Virgin Money logo

Virgin Money Credit card reviews

Overall rating
Price
Features
Customer service
Convenience
Trust
Based on 225 credit card reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent Virgin Money credit card customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Virgin Money No Annual Fee Card

    Poor treatment of customers.

    I applied for a yearly fee free card and supplied all the necessary documents showing I had income of $78,000 after tax. My credit rating is 820 and I own my own house, car and have 3 large term deposits and have no debt. I have a perfectly clear credit history i.e. never defaulted and no bankruptcy. I supplied copies of my last two tax returns, 6 months of bank statements and statements of my public service pension. I was refused a credit card and was never given any reason. I called the verification centre to understand why the refusal and they refused to give any details and from what they said it was clear they didn't understand the difference between CentreLink payments and my public service pension. It appears that their verification staff have a poor knowledge of Australian financial matters.

    Price
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Dean, New South Wales, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Virgin Money Virgin Australia Velocity High Flyer Card

    Great customer service

    Excellent customer service and excellent bonus point , interest-free and shopping voucher offers.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Michelle, Victoria, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Virgin Money Credit Card

    Cannot be trusted

    The customer services did not do what were agreed over the phone. When followed up, they twisted the facts, denied what had been said, or claimed that they did not have the records.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Boris, New South Wales, reviewed 8 months ago
  • Virgin Money Credit Card

    Awful service.

    Customer service is terrible. You can be a day late with a payment and they will harass you non stop with phone calls. Would not recommend.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Sharon, Western Australia, reviewed 8 months ago
  • Virgin Money Low Rate Card

    Virgin money is a good bank to deal with

    I like virgin money because of their ease of access and great customer service.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Kobi, New South Wales, reviewed 12 months ago
  • Virgin Money

    Stay away.

    Card approval process is pathetic. They call you for more information on your application at 8am in the morning for two days and if you don't respond to that, even if you are in medical emergency situation, these people will reject your application and cover up by saying "not meeting the criteria". So responding to their calls irrespective of your situation is one of their criteria. Please stay away from these guys, the customer service is arrogant and egoistic.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Mahendran, Western Australia, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Virgin Money Credit Card

    Interest charging method is disgusting!

    If you don't pay your closing balance in full they still charge you for interest on the total closing balance! Not just the portion you haven't paid. They also don't factor in other credits to your account. Absolutely disgusting - moving to Qantas points for sure!

    Features
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Kirra, Queensland, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Virgin Money Credit Card

    No service- Nothing

    No service.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Simon, Queensland, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Virgin Money Virgin Australia Velocity Flyer Card - Balance Transfer Offer

    Great credit card on offer

    Balance transfer is easy after approval. Virgin Frequent Flyer points per purchase a definite plus.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    James, New South Wales, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Virgin Money Virgin Australia Velocity Flyer Card - Bonus Points Offer

    Incompetent and will lie to you

    Completely incompetent, zero customer service. Have not done as promised several times over a two week period.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Steve, Victoria, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Virgin Money Credit Card

    Fees should be more competitive

    The only reason I took up a Virgin Money credit card was so that I can earn Velocity points quicker to redeem flights. I pay off my credit card each cycle; therefore interest rate is not a big issue. There is an annual fee and additional card holder fee that I have to pay. Not worth it to redeem other products as it caused a lot of points.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Less
    Vicky, Western Australia, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Virgin Money Virgin Australia Velocity Flyer Card - Balance Transfer Offer

    Very helpful customer service.

    Virgin Money were always easy to talk to and offer you good savings. If you have trouble meeting payments they offer your balance as a loan so you can pay it off.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Coral, New South Wales, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Virgin Money Virgin Australia Velocity Flyer Card - Bonus Points Offer

    I enjoy the reward benefits.

    I enjoy the benefits of the points.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Jamel, Victoria, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Virgin Money No Annual Fee Card

    Bizarre and worrying security check.

    Bizarre application. I called to follow up my online application and was asked for my 5th previous residence (I couldn't recall the street number). Also I have had my electricity provider for the last 3 residences and he asked how about before that? I offered to give him my current address and he said not required!

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Mark, Queensland, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Virgin Money Virgin Australia Velocity Flyer Card - Balance Transfer Offer

    Please avoid if you are going for BT and bonus pts

    They mentioned in their website "Earn up to 70,000 bonus Velocity Points & 0% p.a. for 18 months on balance transfers (reverts to cash advance rate). No interest-free days apply when you have a balance transfer. Plus, enjoy half the annual fee in your first year, $129 thereafter". But you can't earn bonus points with Balance transfer which we understood only after activating the card. Or they charge interest for the entire balance transfer if you use for balance credit.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Jeremiah, Victoria, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Credit card comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Low Rate Credit Card

      Purchase rate
      0% p.a. for 12 months then 11.99% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      0% p.a. for 12 months and then 11.99% p.a. (2.00% balance transfer fee)
      Annual fee
      $45
      Rewards program

      Promoted
    • Low Rate Credit Card

      Purchase rate
      11.99% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      0% p.a. for 25 months and then 21.74% p.a.
      Annual fee
      $49 $0 in the first year
      Rewards program

      Promoted
    • Rewards Card

      Purchase rate
      20.99% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      0% p.a. for 20 months and then 20.99% p.a.
      Annual fee
      $0
      Rewards program
      PayPal Rewards

      Promoted
    • Low Rate - Cashback Offer

      Purchase rate
      13.74% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      No current offer
      Annual fee
      $59 $0 in the first year
      Rewards program

      Promoted
    • Platinum Credit Card

      Purchase rate
      19.99% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      0% p.a. for 25 months and then 21.74% p.a.
      Annual fee
      $149 $0 in the first year
      Rewards program
      Great Southen Bank Platinum Rewards

      Promoted

    **Saving based on the average difference in fees and charges over 3 years between the most competitive product Mozo can refer a consumer to and the average credit card product input by 6,863 consumers (average balance of $4,262 or balance transfer balance of $5,818, interest rate of 19.6% and annual fee of $36.50) who used the Mozo Credit Card Health Check tool between 1 January 2012 to July 2012.

    Want more? Compare all 215 credit cards in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more credit cards

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.