Home insurance reviews

Read the latest home and contents reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their home and content insurance to give you the inside story on everything from claims handling to customer service.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent home insurance reviews

Comminsure

Comminsure Residential Home Package home insurance review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Competitive premium & responsive customer service

Comminsure have been very easy to deal with when it comes to insuring my home and contents. Their rate is competitive and their customer service has been good.

Full review

Comminsure have been very easy to deal with when it comes to insuring my home and contents. Their rate is competitive and their customer service has been good.

    Value for money   4 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Gemma (NSW), reviewed 9 days ago

CGU

CGU home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Premiums are so affordable

I had a theft from my home and CGU were so helpful, understood the impact this experience had on me and settled on my telephone and tablet quickly so that I could communicate and then settled the rest of my claim effectively. I would recommend...

Full review

I had a theft from my home and CGU were so helpful, understood the impact this experience had on me and settled on my telephone and tablet quickly so that I could communicate and then settled the rest of my claim effectively. I would recommend this insurer highly.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Glenda (TAS), reviewed 5 months ago

Allianz

Allianz home insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Good premiums

Good customer service and good standard coverage.

Full review

Good customer service and good standard coverage.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Wayne (VIC), reviewed 5 months ago

RACV

RACV Home Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Poor customer service in claims resolution

I used to be with RACV for everything, but now only used their auto services after a very bad experience. After many years of good service and loyal membership, I was declined a valid claim after losing assorted items in a bag outside my home....

Full review

I used to be with RACV for everything, but now only used their auto services after a very bad experience. After many years of good service and loyal membership, I was declined a valid claim after losing assorted items in a bag outside my home. Despite several attempts to state my case and police reports, they refused my claim for prescription glasses, ipad and iPhone. I changed insurance companies.

    Value for money   -1 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Romana (VIC), reviewed 5 months ago

RAC

RAC home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

Important to make sure you know how much you can afford for each item you need to insure.

Full review

Important to make sure you know how much you can afford for each item you need to insure.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Terese (WA), reviewed 5 months ago

Australian Unity

Australian Unity home insurance review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Expensive provider

Looking to move insurance companies as fees are too high and the increased premiums recently have forced us to shift unfortunately.

Full review

Looking to move insurance companies as fees are too high and the increased premiums recently have forced us to shift unfortunately.

    Value for money   2 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Kylie (VIC), reviewed 5 months ago

Suncorp

Suncorp Classic Extras Home Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great support from Suncorp

After the Brisbane floods, Suncorp was one of the first to provide families with support which made me very satisfied with them as an insurer.

Full review

After the Brisbane floods, Suncorp was one of the first to provide families with support which made me very satisfied with them as an insurer.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Pauline (QLD), reviewed 5 months ago

Budget Direct

Budget Direct Contents Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Extremely cheap and great coverage

Quote and claim process is simple and all online.

Full review

Quote and claim process is simple and all online.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

David (ACT), reviewed 5 months ago

AIG

AIG home insurance review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Affordable and consistent

Solid experience, generally really helpful and it has always been a pleasure dealing with support.

Full review

Solid experience, generally really helpful and it has always been a pleasure dealing with support.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Rowan (QLD), reviewed 5 months ago

RACV

RACV Home Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Highly recommended

Easy choice to make. They have been nothing but helpful to us.

Full review

Easy choice to make. They have been nothing but helpful to us.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Tynan (VIC), reviewed 5 months ago

HBF

HBF home insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Excellent service and value for money

I like HBF for their fast, friendly and efficient service. Claiming was a breeze and they follow up after a claim to check not just once, but several times throughout the process that the work is being carried out. Only thing to watch out for is...

Full review

I like HBF for their fast, friendly and efficient service. Claiming was a breeze and they follow up after a claim to check not just once, but several times throughout the process that the work is being carried out. Only thing to watch out for is if you have policy in joint names and one of you cancel, then the other party looses their insurance too.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Elizabeth (WA), reviewed 5 months ago

Apia

Apia Home & Contents Extra Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Apia is the best provider

Apia is the best company for H&C insurance. They have very professional and competent staff, who go the extra mile to offer a very high level of service. Their claims process gets the job done, no matter how large or how small my claim is. I...

Full review

Apia is the best company for H&C insurance. They have very professional and competent staff, who go the extra mile to offer a very high level of service. Their claims process gets the job done, no matter how large or how small my claim is. I highly recommend Apia for insurance. I am so very pleased to be an Apia customer!

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Sharon (VIC), reviewed 5 months ago

RACQ

RACQ home insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

RACQ is a great provider

I am with RACQ for home insurance as well as car insurance because they recognise their loyal customers. I even get great deals and discounts because I am a member. I truly recommend this company.

