Bank account reviews

Read the latest bank account reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their bank, credit union or building society to give you the inside story on everything from sneaky fees to customer service.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent bank account reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

ANZ

ANZ bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Could be improved

So far I've had good experience with them. However, their online banking could be improved. Also, the information provided online for starting an account before arriving in the country is false.

Full review

So far I've had good experience with them. However, their online banking could be improved. Also, the information provided online for starting an account before arriving in the country is false.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Shwetha (NSW), reviewed 10 days ago

ANZ

ANZ bank account review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Reliable but not proactive

The bank is slow to deal with problems. I have contacted them about fraudulent issues and they rarely get back to me.

Full review

The bank is slow to deal with problems. I have contacted them about fraudulent issues and they rarely get back to me.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Jennifer (NSW), reviewed 18 days ago

NAB

NAB Classic Banking Account bank account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

NAB are a professional bank and service is not bad

I am quite happy with NAB as I have been banking with them for quite some time. They could improve but I haven't had too many problems with them at all.

Full review

I am quite happy with NAB as I have been banking with them for quite some time. They could improve but I haven't had too many problems with them at all.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Amira (QLD), reviewed 18 days ago

ANZ

ANZ Access Advantage bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

The perfect bank

ANZ are extremely helpful and provide me with everything I need

Full review

ANZ are extremely helpful and provide me with everything I need

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Joshua (VIC), reviewed 18 days ago

Bendigo Bank

Bendigo Bank Everyday Account bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Helpful, friendly service

I love banking with Bendigo. The online services are convenient, the service is fantastic, and the company is invested in local communities.

Full review

I love banking with Bendigo. The online services are convenient, the service is fantastic, and the company is invested in local communities.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Rachelle (VIC), reviewed 18 days ago

NAB

NAB bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Happy customer

I have not had any real issues with NAB. If something goes wrong, they take care of it. When my card didn't work at an ATM, I went to a branch and they explained to me that my card had been closed because of an internet scam and the issue was...

Full review

I have not had any real issues with NAB. If something goes wrong, they take care of it. When my card didn't work at an ATM, I went to a branch and they explained to me that my card had been closed because of an internet scam and the issue was easily resolved. I have never had any dramas with the bank and I'm really glad I opened an account with them.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Madeline (VIC), reviewed 19 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Very good service, excellent bank

I have banked with this bank all my life. It has excellent customer service and support, and a variety of different accounts for different needs.

Full review

I have banked with this bank all my life. It has excellent customer service and support, and a variety of different accounts for different needs.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jo (VIC), reviewed 19 days ago

Westpac

Westpac Choice bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

WESTPAC IS AWESOME.

They are the only bank I have been with. Great bank.

Full review

They are the only bank I have been with. Great bank.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Galexcy (QLD), reviewed 19 days ago

NAB

NAB Classic Banking Account bank account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Will stay with the bank

The bank has all the needs I require

Full review

The bank has all the needs I require

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Jason (VIC), reviewed 19 days ago

St.George

St.George Complete Freedom Account bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Good service and look after my banking

I have been banking with this bank for many years and have stayed with them for the very reason that they have good operations, fees and support.

Full review

I have been banking with this bank for many years and have stayed with them for the very reason that they have good operations, fees and support.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Peter (QLD), reviewed 19 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Student Smart Access bank account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Good understanding and planning for your finances

I like this bank because it provides assistance in managing your finances for an event in future so that you can accomplish the required goal.

Full review

I like this bank because it provides assistance in managing your finances for an event in future so that you can accomplish the required goal.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Siddhartha (VIC), reviewed 19 days ago

NAB

NAB Classic Banking Account bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Provided accounts to suit my needs.

Provided a variety of accounts to suit my retirement needs and has always provided excellent customer service in support of any of my requests and queries.

Full review

Provided a variety of accounts to suit my retirement needs and has always provided excellent customer service in support of any of my requests and queries.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Peter (NSW), reviewed 19 days ago

Bendigo Bank

Bendigo Bank Everyday Account bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent

Great service and trustworthy bank with minimal charges and outstanding staff.

