Travel insurance customer reviews

Read the latest travel insurance reviews from the Mozo community. Many Australians have reviewed their travel insurance companies to give you the inside story on everything from claims handling to customer service.

Write a review

Search a review by:

Recent travel insurance customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Australia Post Travel Insurance

    Disaster, Left in agony without treatment for week

    tortured with broken leg due to refusel of immediate treatmentleft with broken leg, no pain killers no cast for 2 weeks as they wanted to send me home for treatment to avoid paining medical in America. While waiting 2 weeks for them to organize my trip back to Australia I was left humiliated and in agony, having to crawl on my hands and knees even just to got to the toilet, then if I made it there it was often too late by the time I had to maneuver myself up and on to the toilet. I was unable to obtain a drink or a proper meal as I had no was of carrying it back. Partially approved with transport to Australia, still waiting on claim from airport transport to home. Finally received my travel cost to get home from airport after 10 weeks of numerous submissions

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Vivienne, Victoria, reviewed 14 days ago
    More Australia Post travel insurance customer reviews
  • Qantas Travel Insurance

    Provided quote with cover then wouldn't honour it.

    Provided a quote saying medical issues were covered. Then when went to purchase the insurance prior to the date of the quotation expiring, they said they'd changed the rules... They then put me through to customer service and said it was out of hours in that country and to phone back later. When I phoned back they wouldn't speak to me regarding the other passenger, even though it was okay for me to do the screening for them online earlier.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Janine, Western Australia, reviewed 14 days ago
    More Qantas travel insurance customer reviews
  • Cheap Travel Insurance Travel Insurance

    Amazing

    Super easy to purchase! Amazing coverage! Amazing customer service.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Molly, Queensland, reviewed 14 days ago
    More Cheap Travel Insurance travel insurance customer reviews
  • Freely Travel Insurance

    Terrific to deal with

    The service from the very beginning of my dealings with Freely was utterly professional and quick , I am yet to make a claim with them but I am confident there will not be a problem

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Anthony, South Australia, reviewed 14 days ago
    More Freely travel insurance customer reviews
  • Zoom Travel Insurance

    Bend over backwards to deny a claim

    We experienced flooding whilst in Europe in December which caused our train journey from London to Glasgow to be abandoned in Preston. We had to then get local accomodation and a hire car to complete our trip to Glasgow. Zoom denied our claim because a single bus was provided in Preston to continue the journey. When we arrived in Preston there were over 1000 people ahead of us in the bus queue and we were advised to make other travel arrangements by Preston Station staff. Despite this the claim was denied. I couldnt recommend you avoid Zoom Insurance more strongly. Its doesn't have any value.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Richard, New South Wales, reviewed 13 days ago
    More Zoom travel insurance customer reviews
  • Webjet Travel Insurance

    Webjet travel insurance is a joke!

    Had to travel one day earlier than booked and return one day earlier due to hospital operation scheduled unexpectantly. When I contacted Webjet to advise to change dates of policy, was told that if we intended to claim the difference charged by airline ($470) that they could not change the policy to include the day we flew out. Also, if we put in a claim, there was no guarantee it would be accepted. So we had to choose to either change the dates on the policy and forfeit the claim or put in a claim and leave t h e policy dates as they were. Why bother with insurance then?

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Del, New South Wales, reviewed 13 days ago
    More Webjet travel insurance customer reviews
  • Cover-More Travel Insurance Travel Insurance

    Abysmal, dishonest, fraudulent.

    I have insured twice with Covermore, claiming each time. Covermore rejected both claims, in the first claim, Covermore requested my medical records from my GP and deliberately misinterpreted it, citing incorrect dates, times and diagnoses. I appealed their decision and won. My second claim was also rejected, Covermore failed to address part of my claim. i submitted an appeal to their decision, however, Covermore refused any to acknowledge my appeal forcing me to seek assistance from the AFCA ombudsman. AfterAFCA intervened Covermore accepted my claim them attempted to silence me by asking me to sign a Deed of Release acknowledging that I would not seek assistance from the AFCA again and keep the claim confidential. I refused.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Tony, South Australia, reviewed 13 days ago
    More Cover-More Travel Insurance travel insurance customer reviews
  • Tick Travel Insurance Travel Insurance

