Bank account reviews

Read the latest bank account reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their bank, credit union or building society to give you the inside story on everything from sneaky fees to customer service.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent bank account reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

Qudos Bank

Qudos Bank General Savings Account bank account review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Could be better

The app needs technical assistance as it constantly crashes. Rates are fairly good. Frustrating that I have an allowance every month for my transactions (eftpos/transfers).

The app needs technical assistance as it constantly crashes. Rates are fairly good. Frustrating that I have an allowance every month for my transactions (eftpos/transfers).

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Nadia (NSW), reviewed 16 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great bank for anyone, especially young people

Great bank to be with. We experienced some fraudulent activity last year and they were so helpful and understanding. Never really had a problem, except sometimes it can find be difficult to navigate the mobile app.

Great bank to be with. We experienced some fraudulent activity last year and they were so helpful and understanding. Never really had a problem, except sometimes it can find be difficult to navigate the mobile app.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Holly (VIC), reviewed 16 days ago

CUA

CUA bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

CUA send out a newsletter every so often about new services available. They also advise you of when your telephone bill is due via email.

CUA send out a newsletter every so often about new services available. They also advise you of when your telephone bill is due via email.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Lynette (QLD), reviewed 23 days ago

Bankwest

Bankwest Rewards Transaction Account bank account review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Fees can be expensive

Fees and charges are too high and were only introduced after I created an account with Bankwest.

Fees and charges are too high and were only introduced after I created an account with Bankwest.

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Steven (QLD), reviewed 23 days ago

Westpac

Westpac Choice bank account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Easy to use online/mobile systems

I haven't experienced any issues with the bank over the 10 years I've been with them. Their online system and phone app are always up to date and I use them daily.

I haven't experienced any issues with the bank over the 10 years I've been with them. Their online system and phone app are always up to date and I use them daily.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Penelope (NSW), reviewed 23 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Easily accessible

Commonwealth Bank are a very accessible bank with ATMs everywhere.

Commonwealth Bank are a very accessible bank with ATMs everywhere.

    Price   -1 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Jacqui (VIC), reviewed 23 days ago

NAB

NAB Classic Banking Account bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great customer service in store

This has been my bank for a long time. The normal bank is nice but business banking could use some improvement. They never answer their phones.

This has been my bank for a long time. The normal bank is nice but business banking could use some improvement. They never answer their phones.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Tegan (QLD), reviewed 23 days ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland Day2Day Plus Account bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Banking with a professional yet friendly demeanour

Bank of Queensland provide their services with a very professional and friendly manner. When entering a branch in person, I'm always made feel welcome and that my business is important to them. Online transactions are really simple and stress-free...

Bank of Queensland provide their services with a very professional and friendly manner. When entering a branch in person, I'm always made feel welcome and that my business is important to them. Online transactions are really simple and stress-free with the clarity of their user-friendly software. Communication is excellent with warnings being issued well in advance if website maintenance is to be performed. Overall, I'm extremely happy with their product, but if I must criticise then I would like to see an increase in ATM distribution.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Cameron (QLD), reviewed 23 days ago

ANZ

ANZ Access Advantage bank account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

ANZ suits my needs at present

I've been with ANZ for a very long time, so that says a lot.

I've been with ANZ for a very long time, so that says a lot.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Stephen (WA), reviewed 23 days ago

NAB

NAB Classic Banking Account bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Best bank

NAB are very helpful and provide thorough details to enable a better and clearer understanding for their products.

NAB are very helpful and provide thorough details to enable a better and clearer understanding for their products.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Vanessa (NSW), reviewed 23 days ago

Bankwest

Bankwest Lite Direct Transaction Account bank account review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Basic daily bank account

Simple average daily bank account, very friendly and helpfully customer service.

Simple average daily bank account, very friendly and helpfully customer service.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Kim (WA), reviewed 23 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Overall a great bank

I've been with Commonwealth Bank for a long time and have used this bank to purchase my four homes. Commonwealth Bank has always worked well for my family.

