Thumbnail icon for Gateway Bank

Gateway Bank Home loan reviews

Overall rating
8.9/10
Price
9.0/10
Features
8.4/10
Customer service
8.8/10
Convenience
7.5/10
Trust
9.1/10
Based on 22 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent Gateway Bank home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Gateway Bank Fixed Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Good value and personalised service

    The credit union ('CU') had very competitive pricing at the time, a simple easy to use web site and very helpful staff on their phone help line. The CU also has really interesting news letters that make customers feel a little less like a number / statistic. On the negative side I am a little concerned about their credit rating and would not take out a variable rate home loan with them.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    4 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    B, Queensland, reviewed about 4 years ago
  • Gateway Bank Variable Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Great customer service t

    Gateway credit union, Yellow brick road, have been awesome. Would not hesitate to recommend to family and friends. No hidden costs, do not have the fees associated with lots of big banks. Very friendly, always helpful.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Robyn, Victoria, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • Gateway Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    A credit union worth leaving your bank for

    Such friendly service, and I always speak to the same person. Everything has been explained to me properly and I understood the process. They also have low fees - much better than the banks.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Scarlet, New South Wales, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • Gateway Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    great rates and options

    Have been difficult with refinancing

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Tammy french, , reviewed about 5 years ago
  • Gateway Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Excellent credit union

    Gateway really works with you to help you pick a product suited to you, helps you in times of hardship and also are very conservative lenders - they won't let you borrow more than you can repay! They are also competitive on interest rates :) Their service is fantastic and I have never had a problem with any of their staff in 4 years! Excellent.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Daniela, Victoria, reviewed about 5 years ago
  • Gateway Bank Variable Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Competitive interest rates

    Competitive rates with excellent offset facility.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Jeannette, New South Wales, reviewed about 5 years ago
  • Gateway Bank Low Rate Essentials Home Loan (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier, Special 500k+) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Low interest rate and great customer service

    They have a low interest rate. It does not cost anything to revert to a fixed interest rate. They have great customer service. They're not big and arrogant.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Michael, Victoria, reviewed almost 6 years ago
  • Gateway Bank Variable Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Fantastic products and competitive

    I have been a member for 30 years. I have had loans and line of credits with them over the time. They have always processed my applications quickly. They always communicate where the process is up to. The interest rates are competitive and when there is a cut in rates they generally pass it on the customers. I would recommend, and have done, to my family and friends. Banking is easy on the net. Very friendly staff.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Cathy, New South Wales, reviewed about 6 years ago
  • Gateway Bank Fixed Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    COMPETITIVE RATES AND EXCELLENT CUSTOMER SERVICE

    Information about their products can be viewed online. Whenever I have phoned the Gateway CU, there is no waiting time. Australian staff deal with all enquiries. Their customer service is excellent - they offer practical suggestions and solutions to my queries. Their mortgage and other interest rates are competitive. I have recommended Gateway CU to my family and friends without any hesitation.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Mozo community reviewer, New South Wales, reviewed over 6 years ago
  • Gateway Bank Fixed Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Easy to work with, great service

    I like that they gave us a chance when no other bank would. It's nice to know that the younger generation are still appreciated for our hard work and ability to want to make a life for our family.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Mozo community reviewer, New South Wales, reviewed over 6 years ago
  • Gateway Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Great rates, terrible physical locations

    Excellent rate and online facilities. Can only access a physical location in Sydney though, and can't call on weekends, which is a major downside. They don't offer a credit card either, which can make it difficult to pay exactly what I owe exactly when I need to pay it.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Mitch, New South Wales, reviewed almost 7 years ago
  • Gateway Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great service at great price

    They are there when I need them and don't harrass me with crap.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Bronwyn, New South Wales, reviewed about 7 years ago
  • Gateway Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   9 / 10

    They are nothing like the BIG banks, when rates move they don't dilly dally the just move them up or down accordingly.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Jovan, New South Wales, reviewed about 8 years ago
  • Gateway Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   9 / 10

    100% offset account, easy telephone access, no ongoing fees, friendly helpful staff, competitive interest rates with easy to read statements.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Lisa, Victoria, reviewed over 8 years ago
  • Gateway Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   7 / 10

    Love the fact that I am supporting a credit union and not making the big banks get bigger. Products are excellent with competitive interest rates. Only con is the lack of branches available in the country but with online banking you just need to plan ahead!

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    4 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Leonie, Victoria, reviewed over 8 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.88% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.90% p.a.
      upfront fees
      $520

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan - Discount Offer

      interest rate
      2.84% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.84% p.a.
      upfront fees
      $0

      Promoted
    • Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.84% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.80% p.a.
      upfront fees
      $0

      Promoted
    • Basic Home Loan

      interest rate
      3.09% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      3.09% p.a.
      upfront fees
      $0

      Promoted
    • Discount Fixed Rate 300k+

      interest rate
      2.89% p.a.
      fixed 2 years
      comparison rate*
      3.76% p.a.
      upfront fees
      $450

      Promoted

    *WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 533 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.