Thumbnail icon for MyState Bank

MyState Bank Home loan reviews

Overall rating
7.3/10
Price
7.2/10
Features
6.5/10
Customer service
7.4/10
Convenience
7.5/10
Trust
7.4/10
Based on 107 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent MyState Bank home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • MyState Bank First Home Loan Deposit Scheme Fixed Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Frustrating and heartbreaking experience.

    They are extremely hard to communicate with long wait times and rude customer service. You can't talk directly to anyone from the bank servicing the loan and if it gets declined for any reason, they are ambiguous and will not give you a clear answer. Their wait times are up to 20 days and they are impossible to contact.

    Price
    3 / 10
    Features
    2 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Grace, New South Wales, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • MyState Bank Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    A deeply frustrating & disappointing experience

    Certainly not a ‘human’ way to bank. A lack of regard for our needs both when we originally took out our loan and now at pay out. After paying out the loan and taking all requested discharge actions, we are still waiting for our cleared property title 8 weeks later, with at least another 6 week wait ahead of us. This bank has clearly moved too quickly to technological service delivery, without regard to sound business redesign and change management principles and practices. They have dropped the ball on those business processes for which they alone remain fully responsible. Their technological solutions are fragile and insecure, meaning face-to-face branch contact is the only reliable, accountable and safe way of doing business. Repetitive visits are required to track progress to maintain accountability, as bank staff appear not to be required to be proactive and personally responsible to ensure a business process reaches its natural conclusion and to keep customers informed of their progress. A continuing, deeply frustrating and disappointing experience.

    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Chris, Tasmania, reviewed 3 months ago
  • MyState Bank Fixed Rate Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%) review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Average bank.

    Always had to fight to get a better rate and/or them to reduce their rate after official cuts. Even then, they never passed on full rate. I understand as a minor player in the market they have different pricing, costs etc. but that doesn't help me.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Steve, Queensland, reviewed 3 months ago
  • MyState Bank Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Poor communication but good rates

    Communication can be challenging. Electronic systems need updating (ie; app / online calcs etc). Rates are pretty good. Local bank is comforting.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    4 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Conor, Tasmania, reviewed 5 months ago
  • MyState Bank Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great Customer service

    Such a great bank, I have been with them over 5 years. So helpful and friendly. I wouldn't go anywhere else.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Jason, Victoria, reviewed 5 months ago
  • MyState Bank Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Customer orientated.

    Were fantastic in discussing what I wanted and then delivering. Adaptable and friendly.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Rodney, Tasmania, reviewed 10 months ago
  • MyState Bank Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Everything online.

    I like this bank because I never have to go into a bank.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Sharne, Queensland, reviewed 12 months ago
  • MyState Bank Basic Variable (<60% LVR, Owner Occupied, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Wouldn’t suggest them to anyone else.

    Day to day banking is fine but home loan and flexibility is not great.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Linda, Tasmania, reviewed 12 months ago
  • MyState Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Competitive products.

    Local and offers competitive products.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Maureen, Tasmania, reviewed 12 months ago
  • MyState Bank Basic Variable (<60% LVR, Owner Occupied, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   2 / 10
    Terrible service.

    MyState Bank's service is atrocious. Besides not applying any full or even near rate reductions, I had to fight to get 1 further small reduction after the 2nd official cut. They've refused to do more after the 3rd. They leave it up to customers to contact them to fight for a better deal. On top of this, they have never called back at my preferred time, always when I'm at work or doing something more enjoyable.

    Price
    3 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    3 / 10
    Less
    Steve, Queensland, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • MyState Bank Basic Variable (<60% LVR, Owner Occupied, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Trustworthy.

    Overall MyState is a good alternative to the big 4. Our loan manager is very accommodating.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Brad, Tasmania, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • MyState Bank Fixed Rate Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Local banks are awesome!

    Great local bank with a broad range of products and services and they show that they actually care. Always very helpful and exceptionally friendly with great advice.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Cheyne, Tasmania, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • MyState Bank Fixed Rate Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%) review

    Overall rating   3 / 10
    Needs better rates

    I think taking out a home loan with MyState was a bad choice. The rates are very expensive. I will wait for another 2.5 years after my fixed rate is over so I can move out to a better provider

    Price
    3 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    3 / 10
    Trust
    3 / 10
    Less
    Parveen, Victoria, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • MyState Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Feel's like I'm part of the MyState family.

    Staff at MyState are wonderful. They go beyond the call of duty and treat you like their own family. I can't speak more highly of them.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Paul, Tasmania, reviewed about 5 years ago
  • MyState Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Personalised, Professional, Perfection!

    Can't fault the service. Highly recommended.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Paul, Tasmania, reviewed about 5 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Booster Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a.variable for 12 months and then 2.48% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.47% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Celebrate Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.19% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.19% p.a.

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan - Discount Offer

      interest rate
      2.34% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.34% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Special Offer Reward Me Fixed Rate Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.04% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      2.73% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Fixed Home Loan Special Offer Home Package Plus

      interest rate
      1.89% p.a.
      fixed 2 years
      comparison rate
      2.94% p.a.

      Promoted

    WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 541 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.