Full review

Great service and trustworthy bank with minimal charges and outstanding staff.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

M (VIC), reviewed 19 days ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia Everyday Access bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Ethical, intelligent, great service, future.

I have just recently joined this bank. I choose it for its ethical investment choices and business practices. I will eventually move all my banking to this bank. When I wanted to ask a question I could send secure mail through the website and I...

Full review

I have just recently joined this bank. I choose it for its ethical investment choices and business practices. I will eventually move all my banking to this bank. When I wanted to ask a question I could send secure mail through the website and I received a response within minutes one time and a couple of hours another time. I have used online forms for large companies before and the turn around time is usually a couple of days so I was impressed. My account has visa debit, I have unlimited ATM transactions approved by ATM's. Once I start getting enough into the account, my account keeping fee will end.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Michelle (VIC), reviewed 19 days ago

ANZ

ANZ Access Advantage bank account review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Many features I like , but room for improvement.

ANZ is overpriced and charge for everything. Competitors waive fees when you have enough deposited in each month. I do trust ANZ and have confidence in them even if it takes a couple of calls. I always had personal loan debt and /or credit card...

Full review

ANZ is overpriced and charge for everything. Competitors waive fees when you have enough deposited in each month. I do trust ANZ and have confidence in them even if it takes a couple of calls. I always had personal loan debt and /or credit card debt with them so I feel kind of stuck with them. ANZ will not direct debit personal loans from non ANZ accounts. I like that they were one of the first to introduce firstly Apple Pay and now Android google pay. They offer everything which is great, and they are everywhere. I don't like that I can't see my written reference on my internet pay anyone transfers when I am reviewing my transaction history but I do like pay to mobile very much.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Michelle (VIC), reviewed 19 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Happy customer.

I am pleased.

Full review

I am pleased.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Aurora (VIC), reviewed 19 days ago

ANZ

ANZ Access Advantage bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great bank

Quite happy with the bank

Full review

Quite happy with the bank

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Mavis (QLD), reviewed 26 days ago

Westpac

Westpac Choice bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent

I have been with Westpac for 40 years and never had a complaint about any of their services or products.

Full review

I have been with Westpac for 40 years and never had a complaint about any of their services or products.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Margaret (WA), reviewed 26 days ago

NAB

NAB Classic Banking Account bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Savings

Like the bank I'm with

Full review

Like the bank I'm with

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Tanya (NSW), reviewed 27 days ago

ANZ

ANZ Access Advantage bank account review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Aggressive fee and charge creation experts

I've had some poor experience from time to time in the past. ANZ are guilty of operating using some questionable tactics, and its greed that motivates these tactics.

Full review

I've had some poor experience from time to time in the past. ANZ are guilty of operating using some questionable tactics, and its greed that motivates these tactics.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Troy (TAS), reviewed 27 days ago

ANZ

ANZ Access Advantage bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Good

Have no trouble with ANZ

Full review

Have no trouble with ANZ

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Adrian (QLD), reviewed 27 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access bank account review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Competitive prices on all accounts to manage fees

Customer services awesome always helpful with enquiries and fast and efficient

Full review

Customer services awesome always helpful with enquiries and fast and efficient

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Erika (QLD), reviewed 27 days ago

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Very helpful

Great institution to be a part of

Full review

Great institution to be a part of

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   -1 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Gary (VIC), reviewed 27 days ago

ANZ

ANZ bank account review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Anz are useless lately

Not happy with this bank at all

Full review

Not happy with this bank at all

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Stuart (WA), reviewed 27 days ago

CUA

CUA bank account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Very happy with CUA

Great customer service in store and over the phone

Full review

Great customer service in store and over the phone

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Gillian (QLD), reviewed 28 days ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Bank account comparisons on Mozo Rates updated daily

