Teachers Mutual Bank term deposit reviews

Teachers Mutual Bank
Teachers Mutual Bank's overall rating for term deposits

(as rated by the Mozo community)

8.3 / 10

based on 13 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Full review

Featured term deposit from Teachers Mutual Bank

Recent Teachers Mutual Bank term deposit reviews

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank term deposit review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Competitive and great service

Very helpful.

Full review

Very helpful.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Susan (NSW), reviewed about 1 year ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank term deposit review

Overall rating   4 / 10

No longer a caring Teachers Credit Union

No communication, fees are high and change with no notice.

Full review

No communication, fees are high and change with no notice.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Helen (VIC), reviewed about 1 year ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank term deposit review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great service

Excellent in every way.

Full review

Excellent in every way.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Geoffrey (NSW), reviewed over 1 year ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank term deposit review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Great customer service.

Unfortunately, Term Deposits are a poor investment option as cash rates are so very low. At least my TDs pay above the cash rate but I am penalised for having been a saver and wanting liquidity without all the hassle of trading shares and other...

Full review

Unfortunately, Term Deposits are a poor investment option as cash rates are so very low. At least my TDs pay above the cash rate but I am penalised for having been a saver and wanting liquidity without all the hassle of trading shares and other time consuming paperwork. Term deposits are a means of maintaining liquidity for unforeseen events or for buying into reasonable aged care if or when it is required. The financial institution I use has excellent staff, offer other products and services, are professional, patient, friendly and above all trustworthy. As a self funded retiree the returns do not keep pace with inflation and savings are "penalised" by Centrelink which currently "deems" savings at 2.5% and 3% above a certain limit. Financial advisers suggest putting one's savings into bank shares as the dividends are so much better but the bank profits are obscene.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Lis (NSW), reviewed over 1 year ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank term deposit review

Overall rating   9 / 10

The best service and help in managing a tight time

Amazing service at Teacher Mutual Bank. Committed to helping teachers. They helped me when none other would many years ago and I have never looked back. Our regional head supports actively a Positive Behaviour For Learning framework which now...

Full review

Amazing service at Teacher Mutual Bank. Committed to helping teachers. They helped me when none other would many years ago and I have never looked back. Our regional head supports actively a Positive Behaviour For Learning framework which now operates I many Hunter schools, most successfully. This is very impressive.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Lynley (NSW), reviewed over 1 year ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank term deposit review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Super customer service

The staff are up to date on what is happening around the globe. I have been with them since 1976 and the support they have given me is amazing.

Full review

The staff are up to date on what is happening around the globe. I have been with them since 1976 and the support they have given me is amazing.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Elaine (NSW), reviewed almost 2 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank term deposit review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Teachers use it for a reason

I've been with think bank since I was a baby (the day i was born my grandmother opened an account for me) and the bank has always been reliable and everyone in my family has an account with them.

Full review

I've been with think bank since I was a baby (the day i was born my grandmother opened an account for me) and the bank has always been reliable and everyone in my family has an account with them.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Convenience   2 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Jasmine (NSW), reviewed about 2 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank term deposit review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Would never change banks

Have complete trust and faith in Teachers Mutual Bank.

Full review

Have complete trust and faith in Teachers Mutual Bank.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Terry (NSW), reviewed over 2 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank term deposit review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Higher interest rates and great customer service

The Teachers' Mutual Bank usually offers higher interest rates than their competitors on fixed deposits. It is a pleasure to do business with them when this is combined with their convenience and friendly, reliable service.

Full review

The Teachers' Mutual Bank usually offers higher interest rates than their competitors on fixed deposits. It is a pleasure to do business with them when this is combined with their convenience and friendly, reliable service.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Robert (NSW), reviewed over 2 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank term deposit review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Safe, secure, competitive in the market place

Wide product range, excellent, competitive interest rates, safe, offers special deals.

Full review

Wide product range, excellent, competitive interest rates, safe, offers special deals.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Susanne (NSW), reviewed over 2 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank term deposit review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great product range and customer service.

