Citi bank account reviews

Citi
Citi's overall rating for bank accounts

(as rated by the Mozo community)

6.6 / 10

based on 44 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured bank account from Citi

Recent Citi bank account reviews

Citi

Citi bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great customer service and fees.

No fees, great customer service.

Full review

No fees, great customer service.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   2 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Annabelle (VIC), reviewed over 1 year ago

Citi

Citi Plus Transaction Account bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great for overseas transactions

I use this account as my overseas transaction account. I must have saved a lot of money through this. I'm very rarely charged atm fees and they don't charge currency conversion fees. Using this card in Australia is fine too although they dont...

Full review

I use this account as my overseas transaction account. I must have saved a lot of money through this. I'm very rarely charged atm fees and they don't charge currency conversion fees. Using this card in Australia is fine too although they dont have branches in Adelaide which is a bit annoying.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Elliot (SA), reviewed over 1 year ago

Citi

Citi Plus Transaction Account bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great account, no fees and great app!

Great account with low fees, only downside is lack of branches but the app is great so I don't worry about this.

Full review

Great account with low fees, only downside is lack of branches but the app is great so I don't worry about this.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

James (SA), reviewed almost 2 years ago

Citi

Citi Plus Transaction Account bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Perfect for overseas travel!

Love it as there are no account fees and no international ATM fees!

Full review

Love it as there are no account fees and no international ATM fees!

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jenna (SA), reviewed almost 2 years ago

Citi

Citi Plus Transaction Account bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

I would surely recommend it!

I've been a Citibank client for 7 years. Their service is excellent and I'm very very happy with all the products I have with them. I would surely recommend it!

Full review

I've been a Citibank client for 7 years. Their service is excellent and I'm very very happy with all the products I have with them. I would surely recommend it!

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Angela (WA), reviewed almost 2 years ago

Citi

Citi Plus Transaction Account bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

I would recommend it to others.

Easy to use and reasonable access.

Full review

Easy to use and reasonable access.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Abdullah (VIC), reviewed about 2 years ago

Citi

Citi Plus Transaction Account bank account review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Slow application but great worldwide usage

The application is slow and getting in contact with a customer representative is often hard - the usage across the world is great though.

Full review

The application is slow and getting in contact with a customer representative is often hard - the usage across the world is great though.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Jarred (VIC), reviewed about 2 years ago

Citi

Citi Plus Transaction Account bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great for overseas travel

My partner and I both use Citibank plus account for overseas travel, thanks to no overseas ATM fees or foreign exchange fees. Customer service can vary, as the Citibank call centre is in the Philippines (easier to understand than Indian call...

Full review

My partner and I both use Citibank plus account for overseas travel, thanks to no overseas ATM fees or foreign exchange fees. Customer service can vary, as the Citibank call centre is in the Philippines (easier to understand than Indian call centre). It is strongly recommended to advise Citibank where you are travelling so they don' t shut down your card when it is used overseas. Internet banking app is ok but could be better. We had no problems using this card for purchases and cash withdrawals on a trip to Japan and Hong Kong. In some countries an ATM fee may be charged by the ATM operator, but this is not a Citibank fee. There are fee free ATMs in most countries however.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Andrew (QLD), reviewed about 2 years ago

Citi

Citi Plus Transaction Account bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Amazing customer service

Citibank has amazing customer service and has ATMs all over the world, so I don't pay fees when I travel.

Full review

Citibank has amazing customer service and has ATMs all over the world, so I don't pay fees when I travel.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Luke (TAS), reviewed about 2 years ago

Citi

Citi Plus Transaction Account bank account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great service when personal contact is not needed.

Difficult to access personally - no offices in Tasmania.

Full review

Difficult to access personally - no offices in Tasmania.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Denis (TAS), reviewed about 2 years ago

Citi

Citi Plus Transaction Account bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great product, especially for travelling overseas

No account fees or transaction fees. Citibank charges no fees at all for transactions made at International ATMs. International Money Transfers are fee free to any account anywhere in the world. Transfers to other Citibank Accounts Overseas are...

Full review

No account fees or transaction fees. Citibank charges no fees at all for transactions made at International ATMs. International Money Transfers are fee free to any account anywhere in the world. Transfers to other Citibank Accounts Overseas are Free and Instant in 25 countries. No monthly fee or minimum opening balance. Unlimited fee free transactions.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Hendy (NSW), reviewed over 2 years ago

Citi

Citi Plus Transaction Account bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Fast customer service and ATMs at every corner

I like Citibank because they're responsible with my money and I feel safe being with them. I am able to find enough ATMs whenever they're needed and I feel like its very accessible at times of need. The customer service is always fast and prompt.

