Bank account reviews

Read the latest bank account reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their bank, credit union or building society to give you the inside story on everything from sneaky fees to customer service.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent bank account reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

ANZ

ANZ Access Advantage bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Fantastic customer service, prompt advice

I have been with ANZ for almost 13 years and have never had any issues. Any problems are dealt with quickly and efficiently.

I have been with ANZ for almost 13 years and have never had any issues. Any problems are dealt with quickly and efficiently.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Fiona (VIC), reviewed 3 days ago

NAB

NAB bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great bank

Easy do deal with in branches and great app. No monthly charges.

Easy do deal with in branches and great app. No monthly charges.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Mihiri (QLD), reviewed 3 days ago

ANZ

ANZ Access Advantage bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Very satisfied

I an very happy with ANZ's customer service. People are very friendly and helpful. I recommend ANZ to my friends and family. Online banking is easy to use as well.

I an very happy with ANZ's customer service. People are very friendly and helpful. I recommend ANZ to my friends and family. Online banking is easy to use as well.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Nicole (QLD), reviewed 3 days ago

ING DIRECT

ING DIRECT Orange Everyday bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent provider

I have been banking with ING direct for many years and have absolutely no problems at all.

I have been banking with ING direct for many years and have absolutely no problems at all.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Esther (VIC), reviewed 3 days ago

NAB

NAB Classic Banking Account bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great bank to deal with

Honest, caring, trustworthy, reliable, knowledgeable Bank. I would recommend NAB to anyone.

Honest, caring, trustworthy, reliable, knowledgeable Bank. I would recommend NAB to anyone.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Koreena (SA), reviewed 3 days ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland Reverse Charges Account bank account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great customer service

They are always helpful and friendly when you work into the bank.

They are always helpful and friendly when you work into the bank.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Bianca (QLD), reviewed 3 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great service with excellent app

The pros are that there are Commonwealth Bank locations and ATMs at many areas. The service is always good every time I enter a branch and there is minimal waiting time. Highly recommended.

The pros are that there are Commonwealth Bank locations and ATMs at many areas. The service is always good every time I enter a branch and there is minimal waiting time. Highly recommended.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Joe (VIC), reviewed 3 days ago

ANZ

ANZ bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great provider - been with ANZ for 13years

I haven't had a single issue in 13 years. ANZ are always helpful and prompt with enquiries. I wouldn't hesitate at all in recommending their services to others.

I haven't had a single issue in 13 years. ANZ are always helpful and prompt with enquiries. I wouldn't hesitate at all in recommending their services to others.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Jo (QLD), reviewed 3 days ago

Bendigo Bank

Bendigo Bank Everyday Account bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great service

I find the staff friendly and informative and the banking experience has always been positive. My only complaint would be with banking policies regarding supporting those who don't have an income but have some savings which could be used as a...

I find the staff friendly and informative and the banking experience has always been positive. My only complaint would be with banking policies regarding supporting those who don't have an income but have some savings which could be used as a deposit on a home. However, because I am on Centrelink this doesn't count. Even though I am forced to pay a high rent with the low interest rates, a mortgage would be a lesser amount.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Lisa (QLD), reviewed 3 days ago

HSBC

HSBC bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service

I've been with HSBC for years. They have a variety of options with excellent customer service. I have an everyday transaction, savings account, debit and credit card with them and I'm satisfied with their service.

I've been with HSBC for years. They have a variety of options with excellent customer service. I have an everyday transaction, savings account, debit and credit card with them and I'm satisfied with their service.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Bella (NSW), reviewed 3 days ago

ANZ

ANZ Access Advantage bank account review

Overall rating   5 / 10

High interest rates

My interest rate went up when I was not notified of it. After 16 years of long term investment I expected better service. I will be looking into changing banks soon.

My interest rate went up when I was not notified of it. After 16 years of long term investment I expected better service. I will be looking into changing banks soon.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Helena (SA), reviewed 12 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Easy banking with good customer service

Tellers at most branches will at least try everything they can do to help with any banking issues.

Tellers at most branches will at least try everything they can do to help with any banking issues.

