HSBC credit card reviews

HSBC
HSBC's overall rating for credit cards

(as rated by the Mozo community)

5.6 / 10

based on 438 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured credit card from HSBC

Recent HSBC credit card reviews

HSBC

HSBC Platinum Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Good online services

first time application

Full review

first time application

    Price   6 / 10

Less

Tuan, New South Wales, reviewed about 2 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Platinum Qantas Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Good provider but not for gaining Qantas points

This credit card has multiple tiers in Qantas Frequent Flyer point accumulation. That is, one point for each dollar spent using the card if your balance is less than $3,000 a month. After reaching this threshold, you will be awarded 0.5 points for...

Full review

This credit card has multiple tiers in Qantas Frequent Flyer point accumulation. That is, one point for each dollar spent using the card if your balance is less than $3,000 a month. After reaching this threshold, you will be awarded 0.5 points for each dollar spent. Therefore, it gives cardholders less value compared to other cards.

    Price   3 / 10

Less

Paulo, Victoria, reviewed about 2 years ago

HSBC

HSBC credit card review

Overall rating   5 / 10

I dislike this bank

After missing a payment by two days thanks to other banks being delayed, HSBC cancelled the card and now I have only a payment to make without the use of credit limit which was disappointment especially after being with them for 18 years.

Full review

After missing a payment by two days thanks to other banks being delayed, HSBC cancelled the card and now I have only a payment to make without the use of credit limit which was disappointment especially after being with them for 18 years.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Peter, New South Wales, reviewed over 2 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Low Rate Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great service and fantastic rewards

Although their interest rate is high it does not affect us as we pay off our balance at each statement. Their rewards program is great and the points add up quickly and we often redeem for gift vouchers and treat ourselves to free purchases. They...

Full review

Although their interest rate is high it does not affect us as we pay off our balance at each statement. Their rewards program is great and the points add up quickly and we often redeem for gift vouchers and treat ourselves to free purchases. They are quick to notify us if they feel an unauthorised transaction has taken place, (which none were but we purchased something from overseas which aroused their suspicions )

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Garry, New South Wales, reviewed almost 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Platinum Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Great customer service

Terrible interest rates

Full review

Terrible interest rates

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Ellen, New South Wales, reviewed about 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Low Rate Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Run and don't look back.

The only place I have seen good reviews is on here. Which to me is somewhat suspect. This is the worst bank EVER. Seriously run the other way. I was roped into the credit card and there has been one issue after another. From them randomly...

Full review

The only place I have seen good reviews is on here. Which to me is somewhat suspect. This is the worst bank EVER. Seriously run the other way. I was roped into the credit card and there has been one issue after another. From them randomly canceling the cards (I have had three cards cancelled with explanations of "Sorry we don't know what happened') to just plain old terrible and poor communication and customer service. This "Bank" is an all over fail. I can not wait to finalise credit transfer and get the hell out of this poor excuse of a company. Would not recommend to my worst enemy.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Melissa, Queensland, reviewed about 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Low Rate Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service secure online banking setup

Well for example I haven't been able to make payments recently and they haven't hassled me or debited from my savings account. I guess its up to me! :P just great interest rates etc

Full review

Well for example I haven't been able to make payments recently and they haven't hassled me or debited from my savings account. I guess its up to me! :P just great interest rates etc

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Shannon, Queensland, reviewed about 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Premier World Mastercard (Rewards Plus) credit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Highly recommended.

Very convenient to use, service is very good too with friendly and helpful staff.

Full review

Very convenient to use, service is very good too with friendly and helpful staff.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Boon, Victoria, reviewed about 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Platinum Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great rewards program

Rewards program

Full review

Rewards program

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Christin, New South Wales, reviewed about 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC credit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Fantastic Bank.

Great bank, only credit card to offer me interest free to pay off my lap top computer or any thing else l wanted up to around $3000 think it was. Also no fee's for life card .

Full review

Great bank, only credit card to offer me interest free to pay off my lap top computer or any thing else l wanted up to around $3000 think it was. Also no fee's for life card .

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Glenice, Queensland, reviewed about 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Low Rate Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great

great

Full review

great

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Reg, Queensland, reviewed over 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Platinum Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Seamless. Canberra branch best bank I've used.

The branch staff are really good, always help out if the credit card call centre hits a hurdle. Great personal service, feel like a valued client.

Full review

The branch staff are really good, always help out if the credit card call centre hits a hurdle. Great personal service, feel like a valued client.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Shawn, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed over 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC credit card review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great customer service.

Great Customer Service. Cumbersome credit cards online - if you have a long name, it will not be displayed in full.

Full review

Great Customer Service. Cumbersome credit cards online - if you have a long name, it will not be displayed in full.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Constantine, New South Wales, reviewed over 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC credit card review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Great QANTAS points

No app for checking account

Full review

No app for checking account

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Mark, Queensland, reviewed over 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Platinum Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great Customer Service

Customer service is great!!

Full review

Customer service is great!!

