Bank account reviews

Read the latest bank account reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their bank, credit union or building society to give you the inside story on everything from sneaky fees to customer service.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent bank account reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

ANZ

ANZ bank account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Decent everyday account.

ANZ always has friendly and helpful staff. They seem to go the extra mile and make you feel comfortable. They gave me a temporary card when I lost mine - problem sorted. One lady also gave my little son a wonderful, big, blue, dog, money box -...

Full review

ANZ always has friendly and helpful staff. They seem to go the extra mile and make you feel comfortable. They gave me a temporary card when I lost mine - problem sorted. One lady also gave my little son a wonderful, big, blue, dog, money box - real old fashioned customer service. The only bad thing I have to say is that the overdrawn fee is quite hefty, at $6.00. Apart from that. I've had no problems.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Este (NSW), reviewed about 1 month ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great bank

I would promote this bank for a number of reasons; great customer service, easy online banking. All in all I'm glad I chose to bank with Bank Australia and wouldn't think of changing banks again.

Full review

I would promote this bank for a number of reasons; great customer service, easy online banking. All in all I'm glad I chose to bank with Bank Australia and wouldn't think of changing banks again.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Kerry (QLD), reviewed about 1 month ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

One of the better banks

Good customer service, attentive to people's individual needs, flexible options and trustworthy, account fees also very cheap.

Full review

Good customer service, attentive to people's individual needs, flexible options and trustworthy, account fees also very cheap.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Maggie (NSW), reviewed about 1 month ago

St.George

St.George bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service

St.George bank is easy to access and use. Mostly use internet banking which is simple and fast. Staff at bank are always very helpful and polite.

Full review

St.George bank is easy to access and use. Mostly use internet banking which is simple and fast. Staff at bank are always very helpful and polite.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Malcolm (VIC), reviewed about 1 month ago

Westpac

Westpac bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Good

We found Westpac to be pretty good.

Full review

We found Westpac to be pretty good.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Lavarn (QLD), reviewed 3 months ago

Cairns Penny Savings & Loans

Cairns Penny Savings & Loans bank account review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Just another Bank

Failed to reveal/mention information when specifically asked about a product. Yes friendly, but the same as any other bank just even more inconvenient, than other banks as only one ‘shop front’.

Full review

Failed to reveal/mention information when specifically asked about a product. Yes friendly, but the same as any other bank just even more inconvenient, than other banks as only one ‘shop front’.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   2 / 10

Less

Teldav (QLD), reviewed 5 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great service and help

Always helpful and friendly. Have never had a problem with them.

Full review

Always helpful and friendly. Have never had a problem with them.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Deb (VIC), reviewed 5 months ago

ANZ

ANZ Access Advantage bank account review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Bank staff very helpful

Very strict on overdraft, always charge fees when we are over. Despite the fact we have over $80000 in term deposit with ANZ.

Full review

Very strict on overdraft, always charge fees when we are over. Despite the fact we have over $80000 in term deposit with ANZ.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Allan (QLD), reviewed 5 months ago

CUA

CUA Everyday Account bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

CUA is great

Great customer service and security on financial transactions.

Full review

Great customer service and security on financial transactions.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Derek (QLD), reviewed 5 months ago

Adelaide Bank

Adelaide Bank bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

I tell my friend's about Adelaide Bank

Adelaide Bank is the best bank to me, they have no fees.

Full review

Adelaide Bank is the best bank to me, they have no fees.

    Price   -1 / 10

    Features   -1 / 10

    Customer service   -1 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Erris (QLD), reviewed 5 months ago

NAB

NAB bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Best bank I've been with

I have always been very happy with NAB.

Full review

I have always been very happy with NAB.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Graham (QLD), reviewed 5 months ago

NAB

NAB bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

NAB has the best service

They cater for my needs. They even let me overdraw, not bad if you're a pensioner. I can also use an ATM selected by NAB. They have great customer service.

Full review

They cater for my needs. They even let me overdraw, not bad if you're a pensioner. I can also use an ATM selected by NAB. They have great customer service.

    Price   -1 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Ron (QLD), reviewed 5 months ago

ANZ

ANZ bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

It's fine never had a problem

No problems, bank is fine, no need to look at change.

Full review

No problems, bank is fine, no need to look at change.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   -1 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Trent (QLD), reviewed 5 months ago

Bendigo Bank

Bendigo Bank Everyday Account bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Good bank

I love my bank.

Full review

I love my bank.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Rebecca (VIC), reviewed 5 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access bank account review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Extremely difficult to contact to vent problems

The staff just do not care and do not listen to your questions and statements regarding ATM transactions and home loan enquiries.

Full review

The staff just do not care and do not listen to your questions and statements regarding ATM transactions and home loan enquiries.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Susan (QLD), reviewed 5 months ago

NAB

NAB bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Fantastic

Great to bank with.

Full review

Great to bank with.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Chris (NSW), reviewed 5 months ago

Bendigo Bank

Bendigo Bank Everyday Account bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Bendigo Bank rocks

Great customer service, no fees for concession accounts.

Full review

Great customer service, no fees for concession accounts.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Rosie (SA), reviewed 5 months ago

St.George

St.George Complete Freedom Account bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Good bank

Very good service.

Full review

Very good service.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Malcolm (NSW), reviewed 5 months ago

Westpac

Westpac Choice bank account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great bank

Westpac is great, I like them a lot.

Full review

Westpac is great, I like them a lot.

