Teachers Mutual Bank personal loan reviews

Teachers Mutual Bank
Teachers Mutual Bank's overall rating for personal loans

(as rated by the Mozo community)

8.1 / 10

based on 43 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured personal loan from Teachers Mutual Bank

Recent Teachers Mutual Bank personal loan reviews

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank All Purpose Loan (Variable, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Great customer service.

Interest rates on personal loans are far too high. When interest rates are at all time lows, why are we still paying over 13% for personal loans?

Full review

Interest rates on personal loans are far too high. When interest rates are at all time lows, why are we still paying over 13% for personal loans?

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Carmel, New South Wales, reviewed over 3 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank All Purpose Loan (Variable, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Good

It's ok.

Full review

It's ok.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Max, New South Wales, reviewed over 3 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank All Purpose Loan (Variable, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service and competitive products

Service is very personal and helpful. Easy redraw of extra payments with no charges for doing so. Services are designed with our needs in mind.

Full review

Service is very personal and helpful. Easy redraw of extra payments with no charges for doing so. Services are designed with our needs in mind.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jacqui, New South Wales, reviewed over 3 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Fantastic Customer Service & Very Competitive Rate

Why this financial institution Teachers Mutual Bank, formally know as NSW Teachers Credit Union. I have been with them for approximately 30+ years & their customer service is great, they have drinks (fruit juice, bottled water) & also have diaries...

Full review

Why this financial institution Teachers Mutual Bank, formally know as NSW Teachers Credit Union. I have been with them for approximately 30+ years & their customer service is great, they have drinks (fruit juice, bottled water) & also have diaries on hand for their customers. But better than that their interest rates are very good & as a customer on a disability pension due to cancer, they even gave me a loan & not a small one either..as I want to start my own little business to get off the disability pension & get back to being more independent again. They are a very helpful in every way & give you many options, their interest rates are great & most of all they remember your name way before you have given them your details & you're always greeted with a smile & resect. Thanking the Teacher's Mutual Bank or giving me the chance & opportunity to start my coffee business.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Belinda, New South Wales, reviewed almost 4 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank personal loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Fantastic service

Best bank to deal with, simple and easy.

Full review

Best bank to deal with, simple and easy.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Courtney, New South Wales, reviewed about 4 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Looks after its clients

The service is always outstanding. You can pay off early without penalty and borrow small amounts to tide you over in difficult times. Unfortunately, there are not many actual locations. However the telephone, web and workplace visits are great.

Full review

The service is always outstanding. You can pay off early without penalty and borrow small amounts to tide you over in difficult times. Unfortunately, there are not many actual locations. However the telephone, web and workplace visits are great.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Rebecca, , reviewed over 4 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank All Purpose Loan (Variable, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great range of products and services.

Excellent customer service. Friendly staff. Great product range.

Full review

Excellent customer service. Friendly staff. Great product range.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Christine, New South Wales, reviewed about 5 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank All Purpose Loan (Variable, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Simple and easy to organise. No hassles or stress.

Teacher's Mutual make it simple and easy to organise a personal loan for a variety of things. I organised mine simply, over the phone as the people were extremely helpful and efficient. It was quickly finalised and the money was available with no...

Full review

Teacher's Mutual make it simple and easy to organise a personal loan for a variety of things. I organised mine simply, over the phone as the people were extremely helpful and efficient. It was quickly finalised and the money was available with no trouble. I opted for a direct debit repayment from my account which was easy for me and ensured I never missed a repayment.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Meredith, New South Wales, reviewed about 5 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank personal loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great rates and extremely accessible

Great competitive rates and quick transition to make it all happen!

Full review

Great competitive rates and quick transition to make it all happen!

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Name not supplied, Victoria, reviewed over 5 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank Travel Loan (Variable, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Excellent service given to me by all the staff

This mutual bank went out of their way to let me take out a personal loan after my brother died suddenly at 50yo. I decided then and there that I needed to live life and enjoy it more. It only took 3 days for the loans person to organise...

Full review

This mutual bank went out of their way to let me take out a personal loan after my brother died suddenly at 50yo. I decided then and there that I needed to live life and enjoy it more. It only took 3 days for the loans person to organise everything without me leaving home. I took out a loan for a trip to Europe and I had the best time. I am also hoping to go to the UK next year with their help.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Name not supplied, Victoria, reviewed over 5 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank All Purpose Loan (Variable, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

This excellent loan got me through university .

Very understanding and helpful staff. Great rate and easy to manage.

Full review

Very understanding and helpful staff. Great rate and easy to manage.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Name not supplied, New South Wales, reviewed over 5 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank All Purpose Loan (Variable, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

There is a real person, and they care about you.

If you aren't with the Teacher's Mutual Bank I strongly recommend marrying someone who is to get in the door. They have been great, from organising our personal loan for our wedding, to setting up my accounts when I transferred from St George....

