Citi logo

Citi Credit card reviews

Overall rating
5.1/10
Price
4.8/10
Features
5.5/10
Customer service
4.9/10
Convenience
5.0/10
Trust
5.2/10
Based on 1291 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent Citi credit card reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Citi Credit Card review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    I no longer have any confidence in this company.

    I hate to give bad reviews but this is necessary. 6 mos ago I was a victim of identity theft. Issue is resolved and my credit report updated, including adding documents to prove this was not my doing. A month after its all resolved, also during a pandemic, Citibank contacts me to say my credit score decreased so they're lowering my limit to what I owed at the time. I was upset but I figured it was probably a timing thing so I didn't complain. Since then my score increased higher than it was before the identity theft and today I get an email saying they again lowered my credit limit to what my current balance is. I honestly don't have any bad marks on my credit to cause them to do this and after being with them for 10 years I expected different. The idea is to pay off the card but leave it open so your debt ratio remains good but they keep decreasing my limit so I'm getting "socked" twice on my score, once for the lower debt ratio and again for the fact that the company lowered my limit. I've had a chase card for less time and this never happened so I recommend checking out Chase before Citibank.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Kari, Northern Territory, reviewed 2 months ago
  • Citi Rewards review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Heavily consumer centric

    It is one of the best ever banks with properly streamlined processes for customers. I have used its credit card for nearly 3 years now. Collection and recovery is very smooth and regulated. Entire staff of every department with whom I speak are very polite and emphatic. Superlative service and remarkable experience overall.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Subramanian, Western Australia, reviewed 2 months ago
  • Citi Credit Card review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Devious, a lot of hidden fees.

    I have used Citibank credit card for 10 years. They have offers from time to time, which often look interesting. But beware, Citi is always very devious and cunning. On the last offer I wanted to make sure not to get any more hidden fees. I spoke to 2 customer service officers who both assured me of all the fees I would pay, and no more than that. Still, I got charged unexpected fees, again. Their customer service? Non existent. Multiple phone calls never got through. Online enquiries never replied. A word of advice: AVOID.

    Price
    2 / 10
    Features
    2 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Hardi, Victoria, reviewed 2 months ago
  • Citi Credit Card review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Been with Citi for 30+ years - Brilliant support.

    Their support over the past 30 years has been second to none.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Peter, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Citi Clear review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Inept at processing BAU activities

    I've recently applied for a balance transfer onto a new credit card to quickly get rid of some debt. After a few false starts- with my address, I found out ages later that they had access my credit file 3x just for one credit check because my name was incorrectly searched and now it's written incorrectly on my file which I need to fix. After paying the whole amount of debt off, I closed my card and was told to pay the outstanding balance which was the annual fee for the following year. I was told that the amount would automatically be refunded once the account was closed. Not only has this not been refunded, I have had to follow up 3 times to check where this is at and it's been 4 months since my account was closed! This is terrible customer service, I've done this many times with other credit providers over the years and this has never been an issue. It should be the easiest process to undertake. I wouldn't even bother getting another product from this company or recommend to others. Look elsewhere for banks who can actually behave like a proper bank and capable of business as usual activities.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    I, Victoria, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Citi Rewards review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Citi is a road to Inflated Fees

    Initially signing up for the interest free period, I had to call several times to clarify the end date of the free rates. I should not have worried - one month before the rate rocketed up to 20% Citi were calling me every day pushing me to convert my (only had 2k left on it) to a personal loan. Absolute rip off of a card. The monthly fees are sky high and the annual rate also adds to the cost without any real value.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    4 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Lisa, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Citi Credit Card review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Fees

    Very high fees.

    Price
    4 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    4 / 10
    Less
    Leanne, Western Australia, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Citi Credit Card review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Expensive fees

    Very high fees and no real deals.

    Price
    4 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    4 / 10
    Less
    Leanne, Western Australia, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Citi Rewards review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Would avoid Citibank at all costs.

