CGU logo

CGU Car insurance reviews

Overall rating
7.9/10
Value for money
7.5/10
Policy coverage
7.7/10
Customer service
8.0/10
Claims handling
8.0/10
Trust
7.9/10
Based on 798 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent CGU car insurance reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • CGU Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Professional company.

    They are quick when making a claim, and made sure that I was looked after being hit in the back of the car. They directed me to a hire car provider where I hired a car while mine was getting fixed.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Marissa, Victoria, reviewed 3 days ago
  • CGU Comprehensive Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Car respray due to hail.

    I had lifetime guarantee on my car painted due to hail damage. Years later bubbles appeared and CGU arranged for another respray. Very happy with the outcome.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Claims handling
    9 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Lorraine, Queensland, reviewed 4 days ago
  • CGU Comprehensive Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Great customer service!

    Value for money insurance. Simple claim process. Easy to deal with, great customer service.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Megan, Queensland, reviewed 10 days ago
  • CGU Comprehensive Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Good work and reasonably happy.

    Has been easy enough to deal with for car insurance. Everything has been as I had hoped it would be with no real issues.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Claims handling
    6 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Madeline, Victoria, reviewed 14 days ago
  • CGU Comprehensive Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Value for Money! 100% worth it

    CGU is fantastic, the value you receive for your insurance compared to other competitors is what you should be expecting the big guys to do. CGU's support team is also on hand if you needed anything, i.e claims or wanting to review for your insurance, they are fast and reliable. Claims are easy and instant and provided you with a free taxi to get home if you are waiting for your car. You have additional options to add on which in my eyes is worth it as CGU is half the cost of other companies. If you are looking to save money and also have insurance on your car CGU is the place to go!

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Ashleigh, New South Wales, reviewed 20 days ago
  • CGU Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Worst Insurer I have dealt with

    CGU is by far the worst insurer I have been a customer of. There has been absolutely no follow up on my motor vehicle claim whatsoever and I was advised that as I had nominated the driver at fault there would be no excess. Then when I picked up the car for repair it was sprung on me that the vehicle would not be released until I paid an excess. No one seems to know what is going on with the claim when you call, and now I am fighting to get back an excess for something that is obviously not my fault. I would definitely insure elsewhere, I have had much better customer service from all the other major insurers.

    Value for money
    3 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Mat, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • CGU Comprehensive Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    So far so good.

    I haven't yet made a claim with this insurance company but I switched to them as it's through my bank and I found they were a lot cheaper than what I was paying previously but could still offer me the same things I was wanting.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Less
    Bridget, South Australia, reviewed 4 months ago
  • CGU Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great insurer for my Audi Q5 affordable price

    Great insurer with afforable premiums.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Sarah, New South Wales, reviewed 4 months ago
  • CGU Comprehensive Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Excellent

    Best I know of.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    7 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Jennifer, Queensland, reviewed 4 months ago
  • CGU Comprehensive Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Reliable and affordable.

    CGU offer prompt, reliable insurance at a competitive rate. I have claimed a windscreen before and I was satisfied with their response time and the quality of workmanship of their supplier.

    Value for money
    7 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Claims handling
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Rachel, South Australia, reviewed 6 months ago
  • CGU Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Great team, good claims process

    Good claims team, easy to deal with on renewals.

    Value for money
    7 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Claims handling
    8 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Alex, South Australia, reviewed 6 months ago
  • CGU Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great insurer

    They were the best in business for price for my audi car. The lowest premium and great customer service.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Sarah, New South Wales, reviewed 6 months ago
  • CGU Comprehensive Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great customer service.

    This insurer has competitive rates. I've had comprehensive insurance cover for my car, which was written off due to flood damage. I also have my Harley Davidson insured with CGU and their rates are competitive and service is good.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Rachael, Northern Territory, reviewed 6 months ago
  • CGU Comprehensive Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Worst insurance ever.

    This is the worst car insurance company that I have been involved with. I was in an accident over four months ago when a truck ran into my car. I got told that someone would call me and update me on the process but I have been getting no feedback on what’s happening and have to constantly call them up to get any information on what’s going on, just to get that they are waiting. Don’t waste your time and money to pay for an insurer that doesn’t do their job.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Kalebh, Queensland, reviewed 7 months ago
  • CGU Comprehensive Insurance review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Seamless claim process

    The experience of claiming repairs for my at fault collision was seamless and completed excellently, however I don't really have a comparison as to the value of my products so I would be interested in seeing what I could get elsewhere!

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Shannah, Victoria, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.