Apia logo

Apia Car insurance reviews

Overall rating
Value for money
Policy coverage
Customer service
Claims handling
Trust
Based on 842 car insurance reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent Apia car insurance customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Apia Comprehensive Car Insurance

    great for me and will be great for you

    I have been with apia now 3 years, renewal is a breeze my monthly payments are very manageable and the customer service I have received is excellent.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Ray, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Apia Car Insurance

    Very disappointed at the service and the time

    I am one customer that is not happy very disappointed with the service when you ring up to make a claim or enquire about your claim you’re on the phone for 45 minutes then you get someone that doesn’t want to deal with you and just hangs up on you and you’re on the line for another 45 minutes to get through to somebody else that might do the same would not recommend them at all.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Dale, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Apia Comprehensive Car Insurance

    APIA Insists Seniors go online to make a claim.

    When trying to make a claim this company has no respect for SENIORS. The claim portion of the phone is a robot which continually invites you to 'go online and make a claim....' or hold... well I held for 1 hr and 10 mins the 1st day. 50 mins the next day. Then decided to trick the robot and get a person to talk to so went with the sales round and had immediate response from a person. This person says ' ... I can only put you through the claims section...' which of course put me back to the robot loop. I did the trick again and a further immediate PERSON, who repeated the 'only put you through the claims.....' routine. I then asked to speak to her supervisor. "Oh no you cannot speak to a supervisor, only one from claims..." OMG. OK - please put me through to the complaints department, ie. complaints about the company NOT claims. She said "... I can send them an email with your details and what you want and they will email you". OMG so now I'm waiting for an email and wondering when I can get my vehicle fixed!!

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Julie, Queensland, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Apia Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Good value

    Met my needs. Full coverage and hassle free claim.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Karen, Queensland, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Apia Comprehensive Car Insurance

    I like my insurance

    The service is so quick and efficient and the people on the phone are polite.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Gail, Western Australia, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Apia Car Insurance

    Great value for money

    I like this Apia as it saved me quite a bit of money on my recent car insurance renewal, very prompt with sending confirmation emails.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Kathy, Victoria, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Apia Comprehensive Car Insurance

    You can’t go past Apia

    We have been with Apia for some time now and last year we had a claim, within minutes from making the call, the recommended panel beater in our area was on the phone to me, all approved and ready to have the car fixed. The service was instance and we just never needed to chase them or ring or query… we are still insured with them and will continue to do so until we can’t drive anymore.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Lorraine, Victoria, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Apia Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Disappointing experience with motorbike claim

    APIA is generally a good insurance company except motorcycles, terrible experience. One lousy repairer only in Sydney. After 6 month in the repair shop, due to parts as they say, the scooter came back not working and it is not the battery. It was panels scratches only and the motor was working perfectly fine. called APIA and I still to hear from them. Very disappointing!

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Hilmi, New South Wales, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Apia Car Insurance

    Dishonest and predatory

    APIA marketing to the elderly is dishonest and predatory and needs to be dealt with the same as what the banks did to many customer's before the royal commissions findings . As their cognitive abilities decline they keep signing them up to over priced insurance contracts. I recommend that all families and carers look at the last five years of policies and see what they are being charged. It's a disgrace and damming on the insurance governing bodies federally and state wide to have this insurance company which is under written by GIO to allow this form of elder abuse to flourish at the expense of the community that cares for their ageing parents and loved ones.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    John, New South Wales, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Apia Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Bad to Deal with the Stress is no needed.

    To make a claim with Apia is the hardest thing I have ever had to do.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Paul, New South Wales, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Apia Car Insurance

    Wouldn't recommend to anyone

    I wouldn't recommend anyone to APIA, the way they deal with their claims is an absolute joke. On hold for over an hour, horribly rude staff with no intent to help what so ever.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Ashlea, Victoria, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Apia Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Great company.

    I have made 2 claims not at fault and they were very helpful and friendly. They also gave me a discount once I retired.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Dominique, Queensland, reviewed 9 months ago
  • Apia Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Terrible.

    I am in the midst of making my first claim with Apia insurance. Trying to get the claim assessed is like pulling hens teeth. The standard answer I keep getting is please ring back again on Monday morning. Please don't use Apia. They are there only to get your money.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Chas, Victoria, reviewed 9 months ago
  • Apia Car Insurance

    Apia is pathetic.

    Apia has not done anything to help me. So much for helping pensioners. My car was damaged by another driver and I was penalised. It's been six weeks and I'm still waiting. All I want is my excess back.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Spiro, New South Wales, reviewed 9 months ago
  • Apia Car Insurance

    Old-fashioned, good results.

    The one glaring deficiency with APIA is that they seem to lack innovation and attention in customer service. It's an 'old school' way of doing things, and it means that I - as the customer - feel as though the onus is on me to receive good service. They have been terrific in dealing with claims and ensured the claims process was extremely simple (after my car, whilst parked, was hit by someone). Their payment plans and options have also been useful.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Rebecca, Victoria, reviewed 9 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.