Progressive Direct car insurance reviews

Progressive Direct
Progressive Direct's overall rating for car insurance

(as rated by the Mozo community)

8.0 / 10

based on 68 reviews

Value for money

Policy coverage

Customer service

Claims handling

Trust

Recent Progressive Direct car insurance reviews

Progressive Direct

Progressive Direct Comprehensive Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Awesome customer service

Progressive Direct are number one for service and claims, we have had two claims with them and they did all the work for us, awesome.

Full review

Progressive Direct are number one for service and claims, we have had two claims with them and they did all the work for us, awesome.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Julie, Western Australia, reviewed 9 months ago

Progressive Direct

Progressive Direct Comprehensive Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great price and easy to deal with

they are quick and simple to deal with

Full review

they are quick and simple to deal with

    Value for money   7 / 10

Less

Scott, New South Wales, reviewed over 1 year ago

Progressive Direct

Progressive Direct Comprehensive Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Amazing customer service

Really good company to deal with. Made the claim process very easy.

Full review

Really good company to deal with. Made the claim process very easy.

    Value for money   10 / 10

Less

Justine, Queensland, reviewed over 1 year ago

Progressive Direct

Progressive Direct Comprehensive Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

    Value for money   10 / 10

Less

Anthony, Victoria, reviewed almost 2 years ago

Progressive Direct

Progressive Direct Comprehensive Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Easy to apply and very good for pricing

Easy to apply and very good for pricing

Full review

Easy to apply and very good for pricing

    Value for money   10 / 10

Less

Sarah, Victoria, reviewed almost 2 years ago

Progressive Direct

Progressive Direct Comprehensive Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

I'm extremely happy with Progressive

Progressive are great value for money and the application process is easy. Their online portal is easy to navigate and their product is comprehensive. I saved $600 changing to Progressive.

Full review

Progressive are great value for money and the application process is easy. Their online portal is easy to navigate and their product is comprehensive. I saved $600 changing to Progressive.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Karlie, Victoria, reviewed almost 3 years ago

Progressive Direct

Progressive Direct Comprehensive Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Competitive premiums easy sign up.

Very competitive premiums and very easy to sign up.

Full review

Very competitive premiums and very easy to sign up.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   9 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Claims handling   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Kimberlee, New South Wales, reviewed almost 3 years ago

Progressive Direct

Progressive Direct Comprehensive Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Quick and eaay

All good.

Full review

All good.

    Value for money   6 / 10

    Policy coverage   7 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

Less

Robyn, Victoria, reviewed almost 3 years ago

Progressive Direct

Progressive Direct Comprehensive Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Cheap to start with , keep checking .....

Fast claim response but every year premium goes up, then if I check online I can get same cover for much less! They will go cheaper if I call but not as cheap as the quotes I saw...

Full review

Fast claim response but every year premium goes up, then if I check online I can get same cover for much less! They will go cheaper if I call but not as cheap as the quotes I saw...

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Policy coverage   6 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Claims handling   8 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Les, Victoria, reviewed about 3 years ago

Progressive Direct

Progressive Direct car insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Very competitive prices, pleasant phone staff

2 car bundle deal so much cheaper than any other quote. Contact by email and SMS very efficient.

Full review

2 car bundle deal so much cheaper than any other quote. Contact by email and SMS very efficient.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Fiona, New South Wales, reviewed about 3 years ago

Progressive Direct

Progressive Direct Comprehensive Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Affordable and reliable insurance

The insurance is affordable, and I had no issue with the claim that I put.

Full review

The insurance is affordable, and I had no issue with the claim that I put.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Claims handling   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Hendy, New South Wales, reviewed about 3 years ago

Progressive Direct

Progressive Direct Comprehensive Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Best premiums in Oz, and prompt online service :-)

This is the insurer of the future. Lower premiums because they're completely online, so Progressive have lower costs which they pass on as lower premiums. It's just a win win for me :-)

Full review

This is the insurer of the future. Lower premiums because they're completely online, so Progressive have lower costs which they pass on as lower premiums. It's just a win win for me :-)

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Claims handling   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Mike, Victoria, reviewed over 3 years ago

Progressive Direct

Progressive Direct Comprehensive Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Good product

Good excess costs and value for money. I do recommend however it is all based online.

Full review

Good excess costs and value for money. I do recommend however it is all based online.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Claims handling   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Hannah, Victoria, reviewed over 3 years ago

Progressive Direct

Progressive Direct Comprehensive Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Full review

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Niki, Queensland, reviewed over 3 years ago

Progressive Direct

Progressive Direct Comprehensive Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Quick and simple

Quick, easy and very well priced.

Full review

Quick, easy and very well priced.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   9 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Claims handling   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Antony, Victoria, reviewed over 3 years ago

Progressive Direct

Progressive Direct Comprehensive Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Competitive premium, value for money

Real value for money. The premium is much less than the market

Full review

Real value for money. The premium is much less than the market

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   5 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Claims handling   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Violet, New South Wales, reviewed over 3 years ago

Progressive Direct

Progressive Direct Comprehensive Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Easy to get done

I like them due to the fact that if you insure 2 cars you get a good price. Compare to some other insurance companies.

Full review

I like them due to the fact that if you insure 2 cars you get a good price. Compare to some other insurance companies.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Wayne, New South Wales, reviewed over 3 years ago

Progressive Direct

Progressive Direct Comprehensive Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Cheapest car insurance

Cheapest comprehensive car insurance in the market.

