MyState Bank logo

MyState Bank Home loan reviews

Overall rating
7.1/10
Price
7.0/10
Features
6.3/10
Customer service
7.3/10
Convenience
7.3/10
Trust
7.3/10
Based on 114 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent MyState Bank home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • MyState Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Worst bank in the world

    This bank is nothing but trouble the entire way. We were charged 4 thousand because they took 60 days to get the finance. Then they we sold some land everyone had to wait literally 4 months just for mystate to do their part. My conveyancer and i have never seen anything like it. I could go on and on and on they literally dont care they are the slowest in the world and have zero problem stuffing you around non stop no matter how urgent your situation is they will not help you. Stay away

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Tyson, South Australia, reviewed 3 days ago
  • MyState Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   2 / 10
    Too slow.

    When applying for a home loan the time to decision is too long. Most contracts of sale assume a 14 day finance clause, however, even if you have pre-approval from this bank, you will wait 21 days (or longer) for a decision. I'm a permanent full time worker, with a very good credit rating, earning above average salary and applying for a LVR <80% and this is the timeline I've experienced with them, twice. Never again.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    3 / 10
    Less
    John, Victoria, reviewed 12 days ago
  • MyState Bank First Home Loan Deposit Scheme Variable Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   3 / 10
    Not recommended.

    Archaic loan with higher interest rate than competitors, very little features, and those it does have are cumbersome and costly.

    Price
    4 / 10
    Features
    2 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    2 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Gayle, Tasmania, reviewed 20 days ago
  • MyState Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   3 / 10
    High loan interest rates, refuse to drop

    I am living in regional NSW and there are no physical banks to visit and withdraw money. The variable interest remained unchanged with the large reserve bank decrease. Was paying 3.52% for variable and they still refused to drop the rate given I was offered 1.89% for the same loan with a different bank. We will now be moving to a new bank. Although I had minimal issues contacting customer service and they were polite to deal with.

    Price
    2 / 10
    Features
    2 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    2 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Scott, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • MyState Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Customer service is terrible.

    Since Mystate bank have pulled all branches out of Queensland their service has deteriorated to the point of being non existent. call them and wait times will exceed 1/2 an hour, and if you call the lenders department you are told to send them an email and they will get back to you within 3 days. Appalling. I have sold 2 houses that I had mortgaged through them and both times settlement has been held up by 5 days while they sort out their paperwork, and both times I had given them plenty of notice that the houses were sold. Never again. They have lost all my business.

    Price
    3 / 10
    Features
    3 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    4 / 10
    Less
    Noel, Queensland, reviewed 3 months ago
  • MyState Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Great Tasmanian bank.

    Local Tasmanian bank with Tasmanians' interests in mind.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Ben, Tasmania, reviewed 4 months ago
  • MyState Bank Fixed Rate Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%) review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Great bank to work with.

    We have been with this bank for over 15 years and even though there is no bank where we live service has always been efficient and friendly and communication is great.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Narissa, Queensland, reviewed 4 months ago
  • MyState Bank First Home Loan Deposit Scheme Fixed Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Frustrating and heartbreaking experience.

    They are extremely hard to communicate with long wait times and rude customer service. You can't talk directly to anyone from the bank servicing the loan and if it gets declined for any reason, they are ambiguous and will not give you a clear answer. Their wait times are up to 20 days and they are impossible to contact.

    Price
    3 / 10
    Features
    2 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Grace, New South Wales, reviewed 7 months ago
  • MyState Bank Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    A deeply frustrating & disappointing experience

    Certainly not a ‘human’ way to bank. A lack of regard for our needs both when we originally took out our loan and now at pay out. After paying out the loan and taking all requested discharge actions, we are still waiting for our cleared property title 8 weeks later, with at least another 6 week wait ahead of us. This bank has clearly moved too quickly to technological service delivery, without regard to sound business redesign and change management principles and practices. They have dropped the ball on those business processes for which they alone remain fully responsible. Their technological solutions are fragile and insecure, meaning face-to-face branch contact is the only reliable, accountable and safe way of doing business. Repetitive visits are required to track progress to maintain accountability, as bank staff appear not to be required to be proactive and personally responsible to ensure a business process reaches its natural conclusion and to keep customers informed of their progress. A continuing, deeply frustrating and disappointing experience.

    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Chris, Tasmania, reviewed 9 months ago
  • MyState Bank Fixed Rate Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%) review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Average bank.

    Always had to fight to get a better rate and/or them to reduce their rate after official cuts. Even then, they never passed on full rate. I understand as a minor player in the market they have different pricing, costs etc. but that doesn't help me.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Steve, Queensland, reviewed 9 months ago
  • MyState Bank Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Poor communication but good rates

    Communication can be challenging. Electronic systems need updating (ie; app / online calcs etc). Rates are pretty good. Local bank is comforting.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    4 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Conor, Tasmania, reviewed 11 months ago
  • MyState Bank Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great Customer service

    Such a great bank, I have been with them over 5 years. So helpful and friendly. I wouldn't go anywhere else.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Jason, Victoria, reviewed 11 months ago
  • MyState Bank Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Customer orientated.

    Were fantastic in discussing what I wanted and then delivering. Adaptable and friendly.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Rodney, Tasmania, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • MyState Bank Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Everything online.

    I like this bank because I never have to go into a bank.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Sharne, Queensland, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • MyState Bank Basic Variable (<60% LVR, Owner Occupied, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Wouldn’t suggest them to anyone else.

    Day to day banking is fine but home loan and flexibility is not great.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Linda, Tasmania, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Booster Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a.variable for 12 months and then 2.48% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.47% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Fixed Rate Loan with Orange Advantage Orange Advantage

      interest rate
      2.04% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      3.60% p.a.

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan

      interest rate
      1.85% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      2.24% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Variable Home Loan Special

      interest rate
      2.09% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.12% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Celebrate Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.19% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.19% p.a.

      Promoted

    WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 519 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.