HSBC credit card reviews

HSBC
HSBC's overall rating for credit cards

(as rated by the Mozo community)

5.6 / 10

based on 438 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured credit card from HSBC

Recent HSBC credit card reviews

HSBC

HSBC Platinum Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Good online services

first time application

Full review

first time application

    Price   6 / 10

Less

Tuan, New South Wales, reviewed over 1 year ago

HSBC

HSBC Platinum Qantas Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Good provider but not for gaining Qantas points

This credit card has multiple tiers in Qantas Frequent Flyer point accumulation. That is, one point for each dollar spent using the card if your balance is less than $3,000 a month. After reaching this threshold, you will be awarded 0.5 points for...

Full review

This credit card has multiple tiers in Qantas Frequent Flyer point accumulation. That is, one point for each dollar spent using the card if your balance is less than $3,000 a month. After reaching this threshold, you will be awarded 0.5 points for each dollar spent. Therefore, it gives cardholders less value compared to other cards.

    Price   3 / 10

Less

Paulo, Victoria, reviewed almost 2 years ago

HSBC

HSBC credit card review

Overall rating   5 / 10

I dislike this bank

After missing a payment by two days thanks to other banks being delayed, HSBC cancelled the card and now I have only a payment to make without the use of credit limit which was disappointment especially after being with them for 18 years.

Full review

After missing a payment by two days thanks to other banks being delayed, HSBC cancelled the card and now I have only a payment to make without the use of credit limit which was disappointment especially after being with them for 18 years.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Peter, New South Wales, reviewed about 2 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Low Rate Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great service and fantastic rewards

Although their interest rate is high it does not affect us as we pay off our balance at each statement. Their rewards program is great and the points add up quickly and we often redeem for gift vouchers and treat ourselves to free purchases. They...

Full review

Although their interest rate is high it does not affect us as we pay off our balance at each statement. Their rewards program is great and the points add up quickly and we often redeem for gift vouchers and treat ourselves to free purchases. They are quick to notify us if they feel an unauthorised transaction has taken place, (which none were but we purchased something from overseas which aroused their suspicions )

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Garry, New South Wales, reviewed over 2 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Platinum Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Great customer service

Terrible interest rates

Full review

Terrible interest rates

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Ellen, New South Wales, reviewed over 2 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Low Rate Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Run and don't look back.

The only place I have seen good reviews is on here. Which to me is somewhat suspect. This is the worst bank EVER. Seriously run the other way. I was roped into the credit card and there has been one issue after another. From them randomly...

Full review

The only place I have seen good reviews is on here. Which to me is somewhat suspect. This is the worst bank EVER. Seriously run the other way. I was roped into the credit card and there has been one issue after another. From them randomly canceling the cards (I have had three cards cancelled with explanations of "Sorry we don't know what happened') to just plain old terrible and poor communication and customer service. This "Bank" is an all over fail. I can not wait to finalise credit transfer and get the hell out of this poor excuse of a company. Would not recommend to my worst enemy.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Melissa, Queensland, reviewed over 2 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Low Rate Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service secure online banking setup

Well for example I haven't been able to make payments recently and they haven't hassled me or debited from my savings account. I guess its up to me! :P just great interest rates etc

Full review

Well for example I haven't been able to make payments recently and they haven't hassled me or debited from my savings account. I guess its up to me! :P just great interest rates etc

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Shannon, Queensland, reviewed over 2 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Premier World Mastercard (Rewards Plus) credit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Highly recommended.

Very convenient to use, service is very good too with friendly and helpful staff.

Full review

Very convenient to use, service is very good too with friendly and helpful staff.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Boon, Victoria, reviewed over 2 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Platinum Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great rewards program

Rewards program

Full review

Rewards program

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Christin, New South Wales, reviewed almost 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC credit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Fantastic Bank.

Great bank, only credit card to offer me interest free to pay off my lap top computer or any thing else l wanted up to around $3000 think it was. Also no fee's for life card .

Full review

Great bank, only credit card to offer me interest free to pay off my lap top computer or any thing else l wanted up to around $3000 think it was. Also no fee's for life card .

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Glenice, Queensland, reviewed almost 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Low Rate Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great

great

Full review

great

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Reg, Queensland, reviewed almost 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Platinum Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Seamless. Canberra branch best bank I've used.

The branch staff are really good, always help out if the credit card call centre hits a hurdle. Great personal service, feel like a valued client.

Full review

The branch staff are really good, always help out if the credit card call centre hits a hurdle. Great personal service, feel like a valued client.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Shawn, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed almost 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC credit card review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great customer service.

Great Customer Service. Cumbersome credit cards online - if you have a long name, it will not be displayed in full.