  • Bankwest Easy Transaction Account

    Bankwest Easy Transaction Account

    • Pay $0 ATM fees at over 10,000 major bank ATMs in Aus. Fees, T&Cs apply
    • No monthly account keeping fees when you deposit at least $2,000 per month
    • Get banking alerts pushed straight to your phone

    account fee

    $6.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • Pay $0 ATM fees at over 10,000 major bank ATMs in Aus. Fees, T&Cs apply
    • No monthly account keeping fees when you deposit at least $2,000 per month
    • Get banking alerts pushed straight to your phone
    • Atm networks: Bankwest, ANZ, Commonwealth, NAB, Westpac, St.George, BankSA, Bank of Melbourne
    • What kind of card?: Debit MasterCard
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited domestic transactions from network ATMs, EFTPOS, cheque and counter withdrawals
    Overall rating

    8.2

    Based on 400 Bankwest bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • St.George Complete Freedom Account

    St.George Complete Freedom Account

    • Deposit a minimum of $2,000 each month and have the $5 account fee waived
    • No ATM withdrawal fee at over 3,000 ATMs in Australia
    • Convenient and secure mobile and internet banking

    account fee

    $5.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • Deposit a minimum of $2,000 each month and have the $5 account fee waived
    • No ATM withdrawal fee at over 3,000 ATMs in Australia
    • Convenient and secure mobile and internet banking
    • Atm networks: St.George, Westpac, BankSA, Bank of Melbourne
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit or
      EFTPOS
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from network ATMs, EFTPOS, cheque, counter deposits and withdrawals, phone and internet
    Overall rating

    8.1

    Based on 481 St.George bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • ANZ Access Advantage

    ANZ Access Advantage

    • $0 monthly account service fee if you deposit at least $2,000 a month, or if you meet other eligibility criteria
    • Use your own money online, over the phone and overseas with Visa Debit access
    • Now with Apple Pay

    account fee

    $5.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 monthly account service fee if you deposit at least $2,000 a month, or if you meet other eligibility criteria
    • Use your own money online, over the phone and overseas with Visa Debit access
    • Now with Apple Pay
    • Atm networks: ANZ
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit or
      EFTPOS
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a..
      Balances from $50,000: 0.01% p.a..
      Balances from $100,000: 0.02% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from own-bank ATM, EFTPOS, cheque, counter withdrawals, counter deposits, phone and internet
    Overall rating

    7.6

    Based on 1579 ANZ bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • HSBC Day to Day Account

    HSBC Day to Day Account

    • Secure access to your account with Internet and Mobile Banking.
    • $0 monthly account fee
    • No ATM fees at 3,000 ATMs nationally

    account fee

    $0.00

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • Secure access to your account with Internet and Mobile Banking.
    • $0 monthly account fee
    • No ATM fees at 3,000 ATMs nationally
    • Atm networks: HSBC, Westpac, St.George, BankSA, Bank of Melbourne
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from network ATMs, EFTPOS, cheque, phone, internet, Bank@Post, BPAY and direct debits
    Overall rating

    6.3

    Based on 55 HSBC bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bankwest Qantas Transaction Account

    Bankwest Qantas Transaction Account

    • Earn Qantas Points on your account balance 365 days a year
    • No ATM fees at Bankwest and CommBank ATMs Australia wide
    • No monthly account fees when you deposit $2,000 each month

    account fee

    $6.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0.01% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • Earn Qantas Points on your account balance 365 days a year
    • No ATM fees at Bankwest and CommBank ATMs Australia wide
    • No monthly account fees when you deposit $2,000 each month
    • Atm networks: Bankwest, Commonwealth
    • What kind of card?: Debit MasterCard
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.01% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free domestic transactions from network ATMs, EFTPOS, cheque, counter withdrawals, phone, internet and Debit MasterCard purchases
    Overall rating

    8.2

    Based on 400 Bankwest bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 101 bank accounts in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare all bank accounts

Look for a specific type of bank account:

-- Choose type --
peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2016

Forget industry awards where banks scratch each other's backs. Mozo presents the People's Choice Awards, based on more than 30,000 real customer reviews.

Check out the winners

Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.