    Price   -1 / 10

    Features   -1 / 10

    Customer service   -1 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Marion (VIC), reviewed 5 months ago

Westpac

Westpac bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service

Very happy with bank.

Full review

Very happy with bank.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Owen (QLD), reviewed 5 months ago

Bendigo Bank

Bendigo Bank Everyday Account bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

Have had no problem feel secure.

Full review

Have had no problem feel secure.

    Price   -1 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Marlene (SA), reviewed 5 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent bank

I have been with Commonwealth for a long time and would recommend them to anyone.

Full review

I have been with Commonwealth for a long time and would recommend them to anyone.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Rachel (VIC), reviewed 5 months ago

St.George

St.George Complete Freedom Account bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Grateful

St.George has truly been a bank I'll stay with til I die.

Full review

St.George has truly been a bank I'll stay with til I die.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Anita (NSW), reviewed 5 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great people in the branches

Always very helpful, also the app is easy to use.

Full review

Always very helpful, also the app is easy to use.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Elisha (QLD), reviewed 5 months ago

Westpac

Westpac bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Customer service is outstanding

I am treated with respect and any query l have is sorted out for me. ATMs are available in lots of places.

Full review

I am treated with respect and any query l have is sorted out for me. ATMs are available in lots of places.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Vivien (WA), reviewed 5 months ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Bank account comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • HSBC Everyday Global Account

    HSBC Everyday Global Account

    • No overseas ATM fees
    • No overseas transaction fees
    • Up to 10 currencies in one account

    account fee

    $0.00

    Payment Options

    Apple Pay|Google Pay

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • No overseas ATM fees
    • No overseas transaction fees
    • Up to 10 currencies in one account
    • Atm networks: HSBC
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
      Balances from $9,000: 0.05% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from HSBC ATMs, EFTPOS, phone, internet, Bank@Post, BPAY and direct debits
    Overall rating

    6.3

    Based on 55 HSBC bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • ING Orange Everyday

    ING Orange Everyday

    • $75 Cash Bonus ($1K+/Month and 5+ Card purchases).
    • Free ATMs in Aus, when you deposit $1k per month (5+ card purchases in the month)
    • No everyday fees, which means more of your money is where it belongs, in your pocket

    account fee

    $0.00

    Payment Options

    Apple Pay|Google Pay

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • $75 Cash Bonus ($1K+/Month and 5+ Card purchases).
    • Free ATMs in Aus, when you deposit $1k per month (5+ card purchases in the month)
    • No everyday fees, which means more of your money is where it belongs, in your pocket
    • Atm networks: None
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Free ATM use in Australia and overseas and free international transactions when you deposit at least $1,000 from an external bank account and make at least 5 card purchases using your ING debit card each month.
    Overall rating

    9.2

    Based on 206 ING bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bankwest Easy Transaction Account

    Bankwest Easy Transaction Account

    • Pay $0 ATM fees at over 10,000 major bank ATMs in Aus. Fees, T&Cs apply
    • No monthly account fees
    • 24/7 access to your money via phone

    account fee

    $0.00

    Payment Options

    Google Pay|Payment Ring

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • Pay $0 ATM fees at over 10,000 major bank ATMs in Aus. Fees, T&Cs apply
    • No monthly account fees
    • 24/7 access to your money via phone
    • Atm networks: Bankwest, ANZ, Commonwealth, NAB, Westpac, St.George, BankSA, Bank of Melbourne
    • What kind of card?: Debit Mastercard
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited domestic transactions from network ATMs, EFTPOS, cheque and counter withdrawals
    Overall rating

    8.2

    Based on 400 Bankwest bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • NAB Classic Banking Account (with Standard Visa Debit Card)

    NAB Classic Banking Account (with Standard Visa Debit Card)

    • No monthly account fees ever, with no conditions.
    • Free use at over 10,000 ATMs around Australia
    • 24/7 Mobile Banking, including Quick Balance and Tap & Pay for Android

    account fee

    $0.00

    Payment Options

    Google Pay|Samsung Pay|Garmin|Fitbit|PayTag

    interest rate

    0.01% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • No monthly account fees ever, with no conditions.
    • Free use at over 10,000 ATMs around Australia
    • 24/7 Mobile Banking, including Quick Balance and Tap & Pay for Android
    • Atm networks: NAB, rediATM
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit or
      EFTPOS
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.01% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from own-bank ATM, EFTPOS, counter withdrawals, counter deposits, phone, internet and Visa debit purchases
    Overall rating

    8.1

    Based on 1377 NAB bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MyState Bank Everyday Account

    MyState Bank Everyday Account

    • Super fast transfers
    • Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay
    • Make and receive payments in seconds using a mobile or email with PayID

    account fee

    $6.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month or are under 23 years.

    Payment Options

    Apple Pay|Google Pay|Samsung Pay

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • Super fast transfers
    • Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay
    • Make and receive payments in seconds using a mobile or email with PayID
    • Atm networks: MyState, The Rock
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit or
      EFTPOS
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from network ATM, EFTPOS, cheque, counter deposits and withdrawals, phone and internet
    Overall rating

    6.7

    Based on 32 MyState Bank bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 109 bank accounts in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more bank accounts

Look for a specific type of bank account:

-- Choose type --
peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2018

Forget industry awards where the industry scratch each other’s backs. Mozo presents the People’s Choice Awards, based on real customer reviews.

Check out the winners
Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.