Newcastle Permanent credit card reviews

Newcastle Permanent
Newcastle Permanent's overall rating for credit cards

(as rated by the Mozo community)

8.3 / 10

based on 55 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured credit card from Newcastle Permanent

Recent Newcastle Permanent credit card reviews

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent Value+ credit card review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Good provider

It's o.k works great been with them for few years

Full review

It's o.k works great been with them for few years

    Price   9 / 10

Less

Tammy, New South Wales, reviewed over 1 year ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent Value+ credit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Prime customer service

I love dealing with the permanent, always friendly, secure and prompt. Only wish my credit card was attached to a rewards program.

Full review

I love dealing with the permanent, always friendly, secure and prompt. Only wish my credit card was attached to a rewards program.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mia, New South Wales, reviewed over 2 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent credit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great

Satisfied and that's all that matters

Full review

Satisfied and that's all that matters

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Lauren, New South Wales, reviewed almost 3 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent credit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

Interest rate competitive, the only negative is no reward system.

Full review

Interest rate competitive, the only negative is no reward system.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Gordon, New South Wales, reviewed about 3 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent Value+ credit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Overall I would give them a good score.

I find them to be friendly with over the counter service, but not so good with understanding problems with my personal circumstances at present.

Full review

I find them to be friendly with over the counter service, but not so good with understanding problems with my personal circumstances at present.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Debra, New South Wales, reviewed about 3 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent credit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

Pleasant staff & service.

Full review

Pleasant staff & service.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Kevin, New South Wales, reviewed about 3 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent Value+ credit card review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Not happy

Very high fees.

Full review

Very high fees.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Bri, New South Wales, reviewed about 3 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent credit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Ease of product

Opening hours, customer support.

Full review

Opening hours, customer support.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Wayne, New South Wales, reviewed over 3 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent credit card review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Competitive features and great customer service

Very reliable service and convenient.

Full review

Very reliable service and convenient.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Frederick, New South Wales, reviewed over 3 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent Value+ credit card review

Overall rating   5 / 10

convienent

convienent

Full review

convienent

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Joanne, New South Wales, reviewed over 3 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent credit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

The best by miles

It's the best bank by far, all the other banks promise you everything and take it away. There is no better place to bank, the staff go out of their way to do anything and more to help you.

Full review

It's the best bank by far, all the other banks promise you everything and take it away. There is no better place to bank, the staff go out of their way to do anything and more to help you.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Ken , , reviewed over 3 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent credit card review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Great

Yea yea I'm just doing this for coins on a game

Full review

Yea yea I'm just doing this for coins on a game

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Gordon, New South Wales, reviewed over 3 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent Value+ credit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

This bank keeps me informed if something is wrong with my banking details.. They are now polite & well spoken

Full review

This bank keeps me informed if something is wrong with my banking details.. They are now polite & well spoken

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Tammy, New South Wales, reviewed over 3 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent credit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Absolutely professional & great

My bank Newcastle Permanent are extremely professional, friendly know all their customers by name & are also extremely helpful & go the extra mile to make your banking needs easier in every way. I have nothing but extremely great confidence in my...

Full review

My bank Newcastle Permanent are extremely professional, friendly know all their customers by name & are also extremely helpful & go the extra mile to make your banking needs easier in every way. I have nothing but extremely great confidence in my bank.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Ron, , reviewed over 3 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent Value+ credit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Best people to deal with

I like my bank and all that it stands for. They have the best customer service and helpfulness I have ever experienced. Nothing is too much trouble and I feel completely trusted in all the advice they give.

Full review

I like my bank and all that it stands for. They have the best customer service and helpfulness I have ever experienced. Nothing is too much trouble and I feel completely trusted in all the advice they give.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Karen, New South Wales, reviewed almost 4 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent Value+ credit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Excellent customer service

It is a local based credit union. Communities need to embrace localised credit unions as they can be just as competitive as the big banks. They know you by name, not only by account number. You don't need to call a call centre to have your query...

Full review

It is a local based credit union. Communities need to embrace localised credit unions as they can be just as competitive as the big banks. They know you by name, not only by account number. You don't need to call a call centre to have your query answered, you can call the local branch direct and speak to someone you know. Can't really do that with the big banks!