Full review

I like Citibank because they're responsible with my money and I feel safe being with them. I am able to find enough ATMs whenever they're needed and I feel like its very accessible at times of need. The customer service is always fast and prompt.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Callum (NSW), reviewed over 2 years ago

Citi

Citi bank account review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Citibank =terrible

I wanted to apply for the Citibank Plus Transaction account as it has very good benefits especially for using overseas (0 foreign transaction and currency conversion fees). I researched beforehand and read a bunch of bad reviews, but chose not to...

Full review

I wanted to apply for the Citibank Plus Transaction account as it has very good benefits especially for using overseas (0 foreign transaction and currency conversion fees). I researched beforehand and read a bunch of bad reviews, but chose not to believe them and applied anyway. I was wrong. Citibank is hands down THE WORST. After applying for the account I was told everything was fine and I'd receive the card the following week. When I called to follow up I was told I needed to do a face-to face ID check, and oh, didn't you receive the email? Of course not! I did the ID check and as I needed the account opened quickly and the card to be sent to me I told them explicitly it was URGENT. After 2 days I followed up and the account had STILL not been opened. It took 2 weeks, 7 phone calls and me shouting at someone before the card was sent to me and the account was finally opened.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

S (NSW), reviewed over 2 years ago

Citi

Citi Plus Transaction Account bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great customer service and great product

They are good to deal with and their customer service is second to none.

Full review

They are good to deal with and their customer service is second to none.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

William (VIC), reviewed over 2 years ago

Citi

Citi bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Idealistically

100% reliable.

Full review

100% reliable.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   -1 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Tony (QLD), reviewed over 2 years ago

Citi

Citi bank account review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Not User Friendly

Their security is to the extreme that as a customer I cannot even view my account details. Their online navigation through their website is not very user friendly and it can get very confusing. My numerous requests to update my address is never...

Full review

Their security is to the extreme that as a customer I cannot even view my account details. Their online navigation through their website is not very user friendly and it can get very confusing. My numerous requests to update my address is never actioned. Will not recommend them to anyone!!

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Convenience   2 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Elizabeth (NSW), reviewed over 2 years ago

Citi

Citi Plus Transaction Account bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Confidence

Always there when we need them.

Full review

Always there when we need them.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Kathy (TAS), reviewed over 2 years ago

Citi

Citi Plus Transaction Account bank account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

For everyday banking.

Easy banking and pocket friendly (fees). International and reliable.

Full review

Easy banking and pocket friendly (fees). International and reliable.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Susanna (QLD), reviewed over 2 years ago

Citi

Citi Plus Transaction Account bank account review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Shambles

Worst operations and customer service in Australia. Bank cards frequently cancelled with no explanation, countless errors and omissions and no explanation or restitution. I only use this Bank due to overseas linkages with other accounts. The...

Full review

Worst operations and customer service in Australia. Bank cards frequently cancelled with no explanation, countless errors and omissions and no explanation or restitution. I only use this Bank due to overseas linkages with other accounts. The Australian operation is shambolic.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Rick (VIC), reviewed over 2 years ago

Citi

Citi Plus Transaction Account bank account review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Nothing

Unfriendly customer service!!!!!! And have a long procedure just to reset password and you have to restart the computer to reset the password, what is going on?????

Full review

Unfriendly customer service!!!!!! And have a long procedure just to reset password and you have to restart the computer to reset the password, what is going on?????

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   2 / 10

Less

Guest (VIC), reviewed over 2 years ago

Citi

Citi Plus Transaction Account bank account review

Overall rating   5 / 10

0% International Transfer Fee

It's International Transfer Zero Charge scheme is appropriate as it saves me money when transferring to my home.

Full review

It's International Transfer Zero Charge scheme is appropriate as it saves me money when transferring to my home.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Sakhr (QLD), reviewed over 2 years ago

Citi

Citi bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Very competitive

Fantastic in every way except customer service is atrocious, almost impossible to deal with.

Full review

Fantastic in every way except customer service is atrocious, almost impossible to deal with.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Elizabeth (NSW), reviewed over 2 years ago

Citi

Citi bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

The perfect bank for travellers!

Citibank has no fees on any international transactions. Perfect for anyone who travels a lot. Service I receive in Brisbane is ok. Takes a while to get served but staff are nice. Opening account and getting new cards can take a while cause...

Full review

Citibank has no fees on any international transactions. Perfect for anyone who travels a lot. Service I receive in Brisbane is ok. Takes a while to get served but staff are nice. Opening account and getting new cards can take a while cause bank based in New York.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Michelle , reviewed almost 3 years ago

Citi

Citi Plus Transaction Account bank account review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Great customer service and competitive accounts

My only problem is that if I use my account on the weekend the funds do not come off until the Monday or Tuesday which at times is confusing.

