Australian Military Bank personal loan reviews

Australian Military Bank
Australian Military Bank's overall rating for personal loans

(as rated by the Mozo community)

4.9 / 10

based on 15 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured personal loan from Australian Military Bank

Recent Australian Military Bank personal loan reviews

Australian Military Bank

Australian Military Bank personal loan review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Not recommended, looking for another bank

Horrible convenience, small bank which is never open on weekends including being able to call them, can only call between 9-5 mon-fri.

Full review

Horrible convenience, small bank which is never open on weekends including being able to call them, can only call between 9-5 mon-fri.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   2 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Jack (QLD), reviewed about 2 years ago

Reply from Australian Military Bank

Hi Jack,

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review on your experience with ADCU. We're sorry that our opening hours did not satisfy your needs. We just wanted to leave a quick note to let you know that our contact centre is in fact open a little longer than you specify. We're open for members Monday - Friday 8am-6pm AEST. In addition it is also open on Saturday 9am - 12pm AEST for those who cannot get in touch on a week day. If there's anything more we can do to improve your experience please send us an email at marketing@adcu.com.au - we'd love to help.

Australian Military Bank

Australian Military Bank Unsecured Personal Loan - Excellent Credit (Variable) personal loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Run for your lives, save yourselves!

After being pre approved by 2 other banks for a personal loan my partner decided to apply thru ADCU due to the fact the interest rate was low and we assumed having an active account with them would make the process easier and faster. Wow were we...

Full review

After being pre approved by 2 other banks for a personal loan my partner decided to apply thru ADCU due to the fact the interest rate was low and we assumed having an active account with them would make the process easier and faster. Wow were we wrong! !! He first called to discuss the options and apply and was told we would get a callback. Never happened. We then applied online and 2 weeks later, with no callbacks, unkept promises of a speedy resolution so we would not lose the car we wanted, discussions with management, and constantly doing the follow-up we were told to apply for a lesser amount, which me did. To then a week later being denied. Mind you all we received to tell us this was an email saying "we tried to call, please call back " (lies!), which we did. 3 times. No notes on file btw so no help anywhere. To then go to the manager again to be told of the denial. Absolutely disgusting! !!! We since reapplied thru MY Credit Union. Approved in 3hrs for the amount we wanted and has been proactive in contacting us and calling us back exactly when they say they will. The whole process with ADCU has caused so many issues with the owner of the vehicle we are buying, my partner and I getting to work (shift work in opposite directions of the city) and other repayments. For the sake of your mental health. ...... run people! Run!!!!

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Sylvie (QLD), reviewed about 2 years ago

Reply from Australian Military Bank

Hi Sylvie,

Thanks for getting in touch regarding the experience with your partners personal loan.

We appreciate your feedback and would like to pass onto management so that we can investigate and provide coaching and feedback to our staff. Unfortunately we are unable to provide a record of your particular application after an investigation of our files.

We would be extremely grateful if you could email media@adcu.com.au with some details including your partners member number so we can ensure this is properly resolved.

Again we are sorry to hear about your experience and hope we can provide you with a better service in the future.

Regards, ADCU

Australian Military Bank

Australian Military Bank personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

A Credit Union that is simply the best in the west

Simply the best Credit Union I have experienced. Offer great banking products and solutions. Total excellence in loan interest rates, savings accounts are fantastic interest rates and great return on term deposits. Staff are so helpful and...

Full review

Simply the best Credit Union I have experienced. Offer great banking products and solutions. Total excellence in loan interest rates, savings accounts are fantastic interest rates and great return on term deposits. Staff are so helpful and extremely accommodating. Always go the extra mile to provide exemplary customer service. An organisation I put all my trust in.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Yvette (WA), reviewed about 2 years ago

Australian Military Bank

Australian Military Bank personal loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Disgraceful

Disgraceful, unbecoming of a community owned bank.

Full review

Disgraceful, unbecoming of a community owned bank.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Matthew (VIC), reviewed over 2 years ago

Australian Military Bank

Australian Military Bank personal loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Individual and personal service

Very personal organisation looking after the defence community. Been with them over 30 years and can't fault their commitment to their members and customer service. Very helpful organisation.

Full review

Very personal organisation looking after the defence community. Been with them over 30 years and can't fault their commitment to their members and customer service. Very helpful organisation.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Robert (NSW), reviewed over 2 years ago

Australian Military Bank

Australian Military Bank Unsecured Personal Loan - Excellent Credit (Variable) personal loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Shop around, they're not worth the bother

We had a seven year loan that was supposed to be complete in November last year but has been extended by four months through no fault of our own. Their policy is to raise interest rates whenever they want (there was a space of 13 days between one...

