Apia logo

Apia Car insurance reviews

Overall rating
8.6/10
Value for money
8.4/10
Policy coverage
8.3/10
Customer service
8.7/10
Claims handling
8.5/10
Trust
8.6/10
Based on 829 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent Apia car insurance reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Apia Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Great company.

    I have made 2 claims not at fault and they were very helpful and friendly. They also gave me a discount once I retired.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Dominique, Queensland, reviewed 7 days ago
  • Apia Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Terrible.

    I am in the midst of making my first claim with Apia insurance. Trying to get the claim assessed is like pulling hens teeth. The standard answer I keep getting is please ring back again on Monday morning. Please don't use Apia. They are there only to get your money.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Chas, Victoria, reviewed 9 days ago
  • Apia Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Apia is pathetic.

    Apia has not done anything to help me. So much for helping pensioners. My car was damaged by another driver and I was penalised. It's been six weeks and I'm still waiting. All I want is my excess back.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Spiro, New South Wales, reviewed 14 days ago
  • Apia Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Old-fashioned, good results.

    The one glaring deficiency with APIA is that they seem to lack innovation and attention in customer service. It's an 'old school' way of doing things, and it means that I - as the customer - feel as though the onus is on me to receive good service. They have been terrific in dealing with claims and ensured the claims process was extremely simple (after my car, whilst parked, was hit by someone). Their payment plans and options have also been useful.

    Value for money
    7 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Claims handling
    7 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Rebecca, Victoria, reviewed 16 days ago
  • Apia Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Reliable and efficient.

    Reliable and efficient. I would and have recommended.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Sandra, New South Wales, reviewed 16 days ago
  • Apia Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    An excellent company to deal with. Cheap premiums.

    I transfered my comprehensive motor vehicle insurance account to APIA from another insurer approximately 10 years ago as they offered a much reduced premium for the same or better cover. I compare premiums and coverage every year and have always found them to be the best. About 6 years ago I had occasion to make a claim when my car was damaged in a shopping car park. The cost of repairs was covered without loss of no-claim bonus and no excess. The repairs were carried out in less than 1 week (but no loan car). But as there was no cost I could not complain. I highly recommend APIA Insurance, unfortunately I think they only cover pensioners or people of pensionable age.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Charles, Western Australia, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Apia Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Don't use Apia if you live outside large cities.

    On no account insure your car with Apia if you live outside a major city. Should you be unfortunate enough to lodge a claim, you will wait for weeks for resolution because they appear not to have assessors, even in larger rural cities. I will never insure with them again.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Miriam, New South Wales, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Apia Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   2 / 10
    Not compassionate for the elderly.

    Trying to help my dad make a claim has been extremely difficult. He finds it confusing having phone conversations of this nature so the first time we (dad, Apia and myself) were all very patient and got through it eventually with a clear understanding that I would continue to deal with this claim on his behalf. We scheduled a vehicle assessment within 1 week but without choice of repairer and now have to wait 2 months until it can be repaired and obviously the repair time on top of that. Tried to speak with Apia today to see if there was anything we could do, maybe look at a repairer not so busy as there are a few in our town. Unfortunately they would not speak with me and only wanted to deal with my dad even after this was previously resolved and very stressful for him. Advised this is the only way forward. Maybe so for this claim.

    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Mike, Queensland, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Apia Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    happy custemer

    best in the west will never chang

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Ann, Western Australia, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Apia Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Highly professional and personalised approach.

    As we have both been self employed for many years and still working full time, APIA provide excellent options when there are different vehicles required for our business and private use. Monthly debits makes cash flow more manageable and throughout COVID they were extremely helpful in reducing the primary vehicles premium as we were working from home and the weekly travel kilometres were drastically reduced They were incredibly helpful and only supplied useful and pertinent information rather than just delivering a generic sales pitch We have no hesitation recommending them to others.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Fiona, Victoria, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Apia Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Car Insurance.

    Apia helped with our car insurance with adjusting the payments for us, as my Husband has gone into a Nursing home for his Dementia and is no longer driving the car, but once it has some repairs done our son will have the car.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Claims handling
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Joanne, Queensland, reviewed 2 months ago
  • Apia Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    They are the best for people who are over the age

    Been with them for over 40 years hence I like everything they do and dislike none! Pros are good cover at reasonable premiums and trustworthiness at extreme highness! As for Cons I cannot think of anything hence I will say none!

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Johno, Western Australia, reviewed 2 months ago
  • Apia Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    APIA is the number one insurer.

    I have dealt with all the insurance companies, banks, brokers, assessors, etc. and I am completely happy to be insured with APIA.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Wayne, Tasmania, reviewed 2 months ago
  • Apia Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Apia is fantastica!

    Apia has continually sent me information via emails on everything they have to offer me as a customer. Their emails always feel like they are talking to me personally.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Leanne, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Apia Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Ok for the price I must say.

    The insurer provides car deals.

    Value for money
    5 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Claims handling
    2 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Zanden, South Australia, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.