Thumbnail icon for Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Bank account reviews

Overall rating
7.5/10
Price
6.6/10
Features
6.4/10
Customer service
7.6/10
Convenience
8.2/10
Trust
7.6/10
Based on 7643 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent Commonwealth Bank bank account reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Commonwealth Bank Bank Account review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Amazing staff and easy to find ATMs.

    There is always a Commonwealth Bank somewhere close! The staff are always friendly and happy to help! I have never had an issue with the bank and I have been with them for my entire 28 years of life.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Jemma, South Australia, reviewed 1 day ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Smart Access review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Have had no problems.

    Have had no problems with this bank in the whole time I have had this account which was opened in 1972, The State Bank of Victoria.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Craig, Victoria, reviewed 4 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Smart Access review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Undesirable

    I have developed a distrust for Commonwealth Bank as, on one hand I have experienced excellent customer service via phone when my bank was overdrawn due to my CommInsure payment being over charged (the overdrawal fee was refunded instantly) and on the other, a rep tried to sign me up for a CREDIT card when I was 17. There is little to desire and I have now signed up to an account with higher interest payments.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Emma, Tasmania, reviewed 5 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Bank Account review

    Overall rating   4 / 10
    Convenience at what cost

    So I feel that Commonwealth bank are great on convenience such as branch locations, ATM's and good with customer service. However, they are not funding any community projects I am aware of, have many hidden fees and charges as well as an unethical company model on the whole who can and will take advantage of those least fortunate. For this reason I do not use this bank to save with and am looking at changing banks ASAP.

    Price
    3 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Storm, Tasmania, reviewed 5 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Bank Account review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Overall, not a bad bank, easy to use and access.

    Commonwealth is easily accessible, with many locations and an easy to use app which can be accessed from anywhere. At the same time my bank have never done anything to wow me - the interest on my small personal loan is more than any of my accounts can earn.

    Price
    4 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Ethan, South Australia, reviewed 8 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Bank Account review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Good overall bank.

    Loyal over the years, however the interest rate is low.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Cameron, Victoria, reviewed 8 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Student Smart Access review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Commonbank is convenient

    I like Commbank because the branches and ATMs can be doing in a lot of places. Their apps are also user friendly compared to other online banks that I have come across.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Riziki, Victoria, reviewed 9 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Smart Access review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great customer support for everyday banking

    I’ve never had an issue with my everyday account and the Commonwealth Bank has always provided reliable customer service.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Catherine, Queensland, reviewed 9 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Smart Access review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Bad slow public service attitudes

    Started 2 new accounts and lodged quite a bit of money a month before leaving on overseas trip. They said "One month until cards are issued". It took Commonwealth bank more than a month and I had departed Australia with no cards and the money locked in my accounts.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    4 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    4 / 10
    Less
    Bruce, Queensland, reviewed 9 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Smart Access review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    On balance the bank destroys the good work it does

    Daily activities are made accessible (good online presence), features are current (updates frequent), visibility good in the community (community involvement) however we have also been treated arbitrarily, non-transparently and aggressively which tends to leave a more lasting memory than any good customer service received. My home loan is with another provider, partially due to a single occasion where we perceived we were treated like little, insignificant ants!. Add the royal commission findings into the mix and the damage runs deep in the memory of stakeholders. I don't trust my bank with the things I can't see; it's easy to appear trustworthy with aspects of banking that are inherently visible to the public, it's the hidden stuff that customers are worried about.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    3 / 10
    Less
    Kevin, Queensland, reviewed 10 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Smart Access review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Reliable trustworthy solid bank.

    I’ve had the same bank account since I was 13. There’s never been any issues. New products and offers are always displayed. The apps are easy to use. ATMs available everywhere. Great customer service.

    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Toneil, New South Wales, reviewed 10 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Smart Access review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Take the good with the bad.

    I like that they have conveniently located branches and ATMs. I like that I can deposit money at an ATM or withdraw cash from an ATM without needing my card. Everything is easily accessible on the app or online. The rates aren't very good for savings accounts and I hate receiving fees for bills for overdrawing my account. I feel like my bank doesn't appreciate my loyalty which is frustrating.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Taryn, New South Wales, reviewed 10 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Smart Access review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Which bank? Not!

    Well we all know about CommBank! The ACCC found out .. appallingl. Another big institution not serving the people.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Pam, Western Australia, reviewed 10 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Smart Access review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Would still recommend them.

    As long as you're a good banker they really look after you but if you fall behind on anything they're not as helpful as they could be.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Megan, Victoria, reviewed 10 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Smart Access review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great bank

    Commonwealth bank. Most trusted in Australia. Professional, trustworthy, no bad press and always helpful on any subject bank wise etc.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Jared, Victoria, reviewed 11 days ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Bank account comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Everyday Options

      account fee
      $0.00
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID
      interest rate
      0.01% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Everyday Global Account

      account fee
      $0.00
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID
      interest rate
      0% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Bank Account

      account fee
      $0.00
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Pay
      interest rate
      0% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Glide Account

      account fee
      $0.00
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID, Samsung Pay, FitBit Pay, Garmin
      interest rate
      0% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Classic Banking Account

      account fee
      $0.00
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID, Samsung Pay
      interest rate
      0.01% p.a.

      Promoted

    Want more? Compare all 105 bank accounts in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more bank accounts

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.