Newcastle Permanent term deposit reviews

Newcastle Permanent
Newcastle Permanent's overall rating for term deposits

(as rated by the Mozo community)

8.7 / 10

based on 11 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Full review

Featured term deposit from Newcastle Permanent

Recent Newcastle Permanent term deposit reviews

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent term deposit review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Fantastic

I switched to the perm around 15 years ago because of their interest rates. My daughter is now a perm customer

Full review

I switched to the perm around 15 years ago because of their interest rates. My daughter is now a perm customer

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

David (NSW), reviewed 12 months ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent term deposit review

Overall rating   9 / 10

I don't have an online account.

They have looked after me. Good opening hours.

Full review

They have looked after me. Good opening hours.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Mark (NSW), reviewed over 1 year ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent term deposit review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Plenty of branches and ATM's in region.

It is a local Newcastle institution which means more local jobs.

Full review

It is a local Newcastle institution which means more local jobs.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Janice (NSW), reviewed over 1 year ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent term deposit review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great customer service.

Friendly & helpful regardless of your banking needs . Go the extra mile if required. Interest rates are competitive but could be better.

Full review

Friendly & helpful regardless of your banking needs . Go the extra mile if required. Interest rates are competitive but could be better.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Verity (NSW), reviewed over 1 year ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent term deposit review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Customer service, features that appeal

Newcastle Permanent have many friendly staff who go out of there way to help with anything that you need from them. Sorting quickly through your needs and introducing you to a specialist if needed.

Full review

Newcastle Permanent have many friendly staff who go out of there way to help with anything that you need from them. Sorting quickly through your needs and introducing you to a specialist if needed.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mandy (NSW), reviewed over 1 year ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent term deposit review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

Branches everywhere, handy, but the term investment interest rate disappointing, low.

Full review

Branches everywhere, handy, but the term investment interest rate disappointing, low.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Phillip (NSW), reviewed over 1 year ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent term deposit review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Competitive customer service

Awesome customer service. Good security measures in place. No branches outside of Newcastle and therefore withdrawal fees are common when using an ATM unless you use a Westpac ATM machine. Government guaranteed. Would like a higher interest...

Full review

Awesome customer service. Good security measures in place. No branches outside of Newcastle and therefore withdrawal fees are common when using an ATM unless you use a Westpac ATM machine. Government guaranteed. Would like a higher interest rate.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Jordan (NSW), reviewed almost 2 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent term deposit review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Outstanding sevice, top of the range products

Newcastle Permanent has the most genuine, caring, friendly and knowledgeable staff of any financial institution. Team this with their outstanding products and you have THE best building society ever. NPBS can't be beaten on customer service, and...

Full review

Newcastle Permanent has the most genuine, caring, friendly and knowledgeable staff of any financial institution. Team this with their outstanding products and you have THE best building society ever. NPBS can't be beaten on customer service, and they can't be beaten on products!

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jodi (NSW), reviewed about 2 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent term deposit review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Simply the best of the best

Newcastle Permanent Building Society is not matched by any other Bank, Building Society or Credit Union anywhere.

Full review

Newcastle Permanent Building Society is not matched by any other Bank, Building Society or Credit Union anywhere.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Stuart (NSW), reviewed about 3 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent Term Deposit term deposit review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great rates, our town building society says it all

Newcastle Permanent Building Society is 50 years old. I have banked with them for many years, the staff know you by name and service is first class. You are not a number you are a person.

Full review

Newcastle Permanent Building Society is 50 years old. I have banked with them for many years, the staff know you by name and service is first class. You are not a number you are a person.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (NSW), reviewed over 3 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent term deposit review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Customer service; they are friendly.

The rates are good competitive, the people are friendly, they have an account to suit your needs.

Full review

The rates are good competitive, the people are friendly, they have an account to suit your needs.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Clarissa (NSW), reviewed almost 4 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent term deposit review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Everything was fine until I discovered you get better rates if you live on the North Coast. So much for looking after their loyal Newcastle customers. The special rates out the front of their Taree and Forster branches are better than what they...

