Travel insurance reviews

Read the latest travel insurance reviews from the Mozo community. Many Australians have reviewed their travel insurers to give you the inside story on everything from claims handling to customer service.

Search a review by:

Recent travel insurance reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • ING Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Dodgy insurance.

    Please stay away from this scam travel company. They will find any stupid reason to cancel your claim, just any stupid reason which is even not related to travel insurance. Please avoid.

    Value for money
    0 / 10
    Policy coverage
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Varun, New South Wales, reviewed 11 days ago
  • Budget Direct Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Excellent.

    Had to make a claim for a hospital stay in Singapore. Prompt payment no questions asked.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Bill, New South Wales, reviewed 5 days ago
  • nib Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Waiting to respond 40 over minutes.

    I am a nib Heath member and thought it would be better to choose no for travel insurance. How disappointing, I was put on hold 45 minutes or more. What a shame. Very poor service, would never recommend them to anyone.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Balvindar, New South Wales, reviewed 13 days ago
  • World Nomads Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Scam travel insurance. Avoid at all costs.

    I had my luggage and valuables stolen in the train at Barcelona. Made a claim in accordance with their instructions and submitted all required documentation which took a very long time. They required further information and/or documentation until they come across one which you cannot produce, at which point they refuse assess your claim and do not pay you. They took an average of 10 working days to reply to each of my emails (which is the maximum time requirement for them to reply to you). In my case, they are now refusing to assess my claim as I cannot submit my train ticket which was inside the stolen luggage. This is ridiculous. I cannot stress enough for any potential customers to avoid World Nomads at all costs. It is very easy to pay for the travel insurance with World Nomads as is the process to make a claim because their website is very easy to use. However, the claim process takes a very long time, and in the end, if you are not frustrated into giving up the claim, they always find a way to not settle the claim and do not pay out. If this is not an example of a scam, I don't know what is. Please read the other reviews very carefully - most of the good reviews on World Nomads is in regards to how easy it is for you to use their website to pay and make a claim, not getting your claim paid out.

    Value for money
    0 / 10
    Policy coverage
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Julian, New South Wales, reviewed 18 days ago
  • Webjet Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   2 / 10
    Not happy.

    Policies say coverage for delays and flight cancellations are covered. We lost $1300 due to a flight delay to an expensive resort on Lord Howe Island for a week. Put in a claim and claim was "declined" on the basis that the cancellation was due to "mechanical breakdown". What a joke.

    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Less
    Peter, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Columbus Direct Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Trustworthy and reliable.

    It is easy to get a reasonable cost quote online with no hidden conditions from this travel insurer. You can speak with a friendly and helpful representative when needed for your concerns, questions. I have had no trouble with a claim and the claim was settled promptly. Like any travel insurance one should read the comprehensive PDF which is forwarded with your certificate of insurance or available before you buy.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Janet, Western Australia, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Travel Insurance Direct Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Traveling dependence, comfort and security

    TID are a good company you can depend upon.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Claims handling
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Anoop, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Australia Post Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Insurance for pre-existing conditions.

    Australia Post are willing to insure people with pre-existing health conditions. It costs extra, but is quite reasonably priced.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Susan, Queensland, reviewed 5 months ago
  • InsureandGo Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Great cover for the whole family.

    Unlike other insurers you can include all family members, whereas many only allow for 2 adults and then dependants. We are 2 adults, 2 independents (over 21 and/or working full time) and 2 dependants. I like that insure&go allow my family of 6 to be insured together on one policy.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Rachel, South Australia, reviewed 5 months ago
  • 1Cover Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Always have room for improvement.

    Policies can be more flexible and less expensive.

    Value for money
    3 / 10
    Policy coverage
    3 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Trust
    4 / 10
    Less
    Rob, South Australia, reviewed 5 months ago
  • InsureandGo Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great.

    They're a reliable Australian company. It's cheaper by booking yearly cover.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Daniela, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
  • AAMI Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great price for what’s covered.

    AAMI gives you great prices for what’s covered.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    9 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Alyssa, Queensland, reviewed 5 months ago
  • AAMI Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great

    Really happy with them.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    John, Victoria, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Online Travel Insurance Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Do yourself a favour.

    Reasonable price for great coverage.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Kaz, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Budget Direct Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    I would recommend it

    They immediately accepted my request about changing the time.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Imi, New South Wales, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo Reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

    We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

    Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.