Bank Australia credit card reviews

Bank Australia
Bank Australia's overall rating for credit cards

(as rated by the Mozo community)

7.7 / 10

based on 42 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured credit card from Bank Australia

Recent Bank Australia credit card reviews

Bank Australia

Bank Australia Visa Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Nice

Nice

Less

Makhela, Queensland, reviewed 27 days ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia Platinum Rewards Visa credit card review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Feel-good bank, but needs an app upgrade

This card had the best Qantas points earning rate in the market when I took it up, but they reduced it shortly after! It's still better than most. I also like their company values - customer owned, focus on being a good corporate citizen. It feels...

Full review

This card had the best Qantas points earning rate in the market when I took it up, but they reduced it shortly after! It's still better than most. I also like their company values - customer owned, focus on being a good corporate citizen. It feels good banking with them. But on the downside I would like to see them add more functionality to their app ... can't see statements, can't get alerts when the balance is getting high.

    Price   8 / 10

Less

Andrew, New South Wales, reviewed 11 months ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia Visa Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Competitive, great value for money.

Bank Australia keeps me informed about their activities and the market. I feel safe with them.

Full review

Bank Australia keeps me informed about their activities and the market. I feel safe with them.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Alexandra, Victoria, reviewed over 2 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia credit card review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Annoyed

I hate that its only Bpay to pay off credit card, takes a few days to register that I have put money on to my credit card.

Full review

I hate that its only Bpay to pay off credit card, takes a few days to register that I have put money on to my credit card.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   2 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Kylie, New South Wales, reviewed over 2 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia Visa Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great bank to be with will recommend to join

Always helpful - always willing to give help never pushy will never charge interest before calling you.

Full review

Always helpful - always willing to give help never pushy will never charge interest before calling you.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Theo, New South Wales, reviewed over 2 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia Visa Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Reliable

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Erin, New South Wales, reviewed almost 3 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia credit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Positive social values, easy to deal with.

Easy to deal with bank, with positive social values.

Full review

Easy to deal with bank, with positive social values.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Ben, Victoria, reviewed almost 3 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia Visa Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

Great customer service

Full review

Great customer service

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jean, Northern Territory, reviewed almost 3 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia Visa Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Friendly and competitive

I love this card. Never fails when buying on eBay. Fees are $2.00/month, as long there is money in card it is great. Only thing I don't like is I can't do a transfer on atm. You have to use the service desk or online .

Full review

I love this card. Never fails when buying on eBay. Fees are $2.00/month, as long there is money in card it is great. Only thing I don't like is I can't do a transfer on atm. You have to use the service desk or online .

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Marie, Victoria, reviewed almost 3 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia Visa Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

great customer service

very good

Full review

very good

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jason, Western Australia, reviewed almost 3 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia Visa Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Service second to none and plenty of tellers

Great service any time of day, have been with this bank for over 50 years.

Full review

Great service any time of day, have been with this bank for over 50 years.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Christiaan, Victoria, reviewed almost 3 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia Visa Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Good

Good credit union.

Full review

Good credit union.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Rona, Victoria, reviewed about 3 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia Low Rate Visa credit card review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Easy to understand statements & low interest rate

Easy to understand product with clear statements sent to you or online.

Full review

Easy to understand product with clear statements sent to you or online.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Roger, Victoria, reviewed over 3 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia credit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

fantastic

bankmecu is very trustworthy

Full review

bankmecu is very trustworthy

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jenni, Victoria, reviewed over 3 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia credit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Very competitive with the bigger banks

I have been with bankmecu for many years and their customer service has always been excellent. I have always felt like an individual and not a number and they always strive to accommodate and meet my needs. Their online service is great and has...

Full review

I have been with bankmecu for many years and their customer service has always been excellent. I have always felt like an individual and not a number and they always strive to accommodate and meet my needs. Their online service is great and has assisted me to maintain a positive bank account. I am currently refinancing with them for a home loan and have only dealt with one person and she has been available via phone, email and in person when I have needed to talk to her. The interest rate I was given was better than what was advertised and I couldn't be happier. My only negative is that I have to travel 35 minutes to my nearest branch. To be fair to bankmecu I live in a remote rural town.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Tanya, Victoria, reviewed almost 4 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia credit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

10/10 would bang

10/10 would bang again

Full review

10/10 would bang again

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Yea, , reviewed almost 4 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia Visa Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Elitist banking with a token Eco front

Applied for loan and was refused. No one called or emailed to let me know this. Instead let me stew until I chased it up. Bad business from upper class elitist jerks. Another company run by the wealthy for the wealthy who turn environmental...

Full review

Applied for loan and was refused. No one called or emailed to let me know this. Instead let me stew until I chased it up. Bad business from upper class elitist jerks. Another company run by the wealthy for the wealthy who turn environmental concern into an elitist pursuit. HOW IS FORCING THE AVERAGE PERSON TO BANK WITH THE BIG 4, ENVIRONMENTALLY CONSCIOUS?

