Bank account reviews

Read the latest bank account reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their bank, credit union or building society to give you the inside story on everything from sneaky fees to customer service.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent bank account reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Convenient access

ATM is easily accessible.

Full review

ATM is easily accessible.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Cheng (VIC), reviewed 19 days ago

Beyond Bank

Beyond Bank Access Savings Account bank account review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Lovely staff members but not very convenient

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Kaylie (SA), reviewed 19 days ago

Bendigo Bank

Bendigo Bank Everyday Account bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great service

Helpful staff, ability to do weekend banking when necessary, cheaper fees.

Full review

Helpful staff, ability to do weekend banking when necessary, cheaper fees.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Neville (VIC), reviewed 19 days ago

NAB

NAB Classic Banking Account bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Convenient

Great staff.

Full review

Great staff.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Erin (QLD), reviewed 19 days ago

ANZ

ANZ Access Advantage bank account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

I rate this bank a 10 out of 10.

Overall an outstanding bank.

Full review

Overall an outstanding bank.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Christopher (QLD), reviewed 19 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Customer orientated and very professional

I have only had brilliant service from Commonwealth Bank since joining and the expertise show when opening my account as well as the courteous manner in which all staff members handle their customers and walk in public.

Full review

I have only had brilliant service from Commonwealth Bank since joining and the expertise show when opening my account as well as the courteous manner in which all staff members handle their customers and walk in public.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Alan (NSW), reviewed 19 days ago

Bendigo Bank

Bendigo Bank Everyday Account bank account review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Not a great bank for me

Long wait time to talk to a consultant. Some are very abrupt and unhelpful. The purchase of a security token to transfer funds should be made available to all for free. The upside is that internet banking with Bendigo Bank is easy to use.

Full review

Long wait time to talk to a consultant. Some are very abrupt and unhelpful. The purchase of a security token to transfer funds should be made available to all for free. The upside is that internet banking with Bendigo Bank is easy to use.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Samantha (QLD), reviewed 19 days ago

Westpac

Westpac bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Westpac has great customer service

I have banked with Westpac since 1979 and I have a lot of faith with them. They are always very helpful and I will always be with them.

Full review

I have banked with Westpac since 1979 and I have a lot of faith with them. They are always very helpful and I will always be with them.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

V (WA), reviewed 19 days ago

ANZ

ANZ Access Advantage bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

ANZ has great customer service

Good products and services. Most importantly, brilliant customer service and they are always polite and very helpful.

Full review

Good products and services. Most importantly, brilliant customer service and they are always polite and very helpful.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Stuart (VIC), reviewed 19 days ago

NAB

NAB Classic Banking Account bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

No fees, easy access!

I just have an everyday account and considering there are no fees, this makes a fantastic product. NAB also links other accounts, is easy online or in a branch and ATMs are everywhere. The app is also very good!

Full review

I just have an everyday account and considering there are no fees, this makes a fantastic product. NAB also links other accounts, is easy online or in a branch and ATMs are everywhere. The app is also very good!

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Patrick (QLD), reviewed 26 days ago

P&N Bank

P&N Bank Easypay Access Account bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

P&N bank is up here with all other competitors.

A very efficient and friendly bank.

Full review

A very efficient and friendly bank.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Peter (WA), reviewed 26 days ago

NAB

NAB Classic Banking Account bank account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

NAB has been the best bank so far.

NAB has been great for the last ten years or so. I haven't experienced any unexpected fees or unauthorized activity. This is a well liked bank.

Full review

NAB has been great for the last ten years or so. I haven't experienced any unexpected fees or unauthorized activity. This is a well liked bank.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jacky (WA), reviewed 26 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Credit for their Customer Service.

User friendly atmosphere and excellent customer service at Commonwealth Bank.

Full review

User friendly atmosphere and excellent customer service at Commonwealth Bank.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Lorraine (QLD), reviewed 26 days ago

ANZ

ANZ bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Could be improved

So far I've had good experience with them. However, their online banking could be improved. Also, the information provided online for starting an account before arriving in the country is false.

