Thumbnail icon for MyState Bank

MyState Bank Home loan reviews

Overall rating
7.4/10
Price
7.2/10
Features
6.4/10
Customer service
7.6/10
Convenience
7.6/10
Trust
7.5/10
Based on 101 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent MyState Bank home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • MyState Bank Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Everything online.

    I like this bank because I never have to go into a bank.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Sharne, Queensland, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • MyState Bank Basic Variable (<80% LVR, Owner Occupied, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Wouldn’t suggest them to anyone else.

    Day to day banking is fine but home loan and flexibility is not great.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Linda, Tasmania, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • MyState Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Competitive products.

    Local and offers competitive products.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Maureen, Tasmania, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • MyState Bank Basic Variable (<80% LVR, Owner Occupied, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   2 / 10
    Terrible service.

    MyState Bank's service is atrocious. Besides not applying any full or even near rate reductions, I had to fight to get 1 further small reduction after the 2nd official cut. They've refused to do more after the 3rd. They leave it up to customers to contact them to fight for a better deal. On top of this, they have never called back at my preferred time, always when I'm at work or doing something more enjoyable.

    Price
    3 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    3 / 10
    Less
    Steve, Queensland, reviewed 2 months ago
  • MyState Bank Basic Variable (<80% LVR, Owner Occupied, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Trustworthy.

    Overall MyState is a good alternative to the big 4. Our loan manager is very accommodating.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Brad, Tasmania, reviewed 3 months ago
  • MyState Bank Fixed Rate Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Local banks are awesome!

    Great local bank with a broad range of products and services and they show that they actually care. Always very helpful and exceptionally friendly with great advice.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Cheyne, Tasmania, reviewed 3 months ago
  • MyState Bank Fixed Rate Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%) review

    Overall rating   3 / 10
    Needs better rates

    I think taking out a home loan with MyState was a bad choice. The rates are very expensive. I will wait for another 2.5 years after my fixed rate is over so I can move out to a better provider

    Price
    3 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    3 / 10
    Trust
    3 / 10
    Less
    Parveen, Victoria, reviewed 4 months ago
  • MyState Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Feel's like I'm part of the MyState family.

    Staff at MyState are wonderful. They go beyond the call of duty and treat you like their own family. I can't speak more highly of them.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Paul, Tasmania, reviewed about 4 years ago
  • MyState Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Personalised, Professional, Perfection!

    Can't fault the service. Highly recommended.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Paul, Tasmania, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • MyState Bank Fixed Rate Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%) review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Excellent service and interest rates - fuss free

    There are no branches in Victoria which makes it tricky. But online and on the phone service is brilliant. Excellent rates.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    4 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Amy, Victoria, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • MyState Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    This company is a joke

    Worst bank I have ever dealt with... The most unprofessional unorganised business I have ever come across...Can't wait to go back to the Commonwealth.

    Price
    0 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Luke, Victoria, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • MyState Bank Special Residential Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%) review

    Overall rating   2 / 10
    Poorest service ever experienced

    Attracted by the low rate and redraw facilities, it took 3 months of chasing, asking and clarifying where our refinance loan was at. Extremely poor service response - the worse we have experienced. We felt we were servicing MyState, not the other way around. And at the end of it all, they failed to set up the requested repayment arrangements, resulting in a loan arrears situation that threatened our credit rating. Indeed, the customer complaints section asked us to complete the same forms again, despite them already being lodged 6 weeks earlier and an undertaking given that they would be actioned according to our requirements. Online access to monitor your loan, arrange redraws and additional payments is not provided as a matter of course and requires a separate process. The final blow is that we are required to open a Mystate bank account to access their redraw facility, as they don't allow redraw transfers into accounts of other banks. Even then, you cannot do it online, are required to attend a branch or make a phone call and a $30 fee is payable per redraw minimum of $500. This is different to other major providers who offer these facilities as a matter of course. If it is simply a low rate you want, go for it. If you also value customer service, responsiveness, transparency, 24/7 access to self-service and flexibility, use other providers.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    3 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Chris, Tasmania, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • MyState Bank Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   3 / 10
    Processing times too slow!

    Not open weekends, have not closed accounts correctly, difficult to get things done, took way too long to process our loan!

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    3 / 10
    Less
    Rachael, Tasmania, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • MyState Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Helpful and friendly

    My bank is brilliant -very personal and friendly.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Clayton, Tasmania, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • MyState Bank Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   2 / 10
    Hard to deal with

    They charge fees on all transactions and the interest rates are quite high, not a good bank to deal with.

    Price
    2 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Royce, Tasmania, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.88% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.90% p.a.
      upfront fees
      $520

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan - Discount Offer

      interest rate
      2.84% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.84% p.a.
      upfront fees
      $0

      Promoted
    • Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.84% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.80% p.a.
      upfront fees
      $0

      Promoted
    • Basic Home Loan

      interest rate
      3.09% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      3.09% p.a.
      upfront fees
      $0

      Promoted
    • Discount Fixed Rate 300k+

      interest rate
      2.89% p.a.
      fixed 2 years
      comparison rate*
      3.76% p.a.
      upfront fees
      $450

      Promoted

    *WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 533 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.