firstmac logo

firstmac Home loan reviews

Overall rating
Price
Features
Customer service
Convenience
Trust
Based on 99 home loan reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent firstmac home loan customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • firstmac Home Loan

    Do not waste your time

    Highly unorganised to the point I questioned my broker if they knew what they were doing. In the end, they offered me a loan then withdrew it after I signed the papers. Be very careful with these people.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Damian, New South Wales, reviewed 6 days ago
  • firstmac Basic 80 (Broker Special) (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Good experience, highly recommend

    It was a fast, easy and friendly experience.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Zoe, Victoria, reviewed 7 months ago
  • firstmac Home Loan

    Great service and competitive prices

    We have had a really good experience with FirstMac - they have been really easy to deal with and supported us through through the whole process! Highly recommend.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Emma, New South Wales, reviewed 7 months ago
  • firstmac Basic 80 (Broker Special) (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Refinanced & had lower interest through Firstmac

    Got my broker to assist with the process. Fairly easy to use the online system. Had a few delays about the settlement dates which could have been caused by my previous provider. In general, I am happy with the current interest rate. Contacted customer service twice and had no issues with them.

    Price
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Vicky, New South Wales, reviewed 7 months ago
  • firstmac Home Loan

    Interest only home loan.

    Firstmac held my hand throughout the whole process leaving me with a stress free and easy to navigate home loan. Thank you Firstmac.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Baden, Victoria, reviewed 8 months ago
  • firstmac

    Awesome rate, products and customer service

    Firstmac not only provided a much lower interest rate, but since changing over to them they have been a dream to work with. Secure, user-friendly internet banking and mobile app. Superb customer service on the very few times I have had to ring them. Great rate, excellent products and wonderful customer service. Great to be able to acknowledge a wonderfully positive product.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Dan, New South Wales, reviewed 10 months ago
  • firstmac Home Loan

    Customer Service BAD.

    Had an issue with a stolen card, they could not even cancel my card. Then accused me of not calling and asking for it to be stopped! So while I have no access to the system, no card, no money, I call to see where my replacement card is. They said, "oh you didn't ask for a new card." Customer service person - very very rude. Not to mention a previous matter. I had to go online to dispute a transaction and it took them three weeks to get back to me. Come on! Now I can gladly say I have refinanced since that call.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Requel, New South Wales, reviewed 10 months ago
  • firstmac

    Not recommended!

    Customer service is very poor. Their rate and review performance is extremely poor. You will be misguided about the finance provider (Firstmac and loans.com.au). Even if you contacted loans.com.au, you will be redirected to Firstmac. After that, you will not be eligible for any future better offer by loans.com.au

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Mohammed, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • firstmac

    Feel like I am being cheated by Firstmac

    When I moved my two loans to Firstmac back to in November 2019, I was told that both Firstmac and loans.com.au are same (in fact, I contacted loans.com.au first and then redirected to Firstmac - I have those email communications). Now, I was offered an interest rate of $1.99% by loans.com.au. When I informed Firstmac about this offer, I was told that I am not eligible for this rate since Firstmac and loans.com.au are different (completely opposite compared to what I was told in the last year). I am eligible to this rate only if I move my other loans (say, from NAB) to loans.com.au and, in that case, Firstmac will be the finance provider. However, my present two Firstmac home loans are not eligible to get the lower interest rate offered by loans.com.au.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Shahadat, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • firstmac Fixed Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR <90%)

    Recommend

    Good company.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    James, Victoria, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • firstmac

    Shocking services.

    They offered a decent enough intro though found quickly enough that the rest of their features and service is severely lacking. Internet banking a very very long way behind other banks. Asked for a review on our loan interest rate and it took them almost a week to get back to us. And don’t worry about visiting a branch.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Chris, Western Australia, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • firstmac Home Loan

    Good bank for multiple mortgages.

    Firstmac, good bank for multiple mortgages. A bit expensive but good enough.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Brian, New South Wales, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • firstmac Home Loan

    This place is a joke.

    Cheap rate but the worst service. You get what you pay for. I thought supporting a smaller business would be the right thing but they are a joke. Small mindset staff by a small team. Incompotent.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Terry, Victoria, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • firstmac Home Loan

    Not recommended.

    The process to apply for a Firstmac loan was agonising and time consuming. We used Lendi to apply and experienced poor communication, changing requirements/documentation requirements. From first contact it took 4 weeks to obtain pre-approval and now they request further information, not even mentioned during the original request e.g. they now want a retirement strategy in case we still have a loan when we retire, our assets to debt ratio is 5 to 1 and investment income is more than required to pay the loan. The delays and stress are not worth it.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Cade, New South Wales, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • firstmac Offset 90 (Broker Special) (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Good bank.

    Good bank, easy to deal with, good rates. No branches or ATMs.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Brian, New South Wales, reviewed almost 2 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Booster Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.85% p.a.variable for 24 months and then 2.25% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.21% p.a.

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan

      interest rate
      1.85% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      2.24% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Celebrate Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      1.99% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      1.99% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Basic Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.09% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      2.32% p.a.

      Promoted

    WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 503 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.