Bank of us home loan reviews

Bank of us
Bank of us's overall rating for home loans

(as rated by the Mozo community)

9.4 / 10

based on 8 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured home loan from Bank of us

Recent Bank of us home loan reviews

Bank of us

Bank of us home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent products

Awesome people at branch and great bank

Full review

Awesome people at branch and great bank

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Cheree (TAS), reviewed almost 2 years ago

Bank of us

Bank of us home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Friendly helpful staff

B&E is the best bank in Australia because of the friendly staff who go out of their way to serve you with a smile and they even know my name! Their interest rates are fabulous and they talk to you in an easy to understand manner and nothing is...

Full review

B&E is the best bank in Australia because of the friendly staff who go out of their way to serve you with a smile and they even know my name! Their interest rates are fabulous and they talk to you in an easy to understand manner and nothing is too much trouble to explain. We have been with B&E for over 40 years and would never consider changing to any other bank!

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Joanne (TAS), reviewed over 2 years ago

Bank of us

Bank of us Topline (Owner Occupier, LVR<80%) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Best interest rates & service

This bank is small enough to tailor their loans to the individual borrower. I have had bank accounts with the "big four" banks, but none could provide the individual service like B&E. I walk in the door and am greeted by my name. With Westpac and...

Full review

This bank is small enough to tailor their loans to the individual borrower. I have had bank accounts with the "big four" banks, but none could provide the individual service like B&E. I walk in the door and am greeted by my name. With Westpac and NAB, every time I enter the bank, the staff are different to the last time I visited. I am not recognised, I am just a number on a computer! If I ask for something a little different to their standard product line, no-one seems to have enough authority to approve and am told to return another day when someone else will be there. At B&E the comment was "what a great idea! We can organise that straight away". The branch manager has the authority to approve deals,without having to refer to higher authority.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Elvin (TAS), reviewed about 3 years ago

Bank of us

Bank of us home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent all round service, clear and concise

To be addressed by name and greeted with a smile makes me feel valued and appreciated. The ladies at the counter are always cheerful and helpful. Always willing to help and explain any questions. The manager is fantastic and always helpful and...

Full review

To be addressed by name and greeted with a smile makes me feel valued and appreciated. The ladies at the counter are always cheerful and helpful. Always willing to help and explain any questions. The manager is fantastic and always helpful and considerate. Online banking is great and I just love my bank.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Caroline (TAS), reviewed over 3 years ago

Bank of us

Bank of us Topline (Owner Occupier, LVR<80%) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Awesome personal service

My local branch has the best staff and nothing is too much trouble on any enquiry we have had, I would never use one of the 4 big banks again as this is the best personal service you could receive. They even follow up a few months down the track...

Full review

My local branch has the best staff and nothing is too much trouble on any enquiry we have had, I would never use one of the 4 big banks again as this is the best personal service you could receive. They even follow up a few months down the track to see if you are happy with the way things are going and if you need any further help.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Kim (TAS), reviewed over 3 years ago

Bank of us

Bank of us home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Personal, friendly service and competitive

The products are great, the people are great, but the best thing about this bank is that they make you feel like an individual, not a number on a screen. Personal friendly service and very competitive in the market.

Full review

The products are great, the people are great, but the best thing about this bank is that they make you feel like an individual, not a number on a screen. Personal friendly service and very competitive in the market.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Sharon (TAS), reviewed over 3 years ago

Bank of us

Bank of us home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Best customer service where your dollars count

B & E gives personal service. They remember your name. They even phoned me when I forgot my sun glasses on the counter. They sit you down and don't hurry you. Everything is explained. If you want someone to go the extra mile then this is the bank...

Full review

B & E gives personal service. They remember your name. They even phoned me when I forgot my sun glasses on the counter. They sit you down and don't hurry you. Everything is explained. If you want someone to go the extra mile then this is the bank for you.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Cassandra (TAS), reviewed about 4 years ago

Bank of us

Bank of us Topline (Owner Occupier, LVR<80%) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great

Friendly, helpful staff.

Full review

Friendly, helpful staff.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Phillip (TAS), reviewed about 4 years ago

Bank of us

Bank of us home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Amazing customer service with sound advice.

I like a bank where I can say I don't have a clue what I'm doing and they assist me with honesty and genuine courtesy...and I can ask the 'stupid' questions.

Full review

I like a bank where I can say I don't have a clue what I'm doing and they assist me with honesty and genuine courtesy...and I can ask the 'stupid' questions.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (TAS), reviewed over 4 years ago

Bank of us

Bank of us Topline (Owner Occupier, LVR<80%) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great customer service, no fuss loan.

Excellent customer service, and they use common sense when assessing the criteria, instead of relying on a computer program. Also, when you call them they answer right away.

Full review

Excellent customer service, and they use common sense when assessing the criteria, instead of relying on a computer program. Also, when you call them they answer right away.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Joanne (TAS), reviewed over 4 years ago

Bank of us

Bank of us home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Good rates and staff are easy to talk too

Good product have had no problems with it.

Full review

Good product have had no problems with it.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Debbie (TAS), reviewed over 4 years ago

Bank of us

Bank of us Topline (Owner Occupier, LVR<80%) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Fantasic genuine personal service

When I walk into the branch, they know my name. When I needed help sorting out my finances, it was not a problem.

Full review

When I walk into the branch, they know my name. When I needed help sorting out my finances, it was not a problem.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Michelle (TAS), reviewed almost 5 years ago

Bank of us

Bank of us home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Fantastic financial institution

B&E are a personal bank. You are known by staff, nothing is a problem for them and they do everything possible to help with your banking.

