Newcastle Permanent credit card reviews

Newcastle Permanent
Newcastle Permanent's overall rating for credit cards

(as rated by the Mozo community)

8.3 / 10

based on 21 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured credit card from Newcastle Permanent

Recent Newcastle Permanent credit card reviews

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent Value+ credit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Prime customer service

I love dealing with the permanent, always friendly, secure and prompt. Only wish my credit card was attached to a rewards program.

Full review

I love dealing with the permanent, always friendly, secure and prompt. Only wish my credit card was attached to a rewards program.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mia (NSW), reviewed almost 2 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent credit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great

Satisfied and that's all that matters

Full review

Satisfied and that's all that matters

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Lauren (NSW), reviewed about 2 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent credit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

Interest rate competitive, the only negative is no reward system.

Full review

Interest rate competitive, the only negative is no reward system.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Gordon (NSW), reviewed over 2 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent Value+ credit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Overall I would give them a good score.

I find them to be friendly with over the counter service, but not so good with understanding problems with my personal circumstances at present.

Full review

I find them to be friendly with over the counter service, but not so good with understanding problems with my personal circumstances at present.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Debra (NSW), reviewed over 2 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent credit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

Pleasant staff & service.

Full review

Pleasant staff & service.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Kevin (NSW), reviewed over 2 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent Value+ credit card review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Not happy

Very high fees.

Full review

Very high fees.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Bri (NSW), reviewed over 2 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent credit card review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Competitive features and great customer service

Very reliable service and convenient.

Full review

Very reliable service and convenient.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Frederick (NSW), reviewed over 2 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent credit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

The best by miles

It's the best bank by far, all the other banks promise you everything and take it away. There is no better place to bank, the staff go out of their way to do anything and more to help you.

Full review

It's the best bank by far, all the other banks promise you everything and take it away. There is no better place to bank, the staff go out of their way to do anything and more to help you.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Ken , reviewed almost 3 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent credit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Absolutely professional & great

My bank Newcastle Permanent are extremely professional, friendly know all their customers by name & are also extremely helpful & go the extra mile to make your banking needs easier in every way. I have nothing but extremely great confidence in my...

Full review

My bank Newcastle Permanent are extremely professional, friendly know all their customers by name & are also extremely helpful & go the extra mile to make your banking needs easier in every way. I have nothing but extremely great confidence in my bank.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Ron , reviewed about 3 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent Value+ credit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Best people to deal with

I like my bank and all that it stands for. They have the best customer service and helpfulness I have ever experienced. Nothing is too much trouble and I feel completely trusted in all the advice they give.

Full review

I like my bank and all that it stands for. They have the best customer service and helpfulness I have ever experienced. Nothing is too much trouble and I feel completely trusted in all the advice they give.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Karen (NSW), reviewed about 3 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent Value+ credit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Excellent customer service

It is a local based credit union. Communities need to embrace localised credit unions as they can be just as competitive as the big banks. They know you by name, not only by account number. You don't need to call a call centre to have your query...

Full review

It is a local based credit union. Communities need to embrace localised credit unions as they can be just as competitive as the big banks. They know you by name, not only by account number. You don't need to call a call centre to have your query answered, you can call the local branch direct and speak to someone you know. Can't really do that with the big banks!

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Zoe (NSW), reviewed about 3 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent Value+ credit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Low fees, low interest, best of both worlds

I've compared them to all the others. The Value+ credit card provides the lowest interest rate and annual fee combination. I've been stung by the Big 4 with credit cards - Thanks to NPBS - never again.

Full review

I've compared them to all the others. The Value+ credit card provides the lowest interest rate and annual fee combination. I've been stung by the Big 4 with credit cards - Thanks to NPBS - never again.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Kescia (NSW), reviewed over 3 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent Value+ credit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Fantastic service

Staff are extremely friendly. Home loan interest rate is super low compared to competitors. Credit card fees are better than other banks.

Full review

Staff are extremely friendly. Home loan interest rate is super low compared to competitors. Credit card fees are better than other banks.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Luke (NSW), reviewed over 3 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent Value+ credit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Satisfactory customer service and well mannered

Good service.

Full review

Good service.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Gary (NSW), reviewed over 3 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent Value+ credit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great card

Very happy with credit card, but would love rewards.

Full review

Very happy with credit card, but would love rewards.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Bev (NSW), reviewed almost 4 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent Value+ credit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

This bank help with everyone

This is a good bank I'm very happy with it.

