Advertisement

HSBC bank account reviews

HSBC
HSBC's overall rating for bank accounts

(as rated by the Mozo community)

7.0 / 10

based on 177 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured bank account from HSBC

Recent HSBC bank account reviews

HSBC

HSBC Bank Account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Good range of services and accounts.

I opened with HSBC bank several years ago as they were the only bank to offer personal foreign currency accounts. All the other major banks only had business foreign currency accounts. I have used HSBC as my main bank for foreign currency...

Full review

I opened with HSBC bank several years ago as they were the only bank to offer personal foreign currency accounts. All the other major banks only had business foreign currency accounts. I have used HSBC as my main bank for foreign currency transactions, day to day banking and for savings. So far I find them quite reasonable to deal with. Their interest rates are competitive, fees are low and they will open and close accounts for you with ease over the counter. The only downside is that they do not have many branches in Perth and their website is often a bit flakey.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Adrienne, Western Australia, reviewed 5 days ago

HSBC

HSBC Everyday Global Account Everyday Global Account review

Overall rating   5 / 10

IB & app are way too slow.

The internet banking and mobile app are soooooooooo slowwwwww.

Full review

The internet banking and mobile app are soooooooooo slowwwwww.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Terry, Queensland, reviewed 18 days ago

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account Day to Day Account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service

The staff are friendly and helpful.

Full review

The staff are friendly and helpful.

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Amanda, Queensland, reviewed over 1 year ago

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account Day to Day Account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Brilliant service

So easy to use

Full review

So easy to use

    Price   10 / 10

Less

John, Western Australia, reviewed over 2 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Bank Account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Overall I'm pleased with the customer service

Overall good bank, however the foreign currency department is quite slow. More staff needed.

Full review

Overall good bank, however the foreign currency department is quite slow. More staff needed.

    Price   5 / 10

Less

Anne, South Australia, reviewed over 2 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Bank Account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service

I've been with HSBC for years. They have a variety of options with excellent customer service. I have an everyday transaction, savings account, debit and credit card with them and I'm satisfied with their service.

Full review

I've been with HSBC for years. They have a variety of options with excellent customer service. I have an everyday transaction, savings account, debit and credit card with them and I'm satisfied with their service.

    Price   7 / 10

Less

Bella, New South Wales, reviewed over 2 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Bank Account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

A variety of products that fits my needs

HSBC is the best option for international travellers, with customer support available in branches all over the world - not just over the phone.

Full review

HSBC is the best option for international travellers, with customer support available in branches all over the world - not just over the phone.

    Price   7 / 10

Less

Terrie, Victoria, reviewed over 2 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Bank Account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Fantastic options for fiscal management.

Fantastic options to allow me to manage finances both for my family locally and family overseas.

Full review

Fantastic options to allow me to manage finances both for my family locally and family overseas.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Tesoro, Victoria, reviewed almost 4 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account Day to Day Account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great & secure ebanking features.

Competitive offers & user friendly ebanking features.

Full review

Competitive offers & user friendly ebanking features.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Terence, New South Wales, reviewed almost 4 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account Day to Day Account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

One stop customer service, always fixed.

I travel internationally a lot and I love having one card that does all.

Full review

I travel internationally a lot and I love having one card that does all.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Michelle, Queensland, reviewed about 4 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account Day to Day Account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Best customer service without exception

Been a Premier account holder for fifteen years... Won't swap ever. Best customer service, rates, everything (even moving money abroad). Once had a fraudulent purchase on my Access card... Rapid response, constant communication and took all the...

Full review

Been a Premier account holder for fifteen years... Won't swap ever. Best customer service, rates, everything (even moving money abroad). Once had a fraudulent purchase on my Access card... Rapid response, constant communication and took all the stress and hassle away.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

David, New South Wales, reviewed about 4 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Bank Account review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Not competitive for personal banking

Individual (as opposed to business/corporate) clients seem to be provided with more attention. All decisions of even relatively non-risky, short term loans (even when your total assets exceed the amount for a loan) have to be referred to Sydney...

Full review

Individual (as opposed to business/corporate) clients seem to be provided with more attention. All decisions of even relatively non-risky, short term loans (even when your total assets exceed the amount for a loan) have to be referred to Sydney to be usually rejected. The service operators at the Branch level are affable and try to assist but are hampered by "Bank Policies". They are quite free with charging fees for quite a few transactions. They rarely respond to email queries and you can rarely talk to a person at a branch.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   2 / 10

    Trust   2 / 10

Less

Bill, Queensland, reviewed over 4 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account Day to Day Account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Not bad but not the best either

Not many free bonuses.

Full review

Not many free bonuses.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Zahra, New South Wales, reviewed over 4 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Bank Account review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Never ever!

I have been with HSBC for at least 15 years. I bought an investment property with their hometown. All the income transaction goes to this account since. I spend most of my time overseas. 3 years ago, I updated my mailing address with them so I...