I've been with Commonwealth Bank for a long time and have used this bank to purchase my four homes. Commonwealth Bank has always worked well for my family.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Sandy (SA), reviewed 23 days ago

NAB

NAB bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

No fees and excellent accessibility

I love that they have no fees and their app is so easy to use.

I love that they have no fees and their app is so easy to use.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Mala (QLD), reviewed 23 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Good customer service and easy online banking

I've never had a problem with Commonwealth Bank. Their staff are friendly and easy to talk with. Banking with Commonwealth Bank is a breeze.

I've never had a problem with Commonwealth Bank. Their staff are friendly and easy to talk with. Banking with Commonwealth Bank is a breeze.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Damian (WA), reviewed 23 days ago

Bankwest

Bankwest Easy Transaction Account bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Friendly and reliable

Bankwest is a very reliable bank. I have never had a problem with them. ATMs are easy to find and their staff are very friendly and responsive.

Bankwest is a very reliable bank. I have never had a problem with them. ATMs are easy to find and their staff are very friendly and responsive.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Luke (WA), reviewed 23 days ago

ANZ

ANZ Access Advantage bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Overall good service

Great bank, however waiting time on call can be long. I also do not like the goMoney app because when receiving a payment via an instant mobile number and a mistake is made, you can lose your money forever. It happened to me but luckily it was...

Great bank, however waiting time on call can be long. I also do not like the goMoney app because when receiving a payment via an instant mobile number and a mistake is made, you can lose your money forever. It happened to me but luckily it was found and put back into my account, but it took a few weeks.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Marinella (SA), reviewed 23 days ago

Westpac

Westpac Choice bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Competitive rates

Overall, a pretty good bank. I've been with Commonwealth Bank for a long time, but I have found Westpac to be slightly better.

Overall, a pretty good bank. I've been with Commonwealth Bank for a long time, but I have found Westpac to be slightly better.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Jason (WA), reviewed 25 days ago

NAB

NAB Classic Banking Account bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Better than most other banking providers

NAB offer great products and services, but some of their defaults include poor interest rates, pricey credit cards and they tend to complain when in need of borrowing money from them.

NAB offer great products and services, but some of their defaults include poor interest rates, pricey credit cards and they tend to complain when in need of borrowing money from them.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Robert (NSW), reviewed 25 days ago

NAB

NAB bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Happy customer

Everything has worked out well for me with NAB.

Everything has worked out well for me with NAB.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Helen (QLD), reviewed 25 days ago

St.George

St.George bank account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Satisfied customer

There is always room for improvement, but St. George has been great overall.

There is always room for improvement, but St. George has been great overall.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Jacob (NSW), reviewed 25 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

Very happy with the overall service.

Very happy with the overall service.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Zachary (WA), reviewed 25 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Straightforward and sincere

Commonwealth Bank has always been very easy to deal with. I've never had any issues with them.

Commonwealth Bank has always been very easy to deal with. I've never had any issues with them.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Michael (NSW), reviewed 26 days ago

BCU

BCU Basic Access Account bank account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

They are average

BCU are okay, but need to be more helpful towards lower income earners.

BCU are okay, but need to be more helpful towards lower income earners.

    Price   -1 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Kerrie (NSW), reviewed about 1 month ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Never had any problems with Commonwealth Bank

This bank has been with me since 1992, and I've never had any complaints.

This bank has been with me since 1992, and I've never had any complaints.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Dana (SA), reviewed about 1 month ago

NAB

NAB Classic Banking Account bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

All round top bank, leading the major big four

I switched from Commonwealth Bank to NAB as a result of their competitive rates. They also offer same day processing and have no overdrawing fees.

