Teachers Mutual Bank personal loan reviews

Teachers Mutual Bank
Teachers Mutual Bank's overall rating for personal loans

(as rated by the Mozo community)

8.1 / 10

based on 43 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured personal loan from Teachers Mutual Bank

Recent Teachers Mutual Bank personal loan reviews

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank All Purpose Loan (Variable, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Great customer service.

Interest rates on personal loans are far too high. When interest rates are at all time lows, why are we still paying over 13% for personal loans?

Full review

Interest rates on personal loans are far too high. When interest rates are at all time lows, why are we still paying over 13% for personal loans?

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Carmel, New South Wales, reviewed almost 4 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank All Purpose Loan (Variable, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Good

It's ok.

Full review

It's ok.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Max, New South Wales, reviewed almost 4 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank All Purpose Loan (Variable, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service and competitive products

Service is very personal and helpful. Easy redraw of extra payments with no charges for doing so. Services are designed with our needs in mind.

Full review

Service is very personal and helpful. Easy redraw of extra payments with no charges for doing so. Services are designed with our needs in mind.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jacqui, New South Wales, reviewed almost 4 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Fantastic Customer Service & Very Competitive Rate

Why this financial institution Teachers Mutual Bank, formally know as NSW Teachers Credit Union. I have been with them for approximately 30+ years & their customer service is great, they have drinks (fruit juice, bottled water) & also have diaries...

Full review

Why this financial institution Teachers Mutual Bank, formally know as NSW Teachers Credit Union. I have been with them for approximately 30+ years & their customer service is great, they have drinks (fruit juice, bottled water) & also have diaries on hand for their customers. But better than that their interest rates are very good & as a customer on a disability pension due to cancer, they even gave me a loan & not a small one either..as I want to start my own little business to get off the disability pension & get back to being more independent again. They are a very helpful in every way & give you many options, their interest rates are great & most of all they remember your name way before you have given them your details & you're always greeted with a smile & resect. Thanking the Teacher's Mutual Bank or giving me the chance & opportunity to start my coffee business.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Belinda, New South Wales, reviewed about 4 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank personal loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Fantastic service

Best bank to deal with, simple and easy.

Full review

Best bank to deal with, simple and easy.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Courtney, New South Wales, reviewed over 4 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Looks after its clients

The service is always outstanding. You can pay off early without penalty and borrow small amounts to tide you over in difficult times. Unfortunately, there are not many actual locations. However the telephone, web and workplace visits are great.

Full review

The service is always outstanding. You can pay off early without penalty and borrow small amounts to tide you over in difficult times. Unfortunately, there are not many actual locations. However the telephone, web and workplace visits are great.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Rebecca, , reviewed almost 5 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank All Purpose Loan (Variable, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great range of products and services.

Excellent customer service. Friendly staff. Great product range.

Full review

Excellent customer service. Friendly staff. Great product range.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Christine, New South Wales, reviewed over 5 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank All Purpose Loan (Variable, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Simple and easy to organise. No hassles or stress.

Teacher's Mutual make it simple and easy to organise a personal loan for a variety of things. I organised mine simply, over the phone as the people were extremely helpful and efficient. It was quickly finalised and the money was available with no...

Full review

Teacher's Mutual make it simple and easy to organise a personal loan for a variety of things. I organised mine simply, over the phone as the people were extremely helpful and efficient. It was quickly finalised and the money was available with no trouble. I opted for a direct debit repayment from my account which was easy for me and ensured I never missed a repayment.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Meredith, New South Wales, reviewed over 5 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank personal loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great rates and extremely accessible

Great competitive rates and quick transition to make it all happen!

Full review

Great competitive rates and quick transition to make it all happen!

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Name not supplied, Victoria, reviewed over 5 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank Travel Loan (Variable, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Excellent service given to me by all the staff

This mutual bank went out of their way to let me take out a personal loan after my brother died suddenly at 50yo. I decided then and there that I needed to live life and enjoy it more. It only took 3 days for the loans person to organise...

Full review

This mutual bank went out of their way to let me take out a personal loan after my brother died suddenly at 50yo. I decided then and there that I needed to live life and enjoy it more. It only took 3 days for the loans person to organise everything without me leaving home. I took out a loan for a trip to Europe and I had the best time. I am also hoping to go to the UK next year with their help.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Name not supplied, Victoria, reviewed over 5 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank All Purpose Loan (Variable, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

This excellent loan got me through university .

Very understanding and helpful staff. Great rate and easy to manage.

Full review

Very understanding and helpful staff. Great rate and easy to manage.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Name not supplied, New South Wales, reviewed over 5 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank All Purpose Loan (Variable, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

There is a real person, and they care about you.

If you aren't with the Teacher's Mutual Bank I strongly recommend marrying someone who is to get in the door. They have been great, from organising our personal loan for our wedding, to setting up my accounts when I transferred from St George....

Full review

If you aren't with the Teacher's Mutual Bank I strongly recommend marrying someone who is to get in the door. They have been great, from organising our personal loan for our wedding, to setting up my accounts when I transferred from St George. They called me - twice in the first month to confirm that everything was going well and to ask if I need any help. There is even a real person who answers the phone most of the time. There is only one con. They have only one branch in Sydney - in Homebush, but really how often do you need a branch? They are part of the Redi/NAB atm network so there is generally an ATM close by.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Laura, New South Wales, reviewed over 5 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank Car Loan (Variable, Secured) personal loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Try another bank

Hard to talk to, too far away. Cannot speak to who you want, never available.

