Bank account reviews

Read the latest bank account reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their bank, credit union or building society to give you the inside story on everything from sneaky fees to customer service.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent bank account reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

BCU

BCU Basic Access Account bank account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

They are average

BCU are okay, but need to be more helpful towards lower income earners.

BCU are okay, but need to be more helpful towards lower income earners.

    Price   -1 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Kerrie (NSW), reviewed 5 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Never had any problems with Commonwealth Bank

This bank has been with me since 1992, and I've never had any complaints.

This bank has been with me since 1992, and I've never had any complaints.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Dana (SA), reviewed 5 days ago

NAB

NAB Classic Banking Account bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

All round top bank, leading the major big four

I switched from Commonwealth Bank to NAB as a result of their competitive rates. They also offer same day processing and have no overdrawing fees.

I switched from Commonwealth Bank to NAB as a result of their competitive rates. They also offer same day processing and have no overdrawing fees.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Zoey (QLD), reviewed 5 days ago

St.George

St.George bank account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Happy banker

I've been with them forever and they've always satisfied me.

I've been with them forever and they've always satisfied me.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Peter (NSW), reviewed 5 days ago

NAB

NAB bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

I would recommend this bank to others

I just joined NAB and I've been satisfied so far.

I just joined NAB and I've been satisfied so far.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

John (SA), reviewed 5 days ago

ANZ

ANZ Access Advantage bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Pretty average overall

I'm happy with the $1000 overdraft that we received with the mortgage, but I'm disappointed with the bank in general. We're constantly receiving double copies of paper statements though I've requested numerous times that they send them via email....

I'm happy with the $1000 overdraft that we received with the mortgage, but I'm disappointed with the bank in general. We're constantly receiving double copies of paper statements though I've requested numerous times that they send them via email. Right from the very beginning, the paperwork has reflected that I'm a "Miss" even though our accounts are all in joint names and I've been married to my husband for 28 years.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Tracey ann (WA), reviewed 5 days ago

BCU

BCU Basic Access Account bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Overall a good bank

BCU is conveniently located and staff are always friendly, however opening hours can be too short.

BCU is conveniently located and staff are always friendly, however opening hours can be too short.

    Price   -1 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Graeme (NSW), reviewed 5 days ago

NAB

NAB bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

NAB provides great customer service

I can't complain about the service I've been receiving from NAB so far.

I can't complain about the service I've been receiving from NAB so far.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Rose (QLD), reviewed 5 days ago

NAB

NAB bank account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Excellent customer service

I've been with NAB banking over 40 yrs and haven't had any problems.

I've been with NAB banking over 40 yrs and haven't had any problems.

    Price   -1 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Denise (VIC), reviewed 5 days ago

St.George

St.George bank account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Their In the bank services could improve

St.George is easy to deal with over the phone, but can be unreachable at a branch. Overall however, they have been a good provider.

St.George is easy to deal with over the phone, but can be unreachable at a branch. Overall however, they have been a good provider.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Tony (QLD), reviewed 5 days ago

NAB

NAB bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great service

I have been with NAB for quite some time and have no problems with staff on any level. They are very alert and provide friendly services. I have been hacked on a number of occasions but the staff have always been easily contactable and alerted me...

I have been with NAB for quite some time and have no problems with staff on any level. They are very alert and provide friendly services. I have been hacked on a number of occasions but the staff have always been easily contactable and alerted me each time something suspicious was detected. I have been a satisfied customer of NAB.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Annette (WA), reviewed 5 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

I have been with Commonwealth Bank for many years and they are terrific.

I have been with Commonwealth Bank for many years and they are terrific.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Mary (NSW), reviewed 5 days ago

People's Choice Credit Union

People's Choice Credit Union Everyday Account bank account review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Their interest rates are competitive

This is a friendly and helpful kind of bank where you are considered a member and not just a customer. This isn't a major bank such as the Big 4's but they have various products that suit most customers' needs.

