Bank account reviews

Read the latest bank account reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their bank, credit union or building society to give you the inside story on everything from sneaky fees to customer service.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent bank account reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

ANZ

ANZ Access Advantage bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great service and quality

ANZ has been my bank since I was old enough to create an account.

ANZ has been my bank since I was old enough to create an account.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Gemma (NSW), reviewed 4 days ago

Suncorp

Suncorp Everyday Options bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

We love our bank as the staff are always very friendly and helpful.

We love our bank as the staff are always very friendly and helpful.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Wendy (QLD), reviewed 4 days ago

St.George

St.George Express Freedom Account bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great products, great bank

Been with St George since I was 1 year old! Always happy with the service and products offered.

Been with St George since I was 1 year old! Always happy with the service and products offered.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Heidi (NSW), reviewed 4 days ago

Suncorp

Suncorp Everyday Basics bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Satisfied customer overall

No interest for pensioners, plus has all the insurances we need.

No interest for pensioners, plus has all the insurances we need.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Phillip (QLD), reviewed 4 days ago

Bendigo Bank

Bendigo Bank Everyday Account bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Easy procedure to set up account

When I set up my account, the manager assisted me and I found her very helpful and approachable.

When I set up my account, the manager assisted me and I found her very helpful and approachable.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Debbie (QLD), reviewed 9 days ago

ANZ

ANZ Access Advantage bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent provider

Very friendly staff who are always clear and helpful.

Very friendly staff who are always clear and helpful.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Jonas (VIC), reviewed 9 days ago

Westpac

Westpac bank account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Online banking and in branch banking is good

Only con is speaking to staff over the phone sometimes.

Only con is speaking to staff over the phone sometimes.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Noreen (QLD), reviewed 9 days ago

Suncorp

Suncorp Everyday Basics bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Good products and services

I was very grateful for the help I received from staff. They helped us choose the best services whilst overseas.

I was very grateful for the help I received from staff. They helped us choose the best services whilst overseas.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Lisa (QLD), reviewed 9 days ago

Bankwest

Bankwest bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Fantastic provider

I have banked with Bankwest for many years and I love the fact that they are for West Australians and their communities.

I have banked with Bankwest for many years and I love the fact that they are for West Australians and their communities.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Margaret (WA), reviewed 9 days ago

Greater Bank

Greater Bank bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great provider

I like banking with Greater Bank. They are always friendly and helpful. Excellent customer service.

I like banking with Greater Bank. They are always friendly and helpful. Excellent customer service.

    Price   -1 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Belinda (NSW), reviewed 9 days ago

St.George

St.George Complete Freedom Account bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Responsive to customer feedback

The staff are friendly, helpful and responsive to customer feedback.

The staff are friendly, helpful and responsive to customer feedback.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Cheryl (ACT), reviewed 9 days ago

Queensland Country Credit Union

Queensland Country Credit Union All Access bank account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Competitive with good friendly customer service

Easy access through telephone, internet and in branches. Very open and friendly service one to one.

Easy access through telephone, internet and in branches. Very open and friendly service one to one.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Alan (QLD), reviewed 9 days ago

ANZ

ANZ Access Advantage bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Secure and informative service

I feel secure when banking with them online. They notice out of the ordinary activity and check up with me. I know my interest and all my options with the account.

I feel secure when banking with them online. They notice out of the ordinary activity and check up with me. I know my interest and all my options with the account.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Kathryn (VIC), reviewed 9 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access bank account review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Need to reopen bank sites

There are only ATMs near where I live and it can be difficult if there is a need to visit a branch for assistance.

There are only ATMs near where I live and it can be difficult if there is a need to visit a branch for assistance.

    Price   -1 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Julie (WA), reviewed 9 days ago

Bendigo Bank

Bendigo Bank Everyday Account bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great to deal with

Very friendly staff. Never seem to have to stand in a queue like some other banks (a big plus to the elderly or people with disabilities).

Very friendly staff. Never seem to have to stand in a queue like some other banks (a big plus to the elderly or people with disabilities).

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Phillip (QLD), reviewed 10 days ago

ANZ

ANZ Access Advantage bank account review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Reasonable service but could improve

What I do not like is that they don't always answer all the questions you might ask them.

What I do not like is that they don't always answer all the questions you might ask them.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Heather (TAS), reviewed 10 days ago

Heritage Bank

Heritage Bank Simply Access bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Online banking is very secure

I like this bank because the staff are always personal and very friendly. They seek to help resolve any queries and know how to solve a problem from start to finish. The services offered are a big range and very good on fees.

I like this bank because the staff are always personal and very friendly. They seek to help resolve any queries and know how to solve a problem from start to finish. The services offered are a big range and very good on fees.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Vicky (QLD), reviewed 10 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access bank account review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Good customer service

They are average, I have been a Commonwealth customer since I was a young adult and have nothing to compare them with.

They are average, I have been a Commonwealth customer since I was a young adult and have nothing to compare them with.

    Price   -1 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Tracie (QLD), reviewed 10 days ago

Westpac

Westpac Choice bank account review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Adequate provider

They have misleading withdrawal screens at ATMs.

They have misleading withdrawal screens at ATMs.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Bruce (QLD), reviewed 10 days ago

ANZ

ANZ bank account review

Overall rating   6 / 10

I recommend ANZ for financial needs

ANZ has been a good bank for my needs and the staff are very helpful and friendly.

ANZ has been a good bank for my needs and the staff are very helpful and friendly.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Belinda (QLD), reviewed 10 days ago

NAB

NAB Classic Banking Account bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Very happy with NAB

NAB in my opinion is a reliable, established and consumer friendly bank.

