Allianz logo

Allianz Home insurance customer reviews

Overall rating
Value for money
Policy coverage
Customer service
Claims handling
Trust
Based on 405 home insurance reviews as rated by the Mozo community.
Write a review

Recent Allianz home insurance customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Allianz Home & Contents Insurance

    Allianz insurance is a no go

    This insurance company is a no go. They cancelled our home and contents insurance after a year because we have 7 sheep and 7 chickens. They says it because we more than 6 livestock. ?????? We are on 5 acres. What a bunch of monkeys.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Craig, Queensland, reviewed 2 months ago
  • Allianz Home & Contents Insurance

    Ideal coverage for me

    Great coverage Excellent service Flexible and reliable especially givin the current financial stat of the country... works even.. They provide me with exactly what I want. I'm very grateful that I've not had to use it often.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Zoe, Queensland, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Allianz Home & Contents Insurance

    No customer loyalty - badly let down, very angry

    Consumer beware. Allianz can cancel your home and contents insurance based on ‘intent’ to rent. We recently decided to rent our home for 4 months when travelling around Australia and contacted Allianz to enquire about landlords insurance. As we understood reluctance and inability for insurance companies to provide cover for Airbnb and/or short term holiday rental we emphasised this was our home and had engaged a real estate company to manage the rental of our home. By the end of the phone call which initially was simply to ask if they could provide landlord insurance under these circumstances, Allianz decided that because it was indeed listed online and they don’t provide landlord insurance for under 12 months, they would not only be unable to provide landlord insurance BUT they would also be cancelling our current home and contents insurance. In response to a formal complaint lodged we were reminded by Allianz that they could cancel our insurance (notwithstanding we had been loyal customers for 30+years and had obtained landlord insurance with them previously) by simply advertising it for rent! They did not require a lease agreement to cancel and we were told if we changed our mind about renting it or were still residing in our home after their arbitrary cancellation date we could contact them and request a continuation of our policy. Needless to say we cancelled our policy with Allianz immediately and have obtained insurance through a more flexible (and cheaper) company

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Caroline, Western Australia, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Allianz Home & Contents Insurance

    Reliable and helpful service

    We've found Allianz to be reliable and efficient. For the first time, I've had to make a claim for home & contents insurance. It was a straightforward process and the Allianz team were able to provide helpful info throughout. We were satisfied with the experience. They also seem to be competitively priced compared to other providers.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Sally, New South Wales, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Allianz Building Insurance

    Good friendly service

    Very happy with the people i have spoken with. Pleased with the price we pay.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Julie, New South Wales, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Allianz Home Insurance

    Great communication

    Although we have never required to claim, I have contacted them retarding certain issues and have found them friendly and answered questions quickly. Also as I always request a follow-up email, that was completed very quickly. Thumbs up to their staff.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Trust
    Less
    Edward, Queensland, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Allianz Home & Contents Insurance

    Not the cheapest and deny legitimate claims

    Would not recommend or re-insure as they are not to be trusted to honour their policy. Not the cheapest so you would expect reasonable service. Making a claim for water damage (burst pipe in internal wall) was easy. Then they went to the expense of flying their "tame" assessor 800 km. to assess the damage and who politely refused the claim even though the policy clearly states that the event is "covered". They claimed that a split solder joint in an internal wall is a "maintenance issue".

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Ken, New South Wales, reviewed 8 months ago
  • Allianz Home Insurance

    Worst insurance company ever!

    Whatever you do, do not insure with Allianz! We've been insured with them for over 8 years and never made a single claim. Then we had a burst pipe. From the first phone call we had with Allianz, they've been absolutely useless and continually given us inconsistent information. To date, they've come up with three different excuses as to why elements of our claim aren't covered. We escalated our dispute in the Dispute Resolution Team and they've been the worst of all. They even sent us information relating to another customer's claim in error. If the Dispute Resolution Team, who are meant to be made up of senior and experienced people can't even send the right information to the right customer, what hope do you have? They have now even rejected parts of our claim that were originally accepted. We send an email asking clear questions and they respond without answering a single question and then give us a completely new reasons to reject the claim. Now they are saying our burst pipe wasn't a burst pipe because the water was coming out slowly but steadily, which is completely ridiculous. A burst pipe is a burst pipe, regardless of whether the water is gushing out at a rate of a litre an hour or one hundred litres an hour. It still damaged our wall in the hours before we noticed water pooling on the floor and the plumber had to remove four shower tiles to find and then fix the leak. I can't believe they are being so petty over such a small and routine claim. Can you imagine what they would be like if something really catastrophic happened? Never have I ever dealt with such an incompetent company that seems hell bent on denying basic claims from long-term loyal customers.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Ali, Western Australia, reviewed 10 months ago
  • Allianz Home & Contents Insurance

    Avoid at all costs

    Worst customer service ever, worker refused to put me onto a supervisor. Policy goes up 20 or $30 every time with no claim and I’m just told to put up with it. They will not be competitive or change the charge. Worst insurance I’ve ever had. Never made a claim and treated like an idiot - highly recommend avoiding

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Grant, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed 10 months ago
  • Allianz Home & Contents Insurance

    Will destroy your home and your life

    This company and their contractors they employed completely destroyed our home and take zero responsibility, will not respond to emails phone calls and if they do it's weeks after, they deny deny deny any wrong doing even though there's mountains of proof of what they destroyed they didn't only destroy our home they've destroyed our life as we have been unable to return home for over 15 months now stay as far away from this company as possible

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Rebecca, Queensland, reviewed 10 months ago
  • Allianz Home & Contents Insurance

    Huge profits but little service

    On hold on phone call for 45 minutes so I gave up. Sent email instead but no answer until I contacted them again weeks later. Took a year to completely repair the damage and during that time the communication was appalling. Requests for phone calls and return emails were ignored. I had communication from at least 10 to 12 different people assuring me that someone would get back to me. No they didn't. Been with them for decades and both previous claims were problematic too.

    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    K., South Australia, reviewed 11 months ago
  • Allianz Building Insurance

    Worst insurance ever!

    They damaged the property and make the problem much worse during the assessment job. Then they declined the claim. They now ask me to pay for the damage caused by them. Not professional and not responsible at all. Never buy any product from Allianz!!!!

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Jenny, Victoria, reviewed 10 months ago
  • Allianz Building Insurance

    Absolutely rubbish

    Buyer beware, this is the worst company I have had the misfortune of dealing with, they try & deny everything, only way to get anything done was by complaining to the ombudsman, can’t get through to anyone, wait times are ludicrous

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Sharon, Western Australia, reviewed 8 months ago
  • Allianz Home & Contents Insurance

    Reliable and consistent

    Easy to deal with; have been with them for over 10 years. Claimed twice. No issues at all!

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Kerry, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Allianz Home & Contents Insurance

    Do not trust Allianz

    Do not trust Allianz, they will destroy your property and then deny your claim!

    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Sandra, Victoria, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews. Financial providers may, from time to time, offer incentives for reviews, regardless of the sentiment of the reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.