Home insurance reviews

Read the latest home and contents reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their home and content insurance to give you the inside story on everything from claims handling to customer service.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent home insurance reviews

AAMI

AAMI Home Building & Contents Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent

AAMI is a great company.

Full review

AAMI is a great company.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Brett, South Australia, reviewed 8 days ago

ANZ

ANZ Home Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Not that trustworthy

They changed the amount of insurance being paid to me without any notice.

Full review

They changed the amount of insurance being paid to me without any notice.

    Value for money   2 / 10

    Policy coverage   4 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Claims handling   7 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Nathan, Tasmania, reviewed 15 days ago

Apia

Apia Contents Extra Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Competitive premiums and service

They look after pensioners.

Full review

They look after pensioners.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

John, Queensland, reviewed 19 days ago

Suncorp

Suncorp Classic Extras Home Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Average

They do the job.

Full review

They do the job.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   6 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Claims handling   6 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Colleen, Queensland, reviewed 28 days ago

AAMI

AAMI Home Building Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Simple

Simple to organise and understand.

Full review

Simple to organise and understand.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

Less

Yavanna, Western Australia, reviewed 28 days ago

Suncorp

Suncorp Classic Extras Home Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

I went into their office at Beenleigh and had a very good talk to them about my policy, specifically to be renewed, and came out very happy with the outcome.

Full review

I went into their office at Beenleigh and had a very good talk to them about my policy, specifically to be renewed, and came out very happy with the outcome.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Michael, Queensland, reviewed about 1 month ago

Apia

Apia Contents Extra Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Most trust worthy

Apia is a reliable company, quick with repairs or replacements.

Full review

Apia is a reliable company, quick with repairs or replacements.

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Glenda, New South Wales, reviewed about 2 months ago

Vero

Vero home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Stick with your provider to build loyalty.

I have been with Vero for many years. I think your service improves the longer you stay with the same company. I have made 1 claim and been happy with the service provided.

Full review

I have been with Vero for many years. I think your service improves the longer you stay with the same company. I have made 1 claim and been happy with the service provided.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Christine, Western Australia, reviewed about 2 months ago

GIO

GIO home insurance review

Overall rating   6 / 10

High price for insurance

The pricing is too high. I’m a little disappointed as I live in a low risk area.

Full review

The pricing is too high. I’m a little disappointed as I live in a low risk area.

    Value for money   4 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Joy, New South Wales, reviewed about 2 months ago

Chubb Australia

Chubb Australia home insurance review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Take a lot of time to pay claims

My house was burgarled in may and I'm still waiting on the claim.

Full review

My house was burgarled in may and I'm still waiting on the claim.

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Claims handling   2 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Nicola, Western Australia, reviewed 2 months ago

RAC

RAC Home & Contents Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Brilliant insurance services

Excellent customer service cost and claims.

Full review

Excellent customer service cost and claims.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Denise, Western Australia, reviewed 2 months ago

RACT

RACT home insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Highly recommend to all friend and family

Claims made over phone. Takes just a few minutes at the most.

Full review

Claims made over phone. Takes just a few minutes at the most.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Annette, Tasmania, reviewed 2 months ago

RACT

RACT Home & Contents Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Could be paying less. Might switch

I feel there are less expensive companies out there but have been with RACT for over fifty years and I find it difficult to look anywhere else. Maybe I should I have been told honour does not come into it with insurance companies.

Full review

I feel there are less expensive companies out there but have been with RACT for over fifty years and I find it difficult to look anywhere else. Maybe I should I have been told honour does not come into it with insurance companies.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   6 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Annette, Tasmania, reviewed 3 months ago

Virgin Money

Virgin Money Contents Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Peace of mind for little noney

Great value for my money. Gives me peace of mind knowing I'm covered by a good company.

