Virgin Money logo

Virgin Money Credit card customer reviews

Overall rating
5.5/10
Price
5.9/10
Features
6.1/10
Customer service
5.2/10
Convenience
5.3/10
Trust
5.4/10
Based on 236 Virgin Money credit card reviews as rated by the Mozo customers. More about the Mozo Customer Ratings.
Mozo recommends that ratings are only one factor to be taken into account when deciding whether to take up any financial product offer.
Write a review

Recent Virgin Money credit card customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Virgin Money Credit Card

    The worst credit card I have ever had. The app is

    The worst credit card I have ever had. The app is rubbish you can't even see your transactions. Constantly receiving Fraud charges! Useless overseas. I purchased a new Apple iPhone this year and I have been constantly charged fraudulently by Apple every month since July. Cancelled my Virgin Credit Card and changed my Apple password so many times.... how can they keep getting this so wrong? Now here we are in November and still, charges appear from Apple on the 2nd of November, I could see it because I couldn't access the transactions (statement) until the 20th of November. This card and bank is so outdated and bad!! It's also useless when travelling, I was in Thailand at the start of the year and you can't even look at your statement to pay the amount due. It is not recognised anywhere. Pack your stuff and get out Virgin you are useless!

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Katrina, Victoria, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Virgin Money Virgin Australia Velocity Flyer Card - Bonus Points Offer

    Inconvenient and not flexible

    It takes 3 days for my transfer to show up in my credit card. I cannot have payments come out when I need to as the money I transferred is in limbo. I have never had this happen before with any other card.

    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Ivan, New South Wales, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Virgin Money Credit Card

    Don t do it, just don't do it.

    Don t do it, just don't do it. We have been asked 6 times to send and re send h extra details through as they had not received it. When we checked they confirmed they had all the information. 10 days later we were contacted to say they were still waiting on our information. A true definition of incompetent.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Stuart, Queensland, reviewed 10 months ago
  • Virgin Money Low Rate Card

    False information provided then no help given

    I applied for this card after checking that a balance transfer is possible due to my current card having a unique transfer requirement. I was told it was, after being approved for a $18k card, I was told it was not. So now I am saddled with a card I can't use for the primary reason I needed one. There has been no follow up, no assistance, and no response to a complaint I submitted. I 1000% regret even applying, and never would have if they didn't provide incorrect information, which I cannot help but feel I was told just to get me to open a card with them.

    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Belinda, Victoria, reviewed 10 months ago
  • Virgin Money Credit Card

    Lies about card offers. Avoid.

    Took out a card with a bonus points offer. Points were not credited after eligible time. Customer service had no idea what offer this was despite this being on the website consistently for past 6 months. The agent advised it needed to be investigated and they would contact me within 5 days. 10 days later and no contact. When I followed up, they said the card I applied for had no offer, despite the exact same offer is shown on the website with the exact same card design that I have. They offered to close my account and made no attempt to resolve. Rubbish.

    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    L aura, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed 11 months ago
  • Virgin Money Virgin Australia Velocity Flyer Card - Bonus Points Offer

    Stay away!

    They charge INTL transactions fees even you process the payment via an Australian terminal. Non of the other banks do it.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Viraj, Victoria, reviewed 12 months ago
  • Virgin Money Credit Card

    Worst customer service ever

    VirginMoney has the worst customer service I have every experienced in my life. I will never use virgin again in my life

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    John, Queensland, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Virgin Money Virgin Australia Velocity Flyer Card - Bonus Points Offer

    Inefficient time wasting organisation

    An extremely inefficient organisation. Lodged my paperwork advised conditionally approved. Sent all required tax returns assessments. Every week since application lodged 6 weeks now l receive an sms to say they require fuether paperwork. First call they tell me sorry we have it next time it’s in assessin on it In I each sms requesting further information they tell me they have all paperwork telling me its being assessed. I have no debt own my own home work full time and earn about 5 times their taxable income requirement. Wanted it for velocity points as a gold member. Last call on Friday when they sent a further sms for more information and then told me to ignore the message that it was in assessing was my request to withdraw application. Never wasted so much of my time with any organisation. Do not touch or waste your time hopeless hopeless hopeless.

