Newcastle Permanent home loan reviews

Newcastle Permanent
Newcastle Permanent's overall rating for home loans

(as rated by the Mozo community)

8.5 / 10

based on 80 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Top 5 home loans 2015

Featured home loan from Newcastle Permanent

Recent Newcastle Permanent home loan reviews

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Is better than the big banks

This home loan provider provides competitive rates to better the so called big four banks.

This home loan provider provides competitive rates to better the so called big four banks.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Emmanuel (NSW), reviewed 9 months ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent Premium Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Best bank available for your home loan.

A friend recommended NP to us 20 yrs ago and we have never looked back. It is the best and most reliable bank and we have been happy with them from day one of getting our mortgage. I will always recommend this bank to our friends and family.

A friend recommended NP to us 20 yrs ago and we have never looked back. It is the best and most reliable bank and we have been happy with them from day one of getting our mortgage. I will always recommend this bank to our friends and family.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Tina (NSW), reviewed 12 months ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent Discounted Real Deal Home Loan (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great rates and helpful friendly staff

Newcastle Permanent have always been extremely helpful and convenient whether applying for our first home loan, making life changes and adjusting loans or borrowing extra funds.

Newcastle Permanent have always been extremely helpful and convenient whether applying for our first home loan, making life changes and adjusting loans or borrowing extra funds.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Karen (NSW), reviewed 12 months ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Good

Good in terms of customer service. Bad in terms of flexibility.

Good in terms of customer service. Bad in terms of flexibility.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Bishnu (NSW), reviewed about 1 year ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent home loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Not a good product

I thought this Building Society would not be as greedy as the banks and I was wrong, I would not choose them again.

I thought this Building Society would not be as greedy as the banks and I was wrong, I would not choose them again.

    Price   -1 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Ellen (NSW), reviewed over 1 year ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent Real Equity Line of Credit (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Fantastic customer service, better than big banks.

I love that they are local and that if I need to speak to them on the phone they are based here in Australia.

I love that they are local and that if I need to speak to them on the phone they are based here in Australia.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Michelle (NSW), reviewed over 1 year ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Friendly staff great service.

Easy convenient friendly staff.

Easy convenient friendly staff.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Samantha (NSW), reviewed over 1 year ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent Discounted Real Deal Home Loan (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great, competitive interest rates

Newcastle Permanent offer competitive home loan rates and always pass on rate cuts quickly.

Newcastle Permanent offer competitive home loan rates and always pass on rate cuts quickly.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Michelle (NSW), reviewed over 1 year ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent Premium Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Competitive & trustworthy

Very competitive products provided with simplicity, ease & integrity.

Very competitive products provided with simplicity, ease & integrity.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Michael (NSW), reviewed over 1 year ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Happy with customer service

Convenience of location and familiarity.

Convenience of location and familiarity.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Kerry (NSW), reviewed over 1 year ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent Premium Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great service and fantastic online options

Great local service and far more competitive than the big guys. At least one Newcastle team is kicking goals.

Great local service and far more competitive than the big guys. At least one Newcastle team is kicking goals.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mathew (NSW), reviewed over 1 year ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great

A great place for home loans . Bank card and any other products you need .

A great place for home loans . Bank card and any other products you need .

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Pauline (NSW), reviewed almost 2 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Very easy to navigate online

I like this institution due to low interest rates and friendly customer service they provide.You always talk to a person not a computer generated message.

I like this institution due to low interest rates and friendly customer service they provide.You always talk to a person not a computer generated message.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Daryl (NSW), reviewed almost 2 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent Discounted Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier) (Premium Plus Package) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Wonderful

Great product with fantastic access.

Great product with fantastic access.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Lyndal (NSW), reviewed almost 2 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Competitive features, great rate, excellent staff!

We love the Newcastle Permanent. It has a great rate, fabulous staff who always go the extra mile and excellent facilities available in our home loan package. It's very flexible and we've always found the staff very helpful.

We love the Newcastle Permanent. It has a great rate, fabulous staff who always go the extra mile and excellent facilities available in our home loan package. It's very flexible and we've always found the staff very helpful.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Brooke (NSW), reviewed almost 2 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Competitive, friendly, convenient

Competitive, friendly, convenient.

Competitive, friendly, convenient.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Ross (NSW), reviewed almost 2 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent Discounted Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier) (Premium Plus Package) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Personalized Service

Newcastle Permanent bent over backwards to ensure we received the right product. It didn't end there, as with most banks! They continue to provide wonderful follow up and personalized service.

Newcastle Permanent bent over backwards to ensure we received the right product. It didn't end there, as with most banks! They continue to provide wonderful follow up and personalized service.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Cath (NSW), reviewed almost 2 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent home loan review

Overall rating   3 / 10

False advertising

Rate advertised is not rate used to access borrowing capacity. 2% higher than internet calculators. If you think you are right to borrow, think again.

Rate advertised is not rate used to access borrowing capacity. 2% higher than internet calculators. If you think you are right to borrow, think again.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   1 / 10

Less

Ad (NSW), reviewed almost 2 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great service & competitive rates

Best home loan ever. You can pay any amount extra off loan without restrictions. You can redraw funds in advance of your loan easily.

Best home loan ever. You can pay any amount extra off loan without restrictions. You can redraw funds in advance of your loan easily.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   -1 / 10

Less

Ann (NSW), reviewed almost 2 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great personalised service

They make banking personal, you're not just treated as an account number. The website is very easy to navigate, easy to keep track of all your accounts including the home loan. The only con would be a need for more ATMs, however, since you can...

