GIO logo

GIO Car insurance reviews

Overall rating
7.8/10
Value for money
7.3/10
Policy coverage
7.7/10
Customer service
7.9/10
Claims handling
7.8/10
Trust
7.8/10
Based on 824 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent GIO car insurance reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • GIO Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    I like GIO Insurance.

    I like GIO Insurance. They've looked after me well so far.

    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Emy, Victoria, reviewed 12 days ago
  • GIO Platinum Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Very good service provider.

    Make it easy for monthly insurance payments by direct debit. Always sending emails on up to date services. Give plenty of notice when renewal is due and the yearly/monthly payments.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Margaret, Victoria, reviewed 14 days ago
  • GIO Platinum Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    They aren’t trustworthy.

    Don’t know where to start. Worst insurance company I have ever seen in my life. Bad customer service, inferior quality. Never ever in your life trust this company. They aren’t trustworthy. I have put my trust in it and my money but they disappointed me.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Nibras, Victoria, reviewed 26 days ago
  • GIO Platinum Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Friendly reliable

    They are the cheapest at the time and they did put money to good use and expansion

    Value for money
    5 / 10
    Policy coverage
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Claims handling
    5 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Jess, New South Wales, reviewed 27 days ago
  • GIO Platinum Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    No excess apples but they still bill you

    Made a claim for a no-fault rear-end collision, yet they sent me bills for the excess. I was told to ignore excess bills by phone until it was assessed yet I still kept getting them. Only on the online form showing where my claim was up to did it show zero excess owing. It also took several days to assess my very basic collision claim. Rather annoying as they were otherwise fine.

    Value for money
    7 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Claims handling
    5 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Fifi, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • GIO Platinum Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great insurance.

    I love GIO car insurance. They have new for old on new cars for life and are easy to deal with, very helpful staff, claims process easy, no complaints. When my car was stolen I didn't have any problems, they were very understanding.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Christine, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • GIO Platinum Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Overall is good service

    I like GIO insurance and I’m happy in overall with the service they provide ,however there are some point which are not so great. Car insurance is a little more costly ,however the difference from others in the same value it is only small margin and service is good The penalty for demerit points is reflected in high cost of insurance so it’s not exactly a fair go you will get struck twice one on your licence the other on your insurance. Again unfair I could take the point if you have a lots of accident the insurance is higher but don’t get the increase of insurance only in matter of demerit points .It a government behind this or just pure intention as they do it because they can and have excuse of taking more money.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Petr, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • GIO Platinum Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    GIO saves time and money!

    GIO is very responsive and helpful when making a claim. You’re not stuck waiting on hold for hours or talking to people who don’t understand you.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Cass, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
  • GIO Platinum Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Good service

    GIO were very easy to make a claim with. The process was handled very efficiently.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Fraser, New South Wales, reviewed 6 months ago
  • GIO Platinum Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Caring and understanding.

    GIO was completely understanding and caring when I had my accident, asking if I was OK personally and understanding that I wasn't aware of all the car terms I had to dictate to them over the phone when describing damage.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Rachel, New South Wales, reviewed 6 months ago
  • GIO Platinum Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Good to go with GIO

    I know I'm covered if I run off the road or into a lake! I like Gio thus far. There prices are average as far as I know.

    Value for money
    6 / 10
    Policy coverage
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Sabrina, Victoria, reviewed 6 months ago
  • GIO Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    I have not been displeased with my insurer.

    As I have multiple policies, I can ring up when an insurance (car, home) is due and the service staff can better the amount quoted at a competitive rate. Service staff is courteous and helpful and very professional in their outlook. However, one complaint which, I understand, is common to all insurers is that when the vehicle is written off such as from an accident, the policy ceases. For instance, suppose a policy is, say, 3 months into a 12-month agreement and the car is written off. The remaining 9 months are lost as well as the driver having to pay the excess. Why can't that 9 months roll over for the replacement vehicle?

    Value for money
    7 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Jim, New South Wales, reviewed 6 months ago
  • GIO Platinum Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Fantastic service

    Very easy to deal with, providing affordable insurance.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Danielle, Victoria, reviewed 7 months ago
  • GIO Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great value for money.

    I love my coverage as in the event my car is a total loss, I am insured to receive a brand new car.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Geoffrey, New South Wales, reviewed 7 months ago
  • GIO Platinum Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Understood my needs and helped me save money! :)

    GIO have always been very good with keeping me prompted about renewals, and recently even helped me save half of my annual registration fees by informing me I was eligible for a government rebate, due to the amount on tolls I spent the financial year prior. This really made my day as registration fees can make quite an impact, especially during Covid-19.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Mario, New South Wales, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.