Full review

I am with RACQ for home insurance as well as car insurance because they recognise their loyal customers. I even get great deals and discounts because I am a member. I truly recommend this company.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Sandra (QLD), reviewed 5 months ago

RACQ

RACQ home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Competitive premiums, friendly service, well known

RACQ is a trusted name in insurance here in Queensland. As we moved just last year to a cyclone area we are delighted with the way they were able to assure us that we will be fully covered should a cyclone damage our home. The cover extends even...

Full review

RACQ is a trusted name in insurance here in Queensland. As we moved just last year to a cyclone area we are delighted with the way they were able to assure us that we will be fully covered should a cyclone damage our home. The cover extends even to the solar panels we had installed. The rates are very competitive.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Anne (QLD), reviewed 5 months ago

Suncorp

Suncorp Classic Extras Home Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Reliable

They compete well with the big banks and are often better value. Easy to get a hold of a real person on the phone too.

Full review

They compete well with the big banks and are often better value. Easy to get a hold of a real person on the phone too.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Sebastian (QLD), reviewed 5 months ago

RACWA

RACWA home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Fantastic to deal with and great value for money

They have been fantastic. We had a hose burst and someone was there within two hours to alleviate the problem. Three months later, ongoing problems from the first incident were discovered and they are fixing it without an issue.

Full review

They have been fantastic. We had a hose burst and someone was there within two hours to alleviate the problem. Three months later, ongoing problems from the first incident were discovered and they are fixing it without an issue.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Sharron (WA), reviewed 5 months ago

Budget Direct

Budget Direct Home & Contents Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Fair insurance and great customer service!

It's easy to get on the phone with them. They easily explain their products and most of all they are pretty fair on their price, which helps.

Full review

It's easy to get on the phone with them. They easily explain their products and most of all they are pretty fair on their price, which helps.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Sophie (NSW), reviewed 5 months ago

NRMA

NRMA home insurance review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Terrible insurer when you need them the most

When I didn't need them, they were quite good (no problem in taking my premiums) but as soon as I needed to make my first claim in over 10 years for my neighbour's tree that fell on my house, they were incompetent, rude and actively unhelpful.

Full review

When I didn't need them, they were quite good (no problem in taking my premiums) but as soon as I needed to make my first claim in over 10 years for my neighbour's tree that fell on my house, they were incompetent, rude and actively unhelpful.

    Value for money   0 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Taha (ACT), reviewed 5 months ago

NRMA

NRMA home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Very reliable

NRMA have been in the business a long time and I feel they are reliable and will help me if I need to claim.

Full review

NRMA have been in the business a long time and I feel they are reliable and will help me if I need to claim.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Andrew (ACT), reviewed 5 months ago

AAMI

AAMI Home Building Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Usually good customer service

I now dislike them because they are charging $500 upfront just to lodge a claim, with no guarantee that they will pay out.

Full review

I now dislike them because they are charging $500 upfront just to lodge a claim, with no guarantee that they will pay out.

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Barbara (VIC), reviewed 5 months ago

QBE

QBE Home Cover Prestige home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Competitive premiums, fantastic customer service

Very reasonable competitive rates.

Full review

Very reasonable competitive rates.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Shirley (QLD), reviewed 5 months ago

Vero

Vero home insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Policy meets my requirement at a reasonable cost

I have been a customer of Vero for about 5 years. I have experienced prompt follow-ups when I lodged a claim.

Full review

I have been a customer of Vero for about 5 years. I have experienced prompt follow-ups when I lodged a claim.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Paul (NSW), reviewed 5 months ago

NRMA

NRMA home insurance review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Shopping around for other providers

My insurance has gone up again so I am in the process of looking at other insurance companies to see if I can reduce my premium.

Full review

My insurance has gone up again so I am in the process of looking at other insurance companies to see if I can reduce my premium.

    Value for money   3 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Donna (NSW), reviewed 5 months ago

Vero

Vero home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Competitive premiums and great customer service

We were broken into in November 2015. Vero were so efficient in handling the situation and claims that needed to be made.

Full review

We were broken into in November 2015. Vero were so efficient in handling the situation and claims that needed to be made.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Jennifer (QLD), reviewed 5 months ago

NRMA

NRMA home insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Overall a good provider

The staff were very helpful when we took out our policy. We were given a discount for combining our policies and they gave us helpful information regarding items to include and also how to value our items. We feel safe with the knowledge that if a...

Full review

The staff were very helpful when we took out our policy. We were given a discount for combining our policies and they gave us helpful information regarding items to include and also how to value our items. We feel safe with the knowledge that if a disaster was to occur, we would be covered.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Virginia (NSW), reviewed 5 months ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2017

Forget industry awards where banks scratch each other's backs. Mozo presents the People's Choice Awards, based on real customer reviews.

Check out the winners

Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.