Bank account reviews

Read the latest bank account reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their bank, credit union or building society to give you the inside story on everything from sneaky fees to customer service.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent bank account reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

BOQ Specialist

BOQ Specialist Everyday Plus Account bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

Overall very happy with my bank. Only thing I am not happy with is that they charge $15.00 if you don't have enough money in your account for a direct debit but still don't honour the direct debit. I think if they are going to charge $15.00, they...

Overall very happy with my bank. Only thing I am not happy with is that they charge $15.00 if you don't have enough money in your account for a direct debit but still don't honour the direct debit. I think if they are going to charge $15.00, they should honour the direct debit.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Alexandra (QLD), reviewed about 2 months ago

NAB

NAB bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent service and versatile account options

I like everything about my account and the people at the Brandon Park branch. My only complaint are the long waits for an available person on the "help" or "Consultant" desks(2). This occurs too often but the people and service is...

I like everything about my account and the people at the Brandon Park branch. My only complaint are the long waits for an available person on the "help" or "Consultant" desks(2). This occurs too often but the people and service is excellent-exceptional once available.

    Price   -1 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Merilyn (VIC), reviewed about 2 months ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland Day2Day Plus Account bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Low fees

I like that my everyday transactions don't incur any fees, and the rediATM system with free account balance and withdrawals. Their internet and mobile banking is often confusing and glitchy, showing wrong account names, they also don't offer...

I like that my everyday transactions don't incur any fees, and the rediATM system with free account balance and withdrawals. Their internet and mobile banking is often confusing and glitchy, showing wrong account names, they also don't offer cardless cash or any of the other conveniences of the bigger banks.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Gemma (QLD), reviewed about 2 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Good service and products.

The bank has served me reasonably well over many years. I stick with them because they are reliable and well established. Unfortunately they tend to be somewhat punitive if my account goes under a zero balance. But on the flip side again their...

The bank has served me reasonably well over many years. I stick with them because they are reliable and well established. Unfortunately they tend to be somewhat punitive if my account goes under a zero balance. But on the flip side again their staff showed me a way to prevent this from happening.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Colleen (QLD), reviewed about 2 months ago

NAB

NAB Classic Banking Account bank account review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Customer service is good

They make quite a few mistakes which they should pick up on straight away like names, and also sending cards to strange addresses I've never heard of, so that's a problem in getting a card.

They make quite a few mistakes which they should pick up on straight away like names, and also sending cards to strange addresses I've never heard of, so that's a problem in getting a card.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Julia (NSW), reviewed about 2 months ago

Bank of Melbourne

Bank of Melbourne Complete Freedom Account bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Fabulous service

Helpful, friendly and professional. They really do what they can to help and solve any questions and concerns.

Helpful, friendly and professional. They really do what they can to help and solve any questions and concerns.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Licha (VIC), reviewed about 2 months ago

Bank of Melbourne

Bank of Melbourne Complete Freedom Account bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Good customer service

Friendly service, quick turnaround inside the bank.

Friendly service, quick turnaround inside the bank.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Wayne (VIC), reviewed about 2 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank bank account review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Trustworthy, easy to use and friendly

I like their online banking and app, very easy to use. The customer service I've dealt with has been generally good. The fees are a bit annoying but reasonable.

I like their online banking and app, very easy to use. The customer service I've dealt with has been generally good. The fees are a bit annoying but reasonable.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Ghada (NSW), reviewed about 2 months ago

ANZ

ANZ Access Advantage bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

I would recommend ANZ to others

I have been with a few banks in the past, but I have been banking with ANZ for the past 8 years now and I have never had a problem with their services. Customer service is great.

I have been with a few banks in the past, but I have been banking with ANZ for the past 8 years now and I have never had a problem with their services. Customer service is great.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Belinda (QLD), reviewed about 2 months ago

ING

ING Orange Everyday bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

No fee banking with ING Direct

There is absolutely no cost to the customer in banking with ING Direct. They even refund ATM fees charged by other banks, and their online banking is easy to use.

