Defence Bank bank account reviews

Defence Bank
Defence Bank's overall rating for bank accounts

(as rated by the Mozo community)

6.9 / 10

based on 8 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured bank account from Defence Bank

Recent Defence Bank bank account reviews

Defence Bank

Defence Bank Everyday Access bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Very happy customer for over 20 years

I've been a member since 1999 and will continue to be for years to come.

Full review

I've been a member since 1999 and will continue to be for years to come.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Hope (QLD), reviewed 6 months ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

The service is always spot on and very friendly

I've been with this bank for 25 years. They have always been extremely helpful in every way possible and I couldn't ask for anything bette. I'd recommend them to anyone.

Full review

I've been with this bank for 25 years. They have always been extremely helpful in every way possible and I couldn't ask for anything bette. I'd recommend them to anyone.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Karen (VIC), reviewed 7 months ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank National Access bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great deals and customer service

The staff are really friendly and honest. Online banking is very easy to understand and use.

Full review

The staff are really friendly and honest. Online banking is very easy to understand and use.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Caitlin (VIC), reviewed 9 months ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank National Access bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great customer service and very friendly staff

Because you asked about a bank not an insurer!

Full review

Because you asked about a bank not an insurer!

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   2 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Tony (NSW), reviewed over 2 years ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank National Access bank account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Competitive rates

Great service, friendly people and always competitive.

Full review

Great service, friendly people and always competitive.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Al (VIC), reviewed over 2 years ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank bank account review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Going to leave this bank very soon

They will not discuss getting rid of bank fees, they charge for each card you have each month. If you get rejected because you don't have enough money in the account they charge you $2. Toooo many fees.

Full review

They will not discuss getting rid of bank fees, they charge for each card you have each month. If you get rejected because you don't have enough money in the account they charge you $2. Toooo many fees.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Lori (QLD), reviewed over 2 years ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Defence bank has been awesome so far

Defence bank previously named defcredit is a credit union thus being so it makes it possible for their prices for the account to be cheaper and loans to be at a lower interest rate. They use redi teller ATMs and so far I have always been able to...

Full review

Defence bank previously named defcredit is a credit union thus being so it makes it possible for their prices for the account to be cheaper and loans to be at a lower interest rate. They use redi teller ATMs and so far I have always been able to get to one no matter what town that I have been in. For any defence force member, they are a great bank and they are at every military base and they are knowledgeable about all military programs that are running. I have never had a single problem with them and their staff have always been friendly.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jamie , reviewed almost 3 years ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank bank account review

Overall rating   3 / 10

No weekend support from actual bank.

The bank provides nil support on weekends &/or public holidays.

Full review

The bank provides nil support on weekends &/or public holidays.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   2 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (VIC), reviewed about 4 years ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Awesome customer service

Great bank but difficult to access if you're not a member of the Defence Force.

Full review

Great bank but difficult to access if you're not a member of the Defence Force.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (WA), reviewed about 4 years ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank National Access bank account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Good customer focused business

They understand the needs of community focused banking. There are no grey areas that the big four seem to have.

Full review

They understand the needs of community focused banking. There are no grey areas that the big four seem to have.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (QLD), reviewed about 4 years ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank National Access bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

A very good bank for this account

Great customer service and a good bank to deal with.

Full review

Great customer service and a good bank to deal with.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (ACT), reviewed about 4 years ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank National Access bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Always ready to help with any problems or queries

My bank only has two branches in Adelaide, so face to face communication is poor. But everything else is great. I had a home loan with them, and they helped me pay it off quickly.

Full review

My bank only has two branches in Adelaide, so face to face communication is poor. But everything else is great. I had a home loan with them, and they helped me pay it off quickly.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (SA), reviewed over 4 years ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank National Access bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great customer service and competitive features

I love this Bank they are not afraid to help or give you information that might better suit you! Each time I call whether it be regarding my bank account details, a question I have on certain transactions or a personal loan, they are always...

