BankSA logo

BankSA Savings account customer reviews

Overall rating
7.7/10
Price
6.8/10
Features
6.3/10
Customer service
7.7/10
Convenience
8.0/10
Trust
7.8/10
Based on 569 BankSA savings account reviews as rated by the Mozo customers. More about the Mozo Customer Ratings.
Mozo recommends that ratings are only one factor to be taken into account when deciding whether to take up any financial product offer.
Write a review

Recent BankSA savings account customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • BankSA Incentive Saver Account

    Poor customer service setting up internet banking

    Bank SA is a good bank but did have initial problem with internet banking.

    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Amanda, South Australia, reviewed 4 months ago
  • BankSA Savings Account

    Bank SA review

    I’ve always had excellent knowledgeable and value add customer service when I have rang the customer service line. I find the app very user friendly with minimal issues. I’d love the overdrawn fees to be waivered as it is sometimes tricky juggling money between multiple accounts.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Amber, South Australia, reviewed 7 months ago
  • BankSA Savings Account

    Too long to get help

    After being hacked waited 2 hours on phone to get through with no positive outcome

    Price
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Jennifer, Northern Territory, reviewed 9 months ago
  • BankSA Savings Account

    Not a competitive interest rate offering

    BankSA savings accounts generally underdeliver on the primary objective of a savings account - a competitive interest rate. The core pros of the savings accounts offered are: - If you are an SA local, this bank has physical branches which may be helpful. - There is physical and also local telephone based assistance available via this bank. - The online interface of the bank is generally easy to follow and use and has a range of service features available from your computer/app. - You can easily open one of these savings accounts online. - There are savings accounts, such as Incentive Saver, which incentivise month-to-month savings gains, which can be useful if this sort of gamification motivates you. The core cons of the savings accounts offered are: - Each and every one offers a poor interest rate both compared to the cash rate and compared to other banks. - The most worthwhile accounts in terms of interest rate are linked to gamified savings products like the Incentive Saver, which is a negative if this is not the way you want to use your accounts or this sort of account does not motivate you. - You cannot easily close accounts, even extraneous outdated savings accounts, with this bank. It requires seeking physical or telephone assistance from the bank. - The communication on the ongoing interest rate on these products is low. Changes to the interest rate (always reductions) occur without notification from the bank, meaning you always have to be regularly checking that your rate is in tact. - Unlike other banks the interest rate does not get updated for existing account holders if the bank raises the interest rate offered on the product. The rate you sign up at is the maximum you will get. And, as stated before, communication in this regard is low. - The app lacks more serious account-managing facilities such as closure of accounts, meaning it is not a true online offering, if that is your preference. Overall, these savings accounts may pair well with other accounts you hold with BankSA if those other accounts are worthwhile. I would absolutely not seek these accounts out otherwise, and would hesitate to recommend them for the cons listed above.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Ashleigh, South Australia, reviewed 10 months ago
  • BankSA Incentive Saver Account

    First class

    An AMAZING bank always happy to advise me what would work for me and my finances. They always go out of their way to speak to me and give me the best interest for my bank accounts. Have been with them for close to 49 years

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Kelly, South Australia, reviewed 10 months ago
  • BankSA Incentive Saver Account

    Best bank I know

    I've been with them since I was a child, now 28 and have never had any issues with them, easy to use, good service, low fees if any, always helpful. Just amazing in general.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Tiara, South Australia, reviewed 11 months ago
  • BankSA Savings Account

    Bank SA is being secretive and dishonest.

    Tried to do internet banking, then phone banking today but it told me my login details were incorrect. Tried numerous times. Checked my details were correct every time. Even rang the bank. Got a NESL person with heavy accent who told me that my details were incorrect so I was locked out of my accounts. Told to visit a branch...on a Saturday and interstate where there are no branches with even the nearest St George bank being five hours away. Tried to complain but locked out of this too online. Rang and asked for complaints or security because my input details were 100% correct and the fault was at their end not with my input. No admissions instead the supervisor told me I was at fault. Really? I just want access to my money in my accounts as it's my right not a privilege. They never admitted there was a problem at their end. Yet later on today I found there were others also denied access to their accounts today despite logon details being correct. That tells me the bank is trying to hide it's problems at their end. What is it, a hack causing these issues? That is untrustworthy as a bank holding your money deposits. They should've been forthcoming if they were having problems at their end. Now complaints should be escalated all the way to the government oversight authority as this is not good enough. Am I angry and annoyed? You betcha.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Roxanne, Queensland, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • BankSA Maxi Saver

