Travel insurance reviews

Read the latest travel insurance reviews from the Mozo community. Many Australians have reviewed their travel insurers to give you the inside story on everything from claims handling to customer service.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent travel insurance reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

Australia Post

Australia Post travel insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Satisfied customer

No reason to claim but all else very good.

No reason to claim but all else very good.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Glenn (NSW), reviewed about 23 hours ago

Allianz

Allianz travel insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Very helpful staff

So easy to work out what insurance suited us best!

So easy to work out what insurance suited us best!

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Chanelle (VIC), reviewed 7 days ago

Qantas

Qantas travel insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Qantas does their best- they look after customers

Excellent travel insurance and you earn points to upgrade to business class.

Excellent travel insurance and you earn points to upgrade to business class.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Michael (QLD), reviewed 7 days ago

Westpac

Westpac travel insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Good banking experience overall

Easy website quoting and policy access, competitive pricing.

Easy website quoting and policy access, competitive pricing.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Kevin (WA), reviewed 13 days ago

Travel Insurance Direct

Travel Insurance Direct travel insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Easy to use and competitive pricing

My mum mentioned this to me when I was going on an overseas trip and I received a discount and had a great experience! Very easy online format and great coverage.

My mum mentioned this to me when I was going on an overseas trip and I received a discount and had a great experience! Very easy online format and great coverage.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Emma (QLD), reviewed 13 days ago

AAMI

AAMI travel insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Piece of mind by being with AAMI

Having piece of mind through AAMI makes for a happy holiday and less anxiety.

Having piece of mind through AAMI makes for a happy holiday and less anxiety.

    Value for money   6 / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Finola (VIC), reviewed 16 days ago

Woolworths

Woolworths travel insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Fast and affordable

Woolworths Travel Insurance was one of the easiest applications for Travel insurance I have experienced. Affordable, and applications take approximately 15 mins. The exclusions were limited and the cover ticked all my boxes for my travels. They...

Woolworths Travel Insurance was one of the easiest applications for Travel insurance I have experienced. Affordable, and applications take approximately 15 mins. The exclusions were limited and the cover ticked all my boxes for my travels. They even threw in a Travel Sim card that was also affordable to get data in many countries around the world.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Matt (QLD), reviewed 22 days ago

Cheap Travel Insurance

Cheap Travel Insurance travel insurance review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Low-cost and easy to do online

Very low-cost for overseas travel, although I did not experience making a claim.

Very low-cost for overseas travel, although I did not experience making a claim.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Imogen (VIC), reviewed 23 days ago

Cover-More Travel Insurance

Cover-More Travel Insurance travel insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Competitive premiums and very helpful staff

I've only ever had to make one claim over the past ten years but it was handled very quickly without any hassles. I've had multi comprehensive cover for the past two years that covers international and domestic travel. In addition, the premiums...

I've only ever had to make one claim over the past ten years but it was handled very quickly without any hassles. I've had multi comprehensive cover for the past two years that covers international and domestic travel. In addition, the premiums are also competitive. I also received a pensioner concession which was unexpected. The only issue I've had is trying to renew the coverage on-line - it's rather confusing so I rang the company directly and the service was very friendly, helpful and efficient. The changes I wanted were made and paid for, and the new policy was in my email inbox within five minutes.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Kim (TAS), reviewed 23 days ago

Travel Insurance Direct

Travel Insurance Direct travel insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Competitive quotes and A-grade service

Competitive quotes , great customer service and quick response time.

Competitive quotes , great customer service and quick response time.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Mitchell (QLD), reviewed about 1 month ago

HBF

HBF travel insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Easy and fairly cheap

Really easy to get online.

Really easy to get online.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Vanessa (WA), reviewed about 1 month ago

Allianz

Allianz travel insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Competitive premiums and good coverage

Great customer service and reasonable premiums

Great customer service and reasonable premiums

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Dean (SA), reviewed about 1 month ago

Allianz

Allianz travel insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Large company with expectations of good outcomes

Allianz has been good to deal with but I'm not sure how competitive they are in terms of price.

Allianz has been good to deal with but I'm not sure how competitive they are in terms of price.