Full review

I have been with HSBC for at least 15 years. I bought an investment property with their hometown. All the income transaction goes to this account since. I spend most of my time overseas. 3 years ago, I updated my mailing address with them so I can re-direct all the mails to my new address in Victoria. They freezes my account out of the blue. We now can't do any transactions. I finally managed to make a trip to the branch with all my personal details. However, the staff member at Collin Street, Melbourne wanted me to provide my oversea financial details, as they suspect I may have involved in money laundry!!!! The staffs were extremely rude! Do NOT deal with HSBC. Avoid at all cost !!!I have been with HSBC for at least 15 years. I bought an investment property with their hometown. All the income transaction goes to this account since. I spend most of my time overseas. 3 years ago, I updated my mailing address with them so I can re-direct all the mails to my new address in Victoria. They freezed my account out of the blue. We now can't do any transactions. I finally managed to make a trip to the branch with all my personal details. However, the staff member at Collin Street, Melbourne wanted me to provide my overseas financial details, as they suspect I may have been involved in money laundering!!!! The staffs were extremely rude! Do NOT deal with HSBC. Avoid at all cost !!!

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

C, Victoria, reviewed over 4 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account Day to Day Account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Good customer service

Good bank to deal with.

Full review

Good bank to deal with.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Rob, Western Australia, reviewed over 4 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Bank account comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • Suncorp Everyday Options

    Suncorp Everyday Options

    account fee

    $0.00Special offer of $0 monthly account keeping fees when you open a new account

    Payment Options

    Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID, Samsung Pay

    interest rate

    0.01% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • Atm networks: Suncorp, RediATM
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
      Balances from $1: 0.01% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from own-bank ATM, EFTPOS, counter withdrawals, counter deposits, phone and internet
    Overall rating

    7.9

    Based on 1082 Suncorp bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MyState Bank Everyday Account

    MyState Bank Everyday Account

    • Super fast transfers
    • Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay
    • Make and receive payments in seconds using a mobile or email with PayID

    account fee

    $6.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month or are under 23 years.

    Payment Options

    Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID, Samsung Pay, FitBit Pay, Garmin

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • Super fast transfers
    • Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay
    • Make and receive payments in seconds using a mobile or email with PayID
    • Atm networks: MyState
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit or
      EFTPOS
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from network ATM, EFTPOS, cheque, counter deposits and withdrawals, phone and internet
    Overall rating

    7.5

    Based on 82 MyState Bank bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • NAB Classic Banking Account (with Standard Visa Debit Card)

    NAB Classic Banking Account (with Standard Visa Debit Card)

    • No monthly account fees ever, with no conditions.
    • Free use at over 7,000 ATMs around Australia
    • 24/7 Mobile Banking, including Quick Balance and Tap & Pay for Android

    account fee

    $0.00

    Payment Options

    Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID, Samsung Pay

    interest rate

    0.01% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • No monthly account fees ever, with no conditions.
    • Free use at over 7,000 ATMs around Australia
    • 24/7 Mobile Banking, including Quick Balance and Tap & Pay for Android
    • Atm networks: NAB
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit or
      EFTPOS
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.01% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from own-bank ATM, EFTPOS, counter withdrawals, counter deposits, phone, internet and Visa debit purchases
    Overall rating

    7.7

    Based on 3729 NAB bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2019

    UBank USaver Ultra Transaction Account

    UBank USaver Ultra Transaction Account

    • Interest paid on funds in linked USaver account
    • Visa Debit Card with Visa PayWave
    • No monthly account keeping fees

    account fee

    $0.00

    Payment Options

    Apple Pay, Google Pay, Samsung Pay, Garmin, Fitbit

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • Interest paid on funds in linked USaver account
    • Visa Debit Card with Visa PayWave
    • No monthly account keeping fees
    • Atm networks: NAB
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from own-bank ATM, internet, Visa debit and international purchases.
    Overall rating

    8.6

    Based on 25 UBank bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Featured product

     

    Citi Global Currency Account

    Citi Global Currency Account

    • Send and receive foreign currency with no Citi transfer fees
    • Exchange currencies instantly via the Citi Mobile App
    • Hold up to 10 currencies in one account

    account fee

    $0.00

    Payment Options

    PayID, Samsung Pay

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • Send and receive foreign currency with no Citi transfer fees
    • Exchange currencies instantly via the Citi Mobile App
    • Hold up to 10 currencies in one account
    • Atm networks: Citibank
    • What kind of card?: Debit Mastercard
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
      Balances from $5,000: 0.50% p.a.
      Balances from $100,000: 0.75% p.a.
      Balances from $250,000: 1.50% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from network ATM, EFTPOS, cheque, phone, internet and linked Debit MasterCard purchases.
    Overall rating

    6.7

    Based on 117 Citi bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 97 bank accounts in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more bank accounts

Look for a specific type of bank account:

-- Choose type --
Back to top
 
Advertisement