Thumbnail icon for firstmac

firstmac Home loan reviews

Overall rating
5.3/10
Price
5.8/10
Features
5.4/10
Customer service
5.3/10
Convenience
4.9/10
Trust
5.0/10
Based on 87 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent firstmac home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • firstmac Home Loan review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    This place is a joke.

    Cheap rate but the worst service. You get what you pay for. I thought supporting a smaller business would be the right thing but they are a joke. Small mindset staff by a small team. Incompotent.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    3 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Terry, Victoria, reviewed 3 months ago
  • firstmac Home Loan review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Not recommended.

    The process to apply for a Firstmac loan was agonising and time consuming. We used Lendi to apply and experienced poor communication, changing requirements/documentation requirements. From first contact it took 4 weeks to obtain pre-approval and now they request further information, not even mentioned during the original request e.g. they now want a retirement strategy in case we still have a loan when we retire, our assets to debt ratio is 5 to 1 and investment income is more than required to pay the loan. The delays and stress are not worth it.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Cade, New South Wales, reviewed 4 months ago
  • firstmac Offset 80 (Broker Special) (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Good bank.

    Good bank, easy to deal with, good rates. No branches or ATMs.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    4 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Brian, New South Wales, reviewed 7 months ago
  • firstmac Offset 80 (Broker Special) (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    All organised online, great service.

    Fast and friendly through a broker.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Robyn, Queensland, reviewed 7 months ago
  • firstmac Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Competitive no hassle.

    Easy payments. Great re draw option.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Sharon, South Australia, reviewed about 4 years ago
  • firstmac Home Loan 80 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Good starting interest rates

    Good interest rates to start, raises them regularly though

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    3 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Brian, New South Wales, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • firstmac Home Loan review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Straight forward to deal with.

    Firstmac don't really have high street branches so you can't have face to face discussions. Their rates are quite competitive and online facility excellent.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Samantha, Queensland, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • firstmac Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Interest Only) (Fixed) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Need to think of people not numbers

    Because I'm forced to pay a higher rate, as I'm a stay at home mum and supposedly at risk of default.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Nancy, Tasmania, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • firstmac Home Loan review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Prompt customer service

    Their customer service is prompt.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Jason, Queensland, reviewed over 5 years ago
  • firstmac review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Terrible..stay away

    Worst company I have ever dealt with. Customer service is non existent, staff are not there to help. Incompetent would be the best word to describe this business. Should have changed loans years ago, and would have saved plenty of grief.

    Price
    0 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    2 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Stephen, New South Wales, reviewed over 5 years ago
  • firstmac review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Great rates and great account features

    All good but paperwork daunting and somewhat tedious.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Jim, New South Wales, reviewed over 5 years ago
  • firstmac Home Loan review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Great online service, good pricing

    I like them as the process to get a complicated mortgage was so easy, and I got a good rate too - 4.54%. Their website is superb - you can chat with customer services or get them to call you, they're always helpful and the website you login to lets you clearly see how you are paying your mortgage off so you feel in control. Super!

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Bex, Queensland, reviewed almost 6 years ago
  • firstmac Home Loan review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Borrower beware - stay away from Firstmac

    Customer service is a big fail. Tried applying for a top up on my loan and every couple of days they would want another document or place another hurdle in the way and I was an existing lender who is not a high risk borrower - borrowing capacity, serviceability all well above requirements. Can't get out until 5 years are done or they hit me with a 1.2% of initial loan amount as a deferred establishment fee.

    Price
    2 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Tania, , reviewed almost 6 years ago
  • firstmac review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    4.49% interest rate? Very competitive.

    I just got the loan, and the people who are involved in the process are incredible, especially the staff who called me to inform me about the progress of the loan. They are very helpful and the loan is processed very fast. They are all great and the interest rate of 4.49 percent is incredible. I recommend them to anyone.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Rose, New South Wales, reviewed almost 6 years ago
  • firstmac review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    COMPETITIVE AND GOOD PERSNAL SERVICE

    VERY GOOD PHONE CUSTOMER SERVICE AND VERY GOOD ON LINE FACILITY

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Neal, Queensland, reviewed about 6 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Home Loan 80

      interest rate
      2.63% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.65% p.a.

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan - Discount Offer

      interest rate
      2.59% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.59% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Fixed Rate Home Loan Wealth Package

      interest rate
      2.29% p.a.
      fixed 2 years
      comparison rate*
      3.99% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Fixed Rate Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.09% p.a.
      fixed 2 years
      comparison rate*
      2.98% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Flexible Home Loan Member Package

      interest rate
      2.39% p.a.
      fixed 1 year
      comparison rate*
      3.45% p.a.

      Promoted

    *WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 550 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.