Full review

Hard to talk to, too far away. Cannot speak to who you want, never available.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   2 / 10

Less

Name not supplied, New South Wales, reviewed over 5 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank All Purpose Loan (Variable, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service and easy access

Convenient for teachers, speed of processing applications, readiness for assistance, good facility for redraws.

Full review

Convenient for teachers, speed of processing applications, readiness for assistance, good facility for redraws.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Kathy, New South Wales, reviewed over 6 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank All Purpose Loan (Variable, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Real, friendly, trustworthy business!

Another fantastic bank. When I travelled to their branch to pick up my check, they later called to make sure I had found the car dealership safely and picked up the car! Awesome customer service!

Full review

Another fantastic bank. When I travelled to their branch to pick up my check, they later called to make sure I had found the car dealership safely and picked up the car! Awesome customer service!

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Kyl, New South Wales, reviewed almost 7 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Personal loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • St.George Secured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    St.George Secured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    • Fast online application, submit and receive a response in 60 seconds
    • Fliexible loan terms
    • Borrow from $2K to $80K

    interest rate

    8.49% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    9.60% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    fees

    $195.00upfront
    and
    $12.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 8.49% would cost $37,836.08 including fees.

    • Fast online application, submit and receive a response in 60 seconds
    • Fliexible loan terms
    • Borrow from $2K to $80K
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $195
    • Monthly fee: $12.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Vehicle
    • Minimum loan amount: $3,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $80,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 5 Years
    Overall rating

    6.9

    Based on 444 St.George personal loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Australian Military Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    Australian Military Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    • A Fixed Rate Personal Loan gives you the peace of mind in knowing what your repayments will be for the life of your loan
    • Tailored rates based on your personal credit history
    • Apply Online. No penalty for early repayment

    interest rate

    7.93% p.a.to 18.87% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    8.77% p.a.to 20.27% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    fees

    $100.00upfront
    and
    $10.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 7.93% would cost $37,137.24 including fees.

    • A Fixed Rate Personal Loan gives you the peace of mind in knowing what your repayments will be for the life of your loan
    • Tailored rates based on your personal credit history
    • Apply Online. No penalty for early repayment
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $100
    • Monthly fee: $10.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $1,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $80,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 5 Years
    Overall rating

    5.9

    Based on 33 Australian Military Bank personal loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2018

    Harmoney Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    Harmoney Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    • Up to $70,000, unsecured. Fast, easy & 100% online
    • No hidden fees or early repayment penalties with Australasia's leading marketplace lending website
    • You're unique, so is your interest rate

    interest rate

    6.99% p.a.to 28.69% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    7.69% p.a.to 29.55% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    fees

    $500.00upfront
    and
    $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 6.99% would cost $36,133.67 including fees.

    • Up to $70,000, unsecured. Fast, easy & 100% online
    • No hidden fees or early repayment penalties with Australasia's leading marketplace lending website
    • You're unique, so is your interest rate
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $500
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $5,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $70,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 5 Years
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • ING Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    ING Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    • A competitive fixed interest rate of 8.99% p.a. (comparison rate 9.13% p.a.).
    • Keep it simple with no monthly or annual fees.
    • Pay it off earlier, without early repayment fees

    interest rate

    8.99% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    9.13% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    fees

    $100.00upfront
    and
    $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 2 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 8.99% would cost $37,456.30 including fees.

    • A competitive fixed interest rate of 8.99% p.a. (comparison rate 9.13% p.a.).
    • Keep it simple with no monthly or annual fees.
    • Pay it off earlier, without early repayment fees
    • Other benefits: Establishment fee waived when you have an active Orange Everyday at the time of application or request to open an Orange Everyday account with your ING Personal Loan to receive loan funds.
    • Upfront fee: $100
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $5,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $30,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 2 Years
    • Maximum loan term: 5 Years
    Overall rating

    7.7

    Based on 6 ING personal loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • ANZ Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    ANZ Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    • A Fixed Personal Loan with terms from 1 to 7 years
    • 60 Sec. Response time
    • Borrow up to $50,000

    interest rate

    12.45% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    13.32% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    fees

    $150.00upfront
    and
    $10.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 12.45% would cost $41,500.53 including fees.

    • A Fixed Personal Loan with terms from 1 to 7 years
    • 60 Sec. Response time
    • Borrow up to $50,000
    • Other benefits: ANZ Loan Protection Insurance available.
    • Upfront fee: $150
    • Monthly fee: $10.00
    • Exit fee: $300.00
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $5,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $50,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 7 Years
    Overall rating

    6.9

    Based on 1149 ANZ personal loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

*The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a personal loan. The comparison rates displayed are calculated based on a loan of $30,000 for a term of 5 years or a loan of $10,000 for a term of 3 years as indicated, based on monthly principal and interest repayments, on a secured basis for secured loans and an unsecured basis for unsecured loans. WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

Want more? Compare all 206 personal loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more personal loans

Look for a specific type of personal loan:

*The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a personal loan. The comparison rates displayed are calculated based on a loan of $30,000 for a term of 5 years or a loan of $10,000 for a term of 3 years as indicated, based on monthly principal and interest repayments, on a secured basis for secured loans and an unsecured basis for unsecured loans. WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

Back to top