Bank account reviews

Read the latest bank account reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their bank, credit union or building society to give you the inside story on everything from sneaky fees to customer service.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent bank account reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

NAB

NAB bank account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

A good bank with very basic service

It's a good bank with good customer service. There have been a few incidents where fake notes have come from the bank and there is very little support overseas with their traveller cards which do have ATM fees, unlike what is advertised, and their...

It's a good bank with good customer service. There have been a few incidents where fake notes have come from the bank and there is very little support overseas with their traveller cards which do have ATM fees, unlike what is advertised, and their exchange rates are horrible. Other than those issues, I'm fairly happy with the bank, but do believe their mobile apps need to have better features when you can print statements and search for specific ones.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Nikki (VIC), reviewed 15 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access bank account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Commonwealth Bank has always been great

I've been with Commonwealth Bank for a long time and they have always looked after me.

I've been with Commonwealth Bank for a long time and they have always looked after me.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Amy (WA), reviewed 15 days ago

ING DIRECT

ING DIRECT Orange Everyday bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Stress less about your money with a no-fuss bank

Fast, simple, no-nonsense sign up; prompt delivery of debit card; mobile app interface is easy to navigate without sacrificing any functionality; all customer service issues dealt with promptly by friendly customer service representatives who go...

Fast, simple, no-nonsense sign up; prompt delivery of debit card; mobile app interface is easy to navigate without sacrificing any functionality; all customer service issues dealt with promptly by friendly customer service representatives who go above and beyond.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Jaimii (VIC), reviewed 15 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Student Smart Access bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Innovative and current, great customer service

Commonwealth bank has a good reputation. Their online software is legible and relevant. I would and have recommended them before.

Commonwealth bank has a good reputation. Their online software is legible and relevant. I would and have recommended them before.

    Price   -1 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Emily (NSW), reviewed 15 days ago

ING DIRECT

ING DIRECT Orange Everyday bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Free ATM drawings and easy to use

Easy to use!

Easy to use!

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Roxana (QLD), reviewed 15 days ago

Westpac

Westpac bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

Staff are friendly and I haven't had any issues with them.

Staff are friendly and I haven't had any issues with them.

    Price   -1 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Aimeamata (QLD), reviewed 15 days ago

Bendigo Bank

Bendigo Bank Everyday Account bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

I'm a happy customer

I like Bendigo Bank as they continuously grow. Overall, their safe internet banking has a strong protective system that works. They have good interest rates too. There are no cons with this bank as their professional advice is fairly straight...

I like Bendigo Bank as they continuously grow. Overall, their safe internet banking has a strong protective system that works. They have good interest rates too. There are no cons with this bank as their professional advice is fairly straight forward.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Dojen (NSW), reviewed 15 days ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland Day2Day Plus Account bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Trustworthy banking with real people

Great service all round. They value their customers and treat you as a person not a number.

Great service all round. They value their customers and treat you as a person not a number.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Victoria (NSW), reviewed 15 days ago

ANZ

ANZ Access Advantage bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Happy with the service

Pretty good bank, will stay with them. I have been with several other banks before settling on ANZ.

Pretty good bank, will stay with them. I have been with several other banks before settling on ANZ.

    Price   -1 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Jacquilyn (SA), reviewed 15 days ago

NAB

NAB bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great all round service

NAB provide prompt services and they always advise when there are scams to be aware of.

NAB provide prompt services and they always advise when there are scams to be aware of.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Jeanette (QLD), reviewed 15 days ago

ANZ

ANZ Access Advantage bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great bank

I've struggled with other banks but ANZ has always been friendly. I've never had any issues and they are very polite and friendly.

I've struggled with other banks but ANZ has always been friendly. I've never had any issues and they are very polite and friendly.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Kirshneya (SA), reviewed 15 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access bank account review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Phone calls can sometimes be a lengthy process

Sometimes it's difficult to decide exactly what category one's enquiry comes under, but the different sections have been willing to transfer me around until I received the answer needed.

Sometimes it's difficult to decide exactly what category one's enquiry comes under, but the different sections have been willing to transfer me around until I received the answer needed.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Jennifer (NSW), reviewed 15 days ago

ING DIRECT

ING DIRECT Orange Everyday bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

A bank that rewards you

Great to feel like I'm being rewarded with cash back when I make withdrawals and no ATM fees. App is easy to use.

Great to feel like I'm being rewarded with cash back when I make withdrawals and no ATM fees. App is easy to use.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Kylie (VIC), reviewed 15 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great provider

I have been dealing with Commonwealth bank for the last 8 years, and I have never faced any problems with them. Their branch has a very friendly and helpful atmosphere to walk into and their customer service is excellent.

I have been dealing with Commonwealth bank for the last 8 years, and I have never faced any problems with them. Their branch has a very friendly and helpful atmosphere to walk into and their customer service is excellent.

    Price   -1 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Hugh (VIC), reviewed 17 days ago

Warwick Credit Union

Warwick Credit Union bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

Warwick Credit Union is helpful and local - They care for their customers.

Warwick Credit Union is helpful and local - They care for their customers.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Sharlene (QLD), reviewed 17 days ago

ANZ

ANZ bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Manageable fees and service

I have always had good service and advice from this bank. They are helpful and supportive when my husband died suddenly, and even in retirement - they offer help with a smile.

I have always had good service and advice from this bank. They are helpful and supportive when my husband died suddenly, and even in retirement - they offer help with a smile.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Lorraine (VIC), reviewed 17 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access bank account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Easy to use services

They understand my needs and provide easy access to their services.

They understand my needs and provide easy access to their services.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

John (QLD), reviewed 17 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

The best bank to deal with

Staff are very helpful. I had my account compromised and they went straight onto it and protected my family and I.

