Travel insurance reviews

Read the latest travel insurance reviews from the Mozo community. Many Australians have reviewed their travel insurers to give you the inside story on everything from claims handling to customer service.

Search a review by:

Recent travel insurance reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • InsureandGo Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Fraudulent company

    Ceased our insurance Cover without notification after maximum cover, mid trip, and was not informed. Would not cover any expenses and couldn’t care less! This company is a sham.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    2 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Graeme, New South Wales, reviewed 7 days ago
  • InsureandGo Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    I received a very poor result from InsureandGo

    Basically I paid a little over $299.00 for 4 nights travel -Sydney to Melbourne - to go to my granddaughter's wedding in March. This had to be cancelled because of the virus travel restrictions. I asked if InsureandGo could just transfer the insurance to a later date. Instead they gave me a credit of $58.57 to be used until Sept 21 on another of their policies. I was very disappointed with this outcome, thinking it was an extremely poor result. They had not supplied any service and they wanted to take my money.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Dorothy, New South Wales, reviewed 8 days ago
  • InsureandGo Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Never use this company.

    I, like hundreds of other unfortunate Insure and Go policy holders, could not travel overseas due to COVID -19. We were refused a credit, until I reported them to AFCA. They then offered a 50% credit. I reluctantly accepted, but will not use them again. Nor will I recommend them. Word of mouth travels fast. They are very shonky, and I hope they suffer for the shocking treatment of their loyal customers. I had purchased our policy in June 2019 for a May 2020 trip.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Pauline, New South Wales, reviewed 8 days ago
  • InsureandGo Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Questionable

    I made a claim for the first time after years with them. They rejected it, without realising I had not sent any of the documents they had requested. I wonder how did they manage to make the decision without even knowing the details of my claim. It s a fraud. I m not going to renew my policy.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Cosimo, Northern Territory, reviewed 8 days ago
  • Australia Post Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Australia Post Travel Insurance is terrible

    Australia Post Travel Insurance is virtually uncontactable and will refuse to refund your money and hide behind the PDS. I bought my policy in May 2019 with Australia Post Travel Insurance for a cruise and USA trip on 24th March 2020 for more than $825.00 (the whole trip was cancelled by cruise line so will get my money back from them). It took me multiple attempts and hours upon hours to get through to Australia Post on the phone and spoke to Jen who was less than helpful. I was told that because I bought the policy before June 2019 the PDS was different then and I am entitled to absolutely no refund. This is despite the fact that they have provided me with no service and charged substantially for the privilege of purchasing an online policy. I asked for a supervisor to call me back which has not happened over a month has gone by. Please be warned. Don't use them and if you do read and understand the PDS. Even better take it to your solicitor first. Go elsewhere for travel insurance.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Paul, New South Wales, reviewed 8 days ago
  • InsureandGo Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Sham travel policy from sham company

    Incurring costs for early return flights after QANTAS announce they are cancelling all international flights from 31st March (our return flight was 25th April) and with Australia effectively closing its borders (whilst we were already in USA) you would think would be a "no brainer" travel insurance cover. But, not with this sham insurance policy from this sham travel insurance company.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Mark, New South Wales, reviewed 9 days ago
  • Tick Travel Insurance Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    They are hopeless, don't go there

    Don't trust them, they don't pay up when you claim. They give you a heap of lies as to why. It's a waste of money. Just stay away and money go else where. Don't waste your money.

    Value for money
    0 / 10
    Policy coverage
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Joseph, Victoria, reviewed 9 days ago
  • InsureandGo Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Thieves.

    I contacted insureandGO last week. I took out an annual policy just prior to Covid 19 and clearly can't travel. The generic response received twice refers to non annual policy. I contacted them again saying I don't have a single policy, I received the same response. Needless to say, I won't be renewing my policy next year. There are insurers out there giving 6 monthly rebates due to Covid 19.

    Value for money
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Paul, New South Wales, reviewed 9 days ago
  • InsureandGo Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Refused refund.

    A negative rating if I could. In March 2020 I took out travel insurance with INSUREANDGO for a domestic trip to Tasmania in June. Due to the Covid-19 travel restrictions as they relate to closed state borders I am unable to travel. As such the policy is of no use to me due to circumstances beyond my control. Until recently, many Aussies who had to cancel holiday plans due to coronavirus have been unable to claim refunds for travel insurance. However, a recent announcement by the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (ACCC) suggests that might be about to change. On 2 April, the ACCC confirmed it would be letting brokers and insurers work together, to implement a range of COVID-19 relief measures for small businesses and everyday Aussies. One of the benefits included in the relief package is the ability for consumers to claim refunds on unused insurance policies, which includes travel insurance, as long as the trip was cancelled for reasons related to COVID-19. "All policyholders, including consumers, eligible small businesses and larger businesses, who cancel travel plans will be able to get a credit or refund for any unused travel insurance premiums, again without administration or cancellation fees." – ACCC So far, the authorisation applies to Suncorp, Allianz and QBE. But the ACCC has said any other insurance company or broker is welcome to participate, as long as it informs the ACCC. I contacted INSUREANDGO asking for a refund but was refused as I was outside the normal 14-day cooling off period. I was told to lodge a complaint, which I did. I await their response. To me it’s unethical for INSUREANDGO to keep my hard earned money for an insurance product I didn't get to use.

