Thumbnail icon for Aussie

Aussie Home loan reviews

Overall rating
7.0/10
Price
7.2/10
Features
6.6/10
Customer service
7.1/10
Convenience
6.9/10
Trust
6.9/10
Based on 164 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent Aussie home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Aussie Home Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Don't go with Aussie home loans, its that simple!

    I have been with Aussie home loans for over 5 years. First four years I was on a fixed rate for 4.59%, four years later my broker told that I am paying way more than average and asked me to fix for 3.96 with a break fix fee of over $3000 within 3 months interest rate went down significantly and average now is under 3%. A few weeks ago I went to my mortgage broker and told them this is not fair and I am getting better rates from other lender and they are also offering me $4000 cash bonus. He told me don’t go with another lender I will negotiate a fair break cost and re-fix you for 2.21%. A week later I did not hear anything so called my broker and asked, he said my break fix cost is $4089 and I agreed to that cost, and he told me he would send over the paper work on next business day. I didn’t hear for few days then I called them again and they said I would have to contact Aussie home loans customer support to fix the rate, they already negotiated everything and I just got to agree to cost. When I called the customer support they told me they will have to calculate the cost again and I can except a call with 24 - 48 hrs. After 3 days I did not get any call. I called them up on the fourth day and they told me its only $2858, I said I agree to the break cost again and break my fixed term contact but they said they wont be able to do it until midday and I can expect a call in the afternoon, until 3PM I did not get any call so I called them up and now they are telling it is $12,809. Did my break fix cost go up by $10,000 in two days? They had no answer and advised their manager will call, at around 4:30 PM the manager called and said there were errors in the calculation and my break fix cost is $12,809 and offered me a $100 gift voucher for their mistake. Mistakes three times with calculation, and I agreed three times!! and $100 is a compensation? I lost over $15,000 and Aussie home loans does not have any ethics and I would not recommended anyone to go with them. I am exploring legal options to dispute this matter. Make sure to record your conversations every time you speak to them.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    3 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Salman, New South Wales, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Aussie Select Basic Variable (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Aussie Home Loans disaster.

    We approached an Aussie Home Loans office to achieve our goal of being home owners with our first home. We provided the basic documents, like payslips, bank statements, etc to the broker as requested. He suggested our bank (which I won't mention) with a "competitive variable & fixed rate." We also have a conveyancer who we appointed. Well, weeks went past while the broker requested one by one further documentation, like a letter from one of our employers plus other documents. Several requests to extend the cooling-off period were honoured while at the same time was driving us, the conveyancer and the real estate mad. So many promises and excuses were made by the broker, but very little was happening while he told us the banks were being very particular. Time and time again, no progress was made while further extensions to the cooling-off period were requested and honoured and driving all of us mad. This went on for about four weeks. After numerous enquiries and communication between us, the broker, our conveyancer and the real estate, all we heard from the broker were further promises and excuses, but no answers. At the last minute, the broker expected us to do the impossible; lowering our credit card limit and sorting out the finances. Very sadly, late this week, after four and a bit weeks, the loan was declined. Our broker failed miserably. So much time was wasted for this result. Now, we have lost, not only our holding deposit, but also any further chances of an approved home loan application with our bank, our home which we really liked and were preparing to move into, any hope of ever achieving our goal of home ownership and my faith in the home loan industry. Thanks so much for destroying our chances and our goal. Now we are very likely to never become home owners. I would never recommend Aussie Home Loans to anyone. Better stay away from them and find someone better.

    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    C, New South Wales, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Aussie Select Standard Variable (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Easy to get a home loan via Aussie but higher rate

    It is relatively easy for a young person like me to get a home loan via Aussie however, the interest rate is a lot higher than it's competitors. Overall, I can easily track my repayments via the Commbank app which is a plus.

    Price
    3 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    4 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    4 / 10
    Less
    Lily, New South Wales, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Aussie Select Basic Variable (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Deplorable service.

    Requested Aussie Home Loan Brokerage service all to NO avail after having reached out to their Sales Support person on three occasions and was promised a follow up. The Launceston Office was of NO value and as a result have looked elsewhere with above and beyond expected results.

    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Apollo, Tasmania, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Aussie Select Basic Variable (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Very professional.

    Aussie has been fabulous to deal with both pre and post buying a home. I highly recommend them!

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Natasha, Queensland, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Aussie Select Basic Variable (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Competitive premiums.

    Aussie, made it easy and efficient. They like to update website, maybe too often. Leave the website alone :) If it works, just leave it.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Sonja, New South Wales, reviewed 9 months ago
  • Aussie Home Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Stand clear.

    We thought we would give Aussie home loans also we could get the best interest rate. Big mistake. Our loan was approved and we signed paper work 5 weeks ago and the loan still has not been finalised. After the paper work was signed 4 weeks went by and then we were asked to sign more paper work, now we are being told that another valuation will need to be done on our house because a previous one had expired. If you are thinking of going through Aussie don't just apply for the loan directly, Its easy enough to search around for the best deal.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    2 / 10
    Less
    Shane, New South Wales, reviewed 9 months ago
  • Aussie Select Basic Variable (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    The only people I trust with my biggest investment

    I have been a customer of Aussie for many years and have had three loans with them and will continue to use them. My broker is genuine and trustworthy and I would not use anyone else for financing my biggest investment.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Cheryl, Queensland, reviewed 11 months ago
  • Aussie Select Basic Variable (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Overall, Aussie is number one in our eyes.

    We have had two loans with Aussie now and have found them to be quite a reputable institution. They are easy to communicate with and very understanding if a problem arises.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Leanne, Tasmania, reviewed 11 months ago
  • Aussie Select Basic Variable (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Aussie. Don’t waste your time with anyone else.

    Paul Garnsworthy of Aussie Home Loans provides the best options for my circumstances and outstanding customer service. Paul has assisted me over many years with borrowing and refinancing through Aussie Home Loans. I continue to recommend him and still rate him 11/10.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Patricia, Victoria, reviewed 11 months ago
  • Aussie Select Standard Fixed (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Expert customer service and a great result!

    Aussie made the entire process of getting a home loan seem almost effortless. I was guided expertly at every step, and small hurdles along the way were overcome easily by following the sound advice I received. The end result was a home loan at a great rate. I whole heartedly recommend them.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Peter, Western Australia, reviewed 11 months ago
  • Aussie Select Basic Variable (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Exceptional customer service.

    Aussie were amazing from start to finish. Very smooth and easy process that helped take the guess work out of everything fir first time home buyers like us. Exceptional customer service.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Melanie, New South Wales, reviewed 12 months ago
  • Aussie review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Great customer service

    I like banking with Aussie as they are always in touch to make sure you are happy. They also look into decreasing the interest rate all the time.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Less
    Vicky, Queensland, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • Aussie Home Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Don't bother

    Would not recommend Aussie. Terrible customer service and products not as advertised. Now stuck in a home loan that is completely wrong for my circumstances, and more expensive than initially informed

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Kate, Victoria, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • Aussie review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Best Bank

    Great bank friendly service

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Less
    Sam, Queensland, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Home Loan 80

      interest rate
      2.48% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.50% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Fixed Rate Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.09% p.a.
      fixed 2 years
      comparison rate
      2.98% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Celebrate Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.34% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.34% p.a.

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan - Discount Offer

      interest rate
      2.49% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.49% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Back to Basics Special

      interest rate
      2.68% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.69% p.a.

      Promoted

    WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 537 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.