HSBC logo

HSBC Bank account reviews

Overall rating
6.9/10
Price
7.0/10
Features
6.4/10
Customer service
6.7/10
Convenience
6.1/10
Trust
7.0/10
Based on 190 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Featured bank account from HSBC

Everyday Global Account

account fee
$0.00
Payment Options
Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID
interest rate
0% p.a.

Promoted

Recent HSBC bank account reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • HSBC Bank Account review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Pathetic customer care service.

    One of the pathetic banking experience I have had. The employees of HSBC lack basic professional manners. If you are having an account with HSBC, any transaction to deal with your account should be communicated to you. However these guys do end up sharing your confidential transaction details to other account holders. I mean this is crazy. Which bank would do so? Basic- 'that particular customer' details should be shared only with that card/account holder not with rest of the customers. Is this not a common sense? My internet banking account was closed, and that information was not given to me, and when enquired, they said the information was given to another account XXX holder, instead of me. Seriously?? I don't have words to express.

    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Chait, Victoria, reviewed 8 days ago
  • HSBC Everyday Global Account review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    No Osko is only the start

    Wow no Osko so 2-3 days to transfer money to my other account, App is slow 2-3 minutes to open and if you need your current balance then get a pen and paper and go through your transaction history and write down all pending withdrawals some could be up to a week ago then subtract that amount from the stated balance at the top of app and voila you will have your current balance. oh and if you wanted the $100 sign up bonus your balance must be above $2000 for 3 consecutive months. But there was free fortune cookies at the city branch which was good because with only 2 tellers it was a 25 minute wait and I was the only other person in the bank.

    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Convenience
    2 / 10
    Trust
    2 / 10
    Less
    Andrew, Victoria, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • HSBC Day to Day Account review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    HSBC - The most secure online banking

    Like - the most secure online banking I have ever used in comparison to NAB, ANZ, bank of Melbourne. So far I have not experienced any security glitch or error when banking on line. That's the reason I switched from NAB, ANZ, bank of Melbourne to HSBC. Dislike, no interest rate for day to day account.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Icy, Victoria, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • HSBC Bank Account review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Awful customer service

    Just an awful bank. They claim to be there to help but won’t even change my name unless I post my original marriage certificate to the UK. It took hours of calls and emails and online chats to change my address. They said I could drive across state lines from mid NSW to QLD to change my address and show my marriage certificate to change my name. In the midst of corona, and with a baby who hates the car, a ten plus hour trip is out of the question.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Stacey, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • HSBC Everyday Global Account review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Glad I moved.

    Recently moved to HSBC from ANZ after being relentlessly hassled to take out a personal loan. I’ve never been happier with a bank. The service is excellent, the 2% cash back on Paywave and Apple Pay is well worth opening an account for. The 100$ cash back for new customers has also been an unexpected welcome gift. Highly recommend moving to HSBC if you’re unhappy with any of the Australian banks. The travel features and easy currency conversion is also a traveller's best friend in a Covid free world.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Violet, South Australia, reviewed 3 months ago
  • HSBC Everyday Global Account review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    HSBC our Travel Saver

    We use this bank as our travel fund. We love them because the app is easy to use. The staff have always been excellent in setting up and friendly which make's me feel secure that my money is in safe hands.

    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Andrew, Queensland, reviewed 3 months ago
  • HSBC Everyday Global Account review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Overall - HSBC is one of the best banks I’ve used.

    I love the everyday global card because before covid I used to travel a lot and it was convenient. I also love their 2% cash back rewards program. The two things I find annoying about HSBC - there is only one branch in Perth and their hours are minimal so I can never go to the branch because I am always at work. Although to counteract that, their customer service line is open 24/7. The second thing is the fact that every time I create a new payee I have to download and put in a stall. Which is a pain when you want quick and easy transfers. One thing for HSBC to consider is that their app is very hard to navigate and not very user friendly (and I am a very tech-savvy person).

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    4 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Emma, Western Australia, reviewed 6 months ago
  • HSBC Everyday Global Account review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great bank! Easy process to open an account!

    After being with Westpac for a number of years and tired of monthly fees for an everyday bank account, I applied online for a HSBC Everyday Global Bank account. I was quite surprised at how quick the process was and how quickly the account was approved. Within minutes of the application being lodged I received a welcome email and everything I needed to set the account up was on the site. I hope that this is the start of a long and happy period of banking.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Mark, Queensland, reviewed 6 months ago
  • HSBC Everyday Global Account review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Cash back FTW.

    I love the cash back on the debit card that comes with this account. No fees. The only drawbacks are the clunky application process and the inferior app - though the new Australian app is a great improvement.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Caitlin, New South Wales, reviewed 8 months ago
  • HSBC Bank Account review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Bad service and not Australian standard.

    This is a bank rooted in the 1980s. They are mired in red tape in the guise of customer security. However it is just to make it more difficult for the customers. Would you believe that they still require signatures in the 21st century? They are the only bank which requires a lot of personal information (i.e. country of birth) which Australian banks do not require. If you refuse to answer on privacy grounds, you wont be able do anything (even for a change of one of your details). The staff are incredibly inflexible, unhelpful and rude.

    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Jd, Victoria, reviewed 9 months ago
  • HSBC Everyday Global Account review

    Overall rating   3 / 10
    Please work on your mobile banking app.

    Overall HSBC is pretty good, but please work on your mobile banking app. The app is not very good and is hard to use.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Kevin, New South Wales, reviewed 10 months ago
  • HSBC Day to Day Account review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Easy banking with a trustworthy provider

    Reliable, efficient and trustworthy. Never had any issues.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Ana, New South Wales, reviewed 11 months ago
  • HSBC Bank Account review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Always good customer service.

    HSBC has always (around 20 years) been willing and able to help me with any questions I may have had over the years great service.

    Price
    0 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    4 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Neryl, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • HSBC Bank Account review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Good range of services and accounts.

    I opened with HSBC bank several years ago as they were the only bank to offer personal foreign currency accounts. All the other major banks only had business foreign currency accounts. I have used HSBC as my main bank for foreign currency transactions, day to day banking and for savings. So far I find them quite reasonable to deal with. Their interest rates are competitive, fees are low and they will open and close accounts for you with ease over the counter. The only downside is that they do not have many branches in Perth and their website is often a bit flakey.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Adrienne, Western Australia, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • HSBC Everyday Global Account review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    IB & app are way too slow.

    The internet banking and mobile app are soooooooooo slowwwwww.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Terry, Queensland, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Bank account comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Glide Account

      account fee
      $0.00
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID, Samsung Pay, FitBit Pay, Garmin
      interest rate
      0% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Everyday Global Account

      account fee
      $0.00
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID
      interest rate
      0% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Everyday Options

      account fee
      $0.00
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID
      interest rate
      0.01% p.a.

      Promoted
    • & Transaction Account

      account fee
      $0.00
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID, Samsung Pay
      interest rate
      0% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Classic Banking Account

      account fee
      $0.00
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID, Samsung Pay
      interest rate
      0.01% p.a.

      Promoted

    Want more? Compare all 102 bank accounts in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more bank accounts

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.