Macquarie logo

Macquarie Bank account reviews

Overall rating
Price
Features
Customer service
Convenience
Trust
Based on 57 bank account reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent Macquarie bank account customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Macquarie Bank Account

    Unethical and irresponsible

    Macquarie Bank refused to answer questions from First Nations people about supporting Empire fracking in the NT. Macquarie Bank is acting unethically and financing climate change. I have withdrawn my accounts.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Wen, Victoria, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Macquarie Transaction Account

    AUSSIE or MACQUARIE - Just say NO!

    DO NOT EVER USE MACQUARIE OR AUSSIE for HOME LOANS, TRANSACTION ACCOUNTS and especially not for Motor Vehicle Leasing. Their Customer Service and communication is below crap, they take an electronic "hands off" approach to people, we are truly just numbers to them. To get the simplest thing done or a simple enquiry takes days a days with escalations and escalations. STAY AWAY from these organisations or lose your mind one day........you will be lulled into thinking everything is great, until there is an issue.

    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Bryan, Victoria, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Macquarie Bank Account

    Completely unhelpful

    An account was set up by Morgans with a view to trade shares via Bell direct.It could not be done, Macquarie gave no help over the phone as to why it did not work and now my bank balance has disappeared! $60000 +.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Alasdair, Victoria, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Macquarie Platinum Transaction Account

    Lazy bank putting revenue before customer service

    Had enough of banking with Macquarie for a number of reasons Firstly the bank has never bothered to initiate NPP since its mandate in 2017. Unlike the other banks both australian and foreign Macquarie refuses to launch NPP offering instant payments to other bank accounts meaning I do not receive money transfers from friends and family until 24 hours later or more on weekends meanwhile others receive their funds instantly Secondly Macquarie have removed eftpos payment enablement from all their debit cards meaning cashouts during shopping are impossible and now the peer to peer payment app Beem it is incompatible for Macquarie cards. Macquarie have done this to maximise their interchange revenue from merchants. For those unfamiliar this means when I tap and pay for my coffee the coffee shop pays maximum merchant acquiring fees to the issuer (Macquarie bank) as all transactions to route via Mastercard. Whilst this has no effect on me as the consumer the small business is left footing a higher bill as they have no opportunity to explore cheaper payment acceptance rails Not interested in banking with an institution that maximises revenue at the cost of supporting australian businesses

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Jimmy, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Macquarie Platinum Transaction Account

    Best bank hands down.

    I absolutely love the ease of use of their app. I love travelling overseas and it has the best features for travellers. I love how hassle free this bank is.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Domenic, Victoria, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Macquarie Platinum Transaction Account

    Bank is good, app not so much

    I am generally happy with Macquarie, but find their app a bit frustrating in terms of trying to track my spending - items stay 'pending' for ages and the balance isn't always up to date, so you don't have an accurate gauge unless you go in and add up your transactions manually.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Emily, Victoria, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Macquarie Bank Account

    Great bank, excellent customer service!

    Macquarie is a great bank. I've phoned their customer service number a couple of times and they are always helpful and answer the phone straight away. Plus I love the added protection with the platinum card as well as the free ATM usage.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Liam, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Macquarie Platinum Transaction Account

    No Fees, ATM Money back immediately

    Refunds for any ATM immediately back into your account, added bonus features with the Platinum account if you deposit enough each month, and no account fees. Use the servo ATM, use the pub ATM, and don't worry about the ridiculous fees, it's all coming back to you!

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Michael, New South Wales, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Macquarie Transaction Account

    Amazing product, great customer service.

    Easily the best bank I've ever dealt with, as previous switching from Westpac, Macquarie Bank was a breath of fresh air. Their signup process was stupid simple, the product offers great features especially for travellers and I love how easy their support team are to deal with. For simple enquiries I can even just send them an email. They also offer the best mobile and desktop banking of any bank I've ever seen, cannot rate or recommend them any higher. I've already converted over 3 other friends and my entire family.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Josh, Victoria, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Macquarie Platinum Transaction Account

    No fees and great phone support

    Good phone support, low fees and little physical branches.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Wilkin, Queensland, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Macquarie Transaction Account

    Low currency conversion fees, no monthly fees.

    Macquarie Bank are easy to contact, and have local staff available to chat. We used their transaction account as a travel account as they had the lowest currency exchange rates when we signed up, and we had no trouble overseas using our cards anywhere. The app is easy to use and understand, and there was no monthly ongoing fees or minimum to deposit to keep it going.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Kylie, Queensland, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Macquarie Transaction Account

    No local branches.

    Macquarie is a good bank but the lack of branches isn't good.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Tammy, New South Wales, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Macquarie Transaction Account

    Excellent call centre support.

    The best customer call centre I have ever dealt with, for any product. Every time they have been helpful, able to solve any issues, offer solutions, and it's so quick and easy to get through to them. None of those stupid 'press 1 for..., press 2 for..., press 157 for...'

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Natalie, Western Australia, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Macquarie Transaction Account

    Wonderful.

    They are great, they refund all my eftpos charges, customer service is great as well.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Christine, New South Wales, reviewed almost 2 years ago
  • Macquarie Transaction Account

    Easy to use.

    Easy to use and access funds.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Elizabeth, Western Australia, reviewed almost 2 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Bank account comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Glide Account

      account fee
      $0.00
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID, Samsung Pay, FitBit Pay, Garmin
      interest rate
      0% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Everyday Options

      account fee
      $0.00
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID
      interest rate
      0.01% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Everyday Snap Account

      account fee
      $0.00
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID, Samsung Pay
      interest rate
      0% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Go Account

      account fee
      $0.00
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Pay, Samsung Pay
      interest rate
      0% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Orange Everyday

      account fee
      $0.00
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID
      interest rate
      0% p.a.

      Promoted

    Want more? Compare all 98 bank accounts in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more bank accounts

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.