    Great bank

    I love banksa they are very reliable and I trust them, I do recommend anyone to go with banksa

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Kylie, South Australia, reviewed almost 2 years ago
  • BankSA Savings Account

    Excellent banking experience

    The best reliable bank to deal with. Excellent customer service.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Daisy, South Australia, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • BankSA Maxi Saver

    The best bank i know there can improve but also

    Atm are less but it gives good service and low prices

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Sandile, New South Wales, reviewed about 3 years ago
  • BankSA Maxi Saver

    I would recommend Bank SA for financial services

    I have been with other banks and received bad service. Since being with Bank SA for the last 12 years, I have found the bank's help very good, and this is not just local Branch. I lived rural/remote for 10 years and the service at local BankSA branch was incredible and welcomed. I have also used the internet for banking, and telephone banking. Very friendly and helpful. We also have insurance with BankSA as it has lesser charges and is cheaper than APIA, and other Insurance Companies claiming to look after Seniors.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    James, South Australia, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • BankSA Incentive Saver Account

    Always have trouble with online banking

    Keep charging me over $15 interest every fortnight if I go to overdrawn amount. I have a pensioner savings.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Linda, South Australia, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • BankSA Maxi Saver

    Great if you are flush, so-so if you are not

    I found the service and rates of this bank to be great when I had a good amount of money in my account. As soon as I withdrew a large amount to purchase a property the rates went down and the customer service became non-existent. So they are good if you are flush, but don't bother with you when you are not. If they gave the same service regardless of circumstance you would be happy to stay with them. Everyone's finances ebb and flow, they are doing themselves a disservice with their actions.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Jo, South Australia, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • BankSA Incentive Saver Account

    Worst accounts, worst bank in SA

    Never enough tellers working, tell pro's not cons, hidden fees, ATM harder to use and find than other banks, wages always available a day after all other banks have made funds available.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    David, South Australia, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • BankSA Incentive Saver Account

    Great bank.

    The only bank that suits my child's needs at the moment.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Amy, South Australia, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews. Financial providers may, from time to time, offer incentives for reviews, regardless of the sentiment of the reviews.

    Savings account comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • High Interest Savings Account

      Maximum rate
      5.75% p.a. (for $0 to $250,001)
      standard interest rate
      4.40% p.a.(for $0 to $250,001)
      Govt Deposit Guarantee
      Yes up to $250,000

      Bonus rate for the first 4 months from account opening

      Promoted
    • Savings Account

      Maximum rate
      5.35% p.a. (for $0 to $250,000)
      standard interest rate
      4.75% p.a.(for $0 to $1,000,000)
      Govt Deposit Guarantee
      Yes up to $250,000

      Bonus variable rate is available for the first four months.

      Promoted
    • High Interest Save Account

      Maximum rate
      5.10% p.a. (for $0 to $250,000)
      standard interest rate
      0.10% p.a.(for $0 and over)
      Govt Deposit Guarantee
      Yes up to $250,000

      Deposit at least $200 to either Spend, Bills or Save account from an external source each month.

      Promoted
    • Reward Saver Account

      Maximum rate
      5.25% p.a. (for $0 to $1,000,000)
      standard interest rate
      0% p.a.(for $0 and over)
      Govt Deposit Guarantee
      Yes up to $250,000

      Intro bonus rate of 5.25% for balances up to $1,000,000 for the first 4 months, reverting to 3.25%. Minimum deposit of $50 and no withdrawals.

      Promoted
    • Bonus Saver Account

      Maximum rate
      5.00% p.a. (for $0 to $250,000)
      standard interest rate
      0.05% p.a.(for $0 and over)
      Govt Deposit Guarantee
      Yes up to $250,000

      Bonus rate when at least $20 is deposited each month and five Visa Debit transactions are made each month using linked Glide transaction account.

      Promoted

    Want more? Compare all 200 savings accounts in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more savings accounts

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.