Home insurance reviews

Read the latest home and contents reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their home and content insurance to give you the inside story on everything from claims handling to customer service.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent home insurance reviews

SGIC

SGIC home insurance review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Overall good to deal with

I am a long time customer. They're good to deal with, although when you have multiple policies the reduction in premium is not really sufficient, not much on an incentive to stay with.

Full review

I am a long time customer. They're good to deal with, although when you have multiple policies the reduction in premium is not really sufficient, not much on an incentive to stay with.

    Value for money   6 / 10

    Policy coverage   6 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Claims handling   6 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Vesna (SA), reviewed about 19 hours ago

Vero

Vero home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Quick, Professional, Friendly and Competitive

2 severe storms in two years, they didn't bat an eyelid. Assessor out within 24 hours, damage fixed in a few days all sorted quickly and professionally, no increases in policy in the following year, AMAZING!

Full review

2 severe storms in two years, they didn't bat an eyelid. Assessor out within 24 hours, damage fixed in a few days all sorted quickly and professionally, no increases in policy in the following year, AMAZING!

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Kate (NSW), reviewed about 19 hours ago

RACT

RACT Home & Contents Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Ract supports Tasmanians

RACT provides excellent insurance and service for Tasmanians

Full review

RACT provides excellent insurance and service for Tasmanians

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Wendy (TAS), reviewed 1 day ago

ANZ

ANZ home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Another great bank to bank with.

ANZ has great customer service. Quick and reliable. Friendly staff. And most of all you can trust your money with them. Good on you ANZ.

Full review

ANZ has great customer service. Quick and reliable. Friendly staff. And most of all you can trust your money with them. Good on you ANZ.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Lyn (VIC), reviewed 2 days ago

Apia

Apia Home & Contents Extra Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

They meet my needs.

They meet my needs.

Full review

They meet my needs.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Claims handling   8 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Jannine (NSW), reviewed 2 days ago

Suncorp

Suncorp Classic Extras Home Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Premiums going up and I never had to put claim

It was ok at first, but I've never a claim and Suncorp keeps putting my premium up.

Full review

It was ok at first, but I've never a claim and Suncorp keeps putting my premium up.

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Policy coverage   5 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Claims handling   6 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Deborah (QLD), reviewed 2 days ago

HBF

HBF home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Hbf- Only insurer to offer fortnightly installment

Hbf car insurance met my needs to allow me to pay fortnightly payments for my car's as I had 3. Thus needed 3 × full comprehensive policies, 1× house insurance policy and 1× contents insurance policy. At the time they were the only insurer...

Full review

Hbf car insurance met my needs to allow me to pay fortnightly payments for my car's as I had 3. Thus needed 3 × full comprehensive policies, 1× house insurance policy and 1× contents insurance policy. At the time they were the only insurer offering fortnightly payments. The next best was quarterly- half yearly which didn't appeal to me at that point in time as I was paid wages fortnightly, mortgage payments paid fortnightly, car payments paid fortnightly and so on. Fortnightly it was.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   -1 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Brendan (WA), reviewed 5 days ago

Suncorp

Suncorp Classic Extras Home Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great with costumer service

Allways helpful

Full review

Allways helpful

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Robert (QLD), reviewed 5 days ago

Apia

Apia Home & Contents Extra Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Helpful and trustworthy customer service.

Over the phone customer service was lovely and they helped out a lot with updating information and so on.

Full review

Over the phone customer service was lovely and they helped out a lot with updating information and so on.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Claims handling   -1 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Adaleigh (NSW), reviewed 6 days ago

Apia

Apia Home & Contents Extra Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Staff are always friendly and helpful

I haven't had to make any claims but the staff have always been very helpful when needed

Full review

I haven't had to make any claims but the staff have always been very helpful when needed

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Claims handling   -1 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Jenny (TAS), reviewed 8 days ago

Apia

Apia Home & Contents Extra Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Have tsunami cover.

They have honoured the couple of claims we have had. Fast and efficient.