Full review

Everything was fine until I discovered you get better rates if you live on the North Coast. So much for looking after their loyal Newcastle customers. The special rates out the front of their Taree and Forster branches are better than what they offer in the Newcastle area. It hardly seems fair. So much for looking after our town.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Geoff (NSW), reviewed about 5 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent term deposit review

Overall rating   10 / 10

These guys are brilliant, just like the town Newcastle. Very helpful, very competitive, and better rates than anyone else. They support the community their bank is in, absolutely superb. Great customer service with a smile, AAA, 5 star rating.

Full review

These guys are brilliant, just like the town Newcastle. Very helpful, very competitive, and better rates than anyone else. They support the community their bank is in, absolutely superb. Great customer service with a smile, AAA, 5 star rating.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Malcolm (NSW), reviewed about 5 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent term deposit review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Easy to access..friendly and helpful service, trustful and reliable and supporting of the local community. Have confidence in that my money will be invested securely.

Full review

Easy to access..friendly and helpful service, trustful and reliable and supporting of the local community. Have confidence in that my money will be invested securely.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Denise (NSW), reviewed over 5 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent term deposit review

Overall rating   10 / 10

I love Newcastle Perm - always friendly staff and being a Novacastrian I think it's important to support local business

Full review

I love Newcastle Perm - always friendly staff and being a Novacastrian I think it's important to support local business

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Rechelle (NSW), reviewed over 5 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent term deposit review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Good rates and good customer service

Full review

Good rates and good customer service

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   -1 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

June (NSW), reviewed over 5 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent term deposit review

Overall rating   7 / 10

I have been with them for years and they service the community really well and keep you informed concerning the global economy. They look after their customers, service is good and staff always obliging and helpful. They are also strong supporters...

Full review

I have been with them for years and they service the community really well and keep you informed concerning the global economy. They look after their customers, service is good and staff always obliging and helpful. They are also strong supporters of this Newcastle community.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Ruth (NSW), reviewed over 5 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent term deposit review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great product, very convenient.

Full review

Great product, very convenient.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Rod (NSW), reviewed over 5 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent term deposit review

Overall rating   10 / 10

newcastle permanent deliver everything from customer service to great rates and they are always there for their customers

Full review

newcastle permanent deliver everything from customer service to great rates and they are always there for their customers

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Leonie (NSW), reviewed over 5 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent term deposit review

Overall rating   10 / 10

BECAUSE THEY ARE THE MOST POPULAR BUILDING SOCIETY IN NEWCASTLE AND THEY ARE ALWAYS HELPFUL AND RELIABLE. TO ME THERE ARE NO CONS AND MANY PROS TO THIS PRODUCT.

Full review

BECAUSE THEY ARE THE MOST POPULAR BUILDING SOCIETY IN NEWCASTLE AND THEY ARE ALWAYS HELPFUL AND RELIABLE. TO ME THERE ARE NO CONS AND MANY PROS TO THIS PRODUCT.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Glen (NSW), reviewed over 5 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent term deposit review

Overall rating   9 / 10

The term deposit with Newcastle Permanent has a competitive interest rate, is very easy to set up (the counter staff will do this in a jiffy) and when it comes to maturity you can change the term of reinvestment over the phone in a very efficient...

Full review

The term deposit with Newcastle Permanent has a competitive interest rate, is very easy to set up (the counter staff will do this in a jiffy) and when it comes to maturity you can change the term of reinvestment over the phone in a very efficient manner.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Joanne (NSW), reviewed almost 6 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent term deposit review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Personal contact available at all times. Staff are courteous and take the time needed to make explanations clear. Notification of any changes in the product are sent out when necessary. My branch give exceptional customer service.

Full review

Personal contact available at all times. Staff are courteous and take the time needed to make explanations clear. Notification of any changes in the product are sent out when necessary. My branch give exceptional customer service.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Valerie (NSW), reviewed over 6 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent term deposit review

Overall rating   10 / 10

When I go to Newcastle Perm, staff are always friendly,courteous and helpful. More ATMs would be helpful..

Full review

When I go to Newcastle Perm, staff are always friendly,courteous and helpful. More ATMs would be helpful..

