Home insurance reviews

Read the latest home and contents reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their home and content insurance to give you the inside story on everything from claims handling to customer service.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent home insurance reviews

NRMA QLD

NRMA QLD home insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Very impressive customer service and claims

Have only ever had to claim once and they were beyond brilliant. In a stressful situation (flooding) they could not have been more help. I was so impressed, and grateful.

Full review

Have only ever had to claim once and they were beyond brilliant. In a stressful situation (flooding) they could not have been more help. I was so impressed, and grateful.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Claims handling   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Jodie (QLD), reviewed 5 months ago

Vero

Vero home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Very competitive pricing

My home insurance needs were a little different to most in that I needed coverage for a Manufactured Home. The first year I went with my bank, though the girl that signed me up was unsure that they covered my type of home but in the end convinced...

Full review

My home insurance needs were a little different to most in that I needed coverage for a Manufactured Home. The first year I went with my bank, though the girl that signed me up was unsure that they covered my type of home but in the end convinced me that they did. After months of feeling uneasy I rang another branch to ask and was told, definitely not. The village where my home is had a brochure for an Insurance Company that did so not knowing of any others I took out a policy with them. Getting close to renewal time and unhappy with the high premiums I spoke to my neighbours who were with CIL, another company that covers Manufactured homes. I rang them for a quote and was delighted to find it was less than half the cost of the other, I then went through everything I was currently covered for and assured all the way that even though they were a lot cheaper the coverage was in fact even better. The staff member I was dealing with was so helpful and no question went unanswered, once I was happy that I was going to be adequately covered I said I wished to go ahead and change my insurance to their company. As a pensioner I was very pleased with the savings which would cover my car registration. The staff member went over everything again with me, even emailed me a copy of everything so I could read through it before the hard copy arrived in the mail. They also took care of the other policy cancellation so I didn't have to deal with them. I have since spoken to other home owners in the village who are with them and not found anyone that has had any problems with them, a couple have had to make claims for storm damage , which they said was handled very quickly and with quality workmanship. I myself have not had to make a claim, hence the 5 score. I don't normally discuss this type of thing with others but I'm more than happy to sing the praises of CIL Insurance.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   5 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Debra (QLD), reviewed 6 months ago

CGU

CGU Fundamentals Home Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   3 / 10

No one seems to know what they are doing

When buying anew house we already had just contents insurance with CGU. But when we asked for it to be incorporated into building insurance they told us everything that was in our contents insurance would no longer be covered even though when we...

Full review

When buying anew house we already had just contents insurance with CGU. But when we asked for it to be incorporated into building insurance they told us everything that was in our contents insurance would no longer be covered even though when we originally took out the contents insurance it took over an hour on the phone to obtain it.

    Value for money   6 / 10

    Policy coverage   7 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Claims handling   -1 / 10

    Trust   2 / 10

Less

Kate (WA), reviewed 6 months ago

NRMA

NRMA home insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Value for money.

I have been insured with NRMA with my motor vehicle for some time but only recently changed my house and contents due to the extra loyalty bonus savings. They have been helpful enough with my motor vehicle i cant see why home and contents would be...

Full review

I have been insured with NRMA with my motor vehicle for some time but only recently changed my house and contents due to the extra loyalty bonus savings. They have been helpful enough with my motor vehicle i cant see why home and contents would be any different.

    Value for money   6 / 10

    Policy coverage   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Claims handling   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Ben (NSW), reviewed 6 months ago

Allianz

Allianz SureCover home insurance review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Expensive premiums

I have never made a claim in the 10 years we were with them yet their premiums go up dramatically every year

Full review

I have never made a claim in the 10 years we were with them yet their premiums go up dramatically every year

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Policy coverage   5 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Claims handling   5 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Vivienne (SA), reviewed 6 months ago

Westpac

Westpac home insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Friendly efficient service

I recently made a claim and they were very helpful

Full review

I recently made a claim and they were very helpful

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Lesley (WA), reviewed 6 months ago

Youi

Youi Home & Contents Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Customer service was excellent and great savings

I found it a very easy process to change to Youi when I received a renewal from my previous insurer that was way too expensive. They asked all the right questions and I was able to get substantial savings by bundling my car insurance as well. All...

Full review

I found it a very easy process to change to Youi when I received a renewal from my previous insurer that was way too expensive. They asked all the right questions and I was able to get substantial savings by bundling my car insurance as well. All done quickly with very polite and efficient phone manner. I'm extremely happy.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Faye (QLD), reviewed 6 months ago

NRMA

NRMA home insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

NRMA excellent service

NRMA have always been a great home insurance company. My mother is with them, my older sisters is with them so it was only natural I went with them as well when I bought my first house. The application process was easy, they guided me the...

Full review

NRMA have always been a great home insurance company. My mother is with them, my older sisters is with them so it was only natural I went with them as well when I bought my first house. The application process was easy, they guided me the whole way and made me aware of all the fee's and what it is exactly that I was getting. The process didn't take long at all, I expected it to be way longer and if I had any questions not only did they answer them but they did thoroughly. I ended up getting contents insurance as well and I am lucky that I did because later that year we had a robbery and also a flood the year later. They were very sympathetic when I called them and helped me out unconditionally so I could get everything replaced as soon as possible. In conclusion to say I am very happy with NRMA would be an understatement. I know I wouldn't be able to do it without them.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Claims handling   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Elisabeth (NSW), reviewed 6 months ago

Comminsure

Comminsure Residential Home Package home insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Insure with Comminsure and feel safe.

After the April floods we they could not have been more helpful.

Full review

After the April floods we they could not have been more helpful.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Russell (NSW), reviewed 6 months ago

NRMA

NRMA home insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Competitive, easy to deal with.