Full review

Great value for my money. Gives me peace of mind knowing I'm covered by a good company.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Claims handling   7 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Melanie, Queensland, reviewed 3 months ago

ANZ

ANZ home insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Claims started and resolved quickly

We’ve had to make 2 claims for a related issue. Always got the claim started quickly and followed through to resolution.

Full review

We’ve had to make 2 claims for a related issue. Always got the claim started quickly and followed through to resolution.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Claims handling   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Sally, Victoria, reviewed 4 months ago

ANZ

ANZ Home Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Claims started and resolved quickly

We’ve had to make 2 claims for a related issue. Always got the claim started quickly and followed through to resolution.

Full review

We’ve had to make 2 claims for a related issue. Always got the claim started quickly and followed through to resolution.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Claims handling   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Sally, Victoria, reviewed 4 months ago

Suncorp

Suncorp home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

When needed claims are quickly attended to

Have had two house/contents claims overtime and Suncorp were effortless and quick to deal with them.

Full review

Have had two house/contents claims overtime and Suncorp were effortless and quick to deal with them.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Craig, New South Wales, reviewed 4 months ago

Suncorp

Suncorp home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

When needed claims are quickly attended to

Have had two house/contents claims overtime and Suncorp were effortless and quick to deal with them.

Full review

Have had two house/contents claims overtime and Suncorp were effortless and quick to deal with them.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Craig, Queensland, reviewed 4 months ago

RACV

RACV home insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Established, reliable insurer

Well established, reliable institution with a long history of decent service. Seem to be honest operators with a good reputation. A bit more costly than some, but are not "fly by nights". Customer service has been good.

Full review

Well established, reliable institution with a long history of decent service. Seem to be honest operators with a good reputation. A bit more costly than some, but are not "fly by nights". Customer service has been good.

    Value for money   6 / 10

    Policy coverage   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Claims handling   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Lynette, Western Australia, reviewed 4 months ago

RACV

RACV Home Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Established, reliable insurer

Well established, reliable institution with a long history of decent service. Seem to be honest operators with a good reputation. A bit more costly than some, but are not "fly by nights". Customer service has been good.

Full review

Well established, reliable institution with a long history of decent service. Seem to be honest operators with a good reputation. A bit more costly than some, but are not "fly by nights". Customer service has been good.

    Value for money   6 / 10

    Policy coverage   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Claims handling   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Lynette, Victoria, reviewed 4 months ago

Bupa

Bupa home insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Very good

I found Bupa to be really good.

Full review

I found Bupa to be really good.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Claims handling   9 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Anusha, Victoria, reviewed 6 months ago

QBE

QBE Home Cover Prestige home insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Competitive premiums and good customer service

I worked there for 10 years, so I am biased, but I think QBE is good.

Full review

I worked there for 10 years, so I am biased, but I think QBE is good.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jirra, New South Wales, reviewed 8 months ago

Coles

Coles Home Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Good customer service/sound product knowledge

Coles insurance is very competitive in price and I have told my family and friends to consider this product. However, I thought the policy covered glass breakage, but it does not. A bit disappointing.

Full review

Coles insurance is very competitive in price and I have told my family and friends to consider this product. However, I thought the policy covered glass breakage, but it does not. A bit disappointing.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   6 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Claims handling   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Leesa, Queensland, reviewed 8 months ago

RACQ

RACQ Home & Contents Insurance home insurance review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Not impressed

Had a shocking experience with a claim. Also unsatisfactory settlement, RACQ squirmed out of payment.

Full review

Had a shocking experience with a claim. Also unsatisfactory settlement, RACQ squirmed out of payment.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   5 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Claims handling   1 / 10

    Trust   1 / 10

Less

Linda, Queensland, reviewed 8 months ago

NAB

NAB NAB Home Insurance Essentials home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

NAB

The best bank.

Full review

The best bank.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Winifred, New South Wales, reviewed 8 months ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2018

Forget industry awards where the industry scratch each other’s backs. Mozo presents the People’s Choice Awards, based on real customer reviews.

Check out the winners
Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.