Thumbnail icon for GIO

GIO Car insurance reviews

Overall rating
7.8/10
Value for money
7.3/10
Policy coverage
7.7/10
Customer service
7.9/10
Claims handling
7.8/10
Trust
7.8/10
Based on 818 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent GIO car insurance reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • GIO Platinum Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    GIO saves time and money!

    GIO is very responsive and helpful when making a claim. You’re not stuck waiting on hold for hours or talking to people who don’t understand you.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Cass, New South Wales, reviewed 21 days ago
  • GIO Platinum Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Good service

    GIO were very easy to make a claim with. The process was handled very efficiently.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Fraser, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • GIO Platinum Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Caring and understanding.

    GIO was completely understanding and caring when I had my accident, asking if I was OK personally and understanding that I wasn't aware of all the car terms I had to dictate to them over the phone when describing damage.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Rachel, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • GIO Platinum Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Good to go with GIO

    I know I'm covered if I run off the road or into a lake! I like Gio thus far. There prices are average as far as I know.

    Value for money
    6 / 10
    Policy coverage
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Sabrina, Victoria, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • GIO Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    I have not been displeased with my insurer.

    As I have multiple policies, I can ring up when an insurance (car, home) is due and the service staff can better the amount quoted at a competitive rate. Service staff is courteous and helpful and very professional in their outlook. However, one complaint which, I understand, is common to all insurers is that when the vehicle is written off such as from an accident, the policy ceases. For instance, suppose a policy is, say, 3 months into a 12-month agreement and the car is written off. The remaining 9 months are lost as well as the driver having to pay the excess. Why can't that 9 months roll over for the replacement vehicle?

    Value for money
    7 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Jim, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • GIO Platinum Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Fantastic service

    Very easy to deal with, providing affordable insurance.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Danielle, Victoria, reviewed 2 months ago
  • GIO Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great value for money.

    I love my coverage as in the event my car is a total loss, I am insured to receive a brand new car.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Geoffrey, New South Wales, reviewed 2 months ago
  • GIO Platinum Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Understood my needs and helped me save money! :)

    GIO have always been very good with keeping me prompted about renewals, and recently even helped me save half of my annual registration fees by informing me I was eligible for a government rebate, due to the amount on tolls I spent the financial year prior. This really made my day as registration fees can make quite an impact, especially during Covid-19.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Mario, New South Wales, reviewed 2 months ago
  • GIO Platinum Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Best Motor Vehicle Insurer

    Have been with GIO Car Insurance (Platinum Cover) for quite a few years. Have made several claims- My fault and No fault. This company has always honored the cover as the Insurer. I cannot say a bad word. Repairs were carried out promptly with good workmanship. I have the car hire option too. If you want a new car, if the vehicle is stolen and not recovered or badly damaged, you will receive a brand new vehicle for Life under this policy. This is the only Company that will do this. Can only say good things with this company.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Stan, New South Wales, reviewed 2 months ago
  • GIO Platinum Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    GIO are the best insurance company.

    This is one of two that give new for old policy for life. They are the best to deal with. No problems when you have to claim.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Chris, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • GIO Platinum Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Don't use GIO if you want a trustworthy company

    A policy payment didnt go through due to a card issue and they forgot to email me about the issue. Two months later they sent me a email at 11pm to let me know that my policy is cancelled as of 11:59pm, leaving my car uninsured overnight. Absolutely disgusting behaviour.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Bianca, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
  • GIO Platinum Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    No support for customer when it comes to claim.

    Everything goes fine until you have a claim. I didn't get any support from GIO being with them for 7 years.

    Value for money
    6 / 10
    Policy coverage
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Thomas, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed 5 months ago
  • GIO Platinum Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Nothing more than a rort.

    Have been insured with Suncorp for 3 years through GIO. My car was recently in a minor accident and had to be towed to repairers. Firstly I was told it was going to be written off and to come empty the car out and then 2 days later I was told they won't be writing it off but they cant repair it either so they offered a cash setlement which is half of what the agreed value is. I was told to come get the car (which wont start and had to be towed) and that they will no longer insure the car as it now has pre existing damage. They then said they can tow the car and dump it out the front of my house. Talked to the complaints department who told me its in all their policies that they can offer cash settlements instead of writing vehicles off when they cant repair them. How is that legal and what is insurance for if they don't repair or write it off? No point having insurance if you aren't covered.

    Value for money
    0 / 10
    Policy coverage
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Monique, New South Wales, reviewed 9 months ago
  • GIO Platinum Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Less than helpful.

    GIO, you're the worst! Our car got into minor incident. We called YOU hoping that you could help us. But no, instead we waited ages and we were the one who had to reach to you for an update and when we called, you told the car is not repairable and its been statutory written off. You’re offering us $2,000 and not even sympathetic about the situation. You cancelled our registration without our consent, let alone informed us about it. We can’t see our car. You refuse give us any information about the car and why it’s not drivable anymore. The car was working fine. We used it for a whole week before we gave it to you and nothing was wrong with it, only the booth wouldn’t open without using a key. Now you can’t even tell us what is wrong with the car. We haven’t agreed to anything and yet you unregistered our car. GIO, you are LESS THAN HELPFUL.

    Value for money
    0 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Liezel, New South Wales, reviewed 10 months ago
  • GIO Platinum Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Great until you make a claim.

    Been with GIO for 31 years and first claim ever and it’s a total nightmare. Totally perfect until you make a claim. The lies are endless.

    Value for money
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Kellie, New South Wales, reviewed 10 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.