Easy to insure with, large company, value for money.

Full review

Easy to insure with, large company, value for money.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   7 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Claims handling   5 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Emily (NSW), reviewed 6 months ago

NRMA

NRMA home insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Competitive premiums and mega customer service

Great company, good price, helpful customer service.

Full review

Great company, good price, helpful customer service.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Stuart (NSW), reviewed 8 months ago

Elders

Elders home insurance review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Good farm insurance

Elders are great option for farm insurance, we have not needed to claim yet but communication has been good.

Full review

Elders are great option for farm insurance, we have not needed to claim yet but communication has been good.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Claims handling   5 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Julie (WA), reviewed 8 months ago

Coles

Coles home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

A force to be reckoned with!

I have never had any issues with Coles, they have always been supportive when it comes to claims and the price is always reasonable!

Full review

I have never had any issues with Coles, they have always been supportive when it comes to claims and the price is always reasonable!

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Lesley (TAS), reviewed 8 months ago

Elders

Elders home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Fantastic

A brilliant product and fantastic customer assistance from the agents

Full review

A brilliant product and fantastic customer assistance from the agents

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Birrali (QLD), reviewed 8 months ago

AAMI

AAMI Home Contents Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Competitive premiums and superior customer service

They are polite ,efficient and keep to their promise. They are always available on the phone.

Full review

They are polite ,efficient and keep to their promise. They are always available on the phone.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Kenneth (ACT), reviewed 8 months ago

Comminsure

Comminsure Residential Home Package home insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Best Home & Contents Premiums & Excellent Service.

I have insured my home & contents with several reputable lenders over the years: eg NRMA, GIO, Suncorp. I and other family members have been the the Commonwealth Bank for many decades. I have my mortgage with them. When I was looking around to...

Full review

I have insured my home & contents with several reputable lenders over the years: eg NRMA, GIO, Suncorp. I and other family members have been the the Commonwealth Bank for many decades. I have my mortgage with them. When I was looking around to get a better deal on my H&C insurance payments I, as usual, did a lot of research. I came across Comminsure which beat all the others by milwa and saved me about $50 a month. As as aged pensioner this was a considerable saving. The Customer Service has always been friendly and they have never failed to help me out with great advice. Ruth in the Loans Department of the Katoomba Commonwealth Branch deserves a special mention, as do all the other ladies there. They are always most welcoming, cheerful and knowledgeable. More so than with other banks I have been in. I'm very happy with them.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Claims handling   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Kay (NSW), reviewed 8 months ago

Youi

Youi Home Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Not the cheapest but they were helpful

We haven't been with youi for long but we have been happy with how they helped set up our policy.

Full review

We haven't been with youi for long but we have been happy with how they helped set up our policy.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Claims handling   5 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Joshua (VIC), reviewed 8 months ago

NAB

NAB NAB Home Insurance Essentials home insurance review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Hope I never need to claim

A must have policy

Full review

A must have policy

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   6 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Claims handling   6 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Joanne (VIC), reviewed 8 months ago

Woolworths

Woolworths Standard Cover home insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Never had to claim -- so don't know.

Cover very similar to previous insurer and 30% cheaper.

Full review

Cover very similar to previous insurer and 30% cheaper.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Claims handling   -1 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Peter (VIC), reviewed 8 months ago

Allianz

Allianz SureCover home insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service, good policy options.

We have had to make a pretty big claim before. They were really good at getting back to us and had the problem resolved in a couple of weeks. Great to work with.

Full review

We have had to make a pretty big claim before. They were really good at getting back to us and had the problem resolved in a couple of weeks. Great to work with.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Claims handling   9 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Trevor (ACT), reviewed 8 months ago

Comminsure

Comminsure home insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Fast, easy and heaps cheaper than others

Mainly a price thing They were about 40% cheaper than any other at the time, but probably don't have as many bells and whistles that personalise the policy to suit certain folks. However at 1000 per anum against $1600 plus from other companies for...

Full review

Mainly a price thing They were about 40% cheaper than any other at the time, but probably don't have as many bells and whistles that personalise the policy to suit certain folks. However at 1000 per anum against $1600 plus from other companies for building I think it is great value

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   5 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Claims handling   5 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Cathy (NSW), reviewed 8 months ago

Bankwest

Bankwest home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Just great

None they are just great

Full review

None they are just great

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Claims handling   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Eric (WA), reviewed 8 months ago

Allianz

Allianz SureCover home insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Competitive premiums

Because i'm not have insurance

Full review

Because i'm not have insurance

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   9 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Claims handling   7 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Ajah (VIC), reviewed 8 months ago

Suncorp

Suncorp Classic Home Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

They have good customer service.

I like this insurer because during the cyclone we had here in QLD they seemed to be the only insurer who met the demands of the people in their coverage of damage. The rest wormed their way out of paying it seems after speaking with fellow...

Full review

I like this insurer because during the cyclone we had here in QLD they seemed to be the only insurer who met the demands of the people in their coverage of damage. The rest wormed their way out of paying it seems after speaking with fellow neighbours.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Irene (QLD), reviewed 8 months ago

WFI

WFI home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great price, excellent service

Having an area manager as your go to person makes everything so much easier instead of ringing a call centre. The whole process is so much more personslised and they get to really know you and your needs.

Full review

Having an area manager as your go to person makes everything so much easier instead of ringing a call centre. The whole process is so much more personslised and they get to really know you and your needs.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Allison (TAS), reviewed 8 months ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2016

Forget industry awards where banks scratch each other's backs. Mozo presents the People's Choice Awards, based on more than 30,000 real customer reviews.

Check out the winners

Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.