Apia logo

Apia Car insurance reviews

Overall rating
Value for money
Policy coverage
Customer service
Claims handling
Trust
Based on 837 car insurance reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent Apia car insurance customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Apia Car Insurance

    Great value for money

    I like this Apia as it saved me quite a bit of money on my recent car insurance renewal, very prompt with sending confirmation emails.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Kathy, Victoria, reviewed 18 days ago
  • Apia Comprehensive Car Insurance

    You can’t go past Apia

    We have been with Apia for some time now and last year we had a claim, within minutes from making the call, the recommended panel beater in our area was on the phone to me, all approved and ready to have the car fixed. The service was instance and we just never needed to chase them or ring or query… we are still insured with them and will continue to do so until we can’t drive anymore.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Lorraine, Victoria, reviewed 26 days ago
  • Apia Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Disappointing experience with motorbike claim

    APIA is generally a good insurance company except motorcycles, terrible experience. One lousy repairer only in Sydney. After 6 month in the repair shop, due to parts as they say, the scooter came back not working and it is not the battery. It was panels scratches only and the motor was working perfectly fine. called APIA and I still to hear from them. Very disappointing!

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Hilmi, New South Wales, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Apia Car Insurance

    Dishonest and predatory

    APIA marketing to the elderly is dishonest and predatory and needs to be dealt with the same as what the banks did to many customer's before the royal commissions findings . As their cognitive abilities decline they keep signing them up to over priced insurance contracts. I recommend that all families and carers look at the last five years of policies and see what they are being charged. It's a disgrace and damming on the insurance governing bodies federally and state wide to have this insurance company which is under written by GIO to allow this form of elder abuse to flourish at the expense of the community that cares for their ageing parents and loved ones.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    John, New South Wales, reviewed 2 months ago
  • Apia Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Bad to Deal with the Stress is no needed.

    To make a claim with Apia is the hardest thing I have ever had to do.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Paul, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Apia Car Insurance

    Wouldn't recommend to anyone

    I wouldn't recommend anyone to APIA, the way they deal with their claims is an absolute joke. On hold for over an hour, horribly rude staff with no intent to help what so ever.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Ashlea, Victoria, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Apia Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Great company.

    I have made 2 claims not at fault and they were very helpful and friendly. They also gave me a discount once I retired.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Dominique, Queensland, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Apia Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Terrible.

    I am in the midst of making my first claim with Apia insurance. Trying to get the claim assessed is like pulling hens teeth. The standard answer I keep getting is please ring back again on Monday morning. Please don't use Apia. They are there only to get your money.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Chas, Victoria, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Apia Car Insurance

    Apia is pathetic.

    Apia has not done anything to help me. So much for helping pensioners. My car was damaged by another driver and I was penalised. It's been six weeks and I'm still waiting. All I want is my excess back.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Spiro, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Apia Car Insurance

    Old-fashioned, good results.

    The one glaring deficiency with APIA is that they seem to lack innovation and attention in customer service. It's an 'old school' way of doing things, and it means that I - as the customer - feel as though the onus is on me to receive good service. They have been terrific in dealing with claims and ensured the claims process was extremely simple (after my car, whilst parked, was hit by someone). Their payment plans and options have also been useful.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Rebecca, Victoria, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Apia Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Reliable and efficient.

    Reliable and efficient. I would and have recommended.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Sandra, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Apia Comprehensive Car Insurance

    An excellent company to deal with. Cheap premiums.

    I transfered my comprehensive motor vehicle insurance account to APIA from another insurer approximately 10 years ago as they offered a much reduced premium for the same or better cover. I compare premiums and coverage every year and have always found them to be the best. About 6 years ago I had occasion to make a claim when my car was damaged in a shopping car park. The cost of repairs was covered without loss of no-claim bonus and no excess. The repairs were carried out in less than 1 week (but no loan car). But as there was no cost I could not complain. I highly recommend APIA Insurance, unfortunately I think they only cover pensioners or people of pensionable age.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Charles, Western Australia, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Apia Car Insurance

    Don't use Apia if you live outside large cities.

    On no account insure your car with Apia if you live outside a major city. Should you be unfortunate enough to lodge a claim, you will wait for weeks for resolution because they appear not to have assessors, even in larger rural cities. I will never insure with them again.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Miriam, New South Wales, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Apia Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Not compassionate for the elderly.

    Trying to help my dad make a claim has been extremely difficult. He finds it confusing having phone conversations of this nature so the first time we (dad, Apia and myself) were all very patient and got through it eventually with a clear understanding that I would continue to deal with this claim on his behalf. We scheduled a vehicle assessment within 1 week but without choice of repairer and now have to wait 2 months until it can be repaired and obviously the repair time on top of that. Tried to speak with Apia today to see if there was anything we could do, maybe look at a repairer not so busy as there are a few in our town. Unfortunately they would not speak with me and only wanted to deal with my dad even after this was previously resolved and very stressful for him. Advised this is the only way forward. Maybe so for this claim.

    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Mike, Queensland, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Apia Car Insurance

    happy custemer

    best in the west will never chang

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Ann, Western Australia, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.