Home insurance reviews

Read the latest home and contents reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their home and content insurance to give you the inside story on everything from claims handling to customer service.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent home insurance reviews

QBE

QBE Home Cover home insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Competitive premiums and easy to get a claim

Great company to deal with. They always match premiums every year. I have been dealing with QBE for over 20 years and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them to anyone.

Great company to deal with. They always match premiums every year. I have been dealing with QBE for over 20 years and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them to anyone.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Anitta (SA), reviewed 1 day ago

Youi

Youi Home & Contents Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Best insurer

I claimed a hole in my floor and Youi didn't just fix the hole but also fixed the source of the problem.

I claimed a hole in my floor and Youi didn't just fix the hole but also fixed the source of the problem.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Donna (VIC), reviewed 8 days ago

Comminsure

Comminsure home insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Big bank, big value

What an easy and quick application process. They made sure I understood the policy and gave me personal names to call if I had questions or needed to make a claim. The bank is solid and reliable - just what I need.

What an easy and quick application process. They made sure I understood the policy and gave me personal names to call if I had questions or needed to make a claim. The bank is solid and reliable - just what I need.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Colleen (QLD), reviewed 9 days ago

RAC

RAC Home & Contents Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great insurer

Likewise to my car insurance, I have been with RAC for over 20 years and I have never experienced any issues. RAC provide great value and customer support.

Likewise to my car insurance, I have been with RAC for over 20 years and I have never experienced any issues. RAC provide great value and customer support.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Greg (WA), reviewed 18 days ago

QBE

QBE Home Cover home insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Solid company

Good company, policy coverage is wider than most on the market. Claims service is efficient and whilst only used once, the result was more than acceptable because of the assessor used.

Good company, policy coverage is wider than most on the market. Claims service is efficient and whilst only used once, the result was more than acceptable because of the assessor used.

    Value for money   6 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Bruce (VIC), reviewed 18 days ago

SGIC

SGIC Home Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Friendly service and cheap rates

I am very satisfied with SGIC. I can do everything I need online or over phone and never have any problems. Staff are always there to help if needed.

I am very satisfied with SGIC. I can do everything I need online or over phone and never have any problems. Staff are always there to help if needed.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Judy (SA), reviewed 18 days ago

Apia

Apia Contents Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great company for insurance

Apia are quick and efficient in processing claims.

Apia are quick and efficient in processing claims.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Michael (NSW), reviewed 23 days ago

Allianz

Allianz SureCover home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent customer service

Great company - We have our home and vehicle insured.

Great company - We have our home and vehicle insured.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Clay (NSW), reviewed 23 days ago

Allianz

Allianz home insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Very competitive and good coverage

Allianz could improve on the speed and communication for claims processing.

Allianz could improve on the speed and communication for claims processing.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Letitia (SA), reviewed 24 days ago

CGU

CGU home insurance review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Average overall

Booklets are too hard to understand. I hate telephoning with all the carry on prior to getting to speak to a real person.

Booklets are too hard to understand. I hate telephoning with all the carry on prior to getting to speak to a real person.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Cheryle (SA), reviewed 24 days ago

Apia

Apia Home & Contents Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service and competitive premiums

Apia provides prompt and friendly service. Their rates are very competitive and my experience when I had a claim was excellent. When I notified Apia about the claim, their assessor arrived the next day, completed the assessment and within two days...

Apia provides prompt and friendly service. Their rates are very competitive and my experience when I had a claim was excellent. When I notified Apia about the claim, their assessor arrived the next day, completed the assessment and within two days the repairer arrived and completed the necessary replacement of the shower screen glass. Any time I have had a query I have found them friendly, reliable and they always provide accurate information.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Margaret (VIC), reviewed 26 days ago

Comminsure

Comminsure Residential Home Package home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great insurer

Great insurer. I feel safe and happy with their terms and conditions.

Great insurer. I feel safe and happy with their terms and conditions.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Melinda (VIC), reviewed about 1 month ago

Allianz

Allianz home insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Friendly, efficient and cooperative

The staff set up the policy quickly and efficiently. They followed up to make sure everything was to my satisfaction.

