ANZ logo

ANZ Credit card reviews

Overall rating
Price
Features
Customer service
Convenience
Trust
Based on 6252 credit card reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent ANZ credit card customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • ANZ Credit Card

    Bad credit card assessment team

    I applied for an ANZ credit card 4 weeks ago, their team were asking the same question over and over again, I sent bank statements etc many times, also they do not accept inbound call or emails, just outbound email or calls. I have my home loan and offset account with them and even that, also I had an ANZ card before, but even with that they said they can’t give me a credit card? This is ridiculous, always I had a black credit card now and in the past, even at some point I had a black card with ANZ, this is so frustrating. Anyways as I told ANZ, because of this ridiculous team, they are losing a client forever, I will shop around for other credit card institution and also I will move my home loan and offset account from them, they do not deserved a client who always pays the mortgage and credit card on time. By ANZ, thank you to waist my time for 4 weeks.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    2 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    2 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Johny, Victoria, reviewed 7 days ago
  • ANZ Credit Card

    Avoid Qantas bonus credit cards.

    Avoid Qantas bonus credit cards.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Guillermo, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • ANZ Credit Card

    Unreasonable account blocking

    ANZ have flawed processes. I always paid off my credit card in full. In the last 2-3 years I have had to be reminded that I had missed a payment In the first instance I was not in a position to pay the outstanding amount until the evening, which I did, in the latest incident I paid immediately. In both situations my card was blocked. In neither situation was I advised that there was a block on the account. In the first occurrence I was in rural nsw and needed to pay for petrol prior to catching a plane. Had I not had a card from another institution it is unlikely that the service station would havegiven credit. As a result of these two instances I cancelled my card. This apparently blocks on line access to the account so couldn’t check my balance nor did I receive any direct communication from Anz I have now been told what my balance is but have incurred penalties for late payment. They will not reinstate on line access. Which is entirely unreasonable as it is my data and i require access for accounting and taxation purposes

    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    2 / 10
    Less
    Jim, Victoria, reviewed 2 months ago
  • ANZ Platinum

    Not the best of banks in recent years

    If there is a problem they may advise you but they never follow up. Should I want an increase in my credit they tell me no and suggest I already have too much - even if I have never missed an interest payment.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Scott, South Australia, reviewed 2 months ago
  • ANZ Credit Card

    assistance received was temporary.

    I'm very disappointed, banked with them for a long time and now due to partner becoming disabled and me becoming his full-time carer I cannot afford to pay my $7000 credit card debt. Did the right thing and contacted anz straight away, they gave me 3 months hardship and when I contacted anz again to state that the situation is worse they told me that I can only apply for hardship once and that there is nothing else that can help me with and they need the overdue amount immediately. I asked what is the least amount I can pay and they told me it's on the statement. Awesome!

    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    4 / 10
    Less
    Cheryle, Queensland, reviewed 2 months ago
  • ANZ Credit Card

    Application process - headache

    I’ve recently applied for the ANZ Frequent Flyer Platinum card. Here is a summary of my experience: 1) I completed my application online with an ID verification process. A Credit check was immediately triggered. 2) I was contacted to find a suitable time for a phone call consultation. The time offered was completely disregarded. 3) I was notified the transaction history I offered as evidence of eligibility did not indicate my name. I typed my name in and resent the document which triggered a credit check (again). 4) I received my new card and followed the activation instructions. That didn’t work. 5) I called support and was advised I needed to go down to the branch to identify myself (again). I was then turned around at the branch for not making an appointment 6) I went home, cancelled my application and very happily cut my card in two. Doubling up on ID checks. Doubling up on Credit Checks. Get given the run around. No thank you.

    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Sol, Western Australia, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • ANZ Credit Card

    WORST BANKING EXPERIENCE

    PLEASE DON'T BANK WITH ANZ. THE WORST BANKING EXPERIENCE YOU WILL EVERY HAVE IF YOU DO. THEY PROVIDE NO PROPER CUSTOMER SERVICE, RATHER JUST TAKE YOUR MONEY!

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Please, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • ANZ Low Rate

    Warning: Self employed stay away

    I have lodged an online application over 3 weeks ago and after two weeks an Assessor contacted me to provide further income information as I'm self-employed. I went to Narellan NSW Branch where I was greeted by unhelpful staff (" I don't have time to upload your documents and you need to make an appointment") There was at least 3 people inside the Branch waiting for a teller. When I finally received a call from another Assessor (overseas based) which I was not aware as it was a local Australia number calling me. I questioned him about how he worked out my Self-employed income and he could not explain, he kept telling me that you cannot afford this credit card. Warning to any self-employed not to apply through ANZ, unless you want to leave your decision to an untrained overseas staff (they do not understand our demographics). If it does not fit into the box, then you'll be declined!!

    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Tony, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • ANZ Credit Card

    Dangerous to customers.

    I have used ANZ credit cards for over 10 years with no problems, having set up automatic repayments. Recently, these stopped working for no apparent reason (I had no lack of funds). If this happens, your card may be cancelled without warning. If you card is cancelled, the people who can fix the problem don't work weekends so you may be left stranded and forced to wash dishes, sleep on the street, etc. Customer support were all very pleasant, but ultimately offered no actual explanations or solutions.

