Travel insurance reviews

Read the latest travel insurance reviews from the Mozo community. Many Australians have reviewed their travel insurers to give you the inside story on everything from claims handling to customer service.

Search a review by:

Recent travel insurance reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • RACV Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Reliable, efficient, excellent customer service

    Amazing customer service when originally taking out the travel insurance and then when we needed to submit a claim. Extremely reliable and efficient

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Astrid, Western Australia, reviewed 6 days ago
  • Australia Post Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great

    I like them!

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Ben, New South Wales, reviewed 7 days ago
  • InsureandGo Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Don’t use this insurance company.

    Had gold cruise insurance used them a few times and never had to claim on the last cruise. I dropped my $500 camera into the sea, made a claim, filled in all the forms they sent, and was told that my claim has been rejected because I didn’t have a police report. I tried to explain that there where no police on the ship. Made no difference, still rejected.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Paul, Victoria, reviewed 12 days ago
  • Allianz Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Read the fine print.

    Had insurance for broadway tickets in June. They canceled the show and closed the city, denied my claim because fear of travel and pandemics were not covered by their insurance. After reading the fine print it turns out nothing was covered. Should have saved the $50. Would not even refund my cost for the insurance let alone the $637 for the show. Very disappointed that Ticketmaster would allow them on their site. This is only the second time in my life I felt compelled to write a bad review. Their customer service was appalling. I warn any and all of my friends and family to read the fine print and see for themselves why Allianz is not for them.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Matthew, Northern Territory, reviewed 12 days ago
  • InsureandGo Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Communications bad, claims worse!

    My policy covered me for cancellation due to a pandemic but InsureandGo refused my claim even though my trip was cancelled due to government travel restrictions, giving the reason that I "cut my trip short". Following intervention by the ombudsman, InsureandGo suddenly had a change of mind and paid my claim. Communication was terrible, at no time was I permitted to talk to my Claims Officer, and whenever I requested a call back it never eventuated. They might be good for price, but beware for claims!

    Value for money
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    John, Victoria, reviewed 13 days ago
  • InsureandGo Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Complete rort.

    I bought insurance from this company for a family holiday to Thailand and Cambodia to travel in May 2020. Given travel restrictions we can't go. I completed an online claims form in March and I'm still waiting for someone to get in contact with me. Worst customer service and like other reviews this company is a sham. They take your money and have no intention to assist you at all. Ridiculous wait time, no one answers the claims line so you have to go through sales, dodgy. You are not insured when you use this company.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Gabby, Victoria, reviewed 13 days ago
  • World Nomads Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    The Worst Support and Outsource to Tripmate

    World Nomads are the worst! No help by phone, by email or otherwise with the policy. Furthermore they outsource the insurance to Tripmate one of the worst on the web! I have tickets on South African Airways and the policy clearly covers providers that are bankrupt and they refusing to cover the claims.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Judith, New South Wales, reviewed 14 days ago
  • Budget Direct Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Worst Insurer we have ever encountered.

    They fail do pay out legitimate claims. They fail to answer most emails and then when they do they promise an outcome by a particular date. That date passes without any further communication. Their inactions and deliberate tactics to delay paying legitimate claims are bordering on criminal.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Ian, Queensland, reviewed 19 days ago
  • InsureandGo Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Don’t use.

    This company use delay tactics and don’t pay out in legitimate claims.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Lisa, New South Wales, reviewed 28 days ago
  • 1Cover Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Travel insurance.

    No cover for pandemics of course.

    Value for money
    7 / 10
    Policy coverage
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Less
    Patti, Tasmania, reviewed 30 days ago
  • InsureandGo Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Disgusting company.

    Disgusting company who take your money and won't accept any claims for covid related travel cancellations.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Ross, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Budget Direct Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Budget Direct, Unethical and Incompetent.

    We have all probably heard of it happening in the broader insurance company community whereby the Insurer deliberately creates delays and generally makes it so hard for the consumers to pursue legitimate claims that the claimants eventually give up. Going on our own personal experiences and by looking at so many other similar instances documented on this site, it is very apparent that Budget Direct are the masters of employing these tactics. We lodged our claim for international flight refunds (flights cancelled by the airline)then followed up several times when nothing happened and were then asked to submit "additional" information (which we had already previously submitted) then chased up again and again. After months of deliberate delays our claim was rejected as the airline, South African Airways (SAA), have offered to anyone holding a cancelled ticket a "credit" against future travel. However as the trip for us was a one-off and we will never be flying long-haul again due to our age and health reasons (further complicated by the advent of Covid 19). Additionally SAA have been placed in something akin to Receivership with the SA Government making a recent commitment to inject funds some funds into a new national carrier. SAA announced that they will not be flying into Australia and have already sold the only planes that were capable of flying that route. So even if we were wanting to fly again we could not use the so-called credit for a flight out of Australia. As a result of all this we then asked that the rejection be reviewed by a Manager/Team Leader in accordance with Stage One of the Budget Direct Dispute Resolution. We were promised written determination within ten business days and then fifteen business days but nothing ever happened well beyond that period. No contact, no apologies just silence. Now after further urging from us we today received an email saying the claim is still rejected even though we had comprehensive cover but we can further challenge the decision by going to Stage 2. Here is how Budget Direct summarised things: "Given the above information, we are only able to provide coverage for items which you are unable to recover from any other source and you must take all reasonable steps to reduce your loss which could possibly lead to a claim. As you have been offered credits for the bookings you are claiming, this is considered as recovering the costs from the source and accepting these is considered a step which you could take to reduce your loss. Therefore the costs are outside the scope of the policy." Apparently according to Budget Direct it doesn't matter that the offered "credit" cannot be used by us or the fact that SAA are unable to provide anyone future flights from Australia it is simply a matter that the airline has made an offer and we according to Budget Direct's interpretation are obliged to accept a worthless offer. Go figure......... So don't be fooled by the cheap insurance quote you may get from Budget Direct as its real value will only be exposed if you have to make a claim. Our strongest recommendation to anyone considering using Budget Direct is DON'T USE THEM AS THEY ARE TOTALLY UNETHICAL.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Ian, Queensland, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • InsureandGo Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    I imagine all insurance companies are the same

    At age 76 had an opportunity to travel to the UK. First time overseas. Along comes Covid-19 and of course all overseas travel was cancelled, not by me. Contacted InsureandGo saying that I was prepared to take a raincheck for possible travel same time 2021. Told that was not their policy and also was not eligible for refund. This is not right and I bag them at every opportunity.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Elizabeth, Victoria, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • InsureandGo Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Go with any other insurer. Any!

    Insure and Go are without a doubt the worst insurance company I’ve ever dealt with. If anyone is even thinking about giving them your business, read all the comments on their Facebook page. There’s no smoke without fire. There is a consistent theme behind all these stories in the comments that clearly displays their overall attitude to customers and it’s nothing short of disgusting. They are unresponsive and their claim process is a joke. First blame COVID, then won’t pay because the overseas hotel issued a credit note. A credit note for a hotel we cannot get to because of an international travel ban.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Steve, New South Wales, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • InsureandGo Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Avoid Insure and Go.

    I purchased travel insurance before the COVID-19 warning appeared on their website. Could not travel due to government forbidding overseas travel. No refund allowed. Given the run around. When I need travel insurance in the future, I'll avoid this insurer and associated entities.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Anna, Queensland, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo Reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

    We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

    Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.