HSBC bank account reviews

HSBC
HSBC's overall rating for bank accounts

(as rated by the Mozo community)

6.3 / 10

based on 55 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured bank account from HSBC

Recent HSBC bank account reviews

HSBC

HSBC bank account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Overall I'm pleased with the customer service

Overall good bank, however the foreign currency department is quite slow. More staff needed.

Overall good bank, however the foreign currency department is quite slow. More staff needed.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Anne (SA), reviewed about 1 month ago

HSBC

HSBC bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service

I've been with HSBC for years. They have a variety of options with excellent customer service. I have an everyday transaction, savings account, debit and credit card with them and I'm satisfied with their service.

I've been with HSBC for years. They have a variety of options with excellent customer service. I have an everyday transaction, savings account, debit and credit card with them and I'm satisfied with their service.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Bella (NSW), reviewed about 1 month ago

HSBC

HSBC bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

A variety of products that fits my needs

HSBC is the best option for international travellers, with customer support available in branches all over the world - not just over the phone.

HSBC is the best option for international travellers, with customer support available in branches all over the world - not just over the phone.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Terrie (VIC), reviewed about 2 months ago

HSBC

HSBC bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Fantastic options for fiscal management.

Fantastic options to allow me to manage finances both for my family locally and family overseas.

Fantastic options to allow me to manage finances both for my family locally and family overseas.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Tesoro (VIC), reviewed over 1 year ago

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great & secure ebanking features.

Competitive offers & user friendly ebanking features.

Competitive offers & user friendly ebanking features.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Terence (NSW), reviewed over 1 year ago

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

One stop customer service, always fixed.

I travel internationally a lot and I love having one card that does all.

I travel internationally a lot and I love having one card that does all.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Michelle (QLD), reviewed over 1 year ago

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Best customer service without exception

Been a Premier account holder for fifteen years... Won't swap ever. Best customer service, rates, everything (even moving money abroad). Once had a fraudulent purchase on my Access card... Rapid response, constant communication and took all the...

Been a Premier account holder for fifteen years... Won't swap ever. Best customer service, rates, everything (even moving money abroad). Once had a fraudulent purchase on my Access card... Rapid response, constant communication and took all the stress and hassle away.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

David (NSW), reviewed over 1 year ago

HSBC

HSBC bank account review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Not competitive for personal banking

Individual (as opposed to business/corporate) clients seem to be provided with more attention. All decisions of even relatively non-risky, short term loans (even when your total assets exceed the amount for a loan) have to be referred to Sydney...

Individual (as opposed to business/corporate) clients seem to be provided with more attention. All decisions of even relatively non-risky, short term loans (even when your total assets exceed the amount for a loan) have to be referred to Sydney to be usually rejected. The service operators at the Branch level are affable and try to assist but are hampered by "Bank Policies". They are quite free with charging fees for quite a few transactions. They rarely respond to email queries and you can rarely talk to a person at a branch.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   2 / 10

    Trust   2 / 10

Less

Bill (QLD), reviewed almost 2 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account bank account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Not bad but not the best either

Not many free bonuses.

Not many free bonuses.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Zahra (NSW), reviewed almost 2 years ago

HSBC

HSBC bank account review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Never ever!

I have been with HSBC for at least 15 years. I bought an investment property with their hometown. All the income transaction goes to this account since. I spend most of my time overseas. 3 years ago, I updated my mailing address with them so I...

I have been with HSBC for at least 15 years. I bought an investment property with their hometown. All the income transaction goes to this account since. I spend most of my time overseas. 3 years ago, I updated my mailing address with them so I can re-direct all the mails to my new address in Victoria. They freezes my account out of the blue. We now can't do any transactions. I finally managed to make a trip to the branch with all my personal details. However, the staff member at Collin Street, Melbourne wanted me to provide my oversea financial details, as they suspect I may have involved in money laundry!!!! The staffs were extremely rude! Do NOT deal with HSBC. Avoid at all cost !!!I have been with HSBC for at least 15 years. I bought an investment property with their hometown. All the income transaction goes to this account since. I spend most of my time overseas. 3 years ago, I updated my mailing address with them so I can re-direct all the mails to my new address in Victoria. They freezed my account out of the blue. We now can't do any transactions. I finally managed to make a trip to the branch with all my personal details. However, the staff member at Collin Street, Melbourne wanted me to provide my overseas financial details, as they suspect I may have been involved in money laundering!!!! The staffs were extremely rude! Do NOT deal with HSBC. Avoid at all cost !!!

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

C (VIC), reviewed almost 2 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Good customer service

Good bank to deal with.

Good bank to deal with.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Rob (WA), reviewed almost 2 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account bank account review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Inflexible and Awkward Bank to deal with.

Not many branches in the suburbs so physical access very difficult. On-line security measures very complicated and awkward - often get blocked out. Change terms of account many times so have now wound down the volumes that I use.

