Thumbnail icon for firstmac

firstmac Home loan reviews

Overall rating
5.4/10
Price
5.8/10
Features
5.4/10
Customer service
5.4/10
Convenience
5.0/10
Trust
5.1/10
Based on 85 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent firstmac home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • firstmac Offset 80 (Broker Special) (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Good bank.

    Good bank, easy to deal with, good rates. No branches or ATMs.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    4 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Brian, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • firstmac Offset 80 (Broker Special) (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    All organised online, great service.

    Fast and friendly through a broker.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Robyn, Queensland, reviewed 3 months ago
  • firstmac Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Competitive no hassle.

    Easy payments. Great re draw option.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Sharon, South Australia, reviewed almost 4 years ago
  • firstmac VIP Home Loan 80 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Good starting interest rates

    Good interest rates to start, raises them regularly though

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    3 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Brian, New South Wales, reviewed almost 4 years ago
  • firstmac Home Loan review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Straight forward to deal with.

    Firstmac don't really have high street branches so you can't have face to face discussions. Their rates are quite competitive and online facility excellent.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Samantha, Queensland, reviewed almost 4 years ago
  • firstmac VIP Home Loan 80 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Fixed) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Need to think of people not numbers

    Because I'm forced to pay a higher rate, as I'm a stay at home mum and supposedly at risk of default.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Nancy, Tasmania, reviewed about 4 years ago
  • firstmac Home Loan review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Prompt customer service

    Their customer service is prompt.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Jason, Queensland, reviewed almost 5 years ago
  • firstmac review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Terrible..stay away

    Worst company I have ever dealt with. Customer service is non existent, staff are not there to help. Incompetent would be the best word to describe this business. Should have changed loans years ago, and would have saved plenty of grief.

    Price
    0 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    2 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Stephen, New South Wales, reviewed about 5 years ago
  • firstmac review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Great rates and great account features

    All good but paperwork daunting and somewhat tedious.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Jim, New South Wales, reviewed over 5 years ago
  • firstmac Home Loan review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Great online service, good pricing

    I like them as the process to get a complicated mortgage was so easy, and I got a good rate too - 4.54%. Their website is superb - you can chat with customer services or get them to call you, they're always helpful and the website you login to lets you clearly see how you are paying your mortgage off so you feel in control. Super!

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Bex, Queensland, reviewed over 5 years ago
  • firstmac Home Loan review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Borrower beware - stay away from Firstmac

    Customer service is a big fail. Tried applying for a top up on my loan and every couple of days they would want another document or place another hurdle in the way and I was an existing lender who is not a high risk borrower - borrowing capacity, serviceability all well above requirements. Can't get out until 5 years are done or they hit me with a 1.2% of initial loan amount as a deferred establishment fee.

    Price
    2 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Tania, , reviewed over 5 years ago
  • firstmac review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    4.49% interest rate? Very competitive.

    I just got the loan, and the people who are involved in the process are incredible, especially the staff who called me to inform me about the progress of the loan. They are very helpful and the loan is processed very fast. They are all great and the interest rate of 4.49 percent is incredible. I recommend them to anyone.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Rose, New South Wales, reviewed over 5 years ago
  • firstmac review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    COMPETITIVE AND GOOD PERSNAL SERVICE

    VERY GOOD PHONE CUSTOMER SERVICE AND VERY GOOD ON LINE FACILITY

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Neal, Queensland, reviewed over 5 years ago
  • firstmac review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Disgraceful

    I am really disappointed with the conduct of Management at this organisation. I raised a legitimate complaint and it has been handled disgracefully. This organisation does not seem to have the ethics and professionalism to be a worthy provider of finance and insurance. My advice is to stay clear of them. They are certainly not up to standard.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    3 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Sally, Victoria, reviewed almost 6 years ago
  • firstmac review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    The world's worst home loan

    Currently with firstmac, which is one of the worst experiences of my life. I have asked 3 times and sent through the paperwork to have my repayments changed to interest only, but after a year of asking I am still paying P & I. These guys are terrible, the only reason I am still with them is due on the market dropping and my inability to re finance.

    Price
    2 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Convenience
    4 / 10
    Trust
    2 / 10
    Less
    Michael, Queensland, reviewed about 6 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.88% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.90% p.a.
      upfront fees
      $520

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan - Discount Offer

      interest rate
      2.84% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.84% p.a.
      upfront fees
      $0

      Promoted
    • Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.84% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.80% p.a.
      upfront fees
      $0

      Promoted
    • Basic Home Loan

      interest rate
      3.09% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      3.09% p.a.
      upfront fees
      $0

      Promoted
    • Discount Fixed Rate 300k+

      interest rate
      2.89% p.a.
      fixed 2 years
      comparison rate*
      3.76% p.a.
      upfront fees
      $450

      Promoted

    *WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 532 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.