Bank account reviews

Read the latest bank account reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their bank, credit union or building society to give you the inside story on everything from sneaky fees to customer service.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent bank account reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

Westpac

Westpac Choice bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Competitive premiums and great customer service

Excellent, always offering assistance and consolidation wherever they can.
Full review

Excellent, always offering assistance and consolidation wherever they can.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Leala (QLD), reviewed 5 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

NAB

NAB Classic Banking Account bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Reliable and trusted bank

I have had this saving account for years! Reliable and ATM machines are everywhere
Full review

I have had this saving account for years! Reliable and ATM machines are everywhere

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Mei (NSW), reviewed 5 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Westpac

Westpac Choice bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Terrific customer service and savings returns

This bank has many positive attributes, most notable was their prompt and personal approach when my bank card had been stolen. The customer service was very caring and professional yet at the same time provided a sense of personal care. There are...
Full review

This bank has many positive attributes, most notable was their prompt and personal approach when my bank card had been stolen. The customer service was very caring and professional yet at the same time provided a sense of personal care. There are also many branches and ATMs available in the many varied locations I have been. The places for improvement for this bank are that at times they could have extra tellers working within the branches themselves, especially during peak lunch times as this is when those busy at work are able to do banking.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Lori rae (WA), reviewed 5 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access bank account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Good service and competitive charges

Have been with this bank since I was a toddler 68 years ago with my first bank money box and still happy that it provides at least the equal of any bank but there has been a disappointing increase in charges since it became a company and no longer...
Full review

Have been with this bank since I was a toddler 68 years ago with my first bank money box and still happy that it provides at least the equal of any bank but there has been a disappointing increase in charges since it became a company and no longer a government owned resource.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

John (QLD), reviewed 5 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Suncorp

Suncorp Everyday Options bank account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Better than ANZ and Westpac

Been reasonable when I have gone through tough times and helpful when I have had questions. I can allocate my budgetary needs to different accounts meaning that my budget is easier to maintain.
Full review

Been reasonable when I have gone through tough times and helpful when I have had questions. I can allocate my budgetary needs to different accounts meaning that my budget is easier to maintain.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Toni (QLD), reviewed 5 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

NAB

NAB Classic Banking Account bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Cares about the customer

Wonderful bank to deal with
Full review

Wonderful bank to deal with

    Price   -1 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Christine (NSW), reviewed 5 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Westpac

Westpac bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service

The customer service is fantastic. I am disabled and they go out of their way to give any assistance needed. Their phone staff are fabulous and I have nothing but positive things to say about them. I worked at another bank for 15 years and their...
Full review

The customer service is fantastic. I am disabled and they go out of their way to give any assistance needed. Their phone staff are fabulous and I have nothing but positive things to say about them. I worked at another bank for 15 years and their service wasn't anywhere near as good.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Sharron (VIC), reviewed 5 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Bendigo Bank

Bendigo Bank bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Bendigo bank is an awesome bank

Bendigo Bank is a awesome bank and I've never ever had any problems since I've been with them and I've recommended them to all my friends and family as they are a great bank to bank with
Full review

Bendigo Bank is a awesome bank and I've never ever had any problems since I've been with them and I've recommended them to all my friends and family as they are a great bank to bank with

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Remona (NSW), reviewed 5 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

ANZ

ANZ bank account review

Overall rating   1 / 10

An untrustworthy bank institution

An ANZ branch in my locale had advised me that my cheque account had been closed via another branch and for over a year have refused to credit my account with the amount I had initially deposited into the account which was around $7000. All...
Full review

An ANZ branch in my locale had advised me that my cheque account had been closed via another branch and for over a year have refused to credit my account with the amount I had initially deposited into the account which was around $7000. All attempts since then have failed altogether and their complaint process is totally deceiving and quite misleading. Thus to date they are unlawfully denying my claim. Therefore, I am now forced unnecessarily to undertake the appropriate legal proceedings as to recover all losses incurred via this unlawful disposition.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Dennis (VIC), reviewed 5 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Westpac

Westpac Choice bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Best bank

Every time, except for one time, I have dealt with Westpac either in person or over the phone they have been extremely helpful and pleasant to deal with!
Full review

Every time, except for one time, I have dealt with Westpac either in person or over the phone they have been extremely helpful and pleasant to deal with!

