MyState Bank home loan reviews

MyState Bank
MyState Bank's overall rating for home loans

(as rated by the Mozo community)

7.5 / 10

based on 94 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured home loan from MyState Bank

Recent MyState Bank home loan reviews

MyState Bank

MyState Bank home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Feel's like I'm part of the MyState family.

Staff at MyState are wonderful. They go beyond the call of duty and treat you like their own family. I can't speak more highly of them.

Full review

Staff at MyState are wonderful. They go beyond the call of duty and treat you like their own family. I can't speak more highly of them.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Paul, Tasmania, reviewed over 3 years ago

MyState Bank

MyState Bank home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Personalised, Professional, Perfection!

Can't fault the service. Highly recommended.

Full review

Can't fault the service. Highly recommended.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Paul, Tasmania, reviewed over 3 years ago

MyState Bank

MyState Bank Fixed Rate Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%) home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Excellent service and interest rates - fuss free

There are no branches in Victoria which makes it tricky. But online and on the phone service is brilliant. Excellent rates.

Full review

There are no branches in Victoria which makes it tricky. But online and on the phone service is brilliant. Excellent rates.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Amy, Victoria, reviewed over 3 years ago

MyState Bank

MyState Bank home loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

This company is a joke

Worst bank I have ever dealt with... The most unprofessional unorganised business I have ever come across...Can't wait to go back to the Commonwealth.

Full review

Worst bank I have ever dealt with... The most unprofessional unorganised business I have ever come across...Can't wait to go back to the Commonwealth.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Luke, Victoria, reviewed over 3 years ago

MyState Bank

MyState Bank Special Residential Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%) home loan review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Poorest service ever experienced

Attracted by the low rate and redraw facilities, it took 3 months of chasing, asking and clarifying where our refinance loan was at. Extremely poor service response - the worse we have experienced. We felt we were servicing MyState, not the other...

Full review

Attracted by the low rate and redraw facilities, it took 3 months of chasing, asking and clarifying where our refinance loan was at. Extremely poor service response - the worse we have experienced. We felt we were servicing MyState, not the other way around. And at the end of it all, they failed to set up the requested repayment arrangements, resulting in a loan arrears situation that threatened our credit rating. Indeed, the customer complaints section asked us to complete the same forms again, despite them already being lodged 6 weeks earlier and an undertaking given that they would be actioned according to our requirements. Online access to monitor your loan, arrange redraws and additional payments is not provided as a matter of course and requires a separate process. The final blow is that we are required to open a Mystate bank account to access their redraw facility, as they don't allow redraw transfers into accounts of other banks. Even then, you cannot do it online, are required to attend a branch or make a phone call and a $30 fee is payable per redraw minimum of $500. This is different to other major providers who offer these facilities as a matter of course. If it is simply a low rate you want, go for it. If you also value customer service, responsiveness, transparency, 24/7 access to self-service and flexibility, use other providers.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Chris, Tasmania, reviewed almost 4 years ago

MyState Bank

MyState Bank Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Processing times too slow!

Not open weekends, have not closed accounts correctly, difficult to get things done, took way too long to process our loan!

Full review

Not open weekends, have not closed accounts correctly, difficult to get things done, took way too long to process our loan!

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Rachael, Tasmania, reviewed almost 4 years ago

MyState Bank

MyState Bank home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Helpful and friendly

My bank is brilliant -very personal and friendly.

Full review

My bank is brilliant -very personal and friendly.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Clayton, Tasmania, reviewed almost 4 years ago

MyState Bank

MyState Bank Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Hard to deal with

They charge fees on all transactions and the interest rates are quite high, not a good bank to deal with.

Full review

They charge fees on all transactions and the interest rates are quite high, not a good bank to deal with.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Royce, Tasmania, reviewed almost 4 years ago

MyState Bank

MyState Bank Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Bed rate

Best interest rate

Full review

Best interest rate

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Anita, Tasmania, reviewed almost 4 years ago

MyState Bank

MyState Bank Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Poor customer service

They have made a number of errors on this account and are very slow to fix and the communication is very poor.

Full review

They have made a number of errors on this account and are very slow to fix and the communication is very poor.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   1 / 10

Less

Jayne, Tasmania, reviewed almost 4 years ago

MyState Bank

MyState Bank Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Excellent customer service

MyState works with us when times are not so good to help us manage our mortgage and loans. That is worth paying a slightly higher rate for.

Full review

MyState works with us when times are not so good to help us manage our mortgage and loans. That is worth paying a slightly higher rate for.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Karen, Tasmania, reviewed almost 4 years ago

MyState Bank

MyState Bank Fixed Rate Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%) home loan review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Terrible service

This bank has terrible customer service, they do not look after their long term customers, getting a further loan from them is just too hard and drawn out, I wrote to them once complaining of the silly charges on the use of atms and I was told not...

