Bank account reviews

Read the latest bank account reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their bank, credit union or building society to give you the inside story on everything from sneaky fees to customer service.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent bank account reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Student Smart Access bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

Great customer service and security.
Full review

Great customer service and security.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mikaela (VIC), reviewed about 1 month ago

ANZ

ANZ Access Advantage bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

I've been with ANZ for quite a few years now and have never even thought of changing banks. I've always had such lovely customer service whether it's walking in their branch or talking over the phone, I find they're very helpful and understanding.
Full review

I've been with ANZ for quite a few years now and have never even thought of changing banks. I've always had such lovely customer service whether it's walking in their branch or talking over the phone, I find they're very helpful and understanding.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Britony (QLD), reviewed about 1 month ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Always excellent Customer Service and good rates.

I have been with the Commonwealth Bank for many years and have always found them to be extremely helpful in the past. I have looked at changing my bank from time to time however I always make the decision to stay where I am.
Full review

I have been with the Commonwealth Bank for many years and have always found them to be extremely helpful in the past. I have looked at changing my bank from time to time however I always make the decision to stay where I am.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Susan (VIC), reviewed about 1 month ago

Westpac

Westpac bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

I am a customer for the last 40 years and I like it.
Full review

I am a customer for the last 40 years and I like it.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

George (NSW), reviewed about 1 month ago

NAB

NAB Classic Banking Account bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Awesome

My bank and financial adviser have been the best to me. Since losing my wife to cancer.
Full review

My bank and financial adviser have been the best to me. Since losing my wife to cancer.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Terrence (NSW), reviewed about 1 month ago

ING DIRECT

ING DIRECT Orange Everyday bank account review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Terrible service

I requested bank check yesterday 11 April 2016 from ING bank. They said they will send confirmation email when they issue the check and it takes 2-3 business day to send the check. I want to mention that the bank deducted money straight away after...
Full review

I requested bank check yesterday 11 April 2016 from ING bank. They said they will send confirmation email when they issue the check and it takes 2-3 business day to send the check. I want to mention that the bank deducted money straight away after my request as well. However, tonight 12 April 2016, I called to ask why I have not receive confirmation email yet and then the bank said your check has not been issued yet (no reason why?!) and it takes another 5-7 business day to issue the check. Then I told them it is too late for me and because the bank disclosed misleading information I want to cancel my check and I want the bank give my money bank. The person who answer my call start to plan about my money in my bank account and try to ignore my request. It is absolutely frustrating that instead of serving the customer start to deciding about their money!!! By the way, my problem has not been solved yet (after 1.5 hours telephone conversation). I just write this review about ING to warn people who want to use ING check. DO NOT DO THIS MISTAKE. I really encourage the ING bank to reply to my complain and explain why this happened and is the bank ready to remediate the loss which has occurred to me because of their mistake ??!!! I will lose $1,000 (settlement costs) if the bank do not back my money till tomorrow 13 April 2016 as I have to pay this money again for my property settlement day!

    Price   -1 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Marcia (NSW), reviewed about 1 month ago

Westpac

Westpac Choice bank account review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Poor customer service long waits

Not very flexible and 1 option fits all mentality.
Full review

Not very flexible and 1 option fits all mentality.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Richard (WA), reviewed about 1 month ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

I love it

Awesome
Full review

Awesome

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Avneet (SA), reviewed about 1 month ago

Bendigo Bank

Bendigo Bank Ultimate Everyday Account bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

100% satisfactory across the board.

The best bank I've ever had! A pleasure to to do business with.
Full review

The best bank I've ever had! A pleasure to to do business with.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   -1 / 10

Less

Brandon (QLD), reviewed about 1 month ago

St.George

St.George Complete Freedom Account bank account review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Lovely staff

The staff at my local St George branch are really nice, after years of paying fees and deciding I was going to switch banks the staff member I was talking to changed my account to one with no fees as long as $2000 a month goes in. Be wary of fees...
Full review

The staff at my local St George branch are really nice, after years of paying fees and deciding I was going to switch banks the staff member I was talking to changed my account to one with no fees as long as $2000 a month goes in. Be wary of fees and don't be afraid to tell them you are switching banks

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Debbie (NSW), reviewed about 1 month ago

Suncorp

Suncorp Everyday Basics bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Fantastic

Best bank in the world
Full review

Best bank in the world

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Stuart (QLD), reviewed about 1 month ago