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Zoe, New South Wales, reviewed almost 4 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent Value+ credit card review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Friendly

Friendly customer service

Full review

Friendly customer service

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Kristen, New South Wales, reviewed almost 4 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent Value+ credit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Low fees, low interest, best of both worlds

I've compared them to all the others. The Value+ credit card provides the lowest interest rate and annual fee combination. I've been stung by the Big 4 with credit cards - Thanks to NPBS - never again.

Full review

I've compared them to all the others. The Value+ credit card provides the lowest interest rate and annual fee combination. I've been stung by the Big 4 with credit cards - Thanks to NPBS - never again.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Kescia, New South Wales, reviewed about 4 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent Value+ credit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Fantastic service

Staff are extremely friendly. Home loan interest rate is super low compared to competitors. Credit card fees are better than other banks.

Full review

Staff are extremely friendly. Home loan interest rate is super low compared to competitors. Credit card fees are better than other banks.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Luke, New South Wales, reviewed about 4 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent Value+ credit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Satisfactory customer service and well mannered

Good service.

Full review

Good service.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Gary, New South Wales, reviewed about 4 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent Value+ credit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great card

Very happy with credit card, but would love rewards.

Full review

Very happy with credit card, but would love rewards.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Bev, New South Wales, reviewed over 4 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent Value+ credit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

This bank help with everyone

This is a good bank I'm very happy with it.

Full review

This is a good bank I'm very happy with it.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Leonie, New South Wales, reviewed over 4 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent Value+ credit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

I keep comparing rates but can't find one better.

Best rate we've found.

Full review

Best rate we've found.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Name not supplied, New South Wales, reviewed almost 5 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent Value+ credit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service with competitive rates

I like the Newcastle Permanent due to its easy and accessible internet, phone, ATM and over the counter facilities which are also easily accessible in other States. Also their customer support is timely and efficient and their staff are always...

Full review

I like the Newcastle Permanent due to its easy and accessible internet, phone, ATM and over the counter facilities which are also easily accessible in other States. Also their customer support is timely and efficient and their staff are always helpful, friendly and approachable. Statements and accounts are clearly eligible and understandable and the interest rates are very competitive.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Name not supplied, New South Wales, reviewed about 5 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent credit card review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Only lacks a reward program link!

Considering other card due to lack of rewards program.

Full review

Considering other card due to lack of rewards program.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Name not supplied, New South Wales, reviewed about 5 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Credit card comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    Woolworths Everyday Platinum Credit Card

    Woolworths Everyday Platinum Credit Card

    • Redeem your credit card points for Woolworths shopping cards
    • 10% off your 1st Woolworths shop on selected dates once a month
    • $0 annual fee for the first year (saving $49)

    balance transfer rate

    0% p.a. for 14 months and then 21.99% p.a.

    purchase rate

    19.99% p.a.

    annual fee

    $49 $0 in the first year

    Go to site

    More info

    • Redeem your credit card points for Woolworths shopping cards
    • 10% off your 1st Woolworths shop on selected dates once a month
    • $0 annual fee for the first year (saving $49)
    • Balance transfer rate: 0% p.a. for 14 months and then 21.99% p.a.
    • Annual fee: $49 $0 in the first year
    • Purchase rate: 19.99% p.a.
    • Interest free days: 55
    • Interest rate on cash withdrawals: 21.99% p.a.
    • Fee for cash withdrawals: 3%, minimum $5
    • Rewards description: Woolworths Money Shopping Card sent every 4 months if enough points have been accrued.
    Overall rating

    6.3

    Based on 181 Woolworths credit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bendigo Bank Platinum Rewards Mastercard

    Bendigo Bank Platinum Rewards Mastercard

    • Purchase interest rate 19.99% p.a.
    • Up to 55 days interest free
    • Earn 1.5 Bendigo Rewards points for every dollar spent

    balance transfer rate

    No current offer

    purchase rate

    19.99% p.a.

    annual fee

    $89

    Go to site

    More info

    • Purchase interest rate 19.99% p.a.
    • Up to 55 days interest free
    • Earn 1.5 Bendigo Rewards points for every dollar spent
    • Balance transfer rate: No current offer
    • Annual fee: $89
    • Purchase rate: 19.99% p.a.
    • Interest free days: 55
    • Interest rate on cash withdrawals: 21.99% p.a.
    • Fee for cash withdrawals: 0.50%, Min $3.25
    • Rewards description: Bendigo Rewards. Redeem your points for travel, gift cards, shopping gift cards, cashback and retail products.
    Overall rating

