Bank account reviews

Read the latest bank account reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their bank, credit union or building society to give you the inside story on everything from sneaky fees to customer service.

Search a review by:

Recent bank account reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • ANZ Bank Account review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Save your energy and time don't open account

    Shitest bank ever. No communication no responsibility, worst customer service, no reliability, wrong information, online banking is worst, ,inconvient, zero knowledge. If you are free and have time and patience to follow up every single query so this is a bank for u. Good time pass you have to spend most of your time on phone for even getting statement or balance confirmation. If there is a option for minus star i will give it to this bank. Save your energy and time don't open account with this bank.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Indu, New South Wales, reviewed 3 days ago
  • ME Everyday Transaction Account review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    No service since BOQ take over

    I have been banking with ME for last 7 years- everything has been Ok up until now. Since BOQ has acquired them for 1.3b , I can’t get a Bank cheque deposited at BOQ or Westpac branches . Too bad I’m left in hole . How could you do this to your very good customers . This little pig Bank went - We We Wee all the way home

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Chris, Queensland, reviewed 3 days ago
  • ANZ Bank Account review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    DONT BANK WITH ANZ! Crooks. Arrogant staff

    DO YOURSELF A FAVOUR; Dont bank with ANZ. They have the worst attitude, slow, unorganised, expensive and terrible customer service. My wife and myself and even my children have had accounts with ANZ for past 20 + years. ANZ out of the blue decided to close all our personal and business accounts. We are simple people sole trader business and dont do anything fishy so its very saddening We now would never ever recommend ANZ and have found far better banks.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Ib, New South Wales, reviewed 3 days ago
  • HSBC Bank Account review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Terrible experience in opening a bank account

    I tried to open an account with this bank for day-to-day activities. They were asked me hundred of questions about my financial life. They are unbelievably intruding on my personal private life. I believe a banking system that so suspicious about the detailed private life of their customers is not trustworthy.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Foruhar, Victoria, reviewed 3 days ago
  • Westpac Choice review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    They really need copy commbank or nab

    Waited one hour to see someone who then said they can't help me and to call telephone banking. Telephone banking keeps telling me to call some other hotline. It seems they are very good and waisting your time and sending you in circles.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Akki, New South Wales, reviewed 3 days ago
  • Delphi Bank Bank Account review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Not a bank anymore.

    A bank in decline. No service and no interest in providing service. Purely driven by profit. No longer competitive. The sooner that Bendigo Bank erases the Delphi brand the better. Its a shame that Bendigo Bank took over an excellent and very profitable little bank (Bank of Cyprus) and then proceeded to destroy it, the brand, its customer base and its reputation.

    Price
    2 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    2 / 10
    Less
    Nomad, New South Wales, reviewed 3 days ago
  • Bankwest Hero Transaction Account review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Reliable company.

    Convenient to use. Reasonable interest rates (comparatively). Only earn interest up to $5000 so best to transfer other funds to an alternate account over that amount. Links easily to other accounts. Debit card available.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Lynne, Western Australia, reviewed 3 days ago
  • ME Bank Account review

    Overall rating   2 / 10
    Nice people but half baked systems - stay away

    Where is the summary of interest tab? I know I can trawl through my statements with a calculator and pencil but perhaps if ME wants to improve you could make it easier for your customers. Error message saying I had exceeded my daily limit of Pay Anyone but I had not made ANY Pay Anyone transactions.Called custoemr care who tried their best but were unable to help so I just had to wait till the next day which meant I did not meet the commitment I made to pay someone. My reputation tarnished by ME poor systems. Tax deducted from interest (if TFN not provided) is bundled in with the interest figure - not shown as a separate line item. The sneak peek function on the mobile app was removed without notice. Where is the communication? Then it was restored. Invisible accounts. If I have 3 accounts and want to Transfer Between My Accounts the 3rd account is invisible on the android mobile app. You cant see it. The transfer still works but you just cant see the account. If I have 4 accounts you cant see the 4th account. If I want to pay my friend on the web I use Pay Anyone. If I use the Android app its Pay Someone. I dont care if its Anyone or Someone but just make it the same. Where is the attention to detail? No account balance shown after each transaction on mobile app No ability to add, modify, delete function for future dated transactions on mobile app Awful and unhelpful transaction descriptions. Accurate? Probably but helpful or intuitive? Nope When adding an new Pay Someone it checks the BSB but it doesnt recognise several banks eg ING, Macquarie bank and ME. Yes thats right when I add my friends account to pay them into their ME bank account the mobile app says This Bank is Unknown. There is whole bunch of login, timeout and website issues but I have better things to do now that provide free business analysis and bug detection services for ME, and ME wont do anything about it anyway as they will be told there is a system freeze due to the BoQ takeover so its all moot anyway. Good bonus interest BUT be careful as its only IN PERSON card transactions that count, online purchases do NOT count towards the 4 transaction requirement for bonus interest ME is a low grade, junior bank and I wish them luck but they are still in beta. If its any consolation you are still better than Comm bank.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    2 / 10
    Less
    Dave, New South Wales, reviewed 3 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Smart Access review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    I will continue with commonwealth.

