Gateway Bank home loan reviews

Gateway Bank
Gateway Bank's overall rating for home loans

(as rated by the Mozo community)

8.9 / 10

based on 22 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured home loan from Gateway Bank

Recent Gateway Bank home loan reviews

Gateway Bank

Gateway Bank Fixed Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) Home Loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Good value and personalised service

The credit union ('CU') had very competitive pricing at the time, a simple easy to use web site and very helpful staff on their phone help line. The CU also has really interesting news letters that make customers feel a little less like a number /...

Full review

The credit union ('CU') had very competitive pricing at the time, a simple easy to use web site and very helpful staff on their phone help line. The CU also has really interesting news letters that make customers feel a little less like a number / statistic. On the negative side I am a little concerned about their credit rating and would not take out a variable rate home loan with them.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

B, Queensland, reviewed over 3 years ago

Gateway Bank

Gateway Bank Variable Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier) Home Loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service t

Gateway credit union, Yellow brick road, have been awesome. Would not hesitate to recommend to family and friends. No hidden costs, do not have the fees associated with lots of big banks. Very friendly, always helpful.

Full review

Gateway credit union, Yellow brick road, have been awesome. Would not hesitate to recommend to family and friends. No hidden costs, do not have the fees associated with lots of big banks. Very friendly, always helpful.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Robyn, Victoria, reviewed over 3 years ago

Gateway Bank

Gateway Bank Home Loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

A credit union worth leaving your bank for

Such friendly service, and I always speak to the same person. Everything has been explained to me properly and I understood the process. They also have low fees - much better than the banks.

Full review

Such friendly service, and I always speak to the same person. Everything has been explained to me properly and I understood the process. They also have low fees - much better than the banks.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Scarlet, New South Wales, reviewed almost 4 years ago

Gateway Bank

Gateway Bank Home Loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

great rates and options

Have been difficult with refinancing

Full review

Have been difficult with refinancing

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Tammy french, , reviewed over 4 years ago

Gateway Bank

Gateway Bank Home Loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent credit union

Gateway really works with you to help you pick a product suited to you, helps you in times of hardship and also are very conservative lenders - they won't let you borrow more than you can repay! They are also competitive on interest rates :)...

Full review

Gateway really works with you to help you pick a product suited to you, helps you in times of hardship and also are very conservative lenders - they won't let you borrow more than you can repay! They are also competitive on interest rates :) Their service is fantastic and I have never had a problem with any of their staff in 4 years! Excellent.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Daniela, Victoria, reviewed over 4 years ago

Gateway Bank

Gateway Bank Variable Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier) Home Loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Competitive interest rates

Competitive rates with excellent offset facility.

Full review

Competitive rates with excellent offset facility.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jeannette, New South Wales, reviewed over 4 years ago

Gateway Bank

Gateway Bank Low Rate Essentials Home Loan (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier) Home Loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Low interest rate and great customer service

They have a low interest rate. It does not cost anything to revert to a fixed interest rate. They have great customer service. They're not big and arrogant.

Full review

They have a low interest rate. It does not cost anything to revert to a fixed interest rate. They have great customer service. They're not big and arrogant.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Michael, Victoria, reviewed about 5 years ago

Gateway Bank

Gateway Bank Variable Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier) Home Loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Fantastic products and competitive

I have been a member for 30 years. I have had loans and line of credits with them over the time. They have always processed my applications quickly. They always communicate where the process is up to. The interest rates are competitive and when...

Full review

I have been a member for 30 years. I have had loans and line of credits with them over the time. They have always processed my applications quickly. They always communicate where the process is up to. The interest rates are competitive and when there is a cut in rates they generally pass it on the customers. I would recommend, and have done, to my family and friends. Banking is easy on the net. Very friendly staff.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Cathy, New South Wales, reviewed over 5 years ago

Gateway Bank

Gateway Bank Fixed Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) Home Loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

COMPETITIVE RATES AND EXCELLENT CUSTOMER SERVICE

Information about their products can be viewed online. Whenever I have phoned the Gateway CU, there is no waiting time. Australian staff deal with all enquiries. Their customer service is excellent - they offer practical suggestions and solutions...

Full review

Information about their products can be viewed online. Whenever I have phoned the Gateway CU, there is no waiting time. Australian staff deal with all enquiries. Their customer service is excellent - they offer practical suggestions and solutions to my queries. Their mortgage and other interest rates are competitive. I have recommended Gateway CU to my family and friends without any hesitation.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Name not supplied, New South Wales, reviewed almost 6 years ago

Gateway Bank

Gateway Bank Fixed Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) Home Loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Easy to work with, great service

I like that they gave us a chance when no other bank would. It's nice to know that the younger generation are still appreciated for our hard work and ability to want to make a life for our family.

