Heritage Bank logo

Heritage Bank Home loan reviews

Overall rating
Price
Features
Customer service
Convenience
Trust
Based on 267 home loan reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Featured home loan from Heritage Bank

Discount Variable Home Loan

interest rate
2.39% p.a. variable
comparison rate
2.44% p.a.

Promoted

Recent Heritage Bank home loan customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Heritage Bank Home Loan

    Worst bank lender I have ever ever used

    Without a doubt the worst bank to deal with in terms of timelines and processing. They have such an archaic way of handling paperwork and no one seems to know what status the application is. Not only painful to deal with, however at the last minute they changed the goalposts to a granny flat construction application costing me an extra $80k in personal funding. They have kept my LMI despite the fact they haven't lent me 90%. They choose when it suits to have separate loan applications and credit contracts, but then say it's under the one banner when it's convenient. Very disappointing and poor service. Can't wait to refinance and will never use them again.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    James, Victoria, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Heritage Bank Home Loan

    Great service.

    I have had my bank account with Heritage for many years. When I first opened the account I was living near a branch but have since moved to a regional area without a branch or home branded ATMs but due to their great products and service and the ability to use Westpac ATMs with no fees I have not felt the need to change banks. They are reasonably competitive with our home loan and since changing to heritage we have built quite a redraw amount just by continuing to pay what we were paying with or previous bank.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Lisa, Queensland, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Heritage Bank Home Loan

    Great original lending; not so good with rollovers

    They gave us a homes loan when no-one else would so do. However, on rollover of the fixed rate loan, the local staff member charged us .10% above the going rate.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Ken, Queensland, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Heritage Bank Standard Variable (Owner Occupier)

    Friendly staff, good products, bad online banking.

    Friendly and knowledgeable staff when having to contact, however their internet banking is lacking. No option for online statements for joint home loan and overly lengthy process to change mailing address resulting in lost statements.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Ryan, Queensland, reviewed 8 months ago
  • Heritage Bank Fixed Loan (Owner Occupier)

    No fuss!

    Very easy to deal with. Great customer service.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Sandra, Queensland, reviewed 8 months ago
  • Heritage Bank Discount Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<70%)

    Brilliant

    Love the customer service at the branch in morayfield, as we now live in WA and do not have access to a branch. They go above and beyond with any help they can give.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Megan, Western Australia, reviewed 8 months ago
  • Heritage Bank Home Loan

    Used to provide good service - would not recommend

    We have banked with Heritage Bank now for close to 8 years. In the beginning the service we received was friendly, personable and helpful. However, in recent years we have found the service is lacking. We tried to open a business account but the requirements made this impossible (topped off with rude customer service) - we went to St George and had no issues with opening an account. In addition, I find it difficult to pay $300 a year in fees on a mortgage account when I'm already paying $16,000 a year in interest, particularly when the service is subpar. We are actively looking elsewhere for a better deal with better customer service and I would recommend others do the same.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Jo, Queensland, reviewed 8 months ago
  • Heritage Bank Fixed Loan (Owner Occupier)

    Have been with them for years. Very happy.

    No branches in North Queensland but online banking is very easy to use.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Teena, Queensland, reviewed 9 months ago
  • Heritage Bank Home Loan

    I think we could find a better home loan.

    I don’t like paying an annual fee to have a home loan with my bank. When Covid-19 started to affect us I phoned our bank to get our current home loan rate and a pay out figure to do some research and shop around, they offered me a better rate while on the phone which was great but unfortunately it wasn’t offered to all customers unless you made contact with them. I don’t like that we don’t have a local branch and everything is done over the phone or internet, I do like that our home loan offers us an offset account to help reduce our repayments.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Nadele, Tasmania, reviewed 9 months ago
  • Heritage Bank Fixed Loan (Owner Occupier)

    Stay away.

    With Heritage for 18 years - never missed a payment. Need help but none forthcoming. People first, is as misleading as you’ll get.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Mark, Queensland, reviewed 10 months ago
  • Heritage Bank Fixed Loan (Owner Occupier)

    Great bank.

    I like that I can pay extra on my fixed term home loan. I like the easy process of getting the loan. I find some of the processes can take some time.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Kay, Queensland, reviewed 11 months ago
  • Heritage Bank Variable Rate Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<70%) (Home Advantage)

    I highly recommend switching to Heritage Bank.

    I highly recommend Heritage Bank, they are professional, friendly and considerate when it comes to their clients requests and are well worth switching to.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Neil, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Heritage Bank Standard Variable (Owner Occupier)

    Excellent bank.

    Great company. Good customer service. Low interest rates. Redraw us good. Very happy.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Maurice, Queensland, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Heritage Bank Variable Rate Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<70%) (Home Advantage)

    Excellent customer service.

    I'm getting a very competitive rate, product features and excellent customer service. This is a very established bank.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Niroshan, Victoria, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Heritage Bank Fixed Loan (Owner Occupier)

    A good trustworthy bank family feel bank.

    Heritage is an excellent bank. However I feel that they could do more to sell their home loans or others loans. They should make the statement “comparison rate” more understandable. What does that even mean.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Wendy, Queensland, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Booster Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.85% p.a.variable for 24 months and then 2.25% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.21% p.a.

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan

      interest rate
      1.85% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      2.24% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Celebrate Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      1.99% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      1.99% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Basic Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.09% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      2.32% p.a.

      Promoted

    WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 502 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.