Aussie logo

Aussie Home loan customer reviews

Overall rating
6.7/10
Price
6.9/10
Features
6.4/10
Customer service
6.8/10
Convenience
6.7/10
Trust
6.7/10
Based on 186 Aussie home loan reviews as rated by the Mozo customers. More about the Mozo Customer Ratings.
Mozo recommends that ratings are only one factor to be taken into account when deciding whether to take up any financial product offer.
Write a review

Recent Aussie home loan customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Aussie Select Basic Variable (LVR<60%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Aussie to the rescue.

    Aussie were amazing, we had a situation where one of the brokers messed up our application and then took off, when we were a week out of exchanging contracts we discovered this. We thought we had already had everything approved. After contacting Aussie we'd discovered what had happened and they were amazing, in one week, they rushed us through and got our approval for us 20 minutes before we were exchanging contracts. It was such a stressful time and Aussie came to the rescue and my partner and I successfully purchased our first home.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Heather, New South Wales, reviewed 2 months ago
  • Aussie Select Basic Fixed (LVR<70%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Great home loan provider

    We have been with Aussie for 2 years, 1 of those years has been in a fixed rate. We have never had any issues with Aussie when we have had to call them.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Hayley, Queensland, reviewed 11 months ago
  • Aussie Select Basic Variable (LVR<60%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Crap

    What a unprofessional set up poor service. Promises then can't do lies. Took 3 weeks to even look at my documents no I loose the sale what a crap service. Mr symons would be discussed as he built a reliable home loan company. Then along comes CBA bank crap bank cant careless about the custermer.. CBA shame and guilt to you. Aussie home loans just crap.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Darren, New South Wales, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Aussie Home Loan

    Pathetic Company to deal with .. Stay away

    We had a bad experience working with Aussie brokers who doesn't have any understanding of the product that they were offering to customers, they had a long(took 3 months for refinancing) and accurate process of checking all the documents and background of the Customer taking the loan, but doesn't know or have any process to make sure that the product that is offered is as per Customer requirements or not. Last year, I had taken a Variable product from a Big 4 Bank where I was mentioned that I am being offered a Honeymoon rate of 2.29%(rate locked though it is Variable) for 2 years(attached the screenshot from Aussie agreement), with no offset and a redraw option, blindly with the trust on the broker and the documentation(between me and Aussie), I had taken this loan though there were fixed products available at 1.98 for 2 years as I was not interested to get locked. Everything was was good until RBA started raising the Cash rate, when the Cash rate Started raising, interest being charged on my loan also started increasing, When I reached out to Aussie on this, they were helpless, and as the Broker who had worked with me had left, they asked me to reach out to Bank. Aussie documents clearly say that my rate(Honeymoon) is locked for 2 years, but the bank conditions are a bit complex to understand which the agent did not understand and conveyed to me in the wrong way. As per Bank, I am being offered a discount of 1.64% for 2 years on their interest rate of 3.93% as per this my rate is mentioned as 2.29%. Now as the Cash rate is raised, my current interest rate is turned to 3.54%. From my experience working with Aussie, they don't get or provide any value addition to borrowers, they are just like postmen (with little or no knowledge) between borrowers and lenders taking a cut and don't take any responsibility when we run into any issue like that of mine. I raised this issue with AFCA hoping they could help me. So please try to avoid going with Aussie, instead, go directly with Bank if you can do research online and can shortlist, if you cannot shortlist online go with an independent broker who can always be reachable and answerable to you if you face any issue.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Less
    Santosh, New South Wales, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Aussie Home Loan

    Aussie Gawler & Ben is the way to go!

    “Helpful, concise, friendly & genuine. Ben from Aussie Gawker helped me understand the process, gave me information I needed as I needed it so I could get everything together in an orderly fashion. Ben is super friendly, knowledgeable and understands my needs. I would recommend Ben to everyone.”

    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Jane, New South Wales, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • Aussie Home Loan

    Worst mistake of my life so far!

    Worst mistake of my life so far! I had my settlement delayed 5 times due to time-sensitive forms not handed in by my broker, constant delays in communication, and him never accepting responsibility for mistakes. These delays caused me a huge debt in default interest charges, which after a long conflict resolution process they are refusing to reimburse me for. I cannot emphasise enough how bad this company is. It ruined the excitement of buying my first house and turned it into a prolonged nightmare. Don’t choose Aussie as your broker!

