Home insurance customer reviews

Read the latest home and contents reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their home and content insurance to give you the inside story on everything from claims handling to customer service.

Search a review by:

Recent home insurance customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Apia Home & Contents Extra Insurance

    Overall rating   3 / 10
    PENSIONER BEWARE

    Pensioner beware. After Years with APIA, we sold our home and relocated to a smaller home. New Home was smaller and quite modern. In short , we had a smaller Home in a very new modern suburb 8Kms from a popular and large town. We insured our new Home for $200,000 less than the Home we left. Much to my shock, I found that APIA had increased our insurance payments by virtually exactly 50%. No warning, no explanation, other than some comment about postcode. This suburb, although quite large, doesn't even have a large shopping centre to cause problems. Any delusions I had about APIA having pensioners welfare at heart, took a very profound nose dive. We cancelled with them and moved to another reputable insurer for a lot less.

    Value for money
    3 / 10
    Policy coverage
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    3 / 10
    Trust
    4 / 10
    Less
    Nick, Western Australia, reviewed 7 days ago
    More Apia home insurance customer reviews
  • QBE Home Insurance

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Very good at lying, not at insuring.

    After 12 years with this company, I am only just now discovering that everything is a lie. My policy does not cover half the things we were told it would - but apparently thats okay because QBE made those changes after we had our policy so its on us to have known what they stopped covering. Call centre will tell you different things depending on who you speak to, claims officers can be rude while they drag their feet on doing their jobs. Premiums have gone up while service remains poor, all while fewer and fewer things are covered with each renewal. Incorrect information has to be corrected with every renewal, and CSOs must not know how to press save because the changes are never accurate or right when the next renewal arrives.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Nunya, Western Australia, reviewed 10 days ago
    More QBE home insurance customer reviews
  • Allianz Home Insurance

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    BEWARE! DONT INSURANCE WITH ALLIANZ(CRAWFORD&CO)

    Allianz (and their agents Crawford & Co.) beware, wouldn't recommend them at all. Been in home for 48yrs, no problems in all that time with insurance companies. Claimed in march 2021 Allianz, they jettisoned us over to Crawford & Co. After 4 months of getting the run around, stonewalling, dealing with Crawfords from Sydney, Perth, Darwin, Wollongong we are told that we aren't covered under the Product Disclosure Statement. People left Crawfords and no one took up our case, only when WE constantly tried to contact them did we get any return advice. Email was the only way we would get any reply. We had a small claim of ceiling damage due to rain water coming through the roof. Huge one off storm in Newcastle in March of 2021 caused this. They said they would paint the inside, but we would have to hire a building contractor and pay for that ourselves! to fix where the rain water may have come in from outside. It came through our air.con.vent and ran down to the low side of the house. Crawford even offered us a cash payment to get rid of us?! not sure why when they said we weren't covered. Not sure how that works, we give $500 excess and they give us a bit back to paint the ceiling?! Very dodgy. My advice DO NOT INSURE WITH ALLIANZ because they will flip it over to CRAWFORD & CO. and their job is to find any loophole they can to not accept or recommend Allianz accept your claim. We are aged 71, 72 and aged pensioners, if we could pay for a building contractor we wouldn't need insurance?!

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Jennifer, New South Wales, reviewed 10 days ago
    More Allianz home insurance customer reviews
  • Budget Direct Home Insurance

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Horrible Insurance Company

    I had been a long term customer of Budget Direct. During a storm my investment property got a leak in the roof, I made a claim. They would not cover me for the storm damage. During the claim process I found out that the property wasn't even covered by insurance because it was empty (I was painting the house and putting new carpet in it). Luckily nothing serious had happened to it, because Budget Direct would not have been there for me if it had. I would not recommend them to anyone, I would hate for someone to be in a similar position to me without realising it and have something bad happen to their property.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Jarrod, Victoria, reviewed 10 days ago
    More Budget Direct home insurance customer reviews
  • AAMI Home Building & Contents Insurance

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Bad and getting worse. Not recommended.

    Really bad and they are getting worse. Assessors try to deceive customers to save money to the company. They are dodgy and not honest. Not recommended for anyone to deal with them.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Dao, Victoria, reviewed 14 days ago
    More AAMI home insurance customer reviews
  • Budget Direct Home Insurance

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    DON'T GO THERE!

    DON'T GO THERE! WORSE INSURER EVER! No customer service, total avoidance and unable to be contacted if you make a claim. great ads but extremely poor service - took 4 months to get an answer about my claim and then only partially paid with no reasons provided. Dodgy from the initial call and then ghosted - DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY!

