Bank account reviews

Read the latest bank account reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their bank, credit union or building society to give you the inside story on everything from sneaky fees to customer service.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent bank account reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

Bankwest

Bankwest Student Transaction Account bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Overall great bank

I have had a Bankwest student account since I was about 12, and never had any major issues at all. Their phone app is incredibly easy to use and has up to date features such as fingerprint ID. However they lack behind in some areas, with no option...

Full review

I have had a Bankwest student account since I was about 12, and never had any major issues at all. Their phone app is incredibly easy to use and has up to date features such as fingerprint ID. However they lack behind in some areas, with no option to use pay pass via your phone (which a lot of their competitors seem to have.) Additionally you are able to quickly and easily apply for new accounts online or in-app if you so desire. I have only had one or two experiences with their staff, but every time they have been polite and solved my issues promptly.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Ben (NSW), reviewed 8 days ago

NAB

NAB Classic Banking Account bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Fee free and has the basics covered

As far as everyday bank accounts go, I can't really fault the NAB classic account. It is fee free, the ATM network is extensive and the banking app is easy to use and has some great features including a money tracker. The only downside for me is...

Full review

As far as everyday bank accounts go, I can't really fault the NAB classic account. It is fee free, the ATM network is extensive and the banking app is easy to use and has some great features including a money tracker. The only downside for me is the foreign exchange fees when you use the card overseas or when shopping online. If they got rid of these I'd be super happy.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Kylie (NSW), reviewed 9 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Nothing to complain about

I've been with CommBank for many years, and I've never has cause for complaint using this account. I earn next to no interest, but that's to be expected in a transaction account. The selling point for this one is that the app is awesome and it's...

Full review

I've been with CommBank for many years, and I've never has cause for complaint using this account. I earn next to no interest, but that's to be expected in a transaction account. The selling point for this one is that the app is awesome and it's super easy to transfer money around however you need to. I like that you can send payments using a phone number. Overall, CBA has been reliable and easy to deal with.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Kelly (NSW), reviewed 10 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank bank account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Why go with CBA anymore?

I signed up CBA when I was a university student and they had many ATMs. However, after the recent change in ATM fees, there is no real reason for university students to go with CBA anymore.

Full review

I signed up CBA when I was a university student and they had many ATMs. However, after the recent change in ATM fees, there is no real reason for university students to go with CBA anymore.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Donny (NSW), reviewed 11 days ago

ING

ING Orange Everyday bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great product, app and customer service

Who wouldn't want a bright Orange card in their wallet. But besides that, their no fee product along with a world class app make it my everyday bank of choice.

Full review

Who wouldn't want a bright Orange card in their wallet. But besides that, their no fee product along with a world class app make it my everyday bank of choice.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Del (NSW), reviewed 11 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank bank account review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Great customer service, could be more competitive

Commbank provide great customer service and their app is fantastic - super easy to use and I like using cardless cash so I don't have to carry a card around. I find the bank staff are always very friendly and efficient. I feel like as a bank...

Full review

Commbank provide great customer service and their app is fantastic - super easy to use and I like using cardless cash so I don't have to carry a card around. I find the bank staff are always very friendly and efficient. I feel like as a bank sometimes they don't offer the most competitive rates.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Gemma (NSW), reviewed 11 days ago

ANZ

ANZ Access Advantage bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Easy to use service online

I started my account a few months ago, the process was easy etc, There hugely competitive against my long term banking with commonwealth, and there loans are just as better. I overall recommend them, as a reliable bank, but I don't recommend...

Full review

I started my account a few months ago, the process was easy etc, There hugely competitive against my long term banking with commonwealth, and there loans are just as better. I overall recommend them, as a reliable bank, but I don't recommend there super annuation fund because that is disgraceful.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Kimberley (NSW), reviewed 11 days ago

BOQ Specialist

BOQ Specialist Everyday Plus Account bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

Overall very happy with my bank. Only thing I am not happy with is that they charge $15.00 if you don't have enough money in your account for a direct debit but still don't honour the direct debit. I think if they are going to charge $15.00, they...

Full review

Overall very happy with my bank. Only thing I am not happy with is that they charge $15.00 if you don't have enough money in your account for a direct debit but still don't honour the direct debit. I think if they are going to charge $15.00, they should honour the direct debit.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Alexandra (QLD), reviewed 5 months ago

NAB

NAB bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent service and versatile account options

I like everything about my account and the people at the Brandon Park branch. My only complaint are the long waits for an available person on the "help" or "Consultant" desks(2). This occurs too often but the people and service is...

Full review

I like everything about my account and the people at the Brandon Park branch. My only complaint are the long waits for an available person on the "help" or "Consultant" desks(2). This occurs too often but the people and service is excellent-exceptional once available.

