Advertisement

Home insurance reviews

Read the latest home and contents reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their home and content insurance to give you the inside story on everything from claims handling to customer service.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent home insurance reviews

RAA

RAA Home & Contents Insurance Home & Contents Insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Competitive pricing and great customer service.

I had part of my bedroom ceiling fall in the winter of 2018 in the evening. They immediately got the company they deal with to come straight away to my property and the lad was out on a ladder fixing the problem in the gutters at 11 p.m. at night....

Full review

I had part of my bedroom ceiling fall in the winter of 2018 in the evening. They immediately got the company they deal with to come straight away to my property and the lad was out on a ladder fixing the problem in the gutters at 11 p.m. at night. He fixed what he could so no more damage could be done and then was back first thing in the morning to replace the ceiling. Then people came to plaster and paint the whole ceiling and carpet cleaner company arrived to clean and fix all the carpet. My claim was handled excellently. I even emailed RAA and gave the companies that they sent to my home a 10 out of 10 for service. I couldn't have been happier. Problem solved efficently and in such a short time frame.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Christine, South Australia, reviewed about 22 hours ago

AAMI

AAMI Home Building Insurance Building Insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Good service and answer questions when asked.

Have provided insurance over many years and have had no issues.

Full review

Have provided insurance over many years and have had no issues.

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Policy coverage   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Colin, Victoria, reviewed 4 days ago

Suncorp

Suncorp Classic Extras Home Insurance Home & Contents Insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Good rates.

Good rates. I've never had to make a claim so I can't say how good they really are.

Full review

Good rates. I've never had to make a claim so I can't say how good they really are.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Claims handling   6 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Col, Northern Territory, reviewed 4 days ago

AAMI

AAMI Home Insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Helpful, responsive and competitive.

Great customer service and very helpful. The only thing is that each year the premiums go up slightly and I have to call them to get it reduced.

Full review

Great customer service and very helpful. The only thing is that each year the premiums go up slightly and I have to call them to get it reduced.

    Value for money   6 / 10

    Policy coverage   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Grant, Tasmania, reviewed 5 days ago

RAC

RAC Home Insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Reasonable competitive insurer w/ good reputation.

Easy to adjust the value of home and contents if you think you have over or undervalued. Most things you can do online. Unlike their car insurance, the h&c insurance premium with RAC is more competitive and reasonable.

Full review

Easy to adjust the value of home and contents if you think you have over or undervalued. Most things you can do online. Unlike their car insurance, the h&c insurance premium with RAC is more competitive and reasonable.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   9 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Maria, Western Australia, reviewed 5 days ago

Suncorp

Suncorp Home Insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

A bit dear premium but good customer service

Suncorp has in recent years jacked up their premiums, to a level that I have to reconsider whether to retain insurance cover with them or not. The flip side, their customer service is wonderful, and when I put in a claim, I have not had a terrible...

Full review

Suncorp has in recent years jacked up their premiums, to a level that I have to reconsider whether to retain insurance cover with them or not. The flip side, their customer service is wonderful, and when I put in a claim, I have not had a terrible experience with them.

    Value for money   3 / 10

    Policy coverage   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Claims handling   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Bernard, Queensland, reviewed 7 days ago

AIG

AIG Home Insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Have a look, you could save some good dollars here

The pricing is good and so is the service. It's good to support insurers other than the major one in Australia that owns all the sun brands.

Full review

The pricing is good and so is the service. It's good to support insurers other than the major one in Australia that owns all the sun brands.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Ben, Tasmania, reviewed 8 days ago

HBF

HBF Home Insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Competitive premiums and great customer service.

Had to make a claim. It was quick and easy with no issues.

Full review

Had to make a claim. It was quick and easy with no issues.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Claims handling   9 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Rae, Western Australia, reviewed 8 days ago

Youi

Youi Contents Insurance Contents Insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Reputable, affordable and trustworthy.

Substantial savings when holding more multiple policies, awesome rewards and discounts available.

Full review

Substantial savings when holding more multiple policies, awesome rewards and discounts available.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Susan, South Australia, reviewed 8 days ago

RACQ

RACQ Contents Insurance Contents Insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Good value insurance with what you need included.

As an RACQ roadside member with other policies, RACQ provides a fairly good rate on my home insurance. Always good to support local businesses.

Full review

As an RACQ roadside member with other policies, RACQ provides a fairly good rate on my home insurance. Always good to support local businesses.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Vincent, Queensland, reviewed 11 days ago

RACQ

RACQ Contents Insurance Contents Insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

RACQ pet insurance.

I have recently claimed on my pet insurance. They were very helpful and paid the claim within two weeks.

Full review

I have recently claimed on my pet insurance. They were very helpful and paid the claim within two weeks.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Rose, Queensland, reviewed 11 days ago

AAMI

AAMI Home Building & Contents Insurance Home & Contents Insurance review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Trusted brand with a good track record.

