Travel insurance reviews

Read the latest travel insurance reviews from the Mozo community. Many Australians have reviewed their travel insurers to give you the inside story on everything from claims handling to customer service.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent travel insurance reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

American Express

American Express travel insurance review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Would use another insurer for travel next time

Difficult to get claim for overseas travel issues like stolen goods.

Full review

Difficult to get claim for overseas travel issues like stolen goods.

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Amelia (TAS), reviewed 4 months ago

Australia Post

Australia Post travel insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Aim to please

Australia Post has been around forever and I trust them.

Full review

Australia Post has been around forever and I trust them.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Angie (QLD), reviewed 5 months ago

nib

nib travel insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Speak to you well when you ring them

They only charged a few dollars for a week long extension.

Full review

They only charged a few dollars for a week long extension.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Janice (SA), reviewed 5 months ago

medibank

medibank travel insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Competitive premiums and great customer service

Very informative and helpful.

Full review

Very informative and helpful.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Janice (SA), reviewed 5 months ago

Budget Direct

Budget Direct travel insurance review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Not a very good policy

They ripped us off for our New Zealand trip

Full review

They ripped us off for our New Zealand trip

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Stewart (NSW), reviewed 5 months ago

1Cover

1Cover travel insurance review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Competitive premiums and great customer service

They cover you when you have previous medical conditions, without charging.

Full review

They cover you when you have previous medical conditions, without charging.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Lynn (NSW), reviewed 5 months ago

AAMI

AAMI travel insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service

Very helpful

Full review

Very helpful

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Lorraine (SA), reviewed 5 months ago

ANZ

ANZ travel insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Really solid

ANZ provided some solid travel insurance for my trip to Europe.

Full review

ANZ provided some solid travel insurance for my trip to Europe.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Christopher (QLD), reviewed 5 months ago

Cover-More Travel Insurance

Cover-More Travel Insurance travel insurance review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Only because they cover cruising

I only choose them because they cover cruising.

Full review

I only choose them because they cover cruising.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Doreen (QLD), reviewed 5 months ago

Kango Cover

Kango Cover travel insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Just the best all around price and coverage

Great experience with Kango, always have the best cover when going overseas for my trips, you can feel safe and let your hair down because these guys come with you. Always returned my emails asap, no delays. Broke my back and had no problem with...

Full review

Great experience with Kango, always have the best cover when going overseas for my trips, you can feel safe and let your hair down because these guys come with you. Always returned my emails asap, no delays. Broke my back and had no problem with the coverage, was instant, no questions, saved my life Ty ty

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Sean (NSW), reviewed 5 months ago

Travel Insurance Direct

Travel Insurance Direct travel insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Competitive premiums

No fuss insurance. What more can you ask for.

Full review

No fuss insurance. What more can you ask for.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Trust   -1 / 10

Less

Phil (VIC), reviewed 5 months ago

1Cover

1Cover travel insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Very happy

It’s been good for me at my age plus it's cheap

Full review

It’s been good for me at my age plus it's cheap

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Lois (WA), reviewed 5 months ago

Travel Insuranz

Travel Insuranz travel insurance review

Overall rating   6 / 10

The money was good for the time away

I had no problems with my insurer as I didn't need to use them. The money was good for the time away

Full review

I had no problems with my insurer as I didn't need to use them. The money was good for the time away

    Value for money   6 / 10

    Trust   -1 / 10

Less

Deborah (QLD), reviewed 6 months ago

Allianz

Allianz travel insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Good cover at no cost from HCF

Cover provided with HCF

Full review

Cover provided with HCF

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

George (NSW), reviewed 6 months ago

Online Travel Insurance

Online Travel Insurance travel insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Easy and helpful

I haven't had any reason to claim however every time I have dealt with staff online I have felt as if they will look after you

Full review

I haven't had any reason to claim however every time I have dealt with staff online I have felt as if they will look after you

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Rachel (WA), reviewed 6 months ago

Bupa

Bupa travel insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Helpful & Fast

Their company is well organised. They're super helpful and fast with the claims handling

Full review

Their company is well organised. They're super helpful and fast with the claims handling

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Daniel (TAS), reviewed 7 months ago

Australia Post

Australia Post travel insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Premium Service - Fast and Efficient

Australia Post never disappoint. They have the lowest rates going. Mind you we have been fortunate in the respect that we have never had an issue.

Full review

Australia Post never disappoint. They have the lowest rates going. Mind you we have been fortunate in the respect that we have never had an issue.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Karen (TAS), reviewed 7 months ago

Go Insurance

Go Insurance travel insurance review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Horrible customer service

Never again! They refused a legitimate claim because I didn't call them first and it was a medical emergency! Never again.

Full review

Never again! They refused a legitimate claim because I didn't call them first and it was a medical emergency! Never again.

    Value for money   6 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Sofia (QLD), reviewed 7 months ago

American Express

American Express travel insurance review

Overall rating   5 / 10

It's good but there's better out there.

I am aware of better companies out there.

Full review

I am aware of better companies out there.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Kristen (QLD), reviewed 7 months ago

Bupa

Bupa travel insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Very helpful

Very caring and assuring services. Very handy in my travel concerns and needs.

Full review

Very caring and assuring services. Very handy in my travel concerns and needs.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Anjali (VIC), reviewed 7 months ago

Easy Travel Insurance

Easy Travel Insurance travel insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Easy online process

No problems so far.

Full review

No problems so far.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Cheryle (SA), reviewed 7 months ago

Cover-More Travel Insurance

Cover-More Travel Insurance travel insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Good value for money and customer service

They covered everything I needed for a great price, easy to deal with and fast when I had a claim while travelling overseas!

Full review

They covered everything I needed for a great price, easy to deal with and fast when I had a claim while travelling overseas!

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Samantha (QLD), reviewed about 1 year ago

Online Travel Insurance

Online Travel Insurance travel insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Competitive premiums and great service

Never had a problem, have used them multiple times when travelling overseas.

Full review

Never had a problem, have used them multiple times when travelling overseas.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Jodie (WA), reviewed about 1 year ago

Cover-More Travel Insurance

Cover-More Travel Insurance travel insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Competitive premiums and trustworthy service

Recently had this cover and needed to contact them whilst overseas for support- was extremely impressed with their assistance and prompt responses in every part of the process. Highly recommend.

Full review

Recently had this cover and needed to contact them whilst overseas for support- was extremely impressed with their assistance and prompt responses in every part of the process. Highly recommend.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Lesley (NSW), reviewed about 1 year ago

Travel Insurance Direct

Travel Insurance Direct travel insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service and discounts

Fortunately I've never had to make a claim. It was easy to apply online and their follow up emails were instant. I have always paid way in advance of our departure date and when the time came for our trip, they sent us a lovely text with our...

Full review

Fortunately I've never had to make a claim. It was easy to apply online and their follow up emails were instant. I have always paid way in advance of our departure date and when the time came for our trip, they sent us a lovely text with our policy number and wished us a safe trip. I've used Travel Insurance Direct a number of times now. Each time we use them we get a discount.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Debbie (VIC), reviewed about 1 year ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2018

Forget industry awards where the industry scratch each other’s backs. Mozo presents the People’s Choice Awards, based on real customer reviews.

Check out the winners
Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.