I switched from Commonwealth Bank to NAB as a result of their competitive rates. They also offer same day processing and have no overdrawing fees.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Zoey (QLD), reviewed about 1 month ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Bank account comparisons on Mozo Rates updated daily

  • ING DIRECT Orange Everyday

    ING DIRECT Orange Everyday

    • $75 cash bonus
    • Free use of any ATM in Australia when you deposit your pay of $1,000+ each month
    • No irritating everyday fees, which means more of your money is where it belongs, in your pocket

    account fee

    $0.00

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • $75 cash bonus
    • Free use of any ATM in Australia when you deposit your pay of $1,000+ each month
    • No irritating everyday fees, which means more of your money is where it belongs, in your pocket
    • Atm networks: None
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Free ATM use when you deposit your pay of $1,000+ each month, free EFTPOS withdrawals and online bank cheques.
    Overall rating

    9.2

    Based on 206 ING DIRECT bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • ANZ Access Advantage

    ANZ Access Advantage

    • $0 monthly account service fee if you deposit at least $2,000 a month, or if you meet other eligibility criteria
    • Use your own money online, over the phone and overseas with Visa Debit access
    • Now with Apple Pay

    account fee

    $5.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 monthly account service fee if you deposit at least $2,000 a month, or if you meet other eligibility criteria
    • Use your own money online, over the phone and overseas with Visa Debit access
    • Now with Apple Pay
    • Atm networks: ANZ
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit or
      EFTPOS
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
      Balances from $50,000: 0.01% p.a.
      Balances from $100,000: 0.02% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from own-bank ATM, EFTPOS, cheque, counter withdrawals, counter deposits, phone and internet
    Overall rating

    7.6

    Based on 1579 ANZ bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • NAB Classic Banking Account

    NAB Classic Banking Account

    • No monthly account fees ever, with no conditions.
    • Free use at over 3,400 NAB & Redi ATMs
    • 24/7 Mobile Banking, including Quick Balance and Tap & Pay for Android

    account fee

    $0.00

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0.01% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • No monthly account fees ever, with no conditions.
    • Free use at over 3,400 NAB & Redi ATMs
    • 24/7 Mobile Banking, including Quick Balance and Tap & Pay for Android
    • Atm networks: NAB, rediATM
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit or
      EFTPOS
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.01% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from own-bank ATM, EFTPOS, counter withdrawals, counter deposits, phone, internet and Visa debit purchases
    Overall rating

    8.1

    Based on 1377 NAB bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bankwest Easy Transaction Account

    Bankwest Easy Transaction Account

    • Pay $0 ATM fees at over 10,000 major bank ATMs in Aus. Fees, T&Cs apply
    • No monthly account keeping fees when you deposit at least $2,000 per month
    • Get banking alerts pushed straight to your phone

    account fee

    $6.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • Pay $0 ATM fees at over 10,000 major bank ATMs in Aus. Fees, T&Cs apply
    • No monthly account keeping fees when you deposit at least $2,000 per month
    • Get banking alerts pushed straight to your phone
    • Atm networks: Bankwest, ANZ, Commonwealth, NAB, Westpac, St.George, BankSA, Bank of Melbourne
    • What kind of card?: Debit MasterCard
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited domestic transactions from network ATMs, EFTPOS, cheque and counter withdrawals
    Overall rating

    8.2

    Based on 400 Bankwest bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • St.George Complete Freedom Account

    St.George Complete Freedom Account

    • $0 monthly service fee
    • Convenient, secure, and thumb friendly banking, on your computer or on the go
    • No ATM withdrawal fee at over 3,000 ATMs in Australia

    account fee

    $5.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 monthly service fee
    • Convenient, secure, and thumb friendly banking, on your computer or on the go
    • No ATM withdrawal fee at over 3,000 ATMs in Australia
    • Atm networks: St.George, Westpac, BankSA, Bank of Melbourne
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit or
      EFTPOS
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from network ATMs, EFTPOS, BPAY, cheque, counter deposits and withdrawals, phone and internet.
    Overall rating

    8.1

    Based on 481 St.George bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 104 bank accounts in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare all bank accounts

Look for a specific type of bank account:

-- Choose type --
peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2016

Forget industry awards where banks scratch each other's backs. Mozo presents the People's Choice Awards, based on more than 30,000 real customer reviews.

Check out the winners

Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.