Suncorp

Suncorp Everyday Basics bank account review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Worst bank ever

This is a very lazy and money hungry bank can't stand them now
Full review

This is a very lazy and money hungry bank can't stand them now

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   1 / 10

Less

Heavenlee (QLD), reviewed about 1 month ago

Westpac

Westpac bank account review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Great customer service

We don't hear much from Westpac and the interest rate is not the best on the market but we have nothing to complain about. Service etc. seems good
Full review

We don't hear much from Westpac and the interest rate is not the best on the market but we have nothing to complain about. Service etc. seems good

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Lesley (WA), reviewed about 1 month ago

Bendigo Bank

Bendigo Bank Ultimate Everyday Account bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great everyday account

A great everyday account. No ridiculous fees
Full review

A great everyday account. No ridiculous fees

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Lydia (QLD), reviewed about 1 month ago

NAB

NAB bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Structures and customer support is exemplary

Most of my banking is done by Internet banking, and I have never experienced problems with this. I also appreciate the excellent security provided, and regular statements. The alerts to problems have been welcomed. On the few occasions where I...
Full review

Most of my banking is done by Internet banking, and I have never experienced problems with this. I also appreciate the excellent security provided, and regular statements. The alerts to problems have been welcomed. On the few occasions where I have required a personal service (eg organising overseas trip) the customer service has been faultless.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Peter (SA), reviewed about 1 month ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great

Happy with who I bank with
Full review

Happy with who I bank with

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Kim (WA), reviewed about 1 month ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Goods products and services. Bit overpriced.

I find the Commonwealth bank products to be good in general, and their services like Netbank are about the best in the industry. However, they post huge profits each year and have some of the highest interest rates on loans and lowest interest...
Full review

I find the Commonwealth bank products to be good in general, and their services like Netbank are about the best in the industry. However, they post huge profits each year and have some of the highest interest rates on loans and lowest interest payments on savings. However, I think they're probably a more stable company than smaller and newer ones.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Susan (VIC), reviewed about 1 month ago

ANZ

ANZ Access Advantage bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Awesome bank

ANZ products is really convenient for students like me. They also provide great savings plan!
Full review

ANZ products is really convenient for students like me. They also provide great savings plan!

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Nur (QLD), reviewed about 1 month ago

NAB

NAB Classic Banking Account bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

Great interest on savings accounts. Large number of ATMS
Full review

Great interest on savings accounts. Large number of ATMS

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Amy (QLD), reviewed about 1 month ago

Westpac

Westpac Choice bank account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Very happy to bank with them

Need to really look into more options to help their customers in accordance with financial matters.
Full review

Need to really look into more options to help their customers in accordance with financial matters.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Saleapaga (VIC), reviewed about 1 month ago

NAB

NAB Classic Banking Account bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great friendly customer service.

We use NAB at our nearest branch whenever we have had any contact with bank staff have been efficient and helpful not only with required service but helpful with further enquirers.
Full review

We use NAB at our nearest branch whenever we have had any contact with bank staff have been efficient and helpful not only with required service but helpful with further enquirers.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Gary (QLD), reviewed about 1 month ago

St.George

St.George Express Freedom Account bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Would recommend

Been with provider for over 10 years. Never any problems, convenient and great service - would recommend.
Full review

Been with provider for over 10 years. Never any problems, convenient and great service - would recommend.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jessica (NSW), reviewed about 1 month ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great customer service and convenience is awesome

I think that the convenience of Cardless Cash is awesome and I find that my money through the ATM's located in several places is very convenient. The service is always very friendly.
Full review

I think that the convenience of Cardless Cash is awesome and I find that my money through the ATM's located in several places is very convenient. The service is always very friendly.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Toni (NSW), reviewed about 1 month ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank bank account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Convenience

I believe its no different from any other bank when it comes to customer service and trust, but when it comes to convenience, branches and ATM's are close by and plentiful.
Full review

I believe its no different from any other bank when it comes to customer service and trust, but when it comes to convenience, branches and ATM's are close by and plentiful.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Jim (NSW), reviewed about 1 month ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Awesome

Great bank with great products. Secure banking experience.
Full review

Great bank with great products. Secure banking experience.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Shannon (VIC), reviewed about 1 month ago