Great customer service and product range.

Full review

Great customer service and product range.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Christine (NSW), reviewed about 3 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank Term Deposit term deposit review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Excellent customer service

I'm comfortable and I trust TMB.

Full review

I'm comfortable and I trust TMB.

    Price   -1 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (NSW), reviewed over 3 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank Term Deposit term deposit review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Good interest rates with simple rollover options

Very flexible and safe options given, great communications channels available.

Full review

Very flexible and safe options given, great communications channels available.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (NSW), reviewed over 3 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank Term Deposit term deposit review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great rates and service for members

Teachers Mutual Bank delivers premium interest rates and quality service to Edvest Members (>50 years old)with it's range of term deposits and savings accounts designed to suit all customers and circumstances. They also remain highly competitive...

Full review

Teachers Mutual Bank delivers premium interest rates and quality service to Edvest Members (>50 years old)with it's range of term deposits and savings accounts designed to suit all customers and circumstances. They also remain highly competitive with their loans options.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (NSW), reviewed over 3 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank term deposit review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Awesome customer service and fabulous products.

Awesome customer service and fabulous products.

Full review

Awesome customer service and fabulous products.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

John (QLD), reviewed over 3 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank term deposit review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Teachers Credit Union offers services that have helped make us deliriouly happy in retirement - helpful staff low fees and convenient banking.

Full review

Teachers Credit Union offers services that have helped make us deliriouly happy in retirement - helpful staff low fees and convenient banking.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Kathy hassall (NSW), reviewed almost 5 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank term deposit review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Much higher interest rate and heaps of term length options. Even though I am the only teacher in my family, everyone else can still get the benefits.

Full review

Much higher interest rate and heaps of term length options. Even though I am the only teacher in my family, everyone else can still get the benefits.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Laura (NSW), reviewed over 5 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank term deposit review

Overall rating   8 / 10

I like that they are for teachers initially. They respect and help out teachers and are focused only on them. So you are an individual client, not another number in the banking world. But even if your not a teacher, your family members can enjoy...

Full review

I like that they are for teachers initially. They respect and help out teachers and are focused only on them. So you are an individual client, not another number in the banking world. But even if your not a teacher, your family members can enjoy the benefits too and join up for better rates and service. So now I can give my daughter a savings account with teachers credit union, as well as my mum or brother. You can withdraw your money from any bank ATM, and the fees on an account are only $5 per month for unlimited access to ready ATM machines. As I am a casual teacher, they understand that my work in this position as a teacher is hard and there is a lot of us. They will consider all loans for casual service teachers, which most banks won't consider unless you are a full time employee. Internet and phone banking is easy and safe and you can have easy online or phone contact with the bank. Fax is great too, the minute a fax is sent off about ANYTHING, like asking them to transfer money to a term deposit (I am a big fan of this), it is received by them and deposited almost immediately. You can instantly check online to see that your term deposit has been set up and ready to go. I love teachers credit union for all its low rates, customer service and personalisation to you. The only one real down fall I have about the bank is that they don't have regular walk in branches to do your banking. You can go to their branch in silver water Sydney, but they are more an online-phone bank. To do deposits, the post office is the best bet, and there are plenty of those around so its not to much of a hassle. But that would be my only downfall.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Karen (NSW), reviewed over 5 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank term deposit review

Overall rating   10 / 10

This is a fab TCU product. If you need to get some or all of the money out at any time, its easy and very clearly explained how withdrawals affect interest rate & earnings. Turnaround times for withdrawals are extremely efficient and prompt. ...

Full review

This is a fab TCU product. If you need to get some or all of the money out at any time, its easy and very clearly explained how withdrawals affect interest rate & earnings. Turnaround times for withdrawals are extremely efficient and prompt. Love it!

