Thumbnail icon for CGU

CGU Car insurance reviews

Overall rating
7.9/10
Value for money
7.5/10
Policy coverage
7.7/10
Customer service
8.0/10
Claims handling
8.0/10
Trust
7.9/10
Based on 789 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent CGU car insurance reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • CGU Comprehensive Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Reliable and affordable.

    CGU offer prompt, reliable insurance at a competitive rate. I have claimed a windscreen before and I was satisfied with their response time and the quality of workmanship of their supplier.

    Value for money
    7 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Claims handling
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Rachel, South Australia, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • CGU Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Great team, good claims process

    Good claims team, easy to deal with on renewals.

    Value for money
    7 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Claims handling
    8 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Alex, South Australia, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • CGU Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great insurer

    They were the best in business for price for my audi car. The lowest premium and great customer service.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Sarah, New South Wales, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • CGU Comprehensive Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great customer service.

    This insurer has competitive rates. I've had comprehensive insurance cover for my car, which was written off due to flood damage. I also have my Harley Davidson insured with CGU and their rates are competitive and service is good.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Rachael, Northern Territory, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • CGU Comprehensive Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Worst insurance ever.

    This is the worst car insurance company that I have been involved with. I was in an accident over four months ago when a truck ran into my car. I got told that someone would call me and update me on the process but I have been getting no feedback on what’s happening and have to constantly call them up to get any information on what’s going on, just to get that they are waiting. Don’t waste your time and money to pay for an insurer that doesn’t do their job.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Kalebh, Queensland, reviewed 2 months ago
  • CGU Comprehensive Insurance review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Seamless claim process

    The experience of claiming repairs for my at fault collision was seamless and completed excellently, however I don't really have a comparison as to the value of my products so I would be interested in seeing what I could get elsewhere!

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Shannah, Victoria, reviewed 2 months ago
  • CGU Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    So far so good.

    So far so good. Got it with the new car.

    Value for money
    6 / 10
    Policy coverage
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Claims handling
    6 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Paul, South Australia, reviewed 2 months ago
  • CGU Comprehensive Insurance review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Reasonable price for knowledgable customer service

    Don't expect much in the way of online transactions/account update options. Old school with thorough knowledgable customer service.

    Value for money
    6 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Ian, Victoria, reviewed 3 months ago
  • CGU Comprehensive Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Not cheap, but trustworthy.

    I have not had a problem with CGU, the charges have been reasonable, the service professional, and customer service quick to react to my requests. Not the cheapest, but certainly trustworthy.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Don, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • CGU Comprehensive Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Worst insurer I have ever encountered.

    Waiting over 4 months on claim. No response from CGU. Never insure with this company.

    Value for money
    2 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Less
    Michael, Victoria, reviewed 5 months ago
  • CGU Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Horrible when you make claim.

    I had been with this company as a customer for the last six years. Look what they did to me. My car was damaged as someone hit it from behind. The other car’s insurance company was supposed to pay but we put the claim through my insurance which is CGU and it has still not been fixed. We put the car with Spot on Panels, a partner to CGU, who said that the car is a write off. Then CGU, without informing us, transferred us to another repairer which we never heard of and I was so furious. First, they did not inform us, second we want our car to be repaired by a reputable repairer, not with a dodgy repairer. When I told them this they offered me some cash for the repair, which is unacceptable. I am stressed and very disappointed at such treatment from a company with whom I had been for a long time.

    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Istiaque, Victoria, reviewed 10 months ago
  • CGU Comprehensive Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Fortnightly payments for budgeting!

    One of the very few who offer fortnightly policy payments with no extra fee. Perfect for budgeting!

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Adrian, Western Australia, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • CGU Comprehensive Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Fantastic company.

    Fantastic company. I've had and insurance with them for over 10 years. I had a crash with other driver at fault, smashed the back of our car. CGU processed the claim very quickly and replaced two safe and sound car seats worth $900.00 as a safety measure. They made the total loss of our car payment to our bank account very quickly so we can start looking for a new car soon. I'm very pleased with the exceptional service. They cost more than other car insurance companies on the market. This one is definitely correct that you get what you’ve paid for.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Kimberly, South Australia, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • CGU Comprehensive Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Rates are better than most.

    I have never had a problem with CGU. They have great rates to suit all needs and a claims process that runs smoothly.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Claims handling
    8 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Warren, South Australia, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • CGU Comprehensive Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Great Insurer.

    CGU have been really fantastic, easy and pleasant to deal with.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Claims handling
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Hugh, Tasmania, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.