CGU logo

CGU Car insurance reviews

Overall rating
7.9/10
Value for money
7.5/10
Policy coverage
7.7/10
Customer service
8.0/10
Claims handling
8.0/10
Trust
7.9/10
Based on 801 car insurance reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent CGU car insurance customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • CGU Comprehensive Insurance

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    10 out of 10

    Have dealt twice with this insurer 1 -as a third party claim they were absolutely brilliant from their consultants to the accessor cant speak highly enough 2-was so impressed I insured my new car with them one week later and got looked after again beautifully this is so unusual today everyone give these guys a go you won't be disappointed.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Terrance, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • CGU Car Insurance

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Have heard a lot of people not happy with CGU.

    They will fight against you on claims to your vehicle. They will cancel your policy if you have done anything that is just standard, no modification plate required to your vehicle due to their policies and trying to state unacceptable modifications, that even the transport department did not need any modification plate. You can never talk to someone from Australia who understands English and Australian Standards.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    S, Queensland, reviewed 3 months ago
  • CGU Comprehensive Insurance

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Great insurer, fall down with value for money.

    Very good insurer and no issues with claims. However value for money is an issue in my situation.

    Value for money
    7 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Andrew, Queensland, reviewed 3 months ago
  • CGU Car Insurance

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Professional company.

    They are quick when making a claim, and made sure that I was looked after being hit in the back of the car. They directed me to a hire car provider where I hired a car while mine was getting fixed.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Marissa, Victoria, reviewed 4 months ago
  • CGU Comprehensive Insurance

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Car respray due to hail.

    I had lifetime guarantee on my car painted due to hail damage. Years later bubbles appeared and CGU arranged for another respray. Very happy with the outcome.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Claims handling
    9 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Lorraine, Queensland, reviewed 4 months ago
  • CGU Comprehensive Insurance

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Great customer service!

    Value for money insurance. Simple claim process. Easy to deal with, great customer service.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Megan, Queensland, reviewed 4 months ago
  • CGU Comprehensive Insurance

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Good work and reasonably happy.

    Has been easy enough to deal with for car insurance. Everything has been as I had hoped it would be with no real issues.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Claims handling
    6 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Madeline, Victoria, reviewed 4 months ago
  • CGU Comprehensive Insurance

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Value for Money! 100% worth it

    CGU is fantastic, the value you receive for your insurance compared to other competitors is what you should be expecting the big guys to do. CGU's support team is also on hand if you needed anything, i.e claims or wanting to review for your insurance, they are fast and reliable. Claims are easy and instant and provided you with a free taxi to get home if you are waiting for your car. You have additional options to add on which in my eyes is worth it as CGU is half the cost of other companies. If you are looking to save money and also have insurance on your car CGU is the place to go!

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Ashleigh, New South Wales, reviewed 4 months ago
  • CGU Car Insurance

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Worst Insurer I have dealt with

    CGU is by far the worst insurer I have been a customer of. There has been absolutely no follow up on my motor vehicle claim whatsoever and I was advised that as I had nominated the driver at fault there would be no excess. Then when I picked up the car for repair it was sprung on me that the vehicle would not be released until I paid an excess. No one seems to know what is going on with the claim when you call, and now I am fighting to get back an excess for something that is obviously not my fault. I would definitely insure elsewhere, I have had much better customer service from all the other major insurers.

    Value for money
    3 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Mat, New South Wales, reviewed 6 months ago
  • CGU Comprehensive Insurance

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    So far so good.

    I haven't yet made a claim with this insurance company but I switched to them as it's through my bank and I found they were a lot cheaper than what I was paying previously but could still offer me the same things I was wanting.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Less
    Bridget, South Australia, reviewed 8 months ago
  • CGU Car Insurance

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great insurer for my Audi Q5 affordable price

    Great insurer with afforable premiums.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Sarah, New South Wales, reviewed 8 months ago
  • CGU Comprehensive Insurance

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Excellent

    Best I know of.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    7 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Jennifer, Queensland, reviewed 8 months ago
  • CGU Comprehensive Insurance

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Reliable and affordable.

    CGU offer prompt, reliable insurance at a competitive rate. I have claimed a windscreen before and I was satisfied with their response time and the quality of workmanship of their supplier.

    Value for money
    7 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Claims handling
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Rachel, South Australia, reviewed 9 months ago
  • CGU Car Insurance

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Great team, good claims process

    Good claims team, easy to deal with on renewals.

    Value for money
    7 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Claims handling
    8 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Alex, South Australia, reviewed 9 months ago
  • CGU Car Insurance

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great insurer

    They were the best in business for price for my audi car. The lowest premium and great customer service.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Sarah, New South Wales, reviewed 10 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.