Home insurance reviews

Read the latest home and contents reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their home and content insurance to give you the inside story on everything from claims handling to customer service.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent home insurance reviews

GIO

GIO Classic Home & Contents home insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

True to their word

I had a significant claim some time ago which was fully accepted and paid for.

I had a significant claim some time ago which was fully accepted and paid for.

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Glenn (NSW), reviewed 9 days ago

Youi

Youi home insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Very happy I chose Youi

Excellent, fast, professional and friendly service.

Excellent, fast, professional and friendly service.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Susan (NSW), reviewed 9 days ago

Suncorp

Suncorp Classic Home Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great company giving value for money

I have never had a problem that they cannot fix. Claims are made easy over the phone and when an assessor is required, they arrange it promptly with someone who is friendly and courteous.

I have never had a problem that they cannot fix. Claims are made easy over the phone and when an assessor is required, they arrange it promptly with someone who is friendly and courteous.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Phillip (QLD), reviewed 10 days ago

Coles

Coles Home Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Very good, impressed with Coles

Very easy to deal with. Simple online quote to start with. Two years later we needed to make a claim which was simple, efficient and dealt with so quickly.

Very easy to deal with. Simple online quote to start with. Two years later we needed to make a claim which was simple, efficient and dealt with so quickly.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Kate (NSW), reviewed 10 days ago

CGU

CGU home insurance review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Unsatisfied customer

Hard to deal with and very slow. I find them difficult to understand.

Hard to deal with and very slow. I find them difficult to understand.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Alan (VIC), reviewed 10 days ago

ANZ

ANZ Home Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great customer service

Very helpful and easy to understand their staff.

Very helpful and easy to understand their staff.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Leanne (VIC), reviewed 15 days ago

AAMI

AAMI home insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great customer service and advice

The customer service was wonderful when I asked for an initial quote. The lady was giving advice and had great communication skills. Pricing is competitive. Don't forget to ask as many questions as you need, they are willing to help and give...

The customer service was wonderful when I asked for an initial quote. The lady was giving advice and had great communication skills. Pricing is competitive. Don't forget to ask as many questions as you need, they are willing to help and give recommendations.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Eileen (VIC), reviewed 15 days ago

Youi

Youi home insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Service and pricing is better than competitors

After ringing dozens of insurance companies, I wasn't completely satisfied with the prices and the coverage until a friend suggested Youi. I have been with them for eight years and am very happy.

After ringing dozens of insurance companies, I wasn't completely satisfied with the prices and the coverage until a friend suggested Youi. I have been with them for eight years and am very happy.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Anne (NSW), reviewed 16 days ago

SGIC

SGIC home insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Good insurance provider

I receive my multi policy discount through SGIC as well as a direct debit monthly payment option.

I receive my multi policy discount through SGIC as well as a direct debit monthly payment option.

    Value for money   -1 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Kathryn (SA), reviewed 19 days ago

QBE

QBE Home Cover home insurance review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Average yet expensive

No guarantee that your claims will be upheld.

No guarantee that your claims will be upheld.

    Value for money   4 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Toni (WA), reviewed 19 days ago

Youi

Youi Home & Contents Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great provider

I have been fortunate not to have had to make a claim, but dealing with Youi has always been a pleasure.

I have been fortunate not to have had to make a claim, but dealing with Youi has always been a pleasure.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Lauren (SA), reviewed 25 days ago

Allianz

Allianz home insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Stress free when making a claim

Making a claim was fast and easy.

Making a claim was fast and easy.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Priscilla (NSW), reviewed 25 days ago

Apia

Apia home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great service with Apia

Always a positive easy experience with Apia.

Always a positive easy experience with Apia.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Dianne (SA), reviewed 26 days ago

Westpac

Westpac Essential Care Residential (Home & Contents) home insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Reliable and established

The premiums may be higher than some of the currently advertised products but when we read the fine print on the other quotes we realised that they had too many exclusions. We haven't had to claim thankfully but are confident that there would be...

