Travel insurance reviews

Read the latest travel insurance reviews from the Mozo community. Many Australians have reviewed their travel insurers to give you the inside story on everything from claims handling to customer service.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent travel insurance reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

Travel Insurance Direct

Travel Insurance Direct travel insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Competitive quotes and A-grade service

Competitive quotes , great customer service and quick response time.

Competitive quotes , great customer service and quick response time.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Mitchell (QLD), reviewed 13 days ago

HBF

HBF travel insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Easy and fairly cheap

Really easy to get online.

Really easy to get online.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Vanessa (WA), reviewed 14 days ago

Allianz

Allianz travel insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Competitive premiums and good coverage

Great customer service and reasonable premiums

Great customer service and reasonable premiums

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Dean (SA), reviewed 14 days ago

Allianz

Allianz travel insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Large company with expectations of good outcomes

Allianz has been good to deal with but I'm not sure how competitive they are in terms of price.

Allianz has been good to deal with but I'm not sure how competitive they are in terms of price.

    Value for money   6 / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Craig (SA), reviewed 20 days ago

MyCover Travel Insurance

MyCover Travel Insurance travel insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Quite satisfied with this provider

Would be better if there was a cooling off period.

Would be better if there was a cooling off period.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Helen (QLD), reviewed 22 days ago

AAMI

AAMI travel insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Excellent travel insurance provider

Great service, very reliable and totally affordable.

Great service, very reliable and totally affordable.

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Zachary (WA), reviewed 22 days ago

AAMI

AAMI travel insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Nothing compares with the service from AAMI

I needed to use my travel insurance once and found it easy to do. The person I dealt with was friendly and competent. They advised me what documentation I would need and was very patient and explained it all very clearly. My claim went through...

I needed to use my travel insurance once and found it easy to do. The person I dealt with was friendly and competent. They advised me what documentation I would need and was very patient and explained it all very clearly. My claim went through quite quickly with no complications.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Diane (NSW), reviewed about 2 months ago

DUInsure

DUInsure travel insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great price and coverage

Great price and coverage

Great price and coverage

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Tracey (NSW), reviewed 8 months ago

Cover-More Travel Insurance

Cover-More Travel Insurance travel insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Australian call centre and free travel sim

Covermore has a great 24 hour emergency assistance line which directs you to an Australian call centre, this was very handy when trying to get medical assistance from another country. They have nurses able to give advice over the phone and they...

Covermore has a great 24 hour emergency assistance line which directs you to an Australian call centre, this was very handy when trying to get medical assistance from another country. They have nurses able to give advice over the phone and they also paid my claim within 48 hours of submitting. They cover more then any other insurance provider and also have a free travel sim with your policy

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Chantelle (NSW), reviewed 8 months ago

Allianz

Allianz travel insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Recommend for price and product

Competitive pricing, good sales people on phone, we have used them several times, never had to claim so hence the 8/10 as not sure what they like when it comes to the crunch

Competitive pricing, good sales people on phone, we have used them several times, never had to claim so hence the 8/10 as not sure what they like when it comes to the crunch

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Catherine (QLD), reviewed 8 months ago

1Cover

1Cover travel insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Competitive rates, professional staff.

Settled claim promptly and without undue questions. Have provided subsequent cover.

Settled claim promptly and without undue questions. Have provided subsequent cover.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Keith (VIC), reviewed 8 months ago

NRMA

NRMA travel insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Excellent staff from front offices to the end

Quick service professional, and curtsies, could get a loaned car as we paid extra it was worth it. Could not fault from accident to repairs.

Quick service professional, and curtsies, could get a loaned car as we paid extra it was worth it. Could not fault from accident to repairs.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Cecily (NSW), reviewed 11 months ago

Travel Insurance Direct

Travel Insurance Direct travel insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great to claim through

Travel Insurance Direct were fantastic to both purchase and claim through after a major car accident overseas. Their claims department actually identified additional things we were eligible for and paid more than we had initially claimed. On the...

Travel Insurance Direct were fantastic to both purchase and claim through after a major car accident overseas. Their claims department actually identified additional things we were eligible for and paid more than we had initially claimed. On the down side, their Emergency assist department weren't particularly good at arranging our transport home and communicated poorly.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Vicky (NSW), reviewed 11 months ago

CGU

CGU travel insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great, friendly and prompt customer service

When my wife got very sick and had to go to hospital in Thailand the service we got from CGU was excellent. They made us feel very safe and kept in contact with us through the whole week. We will always travel with CGU as our insurer.

