Thumbnail icon for Virgin Money

Virgin Money Credit card reviews

Overall rating
5.7/10
Price
6.1/10
Features
6.2/10
Customer service
5.5/10
Convenience
5.5/10
Trust
5.7/10
Based on 221 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Featured credit card from Virgin Money

Virgin Australia Velocity Flyer Card - Balance Transfer Offer

Purchase rate
20.74% p.a.
Balance transfer rate
0% p.a. for 22 months and then 20.99% p.a.
Annual fee
$129 $64 in the first year
Rewards program
Velocity Frequent Flyer

Promoted

Recent Virgin Money credit card reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Virgin Money Low Rate Card review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Virgin money is a good bank to deal with

    I like virgin money because of their ease of access and great customer service.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Kobi, New South Wales, reviewed 27 days ago
  • Virgin Money review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Stay away.

    Card approval process is pathetic. They call you for more information on your application at 8am in the morning for two days and if you don't respond to that, even if you are in medical emergency situation, these people will reject your application and cover up by saying "not meeting the criteria". So responding to their calls irrespective of your situation is one of their criteria. Please stay away from these guys, the customer service is arrogant and egoistic.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Mahendran, Western Australia, reviewed 2 months ago
  • Virgin Money Credit Card review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Interest charging method is disgusting!

    If you don't pay your closing balance in full they still charge you for interest on the total closing balance! Not just the portion you haven't paid. They also don't factor in other credits to your account. Absolutely disgusting - moving to Qantas points for sure!

    Features
    3 / 10
    Customer service
    3 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Kirra, Queensland, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Virgin Money Credit Card review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    No service- Nothing

    No service.

    Price
    0 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Simon, Queensland, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Virgin Money Virgin Australia Velocity Flyer Card - Balance Transfer Offer review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Great credit card on offer

    Balance transfer is easy after approval. Virgin Frequent Flyer points per purchase a definite plus.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    James, New South Wales, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Virgin Money Virgin Australia Velocity Flyer Card - Bonus Points Offer review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Incompetent and will lie to you

    Completely incompetent, zero customer service. Have not done as promised several times over a two week period.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Steve, Victoria, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Virgin Money Credit Card review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Fees should be more competitive

    The only reason I took up a Virgin Money credit card was so that I can earn Velocity points quicker to redeem flights. I pay off my credit card each cycle; therefore interest rate is not a big issue. There is an annual fee and additional card holder fee that I have to pay. Not worth it to redeem other products as it caused a lot of points.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Less
    Vicky, Western Australia, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Virgin Money Virgin Australia Velocity Flyer Card - Balance Transfer Offer review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Very helpful customer service.

    Virgin Money were always easy to talk to and offer you good savings. If you have trouble meeting payments they offer your balance as a loan so you can pay it off.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Coral, New South Wales, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Virgin Money Virgin Australia Velocity Flyer Card - Bonus Points Offer review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    I enjoy the reward benefits.

    I enjoy the benefits of the points.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Jamel, Victoria, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Virgin Money No Annual Fee Card review

    Overall rating   2 / 10
    Bizarre and worrying security check.

    Bizarre application. I called to follow up my online application and was asked for my 5th previous residence (I couldn't recall the street number). Also I have had my electricity provider for the last 3 residences and he asked how about before that? I offered to give him my current address and he said not required!

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    2 / 10
    Trust
    3 / 10
    Less
    Mark, Queensland, reviewed 8 months ago
  • Virgin Money Virgin Australia Velocity Flyer Card - Balance Transfer Offer review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Please avoid if you are going for BT and bonus pts

    They mentioned in their website "Earn up to 70,000 bonus Velocity Points & 0% p.a. for 18 months on balance transfers (reverts to cash advance rate). No interest-free days apply when you have a balance transfer. Plus, enjoy half the annual fee in your first year, $129 thereafter". But you can't earn bonus points with Balance transfer which we understood only after activating the card. Or they charge interest for the entire balance transfer if you use for balance credit.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Jeremiah, Victoria, reviewed 8 months ago
  • Virgin Money Credit Card review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Do not get this credit card.

    They hide interest rates in the fine print and their customer service reps do not explain their retail purchase terms. Basically if you transfer over an existing debt you get no interest free period. None of this of course is listed in their ads. They only list the information they want you to see. No wonder people don't trust financial institutions.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Frazer, Victoria, reviewed 8 months ago
  • Virgin Money Virgin Australia Velocity High Flyer Card review

    Overall rating   3 / 10
    Card, platform and app right at home in 1993.

    After receiving my credit card, I could download and activate the app. From there it was all downhill. No Apple Pay in Australia, the app is a complete farce, no facial recognition, inability to load payees into app - this needs to be done via their website, pin SMS verification on EVERY transaction . . . this card and platform would have been at home in the late 90's. Cancelled my cards and account without making a single transaction. Big waste of time and disappointing from a brand as established as Virgin. Stick to flying.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Yettiboy, New South Wales, reviewed 9 months ago
  • Virgin Money No Annual Fee Card review

    Overall rating   4 / 10
    No annual fee but poor application process.

    Whilst the card has no annual fee and everything can be done via online, I found the whole application process to be so time consuming, they never had everything in order, had to send paperwork in multiple times, it took way longer than it should have and that still leaves a sour taste in my mouth.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    2 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Melanie, Tasmania, reviewed 9 months ago
  • Virgin Money Virgin Australia Velocity Flyer Card - Bonus Points Offer review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Easy to use.

    Great card to get Virgin Frequent Flyer points. Customer service is reliable and never a queue on the phone. Easy to use overseas and accepted everywhere. Shame about the annual fee.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Megan, New South Wales, reviewed 11 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Credit card comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Low Rate

      Purchase rate
      13.74% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      0% p.a. for 20 months and then 21.49% p.a. (1.00% balance transfer fee)
      Annual fee
      $59
      Rewards program

      Promoted
    • Virgin Australia Velocity Flyer Card - Balance Transfer Offer

      Purchase rate
      20.74% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      0% p.a. for 22 months and then 20.99% p.a.
      Annual fee
      $129 $64 in the first year
      Rewards program
      Velocity Frequent Flyer

      Promoted
    • Low Rate Credit Card

      Purchase rate
      11.99% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      0% p.a. for 20 months and then 21.74% p.a.
      Annual fee
      $49 $0 in the first year
      Rewards program

      Promoted
    • Qantas Premier Platinum

      Purchase rate
      19.99% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      0% p.a. for 18 months and then 21.99% p.a. (1.00% balance transfer fee)
      Annual fee
      $299 $199 in the first year
      Rewards program
      Qantas Frequent Flyer

      Promoted
    • frank Credit Card

      Purchase rate
      11.99% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      No current offer
      Annual fee
      $0
      Rewards program

      Promoted

    **Saving based on the average difference in fees and charges over 3 years between the most competitive product Mozo can refer a consumer to and the average credit card product input by 6,863 consumers (average balance of $4,262 or balance transfer balance of $5,818, interest rate of 19.6% and annual fee of $36.50) who used the Mozo Credit Card Health Check tool between 1 January 2012 to July 2012.

    Want more? Compare all 213 credit cards in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more credit cards

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.