Full review

Cheapest comprehensive car insurance in the market.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Claims handling   7 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Rodelio, New South Wales, reviewed over 3 years ago

Progressive Direct

Progressive Direct Comprehensive Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

One bargain policy for two or more vehicles

No need to talk on the telephone as it is all done safely, securely and without any hassle on their easy to use website. Their combined policy coverage is fantastic value for people and families with two or more cars.

Full review

No need to talk on the telephone as it is all done safely, securely and without any hassle on their easy to use website. Their combined policy coverage is fantastic value for people and families with two or more cars.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Brendon, New South Wales, reviewed over 3 years ago

Progressive Direct

Progressive Direct Comprehensive Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Competitive rates and hassle free service

As a young driver on P plates in a brand new car, I wasn't expecting cheap insurance. I searched through every insurer website and waited for what felt like hours on hold, trying to find a good deal that wouldn't put me thousands of dollars out of...

Full review

As a young driver on P plates in a brand new car, I wasn't expecting cheap insurance. I searched through every insurer website and waited for what felt like hours on hold, trying to find a good deal that wouldn't put me thousands of dollars out of pocket each year. Finally I came across Progressive. Not only did they quote me less than a third of others but for less premium and more cover! I thought it was too good to be true, but I did my research, checked the whirlpool forums and decided it looked pretty legit so I went for it. They are amazing! The sign up process was simple and easy to follow and the terms and conditions were well presented and clear. I spent 20 minutes from the time I started the process to when my policy printed out and I was fully covered. Though I myself haven't had to make a claim, a friend of mine has and once again, Progressive was great. She didn't have to do anything, she made a claim over the phone over the phone and then they took care of everything else. It was completely hassle free. While I haven't been with them long enough to have a review for the long term, I'm definitely happy with progressive for now :)

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Charlotte, Western Australia, reviewed almost 4 years ago

Progressive Direct

Progressive Direct Comprehensive Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Best premiums and great service, friendly staff.

Progressive Online have very low policy pricing and a good online claims system. Very happy with them, and will renew with them in June 2015.

Full review

Progressive Online have very low policy pricing and a good online claims system. Very happy with them, and will renew with them in June 2015.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Mike, Victoria, reviewed almost 4 years ago

Progressive Direct

Progressive Direct Comprehensive Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Super competitive premiums

We have 2 cars insured with Progressive Direct. After both long and drawn out research we found their quotes to be super competitive. As car insurance goes, the cover suits our needs and is the same cover as offered by other insurance companies...

Full review

We have 2 cars insured with Progressive Direct. After both long and drawn out research we found their quotes to be super competitive. As car insurance goes, the cover suits our needs and is the same cover as offered by other insurance companies but is a lot more affordable. We have not claimed yet so we have not had that experience but judging by the instructions on the website, it seems straightforward. I would recommend Progressive direct to anyone seeking car insurance. My only complaint is that they don't do home insurance!

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Claims handling   5 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Nicola, Queensland, reviewed about 4 years ago

Progressive Direct

Progressive Direct car insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Pretty darn cheap

The thing you have to remember is that I have an absolutely rubbish old tin can for a car that I need insurance for if I hit someone who may well bankrupt me with damage to their ride - Given this fact and remembering they will not do a darn...

Full review

The thing you have to remember is that I have an absolutely rubbish old tin can for a car that I need insurance for if I hit someone who may well bankrupt me with damage to their ride - Given this fact and remembering they will not do a darn thing if you are hit by someone else, the price and convenience of offering insurance for damage to other cars [and property] is fantastic as it's about half what you would pay otherwise.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   4 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Tracey, New South Wales, reviewed over 4 years ago

Progressive Direct

Progressive Direct Comprehensive Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Worst Insurance Company in AUS

I have just been through the worst 9weeks of my life dealing with a written off car through Progressive. I was accused of lying, fraud and everything else. I had an accident at 6am in the morning and apparently this is dodgy in itself, I was then...

Full review

I have just been through the worst 9weeks of my life dealing with a written off car through Progressive. I was accused of lying, fraud and everything else. I had an accident at 6am in the morning and apparently this is dodgy in itself, I was then put through an interview by a Private Investigator, had to give phone bills, bank statements and a police check to see if I was lying! I was interrogated like a criminal just because it's not ''normal'' to crash a car at 6am on a weekday apparently. I would never ever suggest to anyone to ever sign up with them! They simply do not want to have to pay any money to you. When my claim was finally processed and was told payment in 24 hours...TOOK 6 FURTHER DAYS! On the 6th day I gave my bank details again at 3.15pm and the money was there at 4pm, WHY IT TOOK 5 DAYS I HAVE NO IDEA! Do not not waste money with progressive, They maybe cheaper in some ways but not when you get put through everything I did and would not want anyone else to go through the same!

    Value for money   2 / 10

    Policy coverage   0 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Claims handling   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

An, Victoria, reviewed over 4 years ago

Progressive Direct

Progressive Direct Comprehensive Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great company

My insurance company stuck up for me and gave me a great deal when nobody else would. I think everybody should switch to them :)

Full review

My insurance company stuck up for me and gave me a great deal when nobody else would. I think everybody should switch to them :)

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Brandon, Northern Territory, reviewed over 4 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Back to top