Thumbnail icon for AMP Bank

AMP Bank Home loan reviews

Overall rating
6.4/10
Price
6.8/10
Features
6.3/10
Customer service
6.2/10
Convenience
5.6/10
Trust
6.3/10
Based on 216 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent AMP Bank home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • AMP Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Very good

    Easy to use App. No branch in QLD but only a phone call away. Competitive interest rates. Offer offset account for Variable home loan accounts.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Jess, Queensland, reviewed 25 days ago
  • AMP Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   2 / 10
    Customer service sucks.

    The customer service sucks. Not only do they have no banking people available to talk to, but when you do talk to them they tell you the wrong information. I have a loan for 630k on an 850k property and they were not willing to increase my loan for 6k for renovations. It also took them more than a week to tell me. If you don’t want to waste your time, avoid AMP. I have an AMP First home loan and whilst the rates are competitive I’m switching.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Christina, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • AMP Bank Variable Rate Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Basic Package) review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Affordable and worthwhile. A bit behind though.

    AMP offers excellent home loan rates. They offer quite flexible multi-account offset accounts. They are also gradually improving their customer experience (though their mobile app and feature set aren’t nearly as comprehensive, responsive and intuitive as those of the big banks or ING). They have recently added support for ApplePay (albeit a long time after many of their competitors). They have yet to add PayID or instant bank transfers, both of which are common among their competitors. Other than these minor inconveniences, overall worthwhile on balance. The reason for the low trust score was because the Royal Commission into Banking in Australia revealed some very poor practices in AMP at that time) including continuing to bill the dead.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    3 / 10
    Less
    Cluan, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed 3 months ago
  • AMP Bank Variable Rate Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Basic Package) review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Small bank, competitive rates bad customer service

    AMP can offer very competitive interest rates when compared to other banks. I would advise people to do the application process via a financial broker. On the cons side, their customer service is not great. As an example I had to wait over five days for a replacement card. Additionally, their website is not very user friendly when it comes to online banking.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Andrea, Queensland, reviewed 4 months ago
  • AMP Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Smaller bank, simple mortgage payments & easy app

    Not the most competitive rate, but simple enough and no hassles so far. App is great to keep track of everything.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Ming, Western Australia, reviewed 5 months ago
  • AMP Bank Essential Home Loan Special (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   3 / 10
    Stay away.

    Put in an application to refinance my current loan and they called me up to decline the application for non disclosure on a credit card I had which I thought was inactive and been at $0 for years. I told them I didn't know about it and can show them that I will close it and haven't used it for years, but because the credit report showed it was active they declined the application. I have a perfect credit score and pay all bills and payments on time and now will have a decline on my file. I will take this to the ombudsmen if this either does not proceed or the decline will not be taken off my file.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Robert, Victoria, reviewed 10 months ago
  • AMP Bank Professional Package Variable Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR <80%) (Professional Package) review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Competitive interest rate, poor physical presence.

    AMP suited us for our home loan but we needed convincing by our financial advisor because of our negative perception of AMP following the Banking Royal Commission. We find the lack of physical branches annoying and the only bank we can get money from ATMs is Red ATMs (NAB) or having to go into Post Offices which are not specialised in banking.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    David, New South Wales, reviewed almost 1 year ago
  • AMP Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Blew us out of the water.

    They locked us in to our first home loan without locking in our interest rate.We then received a much higher rate at settlement which blew everything out of the water. Would not recommend.

    Price
    0 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Elli, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • AMP Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    AMP is highly disappointing

    Looking forward to a better bank!

    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Jo, Queensland, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • AMP Bank review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Excellent bank

    Always easy to deal with, excellent bank.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Greg, Queensland, reviewed almost 3 years ago
  • AMP Bank Essential Home Loan Special (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    No fuss loan with excellent features and low rates

    This home loan package is a great no fuss set and forget loan. Always competitive rates and no on going fees. What you see is what you get. It even allows you to take your extra money out. AMP banking app is easy to understand and negotiate.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Less
    Dwayne, Queensland, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • AMP Bank Essential Home Loan Special (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   4 / 10
    Absolute best rate but close to worst service.

    The service from AMP when you want statements and setting up internet banking is awful. The rates for this loan are outstanding and no other financial institution could come within 0.75% of their rate. The best thing is that when they give you a loan, they won't bother you, unless there is a problem. Unfortunately, their service is what makes them go down in my ranking.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Darren, Queensland, reviewed about 4 years ago
  • AMP Bank Essential Home Loan Special (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Responsive and solid no-frills home loans

    A solid bank that has responded to my questions about comparative interest rates by providing discounts! Updated internet site looks snazzy, but is slightly harder to negotiate, but a solid no-frills option with a trusted bank.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Annette, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • AMP Bank Essential Home Loan Special (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   2 / 10
    AMP need to keep in contact with their clients

    I am not very happy with our current interest rate.

    Price
    2 / 10
    Features
    2 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    4 / 10
    Trust
    2 / 10
    Less
    Sara, Western Australia, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • AMP Bank Fixed Rate Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    We highly recommend AMP.

    We have found AMP to be fantastic. We were with Commonwealth for many years and they didn't do much for us.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Lisa, Victoria, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Booster Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a.variable for 12 months and then 2.48% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.47% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Celebrate Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.19% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.19% p.a.

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan - Discount Offer

      interest rate
      2.34% p.a. variableApply now to get this rate from 29 Nov
      comparison rate
      2.34% p.a.Apply now to get this rate from 29 Nov

      Promoted
    • Special Offer Reward Me Fixed Rate Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.04% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      2.73% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Fixed Home Loan Special Offer Home Package Plus

      interest rate
      1.89% p.a.
      fixed 2 years
      comparison rate
      2.94% p.a.

      Promoted

    WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 541 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.