Full review

I love this Bank they are not afraid to help or give you information that might better suit you! Each time I call whether it be regarding my bank account details, a question I have on certain transactions or a personal loan, they are always willing to help. I have been with this bank since 1985. The only issue is you must be either servicing member of ADF, Reserves, Public Service or relative. Not exclusive, if offer details. They are great though and non-existent or low, low banking fees.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (VIC), reviewed over 4 years ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank National Access bank account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Convenient and excellent customer service.

The convenience of the branch to my physical work location makes this bank attractive. However, the customer service and how it meets the needs of service men and women are what makes far better than any mainstream products.

Full review

The convenience of the branch to my physical work location makes this bank attractive. However, the customer service and how it meets the needs of service men and women are what makes far better than any mainstream products.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Amanda (QLD), reviewed almost 5 years ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank National Access bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

Great customer service. Our nearest branch is 160km away but can do banking easily by email or fax. Staff at all the branches I have used are very friendly and helpful. They are geared for defence personell serving overseas but it works well...

Full review

Great customer service. Our nearest branch is 160km away but can do banking easily by email or fax. Staff at all the branches I have used are very friendly and helpful. They are geared for defence personell serving overseas but it works well for those of us who are retired and remote from a branch.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   -1 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Elizabeth (QLD), reviewed over 5 years ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Good ease of use and fantastic customer service.

The online banking easy really user friendly and access is great. Very reliable banking and friendly service. Only con I can think of is lack of branches, but with the ease of online use, it's not a major issue.

Full review

The online banking easy really user friendly and access is great. Very reliable banking and friendly service. Only con I can think of is lack of branches, but with the ease of online use, it's not a major issue.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Steve (QLD), reviewed over 5 years ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

they have always looked after our needs

Full review

they have always looked after our needs

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Karen (NSW), reviewed over 6 years ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank bank account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

the overseas charges are very high and it is difficult to often get into a branch, but very good customer service

Full review

the overseas charges are very high and it is difficult to often get into a branch, but very good customer service

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Meredith (VIC), reviewed over 6 years ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

I Like the defence credit union as they are a trusted company that has reliability in its name and values.

Full review

I Like the defence credit union as they are a trusted company that has reliability in its name and values.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   2 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Luke (VIC), reviewed about 7 years ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Defcredit has a personal touch. I can telephone or email staff by name and receive uncomplicated and perfect customer service every time. Only down fall is that their branches are located only at defence sites. Which I no longer live near one...

Full review

Defcredit has a personal touch. I can telephone or email staff by name and receive uncomplicated and perfect customer service every time. Only down fall is that their branches are located only at defence sites. Which I no longer live near one so am now paying $2 withdrawal fee's at other banks ATMs.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Rachel (NSW), reviewed about 7 years ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Defcredit is the best bank they don't charge fees for accounts in excess, they are friendly helpful and always have the right advice they are awesome!

Full review

Defcredit is the best bank they don't charge fees for accounts in excess, they are friendly helpful and always have the right advice they are awesome!

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Giselle (QLD), reviewed over 7 years ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Always friendly and helpful.

Full review

Always friendly and helpful.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Tamara (WA), reviewed over 7 years ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Good bank - nice staff.

Full review

Good bank - nice staff.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Adam (NSW), reviewed over 7 years ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank bank account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Online banking is simple and easy. The savings accounts have decent interest rates.

Full review

Online banking is simple and easy. The savings accounts have decent interest rates.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Matthew (NT), reviewed almost 8 years ago

Defence Bank

Defence Bank bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

The customer service team explain everything to you in a straight forward fashion. There are no hidden fees. The customer service team help you out with any enquiry even if it's a stupid question.

