GIO logo

GIO Car insurance reviews

Overall rating
Value for money
Policy coverage
Customer service
Claims handling
Trust
Based on 838 car insurance reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent GIO car insurance customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • GIO Platinum Car Insurance

    Competitively priced and efficient.

    I have only made one claim but the process was very easy and stress free and was all done over the phone and was settled promptly without any hassles.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    David, Victoria, reviewed 25 days ago
  • GIO Platinum Car Insurance

    I highly rate GIO

    I have never had an issue with renewals or enquirers. I am never on hold for long and always speak to someone very helpful.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Erin, New South Wales, reviewed 28 days ago
  • GIO Platinum Car Insurance

    Don't have summary

    GIO Insurance is better for me, my family for affordable insurance.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Emy, Victoria, reviewed 20 days ago
  • GIO Car Insurance

    GIO are great for peace of mind.

    GIO does exactly what they state in their policy. When you’re not at fault, they provide a hire car. They are very easy to deal with at the time of the accident and are generally better than I thought they would be.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Kirsten, New South Wales, reviewed 6 days ago
  • GIO Platinum Car Insurance

    Overall good service

    Overall they have been good and helpful.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Christeen, New South Wales, reviewed 2 months ago
  • GIO Platinum Car Insurance

    Excellent customer service and good coverage

    Their customer service has been excellent but have luckily not hat to see what their policy claim process!

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Matthew, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • GIO Platinum Car Insurance

    cheapest insurance

    they were the cheapest by a mile

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Pamela, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • GIO Platinum Car Insurance

    Unhappy customer

    I have been insured with GIO for last 4 vehicles The last vehicle was bought 1n 2019 Vehicle value $49000 premium $1315. Just received new policy Vehicle value $34200 premium $1758 Vehicle depreciation 28% Premium increase 25% ' I have made no claims at all I thought the cheaper the value the cheaper the premium When you contact them they explain costs and claims have gone up Why do I have to pay for other peoples claims!!!!!!! NOT HAPPY GIO

    Alan, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
  • GIO Platinum Car Insurance

    The worst cheating company I have ever dealt with

    They are the worst - they have terrible customer service. It takes weeks for anything to happen. The initial quote to fix my car was $3000, after it was assessed it was written off. The agreed value is rubbish it is a ford territory with low miles and in great condition &8,700 and I can't replace it for under $11,000. It has been 6 weeks and they still haven't told me what is happening. We have rung them every week only to be told they didn't have this or didn't have that - which was the same comments from the week before when we know that information had been provided. We live in the country and haven't been able to heat the house as we haven't been able to get wood with no car with a tow ball. Now I have a letter from RMS telling me my car has been written off and I haven't even heard from GIO. The repairer warned me they would try to write it off as they can sell the car for part for $6,000 and they have saved themselves a bunch of money. Im so upset and angry and now I have to try and find another car when they have valued it so low.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Jennifer, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
  • GIO Platinum Car Insurance

    Genuine, value for money and reliable

    I have been with GIO for varying policies for decades however after retirement I insured my personal car with GIO, having had a company vehicle for some 30 years, and now following 13 years of a continued policy I could not be happier. I particularly enjoy being able to secure "agreed value" for my vehicle which even today is $1000's more than I would get from many alternative insurers who at best save me less than $200 on the premium and will not entertain "agreed value"

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    John, New South Wales, reviewed 7 months ago
  • GIO Car Insurance

    Meets my needs all In one.

    I think GIO pretty much covers it all. I have Platinum cover which gives me Road Side assist!

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Lisa, New South Wales, reviewed 7 months ago
  • GIO Platinum Car Insurance

    Terrible.

    GIO are all promises until they actually have to pay out, they found a way to take significant money off my write off claim. They hide things in small print and are completely unethical in their dealings. It would be a terrible decision to go with them as they don’t do what they sell you. And when you try to dispute it they push you aside, ignore you, pay you out the smallest amount possible and hope you go away and stop trying to get what is owed to you.

    Value for money
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Jayden, New South Wales, reviewed 7 months ago
  • GIO Platinum Car Insurance

    Great service.

    GIO have always been fabulous to us whenever I have had to call or claim.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Sharon, Victoria, reviewed 8 months ago
  • GIO Car Insurance

    Been good for years.

    They've been offering the best premiums for TPP for years, but suddenly there's been a change and I'll likely be jumping to a different one.

    Value for money
    Customer service
    Less
    Clint, New South Wales, reviewed 8 months ago
  • GIO Car Insurance

    I like GIO Insurance.

    I like GIO Insurance. They've looked after me well so far.

    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Emy, Victoria, reviewed 8 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.