Thumbnail icon for firstmac

firstmac Home loan reviews

Overall rating
5.2/10
Price
5.7/10
Features
5.3/10
Customer service
5.2/10
Convenience
4.9/10
Trust
4.9/10
Based on 94 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent firstmac home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • firstmac review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Awesome rate, products and customer service

    Firstmac not only provided a much lower interest rate, but since changing over to them they have been a dream to work with. Secure, user-friendly internet banking and mobile app. Superb customer service on the very few times I have had to ring them. Great rate, excellent products and wonderful customer service. Great to be able to acknowledge a wonderfully positive product.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Dan, New South Wales, reviewed about 16 hours ago
  • firstmac Home Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Customer Service BAD.

    Had an issue with a stolen card, they could not even cancel my card. Then accused me of not calling and asking for it to be stopped! So while I have no access to the system, no card, no money, I call to see where my replacement card is. They said, "oh you didn't ask for a new card." Customer service person - very very rude. Not to mention a previous matter. I had to go online to dispute a transaction and it took them three weeks to get back to me. Come on! Now I can gladly say I have refinanced since that call.

    Price
    2 / 10
    Features
    2 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Requel, New South Wales, reviewed 2 days ago
  • firstmac review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Not recommended!

    Customer service is very poor. Their rate and review performance is extremely poor. You will be misguided about the finance provider (Firstmac and loans.com.au). Even if you contacted loans.com.au, you will be redirected to Firstmac. After that, you will not be eligible for any future better offer by loans.com.au

    Price
    2 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Mohammed, New South Wales, reviewed 2 months ago
  • firstmac review

    Overall rating   2 / 10
    Feel like I am being cheated by Firstmac

    When I moved my two loans to Firstmac back to in November 2019, I was told that both Firstmac and loans.com.au are same (in fact, I contacted loans.com.au first and then redirected to Firstmac - I have those email communications). Now, I was offered an interest rate of $1.99% by loans.com.au. When I informed Firstmac about this offer, I was told that I am not eligible for this rate since Firstmac and loans.com.au are different (completely opposite compared to what I was told in the last year). I am eligible to this rate only if I move my other loans (say, from NAB) to loans.com.au and, in that case, Firstmac will be the finance provider. However, my present two Firstmac home loans are not eligible to get the lower interest rate offered by loans.com.au.

    Price
    3 / 10
    Features
    2 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    2 / 10
    Less
    Shahadat, New South Wales, reviewed 2 months ago
  • firstmac Home Loan Special Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR <80%) (Fixed) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Recommend

    Good company.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    James, Victoria, reviewed 3 months ago
  • firstmac review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Shocking services.

    They offered a decent enough intro though found quickly enough that the rest of their features and service is severely lacking. Internet banking a very very long way behind other banks. Asked for a review on our loan interest rate and it took them almost a week to get back to us. And don’t worry about visiting a branch.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    2 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Convenience
    2 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Chris, Western Australia, reviewed 5 months ago
  • firstmac Home Loan review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Good bank for multiple mortgages.

    Firstmac, good bank for multiple mortgages. A bit expensive but good enough.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Brian, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
  • firstmac Home Loan review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    This place is a joke.

    Cheap rate but the worst service. You get what you pay for. I thought supporting a smaller business would be the right thing but they are a joke. Small mindset staff by a small team. Incompotent.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    3 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Terry, Victoria, reviewed 8 months ago
  • firstmac Home Loan review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Not recommended.

    The process to apply for a Firstmac loan was agonising and time consuming. We used Lendi to apply and experienced poor communication, changing requirements/documentation requirements. From first contact it took 4 weeks to obtain pre-approval and now they request further information, not even mentioned during the original request e.g. they now want a retirement strategy in case we still have a loan when we retire, our assets to debt ratio is 5 to 1 and investment income is more than required to pay the loan. The delays and stress are not worth it.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Cade, New South Wales, reviewed 9 months ago
  • firstmac Offset 90 (Broker Special) (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Good bank.

    Good bank, easy to deal with, good rates. No branches or ATMs.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    4 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Brian, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • firstmac Offset 90 (Broker Special) (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    All organised online, great service.

    Fast and friendly through a broker.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Robyn, Queensland, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • firstmac Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Competitive no hassle.

    Easy payments. Great re draw option.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Sharon, South Australia, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • firstmac review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Good starting interest rates

    Good interest rates to start, raises them regularly though

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    3 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Brian, New South Wales, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • firstmac Home Loan review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Straight forward to deal with.

    Firstmac don't really have high street branches so you can't have face to face discussions. Their rates are quite competitive and online facility excellent.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Samantha, Queensland, reviewed almost 5 years ago
  • firstmac Home Loan Special Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR <80%) (Fixed) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Need to think of people not numbers

    Because I'm forced to pay a higher rate, as I'm a stay at home mum and supposedly at risk of default.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Nancy, Tasmania, reviewed almost 5 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Booster Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a.variable for 12 months and then 2.48% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.47% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Celebrate Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.19% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.19% p.a.

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan - Discount Offer

      interest rate
      2.34% p.a. variableApply now to get this rate from 29 Nov
      comparison rate
      2.34% p.a.Apply now to get this rate from 29 Nov

      Promoted
    • Back to Basics Special

      interest rate
      2.54% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.55% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Discount Fixed Rate

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a.
      fixed 4 years
      comparison rate
      2.90% p.a.

      Promoted

    WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 541 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.