    I've always banked with commonwealth and they're amazing.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Ellie, New South Wales, reviewed 3 days ago
  • Suncorp Bank Account review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    They stole $2,500 from me.

    They held a deposit for whatever reason (AML? Who knows) and then from that decided to freeze my account. When I enquired they delayed me with canned responses. In the mean time another 2 deposits came in (from the same person). They ended up calling the person that made all 3 deposits (1 which was already in my frozen account and 2 pending) to confirm that he hadn’t been scammed by me. The person confirmed he was happy for all three deposits to go into my account. They subsequently unfroze my account but the 2 pending deposits never appeared. It’s been weeks of me asking where are those deposits and I am not joking when I say this… they repeatedly, email after email, tell me they know nothing about an additional 2 deposits! But they called the sender to ask about them! To this date they refuse to put into my account $2,500 that they know they have and of course the sender has enquired on his end and his bank is saying that they can’t get the money back because Suncorp has the money.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Adam, Victoria, reviewed 5 days ago
  • ME Everyday Transaction Account review

    Overall rating   3 / 10
    Me Bank

    Literally the worst service of any bank I’ve dealt with . Lost card , 3 weeks wait. Call them up , that’ll take 3 days , the call will drop out several times and they won’t call you back . The app is horrendous. Nil features and as basic as it comes . The only positive of banking with me is as the home loan rate , but now there not the lowest and have merged with BOQ why would you ?

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    2 / 10
    Less
    Thomas, Victoria, reviewed 5 days ago
  • Bankwest Easy Transaction Account review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Fresh approach to improvement

    Customer service is wonderful, and the main reason I’ve stayed with them so long. They have work to do (like all Australian banks) to not get left behind in their international and business banking products and technology from international standards, with their fees and sign-in procedures being high and difficult, but they are fairly receptive to feedback and I can see they try to adapt and offer new options.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Mia, Western Australia, reviewed 5 days ago
  • ME Bank Account review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Simply brilliant

    Brilliant easy to use bank accounts, plenty of options available not sure ask them good with people who suffer with mental illness thanks guys

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Caroline, Western Australia, reviewed 6 days ago
  • BankVic Everyday Account review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Bad phone customer service, faulty cards given out

    I believed my bank details had been hacked as a scammer wanted details (not provided) and then threatened that there would be $100 cancellation fee (what for?) would be taken out of my account. Rang bank (20+ minute wait...all our operations are busy at the moment etc.) who told me I had 2 options..to change password and/or cancel my debit account. Idid both. Waited in excess of one week for card to come...probably Postal service problem. Week after the Visa was activated I was advised my monthly mobile charge had been declined. Had no phone...don’t have a landline. Worse was to come! I got a FANTASTIC deal from Essendon Mazda Car Dealership for a new car. ( Thanks for great service, Andrew) To secure deal had to give a $1000 deposit. That transaction was declined. Apologised to Essendon Mazda. Complained to bank. New card would be sent out. It was. Yesterday, I personally went to bank at Brandon Park to activate card and THEY kindly did transaction to Mazda. Today I shopped.....visa card chip error! Went to another shop and the tap and go thingy worked but not when I put in my card to enter PIN number. I have had the misfortune to ring Bankvic card service at least 3 times ...waiting time in excess of 20 minutes. Only one that beats them in waiting length is Centrelink. I have found out that again my deposit for Essendon Mazda car hasn’t gone through. Hope they are forgiving and keep may fantastic deal. One problem card is forgivable, twice is not.

    Customer service
    3 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    2 / 10
    Less
    Anne, Victoria, reviewed 6 days ago
  • ANZ Access Advantage review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    ANZ banking a bit behind but reliable

    The banking app would be much better if they showed a constant balance. They make me feel secure and reliable but they feel a bit comfortable and don’t necessarily keep up to date. I wouldn’t like to move away but would like to know they are keeping with the times. Have had excellent service the few times I’ve gone in. Feel safe with their response to credit cards theft

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Tracey, Western Australia, reviewed 9 days ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Bank account comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Glide Account

      account fee
      $0.00
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID, Samsung Pay, FitBit Pay, Garmin
      interest rate
      0% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Go Account

      account fee
      $0.00
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Pay, Samsung Pay
      interest rate
      0% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Everyday Global Account

      account fee
      $0.00
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID
      interest rate
      0% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Everyday Options

      account fee
      $0.00
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID
      interest rate
      0.01% p.a.

      Promoted
    • & Transaction Account

      account fee
      $0.00
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID, Samsung Pay
      interest rate
      0% p.a.

      Promoted

    Want more? Compare all 99 bank accounts in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more bank accounts

    About Mozo Reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

    We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

    Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.