American Express logo

American Express customer reviews

Overall rating
6.6/10
Price
5.7/10
Features
6.8/10
Customer service
6.7/10
Convenience
5.8/10
Trust
7.0/10
Based on 977 American Express reviews as rated by the Mozo customers. More about the Mozo Customer Ratings.
Mozo recommends that ratings are only one factor to be taken into account when deciding whether to take up any financial product offer.
Write a review

Recent American Express customer reviews

  • American Express Explorer® Credit Card

    No happy this Amax credit card

    I just recently received the Amax card, after 30 day they asked me to pay full amount of 1,750 it’s the annual fee that I didn’t used , I pay a little bit but they suspended my account. Called the customer service but still no option to help. Dissatisfied….

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Rose, Queensland, reviewed about 1 month ago
    More American Express credit card customer reviews
  • American Express Travel Insurance

    Poor outcome with Chubb Insurance via Amex

    We have American Express Platinum travel insurance with Chubb, which we have had for many years. We have never had to use it until this year when one of our children sustained a very extensive leg fracture overseas requiring emergency treatment at home. We had quite a substantial claim and this was after many companies refunded accomodation etc. We worked extensively for 3 months from get refunds from Qantas (who made our life very difficult even though we are high tier members and we will never fly again with them) Chubb has a very convoluted way of getting around refunds vs forfeits with regards to flights, and your claim will be impacted. Ultimately we are out of pocket $4500. Don't try too hard to get refunds like we did and spent months and probably 20 hours of time on the phone chasing. Do the basics as spending many hours doing this will not benefit your claim (or time). You have no direct contact with the person doing your claim, (even though I have an email informing me that I would be assigned a case support) it is very impersonal and it takes a long time for them to respond to you.

    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Nerissa, South Australia, reviewed about 1 year ago
    More American Express travel insurance customer reviews
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews. Financial providers may, from time to time, offer incentives for reviews, regardless of the sentiment of the reviews.