The staff set up the policy quickly and efficiently. They followed up to make sure everything was to my satisfaction.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Corinne (NSW), reviewed about 1 month ago

Comminsure

Comminsure Residential Home Package home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Competitive premiums

Compared to other insurers, they offer the most low cost service without exclusions.

Compared to other insurers, they offer the most low cost service without exclusions.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Sue (QLD), reviewed about 1 month ago

Allianz

Allianz SureCover home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Happy to stay with Allianz, easy to access

Easy to join and access as it is associated with my bank.

Easy to join and access as it is associated with my bank.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Leane (VIC), reviewed about 1 month ago

Apia

Apia Contents Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Caring and helpful staff

I have not been a client of APIA for two years now, but when they handled my contents insurance they were great and after we had a break in they were kind and caring. Our claim was settled in a quick and efficient way and I will be going back to...

I have not been a client of APIA for two years now, but when they handled my contents insurance they were great and after we had a break in they were kind and caring. Our claim was settled in a quick and efficient way and I will be going back to APIA in the near future.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Gloria (NSW), reviewed about 1 month ago

RAA

RAA Home & Contents Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Good value for money

They helped provide the best policy for my needs compared to previous insurance companies I have dealt with that were more expensive and didn't necessarily provide anything better.

They helped provide the best policy for my needs compared to previous insurance companies I have dealt with that were more expensive and didn't necessarily provide anything better.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Christine (SA), reviewed about 1 month ago

Apia

Apia Home & Contents Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Always friendly and helpful customer service

Very easy to deal with and they have competitive premiums.

Very easy to deal with and they have competitive premiums.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Kay (SA), reviewed about 1 month ago

CGU

CGU Fundamentals Home Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Average overall, expensive insurance provider

I was surprised to find out that quite a few household items are not covered, like the stove, hot water system and white goods over 15 years old.

I was surprised to find out that quite a few household items are not covered, like the stove, hot water system and white goods over 15 years old.

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Barbara (SA), reviewed about 1 month ago

Elders

Elders home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Competitive premiums and great customer service

Staff are very easy to get alone with. Claims are handled very quickly and fairly. I would recommend Elders to anyone. This is also the only provider who insure rural properties.

Staff are very easy to get alone with. Claims are handled very quickly and fairly. I would recommend Elders to anyone. This is also the only provider who insure rural properties.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Linda (WA), reviewed about 1 month ago

QBE

QBE Home Cover home insurance review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Service isn't great

I dislike them because I had goods insured in two separate policies and when I shifted, they changed my two policies to one which was meant to be better but they forgot to include some of my belongings to the policy. When I had to make a claim...

I dislike them because I had goods insured in two separate policies and when I shifted, they changed my two policies to one which was meant to be better but they forgot to include some of my belongings to the policy. When I had to make a claim for a lost ring, I only got a third of the value instead of the full value.

    Value for money   0 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Jacquii (WA), reviewed about 1 month ago

Suncorp

Suncorp home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Competitive premiums and great customer service

I would recommend this bank for people to insure their home because they are very straight forward and explain things well and look after their customers. If they have any problems, they try their hardest to help the person solve them.

I would recommend this bank for people to insure their home because they are very straight forward and explain things well and look after their customers. If they have any problems, they try their hardest to help the person solve them.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Rosemary (VIC), reviewed about 1 month ago

Budget Direct

Budget Direct Contents Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Highly recommended!

We have our home and cars insured with Budget Direct and they're great. Prices are superb too.

We have our home and cars insured with Budget Direct and they're great. Prices are superb too.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Eliza (NSW), reviewed about 1 month ago

GIO

GIO Classic Home & Contents home insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

True to their word

I had a significant claim some time ago which was fully accepted and paid for.

I had a significant claim some time ago which was fully accepted and paid for.

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Glenn (NSW), reviewed about 1 month ago

Youi

Youi home insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Very happy I chose Youi

Excellent, fast, professional and friendly service.

Excellent, fast, professional and friendly service.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Susan (NSW), reviewed about 1 month ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2016

Forget industry awards where banks scratch each other's backs. Mozo presents the People's Choice Awards, based on more than 30,000 real customer reviews.

Check out the winners

Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.