Teachers Mutual Bank term deposit reviews

Teachers Mutual Bank
Teachers Mutual Bank's overall rating for term deposits

(as rated by the Mozo community)

8.4 / 10

based on 33 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured term deposit from Teachers Mutual Bank

Recent Teachers Mutual Bank term deposit reviews

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank term deposit review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Competitive rates for teachers

The institution is well established and has an excellent record.

Full review

The institution is well established and has an excellent record.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Lynette, Tasmania, reviewed about 1 month ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank term deposit review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Competitive rates for teachers

The institution is well established and has an excellent record.

Full review

The institution is well established and has an excellent record.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Lynette, Victoria, reviewed about 1 month ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank term deposit review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Competitive and great service

Very helpful.

Full review

Very helpful.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Susan, New South Wales, reviewed almost 3 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank term deposit review

Overall rating   4 / 10

No longer a caring Teachers Credit Union

No communication, fees are high and change with no notice.

Full review

No communication, fees are high and change with no notice.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Helen, Victoria, reviewed almost 3 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank term deposit review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great service

Excellent in every way.

Full review

Excellent in every way.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Geoffrey, New South Wales, reviewed about 3 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank term deposit review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Great customer service.

Unfortunately, Term Deposits are a poor investment option as cash rates are so very low. At least my TDs pay above the cash rate but I am penalised for having been a saver and wanting liquidity without all the hassle of trading shares and other...

Full review

Unfortunately, Term Deposits are a poor investment option as cash rates are so very low. At least my TDs pay above the cash rate but I am penalised for having been a saver and wanting liquidity without all the hassle of trading shares and other time consuming paperwork. Term deposits are a means of maintaining liquidity for unforeseen events or for buying into reasonable aged care if or when it is required. The financial institution I use has excellent staff, offer other products and services, are professional, patient, friendly and above all trustworthy. As a self funded retiree the returns do not keep pace with inflation and savings are "penalised" by Centrelink which currently "deems" savings at 2.5% and 3% above a certain limit. Financial advisers suggest putting one's savings into bank shares as the dividends are so much better but the bank profits are obscene.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Lis, New South Wales, reviewed over 3 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank term deposit review

Overall rating   9 / 10

The best service and help in managing a tight time

Amazing service at Teacher Mutual Bank. Committed to helping teachers. They helped me when none other would many years ago and I have never looked back. Our regional head supports actively a Positive Behaviour For Learning framework which now...

Full review

Amazing service at Teacher Mutual Bank. Committed to helping teachers. They helped me when none other would many years ago and I have never looked back. Our regional head supports actively a Positive Behaviour For Learning framework which now operates I many Hunter schools, most successfully. This is very impressive.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Lynley, New South Wales, reviewed over 3 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank term deposit review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Super customer service

The staff are up to date on what is happening around the globe. I have been with them since 1976 and the support they have given me is amazing.

Full review

The staff are up to date on what is happening around the globe. I have been with them since 1976 and the support they have given me is amazing.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Elaine, New South Wales, reviewed over 3 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank term deposit review

Overall rating   10 / 10

as above

Completely honest and competitive

Full review

Completely honest and competitive

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Robert, New South Wales, reviewed almost 4 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank term deposit review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Competitive features and great customer service

Competitive features and great customer service

Full review

Competitive features and great customer service

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Janelle, New South Wales, reviewed almost 4 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank term deposit review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Teachers use it for a reason

I've been with think bank since I was a baby (the day i was born my grandmother opened an account for me) and the bank has always been reliable and everyone in my family has an account with them.

Full review

I've been with think bank since I was a baby (the day i was born my grandmother opened an account for me) and the bank has always been reliable and everyone in my family has an account with them.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Convenience   2 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Jasmine, New South Wales, reviewed almost 4 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank term deposit review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Would never change banks

Have complete trust and faith in Teachers Mutual Bank.

Full review

Have complete trust and faith in Teachers Mutual Bank.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Terry, New South Wales, reviewed about 4 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank term deposit review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Higher interest rates and great customer service

The Teachers' Mutual Bank usually offers higher interest rates than their competitors on fixed deposits. It is a pleasure to do business with them when this is combined with their convenience and friendly, reliable service.

