AAMI logo

AAMI Car insurance customer reviews

Overall rating
Value for money
Policy coverage
Customer service
Claims handling
Trust
Based on 4096 car insurance reviews as rated by the Mozo community.
Write a review

Recent AAMI car insurance customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • AAMI Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Beware of loyalty tax

    U was with aami last year. My renewal came in alot dearer that last year if i stayed with them. I did some research and could get it cheaper by going online on their site and entering my info (all of which didnt change). So they were putting a "loyalty tax" of over $100 on their policy. I'm glad i always check or i would have paid more for something they were offering cheaper. It pays to do your research. I ended up not going with them as i got a cheaper offer from another company

    Value for money
    Trust
    Less
    Brendan, New South Wales, reviewed 4 months ago
  • AAMI Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Love these ppl

    Very professional at business would recommend at anytime

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Mark, New South Wales, reviewed 4 months ago
  • AAMI Comprehensive Car Insurance

    i would suggest AMMI to all my friends and family

    they have help me greatly and very quick to resolve my issue and highly recommend them

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Micheal, New South Wales, reviewed 4 months ago
  • AAMI Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Just above average

    All insurance companies have a mandate to make a profit Costs are high it could be more fore your buck Customer Service is always good

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Lyn, New South Wales, reviewed 4 months ago
  • AAMI Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Not very happy

    Had this insurance for 2 years but now this year the quote is 600 dollars dearer than last year so I am not going with this insurer when my insurance runs out

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Christopher, Victoria, reviewed 4 months ago
  • AAMI Comprehensive Car Insurance

    makes claiming very difficult

    I first tried to lodge a claim by phone but was told it had to be online. When first lodging my on line claim the website would not accept a reason for damage as anything but hail damage (I hit a car park column). The website insisted I bring my car to Sydney (circa. 500 km away) to be assessed.After another phone call and the waiting which that involved I lodged a relatively small claim and despite insurers possessing photos of damage from the repairer I was told I would need to wait some months for an assessor to visit my region. It took much telephone time going up the decision making ladder before insurers approved the repair based on the photographic evidence.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Chris, New South Wales, reviewed 7 months ago
  • AAMI Car Insurance

    I would recommend this company to others

    Reasonable insurance coverage and rates

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Less
    Sakhawat, New South Wales, reviewed 7 months ago
  • AAMI Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Excellent service

    When things went wrong they sorted things out fairly quick. Some clarification is needed in an easier to understand format

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Sarah, Victoria, reviewed 7 months ago
  • AAMI Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Really good

    Had no issues at all. Easy to make payments

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Naomi, Tasmania, reviewed 8 months ago
  • AAMI Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Great

    Been with them for 10 plus years, never an issue

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Casey, Victoria, reviewed 8 months ago
  • AAMI Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Reliable coverage and friendly service.

    Value for money AAMI car insurance provides a good bang for your buck. It's like finding a rare gem in a pile of stones - the premium is competitive for the wide range of coverage provided. Though it's not the cheapest out there, remember, you often get what you pay for! Policy coverage Their policy coverage is thorough and includes all the basics like personal property, accident, and theft. It's comparable to having an umbrella on a rainy day. There's some additional cover that feels a bit like the umbrella having a sunblock feature - it might not be necessary for everyone. Customer service The customer service at AAMI is generally friendly and efficient, like your favorite barista, but at peak times, you may experience some delay - think rush hour at the coffee shop. Claims handling Filing a claim with AAMI is relatively simple and streamlined. They handle the claims process diligently, although sometimes it might feel like waiting for a slow internet connection to load - but they always get the job done in the end. Trust In terms of trust, AAMI is like a well-liked book - it's reliable and doesn't disappoint. They've built a strong reputation in the industry and it’s clear they work hard to maintain it. Overall rating Overall, I would rate AAMI car insurance as a solid 7 out of 10. The experience is generally positive, with a few speed bumps along the way that could use some smoothing out. Recommendation Would I recommend AAMI to family and friends? Absolutely, especially if they're looking for an insurance policy that's comprehensive, yet still quite affordable. However, I'd caution them to be patient with the claims process. In a nutshell, I appreciate AAMI for its competitive pricing, extensive coverage, and generally dependable customer service. However, potential policyholders should be prepared for occasional delays in the claims process. Overall, it's a good insurance option if you’re seeking value and comprehensive coverage.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Danielle, Western Australia, reviewed 9 months ago
  • AAMI Car Insurance

    Customer service is nearly as bad as Telstra

    we recently put in a claim for (at fault) accidental damage. Have - been with AAMI for a long time as the consultants are great to deal with, however it now seems they have decided to cut costs and the time spent on the phone with them to sort this claim has been time wasting and frustrating to put it mildy. Every time you call you are looking at 45-1.5HRS wait time . they throw you from department to department and often the information they were giving us was different from operator to operator.. One guy said the policy was cancelled so I asked them why they sent the car to a panel shop? - he transferred me to someone else who said they had collected the car from an address that we had never lived at ????? Great to deal with - until you actually need them to pick up the phone and help you.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Paula, Western Australia, reviewed 9 months ago
  • AAMI Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Worst customer service from claim department

    Worst customer service. When called to lodge the claim the phone was answered quickly n made us pay the excess and there after anything else we try to contact them atleast 1 -1.3 hours wait time … if u lucky to get ur call answered after one hour they will again put u on hold for 30min just to verify ur details.. this is seriously ridiculous… when the repair was booked they cancelled the booking n never informed us of the cancellation… when went for the repair removing the baby car seats two of them n went they told the booking was cancled .. Later we had to cal ammi stay on call for 2 hours to ans then rebook the repair… they where no even sorry for that … The 2nd booking was postponed by them again coz they booked it on a public holiday Later when called back on the day of 3rd booking they answered the call after 1 hour n 50min later person talking to us says my husband name if not on the policy n he need to check with other department he put us on hold for 4 times on n off another 40min … having 2 babies at home to stay on call for so long was so frustrating.. they did it wrong in first place by processing the claim through my husband while he was not even on the policy.. they agreed it was there mistake n now all they can do is to put me on hold all the time … no one should hv a policy with ammi … we had our both car insurance with them will for sure next time never with ammi.. worst customer service.. no one has any clue wt they are talking no knowledge about the product or anything

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Jyotsna, Victoria, reviewed 9 months ago
  • AAMI Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Gone from AAMI to GIO for a cheaper deal.

    I have just received my renewal and it has increased by 25% and they will not do anything to match their competitors. They have lost me. Gone to GIO who are $300 cheaper.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Steve, New South Wales, reviewed 9 months ago
  • AAMI Comprehensive Car Insurance

    AAMI excellent service

    We had a recent accident and it was dealt professionally and quick had our money in 2 weeks they were also very compassionate with our claim also had a hire car the next day

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Heather, Victoria, reviewed 9 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews. Financial providers may, from time to time, offer incentives for reviews, regardless of the sentiment of the reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.