Great Southern Bank logo

Great Southern Bank customer reviews

Overall rating
8.1/10
Price
7.7/10
Features
7.1/10
Customer service
8.2/10
Convenience
7.6/10
Trust
8.3/10
Based on 2200 reviews as rated by the Mozo community. More about the mozo ratings

Recent Great Southern Bank customer reviews

  • Great Southern Bank Everyday Account

    Doesn't protect your card

    The bank doesn't protect your card from fraudulent activity. I've had the same non-existent company twice now get my new card number and take out money. I've now created a new account with a different bank that offers 24/7 fraud protection. They obviously cannot say how this has happened... they provide a contact number that's not connected. This payment seems to only occur on a Saturday with a physical card even if you don't leave the house all day. CUA cards never had this problem till they switched over to Great Southern Bank. I've now lost all faith in this bank to protect my money. Don't choose this bank unless you're prepared to lose your money and have to fight tooth and nail to get it back.

    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Rachael, Queensland, reviewed about 1 month ago
    More Great Southern Bank bank account customer reviews
  • Great Southern Bank Savings Account

    Can’t beat Great Southern Bank

    I’ve banked with Great Southern Bank since it was CUA and I’ve been with them for over 30yrs. I do most of my banking online with their app. It’s easy and safe and so useful. The only complaint I have is they took away our local branch and now I have to travel further to go into the physical bank itself. So I don’t bother. I deposit money at the Post Office and do everything else online. It’s great!

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Carol anne, Queensland, reviewed about 1 month ago
    More Great Southern Bank savings account customer reviews
  • Great Southern Bank Credit Card

    just don't

    Hopeless. They don't understand their own forms. Incapable of carrying out basic instructions in their own 2 week admin period. Good riddance.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Robert, Queensland, reviewed 5 months ago
    More Great Southern Bank credit card customer reviews
  • Great Southern Bank Home Loan

    Great Southern Bank is the worst Australian bank

    Great Southern Bank is the worst Australian bank ever and they should be closed down by ASIC. They will take your money and rip you off at every possible opportunity. They have absolutely no morality or common decency. Never ever bank with these people unless you want to be bitterly disappointed and upset.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Shaun, Victoria, reviewed 6 months ago
    More Great Southern Bank home loan customer reviews
  • Great Southern Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    Avoid at all costs!

    Have had multiple loans with CUA before they changes their name without notifying their customers. Have had terrible dealings trying to close out my account which was actually paid in full over 12 months prior. Apparently I hadn't called after making the final payment so the account remained open and interest grew. I received a 'new' final payout figure of $153.00 (Interest). I have not received a statement for over 12 months so had no idea I had monies owing. Turns out this is to 'save paper'. I'm all for saving the environment, don't get me wrong! When most banks go paperless they chose to send statements via email. When I paid this final amount the day I got the figure, it took 2.5 days to clear and now I owe 10c in interest. I'm not willing to make this 10c payment on principal and I've been placed on hold for 36 minutes and still waiting... I would suggest you avoid this joke of a bank at all costs!

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Richard, Victoria, reviewed 10 months ago
    More Great Southern Bank personal loan customer reviews
  • Great Southern Bank Term Deposit

    Beware of CUA.

    I was recently with CUA as I was extremely hopeful that it would be a good bank to deal with, but after a week I left and was charged $20 after 5 days being with them. I was first told I'd receive a certain rate over the phone by a saleswoman, so it took me a day to transfer everything into CUA. Then the next day I spoke to another person and they had no records that I spoke to someone, even though I presented screenshots of my mobile that I spoke to someone there - they didn't believe me. Then they said they had to investigate and both phone service person, online and a bank manager told me they'd get back to me the next day. After 2 days of calling, leaving messages. A 2nd person got back to me but it was too late, I received a better rate from another bank and then decided to leave after 4 days of being run around. I was unfortunately charged $20 for being with them under 5 days.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Jo, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 year ago
    More Great Southern Bank term deposit customer reviews
  • Great Southern Bank Secured Car Loan (Fixed)

    Very low interest rates, outstanding communication

    Pros: -Clear communication via email and phone -Clear costs listed, no hidden costs or balloon payments -Extra repayments can be made in advance -Low interest rates, lower than car dealers and most other banks Cons: -No choice of car insurance company, must go with CUA's partner Allianz -Automatically on the 7 year loan option, with no communication to choose the amount of years

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Daniel, Victoria, reviewed over 1 year ago
    More Great Southern Bank car loan customer reviews
  • Great Southern Bank Everyday Account

    Savings account is not bad at all

    Savings account is not bad at all

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Bevan, New South Wales, reviewed almost 6 years ago
    More Great Southern Bank debit card customer reviews
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.