Full review

Great Customer Service. Cumbersome credit cards online - if you have a long name, it will not be displayed in full.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Constantine, New South Wales, reviewed almost 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC credit card review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Great QANTAS points

No app for checking account

Full review

No app for checking account

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Mark, Queensland, reviewed about 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Platinum Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great Customer Service

Customer service is great!!

Full review

Customer service is great!!

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Alan, Western Australia, reviewed about 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Low Rate Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Good for balance transfers

Good for balance transfers.

Full review

Good for balance transfers.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Melinda, Western Australia, reviewed about 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Platinum Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Go local

Most useless bank I have ever had the misfortune to be with.

Full review

Most useless bank I have ever had the misfortune to be with.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   1 / 10

Less

Edward, Western Australia, reviewed about 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Low Rate Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Good customer service

Has good telephone customer service.

Full review

Has good telephone customer service.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Chrisula, New South Wales, reviewed about 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Platinum Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Terrible, don't bank with them

No personalised service, push this button and that button, can't speak to my branch.

Full review

No personalised service, push this button and that button, can't speak to my branch.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   2 / 10

Less

Julie, Victoria, reviewed over 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Platinum Qantas Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Duped loyal customers by halving points rewards

Just got hit with the $199 fee in July, only to be told in August (funny, that) that I am now only able to earn 2,500 points at $1 per point each month, and thereafter I can only earn .5 of a point for each dollar spent. My monthly spend is about...

Full review

Just got hit with the $199 fee in July, only to be told in August (funny, that) that I am now only able to earn 2,500 points at $1 per point each month, and thereafter I can only earn .5 of a point for each dollar spent. My monthly spend is about $9,000, so guess where I'm taking my business? As far away from HSBC as possible.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Peter, Queensland, reviewed over 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Platinum Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great card, reasonable interest rate

Great card, reasonable interest rate, staff are great.

Full review

Great card, reasonable interest rate, staff are great.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jeremy, New South Wales, reviewed over 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Low Rate Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Interest rate extreme

Interest rates extreme

Full review

Interest rates extreme

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Geoff, Western Australia, reviewed over 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC credit card review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Same as others

Communication can be improved.

Full review

Communication can be improved.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Robert, New South Wales, reviewed over 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Premier World Mastercard (Rewards Plus) credit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service.

I like this bank because the services are personal and am able to communicate with them with regards to quarries. The con is that sometimes it takes some time to connect to the customer service via phone.

Full review

I like this bank because the services are personal and am able to communicate with them with regards to quarries. The con is that sometimes it takes some time to connect to the customer service via phone.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Balasundarsm, Victoria, reviewed over 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Low Rate Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

No yearly card fees

No yearly fees on card , great company to deal with over any issues.

Full review

No yearly fees on card , great company to deal with over any issues.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Glenice, Queensland, reviewed over 3 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Credit card comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2018

    American Express Explorer® Credit Card

    American Express Explorer® Credit Card

    • Receive 100,000 Membership Rewards® Points (T&Cs apply).
    • $400 in Travel Credit each year.
    • Up to 2 Membership Rewards points per $1 spent. Note: point redemption rates will change as of 15 April 2019, please visit the Amex website for more information.

    balance transfer rate

    0% p.a. for 12 months and then 20.74% p.a. (1.00% balance transfer fee)

    purchase rate

    20.74% p.a.

    annual fee

    $395

    Go to site

    More info

    • Receive 100,000 Membership Rewards® Points (T&Cs apply).
    • $400 in Travel Credit each year.
    • Up to 2 Membership Rewards points per $1 spent. Note: point redemption rates will change as of 15 April 2019, please visit the Amex website for more information.
    • Balance transfer rate: 0% p.a. for 12 months and then 20.74% p.a. (1.00% balance transfer fee)
    • Annual fee: $395
    • Purchase rate: 20.74% p.a.
    • Interest free days: 55
    • Interest rate on cash withdrawals:
    • Fee for cash withdrawals:
    • Rewards description: Transfer points to a range of airline programs or redeem your points for travel, gift cards, retail rewards and shopping gift cards.
    Overall rating

    6.6

    Based on 863 American Express credit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2018

    Australian Military Bank Low Rate Visa Credit Card

    Australian Military Bank Low Rate Visa Credit Card

    • $0 additional cardholder fee
    • Up to 55 days interest free on purchases
    • Visa payWave for convenient contactless purchases under $100

    balance transfer rate

    0% p.a. for 12 months and then 11.99% p.a.

    purchase rate

    11.99% p.a.

