HSBC logo

HSBC Bank account reviews

Overall rating
Price
Features
Customer service
Convenience
Trust
Based on 200 bank account reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent HSBC bank account customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • HSBC Day to Day Account

    Want an everyday account right now & OSKO? Try ING

    HSBC have a, reasonably cheap, online trading platform for their customers, so I decided to open an everyday account with them. I discovered that they have a rather intrusive online application process which, ultimately, requires physical presence at a Branch to be completed, anyway! They now have my licence number, address, salary information and employers details and I shall not be proceeding. WTF, HSBC? Yeah, nuh!

    Trust
    Less
    Jack, Victoria, reviewed 2 months ago
  • HSBC Day to Day Account

    excellent value and very low costs in fact

    The only drawback is lack of brick and morter banks but everyone can use the post office instead for everything.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Yvonne, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • HSBC Everyday Global Account

    want to save your money and be rewarded? HSBC.

    If you want to save money, join with hsbc. I am 24 years older and have now decided it is the perfect time to save, despite trying in the past with other banks, hsbc has very limited branches, which eliminates the need of want to withdraw money for impulsive purchases that you regret later on. I love that hsbc doesn’t offer PayID, whilst instant transfer is a really good feature to have (I use PayID for my everyday banking with another bank) it also makes it easier to shop online, so because hsbc doesn’t have this option, it makes it easier for you to re think what you’re about to spend that money on. I get rewarded each time I save up to $1,000 each month. I would highly suggest anyone wanting to save money to open an account with hsbc.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Less
    Elle, Victoria, reviewed 3 months ago
  • HSBC Everyday Global Account

    worst bank experience ever

    HSBC Security checking system needs to be changed. complicated, conflicting, useless. I've been trying to ask few times where my new card is, after account opened 3 weeks ago, and text message received saying card sent out 2 weeks ago. After all security check, account verified, they found out it's because still registered on my old address! they could not change it unless I provide correct old address, even though I provide all other account information correctly. I don't remember my old address 15 years ago! I've cancelled my account before I even use it. Ironically, the easiest part was to cancel my HSBC account.

    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Hal, Western Australia, reviewed 3 months ago
  • HSBC Everyday Global Account

    Excellent bank but still needs PayID

    HSBC is a pretty good retail bank. I opened up a Global Everyday bank account with them about 8 months ago and except for struggling to save money due to being broke, its a brilliant account. FYI, all the reviews you see are quite old... HSBC has a dedicated call line for enquiries based out of the Sydney office and opening up the account was a quick 5 minute process online. Their security is also quite good, but a bit full on compared to the Big 4. The only downside to the bank is that they still haven't got around to implementing PayID or outgoing fast payments for customers.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Mark, Queensland, reviewed 5 months ago
  • HSBC Day to Day Account

    HSBC is not safe!

    HSBC is not a safe bank! Their security system is a joke, and scammers use this fact to steal your money. HSBC states that they reimburse you in case of a scam happens on your account, but they don't. HSBC app security is a joke. You do not see the transaction immediately just day later, so if someone hacked your account or use your card, you realize it when it is already too late. HSBC employees cannot identify themselves during phone calls.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    John, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
  • HSBC Bank Account

    Needs some work.

    Lack of physical locations is the main problem plus the fact that their help centre is overseas and staffing by people with difficult accents. Their online banking is very good and when we travelled overseas access is excellent. Customer Service by phone is really poor.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Robyn, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
  • HSBC Bank Account

    Customer Service

    After calling HSBC 1300 number and booked in my appointment at 1.45, I went to the branch to open a bank account at Hay st branch on George st in Sydney. The lady at the information desk took some time to understand my request and asked me to wait. After waiting for ten minutes she asked me to come back after 30 minutes without giving any reason for the delay. My explaining to her about my appointment was of no importance to her.

    Price
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Amar, New South Wales, reviewed 7 months ago
  • HSBC Bank Account

    Terrible experience in opening a bank account

    I tried to open an account with this bank for day-to-day activities. They were asked me hundred of questions about my financial life. They are unbelievably intruding on my personal private life. I believe a banking system that so suspicious about the detailed private life of their customers is not trustworthy.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Foruhar, Victoria, reviewed 7 months ago
  • HSBC Bank Account

    Garbage. Do not go there.

