Westpac bank account reviews

Westpac
Westpac's overall rating for bank accounts

(as rated by the Mozo community)

7.9 / 10

based on 1670 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured bank account from Westpac

Recent Westpac bank account reviews

Westpac

Westpac Choice Student bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

The best bank in the world

I have been with them for a long time and they have always looked after all my financial needs.

Full review

I have been with them for a long time and they have always looked after all my financial needs.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Patrick (QLD), reviewed 1 day ago

Westpac

Westpac Choice bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

They're great

I love Westpac, they are nice people, they look after you if you are stranded and overall they're great

Full review

I love Westpac, they are nice people, they look after you if you are stranded and overall they're great

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Laura (VIC), reviewed 3 days ago

Westpac

Westpac Choice bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Happy

I'm happy with the way things are at the moment.

Full review

I'm happy with the way things are at the moment.

    Price   -1 / 10

    Features   -1 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Glenn (VIC), reviewed 3 days ago

Westpac

Westpac bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service

1. Staff are very efficient at explaining their products. 2. Cons - they do not ever suggest other packages to benefit the customer. You need to go into a branch and ask if there are better deals being offered about every 3 months. 3. I have...

Full review

1. Staff are very efficient at explaining their products. 2. Cons - they do not ever suggest other packages to benefit the customer. You need to go into a branch and ask if there are better deals being offered about every 3 months. 3. I have been with Westpac for many years and know a lot of staff at my local branch. They are always willing to help you when you have queries; but I guess having so many customers they cannot give us a better way to bank with them unless we go in and ask them.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jean (VIC), reviewed 5 days ago

Westpac

Westpac bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Happy

Westpac has been looking after my Banking needs now for 25 years with no hassles!

Full review

Westpac has been looking after my Banking needs now for 25 years with no hassles!

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Terry (QLD), reviewed 6 days ago

Westpac

Westpac Choice bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Fraudulent account activity

Recently I had reason to call Westpac Bank. The staff member kept me informed and resolved my issue VERY promptly. Fantastic experience Westpac!

Full review

Recently I had reason to call Westpac Bank. The staff member kept me informed and resolved my issue VERY promptly. Fantastic experience Westpac!

    Price   -1 / 10

    Features   -1 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Karen (WA), reviewed 6 days ago

Westpac

Westpac Choice bank account review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Just OK

There seems to be a confusion with their bank statements, in particular, the everyday transaction. Some transactions do not appear on statements until a little later which causes confusion. I do understand that the time differences in Australia is...

Full review

There seems to be a confusion with their bank statements, in particular, the everyday transaction. Some transactions do not appear on statements until a little later which causes confusion. I do understand that the time differences in Australia is to blame but it would be convenient if someone or a company invented some sort of program to help alleviate this confusion.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Kalesita (QLD), reviewed 6 days ago

Westpac

Westpac bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great bank

I have been a customer for 20 years. Great bank, but would like a smaller credit card.

Full review

I have been a customer for 20 years. Great bank, but would like a smaller credit card.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Julie (NSW), reviewed 6 days ago

Westpac

Westpac Choice bank account review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Great bank for people on pensions

Been with this bank for over 15yrs. I changed to Westpac as they don't give me a fee every month like Commonwealth, and are very accommodating if I have any questions .

Full review

Been with this bank for over 15yrs. I changed to Westpac as they don't give me a fee every month like Commonwealth, and are very accommodating if I have any questions .

    Price   -1 / 10

    Features   -1 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Simone (VIC), reviewed 6 days ago

Westpac

Westpac Choice bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Wonderful

Absolutely love banking with westpac, have been with them since I was 14 years old and never looked back, no monthly fees, great assistance with anything you need.

Full review

Absolutely love banking with westpac, have been with them since I was 14 years old and never looked back, no monthly fees, great assistance with anything you need.

    Price   -1 / 10

    Features   -1 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jessica (NSW), reviewed 6 days ago

Westpac

Westpac bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Should be called best bank

Best bank so far

Full review

Best bank so far

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Rebecca (WA), reviewed 9 days ago

Westpac

Westpac Choice bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great

Spot on, they sort out all accounts quickly.