Full review

The customer service team explain everything to you in a straight forward fashion. There are no hidden fees. The customer service team help you out with any enquiry even if it's a stupid question.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Sherie (QLD), reviewed almost 8 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Bank account comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • ING Orange Everyday

    ING Orange Everyday

    • $75 cash bonus
    • Free ATMs in Aus, when you deposit $1k per month (& from Mar 2018, 5+ card purchases in the month)
    • No everyday fees, which means more of your money is where it belongs, in your pocket

    account fee

    $0.00

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • $75 cash bonus
    • Free ATMs in Aus, when you deposit $1k per month (& from Mar 2018, 5+ card purchases in the month)
    • No everyday fees, which means more of your money is where it belongs, in your pocket
    • Atm networks: None
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Free ATM use in Australia and overseas and free international transactions when you deposit at least $1,000 from an external bank account each month, free EFTPOS withdrawals.
    Overall rating

    9.2

    Based on 206 ING bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • NAB Classic Banking Account

    NAB Classic Banking Account

    • No monthly account fees ever, with no conditions.
    • Free use at over 10,000 ATMs around Australia
    • 24/7 Mobile Banking, including Quick Balance and Tap & Pay for Android

    account fee

    $0.00

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0.01% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • No monthly account fees ever, with no conditions.
    • Free use at over 10,000 ATMs around Australia
    • 24/7 Mobile Banking, including Quick Balance and Tap & Pay for Android
    • Atm networks: NAB, rediATM
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit or
      EFTPOS
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.01% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from own-bank ATM, EFTPOS, counter withdrawals, counter deposits, phone, internet and Visa debit purchases
    Overall rating

    8.1

    Based on 1377 NAB bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • ANZ Access Advantage

    ANZ Access Advantage

    • $0 monthly account service fee if you deposit at least $2,000 a month
    • Now with Apple Pay
    • Consider if right for you. T&C’s, eligibility criteria apply

    account fee

    $5.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 monthly account service fee if you deposit at least $2,000 a month
    • Now with Apple Pay
    • Consider if right for you. T&C’s, eligibility criteria apply
    • Atm networks: ANZ
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit or
      EFTPOS
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
      Balances from $50,000: 0.01% p.a.
      Balances from $100,000: 0.02% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from own-bank ATM, EFTPOS, cheque, counter withdrawals, counter deposits, phone and internet
    Overall rating

    7.6

    Based on 1579 ANZ bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bankwest Qantas Transaction Account

    Bankwest Qantas Transaction Account

    • Earn Qantas Points on your account balance 365 days a year
    • No ATM fees at Bankwest and CommBank ATMs Australia wide
    • No monthly account fees when you deposit $2,000 each month

    account fee

    $6.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0.01% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • Earn Qantas Points on your account balance 365 days a year
    • No ATM fees at Bankwest and CommBank ATMs Australia wide
    • No monthly account fees when you deposit $2,000 each month
    • Atm networks: Bankwest, Commonwealth
    • What kind of card?: Debit Mastercard
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.01% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free domestic transactions from network ATMs, EFTPOS, cheque, counter withdrawals, phone, internet and Debit MasterCard purchases
    Overall rating

    8.2

    Based on 400 Bankwest bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bankwest Easy Transaction Account

    Bankwest Easy Transaction Account

    • Pay $0 ATM fees at over 10,000 major bank ATMs in Aus. Fees, T&Cs apply
    • No monthly account keeping fees when you deposit at least $2,000 per month
    • 24/7 access to your money via phone

    account fee

    $6.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • Pay $0 ATM fees at over 10,000 major bank ATMs in Aus. Fees, T&Cs apply
    • No monthly account keeping fees when you deposit at least $2,000 per month
    • 24/7 access to your money via phone
    • Atm networks: Bankwest, ANZ, Commonwealth, NAB, Westpac, St.George, BankSA, Bank of Melbourne
    • What kind of card?: Debit Mastercard
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited domestic transactions from network ATMs, EFTPOS, cheque and counter withdrawals
    Overall rating

    8.2

    Based on 400 Bankwest bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 113 bank accounts in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more bank accounts

Look for a specific type of bank account:

-- Choose type --
Back to top