Home insurance reviews

Read the latest home and contents reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their home and content insurance to give you the inside story on everything from claims handling to customer service.

Search a review by:

Recent home insurance reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Budget Direct Home Insurance review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Happy with their service on the storm damage

    Happy with their service on the storm damage!

    Value for money
    6 / 10
    Policy coverage
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Claims handling
    6 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Jed, Queensland, reviewed about 17 hours ago
  • Youi Home & Contents Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    High quality insurance

    This insurer insured all contents at home and away from home which was a real bonus as I am a full time event photographer and this coverage gives me peace of mind when on the go and out and about.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Claims handling
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Daniel, Western Australia, reviewed about 17 hours ago
  • RAC Home & Contents Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Would recommend them, they're exceptional

    I love RAC insurance because they offer great loyalty incentives if you get car, home and contents etc all through them. They also give great member benefits across loads of retail outlets if you show your membership card. The best of which is petrol stations where they save you money per each litre of fuel purchased. I have never made a home and contents claim but when my car was broken into they handled the claim exceptionally and were really nice and easy to deal with.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Riley, Western Australia, reviewed about 17 hours ago
  • Elders Home Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Elders Insurance.

    I have been with Elders Insurance for now 10+ years. And to be honest they are so good to deal with and knowledgeable of their products. Would highly recommend. Direct debit monthly with no brokerage fees.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Sally, Tasmania, reviewed 2 days ago
  • RACV Home Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Very reliable, trusted and efficient insurer.

    While it is pricy I have trusted the home and contents insurance with RACV for 26 years and found the claims very smooth. I recently had a claim for damage to my building by severe storm and the process was very efficient and the communication was excellent. I was also very happy with the building contractors used. The only downside is the premium is not in the lower side but I have peace of mind so this matters more to me.

    Value for money
    7 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Katina, Victoria, reviewed 2 days ago
  • Youi Home Insurance review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Average.

    Prices are good but not reliable when I asked for documents.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Claims handling
    6 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Sandra, Victoria, reviewed 2 days ago
  • NRMA Home Plus Buildings & Contents Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Excellent Insurer!

    The reason why I enjoy having my home and contents covered by NRMA is because they are a brand name well known around Australia and to the most point always held up their end of the bargain. Furthermore an insurer you can trust and recommend to family and friends.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Claims handling
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Colin, New South Wales, reviewed 2 days ago
  • Youi Contents Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Highly recommend!

    Been with Youi for my contents insurance for over 6 years now, very affordable and a great service.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Jess, Queensland, reviewed 3 days ago
  • Australia Post Home Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Fast, friendly and professional.

    I really like Australia post in my local area. They're fast, friendly and professional. They know must of their regulars and treat them with respect. I enjoy saying hello and they always ask how you’ve been. They truly care and take pride in their work.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Suzanne, Queensland, reviewed 3 days ago
  • AAMI Home Building & Contents Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Have had great customer service

    I like the re build policy it gives us piece of mind that if anything happens we will be ok.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Lenna, Tasmania, reviewed 5 days ago
  • Coles Home Contents Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Easy to deal with

    Very competitive price and matched a quote when my renewal came up. Answered policy queries I had at renewal.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Claims handling
    9 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Craig, Victoria, reviewed 5 days ago
  • CHU Home Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Flooded property - CHU terrible

    My house was flooded in the storms in January 2020. I had water coming in through the roof into my walls, as welll as flooding the entire downstairs of my home - lounge and kitchen- grey or brown water. CHU did nothing. Literally. I sat in a mouldy rotting house until July. No driers, no inspection, nothing. Since then, despite my kitchen cabinetry collapsing, the company has refused to replace my kitchen benchtop or my oven. The benchtop swelled and the water damage is obvious. I have had to fight to prove the condition of my home prior to the flood (the previous tenant moved out in November - I had been in the place for a few weeks and it was in old but clean and tidy condition). This company has been hell to deal with. I had no electricity upstairs for a month as there was water in the walls. I was sleeping with and using a torch! They gave me 24 hours to pick floor tiles (from Bunnings - they send you a text with the code and you go look by yourself?!)- no consultation, they use only the lowest quality and literally, you need to provide a building report for everything. The other insurance I used - for contents - was fast, easy, they came the next day, installed driers and treated for mould, they ripped up my carpet, worked with me on plans and consulted well. They chose a good replacement - CHU use Bunnings and the cheapest level of quality. Don't use this company if you truly want to be insured. You will be out of pocket, no help for months, and nothing but headache. If you are going to go with them, do yourself a favour, take a photo of everything in your house. From the walls and joins, to the kitchen benchtops (above and under), every drawer, cupboard, tiles, showing condition. Do it regularly. Time stamp your photo. If you can find proof of quality of your home, keep it. They will only give you the cheapest nastiest replacements. Don't expect to be looked after, expect nothing but a headache.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Sonya, Queensland, reviewed 6 days ago
  • RAC Contents Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Excellent.

    Very easy to deal with, claims experience excellent.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Graham, Western Australia, reviewed 6 days ago
  • Budget Direct Home Buildings Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Consumer beware.

    After being with Budget Direct for 9 months I had made my first claim for storm damage. After approximately 10 phone calls over 5 weeks nothing was solved and was rejected as it was a maintenance issue and was apparently condensation. Please avoid taking out home insurance with this company as they will do anything to avoid paying you out.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Jason, Western Australia, reviewed 6 days ago
  • NRMA Home Plus Buildings & Contents Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    NRMA is old, well-established and trustworthy.

    I have been with NRMA as long as I have owned a home. (And I'm 74 now!) For me, they represent stability, good customer service, and an organisation I trust. There is very little which would entice me to go with anyone else.

    Value for money
    7 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    9 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Dianne, New South Wales, reviewed 8 days ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo Reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

    We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

    Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.