Bank account comparisons on Mozo Rates updated daily

  • ANZ Access Advantage

    ANZ Access Advantage

    • $0 monthly account service fee if you deposit at least $2,000 a month, or if you meet other eligibility criteria
    • Use your own money online, over the phone and overseas with Visa Debit access
    • Now with Apple Pay

    account fee

    $5.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0%

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 monthly account service fee if you deposit at least $2,000 a month, or if you meet other eligibility criteria
    • Use your own money online, over the phone and overseas with Visa Debit access
    • Now with Apple Pay
    • Atm networks: ANZ
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit or
      EFTPOS
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00%pa.
      Balances from $50,000: 0.01%pa.
      Balances from $100,000: 0.02%pa
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from own-bank ATM, EFTPOS, cheque, counter withdrawals, counter deposits, phone and internet
    Overall rating

    7.6

    Based on 1579 ANZ bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bankwest Easy Transaction Account

    Bankwest Easy Transaction Account

    • Pay $0 ATM fees at over 10,000 major bank ATMs in Aus. Fees, T&Cs apply
    • No monthly account keeping fees when you deposit at least $2,000 per month
    • Get banking alerts pushed straight to your phone

    account fee

    $6.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0%

    Go to site

    More info

    • Pay $0 ATM fees at over 10,000 major bank ATMs in Aus. Fees, T&Cs apply
    • No monthly account keeping fees when you deposit at least $2,000 per month
    • Get banking alerts pushed straight to your phone
    • Atm networks: Bankwest, ANZ, Commonwealth, NAB, Westpac, St.George, BankSA, Bank of Melbourne
    • What kind of card?: Debit MasterCard
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00%pa
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited domestic transactions from network ATMs, EFTPOS, cheque and counter withdrawals
    Overall rating

    8.2

    Based on 400 Bankwest bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • HSBC Day to Day Account

    HSBC Day to Day Account

    • Secure access to your account with Internet and Mobile Banking.
    • $0 monthly account fee
    • No ATM fees at 3,000 ATMs nationally

    account fee

    $0.00

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0%

    Go to site

    More info

    • Secure access to your account with Internet and Mobile Banking.
    • $0 monthly account fee
    • No ATM fees at 3,000 ATMs nationally
    • Atm networks: HSBC, Westpac, St.George, BankSA, Bank of Melbourne
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00%pa.
      Balances from $5,000: 0.01%pa
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from network ATMs, EFTPOS, cheque, phone, internet, Bank@Post, BPAY and direct debits
    Overall rating

    6.3

    Based on 55 HSBC bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bankwest Qantas Transaction Account

    Bankwest Qantas Transaction Account

    • Earn Qantas Points on your account balance 365 days a year
    • No ATM fees at Bankwest and CommBank ATMs Australia wide
    • No monthly account fees when you deposit $2,000 each month

    account fee

    $6.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0.01%

    Go to site

    More info

    • Earn Qantas Points on your account balance 365 days a year
    • No ATM fees at Bankwest and CommBank ATMs Australia wide
    • No monthly account fees when you deposit $2,000 each month
    • Atm networks: Bankwest, Commonwealth
    • What kind of card?: Debit MasterCard
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.01%pa
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free domestic transactions from network ATMs, EFTPOS, cheque, counter withdrawals, phone, internet and Debit MasterCard purchases
    Overall rating

    8.2

    Based on 400 Bankwest bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • ING DIRECT Orange Everyday

    ING DIRECT Orange Everyday

    • No monthly fees
    • Free use of any ATM in Australia when you deposit your pay of $1,000+ each month
    • 2% cash back on Visa payWave purchases under $100 when you deposit $1,000 per month

    account fee

    $0.00

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0%

    Go to site

    More info

    • No monthly fees
    • Free use of any ATM in Australia when you deposit your pay of $1,000+ each month
    • 2% cash back on Visa payWave purchases under $100 when you deposit $1,000 per month
    • Atm networks: None
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00%pa
    • Fee free transactions: Free ATM use when you deposit your pay of $1,000+ each month, free EFTPOS withdrawals and online bank cheques.
    Overall rating

    9.2

    Based on 206 ING DIRECT bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  Compare

Want more? Compare all 99 bank accounts in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare all bank accounts

Look for a specific type of bank account:

-- Choose type --
peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2015

Forget industry awards where banks scratch each other's backs. Mozo presents the People's Choice Awards, based on more than 10,000 real customer reviews.

Check out the winners
Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.