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Eddie, Victoria, reviewed almost 4 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia credit card review

Overall rating   1 / 10

They always try to help in any way possible. Even call to let you know when you overdraw or any unusable draws on your accounts. They try so hard to make sure you're happy with their service. Great to do business with bankmecu.

Full review

They always try to help in any way possible. Even call to let you know when you overdraw or any unusable draws on your accounts. They try so hard to make sure you're happy with their service. Great to do business with bankmecu.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Convenience   2 / 10

    Trust   1 / 10

Less

Sam, Victoria, reviewed almost 4 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia credit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Low rate card, no annual fee

Low rate card, no annual fee. It has pay pass which I love for convenience.

Full review

Low rate card, no annual fee. It has pay pass which I love for convenience.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jacquiv, Victoria, reviewed over 4 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia credit card review

Overall rating   7 / 10

I feel safe banking with them.

I find them very safe to deal with.

Full review

I find them very safe to deal with.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Diane, Victoria, reviewed almost 5 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia Visa Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

All profits are returned to customers lower charge

BankMecu, Victoria is owned by its customers and is absolutely first class in all respects.

Full review

BankMecu, Victoria is owned by its customers and is absolutely first class in all respects.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Name not supplied, Victoria, reviewed almost 5 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia credit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent customer service, fraud prevention.

If you manage your card well, the fees are minimal. Fantastic customer service if you have queries/want to change conditions on the card. Able to phone them and speak to customer service reps directly within seconds (no long queues here). I...

Full review

If you manage your card well, the fees are minimal. Fantastic customer service if you have queries/want to change conditions on the card. Able to phone them and speak to customer service reps directly within seconds (no long queues here). I receive phone calls from the bank within an hour or two if a transaction looks unusual or much larger than normal (and they hold it until I verify that, yes, I made that transaction). Support services are really good - I can check the balance 24/7 & the interest rates are not too bad. Love the 30 days interest free feature on my card.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Name not supplied, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed about 5 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia Low Rate Visa credit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Unbeatable value with excellent service.

With exceptional service and support for this low rate credit card I couldn't be happier. Also it's value is unbeatable. I have yet to see another card that even comes close to thus type of value. I recommend this card and bank to all my friends.

Full review

With exceptional service and support for this low rate credit card I couldn't be happier. Also it's value is unbeatable. I have yet to see another card that even comes close to thus type of value. I recommend this card and bank to all my friends.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Name not supplied, Victoria, reviewed about 5 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia Visa Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Quality customer service and tailored products.

The bank is owned by the customers and previously as a credit union provided excellent service to customers, particularly in times of financial difficulty. Easy access to customer service backed by quick and efficient action are pluses that cannot...

Full review

The bank is owned by the customers and previously as a credit union provided excellent service to customers, particularly in times of financial difficulty. Easy access to customer service backed by quick and efficient action are pluses that cannot be underestimated.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Michael, New South Wales, reviewed about 6 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia credit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

This is a bank that really works hard for their members. Offering very low interest rates on all their products and services. The only thing that is high is their standard.

Full review

This is a bank that really works hard for their members. Offering very low interest rates on all their products and services. The only thing that is high is their standard.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Irene, Queensland, reviewed over 6 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Credit card comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    Woolworths Everyday Platinum Credit Card

    Woolworths Everyday Platinum Credit Card

    • Redeem your credit card points for Woolworths shopping cards
    • 10% off your 1st Woolworths shop on selected dates once a month
    • $0 annual fee for the first year (saving $49)

    balance transfer rate

    0% p.a. for 14 months and then 21.99% p.a.

    purchase rate

    19.99% p.a.

    annual fee

    $49 $0 in the first year

    Go to site

    More info

    • Redeem your credit card points for Woolworths shopping cards
    • 10% off your 1st Woolworths shop on selected dates once a month
    • $0 annual fee for the first year (saving $49)
    • Balance transfer rate: 0% p.a. for 14 months and then 21.99% p.a.
    • Annual fee: $49 $0 in the first year
    • Purchase rate: 19.99% p.a.
    • Interest free days: 55
    • Interest rate on cash withdrawals: 21.99% p.a.
    • Fee for cash withdrawals: 3%, minimum $5
    • Rewards description: Woolworths Money Shopping Card sent every 4 months if enough points have been accrued.
    Overall rating

    6.3

    Based on 181 Woolworths credit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • ME frank Credit Card

    ME frank Credit Card

    • Experts Choice Winner - No Annual Fee Credit Card
    • Low rate of 11.99% p.a on purchases and cash advances
    • Up to 55 days interest free on purchases

    balance transfer rate

    No current offer

    purchase rate

    11.99% p.a.