Full review

We had a seven year loan that was supposed to be complete in November last year but has been extended by four months through no fault of our own. Their policy is to raise interest rates whenever they want (there was a space of 13 days between one rise)! And not to raise the repayments it's just a little surprise package when you thought that you should have been out of debt, and to top it off we are now paying interest on interest until the debt is paid out, apparently it's all there in the small print. No notification in writing of changes, you are supposed to read all of your monthly account statements to be fully informed of changes. Apparently it is better for customers' budgeting purposes not to raise repayments, but how can it be fair to extend the time of a loan without consulting the customer in the first place, the only ones that benefit through this so called policy is the ADCU.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Laraine (NSW), reviewed almost 3 years ago

Australian Military Bank

Australian Military Bank personal loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Money gougers

I have an existing personal loan with ADCU. They have significantly reduced the interest rate on these loans recently but unfortunately do not pass that decrease onto existing customers. I am currently paying 16.15% whilst they are advertising a...

Full review

I have an existing personal loan with ADCU. They have significantly reduced the interest rate on these loans recently but unfortunately do not pass that decrease onto existing customers. I am currently paying 16.15% whilst they are advertising a rate of 13.4% to new customers.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

John (VIC), reviewed almost 4 years ago

Australian Military Bank

Australian Military Bank personal loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Accommodating

Very approachable and friendly, always willing to assist the customer.

Full review

Very approachable and friendly, always willing to assist the customer.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (QLD), reviewed about 4 years ago

Australian Military Bank

Australian Military Bank personal loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Fantastic customer service and very competitive.

I really like this product because at a time of financial need, ADCU told me not to stress that ask me more about my situation and assured me they could help. They were very friendly and gave me exactly what i needed with a really good interest...

Full review

I really like this product because at a time of financial need, ADCU told me not to stress that ask me more about my situation and assured me they could help. They were very friendly and gave me exactly what i needed with a really good interest rate which was better than the major banks. I honestly recommend ADCU to anyone.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Zac (NSW), reviewed over 4 years ago

Australian Military Bank

Australian Military Bank personal loan review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Poor

Very difficult to deal with once you are out of the military and no longer have access to military establishments where branches are located.

Full review

Very difficult to deal with once you are out of the military and no longer have access to military establishments where branches are located.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Warren (NSW), reviewed almost 5 years ago

Australian Military Bank

Australian Military Bank personal loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great service

Easy and helpful team that are very helpful.

Full review

Easy and helpful team that are very helpful.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Ryan (NSW), reviewed almost 5 years ago

Australian Military Bank

Australian Military Bank personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great credit union and great people

The ADCU is awesome. I was put onto them in the late 80s and I have not had any banking or money problems since. Thanks ADCU

Full review

The ADCU is awesome. I was put onto them in the late 80s and I have not had any banking or money problems since. Thanks ADCU

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Wayne (WA), reviewed almost 5 years ago

Australian Military Bank

Australian Military Bank personal loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

This bank is a good bank, although the only trouble that comes along with banking with ADCU is that the branches and ATMs are very remote and are only in certain places, and using a different ATM always incurs a fee.

Full review

This bank is a good bank, although the only trouble that comes along with banking with ADCU is that the branches and ATMs are very remote and are only in certain places, and using a different ATM always incurs a fee.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Monique (QLD), reviewed over 6 years ago

Australian Military Bank

Australian Military Bank personal loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

It is competitive and the bank will look afteryou even after you sign the paperwork

Full review

It is competitive and the bank will look afteryou even after you sign the paperwork

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Phillip (WA), reviewed over 6 years ago

Australian Military Bank

Australian Military Bank personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

We needed to re-finance our motor car etc. so they consolidated everything into a personal loan with lower intrest rates.

Full review

We needed to re-finance our motor car etc. so they consolidated everything into a personal loan with lower intrest rates.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mariann (QLD), reviewed over 6 years ago

Australian Military Bank

Australian Military Bank personal loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

it is awesome!!

Full review

it is awesome!!

    Price   -1 / 10

    Features   -1 / 10

    Customer service   -1 / 10

    Convenience   -1 / 10

    Trust   -1 / 10

Less

Blair (QLD), reviewed over 6 years ago

Australian Military Bank

Australian Military Bank personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

I like this bank due to they are the best and always help out about any issues with finances.

