Home insurance reviews

Read the latest home and contents reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their home and content insurance to give you the inside story on everything from claims handling to customer service.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent home insurance reviews

ANZ

ANZ Home Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Big savings and better cover, fast and easy claim

My bank manager suggested I change to ANZ. After being with my previous provider for 24 years it took a bit of convincing but I'm glad I did. I am saving hundreds every year and have better cover than before. I had to make one claim and they were...

My bank manager suggested I change to ANZ. After being with my previous provider for 24 years it took a bit of convincing but I'm glad I did. I am saving hundreds every year and have better cover than before. I had to make one claim and they were pleasant, there was no fuss and it was settled very quickly.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Anne (VIC), reviewed 16 days ago

CGU

CGU Fundamentals Home Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   1 / 10

CGU is not a fair insurer

I had landlords insurance with CGU. The tenants had a window fall into the bath and it gouged a big hole in the bath. CGU refused to cover the total cost of the claim and would only provide 50% of the cost to fix it. We were out of pocket $5000...

I had landlords insurance with CGU. The tenants had a window fall into the bath and it gouged a big hole in the bath. CGU refused to cover the total cost of the claim and would only provide 50% of the cost to fix it. We were out of pocket $5000 and had been very good customers for 8 years prior to this incident and only making 1 small claim in that time.

    Value for money   4 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Kate (QLD), reviewed 16 days ago

Budget Direct

Budget Direct Contents Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Good value for money and easy to deal with

Cheapest quote with good value for money. Easy online process.

Cheapest quote with good value for money. Easy online process.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Nadia (NSW), reviewed 16 days ago

RAC

RAC Home & Contents Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great competitive pricing and easy sign up

Great competitive prices and discounts for signing up online. I switched from my previous insurer to RAC because they offered me comparable coverage for much less even though I'd been a loyal customer of my previous insurer for over 5 years.

Great competitive prices and discounts for signing up online. I switched from my previous insurer to RAC because they offered me comparable coverage for much less even though I'd been a loyal customer of my previous insurer for over 5 years.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Rebecca (WA), reviewed 17 days ago

AAMI

AAMI home insurance review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Average but need to beware with big claims

Okay for small issues, but anything a bit complicated and you're in for a wait.

Okay for small issues, but anything a bit complicated and you're in for a wait.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Vanessa (WA), reviewed 17 days ago

AAMI

AAMI home insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Good provider

So far I haven't had the need to contact them about anything such as making a claim.

So far I haven't had the need to contact them about anything such as making a claim.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Lisa (SA), reviewed 23 days ago

ANZ

ANZ Home Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

ANZ make their products easy to understand

ANZ are easy to deal with. Would recommend this service to anyone.

ANZ are easy to deal with. Would recommend this service to anyone.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Tim (QLD), reviewed 23 days ago

HBF

HBF home insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Easier to get insured with HBF than others

So far I've had a positive experience with HBF. They offer better packages that are suited to me but I haven't made a claim before.

So far I've had a positive experience with HBF. They offer better packages that are suited to me but I haven't made a claim before.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Jason (WA), reviewed 25 days ago

SGIO

SGIO Home Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Great customer service

Very happy with the quality of service. I would recommend this provider to others.

Very happy with the quality of service. I would recommend this provider to others.

    Value for money   6 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Zachary (WA), reviewed 25 days ago

RAA

RAA Contents Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great premiums, coverage and service

RAA has great prices, they're also reliable and offer many discounts.

RAA has great prices, they're also reliable and offer many discounts.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Dana (SA), reviewed about 1 month ago

Apia

Apia Contents Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Apia do what they say and deliver without grief

I've had absolutely no problems with Apia to date and I rate them highly.

I've had absolutely no problems with Apia to date and I rate them highly.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Lynette (QLD), reviewed about 1 month ago

Resi

Resi home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Medium range premiums with good customer service

I do not deal directly with the insurer as all contact is through a broker who assists me in every aspect. I have only had two claims but all were settled quickly and efficiently.

I do not deal directly with the insurer as all contact is through a broker who assists me in every aspect. I have only had two claims but all were settled quickly and efficiently.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

John (SA), reviewed about 1 month ago

MLC

MLC home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

They are great for me

MLC understand insurance.

MLC understand insurance.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Nelson (NSW), reviewed about 1 month ago

SGIC

SGIC Home Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Fabulous insurance company and customer service

I've had my insurance site with SGIC for 14 years now and would never think of changing providers.

I've had my insurance site with SGIC for 14 years now and would never think of changing providers.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Juliska (SA), reviewed about 1 month ago

Comminsure

Comminsure home insurance review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Average customer service overall

Commonwealth Bank took a long while to get back to me about advice on my insurance.

Commonwealth Bank took a long while to get back to me about advice on my insurance.

    Value for money   6 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Anthony (VIC), reviewed about 1 month ago

Budget Direct

Budget Direct Home & Contents Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Very good price all round

The price can not be beaten for the cover you are after, all round very happy.