Full review

This is a good bank I'm very happy with it.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Leonie (NSW), reviewed about 4 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent Value+ credit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

I keep comparing rates but can't find one better.

Best rate we've found.

Full review

Best rate we've found.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (NSW), reviewed over 4 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent Value+ credit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service with competitive rates

I like the Newcastle Permanent due to its easy and accessible internet, phone, ATM and over the counter facilities which are also easily accessible in other States. Also their customer support is timely and efficient and their staff are always...

Full review

I like the Newcastle Permanent due to its easy and accessible internet, phone, ATM and over the counter facilities which are also easily accessible in other States. Also their customer support is timely and efficient and their staff are always helpful, friendly and approachable. Statements and accounts are clearly eligible and understandable and the interest rates are very competitive.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (NSW), reviewed over 4 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent credit card review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Only lacks a reward program link!

Considering other card due to lack of rewards program.

Full review

Considering other card due to lack of rewards program.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (NSW), reviewed over 4 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent credit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

As above

They are very competitive with credit card interest and their home loans are great. Excellent customer service. They don't lend to you if you can't afford it, unlike GE etc.

Full review

They are very competitive with credit card interest and their home loans are great. Excellent customer service. They don't lend to you if you can't afford it, unlike GE etc.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (NSW), reviewed almost 5 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent credit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Newcastle Permanent building society is the best.

I like the fact that Newcastle Permanent have little to no extra fees on their accounts. I pay one annual credit card fee which is minimal and they offer 30 days interest free pay period. With a low interest rate. I am very happy with my local...

Full review

I like the fact that Newcastle Permanent have little to no extra fees on their accounts. I pay one annual credit card fee which is minimal and they offer 30 days interest free pay period. With a low interest rate. I am very happy with my local community bank.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Erin (NSW), reviewed almost 5 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent Value+ credit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Customer service outstanding, great rates

The Newcastle Permanent has been very supportive. Not only are their loans competitive, but their staff also go beyond expectation to accommodate you as a customer. I have never found a more pleasing bank. Their products are good value and the...

Full review

The Newcastle Permanent has been very supportive. Not only are their loans competitive, but their staff also go beyond expectation to accommodate you as a customer. I have never found a more pleasing bank. Their products are good value and the staff make an extra effort to accommodate what you need or want. They have been outstanding and go beyond all expectations.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Judith (NSW), reviewed almost 5 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent Value+ credit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Amazing customer service

Best customer service when my visa card was frauded.

Full review

Best customer service when my visa card was frauded.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Natasha (NSW), reviewed almost 5 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent credit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excallent customer service with goog products

also friendly staff with excellent products. Eager tp please and really quick in dealing with customers compared to most banks.

Full review

also friendly staff with excellent products. Eager tp please and really quick in dealing with customers compared to most banks.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

William (NSW), reviewed over 5 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent credit card review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great rates mate

They don't harrass you to increase your credit limit and each statement tells you how long it would take to pay off if you only made minimum payment.

Full review

They don't harrass you to increase your credit limit and each statement tells you how long it would take to pay off if you only made minimum payment.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Mary (NSW), reviewed over 5 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Credit card comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    American Express Explorer® Credit Card

    American Express Explorer® Credit Card

    • Receive 50,000 Membership Rewards® Points (T&Cs apply)
    • $400 in Travel Credit each year
    • Up to 2 Membership Rewards points per $1 spent

    balance transfer rate

    0% p.a. for 12 months and then 20.74% p.a. (1.00% balance transfer fee)

    purchase rate

    20.74% p.a.

    annual fee

    $395

    Go to site

    More info

    • Receive 50,000 Membership Rewards® Points (T&Cs apply)
    • $400 in Travel Credit each year
    • Up to 2 Membership Rewards points per $1 spent
    • Balance transfer rate: 0% p.a. for 12 months and then 20.74% p.a. (1.00% balance transfer fee)
    • Annual fee: $395
    • Purchase rate: 20.74% p.a.
    • Interest free days: 55
    • Interest rate on cash withdrawals:
    • Fee for cash withdrawals:
    • Rewards description: Transfer points to a range of airline programs or redeem your points for travel, gift cards, retail rewards and shopping gift cards.
    Overall rating

    7.3

    Based on 255 American Express credit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • ANZ Frequent Flyer Black