    Price   -1 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Kristy lee (SA), reviewed 12 days ago

NAB

NAB Classic Banking Account bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Quite happy with this account and would recommend

Satisfied with this account because I get a Visa card and best of all there are no account keeping fees. I would really like more NAB ATMs around shopping centres though.

Satisfied with this account because I get a Visa card and best of all there are no account keeping fees. I would really like more NAB ATMs around shopping centres though.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Rebecca (NSW), reviewed 12 days ago

HSBC

HSBC bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

A variety of products that fits my needs

HSBC is the best option for international travellers, with customer support available in branches all over the world - not just over the phone.

HSBC is the best option for international travellers, with customer support available in branches all over the world - not just over the phone.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Terrie (VIC), reviewed 12 days ago

NAB

NAB bank account review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Not recommended

A bank which we have had 20 years business banking with that can turn its back when in financial hardships prove they are more about their own interests than the welfare of loyal customers.

A bank which we have had 20 years business banking with that can turn its back when in financial hardships prove they are more about their own interests than the welfare of loyal customers.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Troy (WA), reviewed 12 days ago

Westpac

Westpac bank account review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Customer banking is not great

All done by computer. Can't get an answer at the branch. They are only interested in trying to sell mortgages and loans.

All done by computer. Can't get an answer at the branch. They are only interested in trying to sell mortgages and loans.

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Heather (WA), reviewed 13 days ago

NAB

NAB Classic Banking Account bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Convenient and secure banking

On the odd occasion that I had a minor dispute with the bank, they were cognisant of the length of my affiliation with the bank. The backroom systems seem secure and designed to eliminate confusion. Staff are well trained, polite and appear...

On the odd occasion that I had a minor dispute with the bank, they were cognisant of the length of my affiliation with the bank. The backroom systems seem secure and designed to eliminate confusion. Staff are well trained, polite and appear empathetic.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Bob (VIC), reviewed 13 days ago

NAB

NAB Classic Banking Account bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Functions are easy to use and understand

NAB was easy to follow and understand even for people like myself who are new to technology.

NAB was easy to follow and understand even for people like myself who are new to technology.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Suzette (QLD), reviewed 17 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access bank account review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Good service

I have no issues with Commonwealth Bank besides the pending transactions.

I have no issues with Commonwealth Bank besides the pending transactions.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Shaun (QLD), reviewed 17 days ago

Adelaide Bank

Adelaide Bank bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Terrific interpersonal skills demonstrated by all

Always willing to go out of their way to ensure they meet your requirements. Follow up contact without being pushy to see that the customer is satisfied. Will make suggestions for better options again without being pushy.

Always willing to go out of their way to ensure they meet your requirements. Follow up contact without being pushy to see that the customer is satisfied. Will make suggestions for better options again without being pushy.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Barbara (SA), reviewed 17 days ago

ANZ

ANZ Access Advantage bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Friendly and efficient

I had a wonderful experience setting up my first bank account with ANZ. It was relatively quick and easy, and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I have no complaints so far.

I had a wonderful experience setting up my first bank account with ANZ. It was relatively quick and easy, and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I have no complaints so far.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Kate (QLD), reviewed 17 days ago

ING DIRECT

ING DIRECT Orange Everyday bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

They provide great ideas for their customers

They are great people and are easy to work with if you have any questions. Their online banking is very easy and the transfer of money is very quick.

They are great people and are easy to work with if you have any questions. Their online banking is very easy and the transfer of money is very quick.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Juliana (NSW), reviewed 17 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Very happy with my account

Commonwealth Bank is a good and reliable bank with friendly staff.

Commonwealth Bank is a good and reliable bank with friendly staff.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Sharyn (VIC), reviewed 17 days ago

Westpac

Westpac bank account review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Polite service but not always knowledgable

Generally good to deal with. Occasionally, not knowledgeable on the way things are done.

Generally good to deal with. Occasionally, not knowledgeable on the way things are done.

    Price   -1 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Lester (QLD), reviewed 17 days ago

ANZ

ANZ Access Advantage bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Helpful service

I've been using the same bank for over 10 years now and they have been fantastic so far.