Full review

If you aren't with the Teacher's Mutual Bank I strongly recommend marrying someone who is to get in the door. They have been great, from organising our personal loan for our wedding, to setting up my accounts when I transferred from St George. They called me - twice in the first month to confirm that everything was going well and to ask if I need any help. There is even a real person who answers the phone most of the time. There is only one con. They have only one branch in Sydney - in Homebush, but really how often do you need a branch? They are part of the Redi/NAB atm network so there is generally an ATM close by.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Laura, New South Wales, reviewed over 5 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank Car Loan (Variable, Secured) personal loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Try another bank

Hard to talk to, too far away. Cannot speak to who you want, never available.

Full review

Hard to talk to, too far away. Cannot speak to who you want, never available.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   2 / 10

Less

Name not supplied, New South Wales, reviewed over 5 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank All Purpose Loan (Variable, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service and easy access

Convenient for teachers, speed of processing applications, readiness for assistance, good facility for redraws.

Full review

Convenient for teachers, speed of processing applications, readiness for assistance, good facility for redraws.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Kathy, New South Wales, reviewed almost 6 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank All Purpose Loan (Variable, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Real, friendly, trustworthy business!

Another fantastic bank. When I travelled to their branch to pick up my check, they later called to make sure I had found the car dealership safely and picked up the car! Awesome customer service!

Full review

Another fantastic bank. When I travelled to their branch to pick up my check, they later called to make sure I had found the car dealership safely and picked up the car! Awesome customer service!

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Kyl, New South Wales, reviewed over 6 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank personal loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Teachers Credit bent over backwards to ensure my personal loan met my needs. It allowed for easy application online and provide all necessary forms by mail with a return stamped envelope. The request was processed quickly and effficiently.

Full review

Teachers Credit bent over backwards to ensure my personal loan met my needs. It allowed for easy application online and provide all necessary forms by mail with a return stamped envelope. The request was processed quickly and effficiently.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Gaianne, New South Wales, reviewed almost 7 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank personal loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

The interest rates and features are always fantastic - you always know that you are going to get one of the best deals around.

Full review

The interest rates and features are always fantastic - you always know that you are going to get one of the best deals around.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Kim, New South Wales, reviewed almost 7 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

The teachers credit union is efficient to deal with, always quick to respond to requests either by person, phone or email. Would highly recommend.

Full review

The teachers credit union is efficient to deal with, always quick to respond to requests either by person, phone or email. Would highly recommend.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Kerrie, New South Wales, reviewed about 7 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank personal loan review

Overall rating   3 / 10

the rates are crap,no good options unless you go in as a loyal customer and ask for a better offer

Full review

the rates are crap,no good options unless you go in as a loyal customer and ask for a better offer

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Helen, Victoria, reviewed about 7 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Teachers Credit Union provides its members with the most competitive rates on loans, cards and general accounts. They have always made me feel that it's their job to find ways to ensure I get what I want rather than reasons not to allow me to have...

Full review

Teachers Credit Union provides its members with the most competitive rates on loans, cards and general accounts. They have always made me feel that it's their job to find ways to ensure I get what I want rather than reasons not to allow me to have it.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Anne, New South Wales, reviewed over 7 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great interesrt rates and really look after teachers - they understand our needs.

Full review

Great interesrt rates and really look after teachers - they understand our needs.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Kim, New South Wales, reviewed over 7 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank personal loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

great interest rates and customer service for teachers.

Full review

great interest rates and customer service for teachers.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Nicole lord, New South Wales, reviewed almost 8 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank personal loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

They are ok because they look after their teachers. I find that their rates are a little high though.

Full review

They are ok because they look after their teachers. I find that their rates are a little high though.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Debbie, New South Wales, reviewed about 8 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank personal loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Like: Having used this site to compare rates and fees on my existing Personal Loan, I found that it had by far and away the most competitive interest rate. It has no fees or penalties. I also find that the staff are always sensitive and caring...

Full review

Like: Having used this site to compare rates and fees on my existing Personal Loan, I found that it had by far and away the most competitive interest rate. It has no fees or penalties. I also find that the staff are always sensitive and caring and if you have any concerns, they listen to them and take action when you have brought a problem to their attention. The organisation takes care of their members in the way they operate and price their products.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Ian, New South Wales, reviewed about 8 years ago

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank personal loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

The interest rate is a little high, but most competitive with other financial institutions. I've found the staff very friendly & helpful. The re-draw facility is handy if you are a little short from time to time. All banking is done on line as...