Full review

This bank has terrible customer service, they do not look after their long term customers, getting a further loan from them is just too hard and drawn out, I wrote to them once complaining of the silly charges on the use of atms and I was told not to write any further messages to them, we have dealt with them for over 30 years can't stand them anymore, I could go on and on but the fact is this is a terrible bank.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

John, Tasmania, reviewed about 4 years ago

MyState Bank

MyState Bank home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

I love NAB :)

I have never had a bad experience with the national Australia bank.. I have had accounts with suncorp, commonwealth bank and westpac and quite frankly they don't even compare ...

Full review

I have never had a bad experience with the national Australia bank.. I have had accounts with suncorp, commonwealth bank and westpac and quite frankly they don't even compare ...

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Sharon, , reviewed about 4 years ago

MyState Bank

MyState Bank Fixed Rate Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Who ever gives the best deal :) :honest people

They looked after us being owner builders ,, after commnwelth bank approved us then ,, we went on holidays for a month, apparently rules changed about owen builders ,, they new new we brought a block of ground ,,,, when we came back they said no...

Full review

They looked after us being owner builders ,, after commnwelth bank approved us then ,, we went on holidays for a month, apparently rules changed about owen builders ,, they new new we brought a block of ground ,,,, when we came back they said no ,,,, we were both working full time ,,,, been approved then nocked back ,,,, why can one do it for you and the other couldent ....?...... then commonwelth bank rang us to see why we dident go with them ,,,,

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jennifer, Tasmania, reviewed about 4 years ago

MyState Bank

MyState Bank home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Like supporting a Tassie business

Very friendly staff, and the call centre staff are helpful and easy to follow, unlike most call centre workers.

Full review

Very friendly staff, and the call centre staff are helpful and easy to follow, unlike most call centre workers.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Lee, , reviewed about 4 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2019

    UBank UHomeLoan - Discount Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    UBank UHomeLoan - Discount Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • A Low rate Home Loan with $0 application fees for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • Choose between weekly, fortnightly or monthly repayments and make extra repayments for free on a variable rate home loan
    • 20% minimum deposit required

    interest rate

    3.59% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.59% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • A Low rate Home Loan with $0 application fees for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • Choose between weekly, fortnightly or monthly repayments and make extra repayments for free on a variable rate home loan
    • 20% minimum deposit required
    • Interest rate: 3.59% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.59% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $200,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $699,999
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    5.2

    Based on 111 UBank home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2019

    HSBC Discounted Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    HSBC Discounted Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • Owner occupier only
    • Available on new borrowings from $50,000
    • Your own Personal Relationship Manager

    interest rate

    3.59% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.61% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $150

    Go to site

    More info

    • Owner occupier only
    • Available on new borrowings from $50,000
    • Your own Personal Relationship Manager
    • Interest rate: 3.59% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.61% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $150
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free online
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 90.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $7,500,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.0

    Based on 109 HSBC home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Virgin Money Reward Me Variable Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%)

    Virgin Money Reward Me Variable Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%)

    • Competitive rates from 3.69% p.a.
    • No application fees
    • Receive 20,000 Velocity Points for every $100,000 drawn at settlement.

    interest rate

    3.69% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.83% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $150

    Go to site

    More info

    • Competitive rates from 3.69% p.a.
    • No application fees
    • Receive 20,000 Velocity Points for every $100,000 drawn at settlement.
    • Interest rate: 3.69% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.83% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $150
    • Ongoing fees: $10.00 monthly
    • Discharge fee: $320.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $750,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.1

    Based on 7 Virgin Money home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Featured product

     

    ME Flexible Home Loan (Fixed, Owner Occupier, LVR<80%, Principal & Interest)

    ME Flexible Home Loan (Fixed, Owner Occupier, LVR<80%, Principal & Interest)

    • Option to split your loan into fixed and variable
    • Offset available on the variable rate facility
    • Meet a mobile banker at a time or place that suits you

    interest rate

    3.89% p.a.
    fixed 2 years

    comparison rate*

    4.90% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $400

    Go to site

    More info

    • Option to split your loan into fixed and variable
    • Offset available on the variable rate facility
    • Meet a mobile banker at a time or place that suits you
    • Interest rate: 3.89% p.a.
      fixed 2 years
    • Comparison rate*: 4.90% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $400
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $350.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free up to $30,000 during fixed rate period
    • Redraw facility: no
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $40,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Fixed
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.7

    Based on 901 ME home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Featured product

     

    Heritage Bank Discount Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<80%)

    Heritage Bank Discount Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<80%)

    • Heritage’s current lowest variable interest rate
    • Unlimited extra repayments and unlimited redraw
    • People First service from your own dedicated lending specialist

    interest rate

    3.67% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.69% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $150

    Go to site

    More info

    • Heritage’s current lowest variable interest rate
    • Unlimited extra repayments and unlimited redraw
    • People First service from your own dedicated lending specialist
    • Interest rate: 3.67% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.69% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $150
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $250.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $150,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.3

    Based on 243 Heritage Bank home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

*WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

Want more? Compare all 522 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more home loans

Look for a specific type of home loan:

*WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

Back to top