Full review

So far I've had good experience with them. However, their online banking could be improved. Also, the information provided online for starting an account before arriving in the country is false.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Shwetha (NSW), reviewed about 1 month ago

ANZ

ANZ bank account review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Reliable but not proactive

The bank is slow to deal with problems. I have contacted them about fraudulent issues and they rarely get back to me.

Full review

The bank is slow to deal with problems. I have contacted them about fraudulent issues and they rarely get back to me.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Jennifer (NSW), reviewed about 2 months ago

NAB

NAB Classic Banking Account bank account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

NAB are a professional bank and service is not bad

I am quite happy with NAB as I have been banking with them for quite some time. They could improve but I haven't had too many problems with them at all.

Full review

I am quite happy with NAB as I have been banking with them for quite some time. They could improve but I haven't had too many problems with them at all.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Amira (QLD), reviewed about 2 months ago

ANZ

ANZ Access Advantage bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

The perfect bank

ANZ are extremely helpful and provide me with everything I need

Full review

ANZ are extremely helpful and provide me with everything I need

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Joshua (VIC), reviewed about 2 months ago

Bendigo Bank

Bendigo Bank Everyday Account bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Helpful, friendly service

I love banking with Bendigo. The online services are convenient, the service is fantastic, and the company is invested in local communities.

Full review

I love banking with Bendigo. The online services are convenient, the service is fantastic, and the company is invested in local communities.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Rachelle (VIC), reviewed about 2 months ago

NAB

NAB bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Happy customer

I have not had any real issues with NAB. If something goes wrong, they take care of it. When my card didn't work at an ATM, I went to a branch and they explained to me that my card had been closed because of an internet scam and the issue was...

Full review

I have not had any real issues with NAB. If something goes wrong, they take care of it. When my card didn't work at an ATM, I went to a branch and they explained to me that my card had been closed because of an internet scam and the issue was easily resolved. I have never had any dramas with the bank and I'm really glad I opened an account with them.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Madeline (VIC), reviewed about 2 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Very good service, excellent bank

I have banked with this bank all my life. It has excellent customer service and support, and a variety of different accounts for different needs.

Full review

I have banked with this bank all my life. It has excellent customer service and support, and a variety of different accounts for different needs.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jo (VIC), reviewed about 2 months ago

Westpac

Westpac Choice bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

WESTPAC IS AWESOME.

They are the only bank I have been with. Great bank.

Full review

They are the only bank I have been with. Great bank.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Galexcy (QLD), reviewed about 2 months ago

NAB

NAB Classic Banking Account bank account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Will stay with the bank

The bank has all the needs I require

Full review

The bank has all the needs I require

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Jason (VIC), reviewed about 2 months ago

St.George

St.George Complete Freedom Account bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Good service and look after my banking

I have been banking with this bank for many years and have stayed with them for the very reason that they have good operations, fees and support.

Full review

I have been banking with this bank for many years and have stayed with them for the very reason that they have good operations, fees and support.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Peter (QLD), reviewed about 2 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Student Smart Access bank account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Good understanding and planning for your finances

I like this bank because it provides assistance in managing your finances for an event in future so that you can accomplish the required goal.

Full review

I like this bank because it provides assistance in managing your finances for an event in future so that you can accomplish the required goal.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Siddhartha (VIC), reviewed about 2 months ago

NAB

NAB Classic Banking Account bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Provided accounts to suit my needs.

Provided a variety of accounts to suit my retirement needs and has always provided excellent customer service in support of any of my requests and queries.