Full review

My only problem is that if I use my account on the weekend the funds do not come off until the Monday or Tuesday which at times is confusing.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Kylie (NSW), reviewed almost 3 years ago

Citi

Citi bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Why pay for everyday banking?

Excellent bank with free account. No charges for ATM. Mostly online banking.

Full review

Excellent bank with free account. No charges for ATM. Mostly online banking.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Paolo , reviewed almost 3 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Bank account comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • ING Orange Everyday

    ING Orange Everyday

    • $75 cash bonus
    • Free ATMs in Aus, when you deposit $1k per month (& from Mar 2018, 5+ card purchases in the month)
    • No everyday fees, which means more of your money is where it belongs, in your pocket

    account fee

    $0.00

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • $75 cash bonus
    • Free ATMs in Aus, when you deposit $1k per month (& from Mar 2018, 5+ card purchases in the month)
    • No everyday fees, which means more of your money is where it belongs, in your pocket
    • Atm networks: None
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Free ATM use in Australia and overseas and free international transactions when you deposit at least $1,000 from an external bank account each month, free EFTPOS withdrawals.
    Overall rating

    9.2

    Based on 206 ING bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • NAB Classic Banking Account

    NAB Classic Banking Account

    • No monthly account fees ever, with no conditions.
    • Free use at over 10,000 ATMs around Australia
    • 24/7 Mobile Banking, including Quick Balance and Tap & Pay for Android

    account fee

    $0.00

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0.01% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • No monthly account fees ever, with no conditions.
    • Free use at over 10,000 ATMs around Australia
    • 24/7 Mobile Banking, including Quick Balance and Tap & Pay for Android
    • Atm networks: NAB, rediATM
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit or
      EFTPOS
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.01% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from own-bank ATM, EFTPOS, counter withdrawals, counter deposits, phone, internet and Visa debit purchases
    Overall rating

    8.1

    Based on 1377 NAB bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • ANZ Access Advantage

    ANZ Access Advantage

    • $0 monthly account service fee if you deposit at least $2,000 a month
    • Now with Apple Pay
    • Consider if right for you. T&C’s, eligibility criteria apply

    account fee

    $5.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 monthly account service fee if you deposit at least $2,000 a month
    • Now with Apple Pay
    • Consider if right for you. T&C’s, eligibility criteria apply
    • Atm networks: ANZ
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit or
      EFTPOS
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
      Balances from $50,000: 0.01% p.a.
      Balances from $100,000: 0.02% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from own-bank ATM, EFTPOS, cheque, counter withdrawals, counter deposits, phone and internet
    Overall rating

    7.6

    Based on 1579 ANZ bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bankwest Qantas Transaction Account

    Bankwest Qantas Transaction Account

    • Earn Qantas Points on your account balance 365 days a year
    • No ATM fees at Bankwest and CommBank ATMs Australia wide
    • No monthly account fees when you deposit $2,000 each month

    account fee

    $6.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0.01% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • Earn Qantas Points on your account balance 365 days a year
    • No ATM fees at Bankwest and CommBank ATMs Australia wide
    • No monthly account fees when you deposit $2,000 each month
    • Atm networks: Bankwest, Commonwealth
    • What kind of card?: Debit Mastercard
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.01% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free domestic transactions from network ATMs, EFTPOS, cheque, counter withdrawals, phone, internet and Debit MasterCard purchases
    Overall rating

    8.2

    Based on 400 Bankwest bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bankwest Easy Transaction Account

    Bankwest Easy Transaction Account

    • Pay $0 ATM fees at over 10,000 major bank ATMs in Aus. Fees, T&Cs apply
    • No monthly account keeping fees when you deposit at least $2,000 per month
    • 24/7 access to your money via phone

    account fee

    $6.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • Pay $0 ATM fees at over 10,000 major bank ATMs in Aus. Fees, T&Cs apply
    • No monthly account keeping fees when you deposit at least $2,000 per month
    • 24/7 access to your money via phone
    • Atm networks: Bankwest, ANZ, Commonwealth, NAB, Westpac, St.George, BankSA, Bank of Melbourne
    • What kind of card?: Debit Mastercard
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited domestic transactions from network ATMs, EFTPOS, cheque and counter withdrawals
    Overall rating

    8.2

    Based on 400 Bankwest bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 113 bank accounts in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more bank accounts

Look for a specific type of bank account:

-- Choose type --
Back to top