The price can not be beaten for the cover you are after, all round very happy.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Kevin (QLD), reviewed about 2 months ago

Apia

Apia Home & Contents Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

Apia have always been great. I have only been with Apia for a short time and have had no issues to date.

Apia have always been great. I have only been with Apia for a short time and have had no issues to date.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Melinda (QLD), reviewed about 2 months ago

Comminsure

Comminsure Residential Home Package home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Lower interest rates compared to other banks

Easy access and great service.

Easy access and great service.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Abhishek (VIC), reviewed about 2 months ago

Budget Direct

Budget Direct home insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Would recommend their services to others

Being with Budget direct saved me hundreds during my first year.

Being with Budget direct saved me hundreds during my first year.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Jason (NSW), reviewed about 2 months ago

Apia

Apia Contents Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

I'm well set with this service and recommend it

As with my review for my other insurances, I find this service meets all my needs in a friendly and competent matter. The premiums fit well into my restricted budget and I have never had a problem with Apia. I would recommend it to anyone looking...

As with my review for my other insurances, I find this service meets all my needs in a friendly and competent matter. The premiums fit well into my restricted budget and I have never had a problem with Apia. I would recommend it to anyone looking for great service, and have already recommended it to several friends, who now use this company too. Paying premiums monthly is a great help too.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Diane (NSW), reviewed about 2 months ago

Comminsure

Comminsure Residential Home Package home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Very good service

Comminsure is easy to deal with. I had one claim and there were no issues with this provider.

Comminsure is easy to deal with. I had one claim and there were no issues with this provider.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Lindday (VIC), reviewed about 2 months ago

GIO

GIO Classic Home & Contents home insurance review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Very unhappy with GIO

My parents have been with GIO for over 60 + years. We made four very minor claims and after my father passed away, our meter box blew up and we tried to claim $600.00 (six hundred dollars) for damages. However, there were no return phone calls,...

My parents have been with GIO for over 60 + years. We made four very minor claims and after my father passed away, our meter box blew up and we tried to claim $600.00 (six hundred dollars) for damages. However, there were no return phone calls, and any sent mail or faxes were declined. I was glad to tell my parents, relatives and friends to cancel their account too.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Gaye (NSW), reviewed 2 months ago

NRMA QLD

NRMA QLD home insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Very impressive customer service and claims

Have only ever had to claim once and they were beyond brilliant. In a stressful situation (flooding) they could not have been more help. I was so impressed, and grateful.

Have only ever had to claim once and they were beyond brilliant. In a stressful situation (flooding) they could not have been more help. I was so impressed, and grateful.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Claims handling   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Jodie (QLD), reviewed 8 months ago

Vero

Vero home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Very competitive pricing

My home insurance needs were a little different to most in that I needed coverage for a Manufactured Home. The first year I went with my bank, though the girl that signed me up was unsure that they covered my type of home but in the end convinced...

My home insurance needs were a little different to most in that I needed coverage for a Manufactured Home. The first year I went with my bank, though the girl that signed me up was unsure that they covered my type of home but in the end convinced me that they did. After months of feeling uneasy I rang another branch to ask and was told, definitely not. The village where my home is had a brochure for an Insurance Company that did so not knowing of any others I took out a policy with them. Getting close to renewal time and unhappy with the high premiums I spoke to my neighbours who were with CIL, another company that covers Manufactured homes. I rang them for a quote and was delighted to find it was less than half the cost of the other, I then went through everything I was currently covered for and assured all the way that even though they were a lot cheaper the coverage was in fact even better. The staff member I was dealing with was so helpful and no question went unanswered, once I was happy that I was going to be adequately covered I said I wished to go ahead and change my insurance to their company. As a pensioner I was very pleased with the savings which would cover my car registration. The staff member went over everything again with me, even emailed me a copy of everything so I could read through it before the hard copy arrived in the mail. They also took care of the other policy cancellation so I didn't have to deal with them. I have since spoken to other home owners in the village who are with them and not found anyone that has had any problems with them, a couple have had to make claims for storm damage , which they said was handled very quickly and with quality workmanship. I myself have not had to make a claim, hence the 5 score. I don't normally discuss this type of thing with others but I'm more than happy to sing the praises of CIL Insurance.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   5 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Debra (QLD), reviewed 8 months ago

CGU

CGU Fundamentals Home Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   3 / 10

No one seems to know what they are doing

When buying anew house we already had just contents insurance with CGU. But when we asked for it to be incorporated into building insurance they told us everything that was in our contents insurance would no longer be covered even though when we...

When buying anew house we already had just contents insurance with CGU. But when we asked for it to be incorporated into building insurance they told us everything that was in our contents insurance would no longer be covered even though when we originally took out the contents insurance it took over an hour on the phone to obtain it.

    Value for money   6 / 10

    Policy coverage   7 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Claims handling   -1 / 10

    Trust   2 / 10

Less

Kate (WA), reviewed 8 months ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2016

Forget industry awards where banks scratch each other's backs. Mozo presents the People's Choice Awards, based on more than 30,000 real customer reviews.

Check out the winners

Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.