    Price   -1 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Merilyn (VIC), reviewed 5 months ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland Day2Day Plus Account bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Low fees

I like that my everyday transactions don't incur any fees, and the rediATM system with free account balance and withdrawals. Their internet and mobile banking is often confusing and glitchy, showing wrong account names, they also don't offer...

Full review

I like that my everyday transactions don't incur any fees, and the rediATM system with free account balance and withdrawals. Their internet and mobile banking is often confusing and glitchy, showing wrong account names, they also don't offer cardless cash or any of the other conveniences of the bigger banks.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Gemma (QLD), reviewed 5 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Good service and products.

The bank has served me reasonably well over many years. I stick with them because they are reliable and well established. Unfortunately they tend to be somewhat punitive if my account goes under a zero balance. But on the flip side again their...

Full review

The bank has served me reasonably well over many years. I stick with them because they are reliable and well established. Unfortunately they tend to be somewhat punitive if my account goes under a zero balance. But on the flip side again their staff showed me a way to prevent this from happening.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Colleen (QLD), reviewed 5 months ago

NAB

NAB Classic Banking Account bank account review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Customer service is good

They make quite a few mistakes which they should pick up on straight away like names, and also sending cards to strange addresses I've never heard of, so that's a problem in getting a card.

Full review

They make quite a few mistakes which they should pick up on straight away like names, and also sending cards to strange addresses I've never heard of, so that's a problem in getting a card.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Julia (NSW), reviewed 5 months ago

Bank of Melbourne

Bank of Melbourne Complete Freedom Account bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Fabulous service

Helpful, friendly and professional. They really do what they can to help and solve any questions and concerns.

Full review

Helpful, friendly and professional. They really do what they can to help and solve any questions and concerns.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Licha (VIC), reviewed 5 months ago

Bank of Melbourne

Bank of Melbourne Complete Freedom Account bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Good customer service

Friendly service, quick turnaround inside the bank.

Full review

Friendly service, quick turnaround inside the bank.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Wayne (VIC), reviewed 5 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank bank account review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Trustworthy, easy to use and friendly

I like their online banking and app, very easy to use. The customer service I've dealt with has been generally good. The fees are a bit annoying but reasonable.

Full review

I like their online banking and app, very easy to use. The customer service I've dealt with has been generally good. The fees are a bit annoying but reasonable.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Ghada (NSW), reviewed 5 months ago

ANZ

ANZ Access Advantage bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

I would recommend ANZ to others

I have been with a few banks in the past, but I have been banking with ANZ for the past 8 years now and I have never had a problem with their services. Customer service is great.

Full review

I have been with a few banks in the past, but I have been banking with ANZ for the past 8 years now and I have never had a problem with their services. Customer service is great.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Belinda (QLD), reviewed 5 months ago

ING

ING Orange Everyday bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

No fee banking with ING Direct

There is absolutely no cost to the customer in banking with ING Direct. They even refund ATM fees charged by other banks, and their online banking is easy to use.

Full review

There is absolutely no cost to the customer in banking with ING Direct. They even refund ATM fees charged by other banks, and their online banking is easy to use.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Rob (QLD), reviewed 5 months ago

AMP

AMP Bett3r Spend Account bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Trustworthy provider

I believe AMP are very professional and trustworthy. My experience is everlasting as they explained their company clearly to me. Answers were addressed well. Recommended and they are worthy with my finances.

Full review

I believe AMP are very professional and trustworthy. My experience is everlasting as they explained their company clearly to me. Answers were addressed well. Recommended and they are worthy with my finances.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Georgina (SA), reviewed 5 months ago

BankSA

BankSA bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Very pleased with the service

I have always found staff to be very helpful and polite.

Full review

I have always found staff to be very helpful and polite.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Tracey (SA), reviewed 5 months ago

Westpac

Westpac Choice bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Loyal customer

I have been a loyal Westpac member for many years and have never had any problems at all. Westpac services are so reliable and very helpful.

Full review

I have been a loyal Westpac member for many years and have never had any problems at all. Westpac services are so reliable and very helpful.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Monalisa (NSW), reviewed 5 months ago

ANZ

ANZ Access Advantage bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Really happy with the service

ANZ was the bank I signed up with when I transferred to Melbourne from Australia 3 years ago - easy to deal with, personalised banking with I dropped in and we are looking to secure a mortgage with them in 6 months.

Full review

ANZ was the bank I signed up with when I transferred to Melbourne from Australia 3 years ago - easy to deal with, personalised banking with I dropped in and we are looking to secure a mortgage with them in 6 months.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Kylie (VIC), reviewed 5 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

Totally happy with Commonwealth Bank. I have been with them for years and have no intention to change banks ever.

