Apia logo

Apia Car insurance customer reviews

Overall rating
8.5/10
Value for money
8.3/10
Policy coverage
8.3/10
Customer service
8.6/10
Claims handling
8.4/10
Trust
8.5/10
Based on 852 Apia car insurance reviews as rated by the Mozo customers. More about the Mozo Customer Ratings.
Mozo recommends that ratings are only one factor to be taken into account when deciding whether to take up any financial product offer.
Write a review

Recent Apia car insurance customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Apia Comprehensive Car Insurance

    THEY ARE THE BEST I HAVE EVER HAD

    THEY ARE THE BEST I HAVE EVER HAD MY CAR UNSURANCE WITH

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Jann, Victoria, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Apia Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Great Value for over 50 year old's :-)

    Customer service was a little mixed as I got onto Online Chat to enquire about different types of Car Insurance, namely Third party fire and Theft. One person cancelled my existing and replaced it with the enquiry quote and I had to get onto someone else to have it reinstated. They were still sending me the new quote details to be insured for awhile which was a little annoying but I did have and activate the Comprehensive policy again for renewal :-) Overall around $100 less for me per year for a car over 20 y.o. The best part is that I do not pay extra to pay by the month :-)

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Sue, Victoria, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Apia Comprehensive Car Insurance

    APIA car insurance is shocking

    Car ran into me (not at fault) I have a Range Rover alloy panels etc. APIA when I signed up was ‘choice of repairer’ now not. Complained to the complaints department as I went through the terms and conditions. Even the letter they sent me when this happened stating I could select my own repairer. Went to a Land Rover Specialst to check. Not that much difference in price however They send me to a chop shop and they dont care. Guess what got the car back paint is different, wheel was damaged after repair maybe mechanical car wash, door handles did not function properly, internal leather damage on door the must have removed and lent against something. What a mess

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    John, New South Wales, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Apia Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Good riddance APIA

    I have had Car insurance with APIA for many years and the price increase this year is OUTRAGEOUS. The insured amount had dropped by 10% and the premium has risen by 35% and I have never made a claim. I have now purchased comprehensive Car Insurance with Budget Direct for 38% less than the APIA quote. I tried to leave a review for Car Insurance on the APIA website but while you can read all the "positive" reviews you can't leave a review so what you are reading is very selective.

    Value for money
    Customer service
    Less
    Wayne, Victoria, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Apia Car Insurance

    Not a car insurance to recommend

    I have found dealing with Apia nothing but a nightmare. Initial contact after accident ok, once claim submitted & no claim bonus paid before they would process claim I almost found it impossible to contact & get any information. The times I got thru on ph after 40-60 mins wait each time, never got the same person. My car was assessed as not repairable I never got to speak re the assessment at all. Any email contact was automated reply and even after emailing complaints re their customer service was emailed back & advised to ring, I certainly will not recommend this so called Insurance that has supposedly won awards one would have to query the way these awards are rated Thanks

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Margaret, Victoria, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Apia Comprehensive Car Insurance

    The worst possible experience with a car insurance

    No customer service. Too long wait times on phone lines. Only automated responses to emails. Not there for customer at all

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Margaret, Victoria, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Apia Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Unethical practices - be wary

    Do not fall for the marketing spiel. These guys are unethical and will ramp up your premium by 30%+ after a years they prey on people who do not notice or are too lazy to change providers. I was told when I joined APIA they did not engage in such practices so moved 3 of my cars across. Such practices are unscrupulous and if the ACCC had any clout they would shut down operators like APIA for gaming the system.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Dean, Victoria, reviewed 10 months ago
  • Apia Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Great service Great price Australian call centre

    Great customer service, reasonably priced. Australian Call centre

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Jennifer, Victoria, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Apia Car Insurance

    Good prices and easy to negotiate online form.

    I had a question and easily got someone on the phone who could help me.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Stephanie, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Apia Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Great company but shortage of assessors.

    Their assessor is Capitol Smart, which is insurance co. owned but also does smaller repair jobs.. They are pleasant & competent repairers, but it can take up to 2 weeks for an assessment & a start on the repair. They then fitted the new door in one day & did the job perfectly.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Paul, Tasmania, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Apia Car Insurance

    Telephone waiting time unacceptable

    Apia failed to be available when required - 45 mins + waiting time on phone. Failed to properly organise car repair - no hire car organised. Requested information from client re car accident which could easily have been obtained by reg no. and name of person responsible - ie address. Client had to tel. Person for address. For a company which advertises best for elderly - fell short. Could have been worse but contact waiting time certainly NOT acceptable. I have lost confidence in service and will probably change away from Apia for current Car and House insurance.

    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Jeanette, Western Australia, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Apia Comprehensive Car Insurance

    great for me and will be great for you

    I have been with apia now 3 years, renewal is a breeze my monthly payments are very manageable and the customer service I have received is excellent.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Raymond, New South Wales, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • Apia Car Insurance

    Very disappointed at the service and the time

    I am one customer that is not happy very disappointed with the service when you ring up to make a claim or enquire about your claim you’re on the phone for 45 minutes then you get someone that doesn’t want to deal with you and just hangs up on you and you’re on the line for another 45 minutes to get through to somebody else that might do the same would not recommend them at all.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Dale, New South Wales, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • Apia Comprehensive Car Insurance

    APIA Insists Seniors go online to make a claim.

    When trying to make a claim this company has no respect for SENIORS. The claim portion of the phone is a robot which continually invites you to 'go online and make a claim....' or hold... well I held for 1 hr and 10 mins the 1st day. 50 mins the next day. Then decided to trick the robot and get a person to talk to so went with the sales round and had immediate response from a person. This person says ' ... I can only put you through the claims section...' which of course put me back to the robot loop. I did the trick again and a further immediate PERSON, who repeated the 'only put you through the claims.....' routine. I then asked to speak to her supervisor. "Oh no you cannot speak to a supervisor, only one from claims..." OMG. OK - please put me through to the complaints department, ie. complaints about the company NOT claims. She said "... I can send them an email with your details and what you want and they will email you". OMG so now I'm waiting for an email and wondering when I can get my vehicle fixed!!

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Julie, Queensland, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • Apia Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Good value

    Met my needs. Full coverage and hassle free claim.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Karen, Queensland, reviewed almost 3 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews. Financial providers may, from time to time, offer incentives for reviews, regardless of the sentiment of the reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.