When my wife got very sick and had to go to hospital in Thailand the service we got from CGU was excellent. They made us feel very safe and kept in contact with us through the whole week. We will always travel with CGU as our insurer.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Daniel (WA), reviewed 11 months ago

Woolworths

Woolworths travel insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Competitive premiums and great customer service

Great insurer

Great insurer

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Gerard (NSW), reviewed 11 months ago

AAMI

AAMI travel insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Sure.

Sure.

Sure.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Sure. (QLD), reviewed 11 months ago

Allianz

Allianz travel insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Need to improve the speed of reply

Quite good

Quite good

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Duy (VIC), reviewed 12 months ago

Easy Travel Insurance

Easy Travel Insurance travel insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Easy to join up great service

Didn't have to use the travel insurance, but my friend did and was a great service with the same company as me

Didn't have to use the travel insurance, but my friend did and was a great service with the same company as me

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Ben (VIC), reviewed 12 months ago

Cover-More Travel Insurance

Cover-More Travel Insurance travel insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Recent Changes to Policy

I have always liked Covermore in the past but recent changes to their Plans and PDS now mean customers need to choose a premium based on how much they wish to be covered for on cancellation and amendment costs. This is hard for many people to do...

I have always liked Covermore in the past but recent changes to their Plans and PDS now mean customers need to choose a premium based on how much they wish to be covered for on cancellation and amendment costs. This is hard for many people to do if they have not finalised all their travel arrangements at time of taking out insurance policy. Eg I take out insurance at the same time I book my flights. I then book all other arrangements at a later date like hotels and car hire. There for I am not able to know what my total trip cost will be to be able to insure all of it! In the past they just covered up to a set amount.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Anj (QLD), reviewed 12 months ago

Bankwest

Bankwest travel insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

No extra cost (part of the Mastercard package)

Travel insurance is included as part of the package with the Mastercard

Travel insurance is included as part of the package with the Mastercard

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Andre (QLD), reviewed 12 months ago

Travel Insurance Direct

Travel Insurance Direct travel insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great price, easy to acquire, efficient!

Great price, easy to acquire, efficient! Website is easy to use.

Great price, easy to acquire, efficient! Website is easy to use.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Brendon (VIC), reviewed 12 months ago

Cover-More Travel Insurance

Cover-More Travel Insurance travel insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Competitive prices

They have more coverage than a lot of other insurers and they will match prices of other insurance companies

They have more coverage than a lot of other insurers and they will match prices of other insurance companies

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Lynette. (NSW), reviewed about 1 year ago

NAB

NAB travel insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Free.

We get this cover automatically if we pay for our holiday on our Platinum Visa Card. While we have never claimed, I am sure it would be fine. All you need to do is ring the bank and register for a policy to be activated.

We get this cover automatically if we pay for our holiday on our Platinum Visa Card. While we have never claimed, I am sure it would be fine. All you need to do is ring the bank and register for a policy to be activated.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Helen (NSW), reviewed about 1 year ago

Cover-More Travel Insurance

Cover-More Travel Insurance travel insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Competitive premiums and great customer service

We had an issue whilst overseas, and had to pay upfront. Once back at home, the claim was handled quickly and without any problems, - would definitely use them again. Customers should be aware that if any problems arise while overseas, you must...

We had an issue whilst overseas, and had to pay upfront. Once back at home, the claim was handled quickly and without any problems, - would definitely use them again. Customers should be aware that if any problems arise while overseas, you must pay/sort out the problem first. However, it will be handled promptly and efficiently once back in Australia.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Julie (VIC), reviewed about 1 year ago

Allianz

Allianz travel insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

The best customer service anyone could ask for

We have the best person helping us, it was wonderful and not any trouble at all

We have the best person helping us, it was wonderful and not any trouble at all

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Delma. (QLD), reviewed about 1 year ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2016

Forget industry awards where banks scratch each other's backs. Mozo presents the People's Choice Awards, based on more than 30,000 real customer reviews.

Check out the winners

Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.