GIO logo

GIO Car insurance reviews

Overall rating
7.8/10
Value for money
7.3/10
Policy coverage
7.7/10
Customer service
7.9/10
Claims handling
7.8/10
Trust
7.7/10
Based on 831 car insurance reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent GIO car insurance customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • GIO Platinum Car Insurance

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Unhappy customer

    I have been insured with GIO for last 4 vehicles The last vehicle was bought 1n 2019 Vehicle value $49000 premium $1315. Just received new policy Vehicle value $34200 premium $1758 Vehicle depreciation 28% Premium increase 25% ' I have made no claims at all I thought the cheaper the value the cheaper the premium When you contact them they explain costs and claims have gone up Why do I have to pay for other peoples claims!!!!!!! NOT HAPPY GIO

    Alan, New South Wales, reviewed 26 days ago
  • GIO Platinum Car Insurance

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    The worst cheating company I have ever dealt with

    They are the worst - they have terrible customer service. It takes weeks for anything to happen. The initial quote to fix my car was $3000, after it was assessed it was written off. The agreed value is rubbish it is a ford territory with low miles and in great condition &8,700 and I can't replace it for under $11,000. It has been 6 weeks and they still haven't told me what is happening. We have rung them every week only to be told they didn't have this or didn't have that - which was the same comments from the week before when we know that information had been provided. We live in the country and haven't been able to heat the house as we haven't been able to get wood with no car with a tow ball. Now I have a letter from RMS telling me my car has been written off and I haven't even heard from GIO. The repairer warned me they would try to write it off as they can sell the car for part for $6,000 and they have saved themselves a bunch of money. Im so upset and angry and now I have to try and find another car when they have valued it so low.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Jennifer, New South Wales, reviewed 26 days ago
  • GIO Platinum Car Insurance

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Genuine, value for money and reliable

    I have been with GIO for varying policies for decades however after retirement I insured my personal car with GIO, having had a company vehicle for some 30 years, and now following 13 years of a continued policy I could not be happier. I particularly enjoy being able to secure "agreed value" for my vehicle which even today is $1000's more than I would get from many alternative insurers who at best save me less than $200 on the premium and will not entertain "agreed value"

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    John, New South Wales, reviewed 2 months ago
  • GIO Car Insurance

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Meets my needs all In one.

    I think GIO pretty much covers it all. I have Platinum cover which gives me Road Side assist!

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Lisa, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • GIO Platinum Car Insurance

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Terrible.

    GIO are all promises until they actually have to pay out, they found a way to take significant money off my write off claim. They hide things in small print and are completely unethical in their dealings. It would be a terrible decision to go with them as they don’t do what they sell you. And when you try to dispute it they push you aside, ignore you, pay you out the smallest amount possible and hope you go away and stop trying to get what is owed to you.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Jayden, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • GIO Platinum Car Insurance

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Great service.

    GIO have always been fabulous to us whenever I have had to call or claim.

    Value for money
    7 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Sharon, Victoria, reviewed 3 months ago
  • GIO Car Insurance

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Been good for years.

    They've been offering the best premiums for TPP for years, but suddenly there's been a change and I'll likely be jumping to a different one.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Less
    Clint, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • GIO Car Insurance

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    I like GIO Insurance.

    I like GIO Insurance. They've looked after me well so far.

    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Emy, Victoria, reviewed 4 months ago
  • GIO Platinum Car Insurance

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Very good service provider.

    Make it easy for monthly insurance payments by direct debit. Always sending emails on up to date services. Give plenty of notice when renewal is due and the yearly/monthly payments.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Margaret, Victoria, reviewed 4 months ago
  • GIO Platinum Car Insurance

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    They aren’t trustworthy.

    Don’t know where to start. Worst insurance company I have ever seen in my life. Bad customer service, inferior quality. Never ever in your life trust this company. They aren’t trustworthy. I have put my trust in it and my money but they disappointed me.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Nibras, Victoria, reviewed 4 months ago
  • GIO Platinum Car Insurance

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Friendly reliable

    They are the cheapest at the time and they did put money to good use and expansion

    Value for money
    5 / 10
    Policy coverage
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Claims handling
    5 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Jess, New South Wales, reviewed 4 months ago
  • GIO Platinum Car Insurance

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    No excess apples but they still bill you

    Made a claim for a no-fault rear-end collision, yet they sent me bills for the excess. I was told to ignore excess bills by phone until it was assessed yet I still kept getting them. Only on the online form showing where my claim was up to did it show zero excess owing. It also took several days to assess my very basic collision claim. Rather annoying as they were otherwise fine.

    Value for money
    7 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Claims handling
    5 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Fifi, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
  • GIO Platinum Car Insurance

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great insurance.

    I love GIO car insurance. They have new for old on new cars for life and are easy to deal with, very helpful staff, claims process easy, no complaints. When my car was stolen I didn't have any problems, they were very understanding.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Christine, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
  • GIO Platinum Car Insurance

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Overall is good service

    I like GIO insurance and I’m happy in overall with the service they provide ,however there are some point which are not so great. Car insurance is a little more costly ,however the difference from others in the same value it is only small margin and service is good The penalty for demerit points is reflected in high cost of insurance so it’s not exactly a fair go you will get struck twice one on your licence the other on your insurance. Again unfair I could take the point if you have a lots of accident the insurance is higher but don’t get the increase of insurance only in matter of demerit points .It a government behind this or just pure intention as they do it because they can and have excuse of taking more money.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Petr, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
  • GIO Platinum Car Insurance

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    GIO saves time and money!

    GIO is very responsive and helpful when making a claim. You’re not stuck waiting on hold for hours or talking to people who don’t understand you.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Cass, New South Wales, reviewed 9 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.