AAMI logo

AAMI Car insurance reviews

Overall rating
7.9/10
Value for money
7.5/10
Policy coverage
7.7/10
Customer service
8.1/10
Claims handling
7.9/10
Trust
7.9/10
Based on 3980 car insurance reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent AAMI car insurance customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • AAMI Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Terrible service

    Terrible to deal with, customer service centre is a joke.

    Value for money
    2 / 10
    Policy coverage
    2 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    E, Victoria, reviewed 7 days ago
  • AAMI Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Overall rating   2 / 10
    Major rip off

    Watch the fine print. They try and suck you in with discounts then up goes the price. They'd require that I'd pay an excess (not recoverable) for a claim for damage due to contaminated fuel even if they'd recover it from the supplier. This is a blatant rip off. In most other cases where an at fault party is identified and costs are recoverable the excess is reimbursed.

    Value for money
    3 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Bill, New South Wales, reviewed 15 days ago
  • AAMI Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Please stop ridiculous advertising

    Aami please reduce our Annual Premiums, rather than increasing them. How could this be done...? Stop wasting our money on ridiculous Tv Advertising, which annoys all of your customers.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Less
    David, New South Wales, reviewed 18 days ago
  • AAMI Car Insurance

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    PATHETIC

    From calling their appointed repairer Capital Smart repairs all I got was utter nonsense. They had no idea what was happening, they claimed they have sent my car elsewhere for repair and gave me a number to call so I can do their job and find out the status of my car after almost 4 weeks. The number I called was a retail shop, and I double checked the number again with Capital smart and again got the same woman in the same shop. I rang customer complaints on 132244 to check on my car status and got a chap most likely overseas, who was even more clueless than Capital Smart and asked my identification question for 15 minutes to raise my blood pressure even more. This is simply UNBELIEVABLE that over 45 minutes of calling and waiting NO ONE could tell me what is happening to my car after 3 weeks. NO ONE

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Stephen, New South Wales, reviewed 28 days ago
  • AAMI Car Insurance

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    WORST INSURANCE, DON'T BOTHER!

    I have had the worst experience ever! I have only got a third party and the person who hit my car provided a claim number. Then he changed his story and my car was returned broken. It dragged on for two months, I was treated like a criminal with full on investigation. After they admitted, I was innocent, not even in the car when it happened...their "client " was not answering their calls and so they closed the case, knowing he was at fault!!! worst in justice and insurance ever! you get what you pay for!

    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Andrea, Victoria, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • AAMI Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    aami holding our car hostage

    Good car, owned by relative, only 40 km so hardly used at all like new, was in small crash, aami forces u to use their accredited repairer which read the reviews first before sending it to them with a tow truth. we noticed their authorised repairer had shocking reviews including overquoting rude customer service leaving cars a mess so we went straight to the repairer to get the car back. Meanwhile despite aami assessor agreeing with us to ent the car to another place for a reliable quote they instead sent it to an auction house based on an assumption and guestimate despite daily calls to aami and repairer aami said for some days that they both didnt know where the car was when it was at repairer all along. repairer did a 'guestimate' an assumption of the damage quote without even getting the car on a hoist and on this assumption my good car with only 40 km and minimal damage was declared a write off. despite aami assessor agreeing to send it to another repairer of our choice they did not keep this promise and instead they suddenly and quickly sent it to the auction house! We never authorised any of this. there was no communication. Multiple calls to aami daily and not once did they contact us or tell us any of this. Spoke to an aami manager to release car immediately. from auction house so we can get reliable quote from reliable repairer, but they lie repetitively saying it takes 3-7 days to find the car amongst many cars at the auction house to release the car . meanwhile this is a complete lie. auction house says the truth that they can release the car immediately but aami are the ones holding it hostage and withholding the car and withholding the bit of info needed or email needed to release it..AAmi are holding car hostage with lies for days till the car will be finalised as a write off which then is close to impossible to reverse and to prove that their original assumption quote was negligent and that they never should have written it off and taken away all oaur c hoices to have it fixed properly and to get our own quotes which was agreed that we wanted to do before itwas suddenly swiftly and secretly sent to the auction house . they are not giving us a chance to get a proper q uote and prevent it being written off which when that happens will close all choices to us . how can we get posession of our own car to have reliable quotes before it is finalised as a write off which closes all choices to us and is close to impossible to reverse.

    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Joanne, Victoria, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • AAMI Car Insurance

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Be a ware of their policy

    when you lodge of claim it's easy . when you have some issues with AAMI say they can take up to 20 business days . during of claim (complain ) no one will contact and follow up . this is under the policy .

