Thumbnail icon for Defence Bank

Defence Bank Home loan reviews

Overall rating
7.8/10
Price
7.6/10
Features
7.3/10
Customer service
8.5/10
Convenience
7.8/10
Trust
8.0/10
Based on 25 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent Defence Bank home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Defence Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great!

    Handy locations, great staff.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Greg, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Defence Bank Ultimate Home Loan (under $250k, Owner Occupier) (Fixed, Package) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    A bank that's highly recommended

    Great as far as a bank goes

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Vanessa, New South Wales, reviewed almost 5 years ago
  • Defence Bank Essentials Home Loan (Owner Occupier) (Fixed) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Supportive

    This bank is small, although it has connections with the NAB. Although its interest rates may be higher than some other competitors, the support you receive from staff cannot be found at any other bank.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Geralyn, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed almost 5 years ago
  • Defence Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Good customer service

    Too many fees, and not competitive compared to other lenders.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Hris, New South Wales, reviewed about 5 years ago
  • Defence Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    great customer service

    They know who you are and are extremely helpful.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Jill, Queensland, reviewed about 5 years ago
  • Defence Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   4 / 10
    Incompetent and slow

    Still in the process of applying for a DHOAS home loan. They have taken months and still no decision has been made. Only after threatening to drop the application and go to another bank has any progress been made but they are still missing their own deadlines they give me. They are useless with non-standard loans. Purchasing off a related party for less than market value with multiple sources of income, forget it. Next time, use a competent bank.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Convenience
    2 / 10
    Trust
    2 / 10
    Less
    Brian, Victoria, reviewed over 5 years ago
  • Defence Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Good location, customer service is great

    It is conveniently located close to work and home, lots of branches.

    Price
    4 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    James, Queensland, reviewed about 6 years ago
  • Defence Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Awesome service

    My husband has been a customer for a long time and has found the customer service and the product solutions to be excellent. Pro - customer service, flexibility, understands the customers needs, proactive in approach Con - have to be related somehow to defence.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Mozo community reviewer, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed over 6 years ago
  • Defence Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Good home loans, expensive day-to-day banking fees

    In their transition from Credit Union to Bank they introduced a number of fees of which I was not aware, resulting in us taking our day-to-day banking elsewhere. However, I am very happy with their homeloan service.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Mozo community reviewer, Queensland, reviewed over 6 years ago
  • Defence Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Fantastic rates with no ongoing fees or "packages"

    Defence Bank have the absolute best defence home loans (DHOAS loans). No ongoing fees, free offset account and options to fixed or variable loans. I have had the best experience with the home loan consultant in WA with everything handled professionally with no issues. Loved the service and the interest rate was competitive and they even negotiated a special rate for me. What big four would do all this. Take my advice, go to Defence Bank for your home loan!

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Mozo community reviewer, Western Australia, reviewed over 6 years ago
  • Defence Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Excellent service and a good deal

    Helpful friendly staff who maintain a high level of service after finalising a housing loan, unlike some other lenders who seem to forget you once the deal is finalised.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Richard, Queensland, reviewed about 7 years ago
  • Defence Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Appalling ethics

    I joined Defence Bank virtually the day I joined defence. I invested a considerable sum through them into Santander and used their credit card facilities as well as insurance services. I became unwell as a result defence injuries and am currently under the care of the DVA after my medical discharge. I applied for a mortgage and used my DVA pension as my income. The amount of income including my wife's income was more than adequate to service the mortgage but Defence Bank refused my loan because of the source of income. This income is probably more secure than the persons' income that rejected the loan and despite several conversations with them, they would not budge. It seems that they use their priviledged position on bases to draw you in but for god's sake. Do not get ill - they will flick you off like a bug on your uniform. Defence Bank asked me to please not slag the bank off but I feel outraged at the bank and was surprised that the manager would ask this considering the treatment I have received. Thank God for Commonwealth Bank who chose to research the nature of my income and the conditions attached to it before they decided to grant me my mortgage. It took about a week longer but they asked all the questions and asked for all the proof (which I provided) before they made an informed decision. It's not the first that I have heard about Defence Bank turn their backs on ex-members who are having a bit of a hard time so SHAME ON YOU DEFENCE BANK! I WOULD NOT USE YOU AGAIN IF MY LIFE DEPENDED ON IT!

    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Duncan, Queensland, reviewed about 7 years ago
  • Defence Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Terrific customer service with products that help.

    I have been with Defence Bank since 1982. I have had several home loans which seemed to be tailor made for our family. The staff have consistently been helpful, quick with a smile and able to meet all of our requests. I strongly doubt the larger banks could be this personable, helpful and quick to advise us of features which assist us in our quest to keep our heads above the water. I have invested all of our funds with Defence bank and feel very secure.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Brian, Queensland, reviewed about 7 years ago
  • Defence Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great service and staff

    Great rates, fantastic service, absolutely fantastic staff.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Robynn, Victoria, reviewed about 7 years ago
  • Defence Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    I would recommend DEFCREDIT to everyone

    When my husband walked out on the kids and me, the staff at DEFCREDIT have been absolutely wonderful and so helpful. They were fantastic in helping me refinance and doing most of the paperwork to help me. I would recommend DEFCREDIT to everyone, the staff are always kind and helpful. Thanks DEFCREDIT.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Robynn, Victoria, reviewed almost 8 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Home Loan 75

      interest rate
      2.78% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.80% p.a.
      upfront fees
      $520

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan - Discount Offer

      interest rate
      2.84% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.84% p.a.
      upfront fees
      $0

      Promoted
    • Variable Home Loan - Refinance

      interest rate
      2.84% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.80% p.a.
      upfront fees
      $0

      Promoted
    • Mortgage Simplifier

      interest rate
      3.03% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      3.06% p.a.
      upfront fees
      $299

      Promoted
    • Discount Fixed Rate 300k+

      interest rate
      2.79% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate*
      3.67% p.a.
      upfront fees
      $450

      Promoted

    *WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 548 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.