Bank account reviews

Read the latest bank account reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their bank, credit union or building society to give you the inside story on everything from sneaky fees to customer service.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent bank account reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

BCU

BCU Access Account bank account review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Good service, not enough branches

For a small credit union it does very well. Both phone calls and phone enquires are answered promptly.

For a small credit union it does very well. Both phone calls and phone enquires are answered promptly.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Peter (ACT), reviewed about 22 hours ago

Suncorp

Suncorp Everyday Basics bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Convenient location.

Long wait in queues but it's a great branch with a small and great location.

Long wait in queues but it's a great branch with a small and great location.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Debbie (QLD), reviewed about 22 hours ago

ANZ

ANZ Access Advantage bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

I personally like going into the bank

They are finding new ways to make banking easy.

They are finding new ways to make banking easy.

    Price   -1 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Anne (SA), reviewed about 23 hours ago

Westpac

Westpac Choice Student bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Highly recommended

I went to another bank first that very quickly lost me before I even became a customer. Westpac had me signed up with an active account in about ten minutes.

I went to another bank first that very quickly lost me before I even became a customer. Westpac had me signed up with an active account in about ten minutes.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Storm (ACT), reviewed 15 days ago

Westpac

Westpac Choice bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Remove late fees

Late fees should not be charged, especially when the bank is aware of pays being deposited, their clearing times and direct debit dates fall within a day or two.

Late fees should not be charged, especially when the bank is aware of pays being deposited, their clearing times and direct debit dates fall within a day or two.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Angie (ACT), reviewed 15 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Completely satisfied with the service

I have always used Commonwealth bank and have always been more than satisfied with their services and staff.

I have always used Commonwealth bank and have always been more than satisfied with their services and staff.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Delphi (VIC), reviewed 15 days ago

ANZ

ANZ bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great provider

Our family has a long history with the ANZ bank (over 50 years!). I always feel comfortable and safe when dealing with the staff who are well trained and pleasant to do business with. I find the ANZ Online banking very straight forward and easy...

Our family has a long history with the ANZ bank (over 50 years!). I always feel comfortable and safe when dealing with the staff who are well trained and pleasant to do business with. I find the ANZ Online banking very straight forward and easy to navigate around.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Jane (NSW), reviewed 15 days ago

Westpac

Westpac Choice bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service

Great bank because they never let me overdraw money. I can also save money on interest.

Great bank because they never let me overdraw money. I can also save money on interest.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Nathan (NSW), reviewed 15 days ago

Westpac

Westpac Choice bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

No problems with this bank

Westpac are a very good bank to deal with. I've had no problems dealing with them at all. They are always professional and willing to help me with any banking requirements I may have. They provide friendly and reliable service.

Westpac are a very good bank to deal with. I've had no problems dealing with them at all. They are always professional and willing to help me with any banking requirements I may have. They provide friendly and reliable service.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Kirsty (VIC), reviewed 15 days ago

Bendigo Bank

Bendigo Bank Everyday Account bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent provider

Bendigo Bank have looked after us for a long time and have always provided excellent service.

Bendigo Bank have looked after us for a long time and have always provided excellent service.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Sandra (QLD), reviewed 15 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Good provider

I've been with Commonwealth bank for many years now and I'm very happy this bank.

I've been with Commonwealth bank for many years now and I'm very happy this bank.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Jodie (SA), reviewed 15 days ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

The service is always spot on and very friendly

I've been with this bank for 25 years. They have always been extremely helpful in every way possible and I couldn't ask for anything bette. I'd recommend them to anyone.

I've been with this bank for 25 years. They have always been extremely helpful in every way possible and I couldn't ask for anything bette. I'd recommend them to anyone.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Karen (VIC), reviewed 15 days ago

BankSA

BankSA bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service with low fees and rates

I have been a customer since I first opened a savings account when I was 16. All my dealings with Bank SA have been quick, efficient and pleasant. The staff show genuine friendliness, empathy and a willingness to assist. The fees and rates are...

I have been a customer since I first opened a savings account when I was 16. All my dealings with Bank SA have been quick, efficient and pleasant. The staff show genuine friendliness, empathy and a willingness to assist. The fees and rates are some of the lowest and the app for internet banking is simple and easy to use.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Jessie (SA), reviewed 20 days ago

NAB

NAB Classic Banking Account bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great rates, easy and helpful

I like them because they are always friendly and happy to help. Everything is always so easy and secure..

I like them because they are always friendly and happy to help. Everything is always so easy and secure..

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Mikayla (QLD), reviewed 22 days ago

Westpac

Westpac Choice bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

I've received very good service from Westpac through some difficult times.

I've received very good service from Westpac through some difficult times.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Kerrie (VIC), reviewed 22 days ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland Day2Day Plus Account bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

Easy to deal with and their online banking is easy to understand.

Easy to deal with and their online banking is easy to understand.

    Price   -1 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

John (WA), reviewed 22 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Very reliable and trustworthy

I have been with Commonwealth Bank for the last year and a half and they have been very kind to me and are really reliable. The app is very simple and easy to use. Not to mention, you can lock your card if you lose it and I would definitely...

I have been with Commonwealth Bank for the last year and a half and they have been very kind to me and are really reliable. The app is very simple and easy to use. Not to mention, you can lock your card if you lose it and I would definitely recommend them to others.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Debra (QLD), reviewed 22 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Australia's leading bank

Commonwealth bank truly are leading the way. The staff are helpful and go out of their way to try and fix any problems. Anytime I need to look further into something, I find it easy and receive all the relevant information.