    Green Tick Travel Insurance: Disastrous Experience

    My recent encounter with Green Tick Travel Insurance has left me deeply disappointed and frustrated. Despite purchasing top cover, including 24-hour medical assistance, the company has not only failed to pay our claim over two months after the event but has also shown a complete lack of assistance during our time of need. This review aims to shed light on the abysmal service provided by Green Tick Travel Insurance, cautioning potential customers to think twice before entrusting their travel safety to this company. Unfulfilled Promises: One of the main reasons we chose Green Tick Travel Insurance was their promise of comprehensive coverage and round-the-clock medical assistance. However, when I found myself in a dire situation, their response was far from what we expected. I required timely medical assistance, needing to access urgent services, including a medical evacuation. We had requested preauthorisation and, it became evident that their claims of providing assistance were nothing more than empty words. Could not get a timely response and therefore had to pay significant costs upfront for potentially lifesaving treatments. We were fortunate to have access to a credit card and funds via family back in Australia to cover up front costs. Lack of Payment:To add insult to injury, Green Tick Travel Insurance has not yet paid out our claim, despite the fact that we held what we believed to be top cover. Their lack of transparency and failure to pay out our claim in a timely manner is not only disheartening but also raises serious questions about their integrity as an insurance provider. It is clear that their commitment to their customers’ well-being is nothing more than a façade. We have since been asked to fill out form after form and answer not applicable questions. Unhelpful Customer Service:When we finally managed to reach their customer service department, we were met with unhelpful and dismissive attitudes. Instead of addressing our concerns and providing the assistance we desperately needed, they seem more interested in deflecting blame and avoiding responsibility and have since stopped replaying to emails and despite numerous requests have not returned out calls. This complete disregard for customer satisfaction is utterly unacceptable and reflects a lack of professionalism on their part. Conclusion:My experience with Green Tick Travel Insurance has been nothing short of a nightmare. Their failure to fulfill their promises, refusal to pay our claim, and unhelpful customer service have left me with a bitter taste in my mouth. I strongly advise potential customers to steer clear of this company and explore other options for their travel insurance needs. Green Tick Travel Insurance has proven itself to be unreliable, unworthy of our hard-earned money and untrustworthy to take care of travel insurance needs.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Jarrod, Victoria, reviewed 4 months ago
    More Tick Travel Insurance travel insurance customer reviews
  • InsureandGo Travel Insurance

    Terrible insurance when making legit claim

    To anyone looking for travel insurance this year I would recommend against @InsureandGoAU as they DO NOT cover cancellation by airline (with a top tier insurance policy) even though their website claims they do

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Nick, New South Wales, reviewed 4 months ago
    More InsureandGo travel insurance customer reviews
  • 1Cover Travel Insurance

    1Cover make it impossible to make a claim

    Airline lost my luggage. 1Cover wanted Proof of travel arrangements (eg. original flight itinerary showing departing and returning flights, accommodation invoice for placed you stayed at, etc.) List and Proof of purchase for all of the original items that were lost, stolen or damaged (e.g. receipts/bank statements confirming the purchase date and price) Proof of Loss (i.e. police report, report to hotel, airline etc.) Compensation letter from the airline, as to how much they are reimbursing you for losing your luggage. Just impossible to provide all the above.

    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Uyvonne, New South Wales, reviewed 8 days ago
    More 1Cover travel insurance customer reviews
  • 1Cover Travel Insurance

    Breast cancer claim denied from a genuine family

    We had a genuine claim for my wife’s breast cancer knocked back and not one call to explain why ??? Very poor communication and service !! Would NOT recommend !

