TIO car insurance reviews

TIO
TIO's overall rating for car insurance

(as rated by the Mozo community)

8.6 / 10

based on 15 reviews

Value for money

Policy coverage

Customer service

Claims handling

Trust

Full review

Recent TIO car insurance reviews

TIO

TIO car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Wonderful insurance,customer relations, experience

Hassle free motor vehicle claim with excellent, quick repairs.

Full review

Hassle free motor vehicle claim with excellent, quick repairs.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mark (NT), reviewed over 1 year ago

TIO

TIO car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Always interested in you when you have concerns.

New car replacement for life.

Full review

New car replacement for life.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Barry (QLD), reviewed over 1 year ago

TIO

TIO car insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

5 years with them and never looked back

Claims are approved fast and easy.

Full review

Claims are approved fast and easy.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Nicole (NT), reviewed over 1 year ago

TIO

TIO car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Fantastic customer service

When something happens they don't complain, they instead do their best to compensate you and fix the problem.

Full review

When something happens they don't complain, they instead do their best to compensate you and fix the problem.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Colleen (NT), reviewed about 2 years ago

TIO

TIO car insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Trust in TIO

They look after their clients.

Full review

They look after their clients.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Tracy stevens , reviewed about 2 years ago

TIO

TIO car insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Easy to reach over the phone

Made a claim and very straight forward and easier than I thought - Easy to deal with via phone and email - No waiting on hold - Value for money.

Full review

Made a claim and very straight forward and easier than I thought - Easy to deal with via phone and email - No waiting on hold - Value for money.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Claims handling   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Amanda (NT), reviewed about 2 years ago

TIO

TIO car insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

High premiums but great cover

Their premiums are high, but they cover us for all the things we might need to claim for. As we live in Darwin, we can have pretty wild weather, and any damage to our car is all covered by our insurance.

Full review

Their premiums are high, but they cover us for all the things we might need to claim for. As we live in Darwin, we can have pretty wild weather, and any damage to our car is all covered by our insurance.

    Value for money   2 / 10

    Policy coverage   9 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Claims handling   -1 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Jann (NT), reviewed over 2 years ago

TIO

TIO car insurance review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Was the best price at the time

Luckily I've not had to claim, but can only afford third party coverage anyway.

Full review

Luckily I've not had to claim, but can only afford third party coverage anyway.

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Policy coverage   5 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Claims handling   5 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Annette (NT), reviewed over 2 years ago

TIO

TIO car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer sevice and will keep on doing that

I don't have any insurer.

Full review

I don't have any insurer.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   2 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Anna (NT), reviewed over 2 years ago

TIO

TIO car insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Excellent company all round

Excellent pricing, hard to find a company in Darwin that covers everything from accidents to cyclone damage. Friendly consultants and wouldn't go through anyone else for my insurance.

Full review

Excellent pricing, hard to find a company in Darwin that covers everything from accidents to cyclone damage. Friendly consultants and wouldn't go through anyone else for my insurance.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Claims handling   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Camille , reviewed over 2 years ago

TIO

TIO car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Comparable premiums and unbeatable service

We have had to make a claim through TIO on our previous car as I was stopped at a traffic light and the car behind me rear ended us. The level of customer service was fantasticand the damage was fixed within two weeks. They took care of...

Full review

We have had to make a claim through TIO on our previous car as I was stopped at a traffic light and the car behind me rear ended us. The level of customer service was fantasticand the damage was fixed within two weeks. They took care of everything. Both my husband and I would recommend TIO to anyone. We also have our contents insurance through them because they are just so good.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Samantha (NT), reviewed about 3 years ago

TIO

TIO car insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Trustworthy

They are local, have a variety of payment methods, and they are fairly efficient and prompt.

Full review

They are local, have a variety of payment methods, and they are fairly efficient and prompt.

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Cathy (NT), reviewed about 3 years ago

TIO

TIO car insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Fast, simple, inexpensive

Hassle-free, simple to access and covered me for exactly what I was asking for. Contacted me only when it was necessary and with all of the information I required.

Full review

Hassle-free, simple to access and covered me for exactly what I was asking for. Contacted me only when it was necessary and with all of the information I required.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   6 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Claims handling   5 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Damien (NT), reviewed about 3 years ago

TIO

TIO car insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great.

