Thumbnail icon for Apia

Apia Car insurance reviews

Overall rating
8.7/10
Value for money
8.4/10
Policy coverage
8.3/10
Customer service
8.8/10
Claims handling
8.5/10
Trust
8.7/10
Based on 813 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent Apia car insurance reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Apia Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Stay away from APIA not worth it.

    APIA takes advantage of its elder clients. Just because we are old in age, that doesn’t enable them to take advantage of our mental and physical wellbeing. I have been bullied and pushed around by the APIA claims department and had my claim be delayed with ridiculous hoops to jump. I have been denied services entitled in my policy such as car hire, payment after 14 days if car is not recovered. Instead I’m being treated as if I’m a criminal for having my car stolen. I have met my obligations under my policy, they have failed to meet theirs and play delay tactics, clearly have nothing better to do than just post fictitious 5 star reviews on this site then to finalise it’s customers claims. Avoid this insurer at all costs, the discount is not worth it. You will be bullied, treated like a criminal, made to jump hoops, have your claim delayed and / or declined without proper reasoning or justification and worst yet they call you uncooperative if you challenge their position or ask questions.

    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Apia, Victoria, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Apia Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   2 / 10
    2nd bad experience with APIA

    Terrible policy. This is my 2nd bad experience. The first time, they accepted a claim on my home insurance for damage of $18,000 in a storm and then retracted and said it was due to a maintenance issue. For my car insurance claim there was no choice of repairer, no rental vehicle cover while my car was getting repaired and they want payment of the excess up front!

    Value for money
    4 / 10
    Policy coverage
    2 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Claims handling
    5 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Peter, South Australia, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Apia Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Great team offering great rates for our goods!

    I like my car insurer as they've always been straight with me and walked me through options I've not fully understood (the illness I now have gives me cognitive issues on occasion and other times I'm ok), so the ladies (usually ladies) walk me through until I get it. Those ones are a great asset for the company and that's why I'm happy to shout out for them. I thoroughly would tell my friends (and I do) about them so they too know how good Apia have been with me.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Lynne, New South Wales, reviewed 2 months ago
  • Apia Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Poor service and poor value of money.

    Getting older doesn't mean I got lobotomised to good service! Turning 50 recently, I switched my car insurance over to APIA. Looking to benefit from lower premiums, what I didn't realise was the true cost of switching. Needing to fix my vehicle after a minor accident, the service I've encountered has been nothing by a disaster. Having to leave my vehicle for days on end for inspection assessment, needing to go to multiple repairers, waiting weeks to have it fixed and having to travel +40 mins to the nearest repair who could do the work. The time and money wasted can't justifies the small cost saving. Their ad says 'I wish that I knew what I know now', too right. Don't use APIA, you pay for what you get. Going back to Coles Car insurance. They are by far a better offering.

    Value for money
    0 / 10
    Policy coverage
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Andrew, Victoria, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Apia Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Find another insurance company.

    Over an hour wait to get a claim finalised, and it's still not done. If you're that damn busy put more staff on. Worst company I've ever dealt with.

    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Phil, Victoria, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Apia Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Good premiums & excellent customer service.

    I like everything that APIA provides for us over 50s and I do not dislike anything!

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    John, Western Australia, reviewed 9 months ago
  • Apia Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Almost perfect.

    Excellent claims service with unexpected level of care and speed.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Anthony, Western Australia, reviewed 9 months ago
  • Apia Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Both competitive and fabulous customer service

    Unfortunately, I had an accident last year. The level of service from APIA sorting everything out was totally amazing.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    John, Victoria, reviewed 10 months ago
  • Apia Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Affordable prices and reliable service

    Very good insurance policy and a very good company

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Matthew, Victoria, reviewed 10 months ago
  • Apia Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Apia are excellent for pensioner insurance

    Extremely helpful but when making a claim sometimes there is a long wait to get through to the claims officer. Rates are easily arranged and monthly payments are easily set up.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Claims handling
    9 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Ramona, Tasmania, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Apia Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Competitive and thorough.

    I have been with Apia insurance for the past 7 years. Their service is absolutely amazing. If you have an accident they process your claim immediately. They even provide a hire car. While my car was being repaired, l used the hire car for 1 month with no extra charge. Try and beat that.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Claims handling
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Roslyn, Victoria, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Apia Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great rates and features

    Great service.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Andrew, Western Australia, reviewed almost 2 years ago
  • Apia Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Understanding of an older person's needs

    They were very very helpful and understanding when I first insured my car with them. I am confident that that their helpfulness will continue if I need to contact them. I have not yet had reason to lodge a claim with them.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Jan, South Australia, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • Apia Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Easy to talk to

    I have never had to make a claim, but they re happy with my policy and pricing.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Margy, New South Wales, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • Apia Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Good

    Their rates are competitive and I just have my payments automatically credited from my account, which is good.

    Value for money
    4 / 10
    Policy coverage
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    4 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Lucia, Tasmania, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.