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Andrew, Victoria, reviewed 5 months ago
    More 1Cover travel insurance customer reviews
  • World Nomads Travel Insurance

    BEWARE: Scam

    BEWARE: If your situation isn't on the list, it's not covered My recent travel experience with World Nomad Travel Insurance has left me feeling utterly frustrated and disappointed. Due to unforeseen circumstances at Beijing airport, I had to spend an extra $3,000 rerouting my flights. I checked with World Nomads and they said it shouldn't be a problem to claim this. However, later, I was told this situation wasn't covered in the set of specific situations you can claim for with World Nomads Insurance. I was genuinely shocked that this kind of situation was not covered by insurance, but World Nomads has a very specific set of situations and if your situation does not fall into that it is not covered. The Situation: I had planned a trip from Madrid to Melbourne with a three-day layover in Beijing, having researched extensively the complex visa-free transit regulations in China. Upon arriving in Beijing, I was detained at the airport for three hours and informed that I needed to rebook my flights because my original itinerary involved a layover in Guangzhou, which is not permitted under the 144 temporary transit visa I was applying for. This unexpected development was not mentioned in the 144 visa information online, and even the New Zealand diplomats I consulted before my trip were unaware of this rule. The Consequences: As a result of this unforeseen complication, I had no choice but to book new flights with Air China since my original carrier, China Southern, did not offer direct flights from Beijing to Australia. This necessitated a re-routing of my travel plans with a stopover in Sydney instead of Melbourne. Additionally, I had to cancel my non-refundable tickets with China Southern. Challenges in Communication: Being in China, I was unable to use essential communication tools like Google and WhatsApp. Thankfully, a friend, assisted me in booking new flights and contacting both China Southern and World Nomads to explore my options. She was told by World Nomads that it should be fine for me to rebook my flights and then claim the money back afterwards. Conclusion: While I understand that visa regulations can be complex and ever-changing, it was incredibly frustrating to encounter such a significant obstacle due to inadequate information and communication. World Nomads could improve its service by providing more comprehensive travel advisories or assistance in situations where customers encounter unforeseen circumstances beyond their control. I was genuinely shocked this kind of situation was not covered by insurance, but World Nomads have a particular set of situations and if your situation does not fall into that it is not covered. I appreciate the support I received from my friend and her quick thinking in assisting me during this stressful situation. However, I am left with an unexpected financial burden due to additional expenses and the lack of clarity surrounding my travel arrangements. In light of my experience, I encourage travellers to thoroughly research and consider the potential pitfalls of visa regulations when planning their trips. Additionally, I hope World Nomads takes steps to provide clearer and more updated information to help their customers navigate such complex situations in the future. I am extremely disappointed and out of pocket as this is exactly the type of situation I would expect insurance to cover - and why I buy expensive insurance in the first place! Annie

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Annie, Queensland, reviewed 5 months ago
    More World Nomads travel insurance customer reviews
  • Australia Post Travel Insurance

    i have assistanss in commenwelth bank so i'm happy

    Thank you I know insurance very importent to us so i'm happy .

    Value for money
    Less
    Indrajeyaluxmy, New South Wales, reviewed 6 months ago
    More Australia Post travel insurance customer reviews
  • 1Cover Travel Insurance

    Good coverage

    Good price and good coverage. I never claim so I don’t know about claim handling.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Eri, Queensland, reviewed 5 months ago
    More 1Cover travel insurance customer reviews
  • Flight Centre Travel Insurance

    Scam insurance company that takes your money!!!

    This doesn’t even deserve one star, pathetic excuse of a company. If you would prefer to throw your hard earned money down the drain go for it when purchasing this fraud of an “insurance”. The irony is they call themselves “cover more” when in fact they don’t cover SQUAT!!!! They don’t get back to you when sending emails, when on the phone they find any way possible not to cover you for things that you were told they would cover, they are SCAMMERS!! They do not provide any assistance but they’ll happily tell you lies when purchasing from them. I paid a premium for top coverage and they did absolutely NOTHING!!!!! Extremely expensive policy that didn’t do anything for me and was a waste of money. I will be sure to tell everyone to NEVER EVER EVER buy from this mob owned insurance company!!!!!

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Jenny, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
    More Flight Centre travel insurance customer reviews
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews. Financial providers may, from time to time, offer incentives for reviews, regardless of the sentiment of the reviews.

    About Mozo Reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

    We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

    Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.