Not many branches in the suburbs so physical access very difficult. On-line security measures very complicated and awkward - often get blocked out. Change terms of account many times so have now wound down the volumes that I use.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   2 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

David (VIC), reviewed almost 2 years ago

HSBC

HSBC bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

World wide service

It has branches world wide and you can always find an ATM on holiday, you can also hold an account in another country and transfer money between them free of charge.

It has branches world wide and you can always find an ATM on holiday, you can also hold an account in another country and transfer money between them free of charge.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Sheila (NSW), reviewed almost 2 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

HSBC review

Great bank if you need international linked accounts.

Great bank if you need international linked accounts.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Joel (VIC), reviewed almost 2 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account bank account review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Great if you keep it simple

Unfortunately they are not customer friendly, charge me to take my own money out and send my phone calls to the other side of the world. If you just want to do online banking and keep it simple, they're fine. If you have any sort of complication...

Unfortunately they are not customer friendly, charge me to take my own money out and send my phone calls to the other side of the world. If you just want to do online banking and keep it simple, they're fine. If you have any sort of complication such as international transactions, go elsewhere.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Alison (ACT), reviewed about 2 years ago

HSBC

HSBC bank account review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Friendly

Not your everyday bank. Very limited number of branches around. However, great for overseas transaction. GREAT SECURITY for customer confidence. Just a thought...bank should look at having a dedicated customer counter or host/hostess.The branch I...

Not your everyday bank. Very limited number of branches around. However, great for overseas transaction. GREAT SECURITY for customer confidence. Just a thought...bank should look at having a dedicated customer counter or host/hostess.The branch I frequent at Sunnybank does need one as on number of occasions I was there...I had to wait a rather lengthy time for the customer/teller personnel to attend my query. However, customer service is good.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Jon (QLD), reviewed about 2 years ago

HSBC

HSBC bank account review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Don't trust this bank

Our experience with HSBC -Aus/Sydney was the one we don't want to repeat. The call centre is in the Philippines with poor banking knowledge and customer service. The online daily account was inaccurate. The charges were excessive, especially on...

Our experience with HSBC -Aus/Sydney was the one we don't want to repeat. The call centre is in the Philippines with poor banking knowledge and customer service. The online daily account was inaccurate. The charges were excessive, especially on the home loan. Don't trust this bank.

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Sue (NSW), reviewed about 2 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

No administration fees

There are no administration fees.

There are no administration fees.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Larisa (NSW), reviewed about 2 years ago

HSBC

HSBC bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

It's not HSBC, it's the customer.

I don't understand why the bad reviews, every time I had to contact HSBC they've always done what I've asked them to. Once I reduced my overdraft limit by more than I actually had available by mistake online and I put myself in unarranged...

I don't understand why the bad reviews, every time I had to contact HSBC they've always done what I've asked them to. Once I reduced my overdraft limit by more than I actually had available by mistake online and I put myself in unarranged overdraft. I contacted them straight away on Friday 10pm, was told will be contacted in the morning as there was nobody to authorise the increase. The next day at 9am (Saturday) I have been called to confirm the overdraft has been increased back up to the amount I wanted to and no charges would be applied. I requested a written confirmation to advise this would not affect my credit report - which it came, 2 days later. My issue was resolved in less than 12 hours people.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Catwoman (NSW), reviewed over 2 years ago

HSBC

HSBC bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Easy, uncomplicated banking

Outstanding customer service and easy to use online systems makes HSBC banking smooth and uncomplicated. While HSBC does not have the high street presence of other banks, it does have a number of alliances with other banks for free ATM cash...

Outstanding customer service and easy to use online systems makes HSBC banking smooth and uncomplicated. While HSBC does not have the high street presence of other banks, it does have a number of alliances with other banks for free ATM cash withdrawals.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Richard (NSW), reviewed over 2 years ago

HSBC

HSBC bank account review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Terrible, awful

Emails ignored, promised call backs not received, customer service is so bad. In the time I banked with them I had 3 queries that were not addressed, staff are unable to answer simple questions, unnecessary awkward security device is irritating,...

Emails ignored, promised call backs not received, customer service is so bad. In the time I banked with them I had 3 queries that were not addressed, staff are unable to answer simple questions, unnecessary awkward security device is irritating, unable to access Internet banking half the time anyway - forget about technical support for this problem the only advice was refresh your browser...contacting by phone, email, in branch and even on forums is useless. Visa debit declined a $420 purchase that would have overdrawn the account by 4cents! Requested info regarding credit card balance transfers again was told someone would "get back to me", didn't happen looks like I wont be using the credit card I have with them - better off with the old one. Cherry on top is the $50 sign up bonus the nice lady told me about when I called to activate the debit card. It never appeared - just read the terms and conditions it states a purchase has to be made within the first month to receive the bonus - excludes ATM transactions...it's funny if you have a look at your online statements or transaction history the first line of any transaction whether it be ATM, in store or online purchase has ATM printed in bold letters...bit odd I wonder how you make a transaction that's not an ATM one? Anyhow, they can jam their $50 bonus - I'd need to be paid a lot more than that to not have closed all of my accounts. Incompetent.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Kouta (SA), reviewed over 2 years ago

HSBC

HSBC bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Friendly, knowledgeable service wins me over

I really like the personalised service I receive at HSBC. They are polite without being patronising. All of my enquiries have been dealt with promptly.