The premiums may be higher than some of the currently advertised products but when we read the fine print on the other quotes we realised that they had too many exclusions. We haven't had to claim thankfully but are confident that there would be no problems with Westpac.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Kim (TAS), reviewed 26 days ago

NAB

NAB NAB Home Insurance Essentials home insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Competitive premiums

I only just joined NAB and they have been great so far.

I only just joined NAB and they have been great so far.

    Value for money   6 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Peter (VIC), reviewed 26 days ago

ANZ

ANZ Home Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Big savings and better cover, fast and easy claim

My bank manager suggested I change to ANZ. After being with my previous provider for 24 years it took a bit of convincing but I'm glad I did. I am saving hundreds every year and have better cover than before. I had to make one claim and they were...

My bank manager suggested I change to ANZ. After being with my previous provider for 24 years it took a bit of convincing but I'm glad I did. I am saving hundreds every year and have better cover than before. I had to make one claim and they were pleasant, there was no fuss and it was settled very quickly.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Anne (VIC), reviewed about 1 month ago

CGU

CGU Fundamentals Home Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   1 / 10

CGU is not a fair insurer

I had landlords insurance with CGU. The tenants had a window fall into the bath and it gouged a big hole in the bath. CGU refused to cover the total cost of the claim and would only provide 50% of the cost to fix it. We were out of pocket $5000...

I had landlords insurance with CGU. The tenants had a window fall into the bath and it gouged a big hole in the bath. CGU refused to cover the total cost of the claim and would only provide 50% of the cost to fix it. We were out of pocket $5000 and had been very good customers for 8 years prior to this incident and only making 1 small claim in that time.

    Value for money   4 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Kate (QLD), reviewed about 1 month ago

Budget Direct

Budget Direct Contents Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Good value for money and easy to deal with

Cheapest quote with good value for money. Easy online process.

Cheapest quote with good value for money. Easy online process.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Nadia (NSW), reviewed about 1 month ago

RAC

RAC Home & Contents Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great competitive pricing and easy sign up

Great competitive prices and discounts for signing up online. I switched from my previous insurer to RAC because they offered me comparable coverage for much less even though I'd been a loyal customer of my previous insurer for over 5 years.

Great competitive prices and discounts for signing up online. I switched from my previous insurer to RAC because they offered me comparable coverage for much less even though I'd been a loyal customer of my previous insurer for over 5 years.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Rebecca (WA), reviewed about 1 month ago

AAMI

AAMI home insurance review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Average but need to beware with big claims

Okay for small issues, but anything a bit complicated and you're in for a wait.

Okay for small issues, but anything a bit complicated and you're in for a wait.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Vanessa (WA), reviewed about 2 months ago

AAMI

AAMI home insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Good provider

So far I haven't had the need to contact them about anything such as making a claim.

So far I haven't had the need to contact them about anything such as making a claim.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Lisa (SA), reviewed about 2 months ago

ANZ

ANZ Home Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

ANZ make their products easy to understand

ANZ are easy to deal with. Would recommend this service to anyone.

ANZ are easy to deal with. Would recommend this service to anyone.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Tim (QLD), reviewed about 2 months ago

HBF

HBF home insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Easier to get insured with HBF than others

So far I've had a positive experience with HBF. They offer better packages that are suited to me but I haven't made a claim before.

So far I've had a positive experience with HBF. They offer better packages that are suited to me but I haven't made a claim before.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Jason (WA), reviewed about 2 months ago

SGIO

SGIO Home Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Great customer service

Very happy with the quality of service. I would recommend this provider to others.

Very happy with the quality of service. I would recommend this provider to others.

    Value for money   6 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Zachary (WA), reviewed about 2 months ago

RAA

RAA Contents Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great premiums, coverage and service

RAA has great prices, they're also reliable and offer many discounts.

RAA has great prices, they're also reliable and offer many discounts.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Dana (SA), reviewed 2 months ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2016

Forget industry awards where banks scratch each other's backs. Mozo presents the People's Choice Awards, based on more than 30,000 real customer reviews.

Check out the winners

Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.