    ANZ Frequent Flyer Black

    • 75,000 bonus Qantas Points when you spend $2,500 on eligible purchases in the first 3 months
    • No annual fee for the first year
    • 75 bonus Status Credits when you buy and fly return with Qantas by 31 May 2018. Apply and be approved by 24 Jan 2018

    balance transfer rate

    No current offer

    purchase rate

    19.99% p.a.

    annual fee

    $425 $0 in the first 1 year

    Go to site

    More info

    • 75,000 bonus Qantas Points when you spend $2,500 on eligible purchases in the first 3 months
    • No annual fee for the first year
    • 75 bonus Status Credits when you buy and fly return with Qantas by 31 May 2018. Apply and be approved by 24 Jan 2018
    • Balance transfer rate: No current offer
    • Annual fee: $425 $0 in the first 1 year
    • Purchase rate: 19.99% p.a.
    • Interest free days: 55
    • Interest rate on cash withdrawals: 21.49% p.a.
    • Fee for cash withdrawals: 2%
    • Rewards description: Points are automatically credited to the Qantas Frequent Flyer program.
    Overall rating

    6.9

    Based on 1932 ANZ credit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    Woolworths Everyday Platinum Credit Card

    Woolworths Everyday Platinum Credit Card

    • $50 Woolworths eGift card after you make your first purchase (T&C’s Apply)
    • 10% off your 1st Woolworths shop on selected dates once a month
    • $0 annual fee for the first year (saving $49)

    balance transfer rate

    0% p.a. for 14 months and then 21.99% p.a.

    purchase rate

    19.99% p.a.

    annual fee

    $49 $0 in the first 1 year

    Go to site

    More info

    • $50 Woolworths eGift card after you make your first purchase (T&C’s Apply)
    • 10% off your 1st Woolworths shop on selected dates once a month
    • $0 annual fee for the first year (saving $49)
    • Balance transfer rate: 0% p.a. for 14 months and then 21.99% p.a.
    • Annual fee: $49 $0 in the first 1 year
    • Purchase rate: 19.99% p.a.
    • Interest free days: 55
    • Interest rate on cash withdrawals: 21.99% p.a.
    • Fee for cash withdrawals: 3%, minimum $5
    • Rewards description: Woolworths Money Shopping Card sent every 4 months if enough points have been accrued.
    Overall rating

    5.8

    Based on 82 Woolworths credit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    American Express Qantas Ultimate Card

    American Express Qantas Ultimate Card

    • Receive 55,000 bonus Qantas Points (T&Cs apply)
    • Earn 1.5 Qantas Points per $1 spent on eligible purchases
    • Complimentary domestic and international travel insurance

    balance transfer rate

    0% p.a. for 12 months and then 20.74% p.a. (1.00% balance transfer fee)

    purchase rate

    20.74% p.a.

    annual fee

    $450

    Go to site

    More info

    • Receive 55,000 bonus Qantas Points (T&Cs apply)
    • Earn 1.5 Qantas Points per $1 spent on eligible purchases
    • Complimentary domestic and international travel insurance
    • Balance transfer rate: 0% p.a. for 12 months and then 20.74% p.a. (1.00% balance transfer fee)
    • Annual fee: $450
    • Purchase rate: 20.74% p.a.
    • Interest free days: 44
    • Interest rate on cash withdrawals:
    • Fee for cash withdrawals:
    • Rewards description: Points are automatically credited to the Qantas Frequent Flyer program.
    Overall rating

    7.3

    Based on 255 American Express credit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • CUA Low Rate Credit Card

    CUA Low Rate Credit Card

    • $0 annual fee for the first year
    • 11.99% p.a. on purchases
    • Up to 55 days interest free

    balance transfer rate

    0% p.a. for 13 months and then 21.74% p.a.

    purchase rate

    11.99% p.a.

    annual fee

    $49 $0 in the first 1 year

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 annual fee for the first year
    • 11.99% p.a. on purchases
    • Up to 55 days interest free
    • Balance transfer rate: 0% p.a. for 13 months and then 21.74% p.a.
    • Annual fee: $49 $0 in the first 1 year
    • Purchase rate: 11.99% p.a.
    • Interest free days: 55
    • Interest rate on cash withdrawals: 21.74% p.a.
    • Fee for cash withdrawals: 2.00%, Min $3.50
    • Rewards description:
    Overall rating

    7.8

    Based on 27 CUA credit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 217 credit cards in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more credit cards

Look for a specific type of credit card:

Back to top