    Value for money
    5 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Icarus, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • AAMI Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Very competitive pricing

    Very competitive pricing.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    David, Victoria, reviewed 2 months ago
  • AAMI Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great car insurance

    Always great customer service - professional, helpful and courteous. Good value for money.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Michelle, Victoria, reviewed 2 months ago
  • AAMI Car Insurance

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    All the good reviews can’t be right!

    Are these another reviews genuine? I have been driving for over 40 years, never made an insurance claim in my life, been with AAMI for about 12 years. My premium is over $1,700/yr with an excess of $1,250. No I don’t drive a Merc, it is a 5 year old Ford Falcon FGX, no mods apart from it being stock standard, factory made XR6 Turbo. I put on an address change and low and behold, the premium goes up +$200 a year! Rang to ask why and told it’s because there is probably a lot of claims being made around my area. For what??? Theft? The car will now be garaged overnight and when at home, not parked in an open driveway. Accident? Did I mention I haven’t had a claim in my time driving? So I get slammed for being a loyal customer and have to pay for other peoples mistakes. But I bet those new joiners to AAMI and all other insurers get a big discount to swap over from their existing insurer. I think it is time I do the same.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    2 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Claims handling
    2 / 10
    Trust
    2 / 10
    Less
    David, New South Wales, reviewed 28 days ago
  • AAMI Car Insurance

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Rubbish

    I paid for a green slip 10 days ago and have tonight 13/5 gone to renew my rego to go back to work tomorrow in the early hours, before their office opens. Surprise Surprise, the details still have not gone to the RMS for me to renew and go about my normal daily life. Who's problem is this - not theirs, they don't give two hoots. Now I have been stuffed around because some university educated derelict at a large insurance company didn't do their job correctly. Will I get a discount on the next policy with them - No Will I get a discount on the current policy, paid for but not actioned - No Will I use them again - probably because they are cheap, but cheap brings bad customer service to a captive audience that need their services for the money. Follow these people up and don't be left in my predicament thinking that someone else does their job correctly!!!!!!!! Absolutely pathetic!!!!!!!!!!

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Glenn, New South Wales, reviewed 27 days ago
  • AAMI Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    A great experience from a first-time claimed!

    We had the best first insurance claim experience! Never met with an accident before, never had to deal with insurance before. So I turned to reviews online to see how other people went about their experiences. Guess what? I only found terrible reviews and distraught experiences. Definitely gave me a few sleepless nights. I have therefore decided to share my complete experience with other first-timers like me so they aren’t as petrified of insurers as I was. So we bought a brand new car, our most expensive purchase ever! And this P-plater ran into the rear end of it on Day 2! Sure enough, I got all his details - the car plate number, his driver licence photo and his phone number (note - these are imperative if you want to avoid paying excess in a no-fault claim). Called AAMI and was taken care of almost instantly. They filed a claim online, had the car booked in for repair on the very next business day. From the repairers, an Uber was booked for me to the closest Hertz car hire where a car was ready for me to drive until mine came back. Day 3, I received a call to say my car was all new again and ready to be picked up. Simply dropped off the rental, took the uber they booked for me to the repair centre and drove off like the incident never happened. Genuinely, felt like every penny of that insurance premium was worth it given how seem less the experience was. If you’re someone that’s reading this because you’re choosing an insurance company - I 100% recommend AAMI! If you are someone that is about to file your claim, please share your experienc here - GOOD OR BAD. It can really help calm someone’s nerves.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Keena, Victoria, reviewed 3 months ago
  • AAMI Car Insurance

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Pathetic

    Complete RIP off- worst customer service. Extremely poor behavior over the phone when contacted for the very first time. Ended up not helping at all. They only look good on the TV screen. That is it!

    Value for money
    2 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Ali, Victoria, reviewed 3 months ago
  • AAMI Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Quick and reliable service.

    As I've not yet had to have any claims handled, or required their customer service, I can't speak for myself, however from what I've heard (which is why I switched), they are always quick and reliable with anything related to their services.

    Value for money
    7 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Travis, Queensland, reviewed 3 months ago
  • AAMI Car Insurance

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Lucky I'm with AAMI.

    I have found AAMI to be flawless in my dealings with them. I always receive excellent customer service over the phone and my claims experiences have been quick to lodge and even quicker to be resolved and paid out - one claim was finalised in less than 24 hours. My premiums are always a reasonable price and only ever increase slightly.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Kasey, Victoria, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.