Thumbnail icon for Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent Home loan reviews

Overall rating
8.6/10
Price
8.5/10
Features
7.6/10
Customer service
8.6/10
Convenience
8.3/10
Trust
8.7/10
Based on 215 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Featured home loan from Newcastle Permanent

Discounted Variable Home Loan Premium Plus Package

interest rate
2.94% p.a. variable
comparison rate*
3.34% p.a.

Promoted

Recent Newcastle Permanent home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Newcastle Permanent Special Fixed Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Premium Plus Package) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Leading interest rates and friendly staff

    The Newcastle Permanent is a strong, trustworthy brand that consistently offers lower rate home loans than the major banks. They do require a higher deposit to start with, and they also work out if you can service the loan more strictly than the banks, but I see these as positives - it means you're definitely not over committing yourself and can make your repayments even if your borrowing capacity is lower than the banks offer. The staff are always friendly too.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    David, New South Wales, reviewed 10 days ago
  • Newcastle Permanent Premium Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Great rates.

    We went through a broker for the initial loan but when we have needed to use the local branch they have been very helpful.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Tammy, New South Wales, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Newcastle Permanent Premium Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great people.

    Great personal service.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Janette, New South Wales, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Newcastle Permanent Premium Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Great personal treatment.

    Great people and service.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Andrew, New South Wales, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Newcastle Permanent Premium Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Customer help line is very good.

    Friendly staff and accessible physical banks as well as easy internet banking.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Annette, New South Wales, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Newcastle Permanent Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great customer service.

    My bank manager is amazing, she always goes above and beyond to find us the best deals.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Jo, New South Wales, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Newcastle Permanent Discounted Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Premium Plus Package) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Easy to deal with

    Newcastle permanent will guide you through applications. If they don’t think that you’re going to make their criteria, they will tell you before the application goes for approval so you do not end up with black marks against your credit score. I have dealt with other lenders in the past and they don’t care about this.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Henry, New South Wales, reviewed 8 months ago
  • Newcastle Permanent Premium Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Great service

    I'm a long time customer with Newcastle Permanent and I can say I am very satisfied.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Mary, New South Wales, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • Newcastle Permanent Home Loan review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Is better than the big banks

    This home loan provider provides competitive rates to better the so called big four banks.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Emmanuel, New South Wales, reviewed almost 4 years ago
  • Newcastle Permanent Premium Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Best bank available for your home loan.

    A friend recommended NP to us 20 yrs ago and we have never looked back. It is the best and most reliable bank and we have been happy with them from day one of getting our mortgage. I will always recommend this bank to our friends and family.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Tina, New South Wales, reviewed about 4 years ago
  • Newcastle Permanent Special Real Deal Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Great rates and helpful friendly staff

    Newcastle Permanent have always been extremely helpful and convenient whether applying for our first home loan, making life changes and adjusting loans or borrowing extra funds.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Karen, New South Wales, reviewed about 4 years ago
  • Newcastle Permanent Home Loan review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Good

    Good in terms of customer service. Bad in terms of flexibility.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Bishnu, New South Wales, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • Newcastle Permanent Real Equity Line of Credit (Owner Occupier) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Fantastic customer service, better than big banks.

    I love that they are local and that if I need to speak to them on the phone they are based here in Australia.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Michelle, New South Wales, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • Newcastle Permanent Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Friendly staff great service.

    Easy convenient friendly staff.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Samantha, New South Wales, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • Newcastle Permanent Special Real Deal Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Great, competitive interest rates

    Newcastle Permanent offer competitive home loan rates and always pass on rate cuts quickly.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Michelle, New South Wales, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Home Loan 80

      interest rate
      2.63% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.65% p.a.

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan - Discount Offer

      interest rate
      2.59% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.59% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Fixed Rate Home Loan Wealth Package

      interest rate
      2.29% p.a.
      fixed 2 years
      comparison rate*
      3.99% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Fixed Rate Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.09% p.a.
      fixed 2 years
      comparison rate*
      2.98% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Flexible Home Loan Member Package

      interest rate
      2.39% p.a.
      fixed 1 year
      comparison rate*
      3.45% p.a.

      Promoted

    *WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 550 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.