Advertisement

MyState Bank home loan reviews

MyState Bank
MyState Bank's overall rating for home loans

(as rated by the Mozo community)

7.5 / 10

based on 94 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured home loan from MyState Bank

Recent MyState Bank home loan reviews

MyState Bank

MyState Bank Home Loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Feel's like I'm part of the MyState family.

Staff at MyState are wonderful. They go beyond the call of duty and treat you like their own family. I can't speak more highly of them.

Full review

Staff at MyState are wonderful. They go beyond the call of duty and treat you like their own family. I can't speak more highly of them.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Paul, Tasmania, reviewed over 3 years ago

MyState Bank

MyState Bank Home Loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Personalised, Professional, Perfection!

Can't fault the service. Highly recommended.

Full review

Can't fault the service. Highly recommended.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Paul, Tasmania, reviewed almost 4 years ago

MyState Bank

MyState Bank Fixed Rate Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%) Fixed Rate Loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Excellent service and interest rates - fuss free

There are no branches in Victoria which makes it tricky. But online and on the phone service is brilliant. Excellent rates.

Full review

There are no branches in Victoria which makes it tricky. But online and on the phone service is brilliant. Excellent rates.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Amy, Victoria, reviewed almost 4 years ago

MyState Bank

MyState Bank Home Loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

This company is a joke

Worst bank I have ever dealt with... The most unprofessional unorganised business I have ever come across...Can't wait to go back to the Commonwealth.

Full review

Worst bank I have ever dealt with... The most unprofessional unorganised business I have ever come across...Can't wait to go back to the Commonwealth.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Luke, Victoria, reviewed about 4 years ago

MyState Bank

MyState Bank Special Residential Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%) Special Residential Home Loan review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Poorest service ever experienced

Attracted by the low rate and redraw facilities, it took 3 months of chasing, asking and clarifying where our refinance loan was at. Extremely poor service response - the worse we have experienced. We felt we were servicing MyState, not the other...

Full review

Attracted by the low rate and redraw facilities, it took 3 months of chasing, asking and clarifying where our refinance loan was at. Extremely poor service response - the worse we have experienced. We felt we were servicing MyState, not the other way around. And at the end of it all, they failed to set up the requested repayment arrangements, resulting in a loan arrears situation that threatened our credit rating. Indeed, the customer complaints section asked us to complete the same forms again, despite them already being lodged 6 weeks earlier and an undertaking given that they would be actioned according to our requirements. Online access to monitor your loan, arrange redraws and additional payments is not provided as a matter of course and requires a separate process. The final blow is that we are required to open a Mystate bank account to access their redraw facility, as they don't allow redraw transfers into accounts of other banks. Even then, you cannot do it online, are required to attend a branch or make a phone call and a $30 fee is payable per redraw minimum of $500. This is different to other major providers who offer these facilities as a matter of course. If it is simply a low rate you want, go for it. If you also value customer service, responsiveness, transparency, 24/7 access to self-service and flexibility, use other providers.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Chris, Tasmania, reviewed about 4 years ago

MyState Bank

MyState Bank Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) Standard Variable Home Loan review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Processing times too slow!

Not open weekends, have not closed accounts correctly, difficult to get things done, took way too long to process our loan!

Full review

Not open weekends, have not closed accounts correctly, difficult to get things done, took way too long to process our loan!

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Rachael, Tasmania, reviewed about 4 years ago

MyState Bank

MyState Bank Home Loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Helpful and friendly

My bank is brilliant -very personal and friendly.

Full review

My bank is brilliant -very personal and friendly.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Clayton, Tasmania, reviewed about 4 years ago

MyState Bank

MyState Bank Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) Standard Variable Home Loan review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Hard to deal with

They charge fees on all transactions and the interest rates are quite high, not a good bank to deal with.

Full review

They charge fees on all transactions and the interest rates are quite high, not a good bank to deal with.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Royce, Tasmania, reviewed about 4 years ago

MyState Bank

MyState Bank Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) Standard Variable Home Loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Bed rate

Best interest rate

Full review

Best interest rate

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Anita, Tasmania, reviewed over 4 years ago

MyState Bank

MyState Bank Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) Standard Variable Home Loan review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Poor customer service

They have made a number of errors on this account and are very slow to fix and the communication is very poor.

Full review

They have made a number of errors on this account and are very slow to fix and the communication is very poor.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   1 / 10

Less

Jayne, Tasmania, reviewed over 4 years ago

MyState Bank

MyState Bank Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) Standard Variable Home Loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Excellent customer service

MyState works with us when times are not so good to help us manage our mortgage and loans. That is worth paying a slightly higher rate for.

Full review

MyState works with us when times are not so good to help us manage our mortgage and loans. That is worth paying a slightly higher rate for.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Karen, Tasmania, reviewed over 4 years ago

MyState Bank

MyState Bank Fixed Rate Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%) Fixed Rate Loan review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Terrible service

This bank has terrible customer service, they do not look after their long term customers, getting a further loan from them is just too hard and drawn out, I wrote to them once complaining of the silly charges on the use of atms and I was told not...