This is a friendly and helpful kind of bank where you are considered a member and not just a customer. This isn't a major bank such as the Big 4's but they have various products that suit most customers' needs.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Warren (SA), reviewed 5 days ago

Greater Bank

Greater Bank Access Account bank account review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Greater Bank is a pretty good bank

I never had any problems with the bank and have had my account for over ten years.

I never had any problems with the bank and have had my account for over ten years.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Anna (NSW), reviewed 6 days ago

St.George

St.George Express Freedom Account bank account review

Overall rating   6 / 10

I do not find the services to be easily accessible

I cannot deposit money at its parent company.

I cannot deposit money at its parent company.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Jeffrey (NSW), reviewed 6 days ago

NAB

NAB Classic Banking Account bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Satisfied with accounts

I'm satisfied with my Savings Account and Debit Card Account but in terms of resolving a rather large problem, I'd have to say I'm totally peeved. They say one thing and then say another. This can go on for months without resolution in sight.

I'm satisfied with my Savings Account and Debit Card Account but in terms of resolving a rather large problem, I'd have to say I'm totally peeved. They say one thing and then say another. This can go on for months without resolution in sight.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Lynette (QLD), reviewed 6 days ago

Bendigo Bank

Bendigo Bank Everyday Account bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Usually satisfied with the service

Bendigo Bank provides information and advice regarding banking products promptly and courteously. I would recommend this bank to others.

Bendigo Bank provides information and advice regarding banking products promptly and courteously. I would recommend this bank to others.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Christopher.g. (NSW), reviewed 6 days ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland Day2Day Plus Account bank account review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Not a great provider

Bank of Queensland may be untrustworthy about their services.

Bank of Queensland may be untrustworthy about their services.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Karleen (WA), reviewed 6 days ago

ANZ

ANZ Access Advantage bank account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Happy customer

Overall, I've had great experience being with ANZ.

Overall, I've had great experience being with ANZ.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Amy (VIC), reviewed 6 days ago

Bank of Melbourne

Bank of Melbourne Complete Freedom Account bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Good customer service and competitive premiums

They have always been helpful if I need answers to any questions or queries. They have also always been able to respond in a timely manner.

They have always been helpful if I need answers to any questions or queries. They have also always been able to respond in a timely manner.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Alison (VIC), reviewed 6 days ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great community bank

It's a great community bank and they really love to help out the local communities. Staff are always polite, friendly and willing to help.

It's a great community bank and they really love to help out the local communities. Staff are always polite, friendly and willing to help.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Sandi (NSW), reviewed 6 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Very happy for many years now

I've always been with Commonwealth Bank and had no problems.

I've always been with Commonwealth Bank and had no problems.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Cynthia (VIC), reviewed 6 days ago

People's Choice Credit Union

People's Choice Credit Union Zip Account bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

PCCU is my favourite financial institution

PCCU allows me to get loans when needed and they have been very understanding during difficult periods.

PCCU allows me to get loans when needed and they have been very understanding during difficult periods.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Rachel (SA), reviewed 6 days ago

NAB

NAB Classic Banking Account bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Really great customer service

I find that every time I go into a NAB branch for any query, the staff there are very helpful and surprising friendly. To them it doesn't matter if you take up five minutes off their time or five hours, they help you in a completely natural and...

I find that every time I go into a NAB branch for any query, the staff there are very helpful and surprising friendly. To them it doesn't matter if you take up five minutes off their time or five hours, they help you in a completely natural and friendly manner. It is a pleasure to visit the NAB branch.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Sandra (QLD), reviewed 6 days ago

NAB

NAB Classic Banking Account bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

NAB is my number one bank

NAB is the first bank that I've come across that do not charge fees.

