Travel insurance reviews

Read the latest travel insurance reviews from the Mozo community. Many Australians have reviewed their travel insurers to give you the inside story on everything from claims handling to customer service.

Search a review by:

Recent travel insurance reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • InsureandGo Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Check the small print before wasting your money!

    We paid $1146.00 for travel insurance with this company but when we needed to claim we found it was NOT worth the paper it was written on, the ONLY thing covered was 'Natural Disaster', which obviously COVID 19 is not?

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Jeff, Western Australia, reviewed 17 days ago
  • InsureandGo Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Praise be to AFCA!

    It is to be hoped that Insure&Go doesn’t have the word “integrity” in its Mission Statement! After almost 4 months since my travel insurance claim (approx. $5k) was lodged and the ensuing 2-stage process of MAPFRE complaint/dispute assessment after rejection, I&G has paid. The policy included cancellation due to pandemics. The insurance company stated that I should have accepted vouchers/credits even though I had stated that we were not intending to travel internationally post-Covid, and that the policy period was for an event with end-date. I can only assume that my genuine and earlier threat to refer the claim to the AFCA (ombudsman, arbitrator) was the factor, so I&G probably used the “try-on” first. So “buyer beware” of this company!

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    David, Western Australia, reviewed 17 days ago
  • InsureandGo Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   3 / 10
    Avoiding responsibility

    IT IS TO BE HOPED THAT INSURE&GO DOESN’T HAVE THE WORD “INTEGRITY” IN ITS MISSION STATEMENT! AFTER ALMOST 4 MONTHS SINCE OUT. THE INSURANCE COMPANY STATED THAT I SHOULD HAVE ACCEPTED VOUCHERS/CREDITS EVEN MY TRAVEL INSURANCE CLAIM (APPROX. $5K) WAS LODGED, AND THE ENSUING 2-STAGE PROCESS OF MAPFRE COMPLAINT/DISPUTE AFTER REJECTION, I&G HAS PAID THOUGH I STATED THAT WE WERE NOT INTENDING TO TRAVEL INTERNATIONALLY POST-COVID, AND THAT THE POLICY PERIOD WAS FOR AN EVENT WITH END-DATE. I CAN ONLY ASSUME THAT MY GENUINE AND EARLIER THREAT TO REFER THE CLAIM TO THE AFCA (OMBUDSMAN, ARBITRATOR) WAS THE FACTOR, SO I&G PROBABLY USED THE “TRY-ON” FIRST. SO “BUYER BEWARE” OF THIS COMPANY!

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Claims handling
    5 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    David, Western Australia, reviewed 22 days ago
  • Travel Insurance Direct Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Complete Waste of Money

    I chose to go with Travel Insurance Direct (TID) for my trip through Central and South America in 2019. I decided to go with them because they had competitive pricing, however I later learnt why they are a cheaper choice. Unfortunately while in Peru I had all of my most important personal belongings stolen from my accommodation. Although many of the items were completely irreplaceable, I had some small peace of mind knowing I had travel insurance. I was wrong to let this give me any peace of mind. Never in my life have I ever experienced such poor customer service. I experienced huge delays in responses to my emails (sometimes months), they spelt my name wrong, they requested documentation for a medical condition which I did not have and was not claiming for which later turned out to be another careless mistake made by the claims officer, part of my offer was calculated using the incorrect currency, my phone calls were completely ignored on multiple occasions and worst of all I was offered as little as 25% cover for my items. I would have been better off saving the money I spent on insurance. They also dragged my claim out for well over a year. If you actually want to be covered when you travel I would strongly recommend against TID!

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    T murphy, Queensland, reviewed 17 days ago
  • InsureandGo Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Poor customer service

    We couldn’t travel to the USA in May 2020. Got credit for the flights but due to ill health not able to travel. They make it so difficult to get our money for internal flights back. That is the reason why we took up travel insurance. Will never take travel insurance with them again. Will not recommend them to anyone.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Ravinder, South Australia, reviewed 18 days ago
  • InsureandGo Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Steer well clear.