    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Angela, Victoria, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Virgin Money Credit Card

    The Worst Financial Institution Ever

    By far the worst financial institution I have ever dealt with - it took over 1 year to close my account and to stop statements being sent after paying the account in full at the time of statement - they continued to charge me interest. The customer service standard is so poor, the quality of the phone lines even worse! Appalling company, I am so disgusted by virgin that I am considering cancelling my virgin gym membership.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Sarah, New South Wales, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • Virgin Money Credit Card

    Do not trust VirginMoney

    VirginMoney does not keep their promise and cheats on their customers. I should get 25,000 frequent flyer points for each of the first 4 months spending a minimum of $1,500 per month. For the first month they did not properly communicate when the first period started and ended so I missed out. For the last month they didn't pay out because a spend (VicRoads) was included which they deem not eligible. This was never a problem with any of the other credit card companies which have the same terms & conditions concerning government spend. The cheats of VirginMoney stole 25,000 points of me. Also the earn rate per $ spend is really poor.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Marco, Victoria, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • Virgin Money Virgin Australia Velocity Flyer Card - Bonus Points Offer

    Slow to close account, quick to give late fees.

    I stopped using the card and had like $10 owed. I thought I payed it off, but apparently I still owed like $2 because of interest, so they charged me a $30 late fee... which they also charged interest on. This was during the peak of the pandemic in Australia. I thought a $30 late fee over petty $2 during a global pandemic was a bit greedy. Resentfully I made the payment, which apparently only went to the account keeping fees, which meant I didn't pay the amount owed, so another $30 was due. I was so confused so I payed all the ridiculous fees plus the interest on their fees and the account fees and tried to close the account. But then they wouldn't let me close it because the account was in credit? Meanwhile they are charging me account keeping fees because they kept my account open. Anyway, I would have let this go... but I've just found out that the situation has totally destroyed my otherwise perfect credit score over the initial $2. BE VERY CAREFUL!

    Price
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Babs, Queensland, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • Virgin Money No Annual Fee Card

    Poor treatment of customers.

    I applied for a yearly fee free card and supplied all the necessary documents showing I had income of $78,000 after tax. My credit rating is 820 and I own my own house, car and have 3 large term deposits and have no debt. I have a perfectly clear credit history i.e. never defaulted and no bankruptcy. I supplied copies of my last two tax returns, 6 months of bank statements and statements of my public service pension. I was refused a credit card and was never given any reason. I called the verification centre to understand why the refusal and they refused to give any details and from what they said it was clear they didn't understand the difference between CentreLink payments and my public service pension. It appears that their verification staff have a poor knowledge of Australian financial matters.

    Price
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Dean, New South Wales, reviewed about 3 years ago
  • Virgin Money Virgin Australia Velocity High Flyer Card

    Great customer service

    Excellent customer service and excellent bonus point , interest-free and shopping voucher offers.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Michelle, Victoria, reviewed about 3 years ago
  • Virgin Money Credit Card

    Cannot be trusted

    The customer services did not do what were agreed over the phone. When followed up, they twisted the facts, denied what had been said, or claimed that they did not have the records.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Boris, New South Wales, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • Virgin Money Credit Card

    Awful service.

    Customer service is terrible. You can be a day late with a payment and they will harass you non stop with phone calls. Would not recommend.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Sharon, Western Australia, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews. Financial providers may, from time to time, offer incentives for reviews, regardless of the sentiment of the reviews.

    Credit card comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Low Rate Card - Balance Transfer Offer

      Purchase rate
      13.49% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      0% p.a. for 28 months and then 21.74% p.a. (2.00% balance transfer fee)
      Annual fee
      $59 $0 in the first year
      Rewards program

      Promoted
    • Qantas Ultimate Card

      Purchase rate
      23.99% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      No current offer
      Annual fee
      $450
      Rewards program
      Qantas Frequent Flyer

      Promoted
    • Platinum Edge Credit Card

      Purchase rate
      23.99% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      No current offer
      Annual fee
      $195 $0 in the first year
      Rewards program
      Membership Rewards

      Promoted
    • Explorer® Credit Card

      Purchase rate
      23.99% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      No current offer
      Annual fee
      $395
      Rewards program
      Membership Rewards

      Promoted
    • Velocity Platinum Card

      Purchase rate
      23.99% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      No current offer
      Annual fee
      $375
      Rewards program
      Velocity Frequent Flyer

      Promoted

    **Saving based on the average difference in fees and charges over 3 years between the most competitive product Mozo can refer a consumer to and the average credit card product input by 6,863 consumers (average balance of $4,262 or balance transfer balance of $5,818, interest rate of 19.6% and annual fee of $36.50) who used the Mozo Credit Card Health Check tool between 1 January 2012 to July 2012.

    Want more? Compare all 193 credit cards in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more credit cards

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.