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Louise (QLD), reviewed 5 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

ANZ

ANZ Access Advantage bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Helpful bank

My local Maffra branch has fantastic people working there
Full review

My local Maffra branch has fantastic people working there

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Kim (VIC), reviewed 5 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Hassle and worry free with great customer support

Commonwealth Bank has always been good to me! I trust them and their customer service team are 5 star! Never a hassle to deal with Commbank
Full review

Commonwealth Bank has always been good to me! I trust them and their customer service team are 5 star! Never a hassle to deal with Commbank

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Katherine (VIC), reviewed 5 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Exceptional customer service

We can access our funds anywhere in the world at anytime; very accessible and convenient.
Full review

We can access our funds anywhere in the world at anytime; very accessible and convenient.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Bernadine (VIC), reviewed 5 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank Everyday Direct Account bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Friendly and real people to serve you

Great and friendly customer service and very professional
Full review

Great and friendly customer service and very professional

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Filomena (NSW), reviewed 5 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

ANZ

ANZ Pensioner Advantage bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent customer service

They look after my needs
Full review

They look after my needs

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Christine (TAS), reviewed 5 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

ANZ

ANZ bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

Pros - they are awesome to deal with Cons - there aren't any
Full review

Pros - they are awesome to deal with Cons - there aren't any

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Sharon (QLD), reviewed 5 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Westpac

Westpac Choice bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Trustworthy

I feel very secure with Westpac and trust the bank
Full review

I feel very secure with Westpac and trust the bank

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Janette (NSW), reviewed 5 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

ANZ

ANZ Access Advantage bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Low fees. Good online banking

Low fees and service was good when I needed it. The online email system is not the quickest but it still beats going in branch
Full review

Low fees and service was good when I needed it. The online email system is not the quickest but it still beats going in branch

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Alex (NSW), reviewed 5 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

NAB

NAB Everyday Business Account bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Everything works well

I do everything online and don't have to go anywhere near a bank.
Full review

I do everything online and don't have to go anywhere near a bank.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Kevin (VIC), reviewed 5 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

St.George

St.George Complete Freedom Account bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Never have a problem

I never have a problem with them
Full review

I never have a problem with them

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Tracy (WA), reviewed 5 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access bank account review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Gets you every time

Charges too much for an overdraft
Full review

Charges too much for an overdraft

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Isis (NSW), reviewed 5 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Customer service is excellent, always quick

Have always treated me with respect. Cannot give a better rating than excellent for their netbank accounts.
Full review

Have always treated me with respect. Cannot give a better rating than excellent for their netbank accounts.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Brian (VIC), reviewed 5 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

The best institution in the world

I have been a long time customer with Commonwealth Bank and would never want to change to another bank
Full review

I have been a long time customer with Commonwealth Bank and would never want to change to another bank

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Agnes (WA), reviewed 5 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

ANZ

ANZ Pensioner Advantage bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Happy with their service

Have been an ANZ customer for many years and they have given me great service.
Full review

Have been an ANZ customer for many years and they have given me great service.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

John (VIC), reviewed 5 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Bankstown City Credit Union

Bankstown City Credit Union bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great. No problems

I have been with this service for 30 years and have had no problems
Full review

I have been with this service for 30 years and have had no problems

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Bevverley (NSW), reviewed 5 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Bank account comparisons on Mozo Rates updated daily

  • ME Everyday Transaction Account

    ME Everyday Transaction Account

    • Access to thousands of fee-free ME and Westpac Group Australian ATMs with a ME Debit MasterCard®
    • Plus receive refunds on fees incurred at all other Australian ATMs within 30 days of the transaction
    • Make at least one tap & go purchase a week and earn up to 3.60% p.a. variable on your savings

    account fee

    $0.00

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0%

    Go to site

    More info

    • Access to thousands of fee-free ME and Westpac Group Australian ATMs with a ME Debit MasterCard®
    • Plus receive refunds on fees incurred at all other Australian ATMs within 30 days of the transaction
    • Make at least one tap & go purchase a week and earn up to 3.60% p.a. variable on your savings
    Product info
    • Atm networks: ME Bank, Westpac, St.George, Bank of Melbourne, BankSA
    • What kind of card?: Debit MasterCard
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00%pa
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from network ATM, EFTPOS, phone, internet and BPAY
    Overall rating

