American Express logo

American Express Travel insurance customer reviews

Overall rating
7.7/10
Value for money
8.1/10
Policy coverage
4.5/10
Customer service
4.3/10
Claims handling
3.7/10
Trust
8.0/10
Based on 51 American Express travel insurance reviews as rated by the Mozo customers. More about the Mozo Customer Ratings.
Mozo recommends that ratings are only one factor to be taken into account when deciding whether to take up any financial product offer.
Write a review

Recent American Express travel insurance customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • American Express Travel Insurance

    Poor outcome with Chubb Insurance via Amex

    We have American Express Platinum travel insurance with Chubb, which we have had for many years. We have never had to use it until this year when one of our children sustained a very extensive leg fracture overseas requiring emergency treatment at home. We had quite a substantial claim and this was after many companies refunded accomodation etc. We worked extensively for 3 months from get refunds from Qantas (who made our life very difficult even though we are high tier members and we will never fly again with them) Chubb has a very convoluted way of getting around refunds vs forfeits with regards to flights, and your claim will be impacted. Ultimately we are out of pocket $4500. Don't try too hard to get refunds like we did and spent months and probably 20 hours of time on the phone chasing. Do the basics as spending many hours doing this will not benefit your claim (or time). You have no direct contact with the person doing your claim, (even though I have an email informing me that I would be assigned a case support) it is very impersonal and it takes a long time for them to respond to you.

    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Nerissa, South Australia, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • American Express Travel Insurance

    Not good

    Transport to /from injury (personal) tourist area should include pedal.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Kym, Western Australia, reviewed almost 3 years ago
  • American Express Travel Insurance

    Would use another insurer for travel next time

    Difficult to get claim for overseas travel issues like stolen goods.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Amelia, Tasmania, reviewed about 6 years ago
  • American Express Travel Insurance

    It's good but there's better out there.

    I am aware of better companies out there.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Kristen, Queensland, reviewed over 6 years ago
  • American Express Travel Insurance

    Very good provider

    well done

    Value for money
    Less
    Joseph, New South Wales, reviewed almost 7 years ago
  • American Express Travel Insurance

    Helpful provider

    helpful when needed thanks

    Value for money
    Less
    Steve, New South Wales, reviewed about 7 years ago
  • American Express Travel Insurance

    Easy online insurance activation.

    Automatic travel insurance.

    Value for money
    Trust
    Less
    Sofia, Western Australia, reviewed over 8 years ago
  • American Express Travel Insurance

    Great customer service so far.

    It is easy to get in touch with the friendly staff.

    Value for money
    Trust
    Less
    Sierra, Victoria, reviewed over 8 years ago
  • American Express Travel Insurance

    Less Than $400 per year!

    This is the best and most comprehensive insurance for me at a fraction of the cost! I used to buy travel insurance for every trip overseas - between $400-600 added to the cost of every trip for my employer. Then I discovered AMEX Annual Comprehensive travel cover and suddenly for a little under $400 per year I have better cover for every trip, no matter how many times I travel in the year! Easy online signup and automatic renewals. I've been a customer for three years now and very happy. My policy covers me for all the places I need to travel (USA & Canada, UK & Europe, Asia etc). Best insurance decision I ever made.

    Value for money
    Trust
    Less
    Sha, South Australia, reviewed over 8 years ago
  • American Express Travel Insurance

    Honest

    Fair price.

    Value for money
    Trust
    Less
    Mike, Victoria, reviewed over 8 years ago
  • American Express Travel Insurance

    Same as most in price but offered golf club cover

    Fine product.

    Value for money
    Trust
    Less
    Vince, New South Wales, reviewed almost 9 years ago
  • American Express Travel Insurance

    Fair customer service

    It's well branded, globally used.

    Value for money
    Trust
    Less
    Duc thao, New South Wales, reviewed almost 9 years ago
  • American Express Travel Insurance

    Sooooo easy to book

    When booking your world holiday and paying by american express platinum you can enjoy your trip knowing that wherever you are american express is only a phone call away with a can do attitude.

    Value for money
    Trust
    Less
    Robert, South Australia, reviewed about 9 years ago
  • American Express Travel Insurance

    AMEX is still #1 for benefits

    AMEX provides great service and benefits and travel insurance is but one example.

    Value for money
    Trust
    Less
    Gary, New South Wales, reviewed over 9 years ago
  • American Express Travel Insurance

    Good for dummies

    I found them uncomplicated and easy to use over the internet.

    Value for money
    Trust
    Less
    Margaret, Victoria, reviewed over 9 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews. Financial providers may, from time to time, offer incentives for reviews, regardless of the sentiment of the reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.