Full review

They have honoured the couple of claims we have had. Fast and efficient.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Claims handling   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Lynn (QLD), reviewed 8 days ago

AAMI

AAMI Home Building & Contents Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Friendly & helpful service

Haven’t made a claim before but did for car policy and we’re fantastic to deal with. Have amended contents and again were excellent and helpful.

Full review

Haven’t made a claim before but did for car policy and we’re fantastic to deal with. Have amended contents and again were excellent and helpful.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Claims handling   9 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Kayla (VIC), reviewed 8 days ago

Apia

Apia Home & Contents Extra Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

One word; awesome

Better rates & easier people to do business with

Full review

Better rates & easier people to do business with

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   -1 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Peter (NSW), reviewed 8 days ago

Westpac

Westpac Premier Care Residential (Home & Contents) home insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Competitive premiums and customer service great

All claims over the years 30+ have been handled efficiently with the minimum of fuss. Couldn't want anything more re Home & Contents Insurance.

Full review

All claims over the years 30+ have been handled efficiently with the minimum of fuss. Couldn't want anything more re Home & Contents Insurance.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Claims handling   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Peter (QLD), reviewed 8 days ago

AAMI

AAMI Home Building & Contents Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent service

Customer service is excellent

Full review

Customer service is excellent

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   -1 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Michelle (VIC), reviewed 12 days ago

RACV

RACV home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great

Great customer service

Full review

Great customer service

    Value for money   4 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Claims handling   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jane (VIC), reviewed 16 days ago

AAMI

AAMI home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

An A1 company with excellent customer service

When moving house this company was the only one to offer interim insurance. All the other major insurance companies found it all too hard, or were too lazy to look outside the square. The company sent a representative within two hours of the...

Full review

When moving house this company was the only one to offer interim insurance. All the other major insurance companies found it all too hard, or were too lazy to look outside the square. The company sent a representative within two hours of the request when a huge fire tree came down on our house and he put their teams into action.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jean (NSW), reviewed 16 days ago

RACWA

RACWA home insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Competitive

They include extras you have to pay for with other companies

Full review

They include extras you have to pay for with other companies

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Peter (WA), reviewed 20 days ago

Comminsure

Comminsure Residential Home Package home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Competitive premiums

Covers all my requirements at a very reasonable cost.

Full review

Covers all my requirements at a very reasonable cost.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   -1 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Lyn (VIC), reviewed 20 days ago

South West Credit

South West Credit home insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great customer service

They have competitive rates and great service, very helpful.

Full review

They have competitive rates and great service, very helpful.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Claims handling   -1 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Tania (QLD), reviewed 20 days ago

AAMI

AAMI Home Building & Contents Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Wouldn't trust any other insurance company!

They are really helping when you need a quick quote! Wouldn't trust any other insurance company!

Full review

They are really helping when you need a quick quote! Wouldn't trust any other insurance company!

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Olivia (VIC), reviewed 22 days ago

RACQ Bank

RACQ Bank home insurance review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Customer Service.

I like that they have Australian call centres.

Full review

I like that they have Australian call centres.

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Policy coverage   5 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Claims handling   4 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Rohan (QLD), reviewed about 1 month ago

RAA

RAA Home & Contents Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great service when you need help.

Convenience, trust, responsive to contacts at all times.

Full review

Convenience, trust, responsive to contacts at all times.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Claims handling   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Melody (SA), reviewed about 1 month ago

Comminsure

Comminsure Residential Home Package home insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

We'll see, hopefully won't need to claim

Just switching to them very soon, within the next few weeks; my decision was based on cost of cover, and their current Online 4 Star Rating for this Product.

Full review

Just switching to them very soon, within the next few weeks; my decision was based on cost of cover, and their current Online 4 Star Rating for this Product.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   -1 / 10

    Customer service   -1 / 10

    Claims handling   -1 / 10

    Trust   -1 / 10

Less

Antoni a (QLD), reviewed about 1 month ago

ANZ

ANZ Home Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Competitive

Handy having banking and insurance with the same company

Full review

Handy having banking and insurance with the same company

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Claims handling   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Tania (QLD), reviewed about 1 month ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2017

Forget industry awards where banks scratch each other's backs. Mozo presents the People's Choice Awards, based on real customer reviews.

Check out the winners

Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.