NAB in my opinion is a reliable, established and consumer friendly bank.

    Price   -1 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Jane (SA), reviewed 10 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access bank account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

I would recommend to my university friends

Very happy with Commonwealth Bank - I am a student so not paying account fees is a bonus.

Very happy with Commonwealth Bank - I am a student so not paying account fees is a bonus.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Nicholas (VIC), reviewed 15 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank bank account review

Overall rating   6 / 10

I enjoy the ease and freedom of net banking

Friendly over the phone customer service and good security. I disliked however the low security when taking money from my account at a teller within a branch and was not asked for my photo ID.

Friendly over the phone customer service and good security. I disliked however the low security when taking money from my account at a teller within a branch and was not asked for my photo ID.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Cassandra (QLD), reviewed 15 days ago

Bendigo Bank

Bendigo Bank bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Cannot be compared to the other banks!

The best customer service I've ever encountered in the banking system with second stage security system that no other bank has.

The best customer service I've ever encountered in the banking system with second stage security system that no other bank has.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Fiona (QLD), reviewed 16 days ago

ANZ

ANZ Access Advantage bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great service

I like my bank for being very understanding

I like my bank for being very understanding

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Tung (WA), reviewed 16 days ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Bank account comparisons on Mozo Rates updated daily

  • ING DIRECT Orange Everyday

    ING DIRECT Orange Everyday

    • $75 cash bonus
    • Free use of any ATM in Australia when you deposit your pay of $1,000+ each month
    • No irritating everyday fees, which means more of your money is where it belongs, in your pocket

    account fee

    $0.00

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • $75 cash bonus
    • Free use of any ATM in Australia when you deposit your pay of $1,000+ each month
    • No irritating everyday fees, which means more of your money is where it belongs, in your pocket
    • Atm networks: None
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Free ATM use when you deposit your pay of $1,000+ each month, free EFTPOS withdrawals and online bank cheques.
    Overall rating

    9.2

    Based on 206 ING DIRECT bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • ANZ Access Advantage

    ANZ Access Advantage

    • $0 monthly account service fee if you deposit at least $2,000 a month, or if you meet other eligibility criteria
    • $100 voucher for opening a new account by 30/04/17 & using your Visa Debit card 3 times by 04/06/17.
    • Now with Apple Pay

    account fee

    $5.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 monthly account service fee if you deposit at least $2,000 a month, or if you meet other eligibility criteria
    • $100 voucher for opening a new account by 30/04/17 & using your Visa Debit card 3 times by 04/06/17.
    • Now with Apple Pay
    • Atm networks: ANZ
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit or
      EFTPOS
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
      Balances from $50,000: 0.01% p.a.
      Balances from $100,000: 0.02% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from own-bank ATM, EFTPOS, cheque, counter withdrawals, counter deposits, phone and internet
    Overall rating

    7.6

    Based on 1579 ANZ bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    Gateway Credit Union Edge Account

    Gateway Credit Union Edge Account

    • No account keeping fees
    • Access your money 24/7 with a Visa Debit Card, Online Banking and Gateway 2go app
    • The option to add a personal overdraft with limits of up to $20,000 (subject to credit approval)

    account fee

    $0.00

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    1.50% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • No account keeping fees
    • Access your money 24/7 with a Visa Debit Card, Online Banking and Gateway 2go app
    • The option to add a personal overdraft with limits of up to $20,000 (subject to credit approval)
    • Atm networks: Westpac, St.George, Bank of Melbourne, BankSA
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.01% p.a.
      Balances from $1,000: 1.50% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited transactions from network ATM, EFTPOS, phone, internet, Bank@Post and BPay
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • NAB Classic Banking Account

    NAB Classic Banking Account

    • No monthly account fees ever, with no conditions.
    • Free use at over 3,400 NAB & Redi ATMs
    • 24/7 Mobile Banking, including Quick Balance and Tap & Pay for Android

    account fee

    $0.00

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0.01% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • No monthly account fees ever, with no conditions.
    • Free use at over 3,400 NAB & Redi ATMs
    • 24/7 Mobile Banking, including Quick Balance and Tap & Pay for Android
    • Atm networks: NAB, rediATM
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit or
      EFTPOS
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.01% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from own-bank ATM, EFTPOS, counter withdrawals, counter deposits, phone, internet and Visa debit purchases
    Overall rating

    8.1

    Based on 1377 NAB bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bankwest Easy Transaction Account

    Bankwest Easy Transaction Account

    • Pay $0 ATM fees at over 10,000 major bank ATMs in Aus. Fees, T&Cs apply
    • No monthly account keeping fees when you deposit at least $2,000 per month
    • Get banking alerts pushed straight to your phone

    account fee

    $6.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • Pay $0 ATM fees at over 10,000 major bank ATMs in Aus. Fees, T&Cs apply
    • No monthly account keeping fees when you deposit at least $2,000 per month
    • Get banking alerts pushed straight to your phone
    • Atm networks: Bankwest, ANZ, Commonwealth, NAB, Westpac, St.George, BankSA, Bank of Melbourne
    • What kind of card?: Debit MasterCard
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited domestic transactions from network ATMs, EFTPOS, cheque and counter withdrawals
    Overall rating

    8.2

    Based on 400 Bankwest bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 107 bank accounts in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare all bank accounts

Look for a specific type of bank account:

-- Choose type --
peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2016

Forget industry awards where banks scratch each other's backs. Mozo presents the People's Choice Awards, based on more than 30,000 real customer reviews.

Check out the winners

Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.