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Tarnai, Queensland, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • Aussie Select Basic Variable (LVR<60%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Amazing Ben from Aussie- Gawler

    I can not recommend Aussie Gawler any more highly! They were phenomenal in every aspect- completely transparent, always available to discuss any questions I had even after hours and on weekends- would literally reply to me minutes after sending a message! For what is usually a stressful process, Aussie made it seamless and the best part was he was able to get our loan approved in just 4 weeks! This allowed us to move our settlement forward and get in our new house even quicker! I couldn't believe it and I will truly recommend him time and time again for any loan needs.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Ella, South Australia, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • Aussie Select Basic Variable (LVR<60%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Always great service from our broker.

    Always great service from our broker.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Patrina, South Australia, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • Aussie Home Loan

    Dishonest and greedy

    Poor product and customer service. Dishonest brokers.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Sam, New South Wales, reviewed almost 3 years ago
  • Aussie Select Basic Variable (LVR<60%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Never again..

    All wrong!

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Ben, New South Wales, reviewed almost 3 years ago
  • Aussie Select Basic Variable (LVR<60%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Would never recommend Aussie

    I had the worst experience with An Aussie broker they needed two extensions and then came back saying you can’t service these loans. I had already spoken with a different firm and my refinance for current property and new loan for investment were all unconditionally approved within 10 days. Unfortunately the house I was buying fell through due to having to get extensions for Aussie so I am back to looking again but with finance approved. I ended up with better interest rates and far superior service. My complaints to Aussie regarding the broker fell on deaf ears they don’t like complaints. My advice is to stay away it was very obvious the broker I was dealing with has very little understanding and if you are a government working and salary sacrifice then you will be battling with people who don’t understand how this works or how reimbursement works. Just don’t go there do your due diligence because that was my mistake I didn’t when I got involved with them.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Paula, Queensland, reviewed almost 3 years ago
  • Aussie Home Loan

    Their service absolutely broke me.

    Terrible customer service. Let down after let down. Worst experience I've ever had with any company over the phone, absolutely useless.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Chris, Victoria, reviewed about 3 years ago
  • Aussie Home Loan

    Worst ever customer service.

    Broker took 3 months to do a simple refinance. Complaint resolving is so poor and biased to their own staff.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Sam, Victoria, reviewed about 3 years ago
  • Aussie Home Loan

    Please don’t make the same mistake we did.

    Please don’t make the same mistake we did. Unfortunately we called Aussie Homeloans and I spoke with a very nice seeming broker, everything I said seemed like no problem. That’s what he said from the start, looks good and not a problem. He said all our documents looked great! He seemed very confident at every step of the way. When our application was held up for weeks because Aussie Homeloans was updating their software he assured me it was all fine. Weeks passed and I became more and more nervous, every time I got in touch I was assured things were being expedited, they were advancing, they were in the final stages. The day before our finance needed to be unconditional I received a text message to say it had been declined. I asked what did we do now? Could I get more money? Could I pay off my car? The broker said there was nothing we could do, Aussie Homeloans had decided they didn’t believe we could service a loan, any loan. I tried to speak to someone at the lenders office and they simply connected me back to the broker where no questions were answered. No one cared. With 24 hours left I contacted a proper mortgage broker and he went over everything with me, explained where we went wrong and I can’t believe we wasted so much time with Aussie. We are in the incredible position of privilege that my mum and dad have been able to buy our house while we work with a broker to secure our finance for down the track. Please don’t put your own future at risk, take heed and see a professional. After I contacted the conveyancer to tell them they said it’s unfortunately a common problem with Aussie and the agent had far more colourful things to say about them. Live and learn!

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Ali, Victoria, reviewed about 3 years ago
  • Aussie Select Basic Variable (LVR<60%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Poor customer service over charging

    Only interested in you when you start out if you want to reduce you loans the fees come thick and fast. Dont reply to complaints and have poor customer service when they have your loan in place.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Brett, Tasmania, reviewed about 3 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews. Financial providers may, from time to time, offer incentives for reviews, regardless of the sentiment of the reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Unloan Variable

      interest rate
      5.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      5.90% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Basic Home Loan

      interest rate
      6.25% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      6.20% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Discounted Home Value Loan

      interest rate
      6.09% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      6.09% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Unloan Variable

      interest rate
      6.29% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      6.20% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Flex Home Loan

      interest rate
      5.99% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      6.41% p.a.

      Promoted

    WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 462 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.