There is absolutely no cost to the customer in banking with ING Direct. They even refund ATM fees charged by other banks, and their online banking is easy to use.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Rob (QLD), reviewed about 2 months ago

AMP

AMP Bett3r Spend Account bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Trustworthy provider

I believe AMP are very professional and trustworthy. My experience is everlasting as they explained their company clearly to me. Answers were addressed well. Recommended and they are worthy with my finances.

I believe AMP are very professional and trustworthy. My experience is everlasting as they explained their company clearly to me. Answers were addressed well. Recommended and they are worthy with my finances.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Georgina (SA), reviewed about 2 months ago

BankSA

BankSA bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Very pleased with the service

I have always found staff to be very helpful and polite.

I have always found staff to be very helpful and polite.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Tracey (SA), reviewed about 2 months ago

Westpac

Westpac Choice bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Loyal customer

I have been a loyal Westpac member for many years and have never had any problems at all. Westpac services are so reliable and very helpful.

I have been a loyal Westpac member for many years and have never had any problems at all. Westpac services are so reliable and very helpful.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Monalisa (NSW), reviewed about 2 months ago

ANZ

ANZ Access Advantage bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Really happy with the service

ANZ was the bank I signed up with when I transferred to Melbourne from Australia 3 years ago - easy to deal with, personalised banking with I dropped in and we are looking to secure a mortgage with them in 6 months.

ANZ was the bank I signed up with when I transferred to Melbourne from Australia 3 years ago - easy to deal with, personalised banking with I dropped in and we are looking to secure a mortgage with them in 6 months.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Kylie (VIC), reviewed about 2 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

Totally happy with Commonwealth Bank. I have been with them for years and have no intention to change banks ever.

Totally happy with Commonwealth Bank. I have been with them for years and have no intention to change banks ever.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Ann (NSW), reviewed about 2 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Fantastic service

Great service

Great service

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Nicole (NSW), reviewed about 2 months ago

NAB

NAB Classic Banking Account bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

I have been with NAB for many years and found them so helpful in all aspects.

I have been with NAB for many years and found them so helpful in all aspects.

    Price   -1 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Doreen (QLD), reviewed about 2 months ago

Westpac

Westpac bank account review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Would consider another bank

Not very happy with their online banking as it seems out of sync.

Not very happy with their online banking as it seems out of sync.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Rebecca (WA), reviewed about 2 months ago

St.George

St.George Complete Freedom Account bank account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Easy ATM access

I'm pleased the banks are making it easier for people to be using ATM's at any time they wish to. It's a shame that more bank tellers will be out of work. It's wonderful that you don't have to stand in queues waiting to be served.

I'm pleased the banks are making it easier for people to be using ATM's at any time they wish to. It's a shame that more bank tellers will be out of work. It's wonderful that you don't have to stand in queues waiting to be served.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Mary (NSW), reviewed about 2 months ago

St.George

St.George Complete Freedom Account bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

One very satisfied customer

I have been a customer of St. George for 10 years and I have had no issues with staff, internet or phone banking. The fraud investigation team were great with the fraud issue I had with one of my accounts. The account keeping fees are minimal....

I have been a customer of St. George for 10 years and I have had no issues with staff, internet or phone banking. The fraud investigation team were great with the fraud issue I had with one of my accounts. The account keeping fees are minimal. Overall they are just great.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Jem (NSW), reviewed about 2 months ago

Bendigo Bank

Bendigo Bank Everyday Account bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

A community bank that serves the community

One of the few banks today that I can phone and the branch staff know me.

One of the few banks today that I can phone and the branch staff know me.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Lorri (SA), reviewed about 2 months ago

Westpac

Westpac bank account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great customer service, but otherwise mediocre

On the plus side, staff are friendly and helpful, making problems easy to resolve, and new accounts/cards easy to set up, and online services are easy to use. However, their costs and interest rates are mediocre, and they fund environmentally...

On the plus side, staff are friendly and helpful, making problems easy to resolve, and new accounts/cards easy to set up, and online services are easy to use. However, their costs and interest rates are mediocre, and they fund environmentally damaging projects, such as deforestation, and coal mining on the Great Barrier Reef.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Christopher (WA), reviewed about 2 months ago

Bendigo Bank

Bendigo Bank Everyday Account bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Very approachable for financial assistance

Community interaction - they are continually supporting rural sports clubs and charities.