Full review

I like this bank due to they are the best and always help out about any issues with finances.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Shaun (QLD), reviewed over 6 years ago

Australian Military Bank

Australian Military Bank personal loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

High interest rate, lack of help or advice when things get a little tough

Full review

High interest rate, lack of help or advice when things get a little tough

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Cosimo (WA), reviewed almost 7 years ago

Australian Military Bank

Australian Military Bank personal loan review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Interest rate is too high for a credit union compared to banks.

Full review

Interest rate is too high for a credit union compared to banks.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   -1 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Ljupka (NSW), reviewed about 7 years ago

Australian Military Bank

Australian Military Bank personal loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

The customer service is very good and they have very competitive interest rates but it can take an extremely long time to get approval.

Full review

The customer service is very good and they have very competitive interest rates but it can take an extremely long time to get approval.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (NSW), reviewed about 7 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Personal loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    Harmoney Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    Harmoney Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    • Up to $70,000, unsecured. Fast, easy & 100% online
    • No hidden fees or early repayment penalties with Australasia's leading marketplace lending website
    • You're unique, so is your interest rate

    interest rate

    6.99% p.a.to 29.99% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    7.69% p.a.to 31.95% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    fees

    $500.00upfront
    and
    $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 6.99% would cost $36,727.56 including fees.

    • Up to $70,000, unsecured. Fast, easy & 100% online
    • No hidden fees or early repayment penalties with Australasia's leading marketplace lending website
    • You're unique, so is your interest rate
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $500
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $5,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $70,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 5 Years
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    RateSetter Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    RateSetter Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    • Low rates for borrowers with good credit
    • 1 min rate estimate, simple online application
    • No exit fees, no early repayment fees

    interest rate

    8.46% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    9.23% p.a.based on $10,000
    over 3 years

    fees

    $75.00upfront
    and
    $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 5 years. Representative example: a 3 year $10,000 loan at 8.46% would cost $11,517.82 including fees.

    • Low rates for borrowers with good credit
    • 1 min rate estimate, simple online application
    • No exit fees, no early repayment fees
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $75
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $2,001.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $45,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 5 Years
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Featured product

     

    Latitude Low Rate Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured)

    Latitude Low Rate Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured)

    • Available to new Latitude personal loan customers only
    • Applicants must be mortgage holders or homeowners
    • Applicants need an excellent credit score to apply

    interest rate

    10.99% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    12.21% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    fees

    $250.00upfront
    and
    $13.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 2 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 10.99% would cost $41,413.45 including fees.

    • Available to new Latitude personal loan customers only
    • Applicants must be mortgage holders or homeowners
    • Applicants need an excellent credit score to apply
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $250
    • Monthly fee: $13.00
    • Exit fee: $150.00
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $20,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Minimum loan term: 2 Years
    • Maximum loan term: 7 Years
    Overall rating

    4.4

    Based on 63 Latitude personal loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • RACV Personal Loan (Fixed, Secured)

    RACV Personal Loan (Fixed, Secured)

    • No ongoing fees
    • Fast approval secure personal loan
    • Choose to repay over 1 to 7 years

    interest rate

    7.49% p.a.to 15.00% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    8.04% p.a.to 16.15% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    fees

    $380.00upfront
    and
    $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 7.49% would cost $36,896.51 including fees.

    • No ongoing fees
    • Fast approval secure personal loan
    • Choose to repay over 1 to 7 years
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $380
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee:
    • Repayment options: Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Residential Property, Vehicle
    • Minimum loan amount: $25,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 7 Years
    Overall rating

    8.0

    Based on 1 RACV personal loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • SocietyOne Unsecured Personal Loan - Excellent Credit (Fixed)

    SocietyOne Unsecured Personal Loan - Excellent Credit (Fixed)

    • Low rates that reward your good credit
    • Apply online in minutes
    • No monthly or early repayment fees

    interest rate

    7.50% p.a.to 10.55% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    9.51% p.a.to 11.23% p.a.based on $10,000
    over 3 years

    fees

    $300.00upfront
    and
    $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 2 to 5 years. Representative example: a 3 year $10,000 loan at 7.50% would cost $11,834.19 including fees.

    • Low rates that reward your good credit
    • Apply online in minutes
    • No monthly or early repayment fees
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $300
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $5,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $50,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 2 Years
    • Maximum loan term: 5 Years
    Overall rating

    0.0

    Based on 1 SocietyOne personal loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 190 personal loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more personal loans

Look for a specific type of personal loan:

*The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a personal loan. The comparison rates displayed are for the amounts and terms quoted, based on monthly principal and interest repayments, on a secured basis for secured loans and an unsecured basis for unsecured loans, and apply only to these examples. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Full comparison rate schedules are available from lenders. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

Back to top