Thumbnail icon for Macquarie

Macquarie Bank account reviews

Overall rating
7.8/10
Price
7.7/10
Features
6.9/10
Customer service
8.1/10
Convenience
7.1/10
Trust
8.3/10
Based on 44 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent Macquarie bank account reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Macquarie Transaction Account review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Wonderful.

    They are great, they refund all my eftpos charges, customer service is great as well.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Christine, New South Wales, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Macquarie Transaction Account review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Easy to use.

    Easy to use and access funds.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Elizabeth, Western Australia, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Macquarie Transaction Account review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    I like it.

    There aren't any branches or specific Macquarie ATMs but you are able to use any and not get fees so that makes up for it.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Lyndall, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Macquarie Transaction Account review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Efficient, competitive and customer oriented

    These guys do what they say they will do when they say they will do it

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Less
    David, New South Wales, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Macquarie Platinum Transaction Account review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Good bank

    Macquarie is professionally run, committed to wealth creation. It's easy to transfer thousands at the touch of one button. Most other banks need tokens and other kiddy like acts to facilitate action.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    John, Queensland, reviewed almost 2 years ago
  • Macquarie Transaction Account review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great daily interest

    I've always received excellent service from staff and a great interest rate on my daily balance via their cash management account.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Less
    Trevor, New South Wales, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • Macquarie Bank Account review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Good online and phone customer service

    The only limitation with Macquarie Bank is that they don't have a physical building in Canberra. Otherwise, the only service works well and I am satisfied with the customer phone service. The bank also has the facilities that are use by our financial advisor, which works well. The fees are not high, nor are the interest rates, although they are marginally higher than our other bank. I would recommend Macquarie Bank to others.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Maureen, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed about 4 years ago
  • Macquarie Bank Account review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Good investor product.

    Good bank in some areas. Very slow to clear funds. No debit cards on accounts. Security improving. Generally slow. Physical branches are virtually non-existent. The cash management account is superb from the point of being able to add lots of details on payment fields which really helps when tax time comes. Other banks fall down heavily here. It is built for the investor. Thanks Macquarie.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    2 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Paul, Western Australia, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • Macquarie Bank Account review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    No fees, +interest , fantastic customer service

    I've been with Macquarie Bank ever since they incorporated as The Australia Bank Ltd. That must be 50+ years. They have been more than I could expect from a bank. I feel very comfortable with my Cash Management Account. I earn interest on my every day funds an I've never paid a a single bank fee. I recommend Macquarie as high as the rankings go + one!

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Trevor, New South Wales, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • Macquarie Bank Account review

    Overall rating   2 / 10
    Probably one of the worst banks

    I have banked with Macquarie for over 20 years. In the last decade they have become more and more bureaucratic to the point that 'your security' and 'compliance' have become bywords for BAD customer service. My list of complaints is too long to itemise here, but I now get way better service from my high street ANZ branch. If it wasn't for the fact that we have to change over 40 direct deposits I would dump Macquarie in a flash. In 20 years they have gone from being one of the best to one of the worst.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Richard, New South Wales, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • Macquarie Bank Account review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Steady interest rates and good backing

    Secure, trusted and large. Not able to physically access as not in my state is a drawback.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    4 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Janette, Tasmania, reviewed almost 5 years ago
  • Macquarie Bank Account review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Stay away from them!!

    I opened a bank account with Macquarie in December and then, quite out of the blue they called me and notified of closing my bank account, as if I was a money launderer - just like that! - the account had a very small amount of money though. Then they promosed that I would receive a letter explaining why it was closed. After making about 5 phone calls requesting such a letter, then finally sent one in 2 months!! after closing it. The letter just stated that they made a decision to close a bank account without any explanation. Stay away from this bank! I have been banking with many banks but have never ever experienced such a set-up and totally disrespectful attitude to clients...

    Price
    0 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Mike, Queensland, reviewed almost 5 years ago
  • Macquarie Bank Account review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Online space excellent

    I love that you don't pay to have an account and you can withdraw as much as you like without being charged. In the 20 years been banking with them no problems. Not like a certain ANZ bank....

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Antonietta, Queensland, reviewed almost 5 years ago
  • Macquarie Bank Account review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Worst banking experience

    Basically I opened a cash management account to receive money from overseas from my parents as Macquarie works with OZForex and their currency exchange rates are quite good. In a short while I was contacted to ask for a copy of my father's passport (Russian national) for security reasons. Which I did send. Next day she called me and said the bank decided to use its discretion - the right to cancel my account and the incoming overseas transfer was cancelled as well... The money was sent back. Without explaining any reasons for doing that. Totally Unbelievable! I've been with NAB and Bankwest for many years and I have never come across such attitude and unprecedented, unreasonably cruel treatment of clients as if they were involved in money laundering. Their compliance team has no idea how to do their job properly and how to distinguish between the law abiding clients and those involved in money laundering. Nevertheless, to date, there are no international laws or sanctions prohibiting financial transactions between Russia and Australia. I would NEVER recommend dealing with this bank.

    Price
    0 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Serge, Queensland, reviewed almost 5 years ago
  • Macquarie Bank Account review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Great services

    It's so convenient.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Han, Western Australia, reviewed about 5 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Bank account comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Everyday Options

      account fee
      $0.00Special offer of $0 monthly account keeping fees when you open a new account
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID, Samsung Pay
      interest rate
      0.01% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Bank Account

      account fee
      $0.00
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Pay
      interest rate
      0% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Everyday Account

      account fee
      $6.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month or are under 23 years.
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID, Samsung Pay, FitBit Pay, Garmin
      interest rate
      0% p.a.

      Promoted
    • USaver Ultra Transaction Account

      account fee
      $0.00
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Pay, Samsung Pay, Garmin, Fitbit
      interest rate
      0% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Hero Transaction Account

      account fee
      $6.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID, Payment Ring
      interest rate
      0.75% p.a.

      Promoted

    Want more? Compare all 105 bank accounts in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more bank accounts

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.