The product is OK, Im sure there are better ones out there but AAMI is a trusted brand that I am happy for now to stick with.

Full review

The product is OK, Im sure there are better ones out there but AAMI is a trusted brand that I am happy for now to stick with.

    Value for money   6 / 10

    Policy coverage   6 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Claims handling   5 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Stephen, New South Wales, reviewed 12 days ago

AAMI

AAMI Home Building & Contents Insurance Home & Contents Insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service and trustworthy.

I like this insurance. It is very convenient and i trust them with everything since i've been with them for over 10 years now. But the cons are make sure you do your research when joining them because there have been a few incidents in the past.

Full review

I like this insurance. It is very convenient and i trust them with everything since i've been with them for over 10 years now. But the cons are make sure you do your research when joining them because there have been a few incidents in the past.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Claims handling   6 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Akor, Western Australia, reviewed 12 days ago

Suncorp

Suncorp Classic Extras Home Insurance Home & Contents Insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Happy to recommend

Solid performer. Costs a bit more than many other insurers however whenever we have needed to claim or talk to someone, the service and response has been first rate.

Full review

Solid performer. Costs a bit more than many other insurers however whenever we have needed to claim or talk to someone, the service and response has been first rate.

    Value for money   6 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Janet, Queensland, reviewed 13 days ago

Budget Direct

Budget Direct Home & Contents Insurance Home & Contents Insurance review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Fair.

Cheap and good value.

Full review

Cheap and good value.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Troy, New South Wales, reviewed 14 days ago

AAMI

AAMI Home Building Insurance Building Insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great to deal with.

We saved $450 and were given an extra $50,000 coverage.

Full review

We saved $450 and were given an extra $50,000 coverage.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Ross, New South Wales, reviewed 14 days ago

SGIO

SGIO Home Insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Not too expensive and consistently good service.

I have been with SGIO for 31 years. I find they are a little dearer than some competitors but their customer service is much better and they do not try to avoid paying on claims on spurious technicalities (which I have experienced with other major...

Full review

I have been with SGIO for 31 years. I find they are a little dearer than some competitors but their customer service is much better and they do not try to avoid paying on claims on spurious technicalities (which I have experienced with other major insurers).

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Raymond, Western Australia, reviewed 14 days ago

AAMI

AAMI Home Insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Good.

A good company to deal with.

Full review

A good company to deal with.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   4 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Claims handling   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Glynn, Victoria, reviewed 14 days ago

Woolworths

Woolworths Standard Cover Building Insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Policy gives you value for money.

The price is very good value for money.

Full review

The price is very good value for money.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Mark, Western Australia, reviewed 14 days ago

SGIC

SGIC Home Insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Friendly and helpful staff.

Very easy to claim and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

Full review

Very easy to claim and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Lynette, South Australia, reviewed 15 days ago

Apia

Apia Home & Contents Extra Insurance Home & Contents Insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service, friendly helpful staff.

They have competitive prices. I haven't had any problems with them.

Full review

They have competitive prices. I haven't had any problems with them.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Phyllis, Victoria, reviewed 15 days ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank Home Insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Brilliant.

Any claims have been sorted as quickly as they could and over the telephone.

Full review

Any claims have been sorted as quickly as they could and over the telephone.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Claims handling   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Brian, Victoria, reviewed 15 days ago

Budget Direct

Budget Direct Home & Contents Insurance Home & Contents Insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Competitive premiums.

I like this insurer because it is a little cheaper than most insurance companies.

Full review

I like this insurer because it is a little cheaper than most insurance companies.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   6 / 10

Less

Wendy, Victoria, reviewed 15 days ago

RAA

RAA Home & Contents Insurance Home & Contents Insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service.

The RAA is fantastic when it comes to claims. Our claim was settled in less than a week and we had the cash.

Full review

The RAA is fantastic when it comes to claims. Our claim was settled in less than a week and we had the cash.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Reg, South Australia, reviewed 15 days ago

Allianz

Allianz Home Insurance review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Good price, not so good customer service.

They took over the company I was insured with and notified me by mail of the change. They changed the date and price of the direct debit amount without checking with me first. It would have been good to have asked me about the change as previously...

Full review

They took over the company I was insured with and notified me by mail of the change. They changed the date and price of the direct debit amount without checking with me first. It would have been good to have asked me about the change as previously I had it set up to coincide with pay dates. They bought forward the pay date by a bit over two weeks and when I phoned them to ask if they could revert the changes, the customer service officer wasn't very helpful and couldn't really explain why.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   7 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Lyn, Victoria, reviewed 15 days ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2019

Mozo presents the People’s Choice Awards, based on real customer reviews.

Check out the winners
Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.

 
Advertisement