Commonwealth Bank car loan reviews

Commonwealth Bank
Commonwealth Bank's overall rating for car loans

(as rated by the Mozo community)

7.5 / 10

based on 116 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured car loan from Commonwealth Bank

Recent Commonwealth Bank car loan reviews

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Secured Car Loan (Fixed) car loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Could do a little more for pensioners

After applying for a loan it took some time to get a response.

Full review

After applying for a loan it took some time to get a response.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Stuart (QLD), reviewed 9 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Secured Car Loan (Fixed) car loan review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Average service

Was very good to start with but when I applied for a credit card the service was very mediocre.

Full review

Was very good to start with but when I applied for a credit card the service was very mediocre.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Andrea (NSW), reviewed about 1 year ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Student Car Loan (Fixed) car loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Best customer service I have ever received

From start to finish was a good experience

Full review

From start to finish was a good experience

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Abe (QLD), reviewed over 1 year ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) car loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Needed loan for 4x4

Not bad

Full review

Not bad

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Bradley (WA), reviewed over 1 year ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) car loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Easy to manage with excellent service.

I have been a Commonwealth Bank customer for 34 years since I was 6 years old with my first ever bank account. There is a reason for not changing banks, their rates are competitive, their products easy to manage (especially Netbank) and their...

Full review

I have been a Commonwealth Bank customer for 34 years since I was 6 years old with my first ever bank account. There is a reason for not changing banks, their rates are competitive, their products easy to manage (especially Netbank) and their branch staff are always happy, helpful and positive.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Darren (NSW), reviewed almost 2 years ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank car loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent

Very happy with Commonwealth Bank, never going to change

Full review

Very happy with Commonwealth Bank, never going to change

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Ashkim (VIC), reviewed almost 2 years ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Secured Car Loan (Fixed) car loan review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Could improve

Too expensive

Full review

Too expensive

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Halina (QLD), reviewed almost 2 years ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank car loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Low interest paid.

Low interest paid.

Full review

Low interest paid.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Prudence (NSW), reviewed almost 2 years ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) car loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Fantastic service with loans

Great for loans. They will help you find the best loan that suits you.

Full review

Great for loans. They will help you find the best loan that suits you.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Emma (NSW), reviewed about 2 years ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) car loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Always helpful to their customers

Awesome bank to use, no problems or hassles

Full review

Awesome bank to use, no problems or hassles

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Lionel (NSW), reviewed about 2 years ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank car loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great value product, simple terms and conditions.

Competitive interest rate and simple payment options.

Full review

Competitive interest rate and simple payment options.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

John (VIC), reviewed about 2 years ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) car loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Good service

Easy to get a loan and good service.

Full review

Easy to get a loan and good service.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Courtney (QLD), reviewed about 2 years ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank car loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Friendly service

Helpful explaining loan options.

Full review

Helpful explaining loan options.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Anthony (NSW), reviewed about 2 years ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank car loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Banked with them for years and will stay with them

Great service and helpful advice!

Full review

Great service and helpful advice!

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Maddie (NSW), reviewed about 2 years ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Secured Car Loan (Fixed) car loan review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Horrible interest rates and poor customer service

They gave me a horrible interest rate of 18% and continued to over draw my account even after receiving my weekly car loan payment.

Full review

They gave me a horrible interest rate of 18% and continued to over draw my account even after receiving my weekly car loan payment.

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Convenience   2 / 10

    Trust   2 / 10

Less

Cameron (SA), reviewed over 2 years ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank car loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great

Easy, simple and convenient.

Full review

Easy, simple and convenient.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Paul (NSW), reviewed over 2 years ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Secured Car Loan (Fixed) car loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

I've been with Commbank for over two decades

It's OK banking with Commbank.

Full review

It's OK banking with Commbank.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Francine (WA), reviewed over 2 years ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) car loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Awesome

Hassle free loan, fast friendly service.

Full review

Hassle free loan, fast friendly service.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Sandra (WA), reviewed over 2 years ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank car loan review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Savings and loans

I was not fully aware of all the hidden charges like life insurance plus the interest rates are far too high.

Full review

I was not fully aware of all the hidden charges like life insurance plus the interest rates are far too high.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Michael (WA), reviewed over 2 years ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank car loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Affordable repayments with an overdraft

Affordable repayments with an overdraft on my account so I don't default.

Full review

Affordable repayments with an overdraft on my account so I don't default.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Kathy (NSW), reviewed over 2 years ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) car loan review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Gimme a break guys!

As you most likely know, the banks use our money and earn massive interest. And they refuse a small family a business & car loan pretty much by telling me that it wasn't possible because my account was $1.90c in debit. Even though it was the $5...