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Catherine (NSW), reviewed over 5 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank term deposit review

Overall rating   7 / 10

pro: easy to organise, easy to renew, options on where interest goes and how frequently, renewal reminder and options con: might get a slightly higher rate elsewhere

Full review

pro: easy to organise, easy to renew, options on where interest goes and how frequently, renewal reminder and options con: might get a slightly higher rate elsewhere

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Coni (NSW), reviewed almost 6 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank term deposit review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great service, great products, non profit organisation.

Full review

Great service, great products, non profit organisation.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

John (NSW), reviewed over 6 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank term deposit review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Brilliant for personalised service.

Full review

Brilliant for personalised service.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Margaret (QLD), reviewed over 6 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank term deposit review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Happy and friendly staff.

Full review

Happy and friendly staff.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Vince (NSW), reviewed over 6 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank term deposit review

Overall rating   8 / 10

You can defer payments over the holidays.

Full review

You can defer payments over the holidays.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jasmine (QLD), reviewed about 7 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank term deposit review

Overall rating   10 / 10

I like Teachers Credit Union because of the friendly customer service. They're always so kind and very helpful. The interest rates are excellent. I have a lot of trust with this bank, and I used to get rewards from them when I was a child. I'd...

Full review

I like Teachers Credit Union because of the friendly customer service. They're always so kind and very helpful. The interest rates are excellent. I have a lot of trust with this bank, and I used to get rewards from them when I was a child. I'd recommend this bank to anyone.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Maryanne may (VIC), reviewed about 7 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Term deposit comparisons on Mozo Rates updated daily

  • ING DIRECT Term Deposit

    ING DIRECT Term Deposit

    • No ING DIRECT fees
    • Deposit from $10K to $5 million
    • Loyalty Bonus Rate on rollover

    interest rate*

    3.00% p.a.
    1 year

    Go to site

    More info

    • No ING DIRECT fees
    • Deposit from $10K to $5 million
    • Loyalty Bonus Rate on rollover
    • Minimum deposit: $10,000
    • Maximum deposit: $5,000,000
    • Can interest be paid to another bank?: yes
    • Automatic rollover: yes
    Overall rating

    8.7

    Based on 55 ING DIRECT term deposit reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Citibank Term Deposit

    Citibank Term Deposit

    • Minimum investment $75,000, 31 day notice period applies
    • No establishment or account keeping fees
    • Feel secure in your investment, with guaranteed returns at maturity.

    interest rate*

    2.95% p.a.
    6 months

    Go to site

    More info

    • Minimum investment $75,000, 31 day notice period applies
    • No establishment or account keeping fees
    • Feel secure in your investment, with guaranteed returns at maturity.
    • Minimum deposit: $75,000
    • Maximum deposit: $2,000,000
    • Can interest be paid to another bank?: no
    • Automatic rollover: yes
    Overall rating

    9.0

    Based on 3 Citibank term deposit reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bank Australia Term Deposit

    Bank Australia Term Deposit

    • High interest rate
    • Short investment term of 3 months for investments over $5K
    • Interest paid at maturity

    interest rate*

    2.85% p.a.
    2 years

    Go to site

    More info

    • High interest rate
    • Short investment term of 3 months for investments over $5K
    • Interest paid at maturity
    • Minimum deposit: $5,000
    • Maximum deposit: $500,000
    • Can interest be paid to another bank?: no
    • Automatic rollover: yes
    Overall rating

    6.3

    Based on 3 Bank Australia term deposit reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bankwest Online Term Deposit

    Bankwest Online Term Deposit

    • No fees
    • Invest anything from $1,000 to $5 million
    • 100% secure online application process

    interest rate*

    2.70% p.a.
    6 months

    Go to site

    More info

    • No fees
    • Invest anything from $1,000 to $5 million
    • 100% secure online application process
    • Minimum deposit: $1,000
    • Maximum deposit: $5,000,000
    • Can interest be paid to another bank?: yes
    • Automatic rollover: yes
    Overall rating

    7.7

    Based on 47 Bankwest term deposit reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 75 term deposits in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare all term deposits

Look for a specific type of term deposit:

* Different interest rates apply to different amounts or different interest payment frequencies.

Back to top