Defence Bank credit card reviews

Defence Bank
Defence Bank's overall rating for credit cards

(as rated by the Mozo community)

7.2 / 10

based on 26 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured credit card from Defence Bank

Recent Defence Bank credit card reviews

Defence Bank

Defence Bank credit card review

Overall rating   4 / 10

High fees.

The fees are very high but the customer service is better than most providers.

Full review

The fees are very high but the customer service is better than most providers.

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   2 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Lucas, South Australia, reviewed about 3 years ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank credit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

Defence Bank is a customer focussed entity that strives to and achieves customer satisfaction in all aspects of service and products.

Full review

Defence Bank is a customer focussed entity that strives to and achieves customer satisfaction in all aspects of service and products.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Laura, Victoria, reviewed over 3 years ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank credit card review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Available at the time.

I joined because it was the only option at the time. I have been disappointed with how they haven't looked after me at all.

Full review

I joined because it was the only option at the time. I have been disappointed with how they haven't looked after me at all.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Bernie, Queensland, reviewed almost 4 years ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank credit card review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Do not recommend

Closing too many branches.

Full review

Closing too many branches.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   2 / 10

Less

Justin, South Australia, reviewed almost 4 years ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank credit card review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Great bank

It's a good bank just not many branches out there if you need one

Full review

It's a good bank just not many branches out there if you need one

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Ben, , reviewed almost 4 years ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank credit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

my bank is a bank

My bank is a bank

Full review

My bank is a bank

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Regina , , reviewed about 4 years ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank True Blue Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Ease of use at most ATMs at a fee

only can be used on line or at Active Bases

Full review

only can be used on line or at Active Bases

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Robin, South Australia, reviewed about 4 years ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank True Blue Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Defence Bank

Don't do enough for members.

Full review

Don't do enough for members.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

David, New South Wales, reviewed over 4 years ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank credit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

No frills, no fuss, no extras but low ongoing rate

Great card. Does not have any of the bonus programs or rewards but they give a lower rate and less fees because of that and that suits me as there are a million rewards programs so I like my "no frills" credit card.

Full review

Great card. Does not have any of the bonus programs or rewards but they give a lower rate and less fees because of that and that suits me as there are a million rewards programs so I like my "no frills" credit card.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Jenna, New South Wales, reviewed over 5 years ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank credit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Good rates, great service.

Low interest rate, friendly service, and branches on defence bases make it easily accessible for me during work hours. They also understand what comes with being in the defence force.

Full review

Low interest rate, friendly service, and branches on defence bases make it easily accessible for me during work hours. They also understand what comes with being in the defence force.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Andrew, New South Wales, reviewed over 6 years ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank True Blue Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

A trusted bank

I love the Defense Bank because of the trust and loyalty with the bank. Every loan that is given is hard which means they only give loans to people who can afford them.

Full review

I love the Defense Bank because of the trust and loyalty with the bank. Every loan that is given is hard which means they only give loans to people who can afford them.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Alex, Victoria, reviewed over 6 years ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank True Blue Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Better than good rates and great customer service

They are the best rate and have fantastic customer service but they do not have a rewards program.

Full review

They are the best rate and have fantastic customer service but they do not have a rewards program.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Anita, New South Wales, reviewed over 6 years ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank True Blue Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Easy to manage, great customer service

Easy to manage, great customer service

Full review

Easy to manage, great customer service

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Peter, New South Wales, reviewed over 6 years ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank True Blue Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Excellent

Great service and staff always helpful

Full review

Great service and staff always helpful

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Michael, Western Australia, reviewed over 6 years ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank credit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Defcredit is the bank for us, good service with no fuss, they phoned last week to check to see if our card had been used fraudulently but it was cool, it had been a purchase on Ebay but with service this good, what more can I say?

Full review

Defcredit is the bank for us, good service with no fuss, they phoned last week to check to see if our card had been used fraudulently but it was cool, it had been a purchase on Ebay but with service this good, what more can I say?

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Louise, Queensland, reviewed almost 7 years ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank credit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Again I have to question the loyalty thing. Call me old fashioned but didn't loyalty once go both ways? Give and receive? When I found myself unemployed due to illness, I paid up and closed my credit card four years later. When I was working...

Full review

Again I have to question the loyalty thing. Call me old fashioned but didn't loyalty once go both ways? Give and receive? When I found myself unemployed due to illness, I paid up and closed my credit card four years later. When I was working again, I applied for another credit card only to be rejected due to the time I had off work i was rated a "high risk"customer even with a clean history and credit rating!!! I felt betrayed and saddened. On the upside when I was a serving member of the defence, the bank looked after me and I found that as a civilian, that care was still extended. They give extremely good discounts on everything from loans, credit cards, insurance and super. Small branches and no ATM fees if you used other Credit Union machines....