    I haven’t had any good experiences with Citibank. Their customer service team are offshore and do noy listen at all when you speak with them, they are very unhelpful. They don’t even call back when they say they will and it’s nearly impossible to get any type of resolution to issues. For a 'rewards' product, rewards seem very minimal.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Lauren, Queensland, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Citi review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Bad experience.

    I got a card from them and it was biggest mistake. I have been prompt in paying my EMI. Somehow my credit card was still cancelled and it badly impacted my credit score. When you ask for an explanation, they don't give you any. It sucks, worst service. They write you off even if you are regular with your payments.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Sharat, Northern Territory, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Citi Clear review

    Overall rating   2 / 10
    Horrible, terrible card with bad penalty rates!

    We have a Citibank platinum credit card and it is seriously a bad product. The interest rate is terrible. The overdue penalties are horrible. I regret ever getting this card and I am trying to pay it off as soon as I can so I can chop it up and never use it again!

    Price
    3 / 10
    Features
    3 / 10
    Customer service
    4 / 10
    Convenience
    3 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Amanda, South Australia, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Citi Credit Card review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Better card and better service available elsewhere

    I've had the Citi Signature (now Citi Premier) for about 6 years. Their service just keeps getting worse. They used to have a dedicated premier line, now just an overseas call centre. Wanted to increase my credit limit to make a big purchase (I pay off full balance monthly), and the shop didn't take Amex, takes 5-10 days to increase credit limit.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Rob, New South Wales, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Citi Clear review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Great!

    I like this bank because they offer low rates, and the interest free period of 18 months on my credit card was much longer than what other banks offered.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Jordan, Victoria, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Citi Clear review

    Overall rating   3 / 10
    Won’t help me reduce my debt

    They won’t let me combine my credit card with the loan I already have with them.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    2 / 10
    Less
    Andrew, New South Wales, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Citi Credit Card review

    Overall rating   2 / 10
    Poor processes to solve problems. Not good enough.

    As previously stated fine until there is a problem. I mistakenly did a transaction that was treated as a cash advance. I paid it out immediately, paying the fee and interest. My automatic payment of the card still came out the next day and I’ve been fighting to get my $3,000 back. They would not refund it, I had to do a cash transfer, and now they are taking two statements to credit me the fees. Not good enough. No understanding or empathy. And no actual real assistance.

    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    3 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Carol, Queensland, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Credit card comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Low Rate Credit Card

      Purchase rate
      11.99% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      0% p.a. for 24 months and then 11.99% p.a. (2.00% balance transfer fee)
      Annual fee
      $45
      Rewards program

      Promoted
    • Breeze Mastercard

      Purchase rate
      10.99% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      0% p.a. for 26 months and then 10.99% p.a. (2.00% balance transfer fee)
      Annual fee
      $49 $0 in the first year
      Rewards program

      Promoted
    • Low Rate

      Purchase rate
      13.74% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      0% p.a. for 28 months and then 21.49% p.a. (1.00% balance transfer fee)
      Annual fee
      $59 $0 in the first year
      Rewards program

      Promoted
    • Foundation Credit Card

      Purchase rate
      3.99% p.a. for 6 months then 8.99% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      3.99% p.a. for 6 months and then 8.99% p.a.
      Annual fee
      $45
      Rewards program

      Promoted
    • Freestyle Virtual Mastercard

      Purchase rate
      16.99% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      No current offer
      Annual fee
      $209 Annual fee may vary.
      Rewards program

      Promoted

    **Saving based on the average difference in fees and charges over 3 years between the most competitive product Mozo can refer a consumer to and the average credit card product input by 6,863 consumers (average balance of $4,262 or balance transfer balance of $5,818, interest rate of 19.6% and annual fee of $36.50) who used the Mozo Credit Card Health Check tool between 1 January 2012 to July 2012.

    Want more? Compare all 215 credit cards in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more credit cards

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.