Home insurance reviews

Read the latest home and contents reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their home and content insurance to give you the inside story on everything from claims handling to customer service.

Search a review by:

Recent home insurance reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • CHU Home Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Choose a different insurer

    January 2020 we suffered storm damage to our bedroom ceiling and walls and it was not repaired until October 2020. Water damage to laundry lounge room and garage also happened around January 2020 and I am still waiting for repairs. Assessor came in January and told me what would be fixed then 6 months later a new assessor was sent and the repairs changed, refusing to fix broken tiles. And now I am still waiting. Assessor does not answer calls. Does not return calls. Then when my insurance is due for renewal excess goes from $500 to $2500. Very disappointing and poor service.

    Value for money
    4 / 10
    Policy coverage
    2 / 10
    Customer service
    3 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Sandra, Queensland, reviewed 3 days ago
  • Youi Home Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Took 22 months to settle storm damage claim.

    Youi took almost two years to settle a storm damage claim in Broken Hill, leaving the residents tearing their hair out at the ‘complete joke’ response.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Sacha, New South Wales, reviewed 4 days ago
  • RAC Home Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Good house insurance.

    RAC home insurance has been good at paying out storm damage on my house.

    Value for money
    7 / 10
    Policy coverage
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Claims handling
    8 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Karen, Western Australia, reviewed 4 days ago
  • Budget Direct Home & Contents Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Budget direct - bad home insurance

    Our garage ceiling fell from bad winds and they told us the ceiling wasn't maintained? Its a ceiling not a car how do you keep it maintained as you can't service it. Take our money for 11 years and first claim you knock it back. Bad insurance company look elsewhere.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    3 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Jason, Victoria, reviewed 5 days ago
  • Real Insurance Essential Home and Contents Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Trustworthy insurance company.

    I've been with Real Insurance for 4 years now and I'm very happy with the friendly customer service. They're understanding, outline your insurance details well and always post out any updates on your policies.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Natasha, New South Wales, reviewed 7 days ago
  • Apia Home & Contents Extra Insurance review

    Overall rating   4 / 10
    Sharp in increase in charges

    Apia's rates for both home and contents and car insurance have increased alot this year. Very disappointed as they are supposed to look after pensioners. I have now insured with another company at a much cheaper rate.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    3 / 10
    Claims handling
    2 / 10
    Trust
    3 / 10
    Less
    Roma, Victoria, reviewed 10 days ago
  • NRMA Home Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Fantastic products, service, and value for money

    We have always found NRMA to be good value for money, provide excellent customer service and very efficient in assisting us when we made a claim. The process of making a claim was always simple and fast. We rate NRMA very highly, and cannot thank them enough for the assistance they have always given us. An excellent company for all our insurances.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Leona, South Australia, reviewed 11 days ago
  • Budget Direct Home Buildings Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Quick to take action

    They arranged all trades to repair damages to house caused by burst hot water pipe.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Siew, Western Australia, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • St.George Essential Care Residential - building review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Worst insurance ever

    Absolute riit! Lies and shear stupid mistakes at customer expense! Avoid at all costs! I never paid too much attention to the wording but when I had to found complete contraction on ever matter from 1 page to the other and misleading insurance names to take your money and reject all claims.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Jane, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Suncorp Classic Extras Home Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    I have not been able to fault them at all.

    I didn’t find anything wrong with the company and am happy with everything they have helped me with.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Claims handling
    9 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Chris, Queensland, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Allianz Home & Contents Insurance review

    Overall rating   4 / 10
    Competitive streamliner.

    I am concerned that when it comes to crunch time, Allianz may not come to the party, but as a competitor they definitely have the cheapest rates.

    Value for money
    6 / 10
    Policy coverage
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Trust
    3 / 10
    Less
    Cait, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Woolworths Standard Cover review

    Overall rating   2 / 10
    They ripped me off.

    I guess when I first signed up to Woolworths online I was okay. Until a few months later. Woolworths ripped me off - $150 out of my bank account with no permission! Not happy at all.

    Value for money
    4 / 10
    Policy coverage
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Claims handling
    3 / 10
    Trust
    3 / 10
    Less
    Tayla, South Australia, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • AAMI Home Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    AAMI provides excellent in price and service.

    Good customer service and excellent price.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Faduma, Victoria, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • QBE Home Cover Prestige review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    QBE are efficient and professional.

    From the time I claimed, the forms were emailed that day, after getting a report back from an electrician the amount was offered and accepted. The whole process was handled very well and professionally, I was impressed with QBE.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Claims handling
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Aldo, South Australia, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • AAMI Home Building & Contents Insurance review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Great.

    They give me all the necessary cover for my valuables at a decent rate.

    Value for money
    7 / 10
    Policy coverage
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Claims handling
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Matthew, Western Australia, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo Reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

    We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

    Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.