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   2 / 10

Less

Nicola, Northern Territory, reviewed about 7 years ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank credit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Convenient without the ridiculous fees and shenanigans the big banks get up to.

Full review

Convenient without the ridiculous fees and shenanigans the big banks get up to.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Michael, New South Wales, reviewed almost 8 years ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank credit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Defcredit were very helpful, set up my new credit card. Helped me transfer my balance off my Suncorp Credit Card. They were always wonderful and happy to deal with. I couldn't say enough about the Brisbane Enoggera team.!

Full review

Defcredit were very helpful, set up my new credit card. Helped me transfer my balance off my Suncorp Credit Card. They were always wonderful and happy to deal with. I couldn't say enough about the Brisbane Enoggera team.!

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Diane, Queensland, reviewed about 8 years ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank credit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

We recently were the victim of credit card fraud, from France and Italy, in both cases we were contact within 21 min of the fraud and were able to stop any further fraud taking place, then the investigations started and help by the personnel at...

Full review

We recently were the victim of credit card fraud, from France and Italy, in both cases we were contact within 21 min of the fraud and were able to stop any further fraud taking place, then the investigations started and help by the personnel at the credit union, who could do a better job.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Alan, Queensland, reviewed about 8 years ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank credit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

They have very competitive rates are always friendly and courteous. They get back to you with information quickly. Statements are regular and informative. internet banking is easy to follow.

Full review

They have very competitive rates are always friendly and courteous. They get back to you with information quickly. Statements are regular and informative. internet banking is easy to follow.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Steven, Queensland, reviewed over 8 years ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank credit card review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Very good interest rate. Well marketed.

Full review

Very good interest rate. Well marketed.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Jonathan, New South Wales, reviewed about 9 years ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank credit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

defcredit Union have great branches with very helpful customer service.

Full review

defcredit Union have great branches with very helpful customer service.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Lyall, New South Wales, reviewed about 9 years ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank credit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Defcredit Union provide quality service for my credit card.

Full review

Defcredit Union provide quality service for my credit card.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Nathan, Queensland, reviewed about 9 years ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank credit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

There is nothing I dislike about the Defcredit credit card. Recommended.

Full review

There is nothing I dislike about the Defcredit credit card. Recommended.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Tania, Queensland, reviewed over 9 years ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank credit card review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Defcredit is a good credit union but very hard to get to unless you can get on a defence force base.

Full review

Defcredit is a good credit union but very hard to get to unless you can get on a defence force base.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Nicole, Northern Territory, reviewed over 9 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Credit card comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2018

    American Express Explorer® Credit Card

    American Express Explorer® Credit Card

    • Receive 100,000 Membership Rewards® Points (T&Cs apply).
    • $400 in Travel Credit each year.
    • Up to 2 Membership Rewards points per $1 spent. Note: point redemption rates will change as of 15 April 2019, please visit the Amex website for more information.

    balance transfer rate

    0% p.a. for 12 months and then 20.74% p.a. (1.00% balance transfer fee)

    purchase rate

    20.74% p.a.

    annual fee

    $395

    Go to site

    More info

    • Receive 100,000 Membership Rewards® Points (T&Cs apply).
    • $400 in Travel Credit each year.
    • Up to 2 Membership Rewards points per $1 spent. Note: point redemption rates will change as of 15 April 2019, please visit the Amex website for more information.
    • Balance transfer rate: 0% p.a. for 12 months and then 20.74% p.a. (1.00% balance transfer fee)
    • Annual fee: $395
    • Purchase rate: 20.74% p.a.
    • Interest free days: 55
    • Interest rate on cash withdrawals:
    • Fee for cash withdrawals:
    • Rewards description: Transfer points to a range of airline programs or redeem your points for travel, gift cards, retail rewards and shopping gift cards.
    Overall rating

    6.6

    Based on 863 American Express credit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2018

    Australian Military Bank Low Rate Visa Credit Card

    Australian Military Bank Low Rate Visa Credit Card

    • $0 additional cardholder fee
    • Up to 55 days interest free on purchases
    • Visa payWave for convenient contactless purchases under $100

    balance transfer rate

    0% p.a. for 12 months and then 11.99% p.a.

    purchase rate

    11.99% p.a.

