • No monthly fees, Redraw facility with no minimum
    • Split loan facility – up to five free splits with fixed rate or identical variable loan product

    interest rate

    3.54% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.56% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $520

    Go to site

    More info

    • A super-low rate available to purchases and 20% minimum deposit required
    • No monthly fees, Redraw facility with no minimum
    • Split loan facility – up to five free splits with fixed rate or identical variable loan product
    • Interest rate: 3.54% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.56% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $520
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $1,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.2

    Based on 202 loans.com.au home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    Featured product

     

    UBank UHomeLoan - Discount Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    UBank UHomeLoan - Discount Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • $0 application fee for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • No monthly fees
    • 20% minimum deposit required

    interest rate

    3.62% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.62% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 application fee for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • No monthly fees
    • 20% minimum deposit required
    • Interest rate: 3.62% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.62% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $700,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    4.8

    Based on 56 UBank home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • State Custodians Low Rate Home Loan with Offset (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    State Custodians Low Rate Home Loan with Offset (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • $0 Application Fee, Free Redraws, Extra Repayments
    • P&I or Interest Only Up to 5yrs
    • Free 100% Offset Account

    interest rate

    3.64% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.67% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $286

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 Application Fee, Free Redraws, Extra Repayments
    • P&I or Interest Only Up to 5yrs
    • Free 100% Offset Account
    • Interest rate: 3.64% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.67% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $286
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $100,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.7

    Based on 3 State Custodians home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    Newcastle Permanent Discounted Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Premium Plus Package)

    Newcastle Permanent Discounted Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Premium Plus Package)

    • 100% Offset Facility
    • $0 application fee for Personal and Car Loans
    • Additional repayments and redraws at any time

    interest rate

    3.64% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    4.03% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • 100% Offset Facility
    • $0 application fee for Personal and Car Loans
    • Additional repayments and redraws at any time
    • Interest rate: 3.64% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 4.03% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $395.00 yearly
    • Discharge fee:
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $150,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.5

    Based on 80 Newcastle Permanent home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • HSBC Discounted Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    HSBC Discounted Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • Owner occupier only
    • Available to new borrowings to HSBC of $50,000 or more
    • Your own Personal Relationship Manager

    interest rate

    3.65% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.66% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • Owner occupier only
    • Available to new borrowings to HSBC of $50,000 or more
    • Your own Personal Relationship Manager
    • Interest rate: 3.65% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.66% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 90.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $7,500,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.1

    Based on 32 HSBC home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 525 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more home loans

Look for a specific type of home loan:

*The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a home loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years, and applies only to this example. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Full comparison rate schedules are available from lenders. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

Back to top