    8.6

    Based on 75 ME bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • HSBC Day to Day Account

    HSBC Day to Day Account

    • Use your HSBC Visa Debit Card to enjoy 5% cashback on all payWave purchases under $100
    • $0 monthly account fee
    • No ATM fees at 3,000 ATMs nationally

    account fee

    $0.00

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0%

    Go to site

    More info

    • Use your HSBC Visa Debit Card to enjoy 5% cashback on all payWave purchases under $100
    • $0 monthly account fee
    • No ATM fees at 3,000 ATMs nationally
    Product info
    • Atm networks: HSBC, Westpac, St George, BankSA, Bank of Melbourne
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00%pa.
      Balances from $5,000: 0.01%pa
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from network ATMs, EFTPOS, cheque, phone, internet, Bank@Post, BPAY and direct debits
    Overall rating

    6.3

    Based on 55 HSBC bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • ING DIRECT Orange Everyday

    ING DIRECT Orange Everyday

    • No monthly fees
    • Free use of any ATM in Australia when you deposit your pay of $1,000+ each month
    • 2% cash back on Visa payWave purchases under $100 when you deposit $1,000 per month

    account fee

    $0.00

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0%

    Go to site

    More info

    • No monthly fees
    • Free use of any ATM in Australia when you deposit your pay of $1,000+ each month
    • 2% cash back on Visa payWave purchases under $100 when you deposit $1,000 per month
    Product info
    • Atm networks: None
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00%pa
    • Fee free transactions: Free ATM use when you deposit your pay of $1,000+ each month, free EFTPOS withdrawals and online bank cheques.
    Overall rating

    9.2

    Based on 206 ING DIRECT bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • NAB Classic Banking Account

    NAB Classic Banking Account

    • No monthly account fees ever, with no conditions.
    • Free use at over 3,400 NAB & Redi ATMs
    • 24/7 Mobile Banking, including Quick Balance and Tap & Pay for Android

    account fee

    $0.00

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0.01%

    Go to site

    More info

    • No monthly account fees ever, with no conditions.
    • Free use at over 3,400 NAB & Redi ATMs
    • 24/7 Mobile Banking, including Quick Balance and Tap & Pay for Android
    Product info
    • Atm networks: NAB, rediATM
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit or
      EFTPOS
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.01%pa
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from own-bank ATM, EFTPOS, counter withdrawals, counter deposits, phone, internet and Visa debit purchases
    Overall rating

    8.1

    Based on 1377 NAB bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bankwest Qantas Transaction Account

    Bankwest Qantas Transaction Account

    • Earn up to 10,000 bonus Qantas Points. Limited time only. T&Cs apply
    • No ATM fees at Bankwest and CommBank ATMs Australia wide
    • No monthly account fees when you deposit $2,000 each month

    account fee

    $6.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0.01%

    Go to site

    More info

    • Earn up to 10,000 bonus Qantas Points. Limited time only. T&Cs apply
    • No ATM fees at Bankwest and CommBank ATMs Australia wide
    • No monthly account fees when you deposit $2,000 each month
    Product info
    • Atm networks: Bankwest, Commonwealth
    • What kind of card?: Debit MasterCard
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.01%pa
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free domestic transactions from network ATMs, EFTPOS, cheque, counter withdrawals, phone, internet and Debit MasterCard purchases
    Overall rating

    8.2

    Based on 400 Bankwest bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  Compare

Want more? Compare all 86 bank accounts in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare all bank accounts

Look for a specific type of bank account:

-- Choose type --
rate to win ipad

Rate to win

Want to win a new 64GB iPhone 6? Simply review your bank, insurer, gas or electricity for your chance to win!

What would you like to review?

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2015

Forget industry awards where banks scratch each other's backs. Mozo presents the People's Choice Awards, based on more than 10,000 real customer reviews.

Check out the winners
Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.