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Patricia (NSW), reviewed about 7 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent term deposit review

Overall rating   10 / 10

I like the interest rates they offer and the terms, also anything to do with my account just takes a phone call and it is sorted, no problems. I would definitely recommend this bank to anyone, I even signed my son up with them and my husband is...

Full review

I like the interest rates they offer and the terms, also anything to do with my account just takes a phone call and it is sorted, no problems. I would definitely recommend this bank to anyone, I even signed my son up with them and my husband is also a member.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Julie (NSW), reviewed over 7 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent term deposit review

Overall rating   7 / 10

I have a passbook account with Newcastle Permanent as atm cards aren't appropriate for me. Yes its ok but having the fees for going over the 4 withdrawals a month is very annoying

Full review

I have a passbook account with Newcastle Permanent as atm cards aren't appropriate for me. Yes its ok but having the fees for going over the 4 withdrawals a month is very annoying

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Racquel (NSW), reviewed almost 8 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Term deposit comparisons on Mozo Rates updated daily

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    RaboDirect Term Deposit

    RaboDirect Term Deposit

    • Guaranteed return on your savings
    • Start with as little as $1,000
    • Interest paid monthly, quarterly, half yearly or yearly

    interest rate*

    3.30% p.a.
    5 years

    Go to site

    More info

    • Guaranteed return on your savings
    • Start with as little as $1,000
    • Interest paid monthly, quarterly, half yearly or yearly
    • Minimum deposit: $1,000
    • Maximum deposit: $2,000,000
    • Can interest be paid to another bank?: no
    • Automatic rollover: yes
    Overall rating

    6.9

    Based on 13 RaboDirect term deposit reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • ING DIRECT Term Deposit

    ING DIRECT Term Deposit

    • No ING DIRECT fees
    • Deposit from $10K to $5 million
    • Loyalty Bonus Rate on rollover

    interest rate*

    3.00% p.a.
    1 year

    Go to site

    More info

    • No ING DIRECT fees
    • Deposit from $10K to $5 million
    • Loyalty Bonus Rate on rollover
    • Minimum deposit: $10,000
    • Maximum deposit: $5,000,000
    • Can interest be paid to another bank?: yes
    • Automatic rollover: yes
    Overall rating

    8.7

    Based on 55 ING DIRECT term deposit reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bank Australia Term Deposit

    Bank Australia Term Deposit

    • High interest rate
    • Short investment term of 3 months for investments over $5K
    • Interest paid at maturity

    interest rate*

    2.85% p.a.
    2 years

    Go to site

    More info

    • High interest rate
    • Short investment term of 3 months for investments over $5K
    • Interest paid at maturity
    • Minimum deposit: $5,000
    • Maximum deposit: $500,000
    • Can interest be paid to another bank?: no
    • Automatic rollover: yes
    Overall rating

    6.3

    Based on 3 Bank Australia term deposit reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bankwest Online Term Deposit

    Bankwest Online Term Deposit

    • No fees
    • Invest anything from $1,000 to $5 million
    • 100% secure online application process

    interest rate*

    2.70% p.a.
    6 months

    Go to site

    More info

    • No fees
    • Invest anything from $1,000 to $5 million
    • 100% secure online application process
    • Minimum deposit: $1,000
    • Maximum deposit: $5,000,000
    • Can interest be paid to another bank?: yes
    • Automatic rollover: yes
    Overall rating

    7.7

    Based on 47 Bankwest term deposit reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • AMP Term Deposit

    AMP Term Deposit

    • No account fees
    • Decent returns earning interest on your savings
    • Interest payable every one, three or six months (special conditions or reduced rates apply)

    interest rate*

    2.60% p.a.
    1 year

    Go to site

    More info

    • No account fees
    • Decent returns earning interest on your savings
    • Interest payable every one, three or six months (special conditions or reduced rates apply)
    • Minimum deposit: $25,000
    • Maximum deposit: $5,000,000
    • Can interest be paid to another bank?: yes
    • Automatic rollover: yes
    Overall rating

    5.1

    Based on 10 AMP term deposit reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 73 term deposits in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare all term deposits

Look for a specific type of term deposit:

* Different interest rates apply to different amounts or different interest payment frequencies.

Back to top