Full review

Spot on, they sort out all accounts quickly.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Ernest (WA), reviewed 9 days ago

Westpac

Westpac Choice bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Good

I like banking with westpac bank and I will be telling all my friends

Full review

I like banking with westpac bank and I will be telling all my friends

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Melissa (SA), reviewed 9 days ago

Westpac

Westpac bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great friendly people.

I have been with Westpac for more than 30 years. I have had several homes and business loans (all paid off) with them and have had very good service from them.

Full review

I have been with Westpac for more than 30 years. I have had several homes and business loans (all paid off) with them and have had very good service from them.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Peter (NSW), reviewed 9 days ago

Westpac

Westpac Choice bank account review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Very good

10/10 very good bank

Full review

10/10 very good bank

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Jamie (NSW), reviewed 9 days ago

Westpac

Westpac Choice bank account review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Competitive, but not room to bargain.

As with any bank, ensure customer service continues after accounts finalised and that people are not just treated as numbers once signed up. Simple service and respect would be great.

Full review

As with any bank, ensure customer service continues after accounts finalised and that people are not just treated as numbers once signed up. Simple service and respect would be great.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Helen (VIC), reviewed 9 days ago

Westpac

Westpac bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Very good

Have banked with them for years and am very happy

Full review

Have banked with them for years and am very happy

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Paula (TAS), reviewed 9 days ago

Westpac

Westpac Choice bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Reliable

Amazing. I'm glad I made the choice to switch from BOQ.

Full review

Amazing. I'm glad I made the choice to switch from BOQ.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Kristal (WA), reviewed 9 days ago

Westpac

Westpac bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great

It's the best, helpful and friendly

Full review

It's the best, helpful and friendly

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Michael (WA), reviewed 9 days ago

Westpac

Westpac Choice bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Very happy with account and services

Very happy with account and services. I would recommend westpac to potential customers. In process of opening a savings account for baby. Interest is very low as in monthly account fees and can also earn money from your money if leave enough in...

Full review

Very happy with account and services. I would recommend westpac to potential customers. In process of opening a savings account for baby. Interest is very low as in monthly account fees and can also earn money from your money if leave enough in your account.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Louisa (VIC), reviewed 9 days ago

Westpac

Westpac Choice bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Loyal customer

I have been a loyal Westpac member for many years and have never had any problems at all. Westpac services are so reliable and very helpful.

Full review

I have been a loyal Westpac member for many years and have never had any problems at all. Westpac services are so reliable and very helpful.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Monalisa (NSW), reviewed 5 months ago

Westpac

Westpac bank account review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Would consider another bank

Not very happy with their online banking as it seems out of sync.

Full review

Not very happy with their online banking as it seems out of sync.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Rebecca (WA), reviewed 5 months ago

Westpac

Westpac bank account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great customer service, but otherwise mediocre

On the plus side, staff are friendly and helpful, making problems easy to resolve, and new accounts/cards easy to set up, and online services are easy to use. However, their costs and interest rates are mediocre, and they fund environmentally...

Full review

On the plus side, staff are friendly and helpful, making problems easy to resolve, and new accounts/cards easy to set up, and online services are easy to use. However, their costs and interest rates are mediocre, and they fund environmentally damaging projects, such as deforestation, and coal mining on the Great Barrier Reef.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Christopher (WA), reviewed 5 months ago

Westpac

Westpac bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Good customer service - face to face and via phone

Westpac is a convenient bank. Online banking is second to none. Easy to make fund transfers.

Full review

Westpac is a convenient bank. Online banking is second to none. Easy to make fund transfers.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Peter (TAS), reviewed 5 months ago

Westpac

Westpac Choice bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service, never have any problems

Westpac is the best bank to deal with in every way. The easiest in terms of internet banking. Never had any problems.