    8.1

    Based on 540 Bendigo Bank credit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bankwest Breeze Platinum Mastercard

    Bankwest Breeze Platinum Mastercard

    • 0% p.a. on balance transfers for 13 months (2% BT fee applies)
    • Complimentary Credit Card Travel Insurance (T&Cs apply)
    • No foreign transaction fees on online and overseas purchases

    balance transfer rate

    0% p.a. for 13 months and then 12.99% p.a. (2.00% balance transfer fee)

    purchase rate

    0% p.a. for 13 months then 12.99% p.a.

    annual fee

    $99

    Go to site

    More info

    • 0% p.a. on balance transfers for 13 months (2% BT fee applies)
    • Complimentary Credit Card Travel Insurance (T&Cs apply)
    • No foreign transaction fees on online and overseas purchases
    • Balance transfer rate: 0% p.a. for 13 months and then 12.99% p.a. (2.00% balance transfer fee)
    • Annual fee: $99
    • Purchase rate: 0% p.a. for 13 months then 12.99% p.a.
    • Interest free days: 55
    • Interest rate on cash withdrawals: 21.99% p.a.
    • Fee for cash withdrawals: 2%, Min $4.00
    • Rewards description:
    Overall rating

    7.4

    Based on 1023 Bankwest credit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    American Express Explorer® Credit Card

    American Express Explorer® Credit Card

    • Receive 50,000 Membership Rewards® Points (T&Cs apply)
    • $400 in Travel Credit each year
    • Up to 2 Membership Rewards points per $1 spent

    balance transfer rate

    0% p.a. for 12 months and then 20.74% p.a. (1.00% balance transfer fee)

    purchase rate

    20.74% p.a.

    annual fee

    $395

    Go to site

    More info

    • Receive 50,000 Membership Rewards® Points (T&Cs apply)
    • $400 in Travel Credit each year
    • Up to 2 Membership Rewards points per $1 spent
    • Balance transfer rate: 0% p.a. for 12 months and then 20.74% p.a. (1.00% balance transfer fee)
    • Annual fee: $395
    • Purchase rate: 20.74% p.a.
    • Interest free days: 55
    • Interest rate on cash withdrawals:
    • Fee for cash withdrawals:
    • Rewards description: Transfer points to a range of airline programs or redeem your points for travel, gift cards, retail rewards and shopping gift cards.
    Overall rating

    6.6

    Based on 860 American Express credit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Westpac Altitude Black with American Express (Qantas Frequent Flyer)

    Westpac Altitude Black with American Express (Qantas Frequent Flyer)

    • Earn 0.75 Qantas points per $1 spent on eligible purchases
    • 80k Bonus Points (T&Cs apply)
    • Dedicated Westpac Concierge service and access to exclusive Black Card Concierge App

    balance transfer rate

    No current offer

    purchase rate

    20.24% p.a.

    annual fee

    $499 $300 in the first year

    Go to site

    More info

    • Earn 0.75 Qantas points per $1 spent on eligible purchases
    • 80k Bonus Points (T&Cs apply)
    • Dedicated Westpac Concierge service and access to exclusive Black Card Concierge App
    • Balance transfer rate: No current offer
    • Annual fee: $499 $300 in the first year
    • Purchase rate: 20.24% p.a.
    • Interest free days: 45
    • Interest rate on cash withdrawals: 20.74% p.a.
    • Fee for cash withdrawals: 2%, Min $2.50, Max $150
    • Rewards description: Points are automatically credited to the Qantas Frequent Flyer program.
    Overall rating

    6.8

    Based on 4535 Westpac credit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 218 credit cards in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more credit cards

Look for a specific type of credit card:

**Saving based on the average difference in fees and charges over 3 years between the most competitive product Mozo can refer a consumer to and the average credit card product input by 6,863 consumers (average balance of $4,262 or balance transfer balance of $5,818, interest rate of 19.6% and annual fee of $36.50) who used the Mozo Credit Card Health Check tool between 1 January 2012 to July 2012.

Back to top