Community interaction - they are continually supporting rural sports clubs and charities.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

David (VIC), reviewed about 2 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great service, helpful provider

Easy to deal with, staff are always helpful and flexible, Internet banking is secure.

Easy to deal with, staff are always helpful and flexible, Internet banking is secure.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Janine (TAS), reviewed about 2 months ago

Westpac

Westpac bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Good customer service - face to face and via phone

Westpac is a convenient bank. Online banking is second to none. Easy to make fund transfers.

Westpac is a convenient bank. Online banking is second to none. Easy to make fund transfers.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Peter (TAS), reviewed about 2 months ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Bank account comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • Bank of Queensland Day2Day Plus Account

    Bank of Queensland Day2Day Plus Account

    • No monthly account keeping fees, with no minimum monthly deposit required
    • Free access to over 3,000 rediATMs nationwide
    • Visa Debit card access with Visa payWave

    account fee

    $0.00

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • No monthly account keeping fees, with no minimum monthly deposit required
    • Free access to over 3,000 rediATMs nationwide
    • Visa Debit card access with Visa payWave
    • Atm networks: BoQ, rediATM
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from network ATMs, EFTPOS, cheque, counter withdrawals, counter deposits, phone, internet and Visa Debit
    Overall rating

    8.4

    Based on 243 Bank of Queensland bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • ANZ Access Advantage

    ANZ Access Advantage

    • $0 monthly account service fee if you deposit at least $2,000 a month
    • Now with Apple Pay
    • Consider if right for you. T&C’s, eligibility criteria apply

    account fee

    $5.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 monthly account service fee if you deposit at least $2,000 a month
    • Now with Apple Pay
    • Consider if right for you. T&C’s, eligibility criteria apply
    • Atm networks: ANZ
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit or
      EFTPOS
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
      Balances from $50,000: 0.01% p.a.
      Balances from $100,000: 0.02% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from own-bank ATM, EFTPOS, cheque, counter withdrawals, counter deposits, phone and internet
    Overall rating

    7.6

    Based on 1579 ANZ bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • NAB Classic Banking Account

    NAB Classic Banking Account

    • No monthly account fees ever, with no conditions.
    • Free use at over 3,400 NAB & Redi ATMs
    • 24/7 Mobile Banking, including Quick Balance and Tap & Pay for Android

    account fee

    $0.00

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0.01% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • No monthly account fees ever, with no conditions.
    • Free use at over 3,400 NAB & Redi ATMs
    • 24/7 Mobile Banking, including Quick Balance and Tap & Pay for Android
    • Atm networks: NAB, rediATM
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit or
      EFTPOS
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.01% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from own-bank ATM, EFTPOS, counter withdrawals, counter deposits, phone, internet and Visa debit purchases
    Overall rating

    8.1

    Based on 1377 NAB bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bankwest Easy Transaction Account

    Bankwest Easy Transaction Account

    • Pay $0 ATM fees at over 10,000 major bank ATMs in Aus. Fees, T&Cs apply
    • No monthly account fee until 31/08. Then, fee is waived if you deposit at least $2,000 per month
    • 24/7 access to your money via phone

    account fee

    $6.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • Pay $0 ATM fees at over 10,000 major bank ATMs in Aus. Fees, T&Cs apply
    • No monthly account fee until 31/08. Then, fee is waived if you deposit at least $2,000 per month
    • 24/7 access to your money via phone
    • Atm networks: Bankwest, ANZ, Commonwealth, NAB, Westpac, St.George, BankSA, Bank of Melbourne
    • What kind of card?: Debit MasterCard
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited domestic transactions from network ATMs, EFTPOS, cheque and counter withdrawals
    Overall rating

    8.2

    Based on 400 Bankwest bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 104 bank accounts in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare all bank accounts

Look for a specific type of bank account:

-- Choose type --
peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2017

Forget industry awards where banks scratch each other's backs. Mozo presents the People's Choice Awards, based on real customer reviews.

Check out the winners

Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.