Commonwealth Bank logo

Commonwealth Bank Personal loan reviews

Overall rating
Price
Features
Customer service
Convenience
Trust
Based on 2143 personal loan reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent Commonwealth Bank personal loan customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Commonwealth Bank Personal Loan

    Beware: They sold me Junk Insurance

    Took out a $10,000 personal loan for a medical procedure. I’ve been a lifelong customer of Commonwealth Bank and thought they’d offered me a good package as this is the first and only loan I’ve had. Was unknowingly sold junk insurance and am now part of a class-action suit for a refund of the insurance and interest they charged. Here’s hoping they do the right thing!

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Stephanie, New South Wales, reviewed 2 months ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Personal Loan

    Great service

    I walked in the door and asked to open an account. I had not dealt with Comm Bank for 20 years. The person who greeted me is the manager. Was given immediate service, and being a very very small customer it was exciting. Each time the manager sees me he comes over to personally greet me - that’s in the branch or even in the street. One day I walked in wishing to make a small deposit of $750,000, no problem he said and arranged it all. Then one day I walked in, again to be greeted by the manager, and asked for a small personal loan to make repairs on my vehicle as well as undertake training to open my own business. He found the right person to talk with and the loan was arranged with the money available in a day after all the paperwork was completed. As someone living in a remote rural area and my account usually at zero, the service I am getting is very very good.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Doug., Victoria, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Personal Loan

    Greedy bank

    I paid out my personal loan and had a balance of $0. I had overpaid the repayment and had $239 in credit. I was told this would be refunded to me only to be refunded $9.99. W hen I enquired about this I was told that they had charged interest on the day after my loan was paid out. They are just greedy and its all about taking your money. I have banked with them for 27 years, not anymore!

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    April, New South Wales, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable)

    I was conditionally approved and then decline

    I was conditionally approved and then got declined, been with bank for 35 years, paid a home loan, never had bad credit or anything, first time asking for a personal loan waste of time, went from call centre personal loan to cba branch personal loans, they kept on passing this back and forth to each other. I just wanted a loan I even had to reduce it multiple times to see if I can borrow less very bad service for CBA.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Carmelo, New South Wales, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Secured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    Banks grubs

    Corporate robots, don't lend to singles the two percent deposit scheme is rubbish, I tick all boxes and can afford the loan but cannot get because of unrealistic lending criteria. All banks.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Mick, Victoria, reviewed 9 months ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable)

    Commonwealth Bank of Australia are great at tricki

    Commonwealth Bank of Australia are great at tricking you into consolidating you personal loans into you mortgage loan convincing you of the benefits when in fact its just a scam to keep you from getting ahead.. Not good.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Brendon, New South Wales, reviewed 9 months ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable)

    Baaaaaad

    N/A

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    John, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable)

    Interest rates too high

    Great service and internet banking is so simple and easy to use. However the interest rates are quite high for personal loans and I'm a long time customer and still don't receive a lower interest rate.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Samantha, Queensland, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Secured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    Quick and Reliable!

    Commonwealth bank are quick and easy to secure a personal loan with, not only did I get my application approved within 24hours, I also got my money the next day. It was super convenient and reliable! Wish the interest rates were abit lower but apart from that it was a great experience lending off them!

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Taylor, New South Wales, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable)

    Best bank in Sydney, great for loans overdrafts.

    I have liked Commonwealth Bank since kindergarten and I can remember using my account for savings, I have been an ongoing customer since aged 5 and I am now 63. They are a good bank, honest, trustworthy and fight for your rights when something goes wrong.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Jeffrey, New South Wales, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable)

    Appalling

    I was treated very poorly for a customer of 40 years. Terrible customer relations. Had to stand to speak to a consultant with other customers within a few feet listening to all my private banking details.

    Features
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Tony, South Australia, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Personal Loan

    Untrustworthy behaviour by the bank

    I would not recommend using them in tge future purely due to the number of errors made by staff and their automated mailing system in my recent dealings with them. I received quite intimidating letters from the bank informing me that I had not made repayments as arranged, although I had, and when I called about this was I was quite dryly told that this was a mustake and a few had been sent out. Whilst waiting for the clearance of a foreign cheque, it was taking a ever-increasing length of time, but when I finally complained, it miraculously cleared in my account that day! - Cost me around 2000 in exchange rates!

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Rachel, New South Wales, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Personal Loan

    Mixed thoughts

    Overall I have been happy with the Commonwealth bank. I did find it very impersonal being able to apply and secure a loan without even stepping foot in the bank. I would also recommend that you don’t use the site to do hypothetical loans as it then comes up on your credit history which I’m not at all happy about.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Amber, Northern Territory, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable)

    CommBank.

    Very uncompetitive interest rates. 17% is way too high compared to other lenders.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Jaime, New South Wales, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable)

    Great customer service always.

    We have always without fail, my husband and I, been treated with so much respect and exceptional customer service and this was when we opened the account to when we first got loans for our cars. The bank was so excited for us and asked us our goals and dreams. So personal and valued us.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Jorgie, Queensland, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Personal loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Unsecured Personal Loan

      interest rate
      5.95% p.a.to 19.95% p.a.
      comparison rate
      5.95% p.a.to 19.95% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Repayment terms from 2 years to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 5.95% would cost $34,757.21 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Personal Loan

      interest rate
      6.89% p.a.to 8.69% p.a.
      comparison rate
      6.89% p.a.to 9.81% p.a.based on $10,000
      over 3 years

      Repayment terms from 1 year to 7 years. Representative example: a 3 year $10,000 loan at 6.89% would cost $11,097.66 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Unsecured Personal Loan

      interest rate
      5.35% p.a.to 19.09% p.a.
      comparison rate
      6.14% p.a.to 19.99% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Repayment terms from 3 years to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 5.35% would cost $34,832.61 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Home Improvement Loan

      interest rate
      5.75% p.a.
      comparison rate
      5.96% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Repayment terms from 1 year to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 5.75% would cost $34,840.18 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Low Rate Personal Loan

      interest rate
      5.85% p.a.to 8.48% p.a.
      comparison rate
      6.47% p.a.to 8.84% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Repayment terms from 1 year to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 5.85% would cost $34,923.63 including fees.

      Promoted

    WARNING: The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a personal loan. The comparison rates displayed are calculated based on a loan of $30,000 for a term of 5 years or a loan of $10,000 for a term of 3 years as indicated, based on monthly principal and interest repayments, on a secured basis for secured loans and an unsecured basis for unsecured loans. This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

    Want more? Compare all 225 personal loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more personal loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.