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Alan, Western Australia, reviewed over 3 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Credit card comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • Qantas Money Qantas Premier Platinum

    Qantas Money Qantas Premier Platinum

    • Up to 55 days (unless you have a Balance Transfer)
    • Purchase rate of 19.99% p.a.
    • 0% p.a. Balance transfers for 18 months

    balance transfer rate

    0% p.a. for 18 months and then 21.99% p.a.

    purchase rate

    19.99% p.a.

    annual fee

    $299 $149 in the first year

    Go to site

    More info

    • Up to 55 days (unless you have a Balance Transfer)
    • Purchase rate of 19.99% p.a.
    • 0% p.a. Balance transfers for 18 months
    • Balance transfer rate: 0% p.a. for 18 months and then 21.99% p.a.
    • Annual fee: $299 $149 in the first year
    • Purchase rate: 19.99% p.a.
    • Interest free days: 55
    • Interest rate on cash withdrawals: 21.99% p.a.
    • Fee for cash withdrawals: 3%, min $3.00
    • Rewards description: Points are automatically credited to the Qantas Frequent Flyer program.
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • ME frank Credit Card

    ME frank Credit Card

    • Experts Choice Winner - No Annual Fee Credit Card
    • Low rate of 11.99% p.a on purchases and cash advances
    • Up to 55 days interest free on purchases

    balance transfer rate

    No current offer

    purchase rate

    11.99% p.a.

    annual fee

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • Experts Choice Winner - No Annual Fee Credit Card
    • Low rate of 11.99% p.a on purchases and cash advances
    • Up to 55 days interest free on purchases
    • Balance transfer rate: No current offer
    • Annual fee: $0
    • Purchase rate: 11.99% p.a.
    • Interest free days: 55
    • Interest rate on cash withdrawals: 11.99% p.a.
    • Fee for cash withdrawals: 2%, Min $4.00
    • Rewards description:
    Overall rating

    8.0

    Based on 204 ME credit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Woolworths Everyday Platinum Credit Card

    Woolworths Everyday Platinum Credit Card

    • Redeem your credit card points for Woolworths shopping cards
    • $50 Woolies eGift Card when you spend $150 a month for 3 months
    • $0 annual fee for the first year (saving $49)

    balance transfer rate

    0% p.a. for 14 months and then 21.99% p.a.

    purchase rate

    19.99% p.a.

    annual fee

    $49 $0 in the first year

    Go to site

    More info

    • Redeem your credit card points for Woolworths shopping cards
    • $50 Woolies eGift Card when you spend $150 a month for 3 months
    • $0 annual fee for the first year (saving $49)
    • Balance transfer rate: 0% p.a. for 14 months and then 21.99% p.a.
    • Annual fee: $49 $0 in the first year
    • Purchase rate: 19.99% p.a.
    • Interest free days: 55
    • Interest rate on cash withdrawals: 21.99% p.a.
    • Fee for cash withdrawals: 3%, minimum $5
    • Rewards description: Woolworths Money Shopping Card sent every 4 months if enough points have been accrued.
    Overall rating

    6.3

    Based on 181 Woolworths credit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Qantas Money Qantas Premier Everyday

    Qantas Money Qantas Premier Everyday

    • 0% purchase rate for first 9 months (19.99% afterwards)
    • 20,000 bonus points if you apply by 30 May 2019 and spend $3,000 in the first 90 days
    • 0% balance transfer rate for 9 months (21.99% afterwards).

    balance transfer rate

    0% p.a. for 9 months and then 21.99% p.a.

    purchase rate

    0% p.a. for 9 months then 19.99% p.a.

    annual fee

    $49

    Go to site

    More info

    • 0% purchase rate for first 9 months (19.99% afterwards)
    • 20,000 bonus points if you apply by 30 May 2019 and spend $3,000 in the first 90 days
    • 0% balance transfer rate for 9 months (21.99% afterwards).
    • Balance transfer rate: 0% p.a. for 9 months and then 21.99% p.a.
    • Annual fee: $49
    • Purchase rate: 0% p.a. for 9 months then 19.99% p.a.
    • Interest free days: 55
    • Interest rate on cash withdrawals: 21.99% p.a.
    • Fee for cash withdrawals: 3%, min $3.00
    • Rewards description: Points are automatically credited to the Qantas Frequent Flyer program.
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2018

    American Express Qantas Ultimate Card

    American Express Qantas Ultimate Card

    • Receive a whopping 100,000 bonus Qantas Points when you apply online by 6 May 2019, are approved, and spend $3,000 on your new Card within the first 3 months.
    • Get rewarded with up to 2.25 Qantas Points per $1 spent.
    • Complimentary domestic and international travel insurance

    balance transfer rate

    0% p.a. for 12 months and then 20.74% p.a. (1.00% balance transfer fee)

    purchase rate

    20.74% p.a.

    annual fee

    $450

    Go to site

    More info

    • Receive a whopping 100,000 bonus Qantas Points when you apply online by 6 May 2019, are approved, and spend $3,000 on your new Card within the first 3 months.
    • Get rewarded with up to 2.25 Qantas Points per $1 spent.
    • Complimentary domestic and international travel insurance
    • Balance transfer rate: 0% p.a. for 12 months and then 20.74% p.a. (1.00% balance transfer fee)
    • Annual fee: $450
    • Purchase rate: 20.74% p.a.
    • Interest free days: 44
    • Interest rate on cash withdrawals:
    • Fee for cash withdrawals:
    • Rewards description: Points are automatically credited to the Qantas Frequent Flyer program.
    Overall rating

    6.6

    Based on 863 American Express credit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

**Saving based on the average difference in fees and charges over 3 years between the most competitive product Mozo can refer a consumer to and the average credit card product input by 6,863 consumers (average balance of $4,262 or balance transfer balance of $5,818, interest rate of 19.6% and annual fee of $36.50) who used the Mozo Credit Card Health Check tool between 1 January 2012 to July 2012.

Want more? Compare all 223 credit cards in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more credit cards

Look for a specific type of credit card:

**Saving based on the average difference in fees and charges over 3 years between the most competitive product Mozo can refer a consumer to and the average credit card product input by 6,863 consumers (average balance of $4,262 or balance transfer balance of $5,818, interest rate of 19.6% and annual fee of $36.50) who used the Mozo Credit Card Health Check tool between 1 January 2012 to July 2012.

Back to top