HSBC bank account reviews

HSBC
HSBC's overall rating for bank accounts

(as rated by the Mozo community)

7.0 / 10

based on 175 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured bank account from HSBC

Recent HSBC bank account reviews

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service

The staff are friendly and helpful.

Full review

The staff are friendly and helpful.

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Amanda, Queensland, reviewed about 1 year ago

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Brilliant service

So easy to use

Full review

So easy to use

    Price   10 / 10

Less

John, Western Australia, reviewed almost 2 years ago

HSBC

HSBC bank account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Overall I'm pleased with the customer service

Overall good bank, however the foreign currency department is quite slow. More staff needed.

Full review

Overall good bank, however the foreign currency department is quite slow. More staff needed.

    Price   5 / 10

Less

Anne, South Australia, reviewed almost 2 years ago

HSBC

HSBC bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service

I've been with HSBC for years. They have a variety of options with excellent customer service. I have an everyday transaction, savings account, debit and credit card with them and I'm satisfied with their service.

Full review

I've been with HSBC for years. They have a variety of options with excellent customer service. I have an everyday transaction, savings account, debit and credit card with them and I'm satisfied with their service.

    Price   7 / 10

Less

Bella, New South Wales, reviewed almost 2 years ago

HSBC

HSBC bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

A variety of products that fits my needs

HSBC is the best option for international travellers, with customer support available in branches all over the world - not just over the phone.

Full review

HSBC is the best option for international travellers, with customer support available in branches all over the world - not just over the phone.

    Price   7 / 10

Less

Terrie, Victoria, reviewed about 2 years ago

HSBC

HSBC bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Fantastic options for fiscal management.

Fantastic options to allow me to manage finances both for my family locally and family overseas.

Full review

Fantastic options to allow me to manage finances both for my family locally and family overseas.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Tesoro, Victoria, reviewed over 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great & secure ebanking features.

Competitive offers & user friendly ebanking features.

Full review

Competitive offers & user friendly ebanking features.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Terence, New South Wales, reviewed over 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

One stop customer service, always fixed.

I travel internationally a lot and I love having one card that does all.

Full review

I travel internationally a lot and I love having one card that does all.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Michelle, Queensland, reviewed over 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Best customer service without exception

Been a Premier account holder for fifteen years... Won't swap ever. Best customer service, rates, everything (even moving money abroad). Once had a fraudulent purchase on my Access card... Rapid response, constant communication and took all the...

Full review

Been a Premier account holder for fifteen years... Won't swap ever. Best customer service, rates, everything (even moving money abroad). Once had a fraudulent purchase on my Access card... Rapid response, constant communication and took all the stress and hassle away.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

David, New South Wales, reviewed over 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC bank account review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Not competitive for personal banking

Individual (as opposed to business/corporate) clients seem to be provided with more attention. All decisions of even relatively non-risky, short term loans (even when your total assets exceed the amount for a loan) have to be referred to Sydney...

Full review

Individual (as opposed to business/corporate) clients seem to be provided with more attention. All decisions of even relatively non-risky, short term loans (even when your total assets exceed the amount for a loan) have to be referred to Sydney to be usually rejected. The service operators at the Branch level are affable and try to assist but are hampered by "Bank Policies". They are quite free with charging fees for quite a few transactions. They rarely respond to email queries and you can rarely talk to a person at a branch.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   2 / 10

    Trust   2 / 10

Less

Bill, Queensland, reviewed over 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account bank account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Not bad but not the best either

Not many free bonuses.

Full review

Not many free bonuses.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Zahra, New South Wales, reviewed over 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC bank account review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Never ever!

I have been with HSBC for at least 15 years. I bought an investment property with their hometown. All the income transaction goes to this account since. I spend most of my time overseas. 3 years ago, I updated my mailing address with them so I...

Full review

I have been with HSBC for at least 15 years. I bought an investment property with their hometown. All the income transaction goes to this account since. I spend most of my time overseas. 3 years ago, I updated my mailing address with them so I can re-direct all the mails to my new address in Victoria. They freezes my account out of the blue. We now can't do any transactions. I finally managed to make a trip to the branch with all my personal details. However, the staff member at Collin Street, Melbourne wanted me to provide my oversea financial details, as they suspect I may have involved in money laundry!!!! The staffs were extremely rude! Do NOT deal with HSBC. Avoid at all cost !!!I have been with HSBC for at least 15 years. I bought an investment property with their hometown. All the income transaction goes to this account since. I spend most of my time overseas. 3 years ago, I updated my mailing address with them so I can re-direct all the mails to my new address in Victoria. They freezed my account out of the blue. We now can't do any transactions. I finally managed to make a trip to the branch with all my personal details. However, the staff member at Collin Street, Melbourne wanted me to provide my overseas financial details, as they suspect I may have been involved in money laundering!!!! The staffs were extremely rude! Do NOT deal with HSBC. Avoid at all cost !!!