    Value for money
    5 / 10
    Policy coverage
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Bruce, Queensland, reviewed 9 days ago
  • Budget Direct Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   2 / 10
    Can't be trusted as a fair travel insurer

    The advertising for this company is not a true representation. They will use all the tricks to avoid there responsibilities under the travel insurance contract. Don't expect fairness from them when it comes to their dealings with you. My advice is not to be sucked in to there advertising and go to a different provider.

    Value for money
    5 / 10
    Policy coverage
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Claims handling
    2 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Chris, South Australia, reviewed 9 days ago
  • InsureandGo Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Not a cheap policy and bad customer service

    Rang before we left for the USA and were told if airlines are flying we will get no refund if we cancel due to COVID-19. We went and within a week had to rush home as borders were closing. They have rejected our claim on a loophole 'cutting your trip short'. Will never use them again and will actively tell all who will listen how bad they are. We travel a lot (or did) but have never come across anyone so hard to deal with, they tell you differently things each time we spoke to them.

    Value for money
    2 / 10
    Policy coverage
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Margaret, New South Wales, reviewed 9 days ago
  • InsureandGo Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    They collect money but don't pay out claims

    I realise how dodgy and unreliable Insureandgo are when I submitted a claim for a broken luggage bag and after months of correspondence and delays, they rejected it.

    Value for money
    5 / 10
    Policy coverage
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Timothy, Victoria, reviewed 9 days ago
  • Tick Travel Insurance Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Poor customer service and hiding behind policy

    Spend each week trying to get hold of their customer services only to be promised a call back or email response. Having brought their comprehensive travel insurance I was told they would honour any cancellation claims however, I have found out that their requirements are designed to make any claim almost impossible. The travel agents and accommodation places are not responding to emails and according Tick I need them to provide a cancellation certificate. GotoGate and MyTrips have even disconnected their hot line. I also had a boat trip in Colombia booked and they are not responding. Airlines such as Copa and Interjet will not provide any information saying I need to go travel agents I booked through. It's a vicious circle where travel agents do not respond and Tick Insurance (after getting a response) refuse to pay out on any claim unless they have a formal cancellation certificate. There is no compassion or understanding of the impacts of COVID and being able to get cancellation certificates. I have provided my credit card and bank statements sowing payment, airfare tickets and accommodation bookings all clearly labelled non refundable. Think twice before purchasing Tick Insurance You may think you are covered however, this assumes you are able to get all the information required under their policy which may not be attainable in extreme events such as the COVID pandemic. ---- Since writing the above, TICK Insurance have completely and utterly attempted to frustrate things further with the same requests. The most recent is to get a cancellation notice from the US Department of Immigration to say my Visa application is cancelled. Similar to hotels with a non refundable non cancellation policy, the US Dept of Immigration are not going to cancel nor provide a cancellation notice yet TICK are refusing to cover the costs. I would add TICK customer service could not be this poor. They have made a decision to frustrate claims in the hope their customers give up and go away. Very poor given the circumstances. All I want to be reimbursed for out of travel expenses which are covered under my comprehensive travel policy. How can this be unreasonable? Please re-consider TICK if you are looking at travel insurance. It's a Policy thwart with exceptions and terms which make it impossible claim.

    Value for money
    0 / 10
    Policy coverage
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Dean, Victoria, reviewed 9 days ago
  • InsureandGo Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Thieves.

    Disgusting company, have attempted to gain refund or extension of cover due to covid-19. They simply are pathetic to deal with.

    Value for money
    6 / 10
    Policy coverage
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Ron, South Australia, reviewed 10 days ago
  • InsureandGo Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Never use this company.

    I took out Gold insurance to Canada and Alaska in June 2019, for travel in May 2020. The tour was cancelled due to the coronavirus. Insure and Go refuse to credit the policy, for the exact same trip in May 2021. What a thieving, dishonest company. All other aspects of the tour have provided credits. I have lodged my complaint with AFCA, as has over 1500 others. I will never use or recommend this shonky company.

    Value for money
    7 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Pauline, New South Wales, reviewed 10 days ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo Reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

    We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

    Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.