Thumbnail icon for American Express

American Express Travel insurance reviews

Overall rating
8.0/10
Value for money
8.2/10
Policy coverage
5.0/10
Customer service
6.0/10
Claims handling
4.5/10
Trust
8.3/10
Based on 49 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent American Express travel insurance reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • American Express Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   4 / 10
    Would use another insurer for travel next time

    Difficult to get claim for overseas travel issues like stolen goods.

    Value for money
    5 / 10
    Policy coverage
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Claims handling
    3 / 10
    Trust
    3 / 10
    Less
    Amelia, Tasmania, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • American Express Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    It's good but there's better out there.

    I am aware of better companies out there.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Claims handling
    6 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Kristen, Queensland, reviewed almost 3 years ago
  • American Express Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Very good provider

    well done

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Less
    Joseph, New South Wales, reviewed about 3 years ago
  • American Express Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Helpful provider

    helpful when needed thanks

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Less
    Steve, New South Wales, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • American Express Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Easy online insurance activation.

    Automatic travel insurance.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Sofia, Western Australia, reviewed almost 5 years ago
  • American Express Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Great customer service so far.

    It is easy to get in touch with the friendly staff.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Sierra, Victoria, reviewed almost 5 years ago
  • American Express Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Less Than $400 per year!

    This is the best and most comprehensive insurance for me at a fraction of the cost! I used to buy travel insurance for every trip overseas - between $400-600 added to the cost of every trip for my employer. Then I discovered AMEX Annual Comprehensive travel cover and suddenly for a little under $400 per year I have better cover for every trip, no matter how many times I travel in the year! Easy online signup and automatic renewals. I've been a customer for three years now and very happy. My policy covers me for all the places I need to travel (USA & Canada, UK & Europe, Asia etc). Best insurance decision I ever made.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Sha, South Australia, reviewed almost 5 years ago
  • American Express Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Honest

    Fair price.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Mike, Victoria, reviewed almost 5 years ago
  • American Express Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Same as most in price but offered golf club cover

    Fine product.

    Value for money
    6 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Vince, New South Wales, reviewed about 5 years ago
  • American Express Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Fair customer service

    It's well branded, globally used.

    Value for money
    7 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Duc thao, New South Wales, reviewed about 5 years ago
  • American Express Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Sooooo easy to book

    When booking your world holiday and paying by american express platinum you can enjoy your trip knowing that wherever you are american express is only a phone call away with a can do attitude.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Robert, South Australia, reviewed over 5 years ago
  • American Express Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    AMEX is still #1 for benefits

    AMEX provides great service and benefits and travel insurance is but one example.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Gary, New South Wales, reviewed almost 6 years ago
  • American Express Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Good for dummies

    I found them uncomplicated and easy to use over the internet.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Margaret, Victoria, reviewed almost 6 years ago
  • American Express Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    all good

    Hope l win

    Value for money
    6 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Lrene, , reviewed almost 6 years ago
  • American Express Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Can feel safe when travelling with this insurer

    I feel confident knowing I am insured through American Express even though I have never yet made a claim and hopefully won't have to in the future.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Vicki, Western Australia, reviewed almost 6 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.