Thumbnail icon for HSBC

HSBC Credit card reviews

Overall rating
5.6/10
Price
5.5/10
Features
5.6/10
Customer service
5.6/10
Convenience
5.5/10
Trust
5.8/10
Based on 456 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent HSBC credit card reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • HSBC Credit Card review

    Overall rating   2 / 10
    Unable to get HSBC to call back or answer phone.

    HSBC are unhelpful to the max. They do not respond to calls and fail to reply by email / internet. HSBC will be quick to pick fault with customers but fail to support customers when they are genuinely trying to do the right thing.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Michael, Victoria, reviewed 3 months ago
  • HSBC Credit Card review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    I would recommend HSBC to family and friends.

    They have provided an excellent service all round including customer service etc.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Mariane, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • HSBC Platinum Credit Card review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Up there with the other big banks.

    It's a very good bank, the only down side is limited physical branches but online is good.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    John, Victoria, reviewed 3 months ago
  • HSBC Platinum Qantas Credit Card review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Credit card reliability is vitally important.

    The most important thing, in my humble opinion, is the ability to rely on your card when in a tough situation. When overseas in March, our Prime Minister told all Australians travelling overseas to return home. Our card could not be authenticated to book our return flight.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    3 / 10
    Less
    Margaret, Queensland, reviewed 4 months ago
  • HSBC Platinum Credit Card review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    A hopeless excuse for a bank!

    I have been using this organisation for less than 1 year. Their online banking system is archaic. If you update the app you will go backwards. Dumb bank. I will be closing my account ASAP.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    James, Western Australia, reviewed 5 months ago
  • HSBC Platinum Credit Card review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Worth looking elsewhere.

    The sign up process is long and difficult. 45 mins + online and two phone calls. The amount of personal information needed is worrying and over the top. They also take photos of you (face-scanning) for the application. I asked them to delete the information once I cancelled my account and they refused. Be careful if you value your privacy. The sign up process to view your account online is also long and tedious. All phone consultants are overseas.

    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Charlie, Queensland, reviewed 5 months ago
  • HSBC Low Rate Credit Card review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    No special benefit to users.

    The credit card comes with the saving account, no special benefit to me.

    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Titik, New South Wales, reviewed 6 months ago
  • HSBC Platinum Credit Card review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great card, with nice benefits.

    This card for its relatively low annual fee has quite a lot going for it. The earn rate for points isn't as good as other cards but it comes with lounge passes and all the regular insurances you would expect from a platinum card. HSBC also quite regularly have balance transfer and cash withdrawal promotions if you need it at competitive rates.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Ryan, South Australia, reviewed 7 months ago
  • HSBC Credit Card review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Pretty good card considering the yearly fee

    I have the HSBC Platinum Credit Card. For a fee of approximately $60 per year it comes with some insurances which I have not had to use as of yet. I also use it to accrue Qantas bonus points to hopefully book a reward flight at some stage. It's a pretty good card for the yearly subscription.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Paul, Victoria, reviewed 7 months ago
  • HSBC Low Rate Credit Card review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Terrible management in HSBC credit card departmen

    A fraudulent credit card that was issued under my name by somebody else remains "open" status on Equifax after 2.5 years!! This has cause me delays on home settlement with another bank and causing me to pay the penalty fees due to their delay in responding to my complain. After two weeks nobody ever tried to email or call me about the issue! I have tried all the possible ways to contact them such as in person, at branch, email and phone calls! This is the worst ever credit cards department in Australia! Staff at the branch were polite but the bank system is terrible!

    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Ronnie, New South Wales, reviewed 9 months ago
  • HSBC Platinum Qantas Credit Card review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great customer experience.

    Very happy with HSBC. Credit card is well above what I expected. Rewards points and QFF points.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Michael, New South Wales, reviewed 9 months ago
  • HSBC Credit Card review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    No customer service.

    Very difficult to contact by phone, dislike the robot you have to talk to, they take you on a trip round the world before they come up with solution.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Angelika, New South Wales, reviewed 10 months ago
  • HSBC Platinum Qantas Credit Card review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Good value.

    Easy to use, good interest rate and rewards points.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Mandy, Queensland, reviewed 10 months ago
  • HSBC Credit Card review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Convenient.

    I appreciate the 0% percent balance transfer.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Jeremy, Western Australia, reviewed 12 months ago
  • HSBC Credit Card review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    No problems with this credit card, great service.

    I've found this to be a good product. Staff are always very helpful too.

    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Gianna, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Credit card comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Low Rate

      Purchase rate
      13.74% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      0% p.a. for 24 months and then 21.49% p.a. (1.00% balance transfer fee)
      Annual fee
      $59
      Rewards program

      Promoted
    • Vertigo

      Purchase rate
      13.99% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      0% p.a. for 24 months and then 21.49% p.a.
      Annual fee
      $55 $0 in the first year
      Rewards program

      Promoted
    • Low Rate Credit Card

      Purchase rate
      11.99% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      0% p.a. for 20 months and then 21.74% p.a.
      Annual fee
      $49 $0 in the first year
      Rewards program

      Promoted
    • frank Credit Card

      Purchase rate
      11.99% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      No current offer
      Annual fee
      $0
      Rewards program

      Promoted
    • Foundation Credit Card

      Purchase rate
      3.99% p.a. for 6 months then 8.99% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      3.99% p.a. for 6 months and then 8.99% p.a.
      Annual fee
      $45
      Rewards program

      Promoted

    **Saving based on the average difference in fees and charges over 3 years between the most competitive product Mozo can refer a consumer to and the average credit card product input by 6,863 consumers (average balance of $4,262 or balance transfer balance of $5,818, interest rate of 19.6% and annual fee of $36.50) who used the Mozo Credit Card Health Check tool between 1 January 2012 to July 2012.

    Want more? Compare all 216 credit cards in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more credit cards

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.