Full review

As you most likely know, the banks use our money and earn massive interest. And they refuse a small family a business & car loan pretty much by telling me that it wasn't possible because my account was $1.90c in debit. Even though it was the $5 account keeping fee that put my account into arrears to start with. When I signed up for my account over 15 years ago I was supposed to be able to make 4 free commonwealth ATM withdrawals per month without charges. Now when I ask for my fees back because I'm on government payments raising two children and times are hard, they reimburse me a whole $4. Yep that's right a whole 400 cents.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Adam (QLD), reviewed over 2 years ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Secured Car Loan (Fixed) car loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Convenient only.

I should have done better research instead of going with what "I know".

Full review

I should have done better research instead of going with what "I know".

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (QLD), reviewed over 2 years ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Secured Car Loan (Fixed) car loan review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Reasonable

There seems to be a lack of information unless you commit to something first. Not good for doing some research yourself.

Full review

There seems to be a lack of information unless you commit to something first. Not good for doing some research yourself.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Catherine (QLD), reviewed over 2 years ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Secured Car Loan (Fixed) car loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Please help me

Need a car, I've got 3 kids and 1 on the way in a month.

Full review

Need a car, I've got 3 kids and 1 on the way in a month.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Hassan (NSW), reviewed over 2 years ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Secured Car Loan (Fixed) car loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Needs a new loan.

Excellent car loan and all paid.

Full review

Excellent car loan and all paid.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Leonie (NT), reviewed over 2 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Car loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • Australian Military Bank Car Loan - Excellent Credit (Up to 5 years old, Variable)

    Australian Military Bank Car Loan - Excellent Credit (Up to 5 years old, Variable)

    • Tailored rates based on your personal credit history
    • Apply Online
    • No penalty for early repayment

    Interest rate

    5.71% p.a.to 8.66% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    6.57% p.a.to 10.07% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    Fees

    $100.00upfront
    and
    $10.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    • Tailored rates based on your personal credit history
    • Apply Online
    • No penalty for early repayment
    • Upfront fees: $100
    • Monthly fee: $10.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Vehicle
    • Minimum loan amount: $1,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $80,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 7 Years
    Overall rating

    6.1

    Based on 18 Australian Military Bank car loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • bcu Car Loan Special (Less than 5 years old, Variable)

    bcu Car Loan Special (Less than 5 years old, Variable)

    • Available for any cars up to 5 years old.
    • 1 hour fast approval
    • Redraw facility

    Interest rate

    5.90% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    6.82% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    Fees

    $250.00upfront
    and
    $8.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    • Available for any cars up to 5 years old.
    • 1 hour fast approval
    • Redraw facility
    • Upfront fees: $250
    • Monthly fee: $8.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Vehicle
    • Minimum loan amount: $5,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $65,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 5 Years
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Featured product

     

    Latitude Car Loan (Fixed)

    Latitude Car Loan (Fixed)

    • Funds available in 2 business days from approval
    • One fixed regular payment with a clear end date. Use for cars, boats, caravans and horse floats.
    • Early termination fees apply

    Interest rate

    6.99% p.a.to 14.99% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    8.10% p.a.to 16.06% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    Fees

    $295.00upfront
    and
    $10.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    • Funds available in 2 business days from approval
    • One fixed regular payment with a clear end date. Use for cars, boats, caravans and horse floats.
    • Early termination fees apply
    • Upfront fees: $295
    • Monthly fee: $10.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Vehicle
    • Minimum loan amount: $5,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 7 Years
    Overall rating

    4.1

    Based on 21 Latitude car loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • NRMA New Car Loan (Fixed)

    NRMA New Car Loan (Fixed)

    • No monthly fees and flexible repayment options
    • Quick and easy online application process
    • Low fix interest rates with terms up to 7 years

    Interest rate

    5.99% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    6.53% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    Fees

    $380.00upfront
    and
    $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    • No monthly fees and flexible repayment options
    • Quick and easy online application process
    • Low fix interest rates with terms up to 7 years
    • Upfront fees: $380
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Vehicle
    • Minimum loan amount: $15,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 7 Years
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • RACQ Bank Fixed New Car Loan (under 2 years old)

    RACQ Bank Fixed New Car Loan (under 2 years old)

    • No deposit required
    • No monthly account keeping fee
    • Unlimited additional repayments and no early payout fee

    Interest rate

    6.17% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    6.72% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    Fees

    $395.00upfront
    and
    $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    • No deposit required
    • No monthly account keeping fee
    • Unlimited additional repayments and no early payout fee
    • Upfront fees: $395
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee:
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Vehicle
    • Minimum loan amount: $3,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $60,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 7 Years
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 191 car loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more car loans

Look for a specific type of car loan:

-- Choose loan type --

*The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a personal loan. The comparison rates displayed are for the amounts and terms quoted, based on monthly principal and interest repayments, on a secured basis for secured loans and an unsecured basis for unsecured loans, and apply only to these examples. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Full comparison rate schedules are available from lenders. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

Back to top