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

C, Victoria, reviewed over 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Good customer service

Good bank to deal with.

Full review

Good bank to deal with.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Rob, Western Australia, reviewed almost 4 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account bank account review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Inflexible and Awkward Bank to deal with.

Not many branches in the suburbs so physical access very difficult. On-line security measures very complicated and awkward - often get blocked out. Change terms of account many times so have now wound down the volumes that I use.

Full review

Not many branches in the suburbs so physical access very difficult. On-line security measures very complicated and awkward - often get blocked out. Change terms of account many times so have now wound down the volumes that I use.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   2 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

David, Victoria, reviewed almost 4 years ago

HSBC

HSBC bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

World wide service

It has branches world wide and you can always find an ATM on holiday, you can also hold an account in another country and transfer money between them free of charge.

Full review

It has branches world wide and you can always find an ATM on holiday, you can also hold an account in another country and transfer money between them free of charge.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Sheila, New South Wales, reviewed almost 4 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Bank account comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • Suncorp Everyday Options

    Suncorp Everyday Options

    account fee

    $0.00$0 monthly account keeping fees when you open a new account before 30 June 2019

    Payment Options

    Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID, Samsung Pay

    interest rate

    0.01% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • Atm networks: Suncorp, RediATM
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
      Balances from $1: 0.01% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from own-bank ATM, EFTPOS, counter withdrawals, counter deposits, phone and internet
    Overall rating

    7.9

    Based on 1048 Suncorp bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • HSBC Everyday Global Account

    HSBC Everyday Global Account

    • No overseas ATM fees
    • No overseas transaction fees
    • Up to 10 currencies in one account

    account fee

    $0.00

    Payment Options

    Apple Pay, Google Pay

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • No overseas ATM fees
    • No overseas transaction fees
    • Up to 10 currencies in one account
    • Atm networks: HSBC
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
      Balances from $9,000: 0.05% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from HSBC ATMs, EFTPOS, phone, internet, Bank@Post, BPAY and direct debits
    Overall rating

    7.0

    Based on 175 HSBC bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bank Australia Everyday Access

    Bank Australia Everyday Access

    • Unlimited fee free transactions at thousands of ATMs including those of all the major banks, every EFTPOS outlet, and at our branches
    • Access to your money through our Android or Apple app and internet banking
    • Access to Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay

    account fee

    $5.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month

    Payment Options

    Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID, Samsung Pay

    interest rate

    0.01% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • Unlimited fee free transactions at thousands of ATMs including those of all the major banks, every EFTPOS outlet, and at our branches
    • Access to your money through our Android or Apple app and internet banking
    • Access to Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay
    • Atm networks: rediATM
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit or
      EFTPOS
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
      Balances from $1: 0.01% p.a.
      Balances from $50,000: 0.05% p.a.
      Balances from $100,000: 0.10% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited transactions from phone, internet, network ATM, BPay, EFTPOS, Bank@Post and counter deposits.
    Overall rating

    7.5

    Based on 115 Bank Australia bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bankwest Hero Transaction Account

    Bankwest Hero Transaction Account

    • Free and unlimited access to Australia's largest bank ATM network
    • 1.5% p.a. variable interest rate on balances up to $5,000
    • No monthly account fees when you deposit $2k monthly (e.g. salary)

    account fee

    $6.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month

    Payment Options

    Apple Pay, Google Pay, Payment Ring

    interest rate

    1.50% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • Free and unlimited access to Australia's largest bank ATM network
    • 1.5% p.a. variable interest rate on balances up to $5,000
    • No monthly account fees when you deposit $2k monthly (e.g. salary)
    • Atm networks: Bankwest, Commonwealth
    • What kind of card?: Debit Mastercard
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 1.50% p.a.
      Balances from $5,000: 0.00% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free domestic transactions from network ATMs, EFTPOS, cheque, counter withdrawals, phone, internet and MasterCard debit purchases
    Overall rating

    8.0

    Based on 974 Bankwest bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2019

    ING Orange Everyday

    ING Orange Everyday

    • $75 Cash Bonus ($1K+/Month and 5+ Card purchases).
    • Free ATMs in Aus, when you deposit $1k per month (5+ card purchases in the month)
    • No everyday fees, which means more of your money is where it belongs, in your pocket

    account fee

    $0.00

    Payment Options

    Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • $75 Cash Bonus ($1K+/Month and 5+ Card purchases).
    • Free ATMs in Aus, when you deposit $1k per month (5+ card purchases in the month)
    • No everyday fees, which means more of your money is where it belongs, in your pocket
    • Atm networks: None
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Free ATM use in Australia and overseas and free international transactions when you deposit at least $1,000 from an external bank account and make at least 5 card purchases using your ING debit card each month.
    Overall rating

    9.2

    Based on 531 ING bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 93 bank accounts in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more bank accounts

Look for a specific type of bank account:

-- Choose type --
Back to top