They make banking personal, you're not just treated as an account number. The website is very easy to navigate, easy to keep track of all your accounts including the home loan. The only con would be a need for more ATMs, however, since you can now use Westpac ATMs fee free, this is not a problem at all. A great bank.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Phil (NSW), reviewed almost 2 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent Special Discounted Fixed Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service & greeted with a smile

The staff are fantastic, customer service is prompt & efficient. You don't have to wait long periods of time like other banks, you walk in the door & you are served straight away ,as they always have plenty of staff to assist you with whatever you...

The staff are fantastic, customer service is prompt & efficient. You don't have to wait long periods of time like other banks, you walk in the door & you are served straight away ,as they always have plenty of staff to assist you with whatever you need.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Melissa (NSW), reviewed about 2 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Best customer service

Newcastle Permanent Building Society have knowledgeable happy staff who honestly try to help find the best arrangement for you. They help the community and because they don't have to pay dividends to stockholders all their profits are reinvested....

Newcastle Permanent Building Society have knowledgeable happy staff who honestly try to help find the best arrangement for you. They help the community and because they don't have to pay dividends to stockholders all their profits are reinvested. This means lower charges to all their members.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Carmel (NSW), reviewed about 2 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Competitive loans and great customer service

Excellent loan rates, very competitive, and the service is always friendly and very forthcoming with any information.

Excellent loan rates, very competitive, and the service is always friendly and very forthcoming with any information.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Carlos (NSW), reviewed about 2 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent home loan review

Overall rating   4 / 10

No loyalty here.

Unfortunately I grew too big for this bank, after being a faithful loyal customer since I started my first job and with numerous personal and investment property loans, they refused me where the big banks were throwing money at me. Newcastle Perm...

Unfortunately I grew too big for this bank, after being a faithful loyal customer since I started my first job and with numerous personal and investment property loans, they refused me where the big banks were throwing money at me. Newcastle Perm does not like you to be cash and property rich , they want to see you have a regular job with income despite having enough cash reserves to buy what I wanted but I wanted the tax deductions that a loan would give. All my investments and loans now with the big boys.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Neil (NSW), reviewed about 2 years ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent home loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Poor evaluator

Very disappointed that the property valuator inspected my place and told me it was worth a higher price in the market and then told the bank it was work the exact same price I purchased it for, for a brand new house which my initial deposit was...

Very disappointed that the property valuator inspected my place and told me it was worth a higher price in the market and then told the bank it was work the exact same price I purchased it for, for a brand new house which my initial deposit was 2yrs ago. Got another bank to compare which was a big price difference. Interest rates are great but inconvenient bank as not many branches.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Leena , reviewed about 2 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Home loan comparisons on Mozo Rates updated daily

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    Gateway Credit Union Variable Rate Home Loan (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier) (Premium Package)

    Gateway Credit Union Variable Rate Home Loan (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier) (Premium Package)

    • Ability to make unlimited bulk repayments without penalty
    • Offers borrowers up to three free splits
    • Access extra features such as multiple offset accounts

    interest rate

    3.73% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    4.05% p.a.

    Upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • Ability to make unlimited bulk repayments without penalty
    • Offers borrowers up to three free splits
    • Access extra features such as multiple offset accounts
    • Interest rate: 3.73% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 4.05% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $299.00 yearly
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes - free
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $150,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.6

    Based on 8 Gateway Credit Union home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    UBank UHomeLoan - Value Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    UBank UHomeLoan - Value Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • Experts Choice Winner - Home Loans 2016
    • No monthly fees
    • 20% minimum deposit required

    interest rate

    3.74% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.74% p.a.

    Upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • Experts Choice Winner - Home Loans 2016
    • No monthly fees
    • 20% minimum deposit required
    • Interest rate: 3.74% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.74% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $100,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    4.8

    Based on 56 UBank home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    HSBC Discounted Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier)

    HSBC Discounted Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier)

    • Owner occupier only
    • Available to new borrowings to HSBC of $50,000 or more
    • Your own Personal Relationship Manager

    interest rate

    3.75% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.77% p.a.

    Upfront fees

    $270

    Go to site

    More info

    • Owner occupier only
    • Available to new borrowings to HSBC of $50,000 or more
    • Your own Personal Relationship Manager
    • Interest rate: 3.75% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.77% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $270
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 90.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $7,500,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest, Interest Only
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.1

    Based on 32 HSBC home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • SCU Basic Home Loan

    SCU Basic Home Loan

    • Redraw facility
    • Flexible repayment options
    • No annual or monthly fees

    interest rate

    3.77% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.81% p.a.

    Upfront fees

    $695

    Go to site

    More info

    • Redraw facility
    • Flexible repayment options
    • No annual or monthly fees
    • Interest rate: 3.77% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.81% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $695
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $180.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - $50
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 95.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $150,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier, Investor
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    9.4

    Based on 5 SCU home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    Bank Australia Basic Home Loan - (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier)

    Bank Australia Basic Home Loan - (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier)

    • Option to fix full loan or split between fixed and variable
    • Redraw available. Flexible repayments
    • Loan repayment pause available

    interest rate

    3.79% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.83% p.a.

    Upfront fees

    $595

    Go to site

    More info

    • Option to fix full loan or split between fixed and variable
    • Redraw available. Flexible repayments
    • Loan repayment pause available
    • Interest rate: 3.79% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.83% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $595
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $250.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $10,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest, Interest Only
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.7

    Based on 35 Bank Australia home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 505 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare all home loans

Look for a specific type of home loan:

* The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a home loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years, and applies only to this example. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Full comparison rate schedules are available from lenders. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

Back to top