Full review

This bank has terrible customer service, they do not look after their long term customers, getting a further loan from them is just too hard and drawn out, I wrote to them once complaining of the silly charges on the use of atms and I was told not to write any further messages to them, we have dealt with them for over 30 years can't stand them anymore, I could go on and on but the fact is this is a terrible bank.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

John, Tasmania, reviewed over 4 years ago

MyState Bank

MyState Bank Home Loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

I love NAB :)

I have never had a bad experience with the national Australia bank.. I have had accounts with suncorp, commonwealth bank and westpac and quite frankly they don't even compare ...

Full review

I have never had a bad experience with the national Australia bank.. I have had accounts with suncorp, commonwealth bank and westpac and quite frankly they don't even compare ...

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Sharon, , reviewed over 4 years ago

MyState Bank

MyState Bank Fixed Rate Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%) Fixed Rate Loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Who ever gives the best deal :) :honest people

They looked after us being owner builders ,, after commnwelth bank approved us then ,, we went on holidays for a month, apparently rules changed about owen builders ,, they new new we brought a block of ground ,,,, when we came back they said no...

Full review

They looked after us being owner builders ,, after commnwelth bank approved us then ,, we went on holidays for a month, apparently rules changed about owen builders ,, they new new we brought a block of ground ,,,, when we came back they said no ,,,, we were both working full time ,,,, been approved then nocked back ,,,, why can one do it for you and the other couldent ....?...... then commonwelth bank rang us to see why we dident go with them ,,,,

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jennifer, Tasmania, reviewed over 4 years ago

MyState Bank

MyState Bank Home Loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Like supporting a Tassie business

Very friendly staff, and the call centre staff are helpful and easy to follow, unlike most call centre workers.

Full review

Very friendly staff, and the call centre staff are helpful and easy to follow, unlike most call centre workers.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Lee, , reviewed over 4 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • loans.com.au Smart Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    loans.com.au Smart Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • For purchase and refinance, min 20% deposit
    • No application or ongoing fees
    • Unlimited redraws and additional repayments

    interest rate

    3.03% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.05% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $520

    Go to site

    More info

    • For purchase and refinance, min 20% deposit
    • No application or ongoing fees
    • Unlimited redraws and additional repayments
    • Interest rate: 3.03% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.05% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $520
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $1,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Special offers:
    Overall rating

    8.2

    Based on 637 loans.com.au home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2019

    UBank UHomeLoan - Discount Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    UBank UHomeLoan - Discount Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • $0 application fee for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • No monthly fees
    • 20% minimum deposit required. Minimum loan amount $700k

    interest rate

    3.09% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.09% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 application fee for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • No monthly fees
    • 20% minimum deposit required. Minimum loan amount $700k
    • Interest rate: 3.09% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.09% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $200,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Special offers:
    Overall rating

    5.2

    Based on 111 UBank home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Athena Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Athena Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • No application fees
    • No monthly fees
    • No annual fees

    interest rate

    3.09% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.05% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • No application fees
    • No monthly fees
    • No annual fees
    • Interest rate: 3.09% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.05% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $100,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Special offers:
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • ANZ Simplicity PLUS Special Offer LVR <80% (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    ANZ Simplicity PLUS Special Offer LVR <80% (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • Take out a loan of $50,000 or more in new to ANZ lending and save 0.56% p.a
    • The Loan Approval Fee or any Renegotiation Fee is waived upon request
    • The Loan Approval Fee or any Renegotiation Fee is also waived for loans not eligible for the interest rate discount upon request

    interest rate

    3.38% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.42% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • Take out a loan of $50,000 or more in new to ANZ lending and save 0.56% p.a
    • The Loan Approval Fee or any Renegotiation Fee is waived upon request
    • The Loan Approval Fee or any Renegotiation Fee is also waived for loans not eligible for the interest rate discount upon request
    • Interest rate: 3.38% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.42% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $160.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Special offers: Apply for a home loan over $300,000 by 31 August 2019, and settle by 31 Jan 2020 to earn 300,000 Qantas Points.
    Overall rating

    6.9

    Based on 3845 ANZ home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Featured product

     

    ME Flexible Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<80%, Principal & Interest) (Member Package)

    ME Flexible Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<80%, Principal & Interest) (Member Package)

    • 3.69% p.a. / 4.11% p.a. Comp Rate
    • Annual Fee of $395. Loan size $400k-$699k
    • Experts Choice - Australia's Best Bank 2018

    interest rate

    3.39% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.83% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $200

    Go to site

    More info

    • 3.69% p.a. / 4.11% p.a. Comp Rate
    • Annual Fee of $395. Loan size $400k-$699k
    • Experts Choice - Australia's Best Bank 2018
    • Interest rate: 3.39% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.83% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $200
    • Ongoing fees: $395.00 yearly
    • Discharge fee: $350.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $400,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $699,999
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Special offers:
    Overall rating

    8.7

    Based on 902 ME home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

*WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

Want more? Compare all 532 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more home loans

Look for a specific type of home loan:

*WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

Back to top
 
Advertisement