    annual fee

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • Experts Choice Winner - No Annual Fee Credit Card
    • Low rate of 11.99% p.a on purchases and cash advances
    • Up to 55 days interest free on purchases
    • Balance transfer rate: No current offer
    • Annual fee: $0
    • Purchase rate: 11.99% p.a.
    • Interest free days: 55
    • Interest rate on cash withdrawals: 11.99% p.a.
    • Fee for cash withdrawals: 2%, Min $4.00
    • Rewards description:
    Overall rating

    8.0

    Based on 201 ME credit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    American Express Explorer® Credit Card

    American Express Explorer® Credit Card

    • Receive 50,000 Membership Rewards® Points (T&Cs apply)
    • $400 in Travel Credit each year
    • Up to 2 Membership Rewards points per $1 spent

    balance transfer rate

    0% p.a. for 12 months and then 20.74% p.a. (1.00% balance transfer fee)

    purchase rate

    20.74% p.a.

    annual fee

    $395

    Go to site

    More info

    • Receive 50,000 Membership Rewards® Points (T&Cs apply)
    • $400 in Travel Credit each year
    • Up to 2 Membership Rewards points per $1 spent
    • Balance transfer rate: 0% p.a. for 12 months and then 20.74% p.a. (1.00% balance transfer fee)
    • Annual fee: $395
    • Purchase rate: 20.74% p.a.
    • Interest free days: 55
    • Interest rate on cash withdrawals:
    • Fee for cash withdrawals:
    • Rewards description: Transfer points to a range of airline programs or redeem your points for travel, gift cards, retail rewards and shopping gift cards.
    Overall rating

    6.6

    Based on 860 American Express credit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Virgin Money Virgin Australia Velocity Flyer Card - Purchase Rate and Balance Transfer Offer

    Virgin Money Virgin Australia Velocity Flyer Card - Purchase Rate and Balance Transfer Offer

    • 0% p.a. on balance transfers for 6 months
    • 0% p.a. on purchases for up to 14 months
    • Receive a $129 Virgin Australia gift voucher each year

    balance transfer rate

    0% p.a. for 6 months and then 20.99% p.a.

    purchase rate

    0% p.a. for 14 months then 20.74% p.a.

    annual fee

    $129

    Go to site

    More info

    • 0% p.a. on balance transfers for 6 months
    • 0% p.a. on purchases for up to 14 months
    • Receive a $129 Virgin Australia gift voucher each year
    • Balance transfer rate: 0% p.a. for 6 months and then 20.99% p.a.
    • Annual fee: $129
    • Purchase rate: 0% p.a. for 14 months then 20.74% p.a.
    • Interest free days: 44
    • Interest rate on cash withdrawals: 20.99% p.a.
    • Fee for cash withdrawals: 2.7%, Min $2.70
    • Rewards description: Points are credited to the Velocity Frequent Flyer program.
    Overall rating

    5.8

    Based on 202 Virgin Money credit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    American Express Velocity Escape Card

    American Express Velocity Escape Card

    • No annual fees
    • 0% p.a. on balance transfer for the first 12 months
    • No cap on earn rate. You’ll receive up to 2 Velocity Points per $1 spent, no matter how much you spend each month

    balance transfer rate

    0% p.a. for 12 months and then 20.74% p.a. (1.00% balance transfer fee)

    purchase rate

    20.74% p.a.

    annual fee

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • No annual fees
    • 0% p.a. on balance transfer for the first 12 months
    • No cap on earn rate. You’ll receive up to 2 Velocity Points per $1 spent, no matter how much you spend each month
    • Balance transfer rate: 0% p.a. for 12 months and then 20.74% p.a. (1.00% balance transfer fee)
    • Annual fee: $0
    • Purchase rate: 20.74% p.a.
    • Interest free days: 55
    • Interest rate on cash withdrawals:
    • Fee for cash withdrawals:
    • Rewards description: Points automatically transferred to your Velocity account
    Overall rating

    6.6

    Based on 860 American Express credit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

**Saving based on the average difference in fees and charges over 3 years between the most competitive product Mozo can refer a consumer to and the average credit card product input by 6,863 consumers (average balance of $4,262 or balance transfer balance of $5,818, interest rate of 19.6% and annual fee of $36.50) who used the Mozo Credit Card Health Check tool between 1 January 2012 to July 2012.

Want more? Compare all 217 credit cards in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more credit cards

Look for a specific type of credit card:

**Saving based on the average difference in fees and charges over 3 years between the most competitive product Mozo can refer a consumer to and the average credit card product input by 6,863 consumers (average balance of $4,262 or balance transfer balance of $5,818, interest rate of 19.6% and annual fee of $36.50) who used the Mozo Credit Card Health Check tool between 1 January 2012 to July 2012.

Back to top