Advertisement

Home insurance reviews

Read the latest home and contents reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their home and content insurance to give you the inside story on everything from claims handling to customer service.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent home insurance reviews

Suncorp

Suncorp Classic Extras Home Insurance Home & Contents Insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

An insurance company who actually cares.

Very friendly, helpful staff. Very fast with claim response. Amazing to deal with when we were flooded a few years back. Highly recommended.

Full review

Very friendly, helpful staff. Very fast with claim response. Amazing to deal with when we were flooded a few years back. Highly recommended.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Kylie, Queensland, reviewed 6 days ago

AAMI

AAMI Home Building Insurance Building Insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Professional, efficent and organised.

They have competitive premiums, have a lot of flexibility with choice of excess amount, are a reputable company, and have professional and efficient customer service.

Full review

They have competitive premiums, have a lot of flexibility with choice of excess amount, are a reputable company, and have professional and efficient customer service.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Lindal, Victoria, reviewed 12 days ago

Suncorp

Suncorp Home Insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Empathetic and customer focused

Amazingly friendly and understanding staff who handle your claims and enquiries. Discounts available for multiple policies. I have three house and contents policies with Suncorp and when I have had to claim it has been quick and well managed...

Full review

Amazingly friendly and understanding staff who handle your claims and enquiries. Discounts available for multiple policies. I have three house and contents policies with Suncorp and when I have had to claim it has been quick and well managed both online and with follow up calls from project managers.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Antoinette, Victoria, reviewed 20 days ago

Comminsure

Comminsure Residential Home Package Home & Contents Insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Good all round insurers

Love dealing with these people prompt and nothing is too much trouble

Full review

Love dealing with these people prompt and nothing is too much trouble

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Rena, New South Wales, reviewed 21 days ago

RAC

RAC Home & Contents Insurance Home & Contents Insurance review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Great staff to deal with. Poor PDS policies!

It’s a good sounding policy however make sure you read the PDS fine print. A lot of clauses exclude or minimises your claim by compartmentalising some categories. We were hand passed to loss assessors who hand passed us to a sub-contractor! Our...

Full review

It’s a good sounding policy however make sure you read the PDS fine print. A lot of clauses exclude or minimises your claim by compartmentalising some categories. We were hand passed to loss assessors who hand passed us to a sub-contractor! Our shed was covered under contents but only $300 is given for car parts and accessories. That’s one tyre and a rim for a 9x6 shed which is ridiculous. Trailers would only be covered if they are connected to a tow ball on car, again ridiculous. I have 2 trailers and only 1 tow ball so now one of my trailers can’t get coverage. When you pay the premiums for $100,000 coverage, you expect to get a high level of coverage however this is not the case with this insurance. Also to anyone reading please be aware if you are under insured or not!

    Value for money   6 / 10

    Policy coverage   5 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Claims handling   4 / 10

    Trust   2 / 10

Less

Bernie, Western Australia, reviewed 21 days ago

AAMI

AAMI Home Building & Contents Insurance Home & Contents Insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service.

I have found AAMI to be very competitive in pricing and coverage. Staff have been helpful and obliging. Easy to deal on the phone.

Full review

I have found AAMI to be very competitive in pricing and coverage. Staff have been helpful and obliging. Easy to deal on the phone.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Stephen, Western Australia, reviewed 26 days ago

NRMA

NRMA Home Plus Contents Insurance Contents Insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Reliable

I know they are more expensive but have been with them for 35 years and am staying.

Full review

I know they are more expensive but have been with them for 35 years and am staying.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Barb, New South Wales, reviewed 26 days ago

AAMI

AAMI Home Building & Contents Insurance Home & Contents Insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Trustworthy

Had a claim a couple of years ago when fire damaged my rental property. AAMI ensured my claim proceeded professionally and quickly with wonderful customer service.

Full review

Had a claim a couple of years ago when fire damaged my rental property. AAMI ensured my claim proceeded professionally and quickly with wonderful customer service.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   9 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Warren, Western Australia, reviewed about 1 month ago

NRMA

NRMA Home Plus Contents Insurance Contents Insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

NRMA is amazing. I wouldn't switch insurers.

Full review

NRMA is amazing. I wouldn't switch insurers.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Marilyn, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 month ago

Coles

Coles Home Contents Insurance Home Contents Insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Excellent service

Fast and great service

Full review

Fast and great service

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Amit, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 month ago

Virgin Money

Virgin Money Home Insurance review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Poor underwriting but competitive pricing

A pro is that their pricing is extremely competitive. A con is that unlike some other insurers, they don't offer discounts to your premium If you take extra safety precautions. For example installing security cameras in common areas, or having...

Full review

A pro is that their pricing is extremely competitive. A con is that unlike some other insurers, they don't offer discounts to your premium If you take extra safety precautions. For example installing security cameras in common areas, or having fire extinguishers and fire blankets will have zero impact on your Virgin money premiums.

