Thumbnail icon for HSBC

HSBC Credit card reviews

Overall rating
5.6/10
Price
5.5/10
Features
5.5/10
Customer service
5.6/10
Convenience
5.5/10
Trust
5.8/10
Based on 447 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent HSBC credit card reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • HSBC Low Rate Credit Card review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Terrible management in HSBC credit card departmen

    A fraudulent credit card that was issued under my name by somebody else remains "open" status on Equifax after 2.5 years!! This has cause me delays on home settlement with another bank and causing me to pay the penalty fees due to their delay in responding to my complain. After two weeks nobody ever tried to email or call me about the issue! I have tried all the possible ways to contact them such as in person, at branch, email and phone calls! This is the worst ever credit cards department in Australia! Staff at the branch were polite but the bank system is terrible!

    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Ronnie, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • HSBC Platinum Qantas Credit Card review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great customer experience.

    Very happy with HSBC. Credit card is well above what I expected. Rewards points and QFF points.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Michael, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • HSBC Credit Card review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    No customer service.

    Very difficult to contact by phone, dislike the robot you have to talk to, they take you on a trip round the world before they come up with solution.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Angelika, New South Wales, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • HSBC Platinum Qantas Credit Card review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Good value.

    Easy to use, good interest rate and rewards points.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Mandy, Queensland, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • HSBC Credit Card review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Convenient.

    I appreciate the 0% percent balance transfer.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Jeremy, Western Australia, reviewed 4 months ago
  • HSBC Credit Card review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    No problems with this credit card, great service.

    I've found this to be a good product. Staff are always very helpful too.

    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Gianna, New South Wales, reviewed 4 months ago
  • HSBC Credit Card review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Great customer service.

    Have always been very helpful with any issues.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Anthony, Western Australia, reviewed 5 months ago
  • HSBC Platinum Credit Card review

    Overall rating   2 / 10
    Poor service and lacking add ons.

    Their customer service is incredibly bad. I lodged a complaint with them 7 weeks ago and they still haven't provided a solution, just a 'we are still looking into it' response.

    Price
    3 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    David, Victoria, reviewed 5 months ago
  • HSBC Credit Card review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Great service and features for security.

    Excellent at checking on possible fraudulent activity. When I was worried about certain entries on my card, it was so quick and easy to have the card cancelled and replaced. The customer service was excellent.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Lynne, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
  • HSBC Platinum Credit Card review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Good online services

    first time application

    Price
    6 / 10
    Less
    Tuan, New South Wales, reviewed almost 3 years ago
  • HSBC Platinum Qantas Credit Card review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Good provider but not for gaining Qantas points

    This credit card has multiple tiers in Qantas Frequent Flyer point accumulation. That is, one point for each dollar spent using the card if your balance is less than $3,000 a month. After reaching this threshold, you will be awarded 0.5 points for each dollar spent. Therefore, it gives cardholders less value compared to other cards.

    Price
    3 / 10
    Less
    Paulo, Victoria, reviewed about 3 years ago
  • HSBC Credit Card review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    I dislike this bank

    After missing a payment by two days thanks to other banks being delayed, HSBC cancelled the card and now I have only a payment to make without the use of credit limit which was disappointment especially after being with them for 18 years.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    3 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Peter, New South Wales, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • HSBC Low Rate Credit Card review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Great service and fantastic rewards

    Although their interest rate is high it does not affect us as we pay off our balance at each statement. Their rewards program is great and the points add up quickly and we often redeem for gift vouchers and treat ourselves to free purchases. They are quick to notify us if they feel an unauthorised transaction has taken place, (which none were but we purchased something from overseas which aroused their suspicions )

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Garry, New South Wales, reviewed almost 4 years ago
  • HSBC Platinum Credit Card review

    Overall rating   3 / 10
    Great customer service

    Terrible interest rates

    Price
    3 / 10
    Features
    3 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Ellen, New South Wales, reviewed almost 4 years ago
  • HSBC Low Rate Credit Card review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Run and don't look back.

    The only place I have seen good reviews is on here. Which to me is somewhat suspect. This is the worst bank EVER. Seriously run the other way. I was roped into the credit card and there has been one issue after another. From them randomly canceling the cards (I have had three cards cancelled with explanations of "Sorry we don't know what happened') to just plain old terrible and poor communication and customer service. This "Bank" is an all over fail. I can not wait to finalise credit transfer and get the hell out of this poor excuse of a company. Would not recommend to my worst enemy.

    Price
    0 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Melissa, Queensland, reviewed almost 4 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Credit card comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Low Rate Credit Card

      Purchase rate
      11.99% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      0% p.a. for 18 months and then 21.74% p.a.
      Annual fee
      $49 $0 in the first year
      Rewards program

      Promoted
    • Qantas Ultimate Card

      Purchase rate
      20.74% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      No current offer
      Annual fee
      $450
      Rewards program
      Qantas Frequent Flyer

      Promoted
    • Orange One Credit Card

      Purchase rate
      11.99% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      No current offer
      Annual fee
      $0
      Rewards program

      Promoted
    • Platinum Credit Card

      Purchase rate
      19.99% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      0% p.a. for 18 months and then 21.74% p.a.
      Annual fee
      $149 $0 in the first year
      Rewards program
      Life Rich Rewards

      Promoted
    • Qantas Discovery Card

      Purchase rate
      20.74% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      No current offer
      Annual fee
      $0
      Rewards program
      Qantas Frequent Flyer

      Promoted

    **Saving based on the average difference in fees and charges over 3 years between the most competitive product Mozo can refer a consumer to and the average credit card product input by 6,863 consumers (average balance of $4,262 or balance transfer balance of $5,818, interest rate of 19.6% and annual fee of $36.50) who used the Mozo Credit Card Health Check tool between 1 January 2012 to July 2012.

    Want more? Compare all 219 credit cards in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more credit cards

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.