    annual fee

    $49

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 additional cardholder fee
    • Up to 55 days interest free on purchases
    • Visa payWave for convenient contactless purchases under $100
    • Balance transfer rate: 0% p.a. for 12 months and then 11.99% p.a.
    • Annual fee: $49
    • Purchase rate: 11.99% p.a.
    • Interest free days: 45
    • Interest rate on cash withdrawals: 19.99% p.a.
    • Fee for cash withdrawals: $4.50
    • Rewards description:
    Overall rating

    7.3

    Based on 45 Australian Military Bank credit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bankwest Breeze Platinum Mastercard

    Bankwest Breeze Platinum Mastercard

    • 0.0% p.a. on balance transfers for 13 months (2% BT fee applies)
    • Complimentary Credit Card Travel Insurance (T&Cs apply)
    • No foreign transaction fees on online and overseas purchases

    balance transfer rate

    0% p.a. for 13 months and then 12.99% p.a. (2.00% balance transfer fee)

    purchase rate

    0% p.a. for 13 months then 12.99% p.a.

    annual fee

    $99

    Go to site

    More info

    • 0.0% p.a. on balance transfers for 13 months (2% BT fee applies)
    • Complimentary Credit Card Travel Insurance (T&Cs apply)
    • No foreign transaction fees on online and overseas purchases
    • Balance transfer rate: 0% p.a. for 13 months and then 12.99% p.a. (2.00% balance transfer fee)
    • Annual fee: $99
    • Purchase rate: 0% p.a. for 13 months then 12.99% p.a.
    • Interest free days: 55
    • Interest rate on cash withdrawals: 21.99% p.a.
    • Fee for cash withdrawals: 2%, Min $4.00
    • Rewards description:
    Overall rating

    7.3

    Based on 1027 Bankwest credit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • ANZ Low Rate

    ANZ Low Rate

    • $1,000 minimum credit limit
    • 0.0% p.a. on balance transfers for 15 months (T&Cs apply)
    • Up to 55 days interest free on purchases

    balance transfer rate

    0% p.a. for 15 months and then 21.74% p.a.

    purchase rate

    12.49% p.a.

    annual fee

    $58

    Go to site

    More info

    • $1,000 minimum credit limit
    • 0.0% p.a. on balance transfers for 15 months (T&Cs apply)
    • Up to 55 days interest free on purchases
    • Balance transfer rate: 0% p.a. for 15 months and then 21.74% p.a.
    • Annual fee: $58
    • Purchase rate: 12.49% p.a.
    • Interest free days: 55
    • Interest rate on cash withdrawals: 21.74% p.a.
    • Fee for cash withdrawals: 2%
    • Rewards description:
    Overall rating

    6.7

    Based on 6067 ANZ credit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2018

    ANZ Frequent Flyer Black

    ANZ Frequent Flyer Black

    • 120,000 bonus Qantas Points and $150 back to your new ANZ Frequent Flyer Black card when you spend $7,500 on eligible purchases in the first 3 months. Eligibility criteria, T&Cs, fees and charges apply.
    • 1 Qantas Point per $1 spent on eligible purchases up to and including $7,500 per statement period.
    • Available with Apple Pay

    balance transfer rate

    No current offer

    purchase rate

    19.99% p.a.

    annual fee

    $425

    Go to site

    More info

    • 120,000 bonus Qantas Points and $150 back to your new ANZ Frequent Flyer Black card when you spend $7,500 on eligible purchases in the first 3 months. Eligibility criteria, T&Cs, fees and charges apply.
    • 1 Qantas Point per $1 spent on eligible purchases up to and including $7,500 per statement period.
    • Available with Apple Pay
    • Balance transfer rate: No current offer
    • Annual fee: $425
    • Purchase rate: 19.99% p.a.
    • Interest free days: 55
    • Interest rate on cash withdrawals: 21.49% p.a.
    • Fee for cash withdrawals: 2%
    • Rewards description: Points are automatically credited to the Qantas Frequent Flyer program.
    Overall rating

    6.7

    Based on 6067 ANZ credit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

**Saving based on the average difference in fees and charges over 3 years between the most competitive product Mozo can refer a consumer to and the average credit card product input by 6,863 consumers (average balance of $4,262 or balance transfer balance of $5,818, interest rate of 19.6% and annual fee of $36.50) who used the Mozo Credit Card Health Check tool between 1 January 2012 to July 2012.

Want more? Compare all 218 credit cards in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more credit cards

Look for a specific type of credit card:

**Saving based on the average difference in fees and charges over 3 years between the most competitive product Mozo can refer a consumer to and the average credit card product input by 6,863 consumers (average balance of $4,262 or balance transfer balance of $5,818, interest rate of 19.6% and annual fee of $36.50) who used the Mozo Credit Card Health Check tool between 1 January 2012 to July 2012.

Back to top