NAB is the first bank that I've come across that do not charge fees.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Patrica (QLD), reviewed 6 days ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Bank account comparisons on Mozo Rates updated daily

  • ING DIRECT Orange Everyday

    ING DIRECT Orange Everyday

    • $75 cash bonus
    • Free use of any ATM in Australia when you deposit your pay of $1,000+ each month
    • No irritating everyday fees, which means more of your money is where it belongs, in your pocket

    account fee

    $0.00

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • $75 cash bonus
    • Free use of any ATM in Australia when you deposit your pay of $1,000+ each month
    • No irritating everyday fees, which means more of your money is where it belongs, in your pocket
    • Atm networks: None
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Free ATM use when you deposit your pay of $1,000+ each month, free EFTPOS withdrawals and online bank cheques.
    Overall rating

    9.2

    Based on 206 ING DIRECT bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    NAB Classic Banking Account

    NAB Classic Banking Account

    • No monthly account fees ever, with no conditions.
    • Free use at over 3,400 NAB & Redi ATMs
    • 24/7 Mobile Banking, including Quick Balance and Tap & Pay for Android

    account fee

    $0.00

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0.01% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • No monthly account fees ever, with no conditions.
    • Free use at over 3,400 NAB & Redi ATMs
    • 24/7 Mobile Banking, including Quick Balance and Tap & Pay for Android
    • Atm networks: NAB, rediATM
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit or
      EFTPOS
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.01% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from own-bank ATM, EFTPOS, counter withdrawals, counter deposits, phone, internet and Visa debit purchases
    Overall rating

    8.1

    Based on 1377 NAB bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • HSBC Day to Day Account

    HSBC Day to Day Account

    • Secure access to your account with Internet and Mobile Banking.
    • $0 monthly account fee
    • No ATM fees at 3,000 ATMs nationally

    account fee

    $0.00

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • Secure access to your account with Internet and Mobile Banking.
    • $0 monthly account fee
    • No ATM fees at 3,000 ATMs nationally
    • Atm networks: HSBC, Westpac, St.George, BankSA, Bank of Melbourne
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from network ATMs, EFTPOS, cheque, phone, internet, Bank@Post, BPAY and direct debits
    Overall rating

    6.3

    Based on 55 HSBC bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bankwest Easy Transaction Account

    Bankwest Easy Transaction Account

    • Pay $0 ATM fees at over 10,000 major bank ATMs in Aus. Fees, T&Cs apply
    • No monthly account keeping fees when you deposit at least $2,000 per month
    • Get banking alerts pushed straight to your phone

    account fee

    $6.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • Pay $0 ATM fees at over 10,000 major bank ATMs in Aus. Fees, T&Cs apply
    • No monthly account keeping fees when you deposit at least $2,000 per month
    • Get banking alerts pushed straight to your phone
    • Atm networks: Bankwest, ANZ, Commonwealth, NAB, Westpac, St.George, BankSA, Bank of Melbourne
    • What kind of card?: Debit MasterCard
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited domestic transactions from network ATMs, EFTPOS, cheque and counter withdrawals
    Overall rating

    8.2

    Based on 400 Bankwest bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • ANZ Access Advantage

    ANZ Access Advantage

    • $0 monthly account service fee if you deposit at least $2,000 a month, or if you meet other eligibility criteria
    • Use your own money online, over the phone and overseas with Visa Debit access
    • Now with Apple Pay

    account fee

    $5.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 monthly account service fee if you deposit at least $2,000 a month, or if you meet other eligibility criteria
    • Use your own money online, over the phone and overseas with Visa Debit access
    • Now with Apple Pay
    • Atm networks: ANZ
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit or
      EFTPOS
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
      Balances from $50,000: 0.01% p.a.
      Balances from $100,000: 0.02% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from own-bank ATM, EFTPOS, cheque, counter withdrawals, counter deposits, phone and internet
    Overall rating

    7.6

    Based on 1579 ANZ bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 102 bank accounts in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare all bank accounts

Look for a specific type of bank account:

-- Choose type --
peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2016

Forget industry awards where banks scratch each other's backs. Mozo presents the People's Choice Awards, based on more than 30,000 real customer reviews.

Check out the winners

Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.