Full review

The interest rate is a little high, but most competitive with other financial institutions. I've found the staff very friendly & helpful. The re-draw facility is handy if you are a little short from time to time. All banking is done on line as there is only 2 branches in Sydney. But I've not had any issues with this. If you need direct contact you can call until 7pm weeknights which is very handy. I get all my statements on line which is good for the environment & more secure than having statements sitting around in your post box.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Sadie, New South Wales, reviewed about 8 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Personal loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • HSBC Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    HSBC Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    • Apply online and get an instant response in 60 seconds
    • Borrow from $5,000 up to $50,000
    • Fixed set monthly repayment terms to help you manage your budget

    interest rate

    8.50% p.a.to 16.99% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    9.06% p.a.to 17.53% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    fees

    $150.00upfront
    and
    $5.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 8.50% would cost $37,379.76 including fees.

    • Apply online and get an instant response in 60 seconds
    • Borrow from $5,000 up to $50,000
    • Fixed set monthly repayment terms to help you manage your budget
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $150
    • Monthly fee: $5.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $5,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $50,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 5 Years
    Overall rating

    6.4

    Based on 19 HSBC personal loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Australian Military Bank Unsecured Personal Loan - Excellent Credit (Variable)

    Australian Military Bank Unsecured Personal Loan - Excellent Credit (Variable)

    • A Variable Rate Personal Loan giving you flexibility, a competitive interest rate and fast approval
    • Tailored rates based on your personal credit history
    • Apply online. Redraw Facility

    interest rate

    7.88% p.a.to 18.82% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    8.72% p.a.to 20.22% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    fees

    $100.00upfront
    and
    $10.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 7.88% would cost $37,094.22 including fees.

    • A Variable Rate Personal Loan giving you flexibility, a competitive interest rate and fast approval
    • Tailored rates based on your personal credit history
    • Apply online. Redraw Facility
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $100
    • Monthly fee: $10.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $1,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $80,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 7 Years
    Overall rating

    5.9

    Based on 33 Australian Military Bank personal loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • ANZ Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    ANZ Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    • A Fixed Personal Loan with terms from 1 to 7 years
    • 60 Sec. Response time
    • Borrow up to $50,000

    interest rate

    12.45% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    13.32% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    fees

    $150.00upfront
    and
    $10.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 12.45% would cost $41,500.53 including fees.

    • A Fixed Personal Loan with terms from 1 to 7 years
    • 60 Sec. Response time
    • Borrow up to $50,000
    • Other benefits: ANZ Loan Protection Insurance available.
    • Upfront fee: $150
    • Monthly fee: $10.00
    • Exit fee: $300.00
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $5,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $50,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 7 Years
    Overall rating

    6.9

    Based on 1149 ANZ personal loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • SocietyOne Unsecured Personal Loan - Excellent Credit (Fixed)

    SocietyOne Unsecured Personal Loan - Excellent Credit (Fixed)

    • Low rates that reward your good credit
    • Apply online in minutes
    • No monthly or early repayment fees

    interest rate

    7.50% p.a.to 9.99% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    9.51% p.a.to 12.71% p.a.based on $10,000
    over 3 years

    fees

    $300.00upfront
    and
    $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 2 to 3 years. Representative example: a 3 year $10,000 loan at 7.50% would cost $11,498.24 including fees.

    • Low rates that reward your good credit
    • Apply online in minutes
    • No monthly or early repayment fees
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $300
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $5,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $50,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 2 Years
    • Maximum loan term: 3 Years
    Overall rating

    4.0

    Based on 2 SocietyOne personal loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • NAB Personal Loan (Variable, Unsecured)

    NAB Personal Loan (Variable, Unsecured)

    • Borrow from $5,000 - $55,000
    • No fees for extra or early repayments
    • 12.69% is the headline rate. The headline rate is the rate that the majority of NAB personal loan customers will get

    interest rate

    12.69% p.a.to 18.69% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    13.56% p.a.to 19.53% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    fees

    $150.00upfront
    and
    $10.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 12.69% would cost $41,420.45 including fees.

    • Borrow from $5,000 - $55,000
    • No fees for extra or early repayments
    • 12.69% is the headline rate. The headline rate is the rate that the majority of NAB personal loan customers will get
    • Other benefits: Headline rate displayed above, rates start as low as 10.69% based on credit history.
    • Upfront fee: $150
    • Monthly fee: $10.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $5,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $55,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 7 Years
    Overall rating

    6.8

    Based on 831 NAB personal loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

*The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a personal loan. The comparison rates displayed are calculated based on a loan of $30,000 for a term of 5 years or a loan of $10,000 for a term of 3 years as indicated, based on monthly principal and interest repayments, on a secured basis for secured loans and an unsecured basis for unsecured loans. WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

Want more? Compare all 199 personal loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more personal loans

Look for a specific type of personal loan:

*The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a personal loan. The comparison rates displayed are calculated based on a loan of $30,000 for a term of 5 years or a loan of $10,000 for a term of 3 years as indicated, based on monthly principal and interest repayments, on a secured basis for secured loans and an unsecured basis for unsecured loans. WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

Back to top