Commonwealth bank truly are leading the way. The staff are helpful and go out of their way to try and fix any problems. Anytime I need to look further into something, I find it easy and receive all the relevant information.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Ronald (VIC), reviewed 22 days ago

NAB

NAB bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

I have no reason to change my bank

I always find the staff friendly and helpful.

I always find the staff friendly and helpful.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Cole (NSW), reviewed 22 days ago

Bendigo Bank

Bendigo Bank Everyday Account bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great bank that gives back to the community

Bendigo Bank is very good to use. They are people friendly.

Bendigo Bank is very good to use. They are people friendly.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Shane (VIC), reviewed 22 days ago

Suncorp

Suncorp bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great customer service

Suncorp have good customer service. They have a great phone app and low fees. Of all the banks I've used in the past, Suncorp have been the best to deal with.

Suncorp have good customer service. They have a great phone app and low fees. Of all the banks I've used in the past, Suncorp have been the best to deal with.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Damon (QLD), reviewed 22 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Student Smart Access bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

This bank has very competitive premiums

They are easy, fast, friendly, reliable, trustworthy and supply many options.

They are easy, fast, friendly, reliable, trustworthy and supply many options.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Jayden (QLD), reviewed 22 days ago

NAB

NAB Classic Banking Account bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great bank

NAB are great to bank with. They are helpful and have great customer service.

NAB are great to bank with. They are helpful and have great customer service.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Jessica (WA), reviewed 22 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank bank account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great provider

They have competitive interest rates, easy to understand app and friendly staff.

They have competitive interest rates, easy to understand app and friendly staff.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Emma (SA), reviewed 26 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

Good service and consideration for members' situations.

Good service and consideration for members' situations.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Brett (QLD), reviewed 26 days ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Bank account comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • ING DIRECT Orange Everyday

    ING DIRECT Orange Everyday

    • $75 cash bonus
    • Free use of any ATM in Australia when you deposit your pay of $1,000+ each month
    • No irritating everyday fees, which means more of your money is where it belongs, in your pocket

    account fee

    $0.00

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • $75 cash bonus
    • Free use of any ATM in Australia when you deposit your pay of $1,000+ each month
    • No irritating everyday fees, which means more of your money is where it belongs, in your pocket
    • Atm networks: None
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Free ATM use when you deposit your pay of $1,000+ each month, free EFTPOS withdrawals and online bank cheques.
    Overall rating

    9.2

    Based on 206 ING DIRECT bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • ANZ Access Advantage

    ANZ Access Advantage

    • $0 monthly account service fee if you deposit at least $2,000 a month
    • Now with Apple Pay
    • Consider if right for you. T&C’s, eligibility criteria apply

    account fee

    $5.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 monthly account service fee if you deposit at least $2,000 a month
    • Now with Apple Pay
    • Consider if right for you. T&C’s, eligibility criteria apply
    • Atm networks: ANZ
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit or
      EFTPOS
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
      Balances from $50,000: 0.01% p.a.
      Balances from $100,000: 0.02% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from own-bank ATM, EFTPOS, cheque, counter withdrawals, counter deposits, phone and internet
    Overall rating

    7.6

    Based on 1579 ANZ bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • NAB Classic Banking Account

    NAB Classic Banking Account

    • No monthly account fees ever, with no conditions.
    • Free use at over 3,400 NAB & Redi ATMs
    • 24/7 Mobile Banking, including Quick Balance and Tap & Pay for Android

    account fee

    $0.00

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0.01% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • No monthly account fees ever, with no conditions.
    • Free use at over 3,400 NAB & Redi ATMs
    • 24/7 Mobile Banking, including Quick Balance and Tap & Pay for Android
    • Atm networks: NAB, rediATM
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit or
      EFTPOS
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.01% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from own-bank ATM, EFTPOS, counter withdrawals, counter deposits, phone, internet and Visa debit purchases
    Overall rating

    8.1

    Based on 1377 NAB bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bankwest Easy Transaction Account

    Bankwest Easy Transaction Account

    • Pay $0 ATM fees at over 10,000 major bank ATMs in Aus. Fees, T&Cs apply
    • No monthly account fee until 31/08. Then, fee is waived if you deposit at least $2,000 per month
    • Limited time cashback offer on tap & go™ purchases. T&Cs apply

    account fee

    $6.00$0 monthly account fee until 31 August 2017. New customers only.

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • Pay $0 ATM fees at over 10,000 major bank ATMs in Aus. Fees, T&Cs apply
    • No monthly account fee until 31/08. Then, fee is waived if you deposit at least $2,000 per month
    • Limited time cashback offer on tap & go™ purchases. T&Cs apply
    • Atm networks: Bankwest, ANZ, Commonwealth, NAB, Westpac, St.George, BankSA, Bank of Melbourne
    • What kind of card?: Debit MasterCard
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited domestic transactions from network ATMs, EFTPOS, cheque and counter withdrawals
    Overall rating

    8.2

    Based on 400 Bankwest bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 107 bank accounts in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare all bank accounts

Look for a specific type of bank account:

-- Choose type --
peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2016

Forget industry awards where banks scratch each other's backs. Mozo presents the People's Choice Awards, based on more than 30,000 real customer reviews.

Check out the winners

Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.