Full review

Westpac is the best bank to deal with in every way. The easiest in terms of internet banking. Never had any problems.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Violet (VIC), reviewed 5 months ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Bank account comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • ING Orange Everyday

    ING Orange Everyday

    • $75 cash bonus
    • Free ATMs in Aus, when you deposit $1k per month (& from Mar 2018, 5+ card purchases in the month)
    • No everyday fees, which means more of your money is where it belongs, in your pocket

    account fee

    $0.00

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • $75 cash bonus
    • Free ATMs in Aus, when you deposit $1k per month (& from Mar 2018, 5+ card purchases in the month)
    • No everyday fees, which means more of your money is where it belongs, in your pocket
    • Atm networks: None
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Free ATM use in Australia and overseas and free international transactions when you deposit at least $1,000 from an external bank account each month, free EFTPOS withdrawals.
    Overall rating

    9.2

    Based on 206 ING bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • NAB Classic Banking Account

    NAB Classic Banking Account

    • No monthly account fees ever, with no conditions.
    • Free use at over 10,000 ATMs around Australia
    • 24/7 Mobile Banking, including Quick Balance and Tap & Pay for Android

    account fee

    $0.00

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0.01% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • No monthly account fees ever, with no conditions.
    • Free use at over 10,000 ATMs around Australia
    • 24/7 Mobile Banking, including Quick Balance and Tap & Pay for Android
    • Atm networks: NAB, rediATM
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit or
      EFTPOS
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.01% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from own-bank ATM, EFTPOS, counter withdrawals, counter deposits, phone, internet and Visa debit purchases
    Overall rating

    8.1

    Based on 1377 NAB bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • ANZ Access Advantage

    ANZ Access Advantage

    • $0 monthly account service fee if you deposit at least $2,000 a month
    • Now with Apple Pay
    • Consider if right for you. T&C’s, eligibility criteria apply

    account fee

    $5.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 monthly account service fee if you deposit at least $2,000 a month
    • Now with Apple Pay
    • Consider if right for you. T&C’s, eligibility criteria apply
    • Atm networks: ANZ
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit or
      EFTPOS
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
      Balances from $50,000: 0.01% p.a.
      Balances from $100,000: 0.02% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from own-bank ATM, EFTPOS, cheque, counter withdrawals, counter deposits, phone and internet
    Overall rating

    7.6

    Based on 1579 ANZ bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bankwest Qantas Transaction Account

    Bankwest Qantas Transaction Account

    • Earn Qantas Points on your account balance 365 days a year
    • No ATM fees at Bankwest and CommBank ATMs Australia wide
    • No monthly account fees when you deposit $2,000 each month

    account fee

    $6.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0.01% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • Earn Qantas Points on your account balance 365 days a year
    • No ATM fees at Bankwest and CommBank ATMs Australia wide
    • No monthly account fees when you deposit $2,000 each month
    • Atm networks: Bankwest, Commonwealth
    • What kind of card?: Debit Mastercard
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.01% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free domestic transactions from network ATMs, EFTPOS, cheque, counter withdrawals, phone, internet and Debit MasterCard purchases
    Overall rating

    8.2

    Based on 400 Bankwest bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bankwest Easy Transaction Account

    Bankwest Easy Transaction Account

    • Pay $0 ATM fees at over 10,000 major bank ATMs in Aus. Fees, T&Cs apply
    • No monthly account keeping fees when you deposit at least $2,000 per month
    • 24/7 access to your money via phone

    account fee

    $6.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • Pay $0 ATM fees at over 10,000 major bank ATMs in Aus. Fees, T&Cs apply
    • No monthly account keeping fees when you deposit at least $2,000 per month
    • 24/7 access to your money via phone
    • Atm networks: Bankwest, ANZ, Commonwealth, NAB, Westpac, St.George, BankSA, Bank of Melbourne
    • What kind of card?: Debit Mastercard
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited domestic transactions from network ATMs, EFTPOS, cheque and counter withdrawals
    Overall rating

    8.2

    Based on 400 Bankwest bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 113 bank accounts in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more bank accounts

Look for a specific type of bank account:

-- Choose type --
Back to top