Full review

B&E are a personal bank. You are known by staff, nothing is a problem for them and they do everything possible to help with your banking.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Kirsten (TAS), reviewed about 5 years ago

Bank of us

Bank of us home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

When they know you by name, you feel at home

Because the bank only operates in Tasmania, they understood such things as a rural property can be within walking distance to town. Something that the mainland banks couldn't wrap their heads around!

Full review

Because the bank only operates in Tasmania, they understood such things as a rural property can be within walking distance to town. Something that the mainland banks couldn't wrap their heads around!

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Rachel (TAS), reviewed over 5 years ago

Bank of us

Bank of us home loan review

Overall rating   1 / 10

We got a home loan from this bank 3 years ago and have spent thousands doing up bathroom, new patio, pizza oven and out door spa when we just had it valued by the bank they said that it had only gone up by 15 thousand because of a house that sold...

Full review

We got a home loan from this bank 3 years ago and have spent thousands doing up bathroom, new patio, pizza oven and out door spa when we just had it valued by the bank they said that it had only gone up by 15 thousand because of a house that sold down the road. This house was smaller and on less land. They charged up $600.00 for this service when we asked about our block being a triple block and a 4 bedroom house they said it didn't matter.

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   1 / 10

Less

Shauna (TAS), reviewed almost 6 years ago

Bank of us

Bank of us home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

The ability to offset savings balance against the home loan to reduce interest repayments is great. Also, the support & knowledge of Branch staff is fantastic - they are always ready to answer questions & provide advice for best options.

Full review

The ability to offset savings balance against the home loan to reduce interest repayments is great. Also, the support & knowledge of Branch staff is fantastic - they are always ready to answer questions & provide advice for best options.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Fiona (TAS), reviewed over 6 years ago

Bank of us

Bank of us home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

very helpful staff

Full review

very helpful staff

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Jenny (NSW), reviewed almost 7 years ago

Bank of us

Bank of us home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great bank with low rates, convenient banking and the best personal service!

Full review

Great bank with low rates, convenient banking and the best personal service!

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Angela (TAS), reviewed almost 7 years ago

Bank of us

Bank of us home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

I have been with B&E for about 15 years and would not consider going anywhere else. It is like going to visit a friend and the service all the staff give is outstanding.

Full review

I have been with B&E for about 15 years and would not consider going anywhere else. It is like going to visit a friend and the service all the staff give is outstanding.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Caroline (TAS), reviewed almost 8 years ago

Bank of us

Bank of us home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

B&E customer Service is excellent, we love the offset accounts, discounted variable rate, and redraw facility, and the flexibility to pay more off our loan than required, to pay it off quicker.

Full review

B&E customer Service is excellent, we love the offset accounts, discounted variable rate, and redraw facility, and the flexibility to pay more off our loan than required, to pay it off quicker.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Damian (TAS), reviewed about 8 years ago

Bank of us

Bank of us home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (TAS), reviewed over 8 years ago

Bank of us

Bank of us home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

I like all aspects of the B&E bank

Full review

I like all aspects of the B&E bank

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Lee-anne (NSW), reviewed over 8 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    loans.com.au Essentials Variable 80 Homebuyer Special (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    loans.com.au Essentials Variable 80 Homebuyer Special (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • A super-low rate available to purchases and 20% minimum deposit required
    • No monthly fees, Redraw facility with no minimum
    • Split loan facility – up to five free splits with fixed rate or identical variable loan product

    interest rate

    3.54% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.56% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $520

    Go to site

    More info

    • A super-low rate available to purchases and 20% minimum deposit required
    • No monthly fees, Redraw facility with no minimum
    • Split loan facility – up to five free splits with fixed rate or identical variable loan product
    • Interest rate: 3.54% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.56% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $520
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $1,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.2

    Based on 202 loans.com.au home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    Featured product

     

    UBank UHomeLoan - Discount Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    UBank UHomeLoan - Discount Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • $0 application fee for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • No monthly fees
    • 20% minimum deposit required

    interest rate

    3.62% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.62% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 application fee for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • No monthly fees
    • 20% minimum deposit required
    • Interest rate: 3.62% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.62% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $700,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    4.8

    Based on 56 UBank home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • State Custodians Low Rate Home Loan with Offset (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    State Custodians Low Rate Home Loan with Offset (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • $0 Application Fee, Free Redraws, Extra Repayments
    • P&I or Interest Only Up to 5yrs
    • Free 100% Offset Account

    interest rate

    3.64% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.67% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $286

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 Application Fee, Free Redraws, Extra Repayments
    • P&I or Interest Only Up to 5yrs
    • Free 100% Offset Account
    • Interest rate: 3.64% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.67% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $286
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $100,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.7

    Based on 3 State Custodians home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    Newcastle Permanent Discounted Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Premium Plus Package)

    Newcastle Permanent Discounted Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Premium Plus Package)

    • 100% Offset Facility
    • $0 application fee for Personal and Car Loans
    • Additional repayments and redraws at any time

    interest rate

    3.64% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    4.03% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • 100% Offset Facility
    • $0 application fee for Personal and Car Loans
    • Additional repayments and redraws at any time
    • Interest rate: 3.64% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 4.03% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $395.00 yearly
    • Discharge fee:
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $150,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.5

    Based on 80 Newcastle Permanent home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • HSBC Discounted Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    HSBC Discounted Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • Owner occupier only
    • Available to new borrowings to HSBC of $50,000 or more
    • Your own Personal Relationship Manager

    interest rate

    3.65% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.66% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • Owner occupier only
    • Available to new borrowings to HSBC of $50,000 or more
    • Your own Personal Relationship Manager
    • Interest rate: 3.65% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.66% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 90.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $7,500,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.1

    Based on 32 HSBC home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 527 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more home loans

Look for a specific type of home loan:

*The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a home loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years, and applies only to this example. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Full comparison rate schedules are available from lenders. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

Back to top