Full review

The Teachers' Mutual Bank usually offers higher interest rates than their competitors on fixed deposits. It is a pleasure to do business with them when this is combined with their convenience and friendly, reliable service.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Robert, New South Wales, reviewed over 4 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank term deposit review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Safe, secure, competitive in the market place

Wide product range, excellent, competitive interest rates, safe, offers special deals.

Full review

Wide product range, excellent, competitive interest rates, safe, offers special deals.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Susanne, New South Wales, reviewed over 4 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank term deposit review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great product range and customer service.

Great customer service and product range.

Full review

Great customer service and product range.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Christine, New South Wales, reviewed almost 5 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank Term Deposit term deposit review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Excellent customer service

I'm comfortable and I trust TMB.

Full review

I'm comfortable and I trust TMB.

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Name not supplied, New South Wales, reviewed about 5 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank Term Deposit term deposit review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Good interest rates with simple rollover options

Very flexible and safe options given, great communications channels available.

Full review

Very flexible and safe options given, great communications channels available.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Name not supplied, New South Wales, reviewed about 5 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank Term Deposit term deposit review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great rates and service for members

Teachers Mutual Bank delivers premium interest rates and quality service to Edvest Members (>50 years old)with it's range of term deposits and savings accounts designed to suit all customers and circumstances. They also remain highly competitive...

Full review

Teachers Mutual Bank delivers premium interest rates and quality service to Edvest Members (>50 years old)with it's range of term deposits and savings accounts designed to suit all customers and circumstances. They also remain highly competitive with their loans options.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Name not supplied, New South Wales, reviewed about 5 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank term deposit review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Awesome customer service and fabulous products.

Awesome customer service and fabulous products.

Full review

Awesome customer service and fabulous products.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

John, Queensland, reviewed about 5 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank term deposit review

Overall rating   4 / 10

mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

could give me a better rate to save

Full review

could give me a better rate to save

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

James, Victoria, reviewed almost 6 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank term deposit review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Teachers Credit Union offers services that have helped make us deliriouly happy in retirement - helpful staff low fees and convenient banking.

Full review

Teachers Credit Union offers services that have helped make us deliriouly happy in retirement - helpful staff low fees and convenient banking.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Kathy hassall, New South Wales, reviewed over 6 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank term deposit review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Much higher interest rate and heaps of term length options. Even though I am the only teacher in my family, everyone else can still get the benefits.

Full review

Much higher interest rate and heaps of term length options. Even though I am the only teacher in my family, everyone else can still get the benefits.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Laura, New South Wales, reviewed about 7 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank term deposit review

Overall rating   8 / 10

I like that they are for teachers initially. They respect and help out teachers and are focused only on them. So you are an individual client, not another number in the banking world. But even if your not a teacher, your family members can enjoy...

Full review

I like that they are for teachers initially. They respect and help out teachers and are focused only on them. So you are an individual client, not another number in the banking world. But even if your not a teacher, your family members can enjoy the benefits too and join up for better rates and service. So now I can give my daughter a savings account with teachers credit union, as well as my mum or brother. You can withdraw your money from any bank ATM, and the fees on an account are only $5 per month for unlimited access to ready ATM machines. As I am a casual teacher, they understand that my work in this position as a teacher is hard and there is a lot of us. They will consider all loans for casual service teachers, which most banks won't consider unless you are a full time employee. Internet and phone banking is easy and safe and you can have easy online or phone contact with the bank. Fax is great too, the minute a fax is sent off about ANYTHING, like asking them to transfer money to a term deposit (I am a big fan of this), it is received by them and deposited almost immediately. You can instantly check online to see that your term deposit has been set up and ready to go. I love teachers credit union for all its low rates, customer service and personalisation to you. The only one real down fall I have about the bank is that they don't have regular walk in branches to do your banking. You can go to their branch in silver water Sydney, but they are more an online-phone bank. To do deposits, the post office is the best bet, and there are plenty of those around so its not to much of a hassle. But that would be my only downfall.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Karen, New South Wales, reviewed about 7 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank term deposit review

Overall rating   10 / 10

This is a fab TCU product. If you need to get some or all of the money out at any time, its easy and very clearly explained how withdrawals affect interest rate & earnings. Turnaround times for withdrawals are extremely efficient and prompt. ...