Full review

I like that they gave us a chance when no other bank would. It's nice to know that the younger generation are still appreciated for our hard work and ability to want to make a life for our family.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Name not supplied, New South Wales, reviewed almost 6 years ago

Gateway Bank

Gateway Bank Home Loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great rates, terrible physical locations

Excellent rate and online facilities. Can only access a physical location in Sydney though, and can't call on weekends, which is a major downside. They don't offer a credit card either, which can make it difficult to pay exactly what I owe exactly...

Full review

Excellent rate and online facilities. Can only access a physical location in Sydney though, and can't call on weekends, which is a major downside. They don't offer a credit card either, which can make it difficult to pay exactly what I owe exactly when I need to pay it.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Mitch, New South Wales, reviewed about 6 years ago

Gateway Bank

Gateway Bank Home Loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great service at great price

They are there when I need them and don't harrass me with crap.

Full review

They are there when I need them and don't harrass me with crap.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Bronwyn, New South Wales, reviewed over 6 years ago

Gateway Bank

Gateway Bank Home Loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

They are nothing like the BIG banks, when rates move they don't dilly dally the just move them up or down accordingly.

Full review

They are nothing like the BIG banks, when rates move they don't dilly dally the just move them up or down accordingly.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jovan, New South Wales, reviewed over 7 years ago

Gateway Bank

Gateway Bank Home Loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

100% offset account, easy telephone access, no ongoing fees, friendly helpful staff, competitive interest rates with easy to read statements.

Full review

100% offset account, easy telephone access, no ongoing fees, friendly helpful staff, competitive interest rates with easy to read statements.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Lisa, Victoria, reviewed almost 8 years ago

Gateway Bank

Gateway Bank Home Loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Love the fact that I am supporting a credit union and not making the big banks get bigger. Products are excellent with competitive interest rates. Only con is the lack of branches available in the country but with online banking you just need to...

Full review

Love the fact that I am supporting a credit union and not making the big banks get bigger. Products are excellent with competitive interest rates. Only con is the lack of branches available in the country but with online banking you just need to plan ahead!

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Leonie, Victoria, reviewed about 8 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • loans.com.au Smart Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    loans.com.au Smart Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • For purchase and refinance, min 20% deposit
    • No application or ongoing fees
    • Unlimited redraws and additional repayments

    interest rate

    3.28% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.30% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $520

    Go to site

    More info

    • For purchase and refinance, min 20% deposit
    • No application or ongoing fees
    • Unlimited redraws and additional repayments
    • Interest rate: 3.28% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.30% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $520
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $1,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.2

    Based on 636 loans.com.au home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2019

    UBank UHomeLoan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (1 Yr Fixed)

    UBank UHomeLoan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (1 Yr Fixed)

    • Fast, easy apply
    • No ongoing fees
    • Repayments will not change during fixed period

    interest rate

    2.99% p.a.
    fixed 1 year

    comparison rate*

    4.09% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $395

    Go to site

    More info

    • Fast, easy apply
    • No ongoing fees
    • Repayments will not change during fixed period
    • Interest rate: 2.99% p.a.
      fixed 1 year
    • Comparison rate*: 4.09% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $395
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free up to $20,000 p.a.
    • Redraw facility: no
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $100,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Fixed
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    5.2

    Based on 111 UBank home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bank of Queensland Discount Fixed Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Bank of Queensland Discount Fixed Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • Borrow with as little as 5% deposit (owner occupiers)
    • Ability to make extra repayments
    • 1-5 year fixed term rates

    interest rate

    3.39% p.a.
    fixed 3 years

    comparison rate*

    4.41% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $450

    Go to site

    More info

    • Borrow with as little as 5% deposit (owner occupiers)
    • Ability to make extra repayments
    • 1-5 year fixed term rates
    • Interest rate: 3.39% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
    • Comparison rate*: 4.41% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $450
    • Ongoing fees: $10.00 monthly
    • Discharge fee: $320.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free up to $5,000 p.a
    • Redraw facility: no
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $150,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Fixed
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.6

    Based on 510 Bank of Queensland home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Featured product

     

    Athena Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Athena Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • No application fees
    • No monthly fees
    • No annual fees

    interest rate

    3.34% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.30% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • No application fees
    • No monthly fees
    • No annual fees
    • Interest rate: 3.34% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.30% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $100,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2019

    HSBC Discounted Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    HSBC Discounted Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • Owner occupier only
    • Available on new borrowings from $50,000
    • Your own Personal Relationship Manager

    interest rate

    3.47% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.48% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $150

    Go to site

    More info

    • Owner occupier only
    • Available on new borrowings from $50,000
    • Your own Personal Relationship Manager
    • Interest rate: 3.47% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.48% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $150
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free online
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 90.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $7,500,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.0

    Based on 109 HSBC home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

*WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

Want more? Compare all 533 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more home loans

Look for a specific type of home loan:

*WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

Back to top