Full review

Totally happy with Commonwealth Bank. I have been with them for years and have no intention to change banks ever.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Ann (NSW), reviewed 5 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Fantastic service

Great service

Full review

Great service

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Nicole (NSW), reviewed 5 months ago

NAB

NAB Classic Banking Account bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

I have been with NAB for many years and found them so helpful in all aspects.

Full review

I have been with NAB for many years and found them so helpful in all aspects.

    Price   -1 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Doreen (QLD), reviewed 5 months ago

Westpac

Westpac bank account review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Would consider another bank

Not very happy with their online banking as it seems out of sync.

Full review

Not very happy with their online banking as it seems out of sync.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Rebecca (WA), reviewed 5 months ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Bank account comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • ING Orange Everyday

    ING Orange Everyday

    • $75 cash bonus
    • Free ATMs in Aus, when you deposit $1k per month (& from Mar 2018, 5+ card purchases in the month)
    • No everyday fees, which means more of your money is where it belongs, in your pocket

    account fee

    $0.00

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • $75 cash bonus
    • Free ATMs in Aus, when you deposit $1k per month (& from Mar 2018, 5+ card purchases in the month)
    • No everyday fees, which means more of your money is where it belongs, in your pocket
    • Atm networks: None
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Free ATM use in Australia and overseas and free international transactions when you deposit at least $1,000 from an external bank account each month, free EFTPOS withdrawals.
    Overall rating

    9.2

    Based on 206 ING bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • ANZ Access Advantage

    ANZ Access Advantage

    • $0 monthly account service fee if you deposit at least $2,000 a month
    • Now with Apple Pay
    • Consider if right for you. T&C’s, eligibility criteria apply

    account fee

    $5.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 monthly account service fee if you deposit at least $2,000 a month
    • Now with Apple Pay
    • Consider if right for you. T&C’s, eligibility criteria apply
    • Atm networks: ANZ
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit or
      EFTPOS
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
      Balances from $50,000: 0.01% p.a.
      Balances from $100,000: 0.02% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from own-bank ATM, EFTPOS, cheque, counter withdrawals, counter deposits, phone and internet
    Overall rating

    7.6

    Based on 1579 ANZ bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bankwest Qantas Transaction Account

    Bankwest Qantas Transaction Account

    • Earn Qantas Points on your account balance 365 days a year
    • No ATM fees at Bankwest and CommBank ATMs Australia wide
    • No monthly account fees when you deposit $2,000 each month

    account fee

    $6.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0.01% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • Earn Qantas Points on your account balance 365 days a year
    • No ATM fees at Bankwest and CommBank ATMs Australia wide
    • No monthly account fees when you deposit $2,000 each month
    • Atm networks: Bankwest, Commonwealth
    • What kind of card?: Debit Mastercard
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.01% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free domestic transactions from network ATMs, EFTPOS, cheque, counter withdrawals, phone, internet and Debit MasterCard purchases
    Overall rating

    8.2

    Based on 400 Bankwest bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bankwest Easy Transaction Account

    Bankwest Easy Transaction Account

    • Pay $0 ATM fees at over 10,000 major bank ATMs in Aus. Fees, T&Cs apply
    • No monthly account keeping fees when you deposit at least $2,000 per month
    • 24/7 access to your money via phone

    account fee

    $6.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • Pay $0 ATM fees at over 10,000 major bank ATMs in Aus. Fees, T&Cs apply
    • No monthly account keeping fees when you deposit at least $2,000 per month
    • 24/7 access to your money via phone
    • Atm networks: Bankwest, ANZ, Commonwealth, NAB, Westpac, St.George, BankSA, Bank of Melbourne
    • What kind of card?: Debit Mastercard
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited domestic transactions from network ATMs, EFTPOS, cheque and counter withdrawals
    Overall rating

    8.2

    Based on 400 Bankwest bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • BankSA Complete Freedom Account

    BankSA Complete Freedom Account

    • $50 Fringe voucher + $50 cash bonus (T&Cs apply)
    • Must deposit $500 into their new account within 45 days
    • No ATM withdrawal fee at over 3,000 ATMs around Australia

    account fee

    $5.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • $50 Fringe voucher + $50 cash bonus (T&Cs apply)
    • Must deposit $500 into their new account within 45 days
    • No ATM withdrawal fee at over 3,000 ATMs around Australia
    • Atm networks: BankSA, Westpac, St.George, Bank of Melbourne
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit or
      EFTPOS
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from network ATMs, EFTPOS, BPAY, cheque, counter withdrawals, counter deposits, phone and internet
    Overall rating

    7.8

    Based on 139 BankSA bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 100 bank accounts in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more bank accounts

Look for a specific type of bank account:

-- Choose type --
peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2017

Forget industry awards where banks scratch each other's backs. Mozo presents the People's Choice Awards, based on real customer reviews.

Check out the winners

Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.