Virgin Money logo

Virgin Money Credit card reviews

Overall rating
Price
Features
Customer service
Convenience
Trust
Based on 228 credit card reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Featured credit card from Virgin Money

Virgin Australia Velocity Flyer Card - Bonus Points Offer

Purchase rate
20.74% p.a.
Balance transfer rate
0% p.a. for 18 months and then 20.99% p.a.
Annual fee
$129 $64 in the first year
Rewards program
Velocity Frequent Flyer

Promoted

Recent Virgin Money credit card customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Virgin Money Credit Card

    The Worst Financial Institution Ever

    By far the worst financial institution I have ever dealt with - it took over 1 year to close my account and to stop statements being sent after paying the account in full at the time of statement - they continued to charge me interest. The customer service standard is so poor, the quality of the phone lines even worse! Appalling company, I am so disgusted by virgin that I am considering cancelling my virgin gym membership.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Sarah, New South Wales, reviewed 2 months ago
  • Virgin Money Credit Card

    Do not trust VirginMoney

    VirginMoney does not keep their promise and cheats on their customers. I should get 25,000 frequent flyer points for each of the first 4 months spending a minimum of $1,500 per month. For the first month they did not properly communicate when the first period started and ended so I missed out. For the last month they didn't pay out because a spend (VicRoads) was included which they deem not eligible. This was never a problem with any of the other credit card companies which have the same terms & conditions concerning government spend. The cheats of VirginMoney stole 25,000 points of me. Also the earn rate per $ spend is really poor.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Marco, Victoria, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Virgin Money Virgin Australia Velocity Flyer Card - Bonus Points Offer

    Slow to close account, quick to give late fees.

    I stopped using the card and had like $10 owed. I thought I payed it off, but apparently I still owed like $2 because of interest, so they charged me a $30 late fee... which they also charged interest on. This was during the peak of the pandemic in Australia. I thought a $30 late fee over petty $2 during a global pandemic was a bit greedy. Resentfully I made the payment, which apparently only went to the account keeping fees, which meant I didn't pay the amount owed, so another $30 was due. I was so confused so I payed all the ridiculous fees plus the interest on their fees and the account fees and tried to close the account. But then they wouldn't let me close it because the account was in credit? Meanwhile they are charging me account keeping fees because they kept my account open. Anyway, I would have let this go... but I've just found out that the situation has totally destroyed my otherwise perfect credit score over the initial $2. BE VERY CAREFUL!

    Price
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Brodie, Queensland, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Virgin Money No Annual Fee Card

    Poor treatment of customers.

    I applied for a yearly fee free card and supplied all the necessary documents showing I had income of $78,000 after tax. My credit rating is 820 and I own my own house, car and have 3 large term deposits and have no debt. I have a perfectly clear credit history i.e. never defaulted and no bankruptcy. I supplied copies of my last two tax returns, 6 months of bank statements and statements of my public service pension. I was refused a credit card and was never given any reason. I called the verification centre to understand why the refusal and they refused to give any details and from what they said it was clear they didn't understand the difference between CentreLink payments and my public service pension. It appears that their verification staff have a poor knowledge of Australian financial matters.

    Price
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Dean, New South Wales, reviewed 11 months ago
  • Virgin Money Virgin Australia Velocity High Flyer Card

    Great customer service

    Excellent customer service and excellent bonus point , interest-free and shopping voucher offers.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Michelle, Victoria, reviewed 11 months ago
  • Virgin Money Credit Card

    Cannot be trusted

    The customer services did not do what were agreed over the phone. When followed up, they twisted the facts, denied what had been said, or claimed that they did not have the records.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Boris, New South Wales, reviewed 12 months ago
  • Virgin Money Credit Card

    Awful service.

    Customer service is terrible. You can be a day late with a payment and they will harass you non stop with phone calls. Would not recommend.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Sharon, Western Australia, reviewed 12 months ago
  • Virgin Money Low Rate Card

    Virgin money is a good bank to deal with

    I like virgin money because of their ease of access and great customer service.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Kobi, New South Wales, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Virgin Money

    Stay away.

    Card approval process is pathetic. They call you for more information on your application at 8am in the morning for two days and if you don't respond to that, even if you are in medical emergency situation, these people will reject your application and cover up by saying "not meeting the criteria". So responding to their calls irrespective of your situation is one of their criteria. Please stay away from these guys, the customer service is arrogant and egoistic.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Mahendran, Western Australia, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Virgin Money Credit Card

    Interest charging method is disgusting!

    If you don't pay your closing balance in full they still charge you for interest on the total closing balance! Not just the portion you haven't paid. They also don't factor in other credits to your account. Absolutely disgusting - moving to Qantas points for sure!

    Features
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Kirra, Queensland, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Virgin Money Credit Card

    No service- Nothing

    No service.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Simon, Queensland, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Virgin Money Virgin Australia Velocity Flyer Card - Balance Transfer Offer

    Great credit card on offer

    Balance transfer is easy after approval. Virgin Frequent Flyer points per purchase a definite plus.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    James, New South Wales, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Virgin Money Virgin Australia Velocity Flyer Card - Bonus Points Offer

    Incompetent and will lie to you

    Completely incompetent, zero customer service. Have not done as promised several times over a two week period.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Steve, Victoria, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Virgin Money Credit Card

    Fees should be more competitive

    The only reason I took up a Virgin Money credit card was so that I can earn Velocity points quicker to redeem flights. I pay off my credit card each cycle; therefore interest rate is not a big issue. There is an annual fee and additional card holder fee that I have to pay. Not worth it to redeem other products as it caused a lot of points.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Less
    Vicky, Western Australia, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Virgin Money Virgin Australia Velocity Flyer Card - Balance Transfer Offer

    Very helpful customer service.

    Virgin Money were always easy to talk to and offer you good savings. If you have trouble meeting payments they offer your balance as a loan so you can pay it off.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Coral, New South Wales, reviewed almost 2 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Credit card comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Low Rate Credit Card

      Purchase rate
      0% p.a. for 18 months then 11.99% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      No current offer
      Annual fee
      $45
      Rewards program

      Promoted
    • Virgin Australia Velocity Flyer Card - Bonus Points Offer

      Purchase rate
      20.74% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      0% p.a. for 18 months and then 20.99% p.a.
      Annual fee
      $129 $64 in the first year
      Rewards program
      Velocity Frequent Flyer

      Promoted
    • Freestyle Virtual Mastercard

      Purchase rate
      16.99% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      No current offer
      Annual fee
      $209 $0 - $149 based on credit limit, $5/month for balances over $20.
      Rewards program

      Promoted
    • Low Rate

      Purchase rate
      13.74% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      0% p.a. for 28 months and then 21.49% p.a. (1.00% balance transfer fee)
      Annual fee
      $59 $0 in the first year
      Rewards program

      Promoted
    • Mastercard

      Purchase rate
      23.99% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      No current offer
      Annual fee
      $99 $0 in the first year
      Rewards program

      Promoted

    **Saving based on the average difference in fees and charges over 3 years between the most competitive product Mozo can refer a consumer to and the average credit card product input by 6,863 consumers (average balance of $4,262 or balance transfer balance of $5,818, interest rate of 19.6% and annual fee of $36.50) who used the Mozo Credit Card Health Check tool between 1 January 2012 to July 2012.

    Want more? Compare all 216 credit cards in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more credit cards

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.