I've been using the same bank for over 10 years now and they have been fantastic so far.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Lorelle (NSW), reviewed 17 days ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Bank account comparisons on Mozo Rates updated daily

  • ING DIRECT Orange Everyday

    ING DIRECT Orange Everyday

    • $75 cash bonus
    • Free use of any ATM in Australia when you deposit your pay of $1,000+ each month
    • No irritating everyday fees, which means more of your money is where it belongs, in your pocket

    account fee

    $0.00

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • $75 cash bonus
    • Free use of any ATM in Australia when you deposit your pay of $1,000+ each month
    • No irritating everyday fees, which means more of your money is where it belongs, in your pocket
    • Atm networks: None
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Free ATM use when you deposit your pay of $1,000+ each month, free EFTPOS withdrawals and online bank cheques.
    Overall rating

    9.2

    Based on 206 ING DIRECT bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • ANZ Access Advantage

    ANZ Access Advantage

    • $0 monthly account service fee if you deposit at least $2,000 a month
    • Earn $100 voucher via this link only by 30 April- find out how
    • Consider if right for you. T&C’s, eligibility criteria apply

    account fee

    $5.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 monthly account service fee if you deposit at least $2,000 a month
    • Earn $100 voucher via this link only by 30 April- find out how
    • Consider if right for you. T&C’s, eligibility criteria apply
    • Atm networks: ANZ
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit or
      EFTPOS
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
      Balances from $50,000: 0.01% p.a.
      Balances from $100,000: 0.02% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from own-bank ATM, EFTPOS, cheque, counter withdrawals, counter deposits, phone and internet
    Overall rating

    7.6

    Based on 1579 ANZ bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • NAB Classic Banking Account

    NAB Classic Banking Account

    • No monthly account fees ever, with no conditions.
    • Free use at over 3,400 NAB & Redi ATMs
    • 24/7 Mobile Banking, including Quick Balance and Tap & Pay for Android

    account fee

    $0.00

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0.01% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • No monthly account fees ever, with no conditions.
    • Free use at over 3,400 NAB & Redi ATMs
    • 24/7 Mobile Banking, including Quick Balance and Tap & Pay for Android
    • Atm networks: NAB, rediATM
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit or
      EFTPOS
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.01% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from own-bank ATM, EFTPOS, counter withdrawals, counter deposits, phone, internet and Visa debit purchases
    Overall rating

    8.1

    Based on 1377 NAB bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bankwest Easy Transaction Account

    Bankwest Easy Transaction Account

    • Pay $0 ATM fees at over 10,000 major bank ATMs in Aus. Fees, T&Cs apply
    • No monthly account fee until 31/08. Then, fee is waived if you deposit at least $2,000 per month
    • Limited time cashback offer on tap & go™ purchases. T&Cs apply

    account fee

    $6.00$0 monthly account fee until 31 August 2017. New customers only.

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • Pay $0 ATM fees at over 10,000 major bank ATMs in Aus. Fees, T&Cs apply
    • No monthly account fee until 31/08. Then, fee is waived if you deposit at least $2,000 per month
    • Limited time cashback offer on tap & go™ purchases. T&Cs apply
    • Atm networks: Bankwest, ANZ, Commonwealth, NAB, Westpac, St.George, BankSA, Bank of Melbourne
    • What kind of card?: Debit MasterCard
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited domestic transactions from network ATMs, EFTPOS, cheque and counter withdrawals
    Overall rating

    8.2

    Based on 400 Bankwest bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • St.George Complete Freedom Account

    St.George Complete Freedom Account

    • $0 monthly service fee
    • Convenient, secure, and thumb friendly banking, on your computer or on the go
    • No ATM withdrawal fee at over 3,000 ATMs in Australia

    account fee

    $5.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 monthly service fee
    • Convenient, secure, and thumb friendly banking, on your computer or on the go
    • No ATM withdrawal fee at over 3,000 ATMs in Australia
    • Atm networks: St.George, Westpac, BankSA, Bank of Melbourne
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit or
      EFTPOS
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from network ATMs, EFTPOS, BPAY, cheque, counter deposits and withdrawals, phone and internet.
    Overall rating

    8.1

    Based on 481 St.George bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 107 bank accounts in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare all bank accounts

Look for a specific type of bank account:

-- Choose type --
peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2016

Forget industry awards where banks scratch each other's backs. Mozo presents the People's Choice Awards, based on more than 30,000 real customer reviews.

Check out the winners

Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.