Defence Bank logo

Defence Bank Car loan reviews

Overall rating
Price
Features
Customer service
Convenience
Trust
Based on 22 car loan reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent Defence Bank car loan customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Defence Bank Low Rate Car Loan (Variable, Secured)

    Amazing bank

    This is bank is helpful, friendly and I am able to pay off my loan with ease early if I want.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Danielle, South Australia, reviewed 8 months ago
  • Defence Bank Car Loan

    Difficult to use

    Difficult to use. Felt like I was pushed into more Money. Difficult to get to a branch.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Lauren, Queensland, reviewed over 6 years ago
  • Defence Bank Car Loan

    Excellent customer service, loan explained to me

    Excellent all round. Service exceptional and had the cheque for the car very quickly. Only drawback is the branch near me is on a RAAF base, which is OK for me because I have access to the base but may make it difficult for 'normal' people. However, the cash card provided works in all ATM's that I have tried using it on.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Debra, South Australia, reviewed over 6 years ago
  • Defence Bank Car Loan

    Very good

    Good

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Joh, , reviewed over 6 years ago
  • Defence Bank Car Loan

    Avoid this mob

    I served in the RAAF for over 20 years. As a convenience I was with Defence bank (Formally DEFCREDIT) because they have a branch on every military base in Australia. They have a captive customer base and they abuse it. They are selfish and do not give a stuff about our serving military personnel.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Jeff, Queensland, reviewed almost 7 years ago
  • Defence Bank Car Loan

    Great rate and brilliant customer service

    Just got an amazing rate on my car loan. Customer service was brilliant - even dropped me at the train station after approving the loan. Only downside is availability of branches, however make up for it with wide network of ATMs.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Jordan, Queensland, reviewed about 7 years ago
  • Defence Bank Car Loan

    Poor customer service

    They changed the interest rate on me on the day I got my loan.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Mozo community reviewer, Queensland, reviewed about 8 years ago
  • Defence Bank Car Loan

    Good customer service

    They are good, I have been with them for a few years now.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Mozo community reviewer, Northern Territory, reviewed about 8 years ago
  • Defence Bank Car Loan

    All the features at a bargain rate

    These guys have a great car loan - top rate, all the bells and whistles in terms of features (free redraw, no early payout fees, no monthly fees) and the application process was super easy.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Talitha, Queensland, reviewed about 8 years ago
  • Defence Bank Car Loan

    Competitive and great personal service

    They have a very personal touch to each account and you get to speak to an individual person. They follow everything up and acted very promptly. I would highly recommend them even though any physical bank is on base (I am not part of the ADF even though my boyfriend is, but I became a member in my own right with the Bank (I am a lawyer.) They have been wonderful to deal with and competitive and worth it for the personal individual assistance they provide.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Mozo community reviewer, Queensland, reviewed about 8 years ago
  • Defence Bank Car Loan

    Competitive rates, good service in branches

    The branch people were great. However, the person who manages the loans online has poor customer service skills and took it upon himself to change the date of my repayments without consent, which is not part of the agreement. He was rude to me on more than one occasion. This was only one person, but it changed my whole banking experience. I have stayed with Defence Bank as the interest rates are competitive for loans.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Sonya, Queensland, reviewed over 8 years ago
  • Defence Bank Car Loan

    Great value & service

    Great value & no penalties for withdrawing or extra deposits

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Rebecca, Queensland, reviewed over 8 years ago
  • Defence Bank Car Loan

    great in all areas

    I like this product as they will help you all the way

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Mary, Queensland, reviewed about 9 years ago
  • Defence Bank Car Loan

    Convenience is key for this defence bank

    Loans with defence bank( previously defcredit) are really convenient and easy to set up for defence members. It's great having a bank that's familiar with the system. These guys got mine approved in 2 days. Fast and easy, not exactly best deal out there, but play them off against adcu and you.ll get a better deal! (I had monthly fees and all setup costs waived)

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Tom, New South Wales, reviewed about 9 years ago
  • Defence Bank Car Loan

    Caring about the customer, caring about quality.

    I hold a car loan, a personal loan, two savings accounts, debit and credit cards, all with Defence Bank because they are unfailingly able to meet the unique needs of defence members and their families. The only negatives are the .50 charge for each debit card usage, unless credit option is used, for which there is often a surcharge (although these are quite small). Also, being a Defence bank, branches are only available on base, which is not always convenient. That being said, I have been 100% happy with internet banking, and 110% happy with customer service, including phone banking...especially the ease with which you can talk to an actual person, not just an automated voice! They are always friendly and helpful, both on the phone and in person. Customer service can be the thing customer satisfaction hinges on. Defence services can at times be notoriously slow, but when it comes to their bank, they beat any civilian bank I have ever used, hands-down! I can't wait to take advantage of their home loan rates and DHOAS (Defence Homeowners Assistance Scheme) for first home buyers, hopefully soon!

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Jennifer, Queensland, reviewed over 9 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Car loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • New Car Loan

      Interest rate
      4.67% p.a.
      comparison rate
      5.22% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 3 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 4.67% would cost $34,096.76 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Car Loan

      Interest rate
      4.89% p.a.to 8.89% p.a.
      comparison rate
      5.44% p.a.to 9.46% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 3 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 4.89% would cost $34,276.58 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Secured Car Loan

      Interest rate
      4.74% p.a.to 16.01% p.a.
      comparison rate
      5.01% p.a.to 16.31% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 3 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 4.74% would cost $33,949.23 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Car Loan - Excellent Credit

      Interest rate
      5.95% p.a.to 19.99% p.a.
      comparison rate
      5.95% p.a.to 21.0% p.a.based on $10,000
      over 3 years

      Terms from 2 to 5 years. Representative example: a 3 year $10,000 loan at 5.95% would cost $11,538.74 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Low Rate Car Loan Special Offer

      Interest rate
      4.69% p.a.
      comparison rate
      5.01% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 1 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 4.69% would cost $33,888.17 including fees.

      Promoted

    WARNING: The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a personal loan. The comparison rates displayed are calculated based on a loan of $30,000 for a term of 5 years or a loan of $10,000 for a term of 3 years as indicated, based on monthly principal and interest repayments, on a secured basis for secured loans and an unsecured basis for unsecured loans. This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

    Want more? Compare all 204 car loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more car loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.