    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Nemo, Victoria, reviewed 4 months ago
  • ANZ Credit Card

    The world is changing, hopefully banks will change

    ANZ is not to be trusted. They purely focus on profits, not customers, they have no concern for the average people who actually enable their business to continue. My father was a bank manager, we actually lived in a rural bank. And his focus was simply back to basic, honest banking, advice support and help to his customers. He always told me that my customers pay my salary, so I should take care of them. Today banks consistently try to sell high cost credit cards, offer only advice to advance their bank, not the customer. I have been a customer of ANZ for many decades, and I simply do not trust them. I’m at end of my working life and have realised that ANZ, and probably all the banks, simply ripped off, cheated and lied. The banking royal commission was a joke. It highlighted all the cronyism, theft, lying and blatant dishonesty these banks ran their businesses, they paid out the big executives, promised to change, the government initiated changes, which they have rolled back in favour of the banks again The problem with Australian banks is very similar to current politics, and big business: no one is held accountable. I as a simple worker am held accountable for all my mistakes, errors, shortfalls. For some reason companies like ANZ, the banks, big companies like Telstra and many more are seemingly immune to any accountability at all. Hopefully the world is changing to rid the filth and theft by these big companies. I think and hope the young are working this out and will force change. And hopefully force a change of back to basic business ethics, as in simply looking after the customer / client to his or her benefit and not purely thinking of profit .....GREED is not good!

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Michael, Victoria, reviewed 4 months ago
  • ANZ Rewards Platinum

    Super disappointed with ANZ services!

    Online ID check was absolutely a joke. I inserted personal details and reference number then it popped up with no reference found. I ring up CS, over an hour waiting, next thing I was told that I need to visit a branch. When I show up in branch, the customer manager told me that I need an appointment before they can look at my issue. Anyway, to cut the story short. The branch sends me back to the call centre, then long wait before someone answers and then tells me to go back to the branch. I ended up cancelling the card before even it activated. Super disappointed with ANZ services!

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    J, Queensland, reviewed 4 months ago
  • ANZ Frequent Flyer Platinum

    Overall the product failed in my opinion

    I had no problem with my product until I got in to hardship . I found out that my insurance I was paying for was useless and I was paying for nothing it was a joke and in the fine print it states if you are unable to make your repayments for any reason blah blah blah then we will cover you. They lied and I refused to pay. Due to hardship. So ANZ knowingly sold me a dud insurance .

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Karen, Western Australia, reviewed 5 months ago
  • ANZ Frequent Flyer Black

    Application for this card takes at least a month

    Just warning you all off applying for this credit card with ANZ. The process will take over a month and you still will be no closer to getting your credit card. Their credit card team is based in India so you'll be lucky if they're able to get through to you and if they do, their phone lines are really bad. You are not able to contact them back directly, only phone a 1800 number where you will be put on hold then the operator will email them and ask them to call you again. They ask for the same information over and over again. For me, 34 texts and emails later, still no credit card. I had to cancel my application and applied for an AMEX frequent flyer card which was approved online in 5 minutes. Trust me, it's not worth the hassle, go with another card to get the points. I complained and got back a really lame response back from them. Do yourself a huge favour and avoid this bank at all costs.

    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Kat, Queensland, reviewed 6 months ago
  • ANZ Frequent Flyer

    Great service

    I've been an ANZ Visa member for over 20 years and have never had a problem.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Noel, New South Wales, reviewed 6 months ago
  • ANZ Credit Card

    OK but could always be better.

    When paid off in full and not stuck making monthly repayments, a rewards credit card is excellent way to accrue a reward 'bonus' for normal shopping routines. Anything to boost pathetic interest rates. Their Falcon fraud detection, whilst not foolproof, has definitely kicked in on a couple of occasions. The tap-&-pay facility is convenient but way too easy for misuse if card is lost even though the bank covers the loss. We all pay in the end and all banks are guilty of this.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Dennis, Western Australia, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Credit card comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Black Card

      Purchase rate
      20.99% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      0% p.a. for 12 months and then 21.74% p.a.
      Annual fee
      $0
      Rewards program
      Kogan Rewards Points

      Promoted
    • Low Rate Credit Card

      Purchase rate
      0% p.a. for 12 months then 11.99% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      0% p.a. for 12 months and then 11.99% p.a. (2.00% balance transfer fee)
      Annual fee
      $45
      Rewards program

      Promoted
    • Vertigo - Cashback Offer

      Purchase rate
      13.99% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      6.99% p.a. for 12 months and then 21.49% p.a.
      Annual fee
      $55 $0 in the first year
      Rewards program

      Promoted
    • Low Rate

      Purchase rate
      13.74% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      0% p.a. for 28 months and then 21.49% p.a. (1.00% balance transfer fee)
      Annual fee
      $59 $0 in the first year
      Rewards program

      Promoted
    • Freestyle Virtual Mastercard

      Purchase rate
      16.99% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      No current offer
      Annual fee
      $209 $0 - $149 based on credit limit, $5/month for balances over $20.
      Rewards program

      Promoted

    **Saving based on the average difference in fees and charges over 3 years between the most competitive product Mozo can refer a consumer to and the average credit card product input by 6,863 consumers (average balance of $4,262 or balance transfer balance of $5,818, interest rate of 19.6% and annual fee of $36.50) who used the Mozo Credit Card Health Check tool between 1 January 2012 to July 2012.

    Want more? Compare all 223 credit cards in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more credit cards

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.