Thumbnail icon for St.George

St.George Bank account reviews

Overall rating
7.6/10
Price
6.7/10
Features
6.3/10
Customer service
7.7/10
Convenience
7.7/10
Trust
7.7/10
Based on 1569 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent St.George bank account reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • St.George Bank Account review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Average. No hidden fees

    They could try and help survivors of DV instead of charging them for bank statements needed to get help.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    4 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Kellie, Queensland, reviewed 17 days ago
  • St.George Complete Freedom Account review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Better interest rates are needed.

    Convenience and customer service and all well and good - but the bottom line is they don't match the smaller banks when it comes to investment interest rates. Baby boomers need a bank which offers great returns, not housing and personal loans.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Jo, New South Wales, reviewed 17 days ago
  • St.George Complete Freedom Account review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Ok but more innovation required

    The bank is ok and have been helpful in the past. However I would like to see more innovation from them in future especially with their apps.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Daniel, New South Wales, reviewed 18 days ago
  • St.George Complete Freedom Student and Under 21s Account review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Value for tertiary students but lacks rewards.

    Good in terms of no fees with the account. However, a lot of branches already offer it.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Phillip, New South Wales, reviewed 19 days ago
  • St.George Complete Freedom Account review

    Overall rating   4 / 10
    Customer service sucks.

    Terrible customer service. Had to go to the ombudsman.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    3 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Kirsten, New South Wales, reviewed 19 days ago
  • St.George Complete Freedom Account review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Overall decent product.

    I'm on the fence. Started using St.George for a joint account. The mobile app and the online banking site could be better. It's hard to find things compared to others e.g. CommBank. However, the bank itself is very efficient and helpful and the staff in the branches are pleasant and helpful. Using their Smart ATMs is a positive experience when the branch is closed and I've had no issues getting through on the phone. An overall decent product and positive experience but it's still early days!

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Luke, Queensland, reviewed 21 days ago
  • St.George Bank Account review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Great and expert customer service

    Friendly, knowledgeable staff. Easy to understand packages.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Neil, New South Wales, reviewed 25 days ago
  • St.George Bank Account review

    Overall rating   3 / 10
    Could do much better

    The bank is constantly having issues with online banking and phone banking and the fact I haven't been offered an account review in over 10 years is pretty poor service.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    2 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    2 / 10
    Trust
    3 / 10
    Less
    Kelly, New South Wales, reviewed 25 days ago
  • St.George Bank Account review

    Overall rating   4 / 10
    Okay.

    Basic information provided. Not really on par with major banks but slowly getting there. Now they have Osko.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    2 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Penny, New South Wales, reviewed 28 days ago
  • St.George Complete Freedom Account review

    Overall rating   2 / 10
    Do not recommend St George Bank

    St George used to be good, I have been with them for about 35 years. As a disabled pensioner, I get a fee free account (though I still have to pay if I use the wrong ATM) which has been handy, plus they used to have lots of small branches and ATMs all over the place. This was a big thing for me as I use cash a lot to help maintain my budget. I would weekly remove my weekly allowance and that way I could see how little I had left to budget better. Things started changing after they were bought by Westpac, slowly declining over the years, but they still had lots of easy to get to ATMs. Then I noticed less staff in the smaller branches which caused longer lines and wait times, but I stayed because of all the easy to access ATMs and small local branches. But recently they have been shutting down all the local branches and removing ATMs, now I am having trouble getting to the remaining ones as they are mostly in shopping precincts for a disabled person this makes it a big hassle getting to them and for me a painful experience (chronic pain sufferer) So I have been looking around for a better alternative which is ING. I can use any ATM without a fee, I get foreign currency exchanges without fees and better interest rate, this tops not being able to visit a physical branch. And besides, they have much better customer service.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    3 / 10
    Customer service
    4 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    2 / 10
    Less
    Gary, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • St.George Complete Freedom Account review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Not overly satisfied

    There aren't enough ATMs around.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    4 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Hoang, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • St.George Bank Account review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Reliable, safe, reputable.

    I have never had a problem with St George/Westpac - except for once: they cannot easily change coins for notes. Other banks, such as the Commonwealth Bank, allow you to use counting machines, whereas St George insisted I count hundreds of dollars of coins manually, placing the coins into bags. In 2020, there must be a solution that helps customers count and cash-in their coins other than manual counting. The facility apparently exists for businesses; why doesn't it exist for the smaller customer? Are we not as valued?

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Troy, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • St.George Bank Account review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Service above and and different to other banks

    It is great joy to walk into a bank and be greeted by very pleasant staff who cannot do enough for you.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    George, New South Wales, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • St.George Complete Freedom Account review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Good customer service

    Waive the $5 monthly fee by depositing $2k every month.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Quang, New South Wales, reviewed 2 months ago
  • St.George Complete Freedom Student and Under 21s Account review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Not bad.

    Been using for nearly two years, haven't had too many issues with St. George.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Oshwald, New South Wales, reviewed 2 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Bank account comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Everyday Options

      account fee
      $0.00
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID
      interest rate
      0.01% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Glide Account

      account fee
      $0.00
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID, Samsung Pay, FitBit Pay, Garmin
      interest rate
      0% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Everyday Global Account

      account fee
      $0.00
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID
      interest rate
      0% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Bank Account

      account fee
      $0.00
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Pay
      interest rate
      0% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Access Advantage

      account fee
      $5.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID, Samsung Pay, Garmin, Fitbit
      interest rate
      0% p.a.

      Promoted

    Want more? Compare all 104 bank accounts in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more bank accounts

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.