Full review

Provided a variety of accounts to suit my retirement needs and has always provided excellent customer service in support of any of my requests and queries.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Peter (NSW), reviewed about 2 months ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Bank account comparisons on Mozo Rates updated daily

  • ING DIRECT Orange Everyday

    ING DIRECT Orange Everyday

    • $75 cash bonus
    • Free use of any ATM in Australia when you deposit your pay of $1,000+ each month
    • No irritating everyday fees, which means more of your money is where it belongs, in your pocket

    account fee

    $0.00

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • $75 cash bonus
    • Free use of any ATM in Australia when you deposit your pay of $1,000+ each month
    • No irritating everyday fees, which means more of your money is where it belongs, in your pocket
    • Atm networks: None
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Free ATM use when you deposit your pay of $1,000+ each month, free EFTPOS withdrawals and online bank cheques.
    Overall rating

    9.2

    Based on 206 ING DIRECT bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bankwest Easy Transaction Account

    Bankwest Easy Transaction Account

    • Pay $0 ATM fees at over 10,000 major bank ATMs in Aus. Fees, T&Cs apply
    • No monthly account keeping fees when you deposit at least $2,000 per month
    • Get banking alerts pushed straight to your phone

    account fee

    $6.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • Pay $0 ATM fees at over 10,000 major bank ATMs in Aus. Fees, T&Cs apply
    • No monthly account keeping fees when you deposit at least $2,000 per month
    • Get banking alerts pushed straight to your phone
    • Atm networks: Bankwest, ANZ, Commonwealth, NAB, Westpac, St.George, BankSA, Bank of Melbourne
    • What kind of card?: Debit MasterCard
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited domestic transactions from network ATMs, EFTPOS, cheque and counter withdrawals
    Overall rating

    8.2

    Based on 400 Bankwest bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • St.George Complete Freedom Account

    St.George Complete Freedom Account

    • Get a $50 credit
    • Open an account by 30th of September 2016 and deposit $500 within 60 days and St George will contribute another $50 to your account. (New eligible Complete Freedom customers only. Conditions apply).
    • No ATM withdrawal fee at over 3,000 ATMs in Australia

    account fee

    $5.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • Get a $50 credit
    • Open an account by 30th of September 2016 and deposit $500 within 60 days and St George will contribute another $50 to your account. (New eligible Complete Freedom customers only. Conditions apply).
    • No ATM withdrawal fee at over 3,000 ATMs in Australia
    • Atm networks: St.George, Westpac, BankSA, Bank of Melbourne
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit or
      EFTPOS
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from network ATMs, EFTPOS, cheque, counter deposits and withdrawals, phone and internet
    Overall rating

    8.1

    Based on 481 St.George bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • ANZ Access Advantage

    ANZ Access Advantage

    • $0 monthly account service fee if you deposit at least $2,000 a month, or if you meet other eligibility criteria
    • Use your own money online, over the phone and overseas with Visa Debit access
    • Now with Apple Pay

    account fee

    $5.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 monthly account service fee if you deposit at least $2,000 a month, or if you meet other eligibility criteria
    • Use your own money online, over the phone and overseas with Visa Debit access
    • Now with Apple Pay
    • Atm networks: ANZ
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit or
      EFTPOS
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a..
      Balances from $50,000: 0.01% p.a..
      Balances from $100,000: 0.02% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from own-bank ATM, EFTPOS, cheque, counter withdrawals, counter deposits, phone and internet
    Overall rating

    7.6

    Based on 1579 ANZ bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bankwest Qantas Transaction Account

    Bankwest Qantas Transaction Account

    • Earn Qantas Points on your account balance 365 days a year
    • No ATM fees at Bankwest and CommBank ATMs Australia wide
    • No monthly account fees when you deposit $2,000 each month

    account fee

    $6.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0.01% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • Earn Qantas Points on your account balance 365 days a year
    • No ATM fees at Bankwest and CommBank ATMs Australia wide
    • No monthly account fees when you deposit $2,000 each month
    • Atm networks: Bankwest, Commonwealth
    • What kind of card?: Debit MasterCard
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.01% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free domestic transactions from network ATMs, EFTPOS, cheque, counter withdrawals, phone, internet and Debit MasterCard purchases
    Overall rating

    8.2

    Based on 400 Bankwest bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 101 bank accounts in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare all bank accounts

Look for a specific type of bank account:

-- Choose type --
peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2016

Forget industry awards where banks scratch each other's backs. Mozo presents the People's Choice Awards, based on more than 30,000 real customer reviews.

Check out the winners

Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.