    annual fee

    $49

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 additional cardholder fee
    • Up to 55 days interest free on purchases
    • Visa payWave for convenient contactless purchases under $100
    • Balance transfer rate: 0% p.a. for 12 months and then 11.99% p.a.
    • Annual fee: $49
    • Purchase rate: 11.99% p.a.
    • Interest free days: 45
    • Interest rate on cash withdrawals: 19.99% p.a.
    • Fee for cash withdrawals: $4.50
    • Rewards description:
    Overall rating

    7.3

    Based on 45 Australian Military Bank credit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bankwest Breeze Platinum Mastercard

    Bankwest Breeze Platinum Mastercard

    • 0.0% p.a. on balance transfers for 13 months (2% BT fee applies)
    • Complimentary Credit Card Travel Insurance (T&Cs apply)
    • No foreign transaction fees on online and overseas purchases

    balance transfer rate

    0% p.a. for 13 months and then 12.99% p.a. (2.00% balance transfer fee)

    purchase rate

    0% p.a. for 13 months then 12.99% p.a.

    annual fee

    $99

    Go to site

    More info

    • 0.0% p.a. on balance transfers for 13 months (2% BT fee applies)
    • Complimentary Credit Card Travel Insurance (T&Cs apply)
    • No foreign transaction fees on online and overseas purchases
    • Balance transfer rate: 0% p.a. for 13 months and then 12.99% p.a. (2.00% balance transfer fee)
    • Annual fee: $99
    • Purchase rate: 0% p.a. for 13 months then 12.99% p.a.
    • Interest free days: 55
    • Interest rate on cash withdrawals: 21.99% p.a.
    • Fee for cash withdrawals: 2%, Min $4.00
    • Rewards description:
    Overall rating

    7.3

    Based on 1027 Bankwest credit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • ANZ Low Rate

    ANZ Low Rate

    • $1,000 minimum credit limit
    • 0.0% p.a. on balance transfers for 15 months (T&Cs apply)
    • Up to 55 days interest free on purchases

    balance transfer rate

    0% p.a. for 15 months and then 21.74% p.a.

    purchase rate

    12.49% p.a.

    annual fee

    $58

    Go to site

    More info

    • $1,000 minimum credit limit
    • 0.0% p.a. on balance transfers for 15 months (T&Cs apply)
    • Up to 55 days interest free on purchases
    • Balance transfer rate: 0% p.a. for 15 months and then 21.74% p.a.
    • Annual fee: $58
    • Purchase rate: 12.49% p.a.
    • Interest free days: 55
    • Interest rate on cash withdrawals: 21.74% p.a.
    • Fee for cash withdrawals: 2%
    • Rewards description:
    Overall rating

    6.7

    Based on 6067 ANZ credit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2018

    ANZ Frequent Flyer Black

    ANZ Frequent Flyer Black

    • 120,000 bonus Qantas Points and $150 back to your new ANZ Frequent Flyer Black card when you spend $7,500 on eligible purchases in the first 3 months. Eligibility criteria, T&Cs, fees and charges apply.
    • 1 Qantas Point per $1 spent on eligible purchases up to and including $7,500 per statement period.
    • Available with Apple Pay

    balance transfer rate

    No current offer

    purchase rate

    19.99% p.a.

    annual fee

    $425

    Go to site

    More info

    • 120,000 bonus Qantas Points and $150 back to your new ANZ Frequent Flyer Black card when you spend $7,500 on eligible purchases in the first 3 months. Eligibility criteria, T&Cs, fees and charges apply.
    • 1 Qantas Point per $1 spent on eligible purchases up to and including $7,500 per statement period.
    • Available with Apple Pay
    • Balance transfer rate: No current offer
    • Annual fee: $425
    • Purchase rate: 19.99% p.a.
    • Interest free days: 55
    • Interest rate on cash withdrawals: 21.49% p.a.
    • Fee for cash withdrawals: 2%
    • Rewards description: Points are automatically credited to the Qantas Frequent Flyer program.
    Overall rating

    6.7

    Based on 6067 ANZ credit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

**Saving based on the average difference in fees and charges over 3 years between the most competitive product Mozo can refer a consumer to and the average credit card product input by 6,863 consumers (average balance of $4,262 or balance transfer balance of $5,818, interest rate of 19.6% and annual fee of $36.50) who used the Mozo Credit Card Health Check tool between 1 January 2012 to July 2012.

Want more? Compare all 218 credit cards in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more credit cards

Look for a specific type of credit card:

**Saving based on the average difference in fees and charges over 3 years between the most competitive product Mozo can refer a consumer to and the average credit card product input by 6,863 consumers (average balance of $4,262 or balance transfer balance of $5,818, interest rate of 19.6% and annual fee of $36.50) who used the Mozo Credit Card Health Check tool between 1 January 2012 to July 2012.

Back to top