    Value for money   6 / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Craig (SA), reviewed about 2 months ago

MyCover Travel Insurance

MyCover Travel Insurance travel insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Quite satisfied with this provider

Would be better if there was a cooling off period.

Would be better if there was a cooling off period.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Helen (QLD), reviewed about 2 months ago

AAMI

AAMI travel insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Excellent travel insurance provider

Great service, very reliable and totally affordable.

Great service, very reliable and totally affordable.

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Zachary (WA), reviewed about 2 months ago

AAMI

AAMI travel insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Nothing compares with the service from AAMI

I needed to use my travel insurance once and found it easy to do. The person I dealt with was friendly and competent. They advised me what documentation I would need and was very patient and explained it all very clearly. My claim went through...

I needed to use my travel insurance once and found it easy to do. The person I dealt with was friendly and competent. They advised me what documentation I would need and was very patient and explained it all very clearly. My claim went through quite quickly with no complications.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Diane (NSW), reviewed 3 months ago

DUInsure

DUInsure travel insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great price and coverage

Great price and coverage

Great price and coverage

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Tracey (NSW), reviewed 9 months ago

Cover-More Travel Insurance

Cover-More Travel Insurance travel insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Australian call centre and free travel sim

Covermore has a great 24 hour emergency assistance line which directs you to an Australian call centre, this was very handy when trying to get medical assistance from another country. They have nurses able to give advice over the phone and they...

Covermore has a great 24 hour emergency assistance line which directs you to an Australian call centre, this was very handy when trying to get medical assistance from another country. They have nurses able to give advice over the phone and they also paid my claim within 48 hours of submitting. They cover more then any other insurance provider and also have a free travel sim with your policy

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Chantelle (NSW), reviewed 9 months ago

Allianz

Allianz travel insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Recommend for price and product

Competitive pricing, good sales people on phone, we have used them several times, never had to claim so hence the 8/10 as not sure what they like when it comes to the crunch

Competitive pricing, good sales people on phone, we have used them several times, never had to claim so hence the 8/10 as not sure what they like when it comes to the crunch

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Catherine (QLD), reviewed 9 months ago

1Cover

1Cover travel insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Competitive rates, professional staff.

Settled claim promptly and without undue questions. Have provided subsequent cover.

Settled claim promptly and without undue questions. Have provided subsequent cover.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Keith (VIC), reviewed 9 months ago

NRMA

NRMA travel insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Excellent staff from front offices to the end

Quick service professional, and curtsies, could get a loaned car as we paid extra it was worth it. Could not fault from accident to repairs.

Quick service professional, and curtsies, could get a loaned car as we paid extra it was worth it. Could not fault from accident to repairs.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Cecily (NSW), reviewed 12 months ago

Travel Insurance Direct

Travel Insurance Direct travel insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great to claim through

Travel Insurance Direct were fantastic to both purchase and claim through after a major car accident overseas. Their claims department actually identified additional things we were eligible for and paid more than we had initially claimed. On the...

Travel Insurance Direct were fantastic to both purchase and claim through after a major car accident overseas. Their claims department actually identified additional things we were eligible for and paid more than we had initially claimed. On the down side, their Emergency assist department weren't particularly good at arranging our transport home and communicated poorly.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Vicky (NSW), reviewed 12 months ago

CGU

CGU travel insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great, friendly and prompt customer service

When my wife got very sick and had to go to hospital in Thailand the service we got from CGU was excellent. They made us feel very safe and kept in contact with us through the whole week. We will always travel with CGU as our insurer.

When my wife got very sick and had to go to hospital in Thailand the service we got from CGU was excellent. They made us feel very safe and kept in contact with us through the whole week. We will always travel with CGU as our insurer.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Daniel (WA), reviewed 12 months ago

Woolworths

Woolworths travel insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Competitive premiums and great customer service

Great insurer

Great insurer

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Gerard (NSW), reviewed 12 months ago

AAMI

AAMI travel insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Sure.

Sure.

Sure.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Sure. (QLD), reviewed 12 months ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2016

Forget industry awards where banks scratch each other's backs. Mozo presents the People's Choice Awards, based on more than 30,000 real customer reviews.

Check out the winners

Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.