What I require.

Full review

What I require.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Claims handling   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (QLD), reviewed about 3 years ago

TIO

TIO car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

TIO is a local branch for Darwin residents they do an excellent job in looking after us locals and newcomers to our growing city.

Full review

TIO is a local branch for Darwin residents they do an excellent job in looking after us locals and newcomers to our growing city.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Shaun (NT), reviewed over 3 years ago

TIO

TIO car insurance review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Very poor claims settlment record.

Full review

Very poor claims settlment record.

    Value for money   6 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Claims handling   3 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Roy (NT), reviewed over 5 years ago

TIO

TIO car insurance review

Overall rating   6 / 10

We live in the NT and a local insurer is important to ensure we are covered for the weather in the tropics

Full review

We live in the NT and a local insurer is important to ensure we are covered for the weather in the tropics

    Value for money   3 / 10

    Policy coverage   6 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Claims handling   -1 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Sherie (NT), reviewed over 5 years ago

TIO

TIO car insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

My family has COMPREHENSIVE CAR INSURANCE with TIO which gives us cover for ACCIDENT, THEFT, FIRE AND DAMAGE TO THIRD PARTY PROPERTY. We have made one claim for an accident where the other driver was at fault. TIO paid for the tow truck, had...

Full review

My family has COMPREHENSIVE CAR INSURANCE with TIO which gives us cover for ACCIDENT, THEFT, FIRE AND DAMAGE TO THIRD PARTY PROPERTY. We have made one claim for an accident where the other driver was at fault. TIO paid for the tow truck, had the damage assessed, and organised a range of repairers to quote. We had NO OUT OF POCKET and NO UP FRONT EXPENSES. And guess what? We were able to have INPUT INTO THE DECISION ABOUT THE PREFERRED REPAIRER! Repairs were made as quickly as possible but delays in the arrival of parts meant we were without our family vehicle for 6 weeks! Unfortunately the policy DOES NOT PROVIDE A REPLACEMENT VEHICLE in the case of ACCIDENT, only theft. Itâ??s not even an option. Despite the delay and no assistance to have the use of another vehicle, the actual CLAIMS PROCESS WAS QUICK AND EASY. The policy COVERS US AUSTRALIA WIDE which is great as we tend to travel a lot and far in our vehicle. CHIPPED WINDSCREEN? TIO provides 2 FREE repairs each year! What about that crack? TIO provides 1 FREE WINDSCREEN REPLACEMENT each year. And this DOES NOT AFFECT YOUR â??NO CLAIM BONUSâ??. Do you know how much that saves people like us who are constantly on the road? I cannot remember the last time we had to pay for a repair to, or replacement of a windscreen. And yes, we have had to either repair or replace our windscreen every year. A few last comments. If you combine multiple products, for example other insured property and banking, you can REDUCE YOUR PREMIUMS ACROSS ALL POLICIES. There are ADDITIONAL BENEFITS for seniors (60+), defence and police personnel. And unlike many insurers if you opt to PAY BY INSTALLMENT THERE ARE NO ADDITIONAL FEES! Why should there be? Your insurer cannot provide you with insurance in the future, only a promise to insure you! PAY AS YOU GO WITHOUT PENALTY! The money is better in your pocket!

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Claims handling   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

David (NT), reviewed over 5 years ago

TIO

TIO car insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Secure generally good coverage would have to do research on pricing but would also have to take into account coverage quality from other providers. Have only ever had one claim not with TIO but again cant speak from first hand experience with TIO...

Full review

Secure generally good coverage would have to do research on pricing but would also have to take into account coverage quality from other providers. Have only ever had one claim not with TIO but again cant speak from first hand experience with TIO however from other members who have made claims seem more trouble free than most. I would recommend this product.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Claims handling   -1 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

George (NT), reviewed over 5 years ago

TIO

TIO car insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

When you have a claim they are quick & efficient in handling your claim so they do not inconvenience anyone, also rates are comparable with other insurers

Full review

When you have a claim they are quick & efficient in handling your claim so they do not inconvenience anyone, also rates are comparable with other insurers

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Denese (NT), reviewed over 5 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Back to top