Travel insurance reviews

Read the latest travel insurance reviews from the Mozo community. Many Australians have reviewed their travel insurers to give you the inside story on everything from claims handling to customer service.

Search a review by:

Recent travel insurance reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • World Nomads Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Competitive prices, fast to apply and good claims

    I have always used world nomads and they have consistently provided competitive pricing and good service when I have had to claim. Getting coverage is always super fast and they often have loyalty specials. Recommended.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Pete, Queensland, reviewed 4 days ago
  • Allianz Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   2 / 10
    Be vary careful.

    Complimentary cover with my credit card when I paid for my European holiday. Cover specifically states you will not be covered if you travel against government advice. So I cancelled a holiday as advised or recommended by smart traveller. To be told they will not cover my cancellation costs for my holiday. They to re-evaluate there product and disclosure or terms and conditions.

    Value for money
    6 / 10
    Policy coverage
    3 / 10
    Customer service
    4 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    2 / 10
    Less
    Nikki, Victoria, reviewed 7 days ago
  • Cover-More Travel Insurance Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    World class travel insurance: I highly recommend.

    I loved this insurer. They were thorough and detailed when I was deciding which amount of coverage I needed. Then when my belongings got stolen on a beach in Greece the claiming process was also thorough yet easy to understand and their response was timely. I wouldn't see any cons in this insurer, I have used them several times and encouraged others to do the same. I had a seamless experience from the beginning to the end and their prices were competitive with other insurers and I always felt like I was safe in their hands whilst I was travelling.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Belle, Victoria, reviewed 7 days ago
  • Cover-More Travel Insurance Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    The best travel insurance! Will use again!

    I thought Cover More was a really great travel insurance company and have used it twice now when travelling Europe. I felt secure knowing that if something went wrong they would have my back! I didn’t have any issues but thought it was good that it covered me for activities such as motor bike riding and other similar things! I did a lot of quad biking in Greece so made me feel a little more comfortable with that.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Emily, New South Wales, reviewed 12 days ago
  • Chubb Australia Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Travel cancellation - great experience.

    Great to deal with after Covid-19 caused holiday cancellation. Initially it was tough to get the claim accepted for cancellation but once the Aus govt issued 'Do Not Travel' advice for all countries Chubb was prompt and fair in all dealings and were even prompting me to respond to emails at one point. Would certainly recommend to peers.

    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Elliott, New South Wales, reviewed 14 days ago
  • 1Cover Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Good, affordable cover for multi-trip travel

    Good policies for year round travel (expensive if just using for a one off trip). Be careful to read disclaimers however (eg flight being moved by airline did not count as a reason to receive re-imbursement for subsequent missed flights).

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Claims handling
    5 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Alexandra, New South Wales, reviewed 15 days ago
  • InsureandGo Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Do not use this company.

    Do not use this company. I’ve used them many times over the last 5 years but when I actually had to make a claim on my insurance I have been treated abominably! I have now been waiting for 6 months for my perfectly legitimate (and modest) claim to be settled. They try at every juncture to avoid contact or respond in any meaningful way and I now believe that they are a fraudulent company who have no intention of honouring our contract. My complaint is now with the Ombudsman (along with many others about this company) but I’m afraid that this will make little impact on such a fraudulent company who care nothing for their customers. My advice is to use a reputable company and don’t touch this lot with a barge pole!!

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Jim, Victoria, reviewed 25 days ago
  • MyCover Travel Insurance Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Travel insurance 75% money back for any reason.

    Travel insurance that guarantees 75% refund, cancel for any reason refund. Especially important with Covid-19 and travel credits given only not cash back.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Claims handling
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Pam, Victoria, reviewed 28 days ago
  • Allianz Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Helpful and good coverage.

    Allianz were very helpful when I asked the questions surrounding the coverage of the travel insurance I purchased last year. Helpful and good coverage at a decent price.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Leah, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • nib Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Outstanding customer service, would recommend.

    Nib customer service is good and ready to help you. I was charged extra fees for a dental treatment because I was misinformed by one of the representatives so the next time I called, the manager happily credited back the extra amount and adjusted that into my premium. As a result it restores my faith into the company and I’m thinking of going for another product with them soon. Both me and my wife have Nib cover and we are happy with them. I think it's a customers duty to be informed before going for medical treatments to be better informed. I would recommend Nib to friends and family because they've always been really helpful and affordable.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Mathilde, Queensland, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • 1Cover Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Helped us with an accident overseas.

    Have had to claim with this company whilst overseas and in an accident. Could not believe how quickly they helped us and paid for things and reimbursed us. Even through the middle of the night!

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Natalie, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • 1Cover Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    False trade practice by travel insurer.

    This insurer made it really difficult for me to claim a trip I couldn't go because of a death in my family. They asked for evidence and I provided a medical letter from a cancer Oncology ward at a major hospital and they still required more. That to me is dishonest and false trade practice as the letter should be enough. I would never insure through them again. For anyone considering travel insurance make sure you ask them exactly what proof you need before booking and becoming a member. If it sounds too tricky or complicated don't join.

    Value for money
    5 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Robert, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Flight Centre Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Flight Centre the best in the business.

    Flight centre have lovely professional staff, clients and their customer service is number one. They take pride in their holiday packages and care is taken to provide clients with all that they need to make their holiday a memorable one never to be forgotten. All the I's are dotted and nothing is left out. 10 out of 10 flight centre. Keep up the great work you do.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Suzanne, Queensland, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Cover-More Travel Insurance Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Great complimentary insurance with credit card.

    I have complimentary insurance attached to my credit card, which is a plus, but it only covers the basics.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Less
    Christina, New South Wales, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Cover-More Travel Insurance Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    The level of cover is incomparable.

    When choosing an insurer, Cover-More did come in the most expensive however after reading the policy intensely I realised that you do get what you pay for. The level of cover and customer service was almost incomparable. They also provide cancel for any reason cover with Flight Centre which has been a saviour on two occasions. I will always use Cover-More for peace of mind when I travel knowing that I am fully covered.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Chanel, Queensland, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo Reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

    We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

    Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.