Thumbnail icon for GIO

GIO Car insurance reviews

Overall rating
7.8/10
Value for money
7.3/10
Policy coverage
7.7/10
Customer service
7.9/10
Claims handling
7.8/10
Trust
7.7/10
Based on 808 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent GIO car insurance reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • GIO Platinum Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Don't use GIO if you want a trustworthy company

    A policy payment didnt go through due to a card issue and they forgot to email me about the issue. Two months later they sent me a email at 11pm to let me know that my policy is cancelled as of 11:59pm, leaving my car uninsured overnight. Absolutely disgusting behaviour.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Bianca, New South Wales, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • GIO Platinum Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    No support for customer when it comes to claim.

    Everything goes fine until you have a claim. I didn't get any support from GIO being with them for 7 years.

    Value for money
    6 / 10
    Policy coverage
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Thomas, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • GIO Platinum Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Nothing more than a rort.

    Have been insured with Suncorp for 3 years through GIO. My car was recently in a minor accident and had to be towed to repairers. Firstly I was told it was going to be written off and to come empty the car out and then 2 days later I was told they won't be writing it off but they cant repair it either so they offered a cash setlement which is half of what the agreed value is. I was told to come get the car (which wont start and had to be towed) and that they will no longer insure the car as it now has pre existing damage. They then said they can tow the car and dump it out the front of my house. Talked to the complaints department who told me its in all their policies that they can offer cash settlements instead of writing vehicles off when they cant repair them. How is that legal and what is insurance for if they don't repair or write it off? No point having insurance if you aren't covered.

    Value for money
    0 / 10
    Policy coverage
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Monique, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
  • GIO Platinum Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Less than helpful.

    GIO, you're the worst! Our car got into minor incident. We called YOU hoping that you could help us. But no, instead we waited ages and we were the one who had to reach to you for an update and when we called, you told the car is not repairable and its been statutory written off. You’re offering us $2,000 and not even sympathetic about the situation. You cancelled our registration without our consent, let alone informed us about it. We can’t see our car. You refuse give us any information about the car and why it’s not drivable anymore. The car was working fine. We used it for a whole week before we gave it to you and nothing was wrong with it, only the booth wouldn’t open without using a key. Now you can’t even tell us what is wrong with the car. We haven’t agreed to anything and yet you unregistered our car. GIO, you are LESS THAN HELPFUL.

    Value for money
    0 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Liezel, New South Wales, reviewed 6 months ago
  • GIO Platinum Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Great until you make a claim.

    Been with GIO for 31 years and first claim ever and it’s a total nightmare. Totally perfect until you make a claim. The lies are endless.

    Value for money
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Kellie, New South Wales, reviewed 6 months ago
  • GIO Platinum Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Helpful in times of trouble.

    Very help customer service when needed.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Claims handling
    9 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Maria, New South Wales, reviewed 10 months ago
  • GIO Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Highly recommended

    Always helpful and fair.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Claims handling
    9 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Charmaine, Victoria, reviewed 11 months ago
  • GIO Platinum Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Customer service top of the class.

    I have been with GIO for many years and have filed several claims which were all dealt with promptly. In fact for my last claim, my car had several issues and all the repairs were sorted to my satisfaction.

    Value for money
    7 / 10
    Policy coverage
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Claims handling
    9 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Garry, New South Wales, reviewed 11 months ago
  • GIO Platinum Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Price & policy great so far.

    Totally impressed with this insurance company for motor insurance. Price and claims process as well as policy is very impressive.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Joy, New South Wales, reviewed almost 2 years ago
  • GIO Platinum Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Competitive premiums

    I love GIO as they are cheap, reliable and awesome value.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Alison, Victoria, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • GIO Platinum Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great

    Very happy.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Lee, New South Wales, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • GIO Platinum Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great customer service

    Been my insurance company for the last 5 years and they have always provided an excellent service.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Kylie, New South Wales, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • GIO Platinum Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Satisfied

    The claim process is quick and we get the smash repair of our choice, while staying at a rating one driver. Plus we get a free Windscreen each year.

    Value for money
    5 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Claims handling
    8 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Kerrie, Victoria, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • GIO Platinum Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Good

    I would recommend GIO car insurance to my friends and family.

    Value for money
    7 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Claims handling
    7 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    David, New South Wales, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • GIO Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    GIO are excellent

    Great insurance company

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Claims handling
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    John, Victoria, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.