    Value for money
    2 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Gaye, Victoria, reviewed 17 days ago
    More Budget Direct home insurance customer reviews
  • Budget Direct Home & Contents Insurance

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Gauging on excess payments

    When l took my building and content policy over 3 years ago, l was given such poor options to reduce my premiums all having expensive excess options. Unfortunately l chose a high excess of $3000 to get my monthly payments to $206 per month as the lower excesses meant very high monthly payments back then. Move forward 3 years, Budget have adjusted their rates unbeknown to me until l tried to make a claim. They now have new rates and had l been paying an additional $15 more a month could have had my excess to $750 instead of $3000 Thanks a lot Budget for looking after your existing customers. A short email suggesting that we your loyal customers review your rates would have been appreciated. Budget want to argue that l chose it, the features and costs were different at the time, but why on earth would l opt to have a $3000 when l could have reduced it by 75% for $15 a month. The answer is poor advice or different cover features now applicable. Look after you existing customers before chasing new one!

    Value for money
    2 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    3 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Lys, Queensland, reviewed 17 days ago
    More Budget Direct home insurance customer reviews
  • Apia Home & Contents Extra Insurance

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    reliability service adequate

    Have experienced several claims over the years helped with stress related issues, they are very reliable and have my full recommendation.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Gordon, South Australia, reviewed 18 days ago
    More Apia home insurance customer reviews
  • Apia Home Insurance

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    THEY ARE THE BEST FOR ME BEING A PENSIONER

    they have the best rates and very good discounts I think they are the best for me.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Jann, Victoria, reviewed 21 days ago
    More Apia home insurance customer reviews
  • GIO Classic Extra Home

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Bad insurance companies

    The house I rent is insured with GIO.it is full of mould because GIO used a poor quality roofer years ago and I have been sick from the water inside the walls for years. Although they know about the problem and will probably fix the house, they will not provide a healthy residence for me while I wait and wait for them to fix the sickening mould problem. I have thrown out most of my furniture due to mould and now sleep in the dining room to avoid the mouldy carpet in the bedroom. GIO says they won't supply me somewhere to live because it's my landlord's policy, not mine. NRMA is my contents insurer and are not upholding my policy's offer of a healthy place to live until the house is repaired. Why are 2 big Australian insurance companies such losers?

    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Jonathan, New South Wales, reviewed 21 days ago
    More GIO home insurance customer reviews
  • Coles Home Insurance

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Do not buy Coles insurance.

    Absolutely worthless policy. After Sydney’s wettest weather event on record water entered one bedroom in our home ruining the built in wardrobe and carpet. After months of back and forth the builder they sent finally decided it was a long term problem and not covered by insurance. I don’t remember living with wet carpet and a damaged wardrobe long term but that’s what they told me was the case. Do not waste your money on Coles insurance.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Rob, New South Wales, reviewed 26 days ago
    More Coles home insurance customer reviews
  • Apia Home Insurance

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    One of the Best

    Apia is an excellent Insurance company, have several policies with them, great customer service, always willing to help, they go over your policies with you to see if there is a better option. Claims are easily made, not that we have claimed much and easy to make phone contact or visit an office. Highly recommend.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Heather, Victoria, reviewed about 1 month ago
    More Apia home insurance customer reviews
  • Allianz Home Insurance

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Don't go with Allianz

    Allianz is horrible in all aspects. I should have done more research. I make my first claim after being with them for 10 years. It took them 8 months for them to come back and say that it was the builders vault your wall collapsed we are not paying. I found another insurance company that actually now saves me $30 a month with better coverages. The customer service was lacking on all fronts. Look else where if you want a decent experience and insurance.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Michael, Queensland, reviewed about 1 month ago
    More Allianz home insurance customer reviews
  • GIO Classic Extra Home

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Gio insurance are thief's.

    This company takes your money but won't cover you when you have damage to your Roof after a storm.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Marty, Victoria, reviewed about 1 month ago
    More GIO home insurance customer reviews
  • Apia Contents Extra Insurance

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    I have only been in this house for 2.5 years

    I am a pensioner and my elderly husband has severe dementia I put a claim into Apia yesterday because our hydronic fire has developed a leak I was told that the insurance only covers the damage to the floor not the repair of the cause of the leak.

    Robyn, Victoria, reviewed about 1 month ago
    More Apia home insurance customer reviews
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo Reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

    We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

    Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.