Full review

This is a fab TCU product. If you need to get some or all of the money out at any time, its easy and very clearly explained how withdrawals affect interest rate & earnings. Turnaround times for withdrawals are extremely efficient and prompt. Love it!

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Catherine, New South Wales, reviewed over 7 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank term deposit review

Overall rating   7 / 10

pro: easy to organise, easy to renew, options on where interest goes and how frequently, renewal reminder and options con: might get a slightly higher rate elsewhere

Full review

pro: easy to organise, easy to renew, options on where interest goes and how frequently, renewal reminder and options con: might get a slightly higher rate elsewhere

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Coni, New South Wales, reviewed over 7 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Term deposit comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • Bank Australia Term Deposit Special

    Bank Australia Term Deposit Special

    • A high interest rate for a 6 month term deposit special
    • Minimum $5,000 deposit
    • Apply from an easy online application form

    interest rate*

    2.80% p.a.
    6 months

    Minimum deposit

    $5,000

    Go to site

    More info

    • A high interest rate for a 6 month term deposit special
    • Minimum $5,000 deposit
    • Apply from an easy online application form
    • Maximum deposit: $
    • Can interest be paid to another bank?: no
    • Automatic rollover: yes
    Overall rating

    8.5

    Based on 21 Bank Australia term deposit reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Featured product

     

    Citi Term Deposit Special

    Citi Term Deposit Special

    • Competitive rates for new to bank funds
    • $0 Setup and account-keeping fees
    • Guaranteed interest rate

    interest rate*

    3.00% p.a.
    1 year

    Minimum deposit

    $100,000

    Go to site

    More info

    • Competitive rates for new to bank funds
    • $0 Setup and account-keeping fees
    • Guaranteed interest rate
    • Maximum deposit: $2,000,000
    • Can interest be paid to another bank?: no
    • Automatic rollover: yes
    Overall rating

    6.7

    Based on 15 Citi term deposit reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Macquarie Term Deposit

    Macquarie Term Deposit

    • No upfront or ongoing fees
    • Competitive rates
    • Flexible interest payments and investment terms rate payments

    interest rate*

    2.60% p.a.
    6 months

    Minimum deposit

    $10,000

    Go to site

    More info

    • No upfront or ongoing fees
    • Competitive rates
    • Flexible interest payments and investment terms rate payments
    • Maximum deposit: $1,000,000
    • Can interest be paid to another bank?: yes
    • Automatic rollover: yes
    Overall rating

    7.9

    Based on 16 Macquarie term deposit reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • AMP Term Deposit

    AMP Term Deposit

    • No account fees
    • Decent returns earning interest on your savings
    • Interest payable every one, three or six months (special conditions or reduced rates apply)

    interest rate*

    2.80% p.a.
    1 year

    Minimum deposit

    $25,000

    Go to site

    More info

    • No account fees
    • Decent returns earning interest on your savings
    • Interest payable every one, three or six months (special conditions or reduced rates apply)
    • Maximum deposit: $5,000,000
    • Can interest be paid to another bank?: yes
    • Automatic rollover: yes
    Overall rating

    5.7

    Based on 15 AMP term deposit reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MyState Bank Online Term Deposit

    MyState Bank Online Term Deposit

    • No set-up or account keeping fees
    • Apply online in minutes
    • Deposits up to $250,000 per customer are guaranteed by the Australian Government

    interest rate*

    2.70% p.a.
    1 year

    Minimum deposit

    $5,000

    Go to site

    More info

    • No set-up or account keeping fees
    • Apply online in minutes
    • Deposits up to $250,000 per customer are guaranteed by the Australian Government
    • Maximum deposit: $5,000,000
    • Can interest be paid to another bank?: yes
    • Automatic rollover: yes
    Overall rating

    8.6

    Based on 27 MyState Bank term deposit reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 81 term deposits in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more term deposits

Look for a specific type of term deposit:

*Different interest rates apply to different amounts or different interest payment frequencies.

Back to top