BankSA logo

BankSA Home loan reviews

Overall rating
7.2/10
Price
6.8/10
Features
6.5/10
Customer service
7.2/10
Convenience
7.8/10
Trust
7.2/10
Based on 289 home loan reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent BankSA home loan customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • BankSA Home Loan

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Excellent service

    I have always found Bank SA to be very helpful and have provided excellent service over the years ensuring us to get the best possible rate on our home loan

    Price
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Fiona, South Australia, reviewed 2 months ago
  • BankSA Basic Home Loan Special Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Very bad treatment of all pensioners, with loans

    I have been a Bank SA customer for 51 years. My wife and I are on Disability Pensions, we own everything and owe nothing, but can't get a loan! We even own our own land and a small cottage that we just wanted to upgrade. Bank S.A would not lend us $30,000 through a equity loan and would only lend us $2,000 as a personal loan when we have more money than that in the bank. We are absolutely disgusted in their service, they said a loans officer would ring us on Monday after 11am, they tried to call the Friday before and of course I was unavailable. Then when they did call on Monday it was not a loans officer, it was just someone after more information, that we already told them on the Thursday prior at our local branch over a computer conference. At that first appointment they told us we could probably get a home loan for $30,000 and that a loans officer would call on Monday to confirm details and let us know what we could borrow and what the interest rates were. Well the person that called did not know anything, so the person we spoke to on the computer had not relayed any information to the second person. That is terrible communication. They shut us down anyway, saying that they can only lend up to 95% of the current house and land value which was $27,500. But they don't take into account that we OWN it, we don't have to repay anything. Plus I have $20,000 of super that they don't consider as collateral. Offering us a $2,000 personal loan was an insult, when I have $1,500 in cash and $5,000 in the bank plus 2 cars and a caravan. All in all I have a fantastic credit rating and my wife and I are angry and upset over the way we were just shot down as if we were TRASH. Bank S.A you haven't heard the last of this. Expect an official letter of complaint and also contact with our local MP.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    3 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    2 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Rob, South Australia, reviewed 6 months ago
  • BankSA Basic Home Loan Special Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Great support, industry professionals, could use.

    I love my bank for the competitive rates and offers they provide as well as the amazing staff that are always happy to help with the right knowledge. What I dislike is how clunky the online banking and mobile app feel, a bit outdated.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Zak, South Australia, reviewed 6 months ago
  • BankSA Basic Home Loan Special Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Communication issues

    I don't feel that the bank is there for me. I feel there is a huge lack of communication, wouldn't really refer them.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Convenience
    3 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    David, South Australia, reviewed 7 months ago
  • BankSA Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Advantage Package)

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    We refinanced with BankSa and saved heaps of money

    We refinanced with Bank Sa and saved heaps of money with their help. Very helpful and thorough staff.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Sophie, South Australia, reviewed 7 months ago
  • BankSA Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Advantage Package)

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Excellent bank with great customer service.

    I have only recently started using BankSA for my home loans. The customer service I have received every time I have been to a branch, called etc. has been excellent. The team in Murray Bridge South Australia especially have made all my banking needs easy. One thing that can be improved would be the app. I use other banking apps as well as BankSA and I find the other apps to be more user friendly.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Damien, South Australia, reviewed 7 months ago
  • BankSA Portfolio Loan (Advantage Package)

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Bank SA was so easy to deal with when refinancing

    I refinanced my loan with Bank SA and received a $4000 rebate. Online banking is easy and I have an offset account. For a single fee each year I get the top of the line credit card included.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Virginia, South Australia, reviewed 8 months ago
  • BankSA Fixed Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Advantage Package)

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    The employees make this bank better than the rest

    Excellent service and competitive rates.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Damien, South Australia, reviewed 9 months ago
  • BankSA Fixed Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Advantage Package)

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Would recommend.

    It still has some of the old school feel. Can talk to someone directly if needed. Negotiate interest rates.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Kimberley, South Australia, reviewed 10 months ago
  • BankSA Home Loan

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Excellent personal service and competitive product

    I got my homeloan through a broker but we went with BankSA. Everything was smooth sailing and went through as planned on settlement day. I was impressed when the manager of the Rundle Mall branch called to ask if I was ok during the pandemic and did I need any assistance. I thought this was great customer service.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Nici, South Australia, reviewed 11 months ago
  • BankSA Home Loan

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Very happy with my bank

    A great bank. Always helps me.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Kathleen, South Australia, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • BankSA Basic Home Loan Special Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    No fuss.

    Pretty good. Staff at our local branch helpful. Loan was application easy.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Michael, South Australia, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • BankSA Basic Home Loan Special Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Flexible options and user friendly online platform

    The features for the Basic Home Loan suit my own needs, particularly redraw options, however their interest rates could certainly be more competitive.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Jesse, South Australia, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • BankSA Basic Home Loan Special Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    The worst bank for loyal existing customers

    This is one of the worst banks for loyal existing customers. I have been with BankSA for my home loan for more than 4 years now. My loan interest rate was gradually increased without notifying me. Now I see they have reduced interest for new customer with a big difference to my loan. I spoke to the bank and they say we have the same product for new customer at lower rates but not for existing customers. What a bad bank!

    Price
    0 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Zeeshan, South Australia, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • BankSA Fixed Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    So far so good.

    Good.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Candice, South Australia, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Booster Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.85% p.a.variable for 24 months and then 2.25% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.21% p.a.

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan

      interest rate
      1.95% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      2.27% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Celebrate Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      1.99% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      1.99% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Basic Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.09% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      2.32% p.a.

      Promoted

    WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 500 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.