Home insurance reviews

Read the latest home and contents reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their home and content insurance to give you the inside story on everything from claims handling to customer service.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent home insurance reviews

RACV

RACV Home Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Peace of mind from trusted company

The bonuses and discounts are attractive.

The bonuses and discounts are attractive.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Ned (VIC), reviewed 2 days ago

Comminsure

Comminsure home insurance review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Contacting them by phone takes too long

Premiums are too high. I'll be looking elsewhere.

Premiums are too high. I'll be looking elsewhere.

    Value for money   0 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Dianne (NSW), reviewed 16 days ago

Suncorp

Suncorp Classic Home Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Competitive rates

I haven't had a claim yet, but they have competitive rates and are easy to deal with.

I haven't had a claim yet, but they have competitive rates and are easy to deal with.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Sandra (QLD), reviewed 17 days ago

CGU

CGU Fundamentals Home Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Competitive product, premium and service

Best value for money with the range of inclusions covered in the policy.

Best value for money with the range of inclusions covered in the policy.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Karen (NSW), reviewed 23 days ago

AAMI

AAMI home insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

AAMI is a great insurer

AAMI always does what they can to reassure and assist me with any enquiries or claims. They offer great customer service.

AAMI always does what they can to reassure and assist me with any enquiries or claims. They offer great customer service.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Karen (WA), reviewed 23 days ago

Apia

Apia Home & Contents Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Very reliable and trustworthy

Apia is a very reliable company who I have been with for years. Not only are they low cost but they also provide very good services, and much more! I would highly recommend them to others.

Apia is a very reliable company who I have been with for years. Not only are they low cost but they also provide very good services, and much more! I would highly recommend them to others.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Debra (QLD), reviewed 23 days ago

CGU

CGU home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great insurance company

They were great to deal with when I had my car stolen.

They were great to deal with when I had my car stolen.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Brad (TAS), reviewed 24 days ago

GIO

GIO Classic Home & Contents home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

I wouldn't change to any other provider

I am a gold member with GIO and have been with them for many years. I've had claims with them and have always been very happy with their customer service.

I am a gold member with GIO and have been with them for many years. I've had claims with them and have always been very happy with their customer service.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Mary (NSW), reviewed 24 days ago

1st for Women

1st for Women Home & Contents Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Helpful and friendly

I can trust that if in need, I'll be able to get insurance.

I can trust that if in need, I'll be able to get insurance.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Kylie (NSW), reviewed 24 days ago

QBE

QBE Home Cover home insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Competitive premiums and easy to get a claim

Great company to deal with. They always match premiums every year. I have been dealing with QBE for over 20 years and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them to anyone.

Great company to deal with. They always match premiums every year. I have been dealing with QBE for over 20 years and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them to anyone.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Anitta (SA), reviewed 27 days ago

Youi

Youi Home & Contents Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Best insurer

I claimed a hole in my floor and Youi didn't just fix the hole but also fixed the source of the problem.

I claimed a hole in my floor and Youi didn't just fix the hole but also fixed the source of the problem.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Donna (VIC), reviewed about 1 month ago

Comminsure

Comminsure home insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Big bank, big value

What an easy and quick application process. They made sure I understood the policy and gave me personal names to call if I had questions or needed to make a claim. The bank is solid and reliable - just what I need.

What an easy and quick application process. They made sure I understood the policy and gave me personal names to call if I had questions or needed to make a claim. The bank is solid and reliable - just what I need.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Colleen (QLD), reviewed about 1 month ago

RAC

RAC Home & Contents Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great insurer

Likewise to my car insurance, I have been with RAC for over 20 years and I have never experienced any issues. RAC provide great value and customer support.

Likewise to my car insurance, I have been with RAC for over 20 years and I have never experienced any issues. RAC provide great value and customer support.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Greg (WA), reviewed about 1 month ago

QBE

QBE Home Cover home insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Solid company

Good company, policy coverage is wider than most on the market. Claims service is efficient and whilst only used once, the result was more than acceptable because of the assessor used.

Good company, policy coverage is wider than most on the market. Claims service is efficient and whilst only used once, the result was more than acceptable because of the assessor used.

    Value for money   6 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Bruce (VIC), reviewed about 1 month ago

SGIC

SGIC Home Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Friendly service and cheap rates

I am very satisfied with SGIC. I can do everything I need online or over phone and never have any problems. Staff are always there to help if needed.

I am very satisfied with SGIC. I can do everything I need online or over phone and never have any problems. Staff are always there to help if needed.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Judy (SA), reviewed about 1 month ago

Apia

Apia Contents Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great company for insurance

Apia are quick and efficient in processing claims.

Apia are quick and efficient in processing claims.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Michael (NSW), reviewed about 2 months ago

Allianz

Allianz SureCover home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent customer service

Great company - We have our home and vehicle insured.

Great company - We have our home and vehicle insured.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Clay (NSW), reviewed about 2 months ago

Allianz

Allianz home insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Very competitive and good coverage

Allianz could improve on the speed and communication for claims processing.

Allianz could improve on the speed and communication for claims processing.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Letitia (SA), reviewed about 2 months ago

CGU

CGU home insurance review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Average overall

Booklets are too hard to understand. I hate telephoning with all the carry on prior to getting to speak to a real person.

Booklets are too hard to understand. I hate telephoning with all the carry on prior to getting to speak to a real person.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Cheryle (SA), reviewed about 2 months ago

Apia

Apia Home & Contents Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service and competitive premiums

Apia provides prompt and friendly service. Their rates are very competitive and my experience when I had a claim was excellent. When I notified Apia about the claim, their assessor arrived the next day, completed the assessment and within two days...

Apia provides prompt and friendly service. Their rates are very competitive and my experience when I had a claim was excellent. When I notified Apia about the claim, their assessor arrived the next day, completed the assessment and within two days the repairer arrived and completed the necessary replacement of the shower screen glass. Any time I have had a query I have found them friendly, reliable and they always provide accurate information.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Margaret (VIC), reviewed about 2 months ago

Comminsure

Comminsure Residential Home Package home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great insurer

Great insurer. I feel safe and happy with their terms and conditions.

Great insurer. I feel safe and happy with their terms and conditions.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Melinda (VIC), reviewed about 2 months ago

Allianz

Allianz home insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Friendly, efficient and cooperative

The staff set up the policy quickly and efficiently. They followed up to make sure everything was to my satisfaction.

The staff set up the policy quickly and efficiently. They followed up to make sure everything was to my satisfaction.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Corinne (NSW), reviewed about 2 months ago

Comminsure

Comminsure Residential Home Package home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Competitive premiums

Compared to other insurers, they offer the most low cost service without exclusions.

Compared to other insurers, they offer the most low cost service without exclusions.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Sue (QLD), reviewed about 2 months ago

Allianz

Allianz SureCover home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Happy to stay with Allianz, easy to access

Easy to join and access as it is associated with my bank.

Easy to join and access as it is associated with my bank.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Leane (VIC), reviewed about 2 months ago

Apia

Apia Contents Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Caring and helpful staff

I have not been a client of APIA for two years now, but when they handled my contents insurance they were great and after we had a break in they were kind and caring. Our claim was settled in a quick and efficient way and I will be going back to...

I have not been a client of APIA for two years now, but when they handled my contents insurance they were great and after we had a break in they were kind and caring. Our claim was settled in a quick and efficient way and I will be going back to APIA in the near future.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Gloria (NSW), reviewed about 2 months ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2016

Forget industry awards where banks scratch each other's backs. Mozo presents the People's Choice Awards, based on more than 30,000 real customer reviews.

Check out the winners

Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.