Thumbnail icon for HSBC

HSBC Bank account reviews

Overall rating
7.0/10
Price
7.0/10
Features
6.5/10
Customer service
6.8/10
Convenience
6.2/10
Trust
7.1/10
Based on 177 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Featured bank account from HSBC

Everyday Global Account

account fee
$0.00
Payment Options
Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID
interest rate
0% p.a.

Promoted

Recent HSBC bank account reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • HSBC Bank Account review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Good range of services and accounts.

    I opened with HSBC bank several years ago as they were the only bank to offer personal foreign currency accounts. All the other major banks only had business foreign currency accounts. I have used HSBC as my main bank for foreign currency transactions, day to day banking and for savings. So far I find them quite reasonable to deal with. Their interest rates are competitive, fees are low and they will open and close accounts for you with ease over the counter. The only downside is that they do not have many branches in Perth and their website is often a bit flakey.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Adrienne, Western Australia, reviewed 3 months ago
  • HSBC Everyday Global Account review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    IB & app are way too slow.

    The internet banking and mobile app are soooooooooo slowwwwww.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Terry, Queensland, reviewed 3 months ago
  • HSBC Day to Day Account review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Great customer service

    The staff are friendly and helpful.

    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Amanda, Queensland, reviewed almost 2 years ago
  • HSBC Day to Day Account review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Brilliant service

    So easy to use

    Price
    10 / 10
    Less
    John, Western Australia, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • HSBC Bank Account review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Overall I'm pleased with the customer service

    Overall good bank, however the foreign currency department is quite slow. More staff needed.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Less
    Anne, South Australia, reviewed almost 3 years ago
  • HSBC Bank Account review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Great customer service

    I've been with HSBC for years. They have a variety of options with excellent customer service. I have an everyday transaction, savings account, debit and credit card with them and I'm satisfied with their service.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Less
    Bella, New South Wales, reviewed almost 3 years ago
  • HSBC Bank Account review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    A variety of products that fits my needs

    HSBC is the best option for international travellers, with customer support available in branches all over the world - not just over the phone.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Less
    Terrie, Victoria, reviewed almost 3 years ago
  • HSBC Day to Day Account review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Best customer service without exception

    Been a Premier account holder for fifteen years... Won't swap ever. Best customer service, rates, everything (even moving money abroad). Once had a fraudulent purchase on my Access card... Rapid response, constant communication and took all the stress and hassle away.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    David, New South Wales, reviewed about 4 years ago
  • HSBC Day to Day Account review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    One stop customer service, always fixed.

    I travel internationally a lot and I love having one card that does all.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Michelle, Queensland, reviewed about 4 years ago
  • HSBC Day to Day Account review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Great & secure ebanking features.

    Competitive offers & user friendly ebanking features.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Terence, New South Wales, reviewed about 4 years ago
  • HSBC Bank Account review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Fantastic options for fiscal management.

    Fantastic options to allow me to manage finances both for my family locally and family overseas.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Tesoro, Victoria, reviewed about 4 years ago
  • HSBC Bank Account review

    Overall rating   2 / 10
    Not competitive for personal banking

    Individual (as opposed to business/corporate) clients seem to be provided with more attention. All decisions of even relatively non-risky, short term loans (even when your total assets exceed the amount for a loan) have to be referred to Sydney to be usually rejected. The service operators at the Branch level are affable and try to assist but are hampered by "Bank Policies". They are quite free with charging fees for quite a few transactions. They rarely respond to email queries and you can rarely talk to a person at a branch.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    3 / 10
    Convenience
    2 / 10
    Trust
    2 / 10
    Less
    Bill, Queensland, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • HSBC Day to Day Account review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Not bad but not the best either

    Not many free bonuses.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Zahra, New South Wales, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • HSBC Bank Account review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Never ever!

    I have been with HSBC for at least 15 years. I bought an investment property with their hometown. All the income transaction goes to this account since. I spend most of my time overseas. 3 years ago, I updated my mailing address with them so I can re-direct all the mails to my new address in Victoria. They freezes my account out of the blue. We now can't do any transactions. I finally managed to make a trip to the branch with all my personal details. However, the staff member at Collin Street, Melbourne wanted me to provide my oversea financial details, as they suspect I may have involved in money laundry!!!! The staffs were extremely rude! Do NOT deal with HSBC. Avoid at all cost !!!I have been with HSBC for at least 15 years. I bought an investment property with their hometown. All the income transaction goes to this account since. I spend most of my time overseas. 3 years ago, I updated my mailing address with them so I can re-direct all the mails to my new address in Victoria. They freezed my account out of the blue. We now can't do any transactions. I finally managed to make a trip to the branch with all my personal details. However, the staff member at Collin Street, Melbourne wanted me to provide my overseas financial details, as they suspect I may have been involved in money laundering!!!! The staffs were extremely rude! Do NOT deal with HSBC. Avoid at all cost !!!

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    C, Victoria, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • HSBC Day to Day Account review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Good customer service

    Good bank to deal with.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Rob, Western Australia, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Bank account comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Orange Everyday

      account fee
      $0.00
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID
      interest rate
      0% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Hero Transaction Account

      account fee
      $6.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID, Payment Ring
      interest rate
      0.75% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Everyday Global Account

      account fee
      $0.00
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID
      interest rate
      0% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Bank Account

      account fee
      $0.00
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Pay
      interest rate
      0% p.a.

      Promoted
    • USaver Ultra Transaction Account

      account fee
      $0.00
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Pay, Samsung Pay, Garmin, Fitbit
      interest rate
      0% p.a.

      Promoted

    Want more? Compare all 105 bank accounts in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more bank accounts

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.