    Value for money   6 / 10

    Policy coverage   5 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Victor, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 month ago

Allianz

Allianz Home & Contents Insurance Home & Contents Insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Yes competitive prices and good customer service.

We have used Allianz's Home and Content Insurance for many years now. Any claims we have had have been met satisfactorily and we will insure with Allianz again. The premiums are very competitive and any enquiries we have made with other insurers...

Full review

We have used Allianz's Home and Content Insurance for many years now. Any claims we have had have been met satisfactorily and we will insure with Allianz again. The premiums are very competitive and any enquiries we have made with other insurers showed this. We have just renewed our insurance for another year.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Claims handling   9 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Margaret, Victoria, reviewed 2 months ago

NRMA

NRMA Home Plus Buildings & Contents Insurance Home Buildings & Contents Insurance review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Good service but service has slipped

Calling NRMA's customer service line to resolve a claim or make a complaint is like entering a pot luck. I would rate the building company handling my claim quite poor as they are very slow.

Full review

Calling NRMA's customer service line to resolve a claim or make a complaint is like entering a pot luck. I would rate the building company handling my claim quite poor as they are very slow.

    Value for money   6 / 10

    Policy coverage   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Claims handling   2 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Ray, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago

Apia

Apia Contents Extra Insurance Contents Insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Very understanding, even on the phone

When I made a claim there was no problem what so ever and the staff on the line were very friendly. Until recently they were available 24 hours, but now it's working hours only. I don't mind this. I also have never had any problems when asking...

Full review

When I made a claim there was no problem what so ever and the staff on the line were very friendly. Until recently they were available 24 hours, but now it's working hours only. I don't mind this. I also have never had any problems when asking them to defer my payments to next week if that happens to be the week I get my pension. Everything is a breeze with them.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Peter, South Australia, reviewed 7 months ago

Apia

Apia Home & Contents Extra Insurance Home & Contents Insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

I know APIA will always have my back

It is very easy to do business and deal with APIA, although the lines can be busy sometimes. They provide the best deals for pensioners.

Full review

It is very easy to do business and deal with APIA, although the lines can be busy sometimes. They provide the best deals for pensioners.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Claims handling   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Ramona, Tasmania, reviewed 9 months ago

AAMI

AAMI Home Building & Contents Insurance Home & Contents Insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent

AAMI is a great company.

Full review

AAMI is a great company.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Brett, South Australia, reviewed 11 months ago

ANZ

ANZ Home and Contents Insurance Home and Contents Insurance review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Not that trustworthy

They changed the amount of insurance being paid to me without any notice.

Full review

They changed the amount of insurance being paid to me without any notice.

    Value for money   2 / 10

    Policy coverage   4 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Claims handling   7 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Nathan, Tasmania, reviewed 11 months ago

Apia

Apia Contents Extra Insurance Contents Insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Competitive premiums and service

They look after pensioners.

Full review

They look after pensioners.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

John, Queensland, reviewed 11 months ago

Suncorp

Suncorp Classic Extras Home Insurance Home & Contents Insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Average

They do the job.

Full review

They do the job.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   6 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Claims handling   6 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Colleen, Queensland, reviewed 11 months ago

AAMI

AAMI Home Building Insurance Building Insurance review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Simple

Simple to organise and understand.

Full review

Simple to organise and understand.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

Less

Yavanna, Western Australia, reviewed 11 months ago

Suncorp

Suncorp Classic Extras Home Insurance Home & Contents Insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

I went into their office at Beenleigh and had a very good talk to them about my policy, specifically to be renewed, and came out very happy with the outcome.

Full review

I went into their office at Beenleigh and had a very good talk to them about my policy, specifically to be renewed, and came out very happy with the outcome.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Michael, Queensland, reviewed 11 months ago

Apia

Apia Contents Extra Insurance Contents Insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Most trust worthy

Apia is a reliable company, quick with repairs or replacements.

Full review

Apia is a reliable company, quick with repairs or replacements.

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Glenda, New South Wales, reviewed 12 months ago

Vero

Vero Home Insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Stick with your provider to build loyalty.

I have been with Vero for many years. I think your service improves the longer you stay with the same company. I have made 1 claim and been happy with the service provided.

Full review

I have been with Vero for many years. I think your service improves the longer you stay with the same company. I have made 1 claim and been happy with the service provided.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Christine, Western Australia, reviewed 12 months ago

GIO

GIO Home Insurance review

Overall rating   6 / 10

High price for insurance

The pricing is too high. I’m a little disappointed as I live in a low risk area.

Full review

The pricing is too high. I’m a little disappointed as I live in a low risk area.

    Value for money   4 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Joy, New South Wales, reviewed 12 months ago

Chubb Australia

Chubb Australia Home Insurance review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Take a lot of time to pay claims

My house was burgarled in may and I'm still waiting on the claim.

Full review

My house was burgarled in may and I'm still waiting on the claim.

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Claims handling   2 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Nicola, Western Australia, reviewed about 1 year ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2019

Mozo presents the People’s Choice Awards, based on real customer reviews.

Check out the winners
Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.

 
Advertisement