I really like the personalised service I receive at HSBC. They are polite without being patronising. All of my enquiries have been dealt with promptly.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Heather (WA), reviewed over 2 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account bank account review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Only worth it if you don't like the internet

Nothing is simple. Banking app sucks, internet banking sucks: the account, however has no fees and it holds my money. So I guess it has that going for it

Nothing is simple. Banking app sucks, internet banking sucks: the account, however has no fees and it holds my money. So I guess it has that going for it

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Ryan (VIC), reviewed almost 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account bank account review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Convenience of ATMs and branches is not there

Convenience of ATMs and branches is not there.

Convenience of ATMs and branches is not there.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   -1 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Layo (NSW), reviewed almost 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account bank account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Reasonable fees and good customer service

I was already a client at HSBC in France, and kept them in Australia. They were very efficient when someone hijacked my card, their fees are very reasonable, international transfers are free from my french HSBC account, and the personnel are very...

I was already a client at HSBC in France, and kept them in Australia. They were very efficient when someone hijacked my card, their fees are very reasonable, international transfers are free from my french HSBC account, and the personnel are very friendly.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Cyril (NSW), reviewed about 3 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Bank account comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • ING DIRECT Orange Everyday

    ING DIRECT Orange Everyday

    • $75 cash bonus
    • Free use of any ATM in Australia when you deposit your pay of $1,000+ each month
    • No irritating everyday fees, which means more of your money is where it belongs, in your pocket

    account fee

    $0.00

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • $75 cash bonus
    • Free use of any ATM in Australia when you deposit your pay of $1,000+ each month
    • No irritating everyday fees, which means more of your money is where it belongs, in your pocket
    • Atm networks: None
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Free ATM use when you deposit your pay of $1,000+ each month, free EFTPOS withdrawals and online bank cheques.
    Overall rating

    9.2

    Based on 206 ING DIRECT bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • ANZ Access Advantage

    ANZ Access Advantage

    • $0 monthly account service fee if you deposit at least $2,000 a month
    • Now with Apple Pay
    • Consider if right for you. T&C’s, eligibility criteria apply

    account fee

    $5.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 monthly account service fee if you deposit at least $2,000 a month
    • Now with Apple Pay
    • Consider if right for you. T&C’s, eligibility criteria apply
    • Atm networks: ANZ
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit or
      EFTPOS
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
      Balances from $50,000: 0.01% p.a.
      Balances from $100,000: 0.02% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from own-bank ATM, EFTPOS, cheque, counter withdrawals, counter deposits, phone and internet
    Overall rating

    7.6

    Based on 1579 ANZ bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • NAB Classic Banking Account

    NAB Classic Banking Account

    • No monthly account fees ever, with no conditions.
    • Free use at over 3,400 NAB & Redi ATMs
    • 24/7 Mobile Banking, including Quick Balance and Tap & Pay for Android

    account fee

    $0.00

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0.01% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • No monthly account fees ever, with no conditions.
    • Free use at over 3,400 NAB & Redi ATMs
    • 24/7 Mobile Banking, including Quick Balance and Tap & Pay for Android
    • Atm networks: NAB, rediATM
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit or
      EFTPOS
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.01% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from own-bank ATM, EFTPOS, counter withdrawals, counter deposits, phone, internet and Visa debit purchases
    Overall rating

    8.1

    Based on 1377 NAB bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bankwest Easy Transaction Account

    Bankwest Easy Transaction Account

    • Pay $0 ATM fees at over 10,000 major bank ATMs in Aus. Fees, T&Cs apply
    • No monthly account fee until 31/08. Then, fee is waived if you deposit at least $2,000 per month
    • Limited time cashback offer on tap & go™ purchases. T&Cs apply

    account fee

    $6.00$0 monthly account fee until 31 August 2017. New customers only.

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • Pay $0 ATM fees at over 10,000 major bank ATMs in Aus. Fees, T&Cs apply
    • No monthly account fee until 31/08. Then, fee is waived if you deposit at least $2,000 per month
    • Limited time cashback offer on tap & go™ purchases. T&Cs apply
    • Atm networks: Bankwest, ANZ, Commonwealth, NAB, Westpac, St.George, BankSA, Bank of Melbourne
    • What kind of card?: Debit MasterCard
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited domestic transactions from network ATMs, EFTPOS, cheque and counter withdrawals
    Overall rating

    8.2

    Based on 400 Bankwest bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 107 bank accounts in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare all bank accounts

Look for a specific type of bank account:

-- Choose type --
Back to top