    Worst bank ever! This review is for bank accounts, home loan and internet banking. My partner lost the ability to withdraw cash from ATM (they botched the PIN process) and in branch (“signature doesn’t match what’s on file” despite producing driver licence and passport). They sent new cards to the wrong address despite that address being updated on the phone three times as they incorrectly updated on their own system every time. You have to call twice to get the address updated - once for savings and the other time for credit card. Updating the address via internet banking is meaningless with HSBC whereas every other Australian bank uses that process to update your address. When discharging a home loan, they refused to accept the firm for more than two days of constant signing, providing copies of driver licence and passport and refusing the request of our solicitor. They kept hiding behind “signature doesn’t match” despite signing the same form more than five times and re-sending the PDF to them. It took more than 48 hours of being messed around and finally signing 12 times on on the back of the form and that being the sixth submission of that form before they accepted it then made us sign a new one after that so that there’s a clean form to show on their records. A telegraphic transfer by them upon closing an account is currently at 36+ hours and counting. They blame the other bank but the solicitor’s transfer arrived within 2 hours and the real estate agent’s transfer arrived after overnight processing as they transferred after 5 pm. Forget about quickly doing a transfer to another bank using internet banking. They insist on using a token (even after you log in using your password) and then intentionally delay the transfer by more than 24 hours. This bank should be de-registered. They go out of their way to be difficult/impossible and not give you access to your money. Do not even think about going there. You will regret it.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Tony, Queensland, reviewed 7 months ago
  • HSBC Bank Account

    Pathetic customer care service.

    One of the pathetic banking experience I have had. The employees of HSBC lack basic professional manners. If you are having an account with HSBC, any transaction to deal with your account should be communicated to you. However these guys do end up sharing your confidential transaction details to other account holders. I mean this is crazy. Which bank would do so? Basic- 'that particular customer' details should be shared only with that card/account holder not with rest of the customers. Is this not a common sense? My internet banking account was closed, and that information was not given to me, and when enquired, they said the information was given to another account XXX holder, instead of me. Seriously?? I don't have words to express.

    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Chait, Victoria, reviewed 8 months ago
  • HSBC Everyday Global Account

    No Osko is only the start

    Wow no Osko so 2-3 days to transfer money to my other account, App is slow 2-3 minutes to open and if you need your current balance then get a pen and paper and go through your transaction history and write down all pending withdrawals some could be up to a week ago then subtract that amount from the stated balance at the top of app and voila you will have your current balance. oh and if you wanted the $100 sign up bonus your balance must be above $2000 for 3 consecutive months. But there was free fortune cookies at the city branch which was good because with only 2 tellers it was a 25 minute wait and I was the only other person in the bank.

    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Andrew, Victoria, reviewed 9 months ago
  • HSBC Day to Day Account

    HSBC - The most secure online banking

    Like - the most secure online banking I have ever used in comparison to NAB, ANZ, bank of Melbourne. So far I have not experienced any security glitch or error when banking on line. That's the reason I switched from NAB, ANZ, bank of Melbourne to HSBC. Dislike, no interest rate for day to day account.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Icy, Victoria, reviewed 9 months ago
  • HSBC Bank Account

    Awful customer service

    Just an awful bank. They claim to be there to help but won’t even change my name unless I post my original marriage certificate to the UK. It took hours of calls and emails and online chats to change my address. They said I could drive across state lines from mid NSW to QLD to change my address and show my marriage certificate to change my name. In the midst of corona, and with a baby who hates the car, a ten plus hour trip is out of the question.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Stacey, New South Wales, reviewed 11 months ago
  • HSBC Everyday Global Account

    Glad I moved.

    Recently moved to HSBC from ANZ after being relentlessly hassled to take out a personal loan. I’ve never been happier with a bank. The service is excellent, the 2% cash back on Paywave and Apple Pay is well worth opening an account for. The 100$ cash back for new customers has also been an unexpected welcome gift. Highly recommend moving to HSBC if you’re unhappy with any of the Australian banks. The travel features and easy currency conversion is also a traveller's best friend in a Covid free world.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Violet, South Australia, reviewed 11 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Bank account comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Everyday Options

      account fee
      $0.00
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID
      interest rate
      0.01% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Go Account

      account fee
      $0.00
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Pay, Samsung Pay
      interest rate
      0% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Glide Account

      account fee
      $0.00
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID, Samsung Pay, FitBit Pay, Garmin
      interest rate
      0% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Orange Everyday

      account fee
      $0.00
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID
      interest rate
      0% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Global Currency Account

      account fee
      $0.00
      Payment Options
      PayID, Samsung Pay
      interest rate
      0% p.a.

      Promoted

    Want more? Compare all 97 bank accounts in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more bank accounts

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.