Staff are very helpful. I had my account compromised and they went straight onto it and protected my family and I.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Rachel (VIC), reviewed 17 days ago

St.George

St.George Complete Freedom Account bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Good service and convenient for everyday banking

ATM services are easy to find and is convenient. Internet banking could be better.

ATM services are easy to find and is convenient. Internet banking could be better.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

An (NSW), reviewed 17 days ago

Heritage Bank

Heritage Bank bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great bank to deal with

I can't speak highly enough of all the branches of Heritage bank that I have gone into. Great rates and extremely friendly staff who go out of their way to help their customers.

I can't speak highly enough of all the branches of Heritage bank that I have gone into. Great rates and extremely friendly staff who go out of their way to help their customers.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Debbie (QLD), reviewed 17 days ago

Bendigo Bank

Bendigo Bank Everyday Account bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Best bank

I'm very happy with Bendigo Bank as they are very helpful and pleasant to deal with. They help you with everything they can.

I'm very happy with Bendigo Bank as they are very helpful and pleasant to deal with. They help you with everything they can.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Troy (NT), reviewed 23 days ago

Bendigo Bank

Bendigo Bank Everyday Account bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great provider

It is a great bank and they have no problems with their online bank or the app.

It is a great bank and they have no problems with their online bank or the app.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Takeina (VIC), reviewed 23 days ago

Westpac

Westpac Choice bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Customer service is the very best

I have been a customer for more than 50 years and have grown with this bank. I find that it is the best for everything and they have the most professional and competent staff.

I have been a customer for more than 50 years and have grown with this bank. I find that it is the best for everything and they have the most professional and competent staff.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Frank (QLD), reviewed 24 days ago

Westpac

Westpac bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service

Westpac always provide friendly service and make me feel as though I matter as a customer. I recently had a wonderful experience with them when I applied for a loan and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them to others.

Westpac always provide friendly service and make me feel as though I matter as a customer. I recently had a wonderful experience with them when I applied for a loan and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them to others.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Bernadette (WA), reviewed 24 days ago

ANZ

ANZ bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Wonderful customer service

Fees are reversed if enough money goes into your account (which mine qualifies for). The staff have always been polite, happy and friendly.

Fees are reversed if enough money goes into your account (which mine qualifies for). The staff have always been polite, happy and friendly.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Julie (VIC), reviewed 24 days ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Bank account comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • ING DIRECT Orange Everyday

    ING DIRECT Orange Everyday

    • $75 cash bonus
    • Free use of any ATM in Australia when you deposit your pay of $1,000+ each month
    • No irritating everyday fees, which means more of your money is where it belongs, in your pocket

    account fee

    $0.00

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • $75 cash bonus
    • Free use of any ATM in Australia when you deposit your pay of $1,000+ each month
    • No irritating everyday fees, which means more of your money is where it belongs, in your pocket
    • Atm networks: None
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Free ATM use when you deposit your pay of $1,000+ each month, free EFTPOS withdrawals.
    Overall rating

    9.2

    Based on 206 ING DIRECT bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • ANZ Access Advantage

    ANZ Access Advantage

    • $0 monthly account service fee if you deposit at least $2,000 a month
    • Now with Apple Pay
    • Consider if right for you. T&C’s, eligibility criteria apply

    account fee

    $5.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 monthly account service fee if you deposit at least $2,000 a month
    • Now with Apple Pay
    • Consider if right for you. T&C’s, eligibility criteria apply
    • Atm networks: ANZ
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit or
      EFTPOS
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
      Balances from $50,000: 0.01% p.a.
      Balances from $100,000: 0.02% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from own-bank ATM, EFTPOS, cheque, counter withdrawals, counter deposits, phone and internet
    Overall rating

    7.6

    Based on 1579 ANZ bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • NAB Classic Banking Account

    NAB Classic Banking Account

    • No monthly account fees ever, with no conditions.
    • Free use at over 3,400 NAB & Redi ATMs
    • 24/7 Mobile Banking, including Quick Balance and Tap & Pay for Android

    account fee

    $0.00

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0.01% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • No monthly account fees ever, with no conditions.
    • Free use at over 3,400 NAB & Redi ATMs
    • 24/7 Mobile Banking, including Quick Balance and Tap & Pay for Android
    • Atm networks: NAB, rediATM
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit or
      EFTPOS
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.01% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from own-bank ATM, EFTPOS, counter withdrawals, counter deposits, phone, internet and Visa debit purchases
    Overall rating

    8.1

    Based on 1377 NAB bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bankwest Easy Transaction Account

    Bankwest Easy Transaction Account

    • Pay $0 ATM fees at over 10,000 major bank ATMs in Aus. Fees, T&Cs apply
    • No monthly account fee until 31/08. Then, fee is waived if you deposit at least $2,000 per month
    • Limited time cashback offer on tap & go™ purchases. T&Cs apply

    account fee

    $6.00$0 monthly account fee until 31 August 2017. New customers only.

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • Pay $0 ATM fees at over 10,000 major bank ATMs in Aus. Fees, T&Cs apply
    • No monthly account fee until 31/08. Then, fee is waived if you deposit at least $2,000 per month
    • Limited time cashback offer on tap & go™ purchases. T&Cs apply
    • Atm networks: Bankwest, ANZ, Commonwealth, NAB, Westpac, St.George, BankSA, Bank of Melbourne
    • What kind of card?: Debit MasterCard
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited domestic transactions from network ATMs, EFTPOS, cheque and counter withdrawals
    Overall rating

    8.2

    Based on 400 Bankwest bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 104 bank accounts in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare all bank accounts

Look for a specific type of bank account:

-- Choose type --
peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2017

Forget industry awards where banks scratch each other's backs. Mozo presents the People's Choice Awards, based on real customer reviews.

Check out the winners

Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.