    I was charged over $160 for requesting a refund, I did all the work online and printed my own receipt, they contributed nothing, all other components of this trip, cruise, flights, and hotels refund me 100%.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Raymond, South Australia, reviewed 29 days ago
  • Allianz Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Stay away from them!

    Very good at convincing you they are going to cover everything when you have to buy, not so much at keeping up to their promises. They are an insurance company... and with that I said everything!

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Mark, Northern Territory, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • World Nomads Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Great marketing, no coverage in troubles!

    World Nomads is great in listing all unfortunate situations, they will take care of if you are in trouble. And you pay for it cause you trust them. Being a well established travel agent I recommended World Nomads to many of my clients in the past. I did it until my expensive camera gear was stolen in Dubai 2019. Dubai airport authorities is a different story for the different poem. I reported my items stolen. I couldn’t collect the report from Dubai Airport Police Station the same day (was traveling with clients to Africa) and the local authorities told me that they will “investigate” first and I should contact them via dedicated website (nightmare). After many attempts I have scheduled one of my journeys via Dubai again to collect the police report. Nothing was ready. Another 2 hours waiting and the report was finally ready, written in.... Arabic. I was asking for the English version, but they simply refused. I sent in the goodwill the report to World Nomads claiming for coverage and they simply refused, saying that my item was lost, not stolen, which they said the police report from Dubai is saying. All this insurance game is just about how to make you pay money and how to use many “gaps” not to cover your losses. Trust your local insurance company for your medical expenses abroad (as you did in the past and they never let you down). Don’t buy any other beautifully listed coverages, which simply don’t work if you are in trouble.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Janusz, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Allianz Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Paid up eventually

    Whilst the original cover failed to cover me properly for a rental care ERI claim, they eventually paid up after they were forced to by the ACCC - five years later. SO a win I think?

    Policy coverage
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Claims handling
    8 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Nick, Queensland, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • InsureandGo Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    They won't pay a legitimate claim

    I was in Hanoi and just begun my trip and on the 17th of March, our travel company advised ceasing operations next day so I took their advice and had them arrange a flight home. Lodged claim mid April and was refused till late July. Entered review on another forum - received an email soon after from Iandgoshoveit stating they were reconsidering my claim and If i would send all relevant documents AGAIN. Did so and late October was advised claim unsuccessful. Surprise Surprise. They string you along as much as they can with apologies and excuses but I'm sure there was never any intention of paying.

    Value for money
    2 / 10
    Policy coverage
    2 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Andrew, New South Wales, reviewed 2 months ago
  • Budget Direct Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Great cover and great customer service.

    Great cover for the price - includes coverage for epidemic (coronavirus) disasters which most others don't. Claims process wasn't very straightforward, but good customer service.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Claims handling
    7 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Kate, Queensland, reviewed 2 months ago
  • Fast Cover Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Good value for money.

    Good value for money and an easy transaction.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    7 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Charlotte, New South Wales, reviewed 2 months ago
  • Allianz Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Great travel insurance service.

    My phone was shattered when I was overseas and when I came back to Sydney I made a claim. It was so quick and easy and I received the full claim made without any hassle. Very impressed, would definitely get travel insurance with Allianz again.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Aish, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Travel Insurance Direct Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Decent level of cover

    Used this insurer a few times in the past. Its great for singles/couples who want a decent level of cover for insurance. I made a mistake with the dates of one of my policies in the past and although the team were nice and somewhat helpful, nothing could be done on their end to extend the policy. Would be great if they had a feature to extend a policy as sometimes things change and trips are extended or in my case a wrong number was entered.

    Value for money
    7 / 10
    Policy coverage
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Claims handling
    7 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Chiara, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • World Nomads Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Competitive prices, fast to apply and good claims

    I have always used world nomads and they have consistently provided competitive pricing and good service when I have had to claim. Getting coverage is always super fast and they often have loyalty specials. Recommended.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Pete, Queensland, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo Reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

    We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

    Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.