Defence Bank logo

Defence Bank Home loan reviews

Overall rating
Price
Features
Customer service
Convenience
Trust
Based on 28 home loan reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent Defence Bank home loan customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Defence Bank Essentials Home Loan (Owner Occupier) (Fixed)

    Great customer service.

    Great customer service and always willing to help.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Craig, Victoria, reviewed 11 months ago
  • Defence Bank Essentials Fixed Home Loan (under $250k, Owner Occupier) (Ultimate Package)

    Ultimate rip off package.

    I have banked with them for over 15 years. When I took out my third home loan with them I was not informed of several issues that were to cause me disadvantage. I was moved from my no additional fee package to the 'new' ultimate package that saw my account attract several penalty fees. I had discussed fixing my home loan and having an offset during my loan officer interview and at no time was I told by the officer that the two features were not compatible. Once the loan was approved and I attempted to set this up as it was not done on initiation. I realised the loan officer had obfuscated to get the sale knowing that the product would not provide what I believed it would. This gave me a false financial analysis of the product and caused me to accept this loan over the loan of another bank. When my 2nd loan came out of a fixed rate period I was put into the variable rate. This was a rate higher than their standard variable rate. When I questioned why my rate was higher than the variable rate that should have been applicable to my loan under their ultimate package. They nearly changed it effective the date I called and kept the incorrectly charged interest from previous periods and pretended like what they were doing was fine.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Todd, Western Australia, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Defence Bank Premier Low Rate Home Loan

    One on one contact for all home loan needs

    We speak to the same account manager every time, our emails go to the same person everytime. It is refreshing to have a single point of contact at our bank to discuss our financial affairs.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Alexander, New South Wales, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Defence Bank Home Loan

    Great!

    Handy locations, great staff.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Greg, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed almost 2 years ago
  • Defence Bank Essentials Fixed Home Loan (under $250k, Owner Occupier) (Ultimate Package)

    A bank that's highly recommended

    Great as far as a bank goes

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Vanessa, New South Wales, reviewed over 6 years ago
  • Defence Bank Essentials Home Loan (Owner Occupier) (Fixed)

    Supportive

    This bank is small, although it has connections with the NAB. Although its interest rates may be higher than some other competitors, the support you receive from staff cannot be found at any other bank.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Geralyn, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed over 6 years ago
  • Defence Bank Home Loan

    Good customer service

    Too many fees, and not competitive compared to other lenders.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Hris, New South Wales, reviewed over 6 years ago
  • Defence Bank Home Loan

    great customer service

    They know who you are and are extremely helpful.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Jill, Queensland, reviewed over 6 years ago
  • Defence Bank Home Loan

    Incompetent and slow

    Still in the process of applying for a DHOAS home loan. They have taken months and still no decision has been made. Only after threatening to drop the application and go to another bank has any progress been made but they are still missing their own deadlines they give me. They are useless with non-standard loans. Purchasing off a related party for less than market value with multiple sources of income, forget it. Next time, use a competent bank.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Brian, Victoria, reviewed almost 7 years ago
  • Defence Bank Home Loan

    Good location, customer service is great

    It is conveniently located close to work and home, lots of branches.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    James, Queensland, reviewed almost 8 years ago
  • Defence Bank Home Loan

    Awesome service

    My husband has been a customer for a long time and has found the customer service and the product solutions to be excellent. Pro - customer service, flexibility, understands the customers needs, proactive in approach Con - have to be related somehow to defence.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Mozo community reviewer, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed about 8 years ago
  • Defence Bank Home Loan

    Good home loans, expensive day-to-day banking fees

    In their transition from Credit Union to Bank they introduced a number of fees of which I was not aware, resulting in us taking our day-to-day banking elsewhere. However, I am very happy with their homeloan service.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Mozo community reviewer, Queensland, reviewed about 8 years ago
  • Defence Bank Home Loan

    Fantastic rates with no ongoing fees or "packages"

    Defence Bank have the absolute best defence home loans (DHOAS loans). No ongoing fees, free offset account and options to fixed or variable loans. I have had the best experience with the home loan consultant in WA with everything handled professionally with no issues. Loved the service and the interest rate was competitive and they even negotiated a special rate for me. What big four would do all this. Take my advice, go to Defence Bank for your home loan!

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Mozo community reviewer, Western Australia, reviewed about 8 years ago
  • Defence Bank Home Loan

    Excellent service and a good deal

    Helpful friendly staff who maintain a high level of service after finalising a housing loan, unlike some other lenders who seem to forget you once the deal is finalised.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Richard, Queensland, reviewed over 8 years ago
  • Defence Bank Home Loan

    Appalling ethics

    I joined Defence Bank virtually the day I joined defence. I invested a considerable sum through them into Santander and used their credit card facilities as well as insurance services. I became unwell as a result defence injuries and am currently under the care of the DVA after my medical discharge. I applied for a mortgage and used my DVA pension as my income. The amount of income including my wife's income was more than adequate to service the mortgage but Defence Bank refused my loan because of the source of income. This income is probably more secure than the persons' income that rejected the loan and despite several conversations with them, they would not budge. It seems that they use their priviledged position on bases to draw you in but for god's sake. Do not get ill - they will flick you off like a bug on your uniform. Defence Bank asked me to please not slag the bank off but I feel outraged at the bank and was surprised that the manager would ask this considering the treatment I have received. Thank God for Commonwealth Bank who chose to research the nature of my income and the conditions attached to it before they decided to grant me my mortgage. It took about a week longer but they asked all the questions and asked for all the proof (which I provided) before they made an informed decision. It's not the first that I have heard about Defence Bank turn their backs on ex-members who are having a bit of a hard time so SHAME ON YOU DEFENCE BANK! I WOULD NOT USE YOU AGAIN IF MY LIFE DEPENDED ON IT!

    Trust
    Less
    Duncan, Queensland, reviewed over 8 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Booster Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.85% p.a.variable for 24 months and then 2.25% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.21% p.a.

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan

      interest rate
      1.85% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      2.24% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Celebrate Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      1.99% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      1.99% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Basic Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.09% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      2.32% p.a.

      Promoted

    WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 503 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.