Defence Bank credit card reviews

Defence Bank
Defence Bank's overall rating for credit cards

(as rated by the Mozo community)

5.4 / 10

based on 8 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured credit card from Defence Bank

Recent Defence Bank credit card reviews

Defence Bank

Defence Bank credit card review

Overall rating   4 / 10

High fees.

The fees are very high but the customer service is better than most providers.

Full review

The fees are very high but the customer service is better than most providers.

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   2 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Lucas (SA), reviewed about 2 years ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank credit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

Defence Bank is a customer focussed entity that strives to and achieves customer satisfaction in all aspects of service and products.

Full review

Defence Bank is a customer focussed entity that strives to and achieves customer satisfaction in all aspects of service and products.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Laura (VIC), reviewed over 2 years ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank credit card review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Available at the time.

I joined because it was the only option at the time. I have been disappointed with how they haven't looked after me at all.

Full review

I joined because it was the only option at the time. I have been disappointed with how they haven't looked after me at all.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Bernie (QLD), reviewed almost 3 years ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank True Blue Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Defence Bank

Don't do enough for members.

Full review

Don't do enough for members.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

David (NSW), reviewed over 3 years ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank credit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

No frills, no fuss, no extras but low ongoing rate

Great card. Does not have any of the bonus programs or rewards but they give a lower rate and less fees because of that and that suits me as there are a million rewards programs so I like my "no frills" credit card.

Full review

Great card. Does not have any of the bonus programs or rewards but they give a lower rate and less fees because of that and that suits me as there are a million rewards programs so I like my "no frills" credit card.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Jenna (NSW), reviewed over 4 years ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank credit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Defcredit is the bank for us, good service with no fuss, they phoned last week to check to see if our card had been used fraudulently but it was cool, it had been a purchase on Ebay but with service this good, what more can I say?

Full review

Defcredit is the bank for us, good service with no fuss, they phoned last week to check to see if our card had been used fraudulently but it was cool, it had been a purchase on Ebay but with service this good, what more can I say?

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Louise (QLD), reviewed almost 6 years ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank credit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Again I have to question the loyalty thing. Call me old fashioned but didn't loyalty once go both ways? Give and receive? When I found myself unemployed due to illness, I paid up and closed my credit card four years later. When I was working...

Full review

Again I have to question the loyalty thing. Call me old fashioned but didn't loyalty once go both ways? Give and receive? When I found myself unemployed due to illness, I paid up and closed my credit card four years later. When I was working again, I applied for another credit card only to be rejected due to the time I had off work i was rated a "high risk"customer even with a clean history and credit rating!!! I felt betrayed and saddened. On the upside when I was a serving member of the defence, the bank looked after me and I found that as a civilian, that care was still extended. They give extremely good discounts on everything from loans, credit cards, insurance and super. Small branches and no ATM fees if you used other Credit Union machines....

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   -1 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   2 / 10

Less

Nicola (NT), reviewed about 6 years ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank credit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Convenient without the ridiculous fees and shenanigans the big banks get up to.

Full review

Convenient without the ridiculous fees and shenanigans the big banks get up to.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Michael (NSW), reviewed almost 7 years ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank credit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Defcredit were very helpful, set up my new credit card. Helped me transfer my balance off my Suncorp Credit Card. They were always wonderful and happy to deal with. I couldn't say enough about the Brisbane Enoggera team.!

Full review

Defcredit were very helpful, set up my new credit card. Helped me transfer my balance off my Suncorp Credit Card. They were always wonderful and happy to deal with. I couldn't say enough about the Brisbane Enoggera team.!

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Diane (QLD), reviewed almost 7 years ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank credit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

We recently were the victim of credit card fraud, from France and Italy, in both cases we were contact within 21 min of the fraud and were able to stop any further fraud taking place, then the investigations started and help by the personnel at...

Full review

We recently were the victim of credit card fraud, from France and Italy, in both cases we were contact within 21 min of the fraud and were able to stop any further fraud taking place, then the investigations started and help by the personnel at the credit union, who could do a better job.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Alan (QLD), reviewed about 7 years ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank credit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

They have very competitive rates are always friendly and courteous. They get back to you with information quickly. Statements are regular and informative. internet banking is easy to follow.

Full review

They have very competitive rates are always friendly and courteous. They get back to you with information quickly. Statements are regular and informative. internet banking is easy to follow.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Steven (QLD), reviewed over 7 years ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank credit card review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Very good interest rate. Well marketed.

Full review

Very good interest rate. Well marketed.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Jonathan (NSW), reviewed about 8 years ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank credit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

defcredit Union have great branches with very helpful customer service.

Full review

defcredit Union have great branches with very helpful customer service.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Lyall (NSW), reviewed about 8 years ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank credit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Defcredit Union provide quality service for my credit card.

Full review

Defcredit Union provide quality service for my credit card.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Nathan (QLD), reviewed about 8 years ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank credit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

There is nothing I dislike about the Defcredit credit card. Recommended.

Full review

There is nothing I dislike about the Defcredit credit card. Recommended.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Tania (QLD), reviewed over 8 years ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank credit card review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Defcredit is a good credit union but very hard to get to unless you can get on a defence force base.

Full review

Defcredit is a good credit union but very hard to get to unless you can get on a defence force base.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Nicole (NT), reviewed over 8 years ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank credit card review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Good customer service at bank. No fees when used as debit card. annoying that can't get in touch with bank over weekend though.

Full review

Good customer service at bank. No fees when used as debit card. annoying that can't get in touch with bank over weekend though.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   -1 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   -1 / 10

Less

Rebekah (NSW), reviewed almost 9 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Credit card comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    American Express Explorer® Credit Card

    American Express Explorer® Credit Card

    • Receive 50,000 Membership Rewards® Points (T&Cs apply)
    • $400 in Travel Credit each year
    • Up to 2 Membership Rewards points per $1 spent

    balance transfer rate

    0% p.a. for 12 months and then 20.74% p.a. (1.00% balance transfer fee)

    purchase rate

    20.74% p.a.

    annual fee

    $395

    Go to site

    More info

    • Receive 50,000 Membership Rewards® Points (T&Cs apply)
    • $400 in Travel Credit each year
    • Up to 2 Membership Rewards points per $1 spent
    • Balance transfer rate: 0% p.a. for 12 months and then 20.74% p.a. (1.00% balance transfer fee)
    • Annual fee: $395
    • Purchase rate: 20.74% p.a.
    • Interest free days: 55
    • Interest rate on cash withdrawals:
    • Fee for cash withdrawals:
    • Rewards description: Transfer points to a range of airline programs or redeem your points for travel, gift cards, retail rewards and shopping gift cards.
    Overall rating

    7.3

    Based on 255 American Express credit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • ANZ Frequent Flyer Black

    ANZ Frequent Flyer Black

    • 75,000 bonus Qantas Points when you spend $2,500 on eligible purchases in the first 3 months
    • No annual fee for the first year
    • 75 bonus Status Credits when you buy and fly return with Qantas by 31 May 2018. Apply and be approved by 24 Jan 2018

    balance transfer rate

    No current offer

    purchase rate

    19.99% p.a.

    annual fee

    $425 $0 in the first 1 year

    Go to site

    More info

    • 75,000 bonus Qantas Points when you spend $2,500 on eligible purchases in the first 3 months
    • No annual fee for the first year
    • 75 bonus Status Credits when you buy and fly return with Qantas by 31 May 2018. Apply and be approved by 24 Jan 2018
    • Balance transfer rate: No current offer
    • Annual fee: $425 $0 in the first 1 year
    • Purchase rate: 19.99% p.a.
    • Interest free days: 55
    • Interest rate on cash withdrawals: 21.49% p.a.
    • Fee for cash withdrawals: 2%
    • Rewards description: Points are automatically credited to the Qantas Frequent Flyer program.
    Overall rating

    6.9

    Based on 1932 ANZ credit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    Woolworths Everyday Platinum Credit Card

    Woolworths Everyday Platinum Credit Card

    • $50 Woolworths eGift card after you make your first purchase (T&C’s Apply)
    • 10% off your 1st Woolworths shop on selected dates once a month
    • $0 annual fee for the first year (saving $49)

    balance transfer rate

    0% p.a. for 14 months and then 21.99% p.a.

    purchase rate

    19.99% p.a.

    annual fee

    $49 $0 in the first 1 year

    Go to site

    More info

    • $50 Woolworths eGift card after you make your first purchase (T&C’s Apply)
    • 10% off your 1st Woolworths shop on selected dates once a month
    • $0 annual fee for the first year (saving $49)
    • Balance transfer rate: 0% p.a. for 14 months and then 21.99% p.a.
    • Annual fee: $49 $0 in the first 1 year
    • Purchase rate: 19.99%