AMP Bank logo

AMP Bank Home loan customer reviews

Overall rating
Price
Features
Customer service
Convenience
Trust
Based on 229 home loan reviews as rated by the Mozo community.
Write a review

Recent AMP Bank home loan customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • AMP Bank Variable Rate Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR <60%) (Basic Package)

    Convenient

    This was organised through my mortgage broker. Easy and convenient app. Has an offset account we can use without any hassles as well.

    Price
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Glenn, Victoria, reviewed 4 months ago
  • AMP Bank Essential Home Loan Special (LVR<60%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Easy to deal with, ongoing competitive interest ra

    Easy to deal with, ongoing competitive interest rates.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Ross, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
  • AMP Bank Home Loan

    Established institution -diverse financial profile

    Pros of AMP Bank: Established Institution: AMP Bank is a well-known and established financial institution in Australia, offering a range of banking and financial services. Diverse Product Range: They provide various products like savings accounts, home loans, term deposits, and more to cater to different financial needs. Customer Service: Some customers have reported positive experiences with AMP Bank's customer service and support. Cons of AMP Bank: Limited Branch Network: AMP Bank has a limited number of physical branches, which might be a drawback for customers who prefer in-person banking. Fees and Charges: Like any bank, there might be fees associated with certain services or accounts, so it's essential to be aware of these. Interest Rates: The interest rates offered by AMP Bank may not always be the most competitive in the market, so it's essential to compare rates with other banks.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Jun, New South Wales, reviewed 7 months ago
  • AMP Bank Home Loan

    AMP is slow, no Frequent Flyer. Dont recommend

    AMP were the only ones who accepted our mortgage broker's calculations for our home loan and offset bank accounts. I didnt have anything to do with AMP and was grateful to have a home loan in the first place. However, I have found AMP to be slow and cumbersome. THey dont have Osko or instant payments so often my friends and payees were left waiting for 2 days for transactions to go through! AMP bank accounts dont have Frequent Flyer options or anything like that, so we are missing out on all the benefits from other bank accounts. Do not recommend unless they're the only ones available!

    Price
    Features
    Convenience
    Less
    Deaf, Victoria, reviewed 8 months ago
  • AMP Bank Variable Rate Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, $100,000 - $500,000, <60% LVR) (Professional Package)

    Absolutely miserable.

    They made constant mistakes in the loan application process. It took two weeks to receive loan documents. The online signing forms are unintuitive. Contacting them is almost impossible, expect to wait at least an hour on hold or for a callback. Online chat never connects, just constantly says they're at capacity. Registration for the online portal does not work, I have called up 3 times for help. On the latest attempt I was told they need to reset my password and it will take 2 days!!! The app just fails with "sorry, try again later". The website just fails with "This section is unavailable".

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Mathew, Western Australia, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • AMP Bank Home Loan

    AMP - Appalling Management of Policy!

    My experience with AMP was ok until it came time to discharge the mortgage. That was, without doubt, one of the worst banking experiences of my life. Absolutely hopeless lack of communication for weeks in end despite several reminders and phone calls. Hopeless service. Distressing and frustrating. I will never use AMP again.

    Trust
    Less
    Nick, Victoria, reviewed about 2 years ago
  • AMP Bank Fixed Rate Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, <$500,000, LVR <60%) (Professional Package)

    Poor customer service

    I signed my contract with 2.04% interest rate but on settlement they changed my fix home loan interest rate to 2.34 % without letting me know. poor customer service.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Jaimati, Victoria, reviewed about 2 years ago
  • AMP Bank Home Loan

    Poor customer service. My worst banking experience

    The home loan account was been settled incorrectly. Therefore, I am not able to make any transfer through the online banking. Actually this is fine, everyone make errors. But what really piss me off is the procedure and actions to resolve the issue. It have been more than 2 weeks time, the issue still not been resolved. It was the worst banking experience I had so far. - difficult to find a person (above 45mins waiting time for the service call) - poor record. Need to explain the issue again and again every time i call them - it was different stories/ explanation/ excuses from their customer service staff every time - lack of capability to resolve a simple account setup issue for the customer I have home loan with other lender as well. It is certain that some other leader in the market can offer similar interest rate but much better customer service. So I don't recommend to use the AMP home loan product.

    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Lawrence, New South Wales, reviewed about 2 years ago
  • AMP Bank Home Loan

    I need to get compensation

    Around two weeks ago, I sent them a written request to switch my product from professional to Essential(without offset facility), they did not tell me I would lose my offset benefits. On 2nd September, I made a call to them, I was told that I would lose my offset benefits if i do switch product, then i said please switch product after next repayment date(15th Sep), the staff left a note stating to switch product after next repayment date in order to not lose offset benefit. But Unfortunately, they did switch my product to Essentials without seeing that note on 6th Sep, which made me lose my offset benefit from 15th Aug to 6th Sep. what a mistake they did. i wrote my compliant, it would take 35 working days to investigate, poor service , poor management. i am frustrated with it. my account number is 275225198

    Ruinan, New South Wales, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • AMP Bank Home Loan

    DO NOT BANK HERE

    I'm in the process of taking legal action as I was pre-approved for a home loan, and was advised to commence house hunting and submit offers. Only after I paid a deposit for a property they declined releasing the funds and refused to issue a formal approval. Their procedures are disgusting and I'm currently building a case against them within my firm.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Madvid, New South Wales, reviewed almost 3 years ago
  • AMP Bank Home Loan

    Very Poor! Don't use AMP for a home loan.

    Poor response to correspondence, customer service will just hang up the phone rather then help. Please don't think about a home loan with them, you'll regret it. Glad I've sold my property and I don't have to deal with AMP anymore. No wonder their share price is in the toilet.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Mark, Western Australia, reviewed about 3 years ago
  • AMP Bank Home Loan

    Incompetent staff.

    I have been with Commonwealth and Bankwest and they have a much better service price and helpful staff over AMP. If you want a home loan I would advise against getting it with AMP.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Hayden, Western Australia, reviewed about 3 years ago
  • AMP Bank Home Loan

    AMP are easy to deal with, so far so good.

    Pros - had good interest rates at the time of signing up, easy online banking, every time I contact them via phone they are helpful. Good offset account and no limit to how much we can pay off our loan. Cons - there are no branches near me, yearly fee on my loan.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Keira, New South Wales, reviewed about 3 years ago
  • AMP Bank Home Loan

    Very good

    Easy to use App. No branch in QLD but only a phone call away. Competitive interest rates. Offer offset account for Variable home loan accounts.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Jess, Queensland, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • AMP Bank Home Loan

    Customer service sucks.

    The customer service sucks. Not only do they have no banking people available to talk to, but when you do talk to them they tell you the wrong information. I have a loan for 630k on an 850k property and they were not willing to increase my loan for 6k for renovations. It also took them more than a week to tell me. If you don’t want to waste your time, avoid AMP. I have an AMP First home loan and whilst the rates are competitive I’m switching.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Christina, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews. Financial providers may, from time to time, offer incentives for reviews, regardless of the sentiment of the reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Home Fixed Rate

      interest rate
      5.80% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      6.05% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Unloan Variable

      interest rate
      5.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      5.90% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Ultra Low Rate <95% LVR

      interest rate
      6.30% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      6.58% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Home Variable Rate

      interest rate